(2008/08) Aug 2008

jvenus

IseeIsee.. Mine's Ameda.. Shall see how I cope with it first

celyn

So cute!! He must have felt a great sense of relief.. *kekeke*
Alamak, must wear sleeves & longs ah.. I was already trying to take out my pre-preggers' clothes which might be gd for BF.. And they are mainly sleeveless!

val

Dunno if u ladies wld have to wait long anot.. Bb looks very comfy in here leh..
Gd tt ur maid's doing the night feeds, then u can rest well & hopefully boost the MS!!

BTW, any of your hubbies help to carry your diaper bags?

I asked my hubby if he willing to help carry, he said dowan... cos I guess the bag is super bright pink.
Then I asked if I get the Carters diaper bag which there is a BP now (which is brown in color with some blue or pink color - v little), will he carry? He said no

Argh... men!

BTW, any mummies using this diaper bag? Any feedback or comments?

http://www.jcpenney.com/jcp/X6.aspx?DeptID=52433&CatID=52433&Grptyp=PRD&ItemId=14c7326&cmRef=http://sg.search.yahoo.com/search?p=Carters%C2%AE+%22Keep+Me+Organized%22+Diaper+Bag+&fr=yfp-t-web&toggle=1&cop=&ei=UTF-8

Regarding pumping out the breast milk after latching... Do u all store in one bottle? Then give to bb on the next latch then continues to pump the excess into the same bottle again???

valnsw: My hubby refused to carry the shoulder diaper bag, so he 'ren tong' and bought a diaper haversack..It's pretty expensive at $170! Didnt know diaper bag so expensive one... Some of my friend's hubby dont mind carry the shoulder kind, but as long as it's not pink...hahaha

re:hair
im doing rebonding + cut + treatment later cos my full month party is this sunday... will miss my gal very much cos whole process is 5 hours... plus i should be tempted to go taka baby sale after that cos the salon is at ngee hair too...

regarding bf, i will express after doing hair & 4 hours after doing hair & discard these 2 ebm...

val, u're right, it's still called enfalac in singapore. my hb just bought the enfalac A+ with iron yest. most ex powder on the shelf at $39.40!!!

shint, how come your milk powder so cheap? mine is 900g and it costs $39.40.

huichin, my bb also dun want to latch on. i just express my milk out for him lor.

von, how much is your electric single? i'm thinking of getting electric also, but prob get the double lah. now whenever i pump from one breast, the other leaks. so irritating!

mommies, those using the electric breast pump, am i right to say your hands will be busy holding the bottles while the machine pumps? also, with a manual, i notice that the flow is heavy but after a while, must massage hard before i can continue pumping and sometimes must change position on the breast. will the electric have this same problem? i would still have to massage my breasts prior to pumping and change positions a little to maximise the breast milk rite?

krex,
How come your tin of Enfalac is more ex? Yday I saw at NTUC in neighbourhood selling $37.45.

Maybe u can check out www.fairprice.com.sg but then they dun hv price for Enfalac A+

For the breastpumps, I got the hands-free Pumpin' Pal kit that allows you to pump handsfree with the Ameda electric dual pump. It's a must get... so that your hands are free and u can even watch TV while pumping.

I have not massaged my breasts b4 pumping yet, but my massage lady did recommend to massage b4 pumping.

RE: Pumping
Anybody hv prob w the suction on one breast? I asked Mumsfairy and they said my right breast is bigger than the left so the suction is not so gd, cos everytime I pump, the right side one will come off. Juliet suggested to adjust the bar but seems like not working tat well. Have to adjust for sometime before the suction kicks in.

nini,
At least ur hubby will carry diaper haversack. Din ask my hubby yet but prob he will not carry that too.
Now I think prob will hang the diaper bag on the stroller and get HB to push the stroller.

RE: maid
Wana complain abit here...
Sigh... I think the maid's attitude is quite ok, but then she abit slow and no initiative.. v gong.
She will do whatever I ask/tell her to, but she will not think ahead.

Guess it also boils down to her English quite poor. She doesn't seem to understand what I tell her some times.
Even my HB also abit exasperated cos he once instructed her something and she said yes yes, but in fact, she din understd what HB told her.

I told the maid not to keep saying Yes Yes, if she doesn't understd can always ask me repeat.

Now my HB is gona borrow the Malay-English dictionary fr his sis to instruct the maid.. *faintz*

Altho both HB and I knw its cos she's here less than a mth, gota be patient w her, but sometimes when bb is crying for milk, and she quite slow to make the milk. So now, I make her standby the milk, then heat up so that bb can quickly drink and not cry while waiting.

