(2008/08) Aug 2008

snow,
i've been eating dunno wat fish everyday. today i got maid or mil to carry bb to me to feed instead of carrying her out of the cot myself. it helped

hisstory,
so far i think i am blessed with a gd maid. although she gained weight,hehe. my mil gave her a pair of mango pants but it was a little tight for her, so she is determined to loose weight just to wear it. it works, she is not eating alot nowadays.

burping: i find it uncomfy for us n bb to use our palm to grab her neck to burp., instead i put my arm across her so that she can rest her chin on my arm while i grab the side of her face with my hand....ar, dunno if u get me ,hehe

catherine,
cos the flow is too slow for her so she suck hard to try to get more milk out until it flattens. that means it;s time to change. however, they need a day or 2 to get used to the bigger hole one too. i prefer the silicon as when hot air frm the milk bottle rises, it will not go out of shape like the latax one. we bot i each to try n we went back to get whichever we think is suitable for our bb. so u have to trial n error too. diff bb, diff preference

catherine,snow
y can't open the v part to clean. when kena poo etc, need to clean well ma? i was told to open to clean. i'll use wet cotton ball to clean. but i will not open it big, i only open it if i see particles or after she poo. i use up ALOT of cotton balls n baby pads

kovankitty,
yes i do the "ru yu yio" thing for her 2times a day. today i did not use rid wind liao cos i think she got used to the new teats. however, my girl is still full of "farts" hahahah. at least she is releasing air

vone,
can PM me yr masseuse contact? she is experience with c sect case is it? me although lost the preg weight but my hips n tummy still big n can;t fit into my old skirts

yet i need my gynae;s green light to do slimming, sigh. the sacrifices of motherhood

fae,
u very funny. i'm oppo. i weigh myself daily till my weighing machine is out of batt!!! haha
if u hav np with the binder u can use it to get back to shape, isn't it gd? the sticker thing..ya when the PH grows it pokes at times. the the wound also itches as it heals...thank god for the sticker, if not i;ll b scratching my wound!

M2B,
u very gd lei, can fit into yr clothes liao. dunno whether i hav to resign to signing up with marie france

how did u get yr bb to sleep so long thru the night?!!!
mine has an internal alarm to drink milk man!!! 3hrs on the dot!
only when the weather is super cool, i manage to get her to sleep...4hrs 45min( that's the record for her )

YLN,
i heard frm hubby;s friend that bb will cry for attention for at least 2feed cycles. so it;s better to let them do it in the day then the night. yest, mine really cried for attention frm 6pm to 10:30pm. 2 feed cycles. she wants us to pad her n sing to her with the pacifier. my back couldn;t take it. so mil took over. by 10:30 i still hear her cry for att, i went over to "scold" her n she stopped n went to sleep wo. haha ( as usual, np at night..only day, or evening )
i did it 2 days liao n it works or me. u find wat works for u?
my medical friend told me to go to pharmacy to get "rid wind" drops vanilla flavored ones to stand by before i gave birth. she told me colic usually kicks in near 2nd mth. maybe cos they gulped in more milk by then?

aurora,
i tried yr method jus now....after bb drank her milk. she seems sleepy so i still did the burping stroke on her. think it is soothing to bb. she fell asleep while i was stroking her, then i put her back to the bed...so far sleeping till now. haha

i also try not to squad, as a result my maid bathes my bb while i assist her. CL told me not to do it until 3mths?

yuuri,
150ml can last so long? how u girls do it? do i have a super hungry bb? 190ml lasted her 4hr 45min only lei

huichin, if i can lose my 2kg, i'll be quite thankful. i also aim to get back my pre preggie figure.

ann, my massage lady is ok. i chose her coz' she's chinese and i dun really like the idea of the traditional massage done by malays where they put coconut oil. hers is blended essential oil and smells good. her massage is painful; dunno if it should be. i lost about 12kg to date - but i wouldn't say it's entirely coz' of the massage. i think it's also coz' i express milk. my tummy went down quite a bit after my first week, and that was before i started my massage. my hubby said the massage helped with my arms, hips and waist though. overall i think she's ok.

