(2008/08) Aug 2008

It's the weekend!!! But... everyday seems the same during confinement hor? Hehee..

Kym,
I think it is best that u discuss carefully with ur gynae and really monitor ur bb's movement everyday.

valnsw,
same here! MS really low.. and im oredi 4th week leh. So scared MSm dun come in. Thinking of asking MIL to cook papaya fish soup for me again. Think i drank tt during the 1st week and MS got increase... but now decrease again... duno if it has to do with the food im eating. Sigh... must try harder to pump pump pump. u jiayou too!

Re: bb skin peeling and heat rash
My bb also peeling during 1st-2nd week. Then i add some drops of Lactacyd to his bath water. Now his peeling much better. But he is having heat rash... very bad.. some even swell up and have pus. It's heat rash right? Hope it's not some allergy or something. Anyone's bb experiencing tt?

Huichin/ Medusa/ Celyn,
I so envy ur MS!!! Must work harder liao. As for stopping leakage... i read tt the lilypadz from ameda can help. But if urs really a lot, then no use. Have to stick to breastpads.

Yuuri,
I'm assigned the same PD as u! Hahaa, 1st consultation with him we nearly dozed off with his monotonous voice and nonchalant attitude. :p

huichin,
yah, still working hard on it. won't give up so soon.

valnsw,
let's jiayou together.

medusa15,
i think i need to increase my water intake. thanks for the tips.

since this is my 2nd born, I think this time round I have better hold over the whole breastfeeding situation..so would like to share...esp with who have not given birth.

Firstly, I realised none of you actually talked about a breastfeeding pillow. But that really helped my baby latch on. I use My Brest Friend..it is not cheap but imo, worth every penny! It brings baby up to the level of my breasts so makes latching on very easy...TOUCHWOOD but cos of that, baby has been suckling well since birth and I do not have sore nipples at all.

Secondly, an electric pump is ideal...esp in the beginning... helps to maintain supply. I use the Medela PIS...Baby is 2 weeks old and every pump can yield 100ml in like 10mins..with the avent hand pump no way and my hand would be aching! the avent manual is useful when your MS is established and your letdown is quick, I guess.

Just my 2 cents worth..hope it helps

megan,
I can roughly estimate cos if on FM only, bb drinks abt 100ml. If I BF then FM, bb takes abt 60ml FM. So based on that I estimate my BF is abt 30-40ml.
I kinda verified this cos just now I pump out 35ml for both breasts. MS is slowly trickling in, just gota jiayou!

lolarose,
thks for the tips, Ya i was thinking of getting the support pillow cos really feel the arms getting v tired and achy.
Where can I get the My Brest Friend pillow? How abt John Little?

Celyn,
Ya shd increase fluid intake, I notice I can pump more steadily i.e. the milk flow more smooth when I pump, when I drink alot of fluids, be it red date drink, fish soup or Horlicks. Also taking fenugreek.

Catherine,
So I guess I hv to monitor my gal's poo pattern. Hopefully, she will poo soon, else all the toxins not flushed out.

Thanks Lolarose for sharing. Im using avent manual pump now, think i better open up my ameda now. Hope it'll help with the supply.
*cross fingers n pray hard*

hisstory,
The tel for Oasis clinic at New Upper Changi Road is 6448 8055.
Maybe you can call them to check if can give u the contact number of other branches.
It's supposedly open 24 hrs, but I think it's only 8am-11pm.
hehe, how i knw this clinic is cos it's under my hubby's company panel docs.

val

Thanks!! New Upper Changi Rd's a little way off fr my place.. But I shall give them a ring to check for other alternatives

Oooh, then do u get better rates since it's under ur hb's company panel of docs?

I think I saw My Breast Friend pillow at the Taka bb sale. The price looks reasonable after the discount.. *i think*

Wanted to get the Brest friend pillow but then if cannot latch on properly like very wasted. When I was still in hospital, it was at 20 or 30% discount at TMC pharmacy.