OK, gota hv my lunch, feed bb then go for gynae follow-up.

All other mummies jiayou on your bfeeding.

Celyn,
Yalor, my gal oso hiccup very loud and long…hope this phrase goes off soon…

Hisstory,
Hahaha, my mom is ok with me gg out as long as bb stays put…your mom doing confinement for you? U got maid to help?

I dun like confinement food thus appetite not very good…I’m fine with giving my gal FM coz my #1 grows well with FM too so I’m not too stressed.

Valnsw,
I forgot to ask the PD when I saw her last Mon…can let me know what your PD said after you ask him/her? Thanks!

My hb is fine with helping me with the diaper bag…any design he oso ok…hahaha

Krex,
I got Enfalac A+ at $37 from Sheng Shiong…

M2B

Tt's so good.. I hope my mum isn't fussy! She did my elder sis's confinement & I dun recall her being ngiao. So let's hope it's the same for me!
Nopez, me no maid.. My mum wld be of gd help

Ur meals consist of mainly confinement food ah? Gee, i hope my mum wld be able to prep a variety of pseudo confinement food, so long as it's healthy & not cooling, i think can chin chai lah *cross fingers & toes*

Gd to hear u're okie with FM.. These days the FM are pretty gd, esp with all the R&D tt goes into it

Congrats to all new moms.

It's being a long time since I login. My boy is down with flu for the past week. Now suspect he got HFMD cos' some kids in his childcare are down with HFMD. What a timing.

Anyway, I have past my EDD (13 Aug) and still waiting for my baby to show some signs of delivery. Any moms going to deliver in TMC? May be can meet up there.

Think will see my gynae later.

Long time no "see". Have been down with cough and flu for the longest time and told gynae i too weak to push if really deliver. By the way, still havent pop yet...waiting patiently...hopefully not this two days...

CONGRATS to all mummies who have popped!!

happycat,
oh no, what lousy timing! My first one kena HFMD disease twice and it was real tiring. BB is fussy and in pain, no appetite, cant slp well and you have to keep monitoring. worse of all, it is infectiious, even to adults, so u must be extra careful.

Wa, so many posts..hard to catch up sia.

me been busy with emre, ytd went to bring him see PD, cos he got thrush in his mouth and was told to stop latching him on and to treat my nipples and treat his thrush for a while first. so sad, another obstacle to breastfeeding, just feel like giving up at times, like more harm than good for me to breastfeed him.
his jaundice level also went up to high level and got to admit him to hospital ytd. doc recommend to stop breastfeed. so been pumping and throw, but my supply not much so dun feel so wasted, each pump only can yield abt 40mls.
lucky emre is back home today, think will stick to formula first before i give him EBM again.

here's pic of my little emre :

1640672.jpg

hisstory,
yah, during confinement period if i don't wrap up like mummy, can't go out even on a hot afternoon.

krex78,
yes. you need to hold the bottle to pump. we need to maasage before pumping. i will pump for 5 mins, massage a bit and change position then continue cos for avent pump, there a massage kind of thing to help in flow.

nini,
i will store bm from same pump together but won't mix 3pm bm and 6pm bm in a bottle. to top up after latch, i will give bm that i express eariler and not current bm.

interrace

Great to see u back here in action! Emre's has a very nice head of hair

celyn

Gosh.. I cannot tahan sleeves leh. *faint* Ur mum or CL told u to wrap like a mummy??

valnsw,
me same case with you on the maid. super slow and no initiative. she also take very long to make milk and every time also have some milk powder not dissolved. very pek chek. but i keep rushing her lo. no choice. try not to premake the milk. it's not good to leave it for too long. if u can est about when bb wake up then ok. or when u latch on, get her to prepare the fm.

hisstory,
thanks, not sure if is due to beef i took over the last few wks..he quite hairy all over. (my colleague mentioned eat alot of beef will get hairy baby ?)
i took cos i scared of low blood level during and after birth, true enuff, day after my delivery, when i took shower, my whole body feel so weak and head so dizzy.
also went dizzy in the mornings after discharge, thus quickly pop iron pills and eat beef again.haha.

re: wrapped like mummy.
i cannot!! wearing shorts and t-shirt at home, the weather so hot, seat down and type email now also sweating, how can wear long sleeve and pants at home ?? i bathe everyday also wor and wash hair everyday, still feel all sweaty and dirty by mid day.

re : enfalac A+
i bought mine frm msia. cost abt SGD30.

re : injections.
not sure if posted this before, where are u all gg to bring ur babies for the 6 in 1 or 5 in 1 jabs ? recommended to take the rotavirus/pneumoccocal jab too ?

for those mommies not popped yet...cant wait to hear ur birth stories!!keep it coming hor.
think u all better enjoy ur food and freedom and sleeping time now... after baby come, really cannot sleep through the nite like last time liaoz, missed my beauty sleep.

re : post natal massage
for mommies who went through natural birth, have u all completed ur massage, got good effect as in tummy no more sagging and water retention all gone liao ?