milk ss:

i'm so tired from pumping milk every 3 hours. today's gains weren't very good. in fact, it seemed to have declined. i usu get 60ml every 3 hours and there's one pump session where i got 50ml only
i really really hope to see the jump to 70ml every 3 hours by tmrw. my nipples feel sore from the frequent pump, esp when i first start the pump session. so shag! and my bb is quite a handful these days - keep on crying for attention. at night he gets worse. daddy went crazy last night trying to put him to sleep. in the end, my bb only slept at 3am and didn't even feed from 11pm last night till 6.45am this morning! *pengz*

yuuri,
wow .. thats good.. i dono when i can finally sleep thru the night. i worry my girl drinking too little. how ah ? but she seems ok lei ..

twinstar,
dono lei. the nurse said dont open to clean. so i dont dare to open. how to give so much milk ? she can finish ?

twin stars
Ur maid sounds rather adorable.. How did she put on weight when she has to go up & down ur house?
The arm way of burping sounds like a gd idea, coz the arm has more flesh (& fats) to cushion.. I shall try when i bottle feed the next time. My mum puts my ger over her shoulder to burp, but tt way I can't see whether she regurgitates any milk

krex78 (krex78), huichin, little twin stars (stardiva)..

How you gals manage to lose weight so fast??? I still have another 9kg to go... Only manage to shed half my pregnancy weight gain so far...Envy Envy

Hi All!!!

Long time no post, been so busy and tired out by my boy. also experience the same thing which u all are experiencing, puke after milk feeds ..now better and he is officially taking 90mls FM each feed..no more breastfeeding liao, cos dun yield much only 40ml at most, thus gave up liao.

re : nose
he also got dirt in his nose, been using the pigeon pump to help get the dirt out but ytd i realized that he will get the dirt out naturally.
found that he just sneeze abit and the dirt just pops out naturally, thus decide to stop using the pump which irritates him so much to full wailing and flinging of his arms and legs..poor boi boi..

re : weight.
think i still got ard 5kg to go, not sure if can fit into pre-preggie clothes, dun have time to try yet.

re: massage lady
my massage lady is young malay lady, she works in a spa (where i met her), and she does freelance, thus i took up her package of 380 for 7 sessions with complimentary full body scrub and massage after my one mth confinement. anyone interested can pm me.
not sure if she will be doing massage during this fasting mth though.

re : confinement
finally ending this friday!! yippee...!
been sneaking out everywkend anyway for breakfast and grocery shopping.

re : pamapers
find mp and pampers the best...drypers i used for day time where i can change more often, cos drypers cheaper wor. only nite time then i use mp and pampers, so far so good.

jo, i didn't really do much. in fact, i've been eating well (and not skimping on food). maybe it's the breastfeeding. u put on 18kg during pregnancy? i tot i was bad - i put on about 14kg - almost reached my hb's weight! i lost about 10kg during my 1st week and my tummy went down, except for the flab. but overall i dun look slim. when i look at pics of myself taken after preggie, i look chubby

goon diapers:

just received the samples. they dun look very fantastic leh. will try tonite to see if cutting and absorbency is good. those using goon, are u using NB or S? i find NB quite big actually. my bb is 4.2kg now. any advice?

I came acros this when surfing a mommies forum. Not sure how true???

I know for us Chinese, we like to cook red dates with longan and drink it during the whole confinement period. But longan is actually not suitable for use during confinement. I chanced upon this piece of info while searching for confinement recipes online. And after doing some googling, it seems that many websites talked about the same thing.

Summary: Longan contains substance that affects the contracting and recovery of the womb after delivery. It also affects the flow of lochia.

http://fenmianqi.jbaobao.com/200706/433.shtml

坐月子小心补伤!,桂圆中含有抑制子宫收缩的物质,不利于产后子宫的收缩恢复,不利于产后淤血的排出。

http://health.icxo.com/htmlnews/2008/08/19/1306135.htm

分娩不久饮桂圆汤是许多地方的习俗,其实就不妥。因为桂圆中含有抑制子宫收缩的物质,不利于产后子宫的收缩恢复,不利于瘀血的排出。

http://zhidao.baidu.com/question/6180909.html

爱心提醒:小心补伤!如果你家中有进补的习惯,想将桂圆、黄芪、党参、当归等补血补气的中药煲入汤中也是可以的,但最好等产后恶露排出后,或颜色不再是鲜红色后再吃,否则可能引起活血,增加产后出血,俗称补伤。因为桂圆中含有抑制子宫收缩的物质,不利于产后子宫的收缩恢复,不利于产后淤血的排出。

More google search on it.

http://www.google.com.au/search?q=%E6%A1%82%E5%9C%86++%E4%B8%8D%E5%88%A9%E4%BA%8E%E4%BA%A7%E5%90%8E%E5%AD%90%E5%AE%AB&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:eek:fficial&client=firefox-a

dongle,
oh no... u better take care okie.

wing,
r u using windows xp? if yes, then u can try tis out. i gt it fr a mummy in d forum.

