(2008/08) Aug 2008

Congrats faeriekim!

Hey Cuclainne, long time no see! Yes i've popped! My little princess Falisha Nadya popped on the 2nd Aug @ 1737hrs. Hehehe...Weight is 2.73kg.

vone,
Sigh... i duno how my supply is, cos jus now wanted to pump, after bb had her bath and playing w her, but she started crying again. I alrdy told maid to leave her crying til she sleeps cos I think bb is tired out fr the playing.
End up me in the next room hear her cries, I also cannot concentrate on pumping, so 10 min or less than tat, I go to her to hug her. Then she stopped, put her down, she cry again, realised she's hungry.

Faintz, the maid duno how to find out why bb is crying, cos close to her next feed liao. Then I told her to prepare FM cos I din get to express much.

The maid really cannot think ahead one. I tell her A, she does A. Tell her B, she does B, v rigid. Straightfwd things, she can do but she cannot think one step ahead. Feel so tired of instructing her alrdy.

Haiz.... headache like tat when I go back to work. Day time, duno how this maid gona cope liao.

Super sian liao... the maternity benefits really apply from 1 Jan 2009... think it's really not fair to us still preggie but heard the announcement...

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/general/Marriage_and_Parenthood.html

http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/MarriageNParenthoodPackage/Work-lifeSupport/

faeriekim,
Update us ya?
Saw your pic MMS, saw your DD #2.

krex,
why u buying rocker? Thought no gd to rock bb too much? Else later hv to rock to sleep.

Hello Megan,
My Kaiwei's wt also dropped from 3.2kg at birth to 3kg three days later. He's drinking 60ml-80ml every 2-3hrs at 2 wks old. wonder if its cos baby's 'bloated' with our amniotic fluid at birth, so become heavier... hmm...

Hi Celyn,
there are so many vac packages to choose from! i'm thinking to go back to kkh. how abt you?

krex78,
i didn't buy any on my own, wanted to but find it too ex. but i end up having 3 bouncer/rocker now, given by friends. why not wait till after baby full month. you might get 1 as gift.

one of them is fisherprice one.
http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2002&e=product&pid=31327
i haven't open to use so can't comment. a friend told me its quite useful as baby do get bored from lying in bed. so can put them on bouncer sometimes.

valnsw,
maybe your maid need sometime to adjust to a baby at home. hopefully, she will be better later on. don't be too stress, it will affect your supply.

jvenus,
at least its starting next year, we will be more sian if its start sep 08, right.

mousse,
yah. i was so confuse by it that i call up polyclinic 3 times to ask and check pricing. then call kk to ask also. its kk side that explain to me why is their different from polyclinic. then i understand better.

i prefer kk though its $100+ more but hubby wants to go polyclinic. unless can't get appointment at polyclinic then will go kk bah.

valnsw,

it's like tt 1. my maid has been wif me 4 2 yrs + oledi. yet, i still hv 2 instruct her 2 do certain things sometimes. since she's still new, give her more time 2 get used 2 ur expectations. mayb she'll become a gd helper 2 u soon.

luckily u r staying wif ur parents. at least they can help u 2 jaga her when u r gg back 2 wk. my maid jus dropped a bombshell on me on mon nite. she told me tt she's nt gg 2 extend her contract when it expires in dec. so i gt 2 look 4 a new maid liao. *headache*

dear ladies, there is a meet the people session tonite to see mr lee at:

Blk 322 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
#01-1928
Singapore 560322

who wants to go?

Phylicia- Dec MTB Thread

celynlee,

sure can get appt at polyclinic 1. 4 us, we dun even hv 2 wait. d oni waiting tt we wld do is 2 wait 2 register. after tt can go straight into d immunisation rm 4 d jab oledi.

snow,
when u boil the eggs must add abit of salt and vinegar to let the color absorb faster. then in a seperate pot mix the color pwder/coloring with a cup of hot water and put the eggs into the red color then roll around, take out and let dry.

shay,
ya my PD schedule is 1.5,3 and 4.

valnsw,
sigh .. i also very stressed with the maid. everyday listen to hubby and mom complain. today hubby cook instant noodle, then ask her to wash the veg, usu for dinner she take the big basin to wash veg, then even for 1 person portion of instant noodle she also go take the basin. i think their brains very straight. not flexible. today the repair man came to fix my modem, hubby ask her to give the man a coke she made coffee.. hahaha. she say she thot she heard coffee.. i dono the logic to that one.

celynlee,

ya, d queue 2 c docs is usually v long 1. bt 4 immunisation, it's nt.

