(2008/08) Aug 2008

nini/shint,
me oso tinking of booking 4-bedder.. hee.. all the 'jian zhao'. told my hb tis time tat he dun need to stay lah. cos i tink got lots more to do wif #1 n maid etc. i am light sleeper, but hor, i snore!!!! haha.. so, i'm worried i will 'disturb' the other patient if i get upgraded to 2-bedder!
oh yar, shint, will sms u once i checked my email.

cat,
hope stamford catering is good! feedback n lemme know okz? how abt the rest of the mommies? wat r u ppl catering n getting any full-month packs? i tink i wanna settle now then rushing later on during the confinement month.

Mummies: sorry to intrude. I still have 12 units of Desitin Creamy and 1 unit for original. Per tube is $10.20 (4 Oz) Interested pls PM me. Thanks

hey valnsw..thanks for tt tip, ya i should start monitoring how much baby suckle...if can lah

my baby hates water..or being naked..always scream when exposed!

hey..i noe purple sage is good..had frens who ordered from them..its good

for those who gave birth recently..congrats...and those who still waiting...jia you..

doubleblessing,
Congrats on ur 'long feng tai'! We delivered on the same day! Wah, really not easy looking after twins. Anyone helping u?

Interrace,
how do u monitor ur son's feeding? Does he feed regularly on a 3-hr basis or something? My son's feeding pattern very erratic. 2-hrly usually, then suddenly will wanna feed every hr for 3 hours, then one 3-hour break every day for the past week or so. 1st 2 weeks very good, he feeds every 3-hrly. Dunno how come like tt now. Growth spurt? But many days le leh.

Nini,
Thanks for posting the recipes. Heheee... will try to ask my mil to cook for me.

Re: desitin
I've been using it to apply to bb's buttocks every diaper change. Very good! BTW, I've got one extra tube of desitin creamy from a spree. Anyone wan to buy can PM me.

re: how to prep nipple before bf/pump
I use cotton wool dipped in sterile water to wipe the nipples before and after feeding. Haha... i very ks.. so far 4th week oredi used 5 packs of cotton wool!

Celyn, i think the white skin u see could be the crust or dried milk? Or use nipple cream see if u can remove it?

BTW, anyone knows of a good way to treat heat rash? I used calamine lotion, but not really useful. Can i use california baby calendula cream on heat rash? Very heartache to see bb's skin like tt. Got pus some more.

bleeding nipple,

i forgot who has this problem... but i noticed my left nipple where the milk ducts entrance is bled. guess it blocked the milk frm coming out cos my left breast has much much lesser milk as compared to my right. but left breast is not engorged lei, only right one is...........anyone knows what to do?

megan,
my bb also screams n cries when bathing n when naked

catherine,
i buay tahan liao, went out today. i also started to use normal tap water to bath n not the herbal one cos my skin seems to be sensitive to the herbal thing. i also went paragon n marina to shop but the AC in the shopping centre seems to be too cold for me lei. i'm wearing long pants n long sleeve sweater n need to wear another shawl! then my wound started to ache. think i walk too much liao. i still haven finish inviting friends for my first mth this sat..hubby say forget it, keep it small cos i have no time to call n invite pp
when;'s yr first mth celebration?

aurora,
My bb also got some rash like pimples, got small pus. Think use water to wipe can alrdy. Just now my hb's grandma told us not to kiss bb, cos our lips/saliva got some germs/bacteria.
Also maybe if you leak breastmilk on your bb's face, may cause heat rash when the breastmilk dries up.

little twin stars,
long time didn't hear from you! Not sure if what happened to my right nipple same as yours but once bb bite damn hard, cause some blood clot on my nipple. It looks like some pimple except got blood in it. I just squeezed the thing out and the blood came out liao. Maybe you wana do that?

