(2008/08) Aug 2008

val/medusa,
dr heng just asked when i'm gonna have my #3 and i said close shop liao. she asked wut kind of birth control that i wanna use i said condom loh.

she didn't mention when can resume bedroom activity but i think it's ard 6 wks ba. wah lau 1st time resuming sex so scary ya..... scared pain and scared kena jackpot again..**pengz**

Medusa,
she tell u that she will discuss about family planning on the next visit? u planning for ur #3? me scared liao...muahaha

re: bloody discharge on umbilical cord
My #1 had that too and we brought him to PD. PD precribed anticeptic powder and a yellow liqiud to clean his cord.
Hope the cord recovers soon.

logging in after bz day with bb.
Now craving for tidbits leh, I wana eat Calbee's BBQ flavoured prawn crackers.

reirei,
Congrats on bb Charlotte!
Your bb is of gd weight, looks like your earlier worries were unfounded.
So you got the itch after-effects from epi, I got the vomitting. *bleahs*
Do rant or vent your frustrations here in the forum if you need to. I think at one time or another, post-preg, we will tend to be more emotional, what more suddenly being overwhelmed with motherhood, so tired fr the labor then gota start feed/change/bathe bb.
I think it will be damn overwhelming if you do it alone.
Perhaps your MIL will turn out to be better than what you expected? At least she can help you out. Like my MIL, she now cooing over my bb haha. Start to buy stuff for my bb alrdy :p

snow / catherine,
For full-mth I'm getting both red eggs and ang ku kueh. If you don't want to do yourself, can order from Polar Cakes & Puffs. I asked before, it's $0.60 per pc for both.

megan,
I'm not sure how much wt my bb has gained, as the PD visit is this Thur. Will knw then.
However, I noticed my bb has become heavier and seems more fleshy, esp the face chubbier.
Chevelle's a big drinker. She can drink up to 100ml and she's only less than 2 wks old.

little twin stars,
wa... if confirm 4 mths ML start wef nxt yr, damn sian lo.
how's your full-mth celebration coming along?

cocomo,
RE: empty breast after expressed
Any advice on pumping? Cos norm what I do is let bb latch max 30min, then top up with FM. Then express out whatever is remaining, but duno when they're emptied out.
The question is: How to know when breasts are emptied? Cos tho I express, I think max I express is 30min, the nnp feels soft but kinda painful from the suction force of pumps.

cocomo,
For feeding, my bb is quite consistent nowadays. After 2-3 hrs (if feed with BM), Chevelle will wake up herself. IF FM, usually is 3-4 hr interval. So during the time she sleeps, I will sleep too

vone,
oh dear, keeping fingers crossed for your gal. Why is the jaundice only detected now? I thought it should have been done earlier with a blood test? Unless it recurred?

Val,

No, I din experience the side effect such as vomitting and headache as i did in the first time. But i felt giddy after that. After taking breakfast and a short nap, it was much better.

The cctv was there long long time ago :p

Faeriekim,

Wish you all the best ya! Do update us your birth story k?

Cocomo,

Can update for me, Mervyn was 3.09 kg and 50 cm long at birth. Thanks

Here is the pic of my boy

1650254.jpg

its been a v tiring two weeks. My darlin was admitted for jaundice last wk, i couldnt bear to leave him there alone, ended up i stayed in with him. Since i stayed in n in 1 bedded, was supposed to b able to keep him in e room w me, but ended up i was crying n crying cos felt sooo heartpain to see him naked lying under e phototherapy, i told e nurse to bring him to nursery n bring him to me for every feed. But i was happy to stay in cos at least i could see him every 2 to 3 hours to feed him myself. Sighhh, parenthood.

Re: Cordlife Referrals
Anyone here has banked with cordlife? I have signed up n if theres referral, we both get $50 off. Kindly PM me if any of you keen as referral. Thanks!

