(2008/08) Aug 2008

valnsw,
Remember we have the same situation cos both of us staying with ILs. My IL still ok just a bit friction on the way we take care of the baby. How i wish to have a place of our own. Can you belive it? I actullly went to view flat durign my confinement and signed an optiion to purchase the flat. For the past week, been busy getting bank loans, preparing the one month celebration, etc. Hope everything goes well and we will get a nest of our own. According to agent, still need 2-3 months before we can collect keys. Then still must do renovation which take a month plus. So wont have our new house till CNY i guess. Still a long way to go but something to look forward i guess. Guess we really share some similar problems.

Vone,

she's seems always hungry wor....but will quiet down aft i "pet pet" her...

yesterday even got diarrohe, mil says maybe overfeed, so i confused la..

she's been waking up every 2 hrs, but i only will give milk after 3 hrs, for the 1 hr, will "pet pet" her to prolong the time...

hai....dun know wat to do liao...

tcp site is down. so much for using the discount code before 3pm.... tsk tsk.

any mommies interested in spreeing at tcp, pls lemme know. i organising.

thx!

cindy,
Wow.... we really hv the same situation. Except tat I only stayed w ILs for short while, now staying w my parents.
And ya, like you, I also went to view flat during confinemt. And it was during a rainy day, my mum scolded me for going to view, scared me drenched in the rain.
At least gd, u got ur flat.
We were almost on the verge of getting our place.

And it's all my hubby's fault. He made me happy thinking we hv something to look fwd to, he signed option form, getting quotes for bank loans etc..
Now he's regretting the decision, as he feels the flat was not a gd buy even tho it's a bank sale. He wants to let the option lapse.
When I heard that, my heart super tired and heavy liao.
This is duno the how many nth time he's done it.

My parents also got to knw of this, and voiced their displeasure at him and btwn the 2 of us, there's a big argument on this too.

Rata,
check with YP loh..

will ask her where u seated. u bringing jacinta?

shint,
my PD mentioned can feed water to flush down the milk residue, i feed when he is awake from his feeding.if he is sleeping, then will wait for him to wake up then feed water before milk.
few spoonful only. cos my boy still got thrush in his mouth, so been feeding water since he was 2 wks old. also i started feeding him gripe water before he is one mth old..so far help him with his burping and farting.haha..

aurora..thanks!

re : caregiver.
i also got problem with this.. my hubby do not want my mom to take care of baby, i also do not want his mom to take care of baby. i got valid reason for not wanting his mom to take care of baby but he do not have a valid reason, haiz. now still dunno who will be baby's caregiver after i return to work.. so sianz.

Shint,

my boy also vomit now and then after his FM.
i oredi checked with my PD before, he mentioned is due to them overfeeding, thus they vomit the rejected milk.
was also concern over this cos sometimes he vomit via his nose even, fear the milk might go into his lung if this goes on.
this was more often when his usual feeding was 60ml, then sometimes i make 90ml, he greedy, tried to drink the 90ml, then puke mouthful and noseful after that.haiz..but nowadays he seem to be able to take 90ml well *fingers crossed*
guess his tummy capacity expanded or his metabolism better now? lolz.
aniwae, is normal for them to regurgitate after feed, but we just got to monitor their intake.
somtimes i will stop feeding him after he is dozing off loh ..then he will slp for a while, then wake up and look for his bottle, then i will resume feeding. if he fall asleep, then i will not continue to feed him with the remaining FM liaoz. maybe you can try that too.
also try to burp him after each feed and elevate for few mins before placing him down to sleep, or let him sleep on his right after each feeding (PD recommended right cos that's the outlet)
hope this helps.

re: First teeth @ drugstore offer
The buy 1, get 2nd one at 50% off is valid once for each order only. That means if you're ordering 10 tubes, only 1 will be at 50% off...the other 9 tubes are still full price.

