(2008/08) Aug 2008

valnsw: hi, same here. i am feeling so heavy that in the nights when i tend to my 2.6 yr old son, I crawl on my knees sometimes when first get up!! Gynae told me likely I would carry till full-term same as my son.

Catherine: Thanks for the charge info on your pd. I think this is reasonable rate. Think the pd recommended by my gynae a bit on high side so I plan to change by finding my own pd. May I have your pd's contact so that I can check if he/she does visitations to Mt A? Thanks!

Congrats Mulberry!

Went to gynae yday for final checkup....baby head is still up though turn down liao..am hoping to last till at least thur

Snow..so I will see u on Friday at GlenE?
what time are u planning on admitting har? r u going for epi or GA?

Hey Faeriekim, ya...good to see u

mulberry,
congrats.

krex78,
wow, you lost most of the weight. that's good news.

faeriekim,
it has been many years since i had bbq. miss it.

farni hor...we just had to have some things...was craving for bbq last week
and to make it simpler just went for the aburiya bbq wagyu beef instead...so tt we dun need to set up everything

Huichin popped ytd 2nd Aug, baby gal weighing 2.73kg. she will be back with her birh story soon ba.

congrats mulberry and chin chin!!

catherine,
thanks dear, think i will be like u, bath more than once per day,weather sure is hot these few days. am so assurred that will not be the only one breaking the confinement rules and regulations.hee...^5.

mrs n, how are u doing ? waiting game hor like the rest of us are.

me still waiting, think will be induced on 5th aug per doc's arrangement liaoz, so sad, no exciting birth story to share, haha.

mulberry / huichin,
do update us on your birth stories!

cocomo,
you scheduled for tomorrow right? All the best and jiayou!

interrace,
at least good that you know you are going to induce. Me still kept in suspense by my bb.

leticia,
i got Enfalac to standby. Gleneagles uses Similac and Enfalac. But they dont give you milk samples to bring back. So when you are there you can choose which one you want.

The binder the hospital provided i think no size. Quite good. I'm washing it now to wear at home too.

shint,
But the pot of red dates cannot last me whole day lei. Usually by evening finish le. How ah ? I feel that now I also look like 5 mths preg. very sad. how to lose it ah ?

earnestmum,
i sms you the contact of the PD. Kinderclinic have a branch in Mt. A but not sure if Dr Gong visits there.

Mulberry,
congrats

Congrats to the new mummies! Looking forward to your birth stories.

I broke down yesterday cos' bb crying and don't want to latch on, then mil in the background keep saying I never feed him enough, he's hungry, etc. Make me so frustrated. Then fed him some FM. My heart just broke when I fed to him..then when hb came back, I told him I fed FM and started crying non-stop.

huichin,
congrats.

interrace,
like valnsw said, at least you know you are going to induce on 5. we are still waiting. i will only know on 6 after gynae's appointment in the evening.

yuuri,
don't be too upset. there is nothing wrong with giving fm. you are still a great mum.

Yurri, poor thing.. must be very taxing on you..just try a bit more on BF.. heard the more you latch on, the more stimulation it will be.. if bb dun want to latch on, then try to express out to have the milk supply..

I am worried that I will also be stressed out with MIL around though she dun stay with me.. But that mouth of her is really a killer. even though we go back to her place during weekend but whatever she say sound so ear-piercing!! She went round telling her neighbours and relatives that she is giving me the top grade bird nest.. To me, I feel that this is what a grandma-to-be should do.. she is feeding here grandson too wat.. why need to go round telling people?!?! My mum also double boiled bird nest for my sil and myself but she dun go round blowing..And, she boiled those "liang cha" for the family and insisted that I also drink.. siaoz bo? how can preggie take something so cooling? (I Know it is cooling bec I went to TMC to ask before).. Goodness!! So whatever she cook which does not look familiar to me, I will not eat and she will give a black face and complain behind my back to my BIL.