I hope all of you are enjoying motherhood! Its definatey joyous fatigue =)

cuclainne,
Yup that's me
Now that you mention, your nick sounds familiar also...

val,
heh! Everytime you say nnp I always wondering what is it...then I just realised! haha

vone,

my hubby keeps asking me to start biz. actually i was offered a job n when i was suppose to start, i found out i was preg n ended up in hospital......so there goes my job offer. hearing all these bonuses i very "tui"

valnsw,
ya lor! but besides the 6days child care leave, there is this 1wk infant care leave right?
full mth celebration. i jus leave it as it la........not very excited about it cos stressed about taking care of baby. next wk, i'm on my own. jus now try to change diaper n bb poo 2times in a row, when i tot it is over she poo again n it shoot out n kena my white sofa!!!!!!!! OMG! messy!!!!!!

cocomo, reusable one can wash mah. the avent one comes with laundry bag for the bra pads. i feel it's more economical that way, and the qlty is gd also.

found out from a clinic near my place that they do the 6in1 for $96+GST per jab which comes up to $101.65. The nurse say just jab so dont need consultation. those in the east interested can check with
HEALTHWAY MEDICAL CLINIC.
BLK 110 LENG KONG TIGA.
TEL. 67494062

noticed that healthyway got many clinics islandwide, maybe can call other outlets to check.

Nini, faerikim & happycat all checked in liaoz ... left me to check in tomorrow ... ;)

Just came back from a good dinner and gonna rest soon so that tomorrow I can face the new challenges of having a new baby ... again ....

Start of eating similar food for a month....
Beginning of a routine life for a month .....
Say bye bye to my beauty sleep and freedom ...
Say hello to a wonderful new life ....

Wish me a good delivery. Dun wan too drama ... just c-sect, baby come out healthy, i dun feel too much pain can liaoz .. hee.

Nite nite mamas ... will update on birth story soon.

valnsw,
u noe when ur breasts r emptied when thr's no more milk being expressed out. 4 my case, tat wld b abt 10 mins later. expressing 4 30 mins seems a bit 2 long 2 me. in addition, if u can express out after latching on ur bb, it shows tat ur milk supply is enough. then y dun u try 2 tbf ur bb?

joanne,
i hope tat ur darling is better nw. u take care aso k.

little twin stars,
oic. nvm, u can always try 4 no. 2.

shint,
hv a safe delivery. looking 4ward 2 c ur bb soon.

Thanks vone!
Wondering why i am awake at this unearthly hour again? Dunno .... the body clock seems to have tuned itself to get ready for the op?

I cannot eat from 5am onwards and at 4am, I woke up and tummy signals hunger ... hehe, so i had raisin bread and milo. Hope i dun throw this up during op later .... eeeekss!

Last round, I had shivering during op too ... it was quite bad, I was shaking like JIANG SHI on the operating table and I keep telling myself to control the shaking .... otherwise, i shake so much, how can the gynae stitch properly? So I try to "control" and somewhat i felt it kinda work ... din shake so much.

Din vomit (hopefully same this round) but much later discovered that my face started swelling up and gyne says i allergic to some painkillers, had to switch to other types.

*Keeping my fingers crossed and pray for a safe and smooth delivery and seeing baby soon. Oredi started imagining how baby looks like, etc. Cannot imagine it's few hours' time! Hubby says like going for exams. hee.

Catherine,
Thanks for the info. I called up the nearest location, and the charge is abt the same.

If you want to find the cheapest jabs, so far I think Healthway Group is the cheapest liao.
Can refer to this for the islandwide locations:
http://www.healthwaymedical.com/hmgclinics.htm
Can call your nearest location to check.

vone,
I duno if can do TBF or not. Cos my supply is not exactly alot. Max is 30-40ml, cos I ever pump out before. Even if I let bb latch on and pump out, usually pump out left v little. Cos I remember somebody (isit cocomo??) and even my massage lady said not to let bb suckle more than 30min else bb will treat your nnp as human pacifier.
In any case, I also wana intro bottle to her, so that once I go back to work, she can feed fr bottle. So far so gd, she can take to both bottle and latch on.

RE: Maid
Just wana rant abit. The maid is ok in doing hsehold chores, but last nite let her do the night feed, think the maid cannot handle the bb if bb doesn't want to sleep.
Cos I was woken up at 3.30am by bb's cries. That was abt the time she wanted to feed. So feed her. According to the maid, bb din sleep from 12 midnite to 3.30am. Just kept crying. I think partially cos bb slept the whole day but the maid also duno how to pacify her.
End up, my mum and I told her to go sleep in e maid's room while we watch bb. My mum rocked bb to sleep at 4.30am.
Later this morning, I saw the pacifier on the table and realised maid used it on bb and apparently it did not work. I ever told her not to use pacifier liao. She still do it.
Sigh... I'm keeping the pacifier liao. Dun even let the maid hv chance to use it.

shint/faeriekim/hisstory/nini,
jiayou! Waiting to hear your stories.