4 us, we wld go v early in d morning at 8am or after lunch at 2pm. d queue 2 register is nt so long at these hrs. thus we dun hv 2 wait 4 long.

catherine,

i agree wif u on d brains v straight part. even my maid is like tt. dun talk abt new maids. tink ur maid's brain is nt wking when ur hb asked her 2 give d repairman a coke. coz coke & coffee sounds so different.

haha...every day we have issues about the maid..everytime govt say they need to be protected, y r we not protected huh..they can drive us nuts ya? my maid..took out my precious bm and leave in open..and say she also dunno y its outside..walao..i hv to throw away...

for the 6n1 jab, i will go to pd hmm cos i find it hard to trust gp for young children leh..a few wrong diagnosis for my daughter so i always bring my kids to pd for any issue...think baby n child not so expensive bah

looks like the only benefit we get is the tax rebates which will be implmented for bb born this year...looks like they really want high income earners to give birth..

hmm..i realise my son dun really wanna latch liao..urgh..is it latching will produce more milk right?

i heard tt bf can help reduce our thigh..hehee..but is it latching only or pumping also can har?

congrats..fariekim..
ya saw ur bb foto..looks healthy weight leh

vone,
no la i think my maid likes to assume things that are repetitive. eg hubby morning will want coffee for himself so when he ask for coke to the repairman she thot he ask for coffee. same that day i asked for milk in the morning she give me red dates, i asked her why .. she say she thot everyday i want red dates so she automatically think i will drink red dates even thou i asked for milk. what i asked she never LISTEN she just assume like wat she has been giving me daily.

nini, faerie, happycat, shint,
congrats & have a smooth delivery

joanne,
hope u & yr bb is getting better... it's common for babies to have jaundice... take care...

missysz,
3 out of 4 parcels are at vpost oregon, waiting for the last parcel to reach then can pay vpost fees aledi... after payment, it takes about a week+ to reach spore...

lindsay,
congrats... yr boy so cute & handsome....

kel,
not me... i din order any wall stickers...

re: 1 month old review
visited my PD today & did cayla's 1 month assessment... her weight is 3.7kg & length 54cm... according to PD, her weight is at the 25th percentile, meaning underweight
but she say babies on TBF are not as chubby as those on FM... i asked her how? should i supplement? she say no need & asked how many times she drinks, i told her about 10 times but most of the times, my bb suckle & zzz, suckle & zzz, she said shouldn't be a problem.. i was asking her what is the normal amount to drink for 1 month old baby, she said 90 to 100ml, i told her if i give bb ebm, i prepare about 80 to 100ml cos sometimes she finish all, sometimes she left abt 10ml or so... she say not to worry about weight gain...

b4 i wanted to ask her, PD asked if bb cries a lot in the evening & night, she say it's bcos of wind & prescribe ridwind, i told her we bought gripe water but did not give her yet... PD says can use that also...

also consulted her on reddish spots on her scalp & asked if it's cradle cap, she said seems like symptons of cradle cap coming up & asked me to rub olive oil or baby oil on her scalp over night & wash off the next morning...

supposed to do her 6-in-1 $170, rotavirus $75 & pneumococcal $180 (excl consultation fees of $45) during her 2, 4 & 6 months... read that most of you talk abt 5-in-1 or 6-in-1... any comments on the other 2 vaccines... thinking of changing my PD to someone nearer to home ard Serangoon or Hougang or even Sengkang area cos GlenE like quite far & her charges no cheap either... any recommendations?

re: baby bonus/ extended maternity leave
guess we are not fated to enjoy all these... but it should really be targeted at those not preggie yet cos seems that those who missed the goodies & delivering end of the year will be very upset...

hey dongle...baby & child got a clinic in AMK..

btw...anyone interested to share a bulk purchase of enfalacA+ at 35.70? I am askin if can buy less than 6 tins then no need bulk purchase if not, see if u guys interested can pool together

Krex,
Taka bb fair has got quite a good range of bb rockers on display. Mayb can get ur hb to see & test before buying.