Question - for those who have delivered and have a CL to help and dun stay with MIL, does your MIL come over to your house everyday? I cannot imagine my MIL coming to my house everyday during confinement. Ok, this is her first grandson but her presence will stress me out and I belive all mommies will need to have a good rest after delivery.. I can foresee that already.How to tell MIL not to come over so often?

valnsw and celynlee,

i also kept in suspense wor...cos edd was 1st aug, kept in suspense till today, induce cos bo bian, overdue five days from edd liaoz.
boi boi played the suspense game then still dun wanna come out...kekeke...both ur edd not due, so still in suspense game, i noe how that feels loh...just seat tight, nvr noe what will happen, sikali ur babies decide to pop tonite, or tomolo or day after next lei...nvr noe.

me still hopeful for boi boi to pop tonite or tomolo..hahaha.

yuuri,
dun get too upset wor,there is nothing wrong to feed FM .. FM are full of nutrients and all goodness too, just learn to let go abit , relax and think positive and try to breastfeed again.
perhaps is hard but just dun give up and dun be too negative and hard on urself k ?

LC,

i think maybe u leave the telling ur mil not to come over often task to ur hubby.
if am in ur shoe, will do just that, to avoid the matter being blow up by mil..just my 2 cents.

yuuri
i still latch my bb on at nite..after her feeding..but i think she just need comfort suckling...but i still latch lor..and in the wee mornings..after her bottle feedings...she still want to suckle ..for comfort...so i still latch also..she sleeps faster too..so, i will wake up 2-3 times a nite to let her suckle..and pump also..damn shag..but hopefully this will improve my milk supply cuz i want to start storing if possible...
my MIL dun stay with me but she will come over everyday to see my bb...she just live across the road...so, she will walk over everyday lor...no choice..but she wont come and fan me...she just come and see bb and talk to CL...

yuuri...do u pump ur BM regularly? i m doing that now...religously pumping every 2 hours and taking fenugreek so that i dun have to give my BB FM...i also wake up at nite every 3 hrly to pump...this will help to keep ss coming and ensuring ur bb have enough...it is tough initially...like me now...very tiring...but to keep up with BM..i think i will try to do that for as long as i can..

i did 3 sessions of massage liao and lost 7 kgs only..
...so sad...tummy also almost back to pre preggie..but still got flabby flabby...think that one must exercise then can get rid...

regarding my Ameda pump..
one side of my pump i think faulty liao...the vaccum and suction not as good..no matter how i tighten it and change sides...still lousy suction..wrote to mumsfairy liao...dunno if they can fix the problem..maybe exchange for a new one since under warranty..now i only rely on the good side to pump and have to switch over after 10-15 mins...taking a longer time...
i hope mummies using Ameda wont get my same problem...

I am thinking of that Interrace.. will just go through my hubby..its his mother anyway, easier too.. just like I tell my mum..

YLN/KREX - want to ask abt your massage.. do you leave the binder on at the tummy for 24hours?

KREX - I envy your milk supply.. did you take anything before delivery to boost up the supply or any special food after delivery to increase supply.. i realy dun mind leaking milk than having little supply and have to supplement with FM..

faintz, i just started massage today. this lady not bad. she's not the malay kind, so she use cold press olive oil and some aroma oil blend, so not so oily and smelly. she said must leave tummy binder on for min 5 hours. i plan to take off every night before i bathe. regarding milk ss, i didn't do anything special. just eat normal confinement food. i'm surprised flow is so good even though bb refuse to latch on. i suppose as long as i continue to pump, the flow will remain good.

Celyn,
Technically I know FM nothing wrong...and he also took the FM in the hospital. But dunno why my brain processed in such a way that I'm an incomptetent mummy. Esp when I keep hearing mil telling everyone he's hungry, I never feed him enough.

LC,
I'm trying to express regularly for him since he don't want to latch on already. Everytime he will struggle and cry and cry when I latch him on now. Dunno why the 1st 3-4 days he was ok with latching on. MILs are a tough issue....even more so coz' they're not your own mums so you can't just speak your mind. Like my own mum also tell me to keep feeding the bb but at least I can tell her to shuddup!

Interrace,
Don't worry I'm ok now. Think it was just postnatal depression. HB so scared, this morning quickly went out to buy FM and keep telling me I'm not feeding bb poison. I am still trying to express BM as much as possible, so only no choice then feed FM.