twin stars,
the changing diapers part is easy leh. I dun like the feeding using the bottle part, cos my bb seems to fidget alot and if drink too fast, she will regurgitate. So must control the milk flow.

morning ladies! =)
another gd news, hisstory pop yesterday @ 5.25pm.
bb ashley weight 3.07kg, a very ideal weight for new born ya?

hisstory

catherine
oic....then think i gotta find red eggs liao. =P

oh oh!
zynn wake up liao, i log in later.

long time never posted already... now at home doing confinement...
congrats to those who have delivered...
i have delivered on 080808, about 1 wk earlier than my EDD. as my water level was a bit low, gynae suggested to induce on 7 Aug 08, so no extra charges for delivering on 8 Aug 08.. hehee...
this time round, it was more painful than delivering #1 but i die die dont want epidural, i managed to deliver naturally but assisted. my boy was delivered via suction as he was facing upward instead of inward, my gynae has to manually turn his body to face down..
my boy is 3.12 kg which upon hearing it, i was quite relived. cos during last check up, he still hv not hit the 3 kg mark yet.

Gemini,
So what time on 8 Aug did you deliver your baby? Which hospital were you at?
Hehe, you can join snow, megan, medusa and me in the 8 Aug baby club liao.

Tally count for 080808 babes: 3 females, 2 males
Anybody else I missed?

hisstory,
Congrats on baby Ashley!
Wana see the bb pix

Cat/Val,
Thanks for the imunisation charges info. I brought my #1 to Polyclinic - not sure which is the cheapest. But poly the queue is shorter as they give priority to newborn. Any idea if we go to private clinic, will they give priority to newborn? Brought my #2 to Baby and Child Tampines for the 1st wk checkup wah piang they told me newborn got priority end up waited for 1 hr! like that said priority for newborn?

So, have u guys decided where to go and which jab to take? is 6 in 1 better and less jab needed?

would like to check with you mummies the 6 in 1 vaccines is for baby when on their 2nd months right?

Rang up Healthway & Baby & Child clinic and was told by Healthway that the 1st 6 in 1 jab will be done at 1.5, 3 & 4 mths old whereas BB & Child told me it's on 2,4 & 6 mths. Dunno which to follow but i think i trust bb & child more since it's done by PD. Healthway is done by normal GP.

shay,

I will let my bb go for 6 in 1 cos less jab needed but more ex, 6 in 1 there's total of 3 jabs and 5 in 1 there's 5 jabs. Have check with polyclinic, they don't have the 6 in 1 jab.

I have rang up Healthway too...but seems they're not familiar with it. When ask abt when to let the bb take the jab, the lady reply, I think shld be the 1st month, then later reply 1.5 month, and I ask pls confirm with it then she says is 6 weeks.

Congrats Gemini, Hisstory and Happymummy!

Thanks Catherine and Val for the info on Healthway. Will call up later..they have a couple of branches near my place so it's really very good info!
Any idea if 6-in-1 includes Hep B?

Congrats Gemini and Happymummy!

Jo:
Dont worry even my EDD is end of August. I am waiting eagerly and desperately for baby to arrive after seeing all the pics and stories

goon diapers:
anyone using this brand now? how is it? i think i wanna order liao coz' my son used up his 2 packs of NB mamy poko diapers and he's now using the small size ones. so fast!

bb bonus:
well, since it starts in 2009, i won't bang the wall liao. we're not meant to enjoy it anyway. govt wants to encourage present singaporeans to have more bbs, not those who already popped. will look forward to these benefits for my #2 lor.

man yue:
anyone ordering cakes from sweetest moments? i'm getting their cakes and distributing to family and colleagues next monday. just received the baby card soft copy design...so cute! can't wait to see the packages next monday!

ann,
yea, when i rang up the nurse also not so sure and asked me to wait while she checked. It's totally diff when i rang up bb & child, the nurse can answer me straight away and the info given by both is diff. Think most probably i'll go to PD despite the 50bucks diff for 3 doses.

