(2008/08) Aug 2008

Krex
Ya i think quite normal.. my gal also starting to have pimples on her face...Using water helps quite a bit.. hehe. I think the neck is becos sometimes the milk will flow downwards.. then i always got a hard time cleaning her neck cos she got double chin now!

yuuri, how much u pumping now? i pump every 3 hrs and get about 60ml. during night pumps, it gets better - about 70ml or 80ml, if i wait for 4 hrs plus. that's about the max i can go.

i think 150ml might be too much for my kid. he tends to regurgitate the milk out if we feed too much or he gulps down his milk. i can't believe he's progressing to the big milk bottle already!!

medusa, my boy also starting to have double chin. so hard to clean his neck, and his milk always flows down and backwards when he drinks too fast.

kovankitty,
u can try eating ginger 2 get rid of d wind. however, if u r breastfeeding, then eat it in moderation.

yln,
dun worry, my gal does tt 2.

medusa15,
u can try using desitin on ur gal.

YLN,
Its ok that they spit some milk out. not a prob lah. as long as she si feeding well, its ok. Maybe net time burp well before you bathe her lor.

re: update on drugstore, mommysown, pumpinpal & amazon spree

spree goods came yesterday afternoon, everything is in order... the boxes are huge, seems like we are paying for air even though i instructed them to pack compactly... fenugreek & lansinoh bags r very bulky...

i will email all mummies on the details shortly...

thanks for the concern shown by the mummies here, my fever is gone aledi... just feeling tired & my MS also went down liao... so sianz...

vone,
have you order DS yet? i want a tub of california baby calendula cream if you haven order... thanks...

re:diapers
i find that huggies ultra NB & fitti premium NB is quite good... of cos the pampers active given by GlenE is also very good but the price is also very ex... drypers NB sample which i have gotten is very rough & have to change more often...

2 weeks ago, we thought she can use S size aledi & tried the sample drypers S & her poo came out from behind... eeehhh... end up we have to quickly go & buy NB diapers again...

im only left with 2 days worth of NB diapers, so will be progressing to either Fitti premium S or Huggies Ultra S, hopefully she can fit S size... which cutting is smaller ah?

shint, yln, faeriekim & valnsw,

i hv plc my orders wif drugstore oledi. however, 4 d 1st teeth toothpaste, it's nt buy 1 get d nxt item at 50% d/c. d promo is actually buy 1 1st teeth item & get 1 2nd item at 50% off. thus, oni 1 1st teeth toothpaste is at 50% d/c. d rest is at d normal price of US$4.49. pls let me noe by today whether u gals wanna proceed wif ur order or u wan 2 revise it.

if u gals wan 2 proceed wif ur current order, i wld divide d total amt by 12 (d amt which we ordered). thus, each toothpaste is US$4.30. tks & sorry 4 d confusion.

Krex,
I kenna clogged ducts, so now 1 side breast 'handicap' producing only droplets per pump. I try to pump 2 hourly in the daytime and sleep through the night. Usually can get around 50-60ml..first pump in the morning 100ml. Hopefully when my clogged ducts clear can up abit. But I am quite 'kan de kai' already, nowadays I can't even be bothered to see how much I pump out. I know it's very little but little bit better than nothing so I just aim for around 450ml a day, very happy already. I also cannot believe he's moving on the big bottle already and can retire his small bottles!!! He's growing too fast!

To help with the regurgitation, try to burp out everytime you feed like 30ml. Keep baby upright for 20-30mins and do not change diapers after feeding!!! Cos you're turning his stomache upside down. Hope that helps.
Dongle,
Huggies Ultra cutting is the smallest I think. I find the small size is smaller than Pampers NB. I like Huggies Ultra best. Pampers with indicator quite lousy for my baby as he starts fussing the moment he pees.

re: Mamy Poko

Hi mummies, I'm still using my Pampers NB but would have to open my MP NB diapers soon.. Are they smaller or bigger than Pampers?

YLN
My mum always gets me to bathe bb before her feed.. I think her line of logic is tt it's not so gd to bathe on a full stomach

Megan and Happymum: Yesterday, I had collected my Babies Prom tickets from another forum mum who is a SSO member who helped us to get the tickets as 1 Sep was the selling date to SSO members. She had set up a thread for it. The tickets will be on sale to public on 15 Sep I think. Then, you can get them through the sistic outlets or online. I would be going for the 6 Dec, 12.15pm show. For your information, dun get the first row seat as it would be too near to the stage based on my last time there.