YLN,
I find it v hard to stick to pumping every 2 hrs. Cos sometimes like bb want to eat, then by the time feed finish, wash the bottles, prepare to massage breast...baby need diaper change! Then go and change diapers...want to pump, baby cry for milk again! At night once I sleep, hb also don't bear to wake me up. The funny thing here is, since bb don't want to latch on..I asked hb to act like bb sucking so get the milk supply going.

krex,
u pump out 70ml at one go or in a day? if at one go............wa! yr milk ss really fantastic lei :p

yuuri,
hugz! i totally understand. that was y i broke down too....only when talking to hubby. u'll get better. jus need to shut our ears to wat pp say and be happy. now we tend to be more emotional cos our body is trying to adjust

YLN,
wa, u wake up so often at night...i can;t tahan man! my baby seems to know mummy needs to sleep so she doesn;t look for me at night. only when i wake up, she will cry for me for comfort suck n refuse the pacifier. think they need to feel secure that we r near

LC,
my mil says over at my place for the time being even with my CL cos she needs to help me train my maid. she gives me alot of privacy cos we more or less rough out our differences during preg. my mom on the other hand will drive me crazy. she came over last night n already scolding my maid n ordering her around!!!! n she is only a visitor! even when my baby hears her voice, she will fidget n wanna cry, i have to go n sooth my baby. cos in the past, when i am preggie, mom use to make me angry with her domineering ways n baby will kick inside. hehe...so amazing, baby reconize my mom;s voice

valnsw,
Ya, have scheduled c-sect for tomolo evening. Thanks!

mummies who just delivered at TMC,
Can I check with you if they provide a cabinet with lock which I can lock my laptop and wallet inside while going to the delivery threatre? I booked single room.

Interrace, Hope to see you. So you will bring ur prince there too?

Hisstory, I did drink coconut once a week for the last mth. Indeed Jacinta is rather fair even my gynae say so. both of us not the fair type keekee

Mulberry, huichin, congrats. Looking forward to see ur baby pic. Mean while rest well.

Any other mummies i miss, congrats to u all.

Cat, I gt problem wif my bm supply too. I onli manage to get 60-70ml every 3hrs where my gal drink 120ml... therefore we feed her bm during the day & fm at night.

LC,
I think it's better for your hubby to tell your MIL not to come over. If come directly from you, she may feel offended. But I somehow feel, she surely will go to your place once, at least to see your baby.
Maybe you just have to mentally psyche yourself up for any comments she may make.

Yuuri,
Just continue expressing if your boy is not latching. At least expressing is better than giving FM right? Even if you give FM, it doesn't mean you are a lousy mummy. After all, I think all mummies are already wei da for the labor pains they go through. Hugz... it's a normal phase that you will go through being more emotional now. If talking to your hubby helps, do rant to him.

YLN,
Why don't you call Juliet or Valerie of Mumsfairy directly about the faulty side? Faster than you write to them la... You want the contact numbers? I think I have them somewhere.

Interrace / celyn,
Yup we gota jiayou and wait la.. it's really depends on when bb wants to come out. Look at it another way lo, enjoy some pigging out before baby is out.

Haha, I just went out with my gal friends to P.S. cafe at Palais Renaissance. V nice ambience and decor. Think they hv one outlet near Dempsey Rd, v chi-chi type. The main menu so-so but I had really yummy lemon cake with florentines and ice-cream and lemon/ginger cheesecake. They asked me what I want for bb's full mth celebration. I said give angpaos or vouchers easiest cos I alrdy bought so many stuff for bb.
Should have asked if any of them wana become godma to my baby. keke.
Sigh... wonder next time I go out with them, feels abit weird liao, have to bring bb along.

Milk flow - Understand some have milk supply coming on the 3 or 4 days after birth, then on the 1st few days, what does baby feed on, even in hosiptal? I did not standby any FM.

Krex - you plan to bath before the next massage? meaning you did not follow the traditional confinement, no bath for one month? so you are bathing with those special herb and shampooing when you got discharged? did you deliver at Mount A? Wan to ask if we need to really wear those button down sleep wear or half button down will do? and Wat does Mount A provide? I am packing my hospital bags (two) cos I plan to bring one to office and one at home. I am not taking any leave prior to delivery..