Catherine,
Do give us feedback on Stamford Catering!

i'm down with fever today, 39 degree. cl says its due to engorgement. took panadol given by gynae, now temp drop a bit liao. had been sleeping whole day except for meal and pumping time.

little twin stars,
i do have nipple bleed too some time back. its usually at the first few suction of the pump, once it clear, it will be ok. apply some bm on nipple after that.

i'm opposite from you, right side is more engorge then left but its so much better now. i just latch and pump loh. sometimes, i pump 2.5 hour instead.

Aurora,
My boy also had heat rash last week. I applied some SebaMed Body lotion cos it contains calamine lotion. Then I read that shouldn't put anything on the heat rash as you're blocking the sweat glands (or something like that). Just keep baby cool. Anyway, 1 or 2 days later, it all cleared up....so I'm also not sure if the SebaMed really helped :p

valnsw,
ya lor, i was so moody the whole of the confinement until no mood to post lor........mine sounds the same as yrs. looks like tiny pimple. last night i saw a spot of blood on my breast pad, so i thot today clear liao. but it seems stuck lei. very little bm coming out frm it this morning.i shld squeeze out more blood? ouch!

celynlee,
mine seems stuck, even the suction cannot get it unclog. in fact, i don;t feel any pain frm left nipple when pumping anymore. so my poor right breast have to work doubly hard for now. mayb i apply the medela nipple cream n continue to pump n see how hor? will we end up having one breast bigger than the other ?!!!!!

I delivered baby Evie on 14th August 522am:

13th aug:

715am : had show

12pm: Gynae check-up...only 1 cm dilated, told to go home to observe few days

5pm: woken from nap by mild contraction

8pm: contractions started coming at 20 mins apart during dinner

10pm: contractions now 10mins apart n getting painful

1130pm: called gynae n decided to check into TMC

12+am: nurse check..already 4cm dilated..now getting more painful man.

1+am: gynae arrive to check...5cm liao! waiting for epi person to arrive...i planned for epi upon admission. after got epi..feel much better. legs so numb. gynae say he will come back...shd take another 6-8hrs before start delivery.

2am: trying to rest but feel pressure on my butt area. nurse check 9cm liao!! she say ok can start v soon. i thot shiok man...so fast. 1cm to go.

then kanna stuck!! spent next 3 hrs pushing n pushin until my face wanna pop.

in the end, gynae had to use forceps n baby Evie was delivered :p

my butt area is sore as hell...didnt realise after birth is so xin-ku. i just had my first bowel moment since delivery...wanna die in the toilet man..hehehe.

my nipples r sore n little bleeding too..sigh...boobs r huge n hard. milk came in last night. Evie's suction is super strong...but at least i know she getting milk.

daddy calling...Evie wanna eat liao...till next time

jiao-you everyone!

1645213.jpg

gayle,
congrats.

little twin stars,
hehehe... maybe you can try this. massage the whole breast, then massge the nipple then massage the aerola. when massge aerola, must press very hard to clear the ducts. usually, its better to have hubby to do it for you cos he can't feel the pain that you have. so he can really press very hard to get it clear.

Hisstory, ya lor at least it bring away my stress also coz i was very worried at 1st as i seen alot of cases when induce failed then emergeny c-section instead. I am glad I make it short keekee

gayle

*congrats* The progress of ur dilation is really fast! Enjoy ur mummyhood..

Rata

Gd idea to take away the stress!! I also prob want to delay admitting into hospital.. *heheh* I also hope mine is chopchop! *heehee*

Did u deliver in Mt A? I forgot if u did.. Want to double check on sthg

congrats gayle~

May I know what brand of breast pump u all using? I'm deciding to buy either Medala PIS or Ameda Lactaline Dual...

NiNi

I did some research on the forum, deciding between Medela Mini Electric & Ameda Lactaline Dual coz their prices are closer, and the latter came up with better reviews. PIS is quite a fair bit more costly compared to the Lactaline.. But PIS has good reviews. U've got any budget anot?