Any idea when the lochia bleeding thingy will stop?

lorarose, tks for the tips! i did get the breastfeeding pillow and it's really much more comfi than using so many pillows in the hospital! pity my bb refuse to latch on coz' he's so used to bottle feeds. but u're right, the breastfeeding pillow is really really useful if u're into breastfeeding. i got my hb to buy for me at kiddy palace. around $50+.

regarding electric pump, i think i shall go buy today. i'm using avent manual now. my average pump is about 70-90ml every 6-7 hours. i dun bother to pump so regularly coz' it's tiring and i dun yield much. furthermore, my bb one shot can drink ard 90ml already and still feel hungry 2-3 hrs later!!!

Hello Mummies...

Posting after a long long time but with a glad news..I delivered a baby girl and a baby boy on the 25th of July..It was a normal delivery..my girl, Esther, came out at 12:05pm and my boy, Isaac, came out after 7mins, 12:12pm. Both weighed 2.2kg and 2.4kg respectively and were 34+ weeks then..Guess most of the Aug MTBs are already mummies by now..
Life has been very very hectic with both of them around...but its all worth when I look at their faces..With sleepless nights and off late both of them have been feeling hungry together,waking up together..oopphh...
The callenging part has been feeding them..both of them are quite lazy nursers also..they tend to always sleep off while sucking..i am not able to drain out my breast completely and 'am using handpump to express..i regret not buying an electric pump 'cause I get so tired during the day and my hands also start paining that I give up pumping also sometimes..I feel I don't have enough BM to satisfy both of them..any tips to increase ur BM?
Surprisingly both of them are sleeping for a long time now and I got a chance to logon

valnsw,
i called the PD to ask and he told me not every baby will poo everyday. but i think better to poo everyday. he recommended me ridwind to help for wind. After taking, baby fart alot.

yuuri,
ya i also wondering how come i havent bleed to death yet .. hahaa but now only "bleed" once a day. so irritating.

valnsw,

yup, think the pic was taken when he woke up..
think will take the rotavirus jab as well.
wonder when can get rid of tummy fabbiness wor..no time to exercise with baby and all.

aurora,
my boy also keep regurgitating after his feeds wor, u can see that he wanted to throw out but in the end he swallow the milk back in. but there were a few times he really merlion though ..that's when he will cry every hr after that for milk!! then my monitoring will go haywire, cos i do not noe how much his last feed was since he merlion..then got to start all over to give him feed on demand until adjust back to his usual ml again. this is stressful!!

hisstory,
have those dizzy spells when am hungry..lolz.
count down for you liaoz....hopefully baby will pop on 20th aug

chin chin,
confinement food, the usual loh, fish chicken all stuff with the rice wine/ginger. eat until quite sick also..

rata,
i took ginger only after he was diagnose with high jaundice loh, before that i din take but doc instruct to stop breastfeed, so till date, just occassionally feed him with my EBM, main diet now is formula.

re : poo poo
my boy also dun poo so often lei, could it be formula too heaty for him? he only poo like once a day , urine alot though, how ah ?

re : skin peeling
he been peeling since the day he got back from hospital, think he peeled more cos he was under the light treatment for jaundice ?? now still massaging johnson baby lotion on him after his bath each time loh.

do you feel engorge that you have difficulty turning your body? it seems like got vein pulling inside my breast. i pump every 3 hours now. is it advisable to pump every 2 hours?

Interrace, I see. till now i avoid ginger. food cook wif ginger but i dun eat the ginger. Are u bringing ur boy to the weddingZ?

Cat, I heard continental is not bad but personally i never try b4. I will be using mum's kitchen they say is good.

nini, for induce it reali depends on individual. like me is very fast. Pills inserted at 1+am then 6+am pop liao.

nini,
we have same gynae n almost same edd? she also told me the same stuff, but din set a date for induction leh despite the fact tat she doesn't want the bb to be overdue. :S but yar, i'm oredi tinking to have it done on 20/8! same same! so can see u n shint at TMC!

the last time i didn't use the pills, was on drip. took me seriously long.... 12 hrs of labour n 2 vials of epi. no joke. total labour was 14 hrs. now tat i most likely have to induce again, i'm having shivers...

cat,
my co. uses mum's kitchen for our mthly office buffet sometimes n it's not bad. how abt others like Neo Garden? I've been catering fm them ever since my housewarming. If u wanna splurge, purple sage is nice n pretty.