Interrace - I just realise you are going to deliver anytime from the table above..and you are going to be induced next tues.. Jia you Jia you!!!

Little Twin Stars- aiyo.. it is the other way round for you. Its your mum that is driving you crazy..hahaha.. Dun think my mum will have time to visit me at all..
but my MIL is a housewife, she has plenty of time!! :p

Catherine,
Err, u drink Milo la ... else have to boil another pot lor .. anyway, it's for 24x7 hrs ... not just for 1 day.

Losing it ah .... mine was like 5 months pregnant for 2 weeks at least, then i secretly drank the SUPER brand Ginger tea ... and i started passing out air .... and my stomach went down quite a bit after a few packets. It worked for me that time but must do it after feeding and pumping so it doesn't get to the baby.

U can try too ... maybe can make natural Ginger tea ...

NiNi

Wah, why cannot put on make-up during pregnancy? just be a little more careful with the ingredients in the skincare lotions.. I think it's Retinol A tt we've to be more careful with, if not I dun rem hearing why we can't put on make up

We shd still look gd while preggy mah! *heehee* U know the glow of pregnancy enhanced by make-up?

Rata

Heheh, so cute! U've got a baibai pangpang little ger! I have not taken a single coconut.. Was telling my hb tt I dun really like it leh. Dun waste money lah... *oops*

twin stars

Alamak, ur ger can 'recognise' her porpor's voice ah? Thankfully it's ur mum who's a little more diff, can at least tell her to tone down.. I think if it were my MIL who's like ur mum, i sure break down & put my HB in a diff position

huichin

*congratulations* Drop by when u're free!!
1605207.gif

LC,
I'm jus as worried as u re: mil.
i've oredie thot of the possible conflicts and asked hb to communicate some of our 'rules' to her.
Don't wait for tings to happen, cos when bb comes, u and ur hb will be too tired physically and emotionally to handle any nonsense.

As for her staying over, like u, i was quite worried.
But when she said dat she can help me oversee the confinement lady, esp. at nite when CL helps to bottle-feed bb while i get my proper rest, i thot maybe datz not a bad idea after all.
Anyway, look on the bright side: she's coming over to help out on her own freewill cos she cares for me & hb.
Otherwise, she can totally bo-chup at all and let us handle bb + housework = mess ourselves.

As for any insensitive comments made by mil, i tink dat one cannot be helped, realli hafto keep our ears shut and dun take it to heart.
Jus go ahead to do watever u tink is right for urself.

If u realli dun wan her to come all the time, like wat Valnsw suggested, ask ur hb to talk to his mom, it's easier.
But u may wanna discuss wif hb first, cos i realised dat guys tend to be more direct and insensitive to words, so if need be rehearse wif him on how to be diplomatic.
e.g. tell her dat she needs to haf her own free time and rest too, so ask her not to feel obliged to stay to help if CL or hb is around.

Twin Stars,
U've mastered the skill of being bo-chup liao ar? :p
Anyway, ur CL will oni be here for 1 mth..and so far no complaints from u abt ur mil hor, so datz good news!

Sometimes i hope to see bb fast fast, but i tink i'm not quite ready yet leh.
So i've asked bb to tahan inside me for a while longer, let mommy haf her last week of freedom and peace wif papa first..and suggested to her dat she can consider popping on either 8, 9 or 10 Aug :p

LC
i cannot tahan to leave it on for 24 hrs..very hot and oily and itchy..cuz she use the olive oil to massage from head to toe..so after massage..damn oily one...then i usually wait for 3-4 hours later...i will wash my hair...and clean my body....and at nite..will remove the binder...

valnsw
i think i will call them tomorrow..
i have their number..thanx ar..cuz i was thinking today sunday..they may not want to be interrupted...or they dun work..but the faulty side really getting on to me liao..very mah fan to keep changing side...and milk pump out also like lesser...hmm..sigh...so sickening...i barely used it for 2 weeks...then like dat liao..hopefully they can change a new set for me or something like that..otherwise i wont be able to keep up with my bb's intake..