Btw, apart fr urself, Shint, Faeriekim & myself, who lurk here, do u know of anyone else who's waiting to pop?

me.. me... i am lurking in this forum. my due date is supposed to be on 19/08/2008.. until now still waiting... a bit of crampy feeling.. that's all...

still waiting lor.. tried almost everything except the SEX & nipple thingy... haha..

climb stairs, walk, rubbing tummy, housework.. only give me backaches and nothing else...

hisstory: I read from reviews that..Medala Mini Electric is quite noisy, like hairdryer. Ameda is the best choice liao. For Lactaline, PIS is comparable but double the price.. but PIS reviews are really good, just that its very expensive.. But i think if full-time breastfeeding, it's worth it

jo: my due is also 19/08! hehehe
Also no signal from bb... No show, only more yellowish discharge. BB seems quiet today...as compared to other days where he is so active...

hisstory,
haha.. so funny. 'lurk' around here...

jo,
glad you made such efforts man. at the most i do squats while bathing. 4 sets x 10 max. no SEX, nothing else. wonder if carrying my #1 counts? mebbe i should try to find elderberry tea tml...

gayle,
congrats on the delivery n baby Evie!

nini,
thanks for all the recipes!

jo

heheh.. Haven't worked hard on rubbing tummy though.. Maybe over tmr & tue, then can 'aim' for a 20 Aug bb
*kekeke*

NiNi

Yah lor, the Mini Electric's noisy.. So if u want to bring to work & dun have a gd place to pump, then it wld be quite troublesome..
Ameda's like the best choice coz of the price & the reviews. Unfortunately PIS is very expensive leh. Ur HB has any opinion? If he gives the green light, then go for it!!

I also noted more yellowish discharge.. I dunno if it's the infection coming back coz the course of antibiotics were finished 2 weeks ago..

faeriekim

Most of the mummies here have oredi popped leh.. I wonder if I wld be the 'last woman standing'. When everyone's confinement is over & getting into the routine of bb & mummyhood, i'm barely starting.. *hahah* Then must really 'consult' everyone for tips & pointers liao

<font color="0077aa">Nini &amp; hisstory: I did comparison with Medela PIS &amp; Ameda, and Medela PIS is also noisy &amp; comparing the two, I decided to get Ameda cos of the price &amp; both are comparable. Ameda also have the anti-backflow thingy, pls see below:

Closed System – Ameda Purely Yours uses the patented HygieniKit Milk Collection System, which has a silicone is designed to prevent milk from leaking into the pump’s tubing. This saves clean up time since the tubes do not require washing after each use.

Shint has a good bargain at TMC, only $318!</font>

Ameda pump still available in TMC.
I checked last Thu when I went for appt.
Yes, $318 is the best price so far and some more there's a free gift of a Lilypadz .. costs ard USD 18.95 .... even more value for $$. kekeke.

Promo till end of Aug while stock lasts. Can call up their pharmacy to check for stock availability.

wow! so many pple have popped! my heartiest congrats! i'm still slogging in the office.

hisstory, we can hold hand and wait together.

shint, how's ur boy's chickenpox?

this is bad... i STILL haven't decided name for baby! and hospital bag still half packed, and can't find the button front pjs. duh... cham liao!

those on confinement, can check if you use aircon during confinement? i tot aircon was ok (since hospital also aircon) but a friend said that fan is better as she had problems after that.

jvenus,
i use air con, set at 25 or 26 degree with low fan. but must make sure you cool down or wipe off all the sweat before entering the air con room. usually will sweat a lot after meals.

morning ladies! =)
congrats to all new mommies.

so sleepy u noe?
bb zynn had been awake this morning from 1am till 5am, that is the 1st bday gift she gave her mummy.
hb see liao also sayang me before going to work, dunno what bday gift he will bring back tonite.
hee hee..... =P

megan
bb zynn also screams &amp; cries till i heart pain when bathing &amp; when naked. =P

twin stars
me also ganna nipple bleeding, both side somemore. -_-"
the nurse advised me to use my own breast milk to apply on the affected area for recovery lor.