Cindy & Val,
Hang in there. It's never easy living with in-laws....I feel your pain. When my hubby casually mentioned that we should think of moving in with his parents in a few years time since they're old, I threw a tantrum! He's not the only child but like to play filial son so much.

faeriekim,
okie, noted.

valnsw,
okie, noted on ur order. normally i wld plc d order & pay 1st. will oni 'bill' u gals once i rec'd my cc bill. then i wld noe wat's d xchange rate used.
if ur hb let d option lapsed, then u guys wld forfeit d deposit. is it worth it? since u guys need a plc of ur own, then y dun jus complete d paperwk & move in? tell ur hb... thr r always better buys in d mkt. d most impt thing is 2 buy a plc which u guys r happy wif & 2 stay in.

krex78,
good 2 hear tt u gt a gd maid. since she's here oledi, then u take tis chance 2 rest more okie. then remember 2 eat more tonics. my mum told me tat we can still 'bu' within 100 days.

valsnw,
if that's the case, means u have forgo nth times of option fees. U lose out quite a bit. But getting a place is a big investment so should get a place where both of you feel comfortable.

dun be too worked out lah, not good for you also.

Valsnw,Yuuri,
Really must learn the art of close one eye cos my MIL will be taking care of my baby when i head back to work. BUt hopefully able to get a new house by then will reduce the amt of friction between us cos i dun wanna send my gal to infant care due to the HFM disease spreading.

vone / cindy,
no leh, the first time, offer for pte ppty, with cheque. Later HB regret, so withdraw offer and take back the chq. No option fee.
2nd time, want to offer for pte pty, told agt wana offer at $XXXK, then end up he went to find back 2 yrs ago URA sale transactions, saw that the ppty price was only 80% of the offer price, he buay song he paying so much. IN the end rescind the verbal offer, no chq involved at all.

This time, he signed the option for HDB, but only pay $200 option fee cos is bank sale, and he being in the banking industry, he kinda knew the people in the bank, somehow managed to avoid paying the 1% agt fee to Collier Jardine (which is acting on behalf of the bank).

Before that we viewed like duno how many flats liao for the past yr, just that nvr offer.

You see the pic? I think I've had enough of it. I dun hv the patience of a mule or whateever they call it

caregiver:
sometimes when i think think ar...i wonder if its better for me to quit my job and take care of my bb on my own..sigh...but then..it means that budget will be tight..and cannot anyhow spend $ liao...i guess its a matter of what i can and want to give up ba...i have been trying to physco myself to say that my MIL will take good care of bb...and will AT LEAST know how to care properly for bb for the first year...maybe when bb older..maybe 2 years old...will then send to childcare ...i really dun want my MIL to look after my girl for very long...

Hi Krex,

I had ordered slightly above $60 to enjoy the free delivery. For Goon NB,it cost $0.27 cents per piece cos $15.80 for 58 pieces. Pampers should be the most expensive. I forgot how much Mamy Poko cost per piece. I think Goon's material and price is ranked 3rd after Pampers and Mamy Poko. I had thought in terms of price and material, it was in between Pampers and Mamy Poko but think in terms of thickness, pampers and mamy poko still surpasses. Goon has no indicator, only pampers has indicators. My Amber also fits NB size well, think S is too big for her at this point. In short, Goon is less expensive than pampers and mamy poko and material is also not as thick as pampers and mamy poko. But I find the thickness just right as too thick also very hot for my girl. I like the cartoons on the goon diapers, very cute, kawaii :)

hisstory & m2b
look like faeriekim is organising 1 liao leh...hee hee...

twin stars
then u better rest more now leh.

poo need to clean lah, what we mean is the white discharge lor.

wingwing
bb chloe look like u hor. =)

faeriekim
just log in only, saw u organising spree liao. =)
u wanna try ordering from more sites, so as to share and lower the shipping charges?

snow,
me actually lookin at the crazy8 sales as well. but crazy 8 seems to be shipping direct. any other sites u interested in getting stuff fm?

thanks mummies, i guess will slowly get used to days without CL. good thing is hubby is around this week to help me.