1) Download and install Window Image Resizer
2) Go to My Pictures or wherever ur pic is inside ur pc
3) Right click on the mouse on the pic
4) Choose resize pic
5) Choose Advance
6) Choose Custom: 600 x 600
7) DONE!!! Very, very easy

shint,
if ur bb is on tbf, then it's normal 4 him 2 poo 5x per day.

aurora,
i tink those cramps r normal coz our wombs r contracting. bt if u feel uncomfortable, then better c ur gynae okie.

valnsw,
i'll b placing my order on thu morning. thus anytime on wed is fine.

hisstory,
i didn't really noticed abt it. if u r concerned, then c ur gynae okie.

catherine,
i do clean it out. bt instead of using wet wipes, i use water 2 clean.

little twin stars,
i pm u liao.

krex78,
if u r tired, then take a break? being tired can affect ur supply 1.

Vone,
Thanks ... i now fang xin oredi ..
anyway, i started giving him FM - not that i got no supply but his jaundice is not improving so i am doing the self-imposed "STOP BreastMilk Jaundice" for 2 days.

Today, he started and on his 2nd FM feed, he puke out the FM when he burped after feed. For 3rd feed, he only finished 60ml.

But he wakes up like every 2.5 - 3 hrs to drink, whereas with my BM ... he wakes up 3-4 hourly. Sianz.

Hope that these 2 days of FM will help clear his jaundice.

Feeding FM
For those feeding FM, need to give water after that? He normally falls asleep before he finishes or after he does ... how to feed water?

Interrace,
My boy also puke out the FM ... it's a common thing is it? So far with BM, he never had problem. But with FM, the milk keeps flowing out from his mouth ... is he rejecting the milk? or too much? i giving 90ml ... thinking of cutting down to 60ml for the feed later.

erm ... can i check with you mummies? if my hospital does'nt provide wear for mummy during hosiptal stay , wad clothing is recommended? I'm a mummy due in sept 20 .

hisstory,
i burp him regardless of bottle feed or latch. cos even with latching, he do fuss a bit at times so will take in air too.

shint,
i do feed baby some water even on bf. no particular time of the day, give when he is awake. either once a day or once every 2 days

celyn
IseeIsee.. Okieokie, if my ger fusses I will try burping her

chantelle
Try to get night gowns which are button down..

Good Morning Mommies!

YLN & Celyn,
I gave my gal the gripe water even before she turns 1 month liao…so far ok leh.

Dongle,
Are you ok now?

Snow,
Sprees again? Dun forget to inform me in case I’m not on line hah…hahaha

Twin Stars,
Think hip and thighs sure expand after birth and take time to go down lor…yalor, sacrifice of motherhood…you signing up with Marie France?

Hahaha, sometimes my gal really can sleep leh…past 2 nights, her last feed at 11pm or 11pm+ and she slept thru the night till 6am lor…hope that lasts man…never really train lah…her record sleeping time is 8hrs straight w/o milk…

Shint,
PD said no water for the 1st month and once bb crosses 1st month, can feed abit.

m2b,
yah. i hope i can get over very soon. i think baby feel it too cos he is crying just now. usually at this hour, he will sleep through without fussing. just now, wake up a while to cry.

hisstory,
thanks for the link ;) wah, nowadays got a lot of diff patterns. last time, i bought for my #1, only got mary jane design. then i gave the whole box of socks away to my niece. shld i buy now???

vone,
i wanna order 1st teeth toothpaste. my #1's teeth suffering fm neglect.

good morning mummies..

now abit lost abt the full month party tis sunday..compared to 4 yr ago, now theres more kids attending the party and am planning to prepare food and entertainment just for them..

snow..ya..i like to be included in the spree too if theres coming up...