Rata: wow..thats fast! Did u walk alot?? Thats why im wondering if i induce at 3.30pm..then go home..think by evening i will start to have contractions liao. So sure admit before 11pm, which i dont want to waste the $$...

faeriekim: hehehe yes!
Do u have any show yet? I dont have leh...nothing at all despite i m so nearing my EDD.. but i got like big blob of yellowish discharge this noon..but no blood. Btw, the induce is like put a tablet into cervix one ya? But heard its painful when gynae stretch ur cervix... My gynae did VE for me n also try to stretch my cervix, wah..its painful loh! But i think labour pain should be more painful?? I pray god give me the strength to pushhhhh by then..hehe :p

ANY mommies here taking care of ur bb alone? I have nobody to help me either..mom not ard, mil cant make it..sigh..dunno how.. I'll be all alone at home to take care of bb.. I'm worried i cant handle it leh.

I have the following items for sales.

1) Bumbo seat @ $45. Very good condition in box.Use less than 10X. Color: Aqua.

2) Hanging mobile for baby cot @ $8.

Self collect at Serangoon (weekday), Sengkang or Punggol(Weekend) MRT station. Interested buyers, pls text 96510417. Thanks.

1643960.jpg

Nini,
Maybe you want to consider catering confinement food cos u'll be too tired to cook manz.
Last round I stayed with hubby's auntie, they cook for me and wash my clothes. Other than that, all on baby i handle by myself. Vv siong liaoz, got no rest one and u have to eat properly and rest so u can have milk supply.

Nini, faeriekim,
PM u hp .... then can say hello ;)
What bedder u all taking up? I going for 4 bedder la ... and hopefully upgrade to 2 bedder ... hee. Don't want waste $$ on that ... cos i can sleep in any circumstance one. kekeke. Not too particular.

Catherine,
Yay!!! my gal pooed today. And she poo out alot! I was changing her diaper, then as I was about to change to new one, she pooed and peed. Then came another string of poo. I decided to wait out til she poo out all before changing. In total, I think she pooed out 4-5 strings of poo.
Ya, I also feel is better for bb to poo out regularly everyday rather than accumulate all and poo.

interrace,
wait patiently like me. today bb finally poo out alot. if too many days never poo, then gota be worried.

hisstory,
I dun think HB gets panel rates, just that the clinic is one of his co's panel doctors. Think the jabs are pretty standard price. So I reckon if I take the 6-in-1 jabs = $120 + 6 times consultation (6x$20) = $240.
The jabs will be administered by GP, so better than polyclinic and probably shorter waiting queue and less crowded than polyclinic.

nini,
u better get your hubby to help you out at least for 1 week else you will go mad one... U also need some rest so that your body is rested and relaxed to produce enough milk.

interrace

gosh.. then u better eat regularly.. Dun starve urself k?
*heheh* am counting down too.. Had a bout of crampy feeling just now, but they never recurred, so guess it was a false alarm.. *hahah*

val

Even the consultation at the clinic sounds very reasonable.. Hopefully there's one near my place, or another clinic which offers comparable rates.
I read fr July thread (i think) which mentioned tt AMK polyclinic gives priority to infants.. Shall go check up a little more, if the waiting time's unbearable, then forget it.. *bleah*

Shint: im taking 4-bedder too! *wink*

valsnw: i have confinement lady to help out..wat i meant was 2nd month onwards... jialat then~ hope i wont get post-natal depression...

Got this recipe from one of the mom's blog, for breastfeeding moms, hope it helps!

This is a breastmilk boosting recipe. It is another generous contribution from my friend, Lily Tan. I have tried it and it seemed to work for me.

Ingredients
1 Choko (also known as Sayote, Chayote or Buddha's Hand Gourd), chopped into chunks
1 Carrot, chopped into chunks
1 Onion, chopped into chunks
2 Tomatos, chopped into chunks
1 piece of Ginger, sliced
1 Chicken, chopped
Salt

Steps
1. Parboil the chicken in boiling water.
2. Put all the ingredients, including the chicken, into a pot of water, enough to cover all the ingredients.
3. Bring to a boil and simmer for at least 1 hour. If you are using a slow cooker, cook for at least 4 hours.
4. Season with salt to taste.