Kel,
i've seen wall murals at one of the mother & bb shop in Great World City. Quite similar to the ones they sell thru bp.
Btw, i bought my wall stickers from Amazon. Here's the supplier website wif samples. V good quality. U can consider: http://www.sandylion.com/Home_Decor/DisneyHD.html

Shay
Yeah dr heng also asked me when i want #3 then i was like "huh?" then she say good to have more children! She just told me to explore other options instead of condom haha! I also dunno if want to close shop anot..cos hb always wanted 3. He loves children and is enjoying fatherhood so much... :p

Valnsw
Dun stress over yr maid ok? Actually for me I haven even let the maid touch my gal cos I feel cannot trust her yet... Houseworkwise she is very good but i think becos bb still so small and delicate so I do everything for her. She is only my "assistant" so far.. meaning do the usual stuff like prepare bath water, heat up ebm.. sterealise.. etc. I thik i will only train her in my 3rd month.. at least bb abit older and not so fragile...

Krex78
I have the aquarium swing.. its quite cute but my boy hated it..dunno why. It has a swich to control the motion of the swing.. from very slow to very fast. And its very portable.. easy to carry around.. Must let my gal depreciate it this time.

Valnsw / Medusa, hearing ur maid problems..i oso scared siah. Now due to some reasons, was supposed to have a nanny take care of Falisha when i return to workforce after 3months, now we're gonna hire a maid to help out. So now i hear what u all experiencing, i oso scared siah! I oso agree with Medusa, i only trust maids to do household chores actually. But now no choice...am waiting for the processing to be done, actually it's my MIL going to hire one. The maid has to take care of my hubby's grandma n PLUS my BB. Scary leh...duno how siah. So far which is better - single, young and no experience better, or married, older and more experienced? Indon oe Pinoy better? I heard that 'transfer' maids are oso sometimes problematic. Guess hiring a maid take alotta luck man.

Think I already missed a lot of posts already when there is then I slowly read through them.

Here's my birth staory --- stressful but glad that its all over.

Supposed to go induce on the 15th Aug @ 9am.
15 Aug 08:-
0400: Mild contraction with 10 mins apart. Still quite ok.
0700: Prepare to go hospital.
0900: Reached gyane place than then get induced then already 3 cm dilated. The went to walk ard the estate for better delivery.
1200: cannot tahan the contraction pain liao so went to admit
1300: upgraded to delivery ward and contraction was very painful with interval of 2-3 mins
1400: already 4 cm dilated and gyane say maybe 4 hours more to go. Very painful contraction and nurse mentioned its just the beginning so asked for ep. After that, shiver like mad...
1500: 6-8 cm dilated but feel baby pushing herself out and felt the push was so painful. Baby heartbeat reduced everytime she pushes....after observation, gyane say baby in distress must go for emer c sect.
1540: Baby Kah Yenn is born.

I must say when the gynae say baby in distress, my heart was so really messy. But since I know baby is safe, Im relieved.

Baby and me now coping well so hopefully everyone will went smoothly.

Just some questions:-
1. What does the binder do to help us?
2. Now doing confinement, so time with baby really limited and it seems that everyone in the home has more time with her other than me. Only closeness is breastfeeding and these 2 days since back from hospital .

Congrats to all mummies who have popped!

ReiRei,
Congrats!! How are u coping?

Havent been able to read all the postings, but thanks alot for e well wishes. Thanks vone, dongle and snow =)
My bb is still jaundice, but PD said its ok since he is 2 weeks old alrdy. He said bf babies tend to have longer lingering jaundice cos of breastmilk hormones. Anyways, Thanks =)

Snow,
u've PM =)

Val,
good to hear ur Inlaws are inlove with your baby. So ur earlier worries were unfounded. Im sure they love n will pamper baby alot since its their grandchild =)

vone,
oh dear, what bad timing. Guess you can get ur hubby to help you source for new maid? If you want any maid agency contacts, can ask around us or I can give you my maid agency contact (It's in Tampines).