Dongle: Good to hear that you have recovered! I never use Fitti before so cannot comment.

My parents allow me to eat durians during confinement but disallow many other things. Heard the durian season ending soon??

Rata,

not sure yet, cos not sure if hubby want to follow me or not, if he stays home, then emre stay with him ba..nt sure if good idea to bring emre to big crowd so young though.

nini,
is good to be a SAHM!! enjoy your time with your little one.
usually i also bathe my boi before his feeding, but because usually after his 7am feeding, he will wake up ard 8+ or 9+, his feeding due 10+ mah, so i quickly bring him to bathe, cos he is still not very hungry, yet not very full to regurgitate milk. so usually he will cry when i wipe his face and clean his diaper or wash his hair stage, but once he swimming inside water, he will keep quiet liao. so think either he enjoy bathing or he is fearful of water. haha..

hisstory,
ur company let you take no pay leave for so long ah ? dun think my company will allow me to take so long ba...

re : mammy poko
i think is same size as pampers.

re : pampers
think huggies nb/drypers nb/fitti nb are the same range, feel wet easily. can only last 3 hrs for my boy. MP and pampers can last 6hrs then feel the wetness. goon yet to try, are they in orange packaging ?

interrace

Am in the civil service, so going to take NPL.. But my reporting officer hopes tt i dun take too long for the NPL, coz the bonus we get is based on performance, so if I'm not going to be ard for long in 2009, then he told me it's going to be hard to fight for me..

Thanks for the info on MP.. I know the dryers NB's kind of small, so i quickly used tt before i reverted to Pampers, otherwise my ger may outgrow them

yuuri, i can't be bothered to pump every 2 hours. i pump every 3 hours. usu at night it's every 4 hours. not seeing any positive results, so if my boy is migrating to the big bottle, i'll just pump as usual and slowly see him drink more formula than EBM lor. nothing else i can do already. just can't accept the fact that i can't give him more EBM than i wanted to. now i dunno whether to slowly stop giving EBM by next month or continue pumping when i get back to work. sometimes i wonder...what's the point? by then, my one pump is probably only enough for his 1 feed (out of 5 or 6 feeds a day)...or maybe good enough for him to drink when thirsty, haha. my EBM will be so insignificant compared to the amount of FM he will be drinking by then. *XIAN*

bb bonus:
any mommies here going to appeal? i'm seeing gynae tmrw, dunno whether to ask him to write a note or letter to confirm that my EDD is 17 aug but i delivered earlier on 27 jul. my gyane tends to issue letters that are very unprofessional. last time i needed a letter for airline company and for waxing, he just scribbled a few words on the letterhead and gave it to me. i dun think MCYS will accept something like that rite?

Juz wanna check if any mom encountered the same problem. One of my gal's eyes started becoming more watery than the other, and there seems to be alot of yen shi. This has lasted 3-4days already. No matter how often you wipe it, it comes back quickly again. Izzit a possible eye infection?

Krex,
Think our situation quite similar...our boys only 1 day apart and our ss quite low. I used to be quite upset abt it but now really take it easy liao. Sometimes I also think so xin ku for what, pump pump pump and come out only enough for appetizer. But got appetizer better than don't have right? That's why now at night I don't bother pumping liao. I think sleep is more important!!
Just continue doing your best! I'm sure every drop is beneficial!

re: baby powder
I remember at the antenatal class, Mrs Wong mentioned that we should not be using any baby powder on baby. When, then, can we start using?

hi ladies!
hopefully today i can log on longer, cross my fingers that zynn sleep sweet sweet this afternoon. =P

samantha
think u better bring ur bb to go see pd.

yuuri
powder can make bb skin very dry, if can then better dun use lor.
i remember my #1 pd advise us to use bb lotion can liao. =)

earnestmum,
what is babies prom?
beside the timing u mentioned, any other time slot for the performance? =)
thx.

Anyone here have their bb full month celebration at the 3rd week instead of the 4th week (full month)? Was wondering is it pantang to celebrate earlier than the actual date itself.......