jvenus
i'm using air-con also, hb will turn it to 25 degree no matter what temp i setted lor. =D

re: catering
i'm thinking of ordering from liang food, cos got muslim friends &amp; need halal food.
any feedback on this caterer?

snow,
happy birthday !!!

your hubby same as mine, always set to 25. i always complain, 25 is not even aircon temp.. feels like fan only. i always set to 18 .. hahaa. but now with baby .. have to set to 25 .. hahaha. think hubby now happy le

continenatal is halal certified cos i got muslim frens coming too

snow

Happy Birthday!!
1646123.gif

Hope ur HB gets u a lovelylovely pressie!

storeberry

Thanks!! Is the Lactaline pump = Purely yours? After I bought my lactaline pump, i didn't go pay attention to it oredi.. *hahah* Now it's in cold storage

faeriekim

Yah lor, there are supposed to be more, like storeberry &amp; kel.. But i think they're very busy leh.

jvenus

Oh yes, u too!! *paiseh* Are u going to take MC or HL to rest when the date draws closer? I'm into 38th going on to 39th this week, and start my MC last week..

I think aircon is okie, at least my sis says so.. But not too low a temp

Which hospital are u going to? Some do provide those button front PJs.. If u dun mind, HB's shirts wld also bd gd, then no need to spend additional $$

Rata

There's the listed cost for delivering at Mt A yah? Tt's for the usage of the ward after delivering yah? Is there another set of cost for using the delivery suite &amp; is there a time where they start charging?
1646124.gif

catherine
thx. =)

ya lor, think hb is more gan jong than us when bb is concerned ya? hee hee.....

continental food nice nice?

hisstory
thx.
i've gave him my wish list actually, just that dunno which 1 he will buy. =P
all items cost at least 3-digit each. ha ha.....

u jia you also okie? very fast u will get to ee ur bb liao lor. =)

snow

heheh.. Not bad, just in case ur HB doesn't know &amp; ends up getting sthg u dun really want/ need.. Am sure for all the hardwork u're putting in for ur 2 gers &amp; his LOVE for u, a 3-digit pressie is okie!! *hahah*

Is a HP on the list??

I want to jia you.. BB like super comfy inside though! *kekeke* HB has been talking to bb to pop on 20 Aug *hahah*

One qn.... any of u notice the red dot for the BCG given on bb's left buttock yet? i couldn't find it on my bb and rang up ESH to check if they have missed out. The nurse told me some takes ard 3 wks to show. isit true? I rmb my #1 had some pus and scar on the BCG but i forgotten when did it shown.

Gayle,
Congrats....u have kinda short labour. Enjoy ur motherhood!

Jvenus,
They just brought him to see the doc .... and doc says to go back again in 4 days' time on Fri.
Mostly of the poxies dried up already except his forehead is still abit red, i heard ... so not declared fully recovered. *sigh.

That would mean I'd have delivered and going back home .... meaning my maid will be home and he alone with my MIL ... not the most ideal situation.

Snow,
Happy Birthday!!

hisstory
no hp leh, now i'm more concern about my skin being so dry after preggy lor...hee hee....
actually 3 boxes of fancl tense-up ex is 1 of the item. =P

dun need to rush the bb lah, they will noe when is the best date to come out lor.

shay
zynn's bcg cannot see yet also.

shint
thx. =)
how i wish i can go out celebrate. =P

gayle,
congrats on your gal Evie!

hisstory / nini / jo / faeriekim,
jiayou! This week will be your turns soon.

jvenus,
i think i quite bochap abt the fan n aircon, jus use when hot. I feel esp hot after meals or breastfeeding, so use the fan but let it rotate. Aircon at night when sleeping set to 27 deg.
I alrdy start wash hair every 2 days using the no rinse shampoo that my friend gave me, is liquid form, i apply alot cos like no lather. Think she got fr Mum Essentials? But once rinse off, I quickly wrap my head like turban w towel then dry w hair dryer and fan to cool my body.

snow,
Happy Bday!