my boy is so naughty just now, i let him sleep on his tummy, he moves about and then bury his head striaght down at the mattress instead of turning his head to the left or right side. i have move his head for him to prevent him from suffocation

ahh..pretty envy u all who have got maid to help out when CL leaves. I'll be on my own after CL leave.. Hope I can managed man... I'll also wont be working cos theres no one to take care of my bb for me. Sigh..Its like my dreams n goals seems more distant liao. Oh well, but watch bb grow up healthy is priceless

Re: Goon diapers
I just received my loots today! We ordered 2 NB size n 2 S size..I find the fitting fits my boy pretty well. The indication is blue when dry n turns red when wet.. Pampers is expensive..Have not try mamypoko yet.

valnsw: For me, i have enough of my in-laws n moved back to my own hse.. My freaking stingy FIL when ask him to help buy fish/meat etc cos he's good at it, he will collect every cents from us. Even ginger that costs 30 cents he also ask for it..*roll eyes* During my confinement, they (PILs) dont even buy anything for me at all..not even a biscuit ok. Serious. Have u met anyone as stingy as them????? My family is so turned off at them...sigh! Plus my FIL is super thick-skinned, even ppl ask him he also jus laugh n bo-chup them.

faeriekim
U're most welcome! Very pretty yah? I'm also hesitant to get, but I'm sure HB will say dun get.. *hmph*
Since they are supposed to fit 0 - 12 mths, so can get quite a bit of mileage
*heehee*

aurora
Try to avoid carrying ur nephew as far as u can.. My mum has also banned me fr carrying my niece too. Better play safe & at the same time dun cause backaches esp now tt we've to bend over a lot to clean & pick up bb

Like u, i think BF is making me more hungry easily.. *oops*

val
Oh wow.. Hope ur childcare arrangement & house gets worked soon. So when u eventually get ur own place, who wld be taking care of bb?

twin stars
For now I'm still in the panda club.. Today the little one's kind of queer, had a feed almost every hour since 2pm. Didn't help tt she didn't really want to sleep, which she usually does after every feed

If u ger can wear them.. Wear the socks k? I want to see ur ger in the cute socks!

wingwing
Chloe has such huge & pretty eyes *winks*
My ger's feeding time has now moved to become somewhat irregular.. 1st 2 weeks it was abt 2.5 - 3 hrs, now it can be 1 - 3 hrs. I just let her suckle for as long as she likes, so long as she can get back to zzz-land

snow
*heheh* Ur hands itchy oredi? I see if i've got time till tmrw 3pm to aim for anything..

Now am down with a flu..*bleah*

Finally found time to take a peek in here..:p

My lil' terror really gave me a hard time y'day afternoon.
She would usually drink 80-100ml every 3-4hrs, but y'day she kept asking for milk (tongue kept sticking out) every hr and oni drank 40-60ml each time.
Then after feeding, still continue to fuss and wail and cannot sleep well.
Then mil tapped her stomach and let me hear the 'bop bop' sound..bobian gave in to ru yi oil.
Dunno y i so stubborn in giving her ru yi oil since there are already 2 PDs who told me it's ok for NB. Haiz..

Earnestmum,
Sorry for my late reply.
My gp prescribed aroxin for me - antibiotics which is safe for BF.
She said as long as the milk consistency and colour, etc looks normal, it's OK to BF.
BTW, haf u fully recovered?
My lump seems to haf gone but the light brownish patch is still there..

Valnsw, YLN, Cindy,
re Caregiver:
I've oso been asking myself tis qn everyday leh..
initially wanted mil to take care of bb when i go back to workforce, but there are so many tings i bu fang xin..
Plus i can't help feeling jealous whenever mil carries or hoaxes bb, cos i can sense dat bb likes to be carried by her loh..