Krex,
My exact sentiments with Yuuri. Don't be too upset about it. Just give whatever you can, how little it may be (juz accumuulate), it is better than nothing. I myself haven seen much results despite my attempts to increase pumping frequency. But I still persevere, coz I feel this is the only time I can give my boy BM. I'm intending to stop when I go back to work in 2 months time, so I feel all the more I should take the chance now. At least on maternity leave not so bad, though it's a bit 'xin ku' to keep to the pumping schedule and waking up at night. For me if I can wake up at night to pump, I will. Otherwise I'll juz let it be.

Yuuri,
my PD also say use baby lotion or baby oil.

any mummies using Similac FM? Is it true that any opened FM can only be used for 3 weeks? Cos I supplement with FM so still having half a can left as hubby get the bigger tin. So we throw away? very wasteful hor.

Cindy: thats what i heard too...Just like birthdays,can celebrate earlier but not later.

Re: little pimples on bb's face
My CL says it is due to the heat,so we keep bb cool n let him sleep in a air-con room..His pimples disappeared in 2 days, now his face looks very smooth..but his neck n body still have. Bbs are very sensitive to heat..so dont wrap them up too much.

vone
can u go ahead with my 2 toothpaste? thanx!

bathing ..
sigh..think i will have 2 wait longer after my bb feed 2 bath her..cuz every morning..when she start to cry for milk..i would be awaken by her cries at about 8 plus...damn tired 2 wake up earlier than that..moreover..she might be sleeping still...otherwise i will have to bath her later in the mornings..or early afternoons..when she is more awake...

krex
wah..ur bb can really drink ..my 6 week old only drinking 130ml...but drink more good also lah..

yurri, kovan, we're all in the same boat. will continue pumping and let god take care of the rest. after all, have tried my best. for no 2, then start everything anew and be more firm about breast feeding lor.

Krex,
Haha, really same as me! Due to the failure of this little rat in breastfeeding...I'm also thinking of righting all the wrongs for #2. And I never even wanted a #2!!!

Snow & Cindy,
Thnks for the advice. When can we start using baby lotion then? Cos at the hospital, the nurse told me don't use...

Yuuri,
actually there are some peeling skin on my baby and PD say can apply lotion on peeling skin start from new born. But my CL say should let all the old skin pill off first then can apply. dunno who's rite who's wrong. From the PD, even new born can apply liao.

wingwing
ya, she really look like u.
normally bb will be born to look more like daddy 1 lor. =P

yuuri & cindy
both my gal had been using lotion since new born, so far no problem lor. =)

vone,
thanks...

Yuuri,
think me also kena block ducts but it cleared off by itself after i ate panadol for my fever... i din know that fever + sore breast means block ducts/mastitis until i saw yr PM... thanks anyway... ya, my MS also dropped a lot... feel like buying a tin of formula milk to standby but scared that i will jinx myself... so tired of pumping & pumping regularly but see so little improvement...

i like huggies ultra NB too as it's very soft & it's indicated on the packaging that it's clinically proven to prevent diaper rash...
cayla kena nappy rash while wearing pampers premium...

hisstory,
i have tried the NB sample for MP & find that the cutting is a little small when compared to Pampers NB...

nini,
for full month, you can celebrate it earlier but not later.

cindy,
i use similac, i throw away after 3 weeks. but for the small tin, its written to throw after 4 weeks. so i guess just follow what is on the tin loh. i throw away 3/4 of a big tin.

dongle,
you are v lucky to get away with taking panadol. But do monitor if the fever returns, go doc k? My blocked side like spoilt like that...pump 30 mins only few droplets.

I dunno if its true that huggies ultra really prevent diaper rash but my boy has been using mostly huggies ultra (and an assortment of hospital pampers and various samples) and hasn't kenna diaper rash yet.

yuuri
I delivered on 19 Aug, but am celebrating on 13 Sept.. My mother's pantang, in a way, cannot celebrate after, but okie to celebrate before..

dongle
Oooh, iseeisee.. Then i better open the packet & compare myself. Hope my ger doesnt go into a growth spurt too soon & end up not being able to use the MP NB

I can understand how hard it is to keep to the pumping schedule in the night. Sometimes when I am pumping in the night esp 3am, I wish someone would invent a pumping bed where I can pump and lie down simultaneously!! Sure ex manz...