Herbal Carp Soup

Yet another fish dish! You can get 'tung choe' (Cantonese) or 'Tong Cao' (mandarin) from medicine hall. It is a herb used in Chinese herbal remedies. According to the author, when it is cooked with carp, "it has the effect of increasing milk flow for the new mothers."

Ingredients

1 Carp, approx. 600g

20g Tung Choe (Tong Cao)

800ml Hot water

Steps

Remove gills from carp. Do not scale or gut. Rinse thoroughly and drain.
Put the prepared carp and tung choe in a tureen. Add the water. Cover and double boil over medium-low heat for 2 hours.
Drain soup and drink it warm. The fish need not be eaten.

Fish Tail & Papaya Soup

This is a 'classic' recipe that even the hospital LC will recommend to you. A lot of breastfeeding mothers here know this recipe. It is more common for our local mothers to use threadfin fish instead. Threadfin is also known as "ngor hur" in hokkien, or "wu yu" in mandarin.

Ingredients

1 white fish tail, approx. 1 Kg

100g raw peanuts

1 half-ripe papaya, approx. 1kg

1 pc tangerine peel ("chenpi")

2 slices old ginger

1.5l water

2 tbs oil

1 tsp salt

1 tsp light soya sauce

Steps

Soak peanuts in water overnight. Drain before use
Skin and halve papaya. Remove seeds, rinse and cut into big wedges. Rinse tangerine peel.
Clean and scale fish tail. Rinse, drain and pat dry thoroughly.
Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a wok. When the oil is smoking, add the ginger and fry until fragrant. Now include the fish tail and fry both sides until light golden brown.
Bring 1.5l of water to a boil. include all the ingredients, cover pot and leave to boil for 15 minutes over high flame. Lower flame and simmer for 2½ hours. Season to taste.

Nini, Faeriekim,
Are u putting on weight? I seem to have put on weight these 2 weeks .... so is baby. Suddenly I can increase by 1-2kg. Still ok la .. but wah, so fast put on during end of last trimester.

Maybe becos i eat alot more ... now my appetite vv good ... go buffet, eat chinese, italian food. Love cakes and ice-cream especially. This baby ah, eat alot of rubbish, no wonder now oredi 3.4kg liao .... think by next Wed, he'd prob be 3.6kg ba .... fat fat compared to my #1 who's almost hitting 3kg only.

Change of telecast timings for National Day Rally
Singapore's Prime Minister has changed the telecast timings for his National Day Rally speech, so that Singaporeans can watch and support our team "live" at the Olympics Table Tennis Women's Team Finals, this according to a statement from the Prime Minister's Office.

The Malay and Chinese speeches will still be telecast "live" on Sunday, 17 August at 6.45 pm on MediaCorp channels. However, the English speech telecast will be delayed to Monday, 18 August at 8.00 pm.

Val,
The 6-in-1 jabs got 3 doses (not 6). The $120 should be for per dose. So each dose should be $120 + $20(consultation) = $140
Total would be $140 x 3 = $420

Think you can call again to double check.

nini, my gynae didnt induce at his clinic. I went to see him at 2pm then he ask me to admit hospital either 9pm or 12am also can, most impt is to ve a good dinner too. Wat I did was jio frenz for 1 last round of mj after dinner the game ended at 9+ then we change our bedsheet at the same time put on baby cot bedsheet then lastly ve a nice, shiok shower then go for supper the admit at 12+am. Pill was inserted at 1+am & monitor on ctg till 2am then was told by the nurse will not b so soon usually is the noon thing, saying if by morning water bag no burst gynae will burst & put on drip then contraction will come. but my tummy feel uncomfy since 2am then 3am water bag burst on its own & the contraction is every 30sec then call for epi at 3+, 4+ epi given & i m 9cm liao, started pushing at 5+ pop at 6+

valnsw,
thats good.. i think the body is adjusting.. mine after the 2 days of 1 poo is back to poo poo many times a day. dont worry too much.

so what's the diff between 5 in 1 and 6 in 1 ?

rata/faeriekim,
i decided to order from continental. I feel purple sage variety quite limited.

Yuuri,
Thanks for reminding, I just called, ya is $120 per dose. Me so tian zhen to think its $120 for the entire 6-in-1 jabs.

hisstory,
as Yuuri pointed out, 6-in-1 jabs is 3 dosages and the clinic I called is $120 per dose. Totals $360 excl consultation.