Anyway, I guess I hv to give my maid more time, her Eng not v gd, sometimes she quite absent-minded. Just now, after feed bb, she left the emptied milk bottle at the table instd of bringing out to wash. I hv to clr up after her!

Ya, my parents can help jaga the maid but they also need to go office at times, so timing sometimes may clash. I think the crucial period wil be during 1st yr. I hope after 1 or 1.5 yr old, maybe can bring bb to childcare liao, the other half of the day the maid take care w one person to jaga.

vone / catherine / megan,
guess we can rant abt our maid probs here. Ya, the maids' minds v straight one, dun anticipate or think fwd.

celyn / medusa,
thks for the concern, jus v pek chek w maid, not stressed yet.

medusa,
same here, I just let the maid get ready bath water, let her bathe (see her do it few times, so ok), feed her thru milk bottle, change diapers etc. like you said she's my assistant lo.. But in terms of soothing baby, and sleeping with bb during the night feeds, I can only sigh... She like cannot handle her and tell my mum that bb din sleep from X - Y hrs. Duno if she indirectly hinting that she herself not enough sleep.
My mum not v happy w the maid, cos initially she told the maid upfront that she's supposed to help with night feeds. But now end up, she can't seem to handle it.

Plus, when the maid doesn't hv enough sleep, can tell fr her eyes and her actions all v slow, and like she can blank out or become v gong... Like not v alert one... Piangs.... I sometimes sleep lesser than her, yet I am more alert than her.

huichin,
Ya hiring maid is a matter of luck. Actually I think my maid is gd in hsehold chores, cleaning etc. But in terms of taking care of bb (which is the main purpose I hired her for so that I can go back to work tho my time is flexi), she is not up to my expectations.

Guess I hv to work from home for the 1st yr and/or only go out when necessary for appointments.

cindy,
Do post pix!
Welcome to the panda club like all of us. You will have to take time to get used to the mad schedule of feed/poo/pee/sleep 3-hr cycle of bb. Better get some rest if you can, if u hv somebody helping u out. Else u v tired and somemore, you need to "bu" your body, also to get rest for your body to prep for milk production.

Reirei,
How are you coping with your MIL? Hope everything's smooth for you.

joanne,
Thks for your well wishes. I can only say luckily my ILs, esp MIL is going goo ga ga over Chevelle. Even the great-grandma is fussing over her. I guess her being cute helps, plus maybe cos she's special in that she's an 080808 baby.
How are you coping? Did you get a confinement lady in the end?

THanks Valnsw.

Just checking from those who is supplementing with FM. DO you all let you baby finished the breastmilk and followed by FM? My confinement lady added FM into my expressed BM and to increase the vol then feed my baby. Any mummies can advise?

bb rocker:
tks for the feedback. actually my colleague wants to buy me one, so i'm searching for a good one. i already got a combi rocker cum high chair from sis-in-law, so looking for something more portable that i can bring when i go to family's place for dinner, for example. will bb get too addicted to rocker? he's quite a handful now. can't put him to sleep without rocking him in my arms. am thinking maybe a rocker might help, but i still won't get yao lan lah. that one really rocks!!!

hello all

Now resting at Mt A and thanks to one and all for all your well-wishes. BB Ashley arrived earlier than expected even though she was not engaged..

So far BF has been pretty good & i hope whatever has been provided has been sufficient for the little one.

heartiest *congrats* to Faeriekim, Shint, NiNi

snow

Thanks for updating the rest
Hope u had a gd birthday celebration with ur HB & gers!!

huichin,
if u want to look after elders or baby then a mature one is better. since ur il malay then easier to get indo cos can speak the language. but i feel pinoy are more gentle and better with children. not all transfer maids are problematic, sometimes it's jsut that they and the employer not able to communicate or adjusting problem. i prefer transfer maid cos i can interview them in person rather than thru the phone or biodata. i never trust biodata. yes i agree it's all luck. my luck so so only.

but will ur mil be there to watch over the maid ?

valnsw,
my maid perpertually got the blank and mind not there look. i sleep less than her from pregnancy till now and i still more alive than her. she's so half dead most of the time. imagine we dont need the maid to cook cos hubby cook, i look after bb, all we ask is she do hsework thats all. dont even need to change bb, only help me make milk, make only hor, dont need to feed, and prepare bath water... sigh .. sometimes i really dono what to do with her. even basic housework she already sometimes do until upside down. that day i told her that the milk stain on the table already 2 days old, why got stain. she told me she wipe the table with dry cloth, i ask her why dry cloth ? she just look at me.. sigh .. somedays i really want to give up.

cindy,
i let bb drink bm first then fm to top up. nvr tried adding to express before lei.