Hisstory,
Glad you have the help of your mom...hehe, so your mom not "ngiao" too? I'm fine with FM, true with the R&D, I think the FM will be more nuritious than my milk..heehee

My mom does cook a variety of food but seem like my appetite just not good leh...can't eat much...maybe looking fwd to end of confinement ba...heehee

Happycat,
Today is 2 days past your EDD so you still tahaning? Can't advise on HFMD, so sorry...you must be careful too coz contagious to adults too...

Interrace,
My gal's PD recommended rotavirus and pneumoccal jabs too but the latter, she said can jab after 1yo...

I have completed my massage already and tummy has gone down although still have loose skin...massage lady commented I dun have much wind just abit of water retention...

BTW, mommies, here Maegan's pic
1640860.jpg

Krex,
Mine is the 400g one .. i buy small one to test first la .. if he ok then i buy big one.

Ameda pump still selling at TMC if u are considering - i was there yesterday and asked them ;)
Now i fren with one of the sales lady there. hahha. Said i help to lelong their Ameda pump. kekkee.

Celyn, MTB,
I remember that hiccups are normal and ok for the baby. No worries on that.
They dun suffer like us when we have hiccups. I think can leave them alone.

Happycat,
If u can .... quarantine is best ba. I read the last time that one family had 1 kid kenna HFMD and
though the kid was kept in the room all the while, the other kids in the house eventually kenna too.
Better ask gynae what's the best and also do research on web.
My son is still recovering from Chicken Pox and i had sent him out to in law house for now.

Interrace,
Your baby looks quite pinkish leh .... don't look like got jaundice but of course blood test is always more accurate.
Anyway, keep on pumping cos this will encourage more supply.

Those awaiting to deliver,
Do you all feel vv hot and sweaty at nite?
I had been feeling vv hot at nite (is it the weather or my body temperature?) ... and though my place is vv windy, I still perspire alot.
Then i turn on the ceiling fan to bigger, half way thru the nite, I feel too cold and switch on to lower mode.
Again, i start sweating and had to repeat the cycle.
Is this normal?

Interrace,
My scheduled date is next Wed. Me trying to enjoy my few more days of freedom .... i know how it feels to be a complete "cow slave" to the baby once he comes out. hahhaa.

NTUC like dun sell the Enfalac A+ for new born leh ... i remember checking before and not sure which one to get.

Does Carrefour sell?

hisstory,
both. cos baby in hospital for 7 days right, when i go see him regardless of time, i wear jeans, button down top, wool sweater, socks and cover shoes. only expose part is head ans hands.

interrace,
today is my 4th massage session, can see tummy become smaller but not flat lah.

m2b,
i'm also ok with my boy taking fm. i don't think i will have a balanced diet after confinement so fm might be more value. but still will try to bf as long as possible. heheh...

interrace,
my baby quite hairy too. PD said it's normal and the hair will drop. so dont worry.

I cant even wear tshirt. must wear singlet and shorts. hahaa.

Celyn,
Really pei fu you can wear until so much. I also just wear tee and shorts at home, everyday must bathe and wash hair or else cannot sleep. When I went hosp to see my bb, I wore berms and tee and slippers. Only thing I compromised was to wear a jacket....dunno how you do it man!

Interrace,
My bb is very hairy too! I thought it's only me cos everyone who saw him all say 'Wah never seen such a hairy baby!'. His back is covered with hair...arms and legs also!

Catherine,
Really ah? bb's hair will drop...sheesh, and I thought he'd be a sexy baby

re: 6-in-1 jab
I am gonna do it at my GP. Much much cheaper than doing at any of the PDs cos GP don't usually charge consultation or GST for the jabs. Will be doing the optional jabs as well, kiasu lah :p

Re: breastfeeding
ANyone can advise what's the best way to pump? Must massage first before pumping? In between pumping must still massage? Then each side pump at least 15 min? My MS miserable leh... after bb latch le can only pump less than 1oz usually or at most 80ml in the morning when breasts are fuller after a nite rest. So at most i can express enuff BM for 1-2 feeds the whole day for standby. Other times just express 15 - 20 ml, how to store? Can I just pour all the chilled EBM (same day) together to make one feed?