Hey Krex try the papaya soup..think take 3 days consecutively will see some improvements..

vone,
i am interested to get the First Teeth toothpaste too but was wondering if it is too early to buy now? when shld we start brushing their teeth?

dongle,
i have PM u my home address. sorry to hear that u are under the weather..take care n nurse well. have a speedy recovery.

megan,
wow, entertainment! must be a grand celebration ya? have fun!

Dongle: Hope your fever go away fast fast...

I can't help guessing if Amber would be fair like daddy or darker skin tone like me...can you see if your newborn is fair or dark??

Celynlee: My CL be leaving in 7 days time but I think I should be happy cos she cannot really get along with my mum so less conflict for me. Just dread the routine of baby stuff lor.

Shint: for Goon, my daughter can take the NB size. I have ordered 3 packs of NB and 1 pack of S. Now, left 1 pack of NB and 1 pack of S. think can finish the NB since she is coming to 1 month old only.

Krex: U dun like the goon material ah, the price is between mamy poko and pampers so material is also in between cannot compare with pampers. Anyway up to you to decide cos you know best whihc brand suits your baby :)

not grand just too many kids got to keep them occupied..anyone noe a face painter thats reasonable rate? i am a face painter myself sigh but i cannot be doing my own party right?

snow/ hisstory/ celyn/ shint/ twin stars/ vone,
oh shucks.. think i've been sqatting and carrying my nephew tt cause the ache. I better nonitor and see if it gets better. So scared later affect my womb how to have no. 2 and 3?

interrace,
It's ok, you have tried ur best. At least ur bb had some of ur 'liquid gold'.

Re: weight loss
Think i still have another 5kg to go and bf seems to make me hungrier. Cham... been taking tea breaks and everyday drink at least 4 glasses of milo/ milk. Any mummies drinking milk during bf? Will it make us fatter? Which brand are you taking?

Krex,
i think the goon newborn only for up to 5kg? Maybe u wanna get the S size? It's for 4-8kg.

Shint,
I think ur bb is like mine, dun really like FM. I dun give ater after tt. You may wanna give some water 1hr after the feed? Hope ur bb's jaundice will clear up soon. Meanwhile continue to pump and store ur ebm to maintain ss if u intend to continue bf.

Chantelle,
you can prepare ur own pyjamas, preferably those with front-open buttons type for easier bf.

celyn,
dun worry, you will slowly get used to taking care bb on ur own. Enjoy each day as ur bb grows and learns new 'tricks'.

twin star
i also burp my girl with the arm method..cuz my bb now the neck a bit strong..so..keep moving her head and wriggling when burping..so i must hold her head still to burp her..
my girl was still crying last nite..but for shorter period..*pantang* ..cannot say ...must say *cry long long*..:p..im hoping this phase will pass VERY soon..cuz im so tired ..my hubby got flu somemore ..so cannot pat bb to sleep..day time i shag out liao..nite still need me to pat..sigh..hope hubby recover fast..cuz tonite going for dinner with girlfriends...quite worrying to leave bb alone with hubby...
mummies ..do ur have this feeling too? i keep thinking ..when i return to work..my MIL will look after ..i wonder if she will know how to look after...if skali bb only want granny next time..how? ..and my MIL have a lot of smelly pattern..very traditional and conservative..when i m not there to see how she look after bb...she will use her own method...sigh...

does rid wind serve the same purpose as gripe water?

confinement lady leaving
looks like more and more mummies are'graduating' soon..
..without CL to help...first few days will be very shag...cuz bb already quite used to CL ...but as u slowly learn to take care of bb..bb will know its mummy looking after...but must TONG the first few days of crying..

avocado,
I emailed MCYS, didn't mail them since I hv the scanned copies of the required docs.

YLN,
I can understand your concerns.
I hope to see my bb's sleep pattern improving.

Anyway I had huge argument w mum and led to argument w hubby.
Now hubby wants bb to be brought back to ILs to be taken care of. I vehemently said NO, cos I forsee the conflict when ILs take care of bb on top of his bro's 2 kids.
Not to mention the fact that ILs shows favouritism towards the grandson (his bro's son).
He even said I bring the maid along to ILs, I'm like no way, the maid is hired under my name, I decide where she goes.
Plus its illegal for the maid to go to "work" at another place other than the residential address that has been registered.