M gal is 1 month and 1 week old.. She has not poo poo for 5 days already. She is on partial breastfeeding/formulae..Any advice?

<font color="0000ff">Dear Mummies,

I managed to send "our letter" to a reporter and she has reverted, asking me how many names are signing the petition.

I really hope that we can get more names! So mummies, pls pls pls if you would like to join us in airing "our grievances" pls let us have your names/NRIC/EDD.

Many thanks

U may post in tis thread or PM me

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1652541.html?1219219476

Valnsw
Yeah i thik its just the maternal instinct in us... no matter how tired we are when it comes to looking and taking care of our bb we can still be very alert.. I think got to tell yr maid to learn to cope with the bb nite feeds..afterall that was what she was hired for. My maid now does the housework and caring for my #1 so she is really hands off the bb for now. I also wonder how she will cope when i go back to work... : | At least your work a bit flexi so not so bad..

Huichin
I think for lang wise better indon for yr case.. actually no hard and fast rules as for criteria. Like my maid is in her 20s, single and worked in SG before. So far ok lah but of cos here and there still need improvement.. Like last nite I just told her she a bit slow-motion.. I saw her preparing vege for dinner for my hb, she was slowly peeling the potatoes... can die man.

Hisstory
Congrats and take care!

Hi All!

gals, keep those Name/IC/EDD rolling into my email at [email protected]

if we can hit abt 500ppl, i think we have a stronger case.

went to the meet the people last nite.. there were 10 mummies and some daddies... in the end only the AMK mummies got to go in.. i was so pissed and tired by 11.20pm i decided to go home.. we were only told at 11pm that we cant go in as a grp and cant see the AMK MP.. either he is too high and mighty or we are not worthy enuff his audience.. well, the AMK mummies will update later.. watch out for it..

till then, i hope we can collect 500 names!!

medusa / catherine,
I wana pengz alrdy la..
This morning, I took the night feed from 12MN to 7AM.
Actually my mum helped out from 12MN to 3.30AM cos she dinwana me move about too much due to my wound. Bb was cranky, dinwana sleep tho we played w her from 9pm onwds. Hv to keep rock her to sleep, then she wake up short while later then hv to rock again. While my mum rocked her, I was napping but in btwn wake up to see wat happened.
After 3.30am and drinking milk, bb fell asleep then I sleep.

This morning wake up 7am, had to feed bb, told maid to come up at 7.40am to feed bb w FM. Asked her to clear the bin &amp; used diapers while she was putting in the milk powder in the bottle, then she stopped and forgot to cover the milk bottle. I told her to wait, cover the milk bottle 1st before she throw the rubbish. Mistake #1.

After that she came up, I saw her put water in the bottle to make milk liao!!!! Mistake #2. I alrdy told her b4, she can prep e milk, i.e. put e milk powder in the bottle but dun add water yet! Cos I want it freshly made.

This morn, had to remind her to wash bottle downstairs in the kitchen not in the upstairs bathroom else attract ants.

Think she saw me angry liao, she said sorry. I told her, its ok if she dun understand, I can explain again. She said sorry again.

Then 7.40am, she supposed to come up to feed bb FM, still dun see her. First 2 times, I called her out in my norm voice. Still no response, I had to shout from upstairs for her to come up that my mum woke up too.

What a morning! sianz... later gota see PD, now feeling abit tired.

bacon &amp; Egg,
Thanks for your feedback on Melrose. Ya, agree with u the packaging is not as nice as Sweetest moments. Think I'll consider the later.