So in the end i've decided to devote at least 6 mths to taking care of bb full-time myself.
Anyway, hb said he rather dat i spend quality time wif bb than to come home all stressed out by work and neglect bb.
True lah..if i work, i can oni satisfy bb's and my own material needs..but there are other tings dat $ can't buy loh...

how to make bb drink more ? i'm abit concern now cos she's taking like 60ml 1hr - 1.5hr. Usually i make 90ml and she jsut wont finish.

re : caregiver
i also wish i can quit my job and look after baby myself, but we are under so many bills and reno loan, cannot afford to be jobless lei. so sad.

really envy you mothers who can stay home and spend quality time with ur little ones and see them making their milestones...

valnsw,

ic. no wonder u r so frustrated. mayb try 2 hv a gd talk wif ur hb? thr'll always b gd buys in d mkt. bt d most impt thing is, find a plc 4 u guys 2 stay in 1st. m sure tt he dun wan ur parents 2 kick u guys out then u guys find a plc rite? it wld b so rushed then.

valnsw/reirei
I will still be letting my MIL take care of y baby when i started workign in 3 months time. Guess moving toour own house at least weekend we can have some family time together w/o the interferance of other people lor. Cos staying together, u really have to tolerate not having to spend time together cos everyone is so over the heels over the baby.

interrace: i also cant afford to be jobless for too long..but really no choice,cos nobody to take care of bb for me. I'll just have to spend less/eat less.

earnest, how old is amber and how many kg is she? i let my boy try S today - the free sample. maid commented it's kinda big but still managed to wrap lah, so maybe i'll order all S size if my drypers can last me till end of next week. think my boy grows quite fast!

my bb cries non-stop when he bathes... wonder when will he stop?

its 2 weeks already n his umbilical cord havent dropped off tho its dried up already..

nini,

good lei, i also wanna stop work for few mths if possible...but will have to work out financially first..

ur baby hungry when u bathing him ? sometimes they are too hungry thus impatient to be bathe ?

Krex: Amber was born on 12 Aug, 3 weeks 2 days old weighing 3.22kg. I never weigh her recently but I think she is about 4kg. According to Nini, there is a blue indicator which turns red when got pee for Goon. Sorry I din notice about this as CL does most of the changing. Usually I just open to see if wet then change.

Reirei: My spot also brownish now and mind more at peace after the gynae scanned to prove there is no pus. Think we r on the route to recovery...hurray!!

Nini: Welcome to the Goo.n club :)

interrace: it's not my choice to be a SAHM.. even for confinement, i sneaked out yesterday cos cant stand staying at home all day. -_-" Yes bb is hungry but CL always have this rule to bath him first then feed him later.. he cry until no voice makes me so heartpain.. :<

earnestmum: the goo.n diaper got cartoon character right? It's like blue/purple color n when wet, changes to pink color like that.

I requested for samples before buying n found them to be suitable for my bb. U can either call to ask for more samples OR use different names for each address. I got 3 samples by using same address leh but with different names lah. :p

earnest, i think the S size a bit too big. today hb changed the boy and the poo leaked out and stained his rompers. now wondering if it's just a freak accident or if goon is not that good. i guess all diapers will have this problem? last time i used mamy poko it also leaked when my boy shitted a lot.

interrace
Am taking NPL after the ML to stay home &amp; spend some mths providing care for bb.. Was calculating the no. of mths of NPL and the amt of income 'lost', veryvery huge sum, but sthg's gotta give *haiz*

post partum wind
I wonder any of you experience wind in your tummy? I feel mine is still a bit bloated and crampy, even after going thru a 7-day post-natal massage. Any remedy?

Re: lochia
Its 2 weeks already n my flow is like finishing soon but somedays it just 'come again'..then i m still having blood clots when i pass urine. Is this normal??

goo.n diaper: the indicator has never turn pink for my case lei. i always need to open to check. cutting is big. their NB size is the same as S size for pampers premium. other than that, it works well for my bb n no poo leaks

Nini: I am already a user of Goo.n :)

Happie: you can log into www.diapers.com.sg to get the goo.n samples

Little Twin Star: I am same like you never depend on the indicator also never experience poo leaks. The cutting though big but hugs Amber's thighs well though she is not big.

Krex: It could be the way the diaper is being worn or it could be that NB is more fitting for your son now than S size. My daughter would be using NB size for sometime as it still suits her.

I am going to Babies Prom in Dec with my 3 yr old son, anyone going?