I think rid wind and gripe water has the same function.

faeriekim,
you intend to buy First Teeth toothpaste for your #1? Can use until 1-2 yrs old?
Roughly how long can one tube last?

I'm thinking whether to order more as the offer buy 2nd one at 50% OFF is quite gd, as I have 2 tubes on hand. Thinking if bb can just use the norm toothpaste off the shelf when she's 1 yr old.

Just back from temple after bringg bb for parying...

Celyn,
You are the mother, you will get the hnag of it and bb will get used to you soon too...dun wori.

YLN,
Dun worry, if you are seeing your bb everyday, bb will still be close to you.

Valnsw,
Hope you can settle your bb caretaking arrangement soon.

How is your bb last night?

hisstory,
really thank god for my maid, if not hubby n i will belong to the panda club
i don;t dare put bb over the shoulder. scared i dunno how to handle
i;ve bot a box of mary jane socks as well. can use it now already or when bb is 3mths onwards?

vone,
tks!

anything to buy frm the spree, can rec?

shint,
PD said forst 3mths, no need to feed water. but if u really want, u can but alittle bit only to "rinse" his mouth

celynlee,
when my CL left, i'm also at a lost n in a panic cos i don;t really know how to set baby;s routine according to ours. it took me one wk to figure out wat to do n perfect my diaper changing n cleaning n logistic according to my style. give yrself some time. u;ll do fine

M3B,
i will wait for gynae;s ans on fri. if got green light. i will do malay massage first. if gynae say to wait till after 3mths than i will go MF cos i heard traditional massage is only useful before 90days.
yr girl, fantastic lei not like my hungry hippo :p

YLN,
ya my bb's neck also super strong now, turn on her own n use her neck to push me at times when i carry her! yr fears are wat we all face as well but i think we have the "mother smell" on us therefore bb will still want us. don;t worry. moreover i know of friends who leave their bb to their mom or mil frm mon to fri n only fetch bb back in the wkends. they shld worry more. take things one at the time k. enjoy the moment now

last nt, my was up playing frm 7:30pm to 10:30pm then after i wash her up n change her to PJ,s. she sleep liao. usually i put ridwind after bath n wash up cos expose her ma, so scared wind enter

dongle,
wish u get well soon!!

megan,
i can ask my auntie for contact for the person who provide those stencils for filling in the paints.. u know, those at the shopping malls? but no face painter tho. sollie.

earnestmum,
nurse at TMC told me, if bb very red during newborn period, then will be fair.

aurora,
i juz found anmum samples n drinking them for the past few days. Otherwise, i'd be drinking the usual fresh milk (heated up one). similac sent me $5 voucher to buy their pre-natal mom's milk formula. but dun tink i'm gonna buy tat.

valnsw,
oops, hope u will not need to go to ur ILs since it's going to be so crowded over there. quickly make up wif mummy! :D

actually cos my #1 only has 8 teeth, plus, she was eating mostly porridge, we din really enforce her teethbrushing routine. but i realised tat as we became more lax wif her diet, i.e. more adult food, her teeth really needed more care, otherwise, seems dirty n stained. so, 4 mths ago, i passed the toothpaste to nanny. but nanny doesn't seem to be brushing for my #1... at home, i use spiffies n waiting for the chance to get the first teeth toothpaste so tat i can train her to start brushing as well. actually, can buy fm supermkt those lion toothpaste as well. but i tot i'd still continue wif 1st teeth until she's 2.

Vone, dun know wat windows version i'm using (computer nerd mah!!! :p)

Used paint to resize, thanks snow!!