YLN,
think you can sms them first la.... of course don't expect them to give immediate response. But maybe can sms one of them today, to ask if tomorrow something can be done.

Reirei,
you asking your bb to come out 8, 9 or 10 Aug ah?
I told my bb to come out 8 Aug but now on 2nd thoughts, maybe not leh... cos so many people scheduled for 8/9 Aug births. Later the hospitals will be so flooded.
Guess I will let bb come out at her own time.

RE: MIL
I think my MIL will not come visit me cos I'll be at my parents' place. Heh, I think where possible, my ILs may want to avoid my parents la, after one incident of unpleasantness.
Now also duno if my ILs will even come to visit me in hospital but seriously, if they don't come, I also ok, cos I also nothing much to say to them... Somemore duno if will hv tension btwn ILs and my parents siah...
Anyway, I'm now watching to see if ILs will even do anything abt my bb's full-mth celebration. Which up to now, they never even mention anything.

valnsw
good idea... i think i will sms them now...
..then see if they can do something by tomorrow...otherwise...very frustrating leh...

valnsw: dun worry la, when ur bb come out they will love bb to bits! I also moved back to my own hse, permanently with hb...cos my hse here is much better enviroment than my ILs. I understand how u feel.. sometimes i also grumble why my ILs like never treat me "good" like they never once bothered to cook what i like to eat or anything nourishment for me, not even buy me a box of instant bird nest..I dont think i m being demanding leh..i treat them not bad. Until now i xianz already, so they dont do anything i also wont care. Next time my bb will be closer to my own family instead. As for full-month celebration, it will be at my hse too.
I dont expect my ILs to give anything..dont think they will too. Given up on them liao.

For mommies-waiting-to-deliver:
Do u feel more n more 'xin ku' like bb movements getting more n bigger? Like they will keep wriggling non-stop..u jus cant wait to give birth?? I have been feeling rather 'pek chek' but scared at the same time. I feel that the MORE i listen to my friend's experiences..the most i panic. She say the gynae while checking the cervix will tend to stretch open the cervix!! Is this true???? Wah..cant imagine the pain..
I feel panic now...n horrible... i think i m being freaked out by her by telling me how painful it will be...

Hello to all August mummies,
Would like to find out from those of u who have given birth. I supposed most of u would have started ur post natal massage by now. How do u all coordinate/know what time to do the massage? I believe most of u would be TBF-ing ur bbs but how do u know what appropriate time to start the massage without ur bbs crying for milk?

I'm due on 10-Aug (altho most likely will be overdue). Have not arranged any massage lady and also clueless how to go about arranging the appts, esp when I intend to TBF.

Hope I can get some advice from some of u.
Thanks so much!

reirei,
i also keep telling baby to come out on the 8, reason given to him is that he get half day school in future for his birthday. hahah....

nini,
like what you say, baby is wriggling non-stop. i don't find it 'xin ku' at all. just amuse by his movement, wondering what is he doing inside loh.

just now, after dinner, hubby brought me to ntuc to buy grocery for myself to cook for my breakfast and lunch for the next few days. don't know why, i just don't feel like buying anything end up crying. i feel so silly. sigh....

so tired. my baby last nite manja until 5am then sleep. put her down then half hour she cry, let her suckle abit then she doze off.. put her down half hour she cry .. repeat cycle. until 5am then finally she doze off, woke up 8am, feed, change, slept until 12.30pm. aiyo .. timing all upside down. PD say try not to let her sleep so much during the day, but how to ?? anyone got any idea ?

worse is everyday got relatives come over to see baby or me.. aiyo i tell u i so tired and thought afternoon i can nap, end up whole afternoon i end up entertaining them
<yawn>

re: MIL
my MIL nvm come see me .. but she told hubby that day that cos she sick so she doesnt want to pass to baby. then hubby complain say she nvr even call to ask how am i. Finally today she called.. 5th day then call. I nvm la, but hubby abit upset.