Snow74: Babies Prom is held at the Victoria Concert Hall. www.sso.org.sg. Back for the 7th yr, it gives children an early start in classical music as a fun and interactive event with the conductor, Peter Moore and orchestra. It is suitable for children 6 yrs and below. Tickets are required for children 2 yrs and above. It's an hour without intermission. Tickets are $19 and $24 excluding booking fees from sistic.tel: 63485555 or www.sistic.com
My son went last year when he was 2 yrs old and till now he can remember "Babies Prom" so I decide to bring him again this year since he had enjoyed it. Maybe I would bring along Amber since it's free for her. Just hope she not be frightened by the loud music as we would be seating on the 2nd row.

show times are:

Fri, 5 Dec 08, 10.30am and 12.15pm
Sat, 6 Dec 08, 10.30am and 12.15pm

NiNi
heheh, i see.. U're right, some ppl may work on Sat. Are u doing lunch or dinner? Am doing an 'extended lunch', hopefully it can cater to those who might have to work on Sat

earnestmum & krex.
Thanks for the info on Goon samples.

krex78,
I will be appealing for the bb bonus too. Guess a note or letter should be alright, coz wat the govt wan is the gynae to prove the edd.

been busy going out last few days so havent really had time to log in and post thou everyday it's my ritual to read all postings..hahaha.

today i brought bb to the PD cos she got this redness on both her inner eye lid since birth and now still there. so hubby was very concerned and so we went to see Dr Lim @ Kinder Clinic Siglap. He said nothing to worry it's only blood vessels under the skin cos eyelid no fats so it's showing, but it will go away. Weighed bb and she is now 4.19kg (up from 2.69 at birth). We were very surprised but glad she putting on weight. But Dr Lim told us that her weight gain is too much. told us to monitor her feedings. I also told him about my problem of her short feeding intervals. I monitored her and she's taking 50-60ml every 1-1.5hr in the day. In the night sometimes she can stretch to 2 hours if she take more than 70ml. He said to train her by stretching her feedings, he said to basically not feed her at the 1 hour intervals and just carry/pacify or distract her until 2.5 or 3 hours later than feed. After the consultation, hubby said don't makes sense to let the bb go hungry for an extra hour. And my bb will cry the hse down even if u ask her wait 5 mins. I think all babies the same ma ... sigh .. so envy those of you whom babies are having the 2-3 hour feedings. I dono why she just suddenly take small feedings. And my bb is one stubborn one, she dont want means she dont want. Wont overfeed cos she will refuse to open her mouth. Even when she is crying you chuck the bottle or nipple into her mouth, she dont want she wont even suck. Damn stuck up i say.. sigh ..

Catherine,
Babies are like that one lah...they don't want to eat means don't want to eat. Could it be that you never manage to get her to burp after the 50-60ml, that's why she doesn't want to continue? Cos sometimes I try to burp my boy and didn't manage to burp, he will refuse to drink anymore. Then try burping again, once he burps he will happily keep drinking.

yuuri, let's jia you together. if we have #2 at the same time, we shall motivate each other NEVER to give bb formula even if MIL or CL say it's good for the bb!

my boy seems to be very sleepy today. usually will wake up for feed after 2.5 - 3 hours but today can stretch up to 3.5 - 4 hours. not long after feed, he will sleep liao. like now, after his 7pm feed, i want to keep him awake but can't. he manage to stay awake till 8.20pm. is there anything wrong with him?

for the past 2 nights, he had refused to sleep from 10pm - 12am/1am. he almost cry or fuss all the way regardless of how we carry or pat him. what should i do?

haiz.. too many posts to catch up liao.

Catherine,
So you also went to see Dr Lim earlier huh?
My bb and yours similar, don't want means don't want. So Dr Lim also said the same thing abt your bb and mine, overfeeding huh?

I also chart my bb's feeding times, so far she v consistent in the day, can feed and sleep v easily every 2.5-3 hrs.

It's night time that's the terror!

Got phobia of bb crying in the nite liao.

snow / megan,
how heavy are your babies? They are born same day as my gal.
Baby chevelle is 4.2kg now, means she gained 1.1kg since birth and she is just abt 1 mth old. -_-" Don't know if she gained too much liao?

Yuuri,
I hope my bb is facing the same prob as yours, once burp out can continue to drink more.