Here's a photo of chloe....
1686079.jpg

Btw, have a question...

now chloe is on 90ml every 3 hrs..just manage to stretch her to 3 hrs last week(finally!! *sweat*)

but she still wakes up every 2 hrs in the day, nite still ok, dun know is she's hungry or??... how?? any advice???

another thing to add on, regardless on 2 hrs or 3 hrs, she will usually takes ard 1 hr to finish...sleep halfway...=( got to "ka jiao ka jiao" her to continue to drink...

shint,
when i went 2 read up on bm jaundice, it's nt recommended tat we stop bm & feed bb wif fm leh. d recommended mtd is 2 let bb drink more so tat he can urine & poo more. then his jaundice wld b better. yup, i gt ur pm liao. i'll plc order tmr morning, so u let me noe soon okie.

faeriekim,
noted. so hw many u wan? i wld suggest at least 2. coz nw gt promo. buy 1 & get d 2nd 1 at 50% off.

celynlee,
dun worry k. u jus need some time 2 get used 2 being w/o d CL. msn me if u need help okie. :p

missysz,
u can start brushing ur boy's gums fr d 3rd mth onwards. u can read more abt it here : http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=76317&catid=12030

aurora,
u take care k. c ur gynae if u still feel d cramps.

valnsw,
u okie? msn me if u need some1 2 talk 2 okie.

little twin stars,
i m buying d calendula cream coz it's gt vol d/c & d 1st teeth toothpaste coz it's gt offer. other than tt, dun tink tt thr's anything worth buying.

wing,
hehe... nvm, as long as u managed 2 post chloe's pic up.
when she wakes up, u can use ur fingers 2 tap near her mouth. if she turns & try 2 suck ur finger, then most prob she's hungry liao.

megan, very hard to fine unripe papaya. the last time i bought unripe papaya, i kept it for 2 days and it became ripe, haha. so i ate it raw instead. my maid has been using this veg called sayote. dunno what that is. she'll cook it like papaya soup but replace papaya with sayote. anyway, i think the fish bones in the soup might help a bit.

earnest, i tried the NB goon diaper today. not too bad. was the colour supposed to change from purple to pink if he pees? the S seems rather big for him; the NB is just right. but i'm scared i can't finish the NB if i buy coz' my boy is already 4.2kg. it's just that his build is a little small. when u order, do u order above $60 to get free delivery? maybe i'll order 1 NB and 3 S, or if i wait till next week, i shld be able to order 4 S already, heehee.

oh yes, u said goon is between pampers and mamy poko. u mean pampers is cheaper than goon? mamy poko shld be the most ex rite? if pampers is cheaper, then i dun mind using that, coz' they also have indicator and material is better than goon.

celyn, i felt a bit lost also when my CL left, coz' she was really very efficient. thank goodness my maid is not too bad either. it's just that a lot of things i have to do myself coz' when the maid is busy with housework and cooking, i have to tend to the bb. can't really rest as much as before.

M2B,
seems that the strategy of keeping her awake in the daytime kinda helped, need to finetune though.
Bb slept from 10.30pm til 12.30am this morn, wake up for feed, my dad rocked her to sleep 1 hr later, she woke up 4.30am for another feed which she surprisingly finished 90ml v fast.
It seems she's hungry cos at 6.30am she woke up again, drink abit & play abit.

So intend later after her bath at 3pm+ play w her til 9pm.

As what some mummy commented, need to play w her 6 hrs or at least 2 feed cycles before the actual sleep time.

vone,
thanks for your concern. Nowadays dun really go msn, cos most of time, I only there a short while. Gotta get routine more stable 1st.

RE: drugstore spree,
I'd like to order 2 tubes of First Teeth Toothpaste, with the offer of 2nd tube 50% off. I suppose the total in USD is 4.49 + 4.49 x 50% = USD 6.735?
Pls let me knw via email the amt in SGD equiv and the account number you want me to transfer the $ ya? TIA!

faeriekim,
thks for your concern too.
Actually, the thing btwn me and my mum was just a misunderstding. we kinda cleared it up.

Now's the battle btwn my hubby & ILs and me.
The prob is v easily solved if we had our own place.

krex,
gd to hear you found your maid!

I'm in the same situation as you, the maid will do more of the household chores while I tend to bb. Ya lo, we have less "me" time alrdy. Well, that's the sacrifice of being a mummy ya?
Sometimes, the maid will help to carry around, since she doesn't hv to cook. My parents decided might as well buy back save all the trouble so that more time can go to helping me tend to the baby.

val, i went to search for my maid 1 wk after i delivered. felt so tired and weak...think i shouldn't have pushed myself so hard. then, had to collect her the following week. i literally spent my confinement period going out to settle such matters!

but so far so good. she's a transfer maid and quite intelligent. can cook from recipe bk and has initiative. only thing quite vain and my common toilet is full of her toiletries! other than that no major complaints.