Rata,
I managed only to pump out 50ml today (both breast), so usually i will let her take bm then I give her some FM to top up. (about 45-60ml, sometimes she finish sometimes she doesnt)

shint,
my mom say the red dates best dont drink overnight one. so she make a pot a day. Finish already then i no choice i drink water lo. else really so thirsty. Tomo I try ask hubby make ginger tea to drink.

nini,
I'm also living with my hubby and my mom.. no matter how i think ur own parents will definitely treat u better than ils.. Anyway hubby and his siblings also not very good terms. With his parents ok la, but he was abit angry they nvr call me to ask how am i. He even say full mth dont call them. i just keep quiet.

twin, on average i pump 60ml at one go. the other day i pumped 70ml only becoz i just woke up and my breasts were full and leaking. my bb drinks about 90ml now, so i still have to supplement with formula. usually i give 60ml breast and 30ml formula. at night likely formula coz' i dun wake up to pump.

faintz, if u have car, just leave the hospital bag in there, no need to pack 2 sets. usu have time to go home and get one, unless you work very far from home. u can wear the half button shirts but it can get in the way when u try to breastfeed. if u have breastfeeding pillow, bring along. it helps a lot. else hospital will just give u lots of pillows for support. i still bathe everyday with normal water. i bought confinement shampoo and body wash online, so am using that now. sometimes i bathe 2x a day coz' very hot. today, i bathe before massage lady come, then i'll bathe later b4 sleep. just take care not to get sick. hygiene is very impt during confinement.

mummies, just some feedback on some of the pdts that i've used so far:

1) maternity pads. use pureen from kiddey palace. size is big and texture very soft. mothercare one not bad but not as big. if u bought both, use pureen first then mothercare when flow is less.
2) avent manual breast pump. generally good. makes a lot of squeaky noises when u pump but hubby went to lubricate it, so ok. but very tiring to pump. every time takes up about 1/2 an hour or more. when first discharged, every pump took 1 hour!!! i plan to get electric if my milk ss is good and i can pump when i get back to work. maybe buy from amazon coz' it's much cheaper online.
3) avent steriliser. pretty good. easy to use. no regrets.
4) avent iq warmer. a bit hard to use coz' so many functions. actually the older model will do. no need so sophisticated lah. so far milk has not been too warm for bb. i use it to warm chicken essence too.
5) bb breastfeeding pillow. a must if u plan to breastfeed. i got my hubby to buy when i was discharged but didn't get to use now since bb refuse to latch on. it's become my sitting pillow coz' i got piles

catherine,
u bathed liao? me today finally bathe n wash hair. buay tahan liao, my temper also boiling with the weather!!!!! rec: 10days

mil also let me bathe cos she say the weather is really impossible to tong, my mom more modern, she say she bathe the moment she gave birth to me. she dun believe in these confinement rules one n bought me the herbs to bathe if not mil never buy herbs for me to bathe at all

LC,
if yr mil wants to come over, make sure yr hubby is around to "help" u in case she makes u frust....if not she make u angry, u also cannot say back then u "pek chek" lei

hisstory,
ya, now we have to adjust to a new life n also our body n also mom n inlaws n CL....not ez, so need to close an eye at times

reirei,
yaya, tell baby to hang in there till then, gd dates lei

hehe, no choice if not i'll go mental lei. mil dunno how to take care of baby so she jus watch tv n help carry baby n burp baby n today she even wanted to help change diapers when she doesn;t know how to...cos the CL was downstairs preparing to cook. i had to shout for her to come up to to her job first.....preparing for food can always wait ma.

valnsw,
when yr in laws see yr baby, they will melt one. haven u heard a new life will cause people to put aside their differences n becos they are so happy, they will focus their energy to the baby

at first i thot of holding party in a club but with the weather n BF..........forget it man :p....for me la

catherine,
u very on lei. me only latch 4 times a day for around 1hr each time, i already wanna "peng san" by 4plus 5pm, i will be drooling on my bed sleeping in the hot weather :p

krex,
really envy u girls got so much milk. me pump only at best 35ml lei
my baby does latch on, she wants comfort sucking, n i don't pump often, i think pumping will help with the flow better than latching lei..........