Re: Vaccination
I think I'll also bring my bb for the 6-in-1 jabs at polyclinic. BB has priority so no fear of waiting too long and the cost is almost 1/2 of PD's. Think the MMR jab at polyclinic is free oso.

post-natal massage
I started my massage only this week (3rd week after delivery) altho' i had natural delivery. Hmm... tummy seems flatter after the binding, but still flabby lor. Think tt one has to exercise to firm it up. Now i hate the sight of my tummy. Looks like shrivelled dried orange! EEks! With stretchmarks and tt dark line in the middle. Anyone has any idea whether the line will fade away???

Re: Confinement
I'm counting down to the end of my confinement. can't stand it liao! My MIL very strict. I cannot bathe or wash hair. Just wipe body twice everyday. Think going to attract flies liao. Wonder how my bb can tahan his stinko mama??? 8 more days and I'll be through! Ren.......... :p

Aurora,
I am probably not the best person to advice on breast pumping but I do mix pumps. Cos it takes about 1.5 pump for me to fulfill 1 feed so I will just add in the fridge together.

Does polyclinic have 6-in-1 jabs? I thought they only do the 3-in-1?

M2B,

Your maegan look so fair.

ic, think will also be taking those optional jabs too, since me also kiasee mommy. :p

Shint,

ya loh, he also look very red and orange to me, but can see abit of yellowish also lah at times.
have to trust blood test loh, just hope it will not come back again.
keep pumping and throwing for now loh.
milk and confined cow wor. lolz.
during my last few days i also feel very hot, my hubby shivering and got to cover himself with blanket when we sleep at nite but i can sleep without at blankets and still perspire and find the aircon not cold loh ... adjusted to 17 degree on nite also dun feel cold wor.guess baby inside elevate our body temperature more ?

catherine/yuuri,
hee...glad to hear that we all have hairy babies.

re : vaccination
can take at GP? what are the charges like ? similiar to that of PD or cheaper ?

aurora,
i also have the dark line vertically down, also wondering if that will fade, also the dark lines under my armpits, when will those go away??
wa, you din bathe for one whole mth ?? pei fu ni!!

Yuuri,
Ok, then i think i'll mix the pumps together. Think as long as they are all chilled shd be no prob right?

I checked with my SIL and she said she bought my nephew to polyclinic for his 6-in-1. Total cost $320 plus only.

Interrace,
Hhahaaa... yah! One whole month! I could never imagine it cos usually i have to bathe twice a day at least. Borbian ar... if not later MIL nag nag nag... dun wanna start any unhappiness later. It was so torturous until now i become very 'ma mu' liao, dun think abt it.

Taking vaccination at GP shd also be much cheaper than at PD. Just tt I dunno which GP near my place does tt, so choose polyclinic ba.

Interrace,
I only called 1 GP so far, the charges of the jabs are quite similar, slightly cheaper than PDs. BUT PDs all charge like $40 consultation on top of each jab they do...so overall, GP will be cheaper by a couple of hundreds (estimate). Will investigate if polyclinic is cheaper :p

Anyway, here's a long overdue picture of baby K taken this morning.
1641086.jpg

M2B,
You're still able to swaddle maegan ? My girl refuse to let me swaddle already... she wants to kungfu her hand and legs..

aurora,

really pei fu ni lei...i one day no bathe can get depression liao..esp after massage wa...lagi worse..feel so sticky and sweat alot!!
320 is for all doses of 6 in 1 jabs ?

yuuri,
keep us update on the polyclinic charges k ?
cos for me i was thinking to take the 6 in 1 in polyclinics and those optional ones take at PDs/GPs since poly clinic do not have the optional ones available ? tat's what the PD receptionist told me lah.
i checked out two PDs so far, for 6 in 1, one of them charges 155, the other charges 170 both price oredi include consultation.so even btw PDs, there are like some diff in the charges loh.
will probably be using the baby bonus to pay for all these jabs, thus must go through which route is wise to take the jabs at.

baby K look so shiok and njoying his bath time lei..keke...

i should take pics too when bathing emre, din take any so far...haha..

Nini, whoa good luck siah! Ask ur hubby gentle abit k...LOL!