Also going to The Rainbow Fish musical on 20 Sep, anyone going?

hi earnestmum

Have you gotten the ticket for Babies Prom? I dun seem to find any information on 2008's, whether for SSO website or SISTIC. I miss the one last year, I wanted to bring my boy to the concert this year.

Locia:
Mine also. Im into 3 weeks liao still haveing it. ALways like no more than suddently will have flow. my CL say some will come for 40 days... wah, sianz....

Frozen BM:
Mummies who had froze their BM in teh freezer. How do you actually thaw the BM? I will take them down to the fridge for the use of the day. Then after each feed, I will place the next feed to the warmer for warming the milk cos I heard can boil the BM if not, nitrients will be lost. DO you all know how long can the thawed milk be placed out of the fridge?

cindy
i read that u can thaw frozen BM with running tap water...or warm water before u use...i tried to thaw it in the fridge section but it took more than 12hrs to thaw..and once thawed, i use warm water to warm it for bb to drink..i think if u rushing for time..u can just put it in a bowl of tap water and let it thaw..just like how we thaw our meat/fish...

bb spitting milk whilst bathing
any mummies have that experience? i usually bath my bb half an hr after her feedig cuz otherwise she will fall asleep..but she always spit out milk while i bath her...not a lot..a bit here and there..is this normal? or am i too rough in handling her? but she never cry leh..

goon diapers:
yah, agree the cutting for NB seems quite big as compared to drypers and mamy poko. number to call for goon diapers is 67663888.

feeding:
any mommies feeding their 5-week old 150ml already? the formula container says can increase to 150ml already and yest, we noticed our son seems hungry earlier than usual. i'm so dismayed! still trying to increase my milk ss and he was having 120ml every 4 hrs for the past few days. yest night, he seemed hungry 3 hrs after drinking 120ml. my hb took out the big avent bottle and asked me to try out 150ml today. i'm still quite hesitant. i'll never be able to keep up man!

Shint
Sorry for late reply. Actually for me I do total bf so i never think of giving formula. I think it is ok to continue to bf. In fact PD also told me dun becos of the jaundice, and then we stop breastfeeding. When my gal was discharged from hospital 2 days after delivery her level was about 150 and then a week later it went up to 250. I went to polyclinic in her 18th day and her level went down to 170. 3 days later went back to PD and it was down to 130. That was when PD aid no need to worry just feed her as per normal. So till now hor i actually dunno if her jaundice disappeared but i did notice her eye white become not so yellow. That time really can see damn obvious. I feel that if you got enuff supply for bm then try not to give fm, unless supply cannot meet demand. Seems that breastfeeding jaunidce is very common. Anyway i hope yr bb clears the jaundice soon.When to review again?

Help needed: - RASH
My gal seems to have little pimples on her area.. I have been putting zinc and castor oil which is a barrier cream but like not much effect. Any mummies facing this problem? Any good nappy cream to recommend? I have been using boots Z&amp;C oil for my boy and it always works but this time doesnt seem to work for her.

Sprees:-
Count me in, count me in! : ))
*hands itchy*

Catherine
I do open up to clean the white stuff cos i feel very uncomfortable! But then i use water and cotton balls and clean gently.. but then again it will appear again. That time the nurse did teach me to clean that area.

medusa, my boy also has rashes on his face. went to polyclinic last week and doc said it was impetigo, which i doubt so. he gave me a cream to apply but it doesn't seem to be very effective. i'm just letting it subside on its own and keep wiping his face with cotton pad and water to keep the area clean. when he drinks milk, he can be quite messy and i noticed that his neck area also got some pimples liao. sigh, my bb is so NOT cute these days, heh heh.

Krex,
I already started feeding my boy 150ml a couple of days back. But the 1st day we did, he like not used to it so he still demand 7 feeds (instead of 5 feeds of 150ml), then end up stomache v bloated! So now I feed him alternate 150ml and 120ml. My milk ss confirm cannot keep up with him so I just make sure at least half the feeds are EBM, the rest just take FM.