NiNi

I think my bb's moving a little more than previously... Quite cute at times, coz I can see her little parts poking out. Then I will sayang her

Hmm, dun listen too much others' experience &amp; get affected yah? Everyone wld have various kinds of experience, maybe it wun be so jialat for u

When did ur fren experience the part of gynae stretching the cervix? My gynae checked mine on Fri coz the CTG recorded that I had some contractions, i was quite tense during the check &amp; there was some pain, but i think tt's coz I was a way bit too tensed up

twin stars

Oh i forgot to commend tt u're also very gd leh, left abt 2.5kg to pre-pregger wt!! *whistles*

krex

U delivered at Mt A yah? I've got some blouses which are half-button, so I'm a little concerned if the nurses/ lactation consultants wld scold if I wear these type of clothes

Congrats lil twin star, catherine n mulberry! M sure its a warm feeling holding ur bbs in ur arms! =)

Its gonna be my turn very soon! Went for weekly gynae visit on sat and im 1.5cm dilated! After discussion, have decided to induce on Tuesday 05aug cos my fluid level is lowering and placenta is showing signs of ageing. So gynae thinks even if i dun induce, will prob end up delivering during the popular 08aug or 09aug period, which i hope to try to avoid. So decided to admit tom midnight, and induce. I will be 37w1d and bb is ard 3kg so she thinks is good enough.

So scary! cos totally unprepared. Didnt expect it to happen so soon. Tot probably another wk or so. Cant wait to hold my bb in my arms, but scary at the same time! Will keep my fingers crossed!

Snow,
Sorry ar, this wkend i really no time collect e items frm u cos have to do last min buying n preparing. Will probably have to get my mum collect from u. Will update u again okie. Thanks ya.

Valnsw: I am also letting Amber choose her own timing/day to come out :)

Joanne: How did your gynae know you are 1.5cm dilated? Is it by checking your cervix or just from the scan? Cos when I asked my gynae to see if I have dilated, she said that by checking the cervix, it means I want to deliver?? So, I am confused about this point.

My legs are getting swollen as my edd gets closer.

joanne

So exciting!! I think ur bb at 3kg wld be a gd wt even if induced.. Look fwd to hearing ur updates!

earnestmum

I think the checking of the cervix is to check if it has softened.. Some mummies here said tt when they had theirs checked &amp; softened, it prob means ur body's getting ready to deliver?

Same here, my feet are getting increasingly swollen.. Are urs hurting?

nini,
its ok la, like you I kind of give up on them lo. I don't really expect anything from them, just that they don't make unnecessary comments which may be hurtful. I got some unnecessary comments few Sundays ago when I had dinner at ILs.

Yup, I'm also a lil scared/apprehensive at the thought of labour but at the same time quite excited if I can get to see baby soon.

Catherine,
glad you're keeping your cool even though your MIL didn't really call you. At least is gd your hubby showed he's on your side, i.e. he showed his displeasure when his mum didn't even call you and even kinda made his mum call you. If it's my hubby, I doubt he would even make the effort to show displeasure.
But then again, I think even if ILs call to ask about me, I would just take it as a normal friend asking how I am.

little twin stars,
Perhaps you are right to say people may cast aside their differences at the sight of a new life. I'm keeping my fingers crossed lo, cos this is not the first grandchild for my ILs although my hubby is the eldest. My ILs already had the excitement of 2 grandchildren alrdy.
For my parents on the other hand, my bb will be the first grandchild so I guess they are definitely more excited.

joanne,
Your baby will be having the same bday as interrace's! gd luck with your birth!

earnestmum / hisstory,
I think I also got swollen feet. But I also got swollen fingers. Cos today when I wore my wedding band, it felt really tight and I almost could not take it off! Think I better not wear my rings these few days, in case later go into labour, hv to remove the rings too.

Vaccinations:
BTW, any opinion about giving your babies only the compulsory jabs?

I was reading this post about those 6-in-1 vaccinations, whether it is really necessary. Anybody has views about it?

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1524014.html?1216352620

val

I think my swollen fingers started some time back, so I've given up wearing my wedding band &amp; engagement ring. But HB made me a new band.. *heheh*

I sure think the hot weather this week doesn't help our situation.. Nvm yah, the last lap liao..

hisstory:haha ya quite cute at times but if moving too much, i get very tired...but i very bad la, kept complaining.. i m a lousy mommy la...
My friend gave birth at SGH so i am not sure if the gynae there are more 'chor lor'? I never heard of gynae stretching the cervix for you...usually i heard its open on its own. Think being a first-time mom, i feel apprehensive la..keke..
BE POSITIVE!!!