Valnsw, yea maybe i should try ur method hor. Sighs..i think i need to be more patient. Hmmm. Thanks ya

hisstory, what i did was rub everytime, anytime, anywhere, any place. Hahaa...i rubbed clockwise/anti-clockwise. I've been rubbing for only abt a day then kicked off! LOL...duno if it's up to individual. Anyways u try la, see if it works! hehe..

M2B, yea my bb oso hiccups quite alot. Guess it's pretty normal bah. BTW ur BB so shweet! Congrats on the massage session completion! I can't wait for mine to finish too! LOL.

Interrace, ur boyboy so handsome la! hehe...looks like u more leh! hehee...

Aurora,
Salute! *Sing the national anthem ....

Joking ah ..... wah, u really good sia. For me, i sure secretly bathe ... why dun use the herbs to bathe? Anyway, u're damn good, almost there liaoz.

For the milk, i have lots of small bottles so I just chill them and only mix them when I wan to warm them up for feed. If I pump more than the required amt for the feed, then i will pour them out to the required amt and the remaining in another bottle. So many bottles.

That's what I ask alot of bottles from the hospital when I discharge.

Catherine, Falisha oso lurve to stretch and scream whenever she kena swaddle. Mine somemore is the very traditional method - use white (non-stretchable) clothe and wrap her up like a mummy (Hubby's Ah Ma's method). She'll be angry so i have to do it fast. Haha...But i think not for long. Maybe another 1-2 wks cannot 'hold' her strength anymore. LOL

Yuuri, ur BB looks like he's enjoying the bath very much la! hahaa...so far i haven't get to bathe Falisha yet leh. It's been coming to 2 wks but all this while is my Hubby's Ah Ma bathe her one...Hubby ask me this morning why dun his Ah Ma lemme try. She said aiya another 1-2 wks she can do it herself once Ah Ma is back to her home. OMG i'm a terrible Mum! Anyone like me?

Polyclinic jab ....

My #1 did all his in polyclinic and it's
5-in-1 (DPTa + Hib + Injectable Polio)
1 dose - $85.80
4 doses - $291.80

Think it does not include Hep B, it's additional. Polyclinic don't do 6-in-1, only 5-in-1. Polyclinic dun need consultation one, just go straight to jab ... must wait but infant has prioirity so what i remember, it's still ok.

Intterace,
Your $155 is for which jab? dun sound like all the jabs, esp if it includes consultation.

Phototheraphy.
Those of you who rented the photo lights home to do jaundice, any picture of the machine/light?

How often do u shine the baby? how many lights are there? care to share more info?
Me wanna find out in case baby has jaundice.

My new gynae is also assigning Dr Ong E K to me as the PD. I will just see him but for the jabs, I'll go polyclinic. So much cheaper. $300+ can liaoz ....

Pneumococcol about $100+ from GP.
Rotavirus - i din let my son take and when I wanted, he too old liaoz.

Chicken pox - not part of the basic package so depends on whether if u wan to let the baby take. I would.

chin chin,

he look like me meh ? i dun have double eyelid wor, he got this from his dad. lolz.
can share what is ur hubby's ah ma cooking as confinement food for you huh?

re : swaddling
i swaddle my boy with lampin only. dun think he mind being swaddled, just an occasion one hand out of the cloth like ultraman nia.

re : pampers brand.
what pampers are you all using for ur babies huh?
think huggies newborn not very good lei, i switched back to pampers newborn liaoz, cos he kenna some nappy rash. using the destin nappy cream, think it works better than dapolene.

re : water after feeds
do mommies feed babies with water in btw or after each feeds ? was told by nurses/docs to feed abit of water after each feed..maybe cos of his thrush problem.

shint,

155 is for dr A for 6 in 1 jab.
170 is for dr B for 6 in 1 jab.

think 5 in 1 jab for dr A is at 130.

think overall polyclinic might still be the cheapest.
but my concern is, who are the pple giving the jabs ? nurses or docs ?

yuuri,
i also don't know leh. have to loh if really want to go out. even at home, i must wear 3/4 pants and slipper or sock. can't walk around bare foot. shorts and thin clothing is a no no.

aurora,
at least you got to wipe twice a day, i only wipe once a day before massage now. still haven't bathe and wash hair yet. can't wait for cl to give green light.

Interrace,
He only shiok when flip him this side. Flip on his back, he struggle and cry like xiao!

Huichin,
I also never bathe Baby K yet! It's always his daddy bathing him, that's why I can be the cameraman and do rubbish at the side :p

Shint,