Yuuri,
Yes, 6 in 1 includes Hep B so we save 2 trips to Poly.

krex,
can i hv the website for sweetest moments? When is ur man yue? Mine will be on Sept 4 and i was contemplating to order from Melrose. ANy idea if it's good?

hi hisstory,
congrats.

valnsw,
my hubby also use the pacifier and my mum will complain non stop. i admit i use it for a short time in the nights when i go make her milk or change her diaper. else she will wake hubby up. but sometimes she will refuse the pacifier also or it drop then he will wake up and put it back .. hahaha. actually i think for a short time ok la.

snow,
valnsw say can order from polar, but i think 0.60 per egg is ex lo. i rather buy from market and make myself. just boil and put in red color ma. it's quite easy to do.

shay,
dono got priority or not but i know the clinic at my place always empty cos so ex. bought my maid to see doc cos she sorethroat. bill came to $38.20 !! i told her i see my own GP only $18. somemore just very normal medication. no wonder no people at clinic.

My PD at gleneagles also told me the jab to be done 1.5, 3 and 4mths.

krex,
earnestmum is using goon. she say quite good.

huichin
ya...think the next gathering, we can see whole group of pandas liao....hee hee.... =P

joanne
u can de, jia you ok? =)
but do have sufficient rest urself har!

gemini
another 080808 club member....hee hee....

catherine
how to "create" that color for the egg?
pai seh, i really idiot in cooking.

<u>Updates</u>

<font color="0000ff">faeriekim</font> delivered today morning 8am via c-sect.

Congrats to faeriekim
!

valnsw,

hw abt nw? ur supply shld b more established oledi.

sounds like ur maid dun noe hw 2 take care of ur gal. if tt's d case, then i wld suggest tt u let her take care in d day &amp; c hw she do it. coz at nite, u can't c wat she does. 4 nite feedings, mayb u can do it 4 d time being til u r sure tt ur maid can handle ur gal?

4 me, i wld prefer 2 do d nite feedings myself even though it's v tiring. coz tat's d time when bb can bond wif me.

ann,
My Pd is at Baby and Child Clinic at Blk 828 Tampines St 81. Tel: 6783 1955

Krex,
Found the website liao. Diana Ser used this for bb Jake's man yue too.

Cat,
Oh, ur PD also said it's 1.5, 3 &amp; 4. mmm....contemplating liao. may be can go for cheaper option since ur PD said the same thing.

gemini,
congrats 2 u!

shay,
i wld b taking d 5 in 1 at d polyclinic.

yuuri,
d 6 in 1 jab wld include d hep b jab.

shay, i'll let u know if the cakes are gd. heard melrose not bad also, but i never really considered them. my man yue party is on 24 aug but i'm distr. the cakes on 25 aug, mainly to relatives and colleagues not invited to the party.

mousse, tks for your feedback. i think i'll order the goon diapers then. my mamy poko finishing liao...so scary the rate my bb uses diapers! so far your goon diapers didn't leak rite?

hey cocomo..

can u update Titus's info: 3.36kg and 52cm

snow..my worry is cos my son drops more than 10% of his weight during the first 3 days..his discharged weight was only 3.12..now 3.16kg..still not good enough..he drinks 60-80ml per 3-4hour; i still cant produce enough for every feed..around 40 - 70ml at most...

shay,

My SIL ordered from Melrose recently. Not bad, it comes with cake, AKK and eggs. Quite fresh only thing they dont do fanciful name card for bb, just a sticker that tells bb's and parents' name..and only blue or pink box to choose from

congrats to mummies who had popped.

jiayou for those mummies waiting.

vaccination
kkh - 6 in 1 cost $450 taken at 2, 4 and 6 months. no need to take hep b 2nd dose at 1st month.

national health group polyclinic (eg. amk) - 6 in 1 cost $326.10 taken at 3, 4, 5 and 18 months (i think the 18 months jab is the booster). must still take hep b 2nd dose at 1st month, cost $15.

5 in 1 cost $290.40 taken at 3, 4, 5 and 18 months. (i think 18 months jab is the booster). must take hep b 2nd dose at 1st month and 3rd dose at 6 month, each jab cost $15.

singhealth polyclinic - don't have 6 in 1.

krex78,
i will be ordering from sweetest moments too for relatives. update me on feedback.

anyone bought fisher price rocker or bouncer for bb? any feedback? i'm looking at the following:

1. Newborn to Toddler Portable Rocker

http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2002&amp;e=product&amp;pid=38824

2. Aquarium Take-Along Swing

http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2002&amp;e=product&amp;pid=32833

3. Rainforest Open Top Take-Along Swing

http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2002&amp;e=product&amp;pid=38840

let me know if any of these is gd? i'm hoping to buy a portable unit and one that can move coz' my bb likes to be rocked to be comforted.