Rata,
Wah .. your after pill inserted in, so fast water bag break liaoz and 3 hours deliver. Mine waited till next Mon 11am, then gynae breaks water bag. Waited till 6pm then started to try pushing. Different people different ... i tot induce prob takes long time so i was wrong.

U still can do MJ before u admit ... hehe.
Can play during maternity leave la ... kekeke. Then can break in between to BF, then go back to it.

yesterday brought bb to see PD...her backside super duper red..like lobster red..and think very pain lor..cuz she WAIL like very chiam like dat...cry until got tears every time we clean her backside...i see alreasy also cry..heart pain...PD gave desitin to apply on buttock..today think slightly better...desitin really good sia...going on a spree to stock up liao..

my gal poo a bit every half and hour...so can ur imagine how many times we have to clean her...sigh..plus now she cannot wear diapers cuz must air her bum..so every half an hour we must change the blue sheet (PD recommended to use that one cuz otherwise pee and poo all over.)..shag man...only now the CL managed to get to sleep ..but i think in another 15 mins..she will pee and poo again..and have to change her again...whole cycle start again...hope her delicate bum will recover fast enuff...so at least she can wear diapers and not so shiong like now ..every half an hour must change...

YLN,
ya destin very good when rashes appear. but it's quite thick so apply takes time. my girl butt was so red and so many spots, after 2-3 days of destin all ok already.. after her rashes gone, you can use drapolene daily to prevent it.

rata,
me too, i dun really eat the ginger, just that every dish also got ginger wor, so sometimes happen to eat those finely chopped ones.
should be bringing him if hubby coming ba, otherwise may just go alone loh, see how.

valnsw,
good lei...ur baby got poo poo liao, today my boy also poo poo but out came a round rock like poo and only one, think he contispated from the formula liao, will monitor and see how, any other mommies experience rock like poo like my boy ? was it due to thick formula ? or formula not suitable for him as in heaty??

nini,
i will also be handling baby alone after confinement, thinking if wanna go for catering to settle my meals, since taking care of baby will take up most of the time.

re : sending baby to infant care after 3mths ml ?
anyone here sending baby to infant care after our 3mths of ML ? for me, situations do not allow either my mom or mil to take care of baby, so think will be sending him to infant care even though feel abit bui she de... no choice though..anyone got experience to share ?

re : 5 in 1 vs 6 in 1
if not wrong, 5 in 1 do not include hep B, that's the only diff. and some doc claimed 5 in 1 less chance to develop fever after jab, 6 in 1 got higher chance to develop fever after the jab, not sure how true also.

re : desitin
agreed totally!! is super good and effective!! my boy rashes also gone now after few times of application.

re : induced labour
mine was induce too...no signs of labour and was overdue for 4 days. pill inserted at 12am , slept through the nite, drip put on in the morning ard 8ish to introduce contractions. only gave birth ard 5ish pm. so it really depends on individual and baby to see how long induced labour will take ba..

i'm having a bad headache and stiff
neck today. don't know if its cause by the pumping schedule in the night thus not getting enough rest.

nini & interrace,
i will be alone with baby after confinement too. will cater lunch cos don't think got time to cook. dinner will get hubby to tabao.

desitin
yah, its really good. my boy came back with super red buttock. once change diaper, he cry like mad. after applying, its ok liao. i use desitin creamy, heard its better than original.

does anyone know if eu yan sang sells some kind of drink that can boost breast milk ss? my friend says they sell such things...ready made...no need to cook. any idea what it is?

btw, anyone here having trouble bathing bb? i tried for the 3rd time today and still not very confident. bb always cries when i bathe him...prob not feeling very comfi. my CL does it super quick...i guess that comes with years of experience! sigh, still got long way more to go to reach that stage...

Val,
No prob
....and the search goes on to find the cheapest 6-in-1 vaccination!

re: Infant care
I don't want don't want don't want to send baby to infant care! I don't even want to let my mil take care cos I don't like the way she feed him..always use the teats to push his gums. I see already feel very sayang. Plus I want to be there to see him grow, see his smile, see him turn...I am in denial, refuse to think after 2mths how.