Slowly get used to your gal, mine also one night 1-5AM didn't sleep cos maid rock her to sleep in the daytime. After that stop doing that, she can sleep on her own. However, this morning, maid told me my bb last nite 10.30PM til tis morn 1.30AM didn' sleep. So I guess you hv to watch out for ur gal's pattern.

Val,
u went for the post natal check up on fri rite? was it painful?

I went on last wed, wah lau super painful when dr heng cut the thread. It's like cutting on my flesh! dun understand y she needs to cut the thread.

shay,
yup i felt abit of pain there when she cut the thread off. but now I feel better. Yday down there stil feels abit sore.
Did she give you the powder to apply?
BTW did she tell u to go back for follow-up check i.e. do pap smear 1 mth after that?
Her charges damn ex... each consultation is $50! Plus she gave me the powder and calcium tablets, another $25.

Val,
Nope she only applied the anticeptic powder for me. She said wound already healed. Ya, she gave me app on Sept 10 for papsmear but i dun think i want to go bk to her. wanna go to poly sud be cheaper ba. wut about u? ya, agreed with u her charges quite x! I dun find it necessary to go back to her to cut the thread. Most of the gynae dun do that rite?

earnestmum, faerie, lulvel,
interbank/bank transfers received...

gayle,
evie super cute, open 1 eye only... got double eyelids hor.. hehe... she will be a beauty like mami...

snow,
happy birthday... hope all your dreams come true

re: liang catering
i used them for my bb's one month party yesterday... recommended by my clerk cos my office uses them... we get a lot of gd comments from our guests esp on the yee fu noodles, teochew duck, teriyaki chicken(a bit saltish but tasty), vietnam tofu, chocolate eclair... their prawns are quite big, lemon fish so so only... we ordered for 80pax but the food quantity is enough for more than 100... everything also got 2 trays... when almost 60 to 70 pax came then we need to change to the second tray...

re: aircon
we set to 28 degree &amp; i on my aircon 24hours a day except during my &amp; her bathe/changing time...

re: bayby sleeping pattern
my bb is a night owl too... wants pple to carry &amp; rock her esp at night... these few days have been sleeping with us on our bed cos after she falls asleep in our arms &amp; we tried to put her back to her cot, she will wake up immediately &amp; cry very loud...

nini,
i bought ameda also... cant compare against medela PIS cos i never use it before... however, i find it a bit painful to use lei... on using low vacuum not much milk come out, turn on higher vacuum then milk will come out but after that, my nnp a bit pain lei... still think that it cannot really empty my breast cos whether i pump before or after latching her, my max is still 80ml
... but im still on TBF with a combination of direct latching &amp; EBM

my HB just told me that he bought the ameda pump at $298 at mothercare... he say got 15% discount off $350 lei but got no free gifts... maybe u can call them up to ask if the offer still on... he bought it during the GSS when i got engorgement after delivery...

im going to prepare myself to go out to deliver cakes later on

shay
thx.
i delivered on 8th aug, till now 10 days liao.

valnsw
thx.
i'm only worry that maybe she is not feeling well, that is why can't get to sleep.
for the pass 1 wk, she will sleep as long as she is not hungy lor.
her face started to develope rashes, and think her stomach got wind also lor.

snow,
happy birthday!

'lurkers',
had VE today n found out 2cm dilated n bb been engaged all along (juz tat i din understand the gynae's meaning of 'low'). so, she did the same thing to me like she did to Nini, i.e. stimulate me. hahaha... she's hoping after her miraculous touch, bb will wanna come out today even! but if not, it's gonna be induction on 20/8. cfm leow..