Valnsw
Oh dear.. you must be very tired. Yeah sometimes bb are lidat.. dunno why cannot really sleep very well..could it be tummyache? I dunno if you wanna use ru yi oil at this point but I do dab abit on my gal's tummy and it seems to make her feel better sometimes.
Yeah I also very particular when it comes to preparation of milk.. my maid same. Sometimes she never wash hands before preparing mlk for my #1 then she suay suay kena caught by me. I think must keep telling her that hygiene utmost impt. They tend to be forgetful lor.. dunno if they got too many things to remember anot. So for me i always tell her to write down whatevr she cannot remember. Then sometimes she forget i will ask her why never write down????

val,
ur maid seems like my maid. Can do housework (though a bit slow) but hor damn straight forward. U tell her 1 she will only do 1. She dun even bother to come in to take a look at the bb when the bb cries! She tot it's not her job i guess cos mum is here to help me with confinement. Mine is a phil and yet sometimes cannot understand wut i told her.

What time does ur maid go to sleep? Mine temporary i let her sleep in the living room and sometimes b4 9pm she will sit down in the kitchen waiting to sleep liao....wah lau i beh tahan her man! She never at once wake up in the middle of the nite to help....sleep like a PIG! Initially i tot of putting the bb with her and i sleep with my elder son....luckily i didn't do so else my dear bb will be hungry the whole nite.

To add to this, she eats a lot! she can whallop 1 big loaf of gardenia bread in a day!!!! and one big bottle of the peanut butter jam in 2 wks...huh!

medusa,
Ya now feeling e effects of tiredness.
Later go ask PD why bb so cranky at nite dun sleep but got feeling he will say it depends on the bb.

Will take note of e ru yi oil.

I duno if writing down will help or not. THinking if shd hv a daily schedule/routine, write dwn for her. But then again, if anything deviates, duno if she flexible enough to act/respond according to situation.

Just now, my mum prep talk e maid. Tell her the 2 of us, hv 3-4 hrs sleep, yet we hv to work etc, so for her is alrdy v senang to take care bb cos bb is sleeping most of e time, except night time.

Well, seriously, I think my maid is not bad, at least no attitude prob like my mum's maid. Just that at tis pt in time, I'm abit frustrated.

RE: Breastmilk
Anybody feel this itchy/tingling/sore sensation in your nipple? Isit the milk flow coming in?

valnsw,
like what medusa said, you can try ruyi oil. i do it once after shower and once before she sleeps so she can sleep properly. also my PD recommends ridwind.

medusa,
i ask my maid to write down but she say she know she knows. so i leave it as that. cant force her.

shay,
my maid eat alot of peanut butter too. about 2 weeks also. Last time i think we take at least 2 months to finish. damn thick my mom say. then now she kena sore throat. so i told her that day, "of cos you sore throat, you put so much peanut butter" .. :p

valnsw,
same reason why i nvr do schedule for her too. cos if anything ad hoc , then she tell me not in the schedule i faint. i know her brain very str8 so i rather not do the schedule.

i prep talk my maid until i give up. that day i just ask her she want to work with us or not ? she say yes. then i tell her to improve and dont make the same mistakes over and over again.

cat,
my maid has got 2 big pimples on her face now...may be becos of the thick peanut butter hor? haha...have to tell her about that lol...

Valnsw
I also write down a daily timetable for my maid but you are rite when something deviates, they wun have the sense to adjust accordingly. Guess bopian lah afterall cannot expect too much from them. Agree with you, at least attitude not bad good enuff..ther are some maids which can be worst.. Its normal to be frustrated cos now everyday you see her doing things so you will tend to spot the mistakes. Like for me these 2 weeks my maid already kena scolded by me a few times. I think she must be hoping my ML quickly end..

Breastmilk..
Yeah this is called "let-down".Sometimes when i think of my gal, I have this feeling also : p

Catherine
Yeah true lah they can say they know and they understand but really anot, we also dunno..everything also "yes ma'am" but yet can make mistakes...I also pep talk my maid until i damn tired.. cos she sometimes forgetful. Ask her to do a, she will forget b. then after she do a and b, she forget c.. wa piang..
Btw how is yr catering coming along? You cfm using intercontinental?

val,
yep the stinging/tingling sensation is the let down refex. Usually when I feel it (and never wear breastpad), I look down 2 mins later and my t-shirt is all wet :p

Anyone shave bb's head yet? I just went yesterday cos' 24th day so hopefully he 'er shi shi xiao' (filial). Bb looks so funny when having his hair shaven that I kept laughing although abit sayang.