Krex,
Guess you just gotta be firm. My boy also always cries and struggles when bathing, but my hubby used to it liao (been bathing him for nearly 3 wks now), so he not scared. I think if I take over, sure jialat.

yuuri, i think talking to him helps. but sometimes i'm a bit rough in handling him (ya lah, still not used to handling such fragile beings), so he cries whenever he feels insecure. bathing bb is really an art! not as simple as changing diaper or feeding him milk bottle, heehee.

i also can't bear to let him go to MIL's when i go back to work. now MIL so sayang him, i scared he doesn't even miss mummy when i'm gone
since i'm not BF him coz he refuse to latch on, not much to bond also. he lets anyone feed or carry him, so mummy somehow doesn't feel that special

Shint, ya i was surprise too. Initially I scare induce failed then need to emergency c-section coz i seen alot of such cases. But I am lucky even the nurses were surprise i reacted so fast & good to the pill.

Interrace, ok see u then.

Krex,
Yah! I know what you mean cos my boy also don't want to latch on...unless you count 1 minute as latching on. My mil always carry him so he will be used to her smell. And mil insists on bb calling her Mama (their dialect way of calling grandma), so I scared when he learns to say mama, they will think he means grandma!

Btw, changing diapers is still an art! Must watch out for shooting pee!

krex78,

bathing baby more often then you will feel more confident and experience liao.
my hubby every time qns my boy why when his mommy bathe or change his diaper, he dun cry as much as when my hubby bathe and change him..haha...i told him cos he is familiar with my voice when he is inside tummy mah.so more comfortable when mommy bathe/change his diaper loh.

re : care giver after 3mths..
guess we all feel the same hor, nothing beats taking care of our babies ourselves.
who will be quiting and be SAHM after this ? i wish i can be one, but dun think i can afford not to work though.

re : cater lunch.
which caterer is affordable and good ah ? i also thinking of just catering lunch, then dinner ask hubby to tabao.

re: how to prep nipple before bf/pump
do u all clean ur nipples before bf/pump? clean with cloth ? now me got phobia doing bf and pump...cos afraid will make my boy's thrush come back..

yuuri, haha, we're in the same boat. my hb is canto, so my boy also has to call my MIL "mama". i will insist that he calls me mummy so that we can differentiate, tho most likely he'll learn to say mama first before mummy
ya, my boy shoot so many pees already. luckily haven't dirty the bedding yet. so far it's just shooting on the towel and clean diaper. my hb says can put a wet wipe on his birdie so that it won't shoot up when he pees, heehee.

interrace, i will definitely practice more often since my CL is going back in slightly more than a weeks' time! *panic* i dun want my MIL to be bathing him all the time and telling me how i shld bathe my son! regarding pumping, i dun really clean my nipples. just wipe the breast area with tissue before i start lor. sometimes also feel very sweaty esp since weather is so hot.

Lasinol nipple cream is really good for me. Hope it works for you too if you have sore nipples.

My girl really sleeps a lot. Maybe she is only 6 days old or could be she's an easy baby to take care compared to my son. But I can't help feeling a bit worried when she skips feeds though confinement nanny says it's alright.

Still struggling with getting the correct latch on. For those mummies waiting to deliver, wish you all the best!!

Take care

Rata

U're amazing.. U actually arranged for 1 last round of MJ eh? *heheheh*
Right now am still thinking of where to go for supper in my area before I admit to pop..

val

IseeIsee.. Suresure, will keep in mind & compare

krex,
i bathe my baby myself as i have no CL and my mom also forgot how to do it cos she say last time the nurse from the hospital come to bathe me.. hahaa. anyways .. i always make sure that my girl is fed already and she is awake. her eyes must be open big big so i know she is not sleepy, when sleepy she will be cranky. Also talk to her during the bathe. I always wrap her up, wash her hair, dry her hair then remove her clothes and put her in the bath water. She so far only cried once i think cos she wasn't awake enuf and cant decide to sleep to keep awake. she seems to enjoy it.

bathing baby
i thought we are not suppose to touch water during confinement. how to bath baby?

interrace,
i don't really clean my breast or nipple. just wipe away the sweat.

do you realise there are some white false skin on the nipple? i try to remove them but can't. it will come off on its own after baby suckle. sound very dirty hoh. anyone know what is it?