Joanne: wow..u r fast! congrats!

valnsw: just ignore ur ILs... when their grandchild arrive, they sure kan cheong one.

I thought of inducing my bb out this week cos cannot tahan his powerful movements inside me..but on second thoughts, i should let him choose the date/time he wanna come out. So i just endure,endure,ENDURE!!!! Maybe boys r more chor lor la..hahaha

Re: 6-in-1 vaccinations
yes i think its necessary..I read the latest Mothers &amp; Baby magazine, i think its really good prevention...

thanks for all the congrats!
sorry ar, i don't really have time to read properly all the postings. Will re-read again when i have the time.
today i started to latch on every 3-4hrs for nearly the whole day but unfortunately my milk SS still not kick in, no colostrum also lei...so sad
. but the nurses still ask me to latch on. My bb also want to suck lah, but i think she sucking for comfort only leh.

ok, here is my birth story:-

2nd Aug
4+am - have bad contractions but not frequent, about 30mins interval. so i still try to sleep it off but cannot lah, coz painful. so just lie in bed.

then as time passed, the contractions went to abt 15mins interval. my hubby keep asking me to go hospital but i don't want coz i tot 15mins not very close :p.
so i try to tahan...but finally ard 11+am, i cannot tahan liao, told hubby oklah, we go hospital.
so we packed the last minute stuff like my toiletries, camera and my hubby's clothes and call for taxi.

12.20pm - reached hospital. went to observation ward. was strapped on CTG to monitor.

1pm - checked cervix, to my suprised, i was 4-5cm dilated liao. The nurse said good, u will deliver today. She shaved me partly down there, and gave me anema (spelling?) to clear bowels. Wah i didn't know the effect so uncomfy. I felt i had diarhhrea leh.
after that, was transfered to the individual Labour room. had to wait for the anesthesiologist to come to administer epidural. Oh aparently, TMC don't have in-house anesthesiologist, so had to wait for the doctor to come. In the meantime, i had to use the gas mask. that one, like no effect for me leh.

2.39pm - finally doctor came. prepare to give me the epidural. felt like pure bliss when the epi finally took effect.

3pm - my gynae came to checkup on me. Check cervix, he said i was 5-6cm dilated. he said i can give birth at evening.

so meantime, i rested. chitchat with hubby abit and then i slept coz tired liao.

4pm - cervix dilated 9cm liao.

5++pm - epidural finish liao, nurse gave me 2nd dosage.

6.15pm - midwive said nearly fully dilated liao, ask me to try push. I try to push but she said the way i push is wrong. Try again but not very successful.
Gynae came later to check on me. Tried to push again but again the way i push not very correct. At this point, i was scared liao. scared if i continue don't know how to properly push, i might need csect.
seeing my slow progress, Gynae said he'll come back later.
In the meantime, midwive continue to guide me to push. Finally i managed to push the correct way.
Push and push until crown of head can be seen. Midwive ask me to stop first coz need to call gynae to come.

Gynae came and i continue to push. Push and push and finally BB Jasmine arrived at 6.48pm.

gynae got cut me down there. he said if don't cut, i will take longer to deliver and he saw me like no energy to push liao. so he decided to cut to ease bb come out. which is true lah, i really no stamina to push liao. sigh this is effect of rarely exercising i think.. :p

i was suprise at my bb's size, 3.16kg and 50cm length.
i all along tot she will be a small baby.

oklah, i gtg rest now. sitting upright very tired leh. will post again later.

To those that to waiting to deliver, Jia You!

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
thanks for updating my news here.
btw, no leh, i didn't get to eat at Lei Garden. so sad leh. hehe...maybe my bb thinks she's big enough liao, no need to eat more...haha..

Brought baby to PD yesterday for checkup to take her blood to test her jaundice. She has slight jaudice and from the blood test, it's 118. My gynae said that is a very good level and the next few days expect her jaundice to go up but it wont need to go for phototheraphy level so dont need to worry. The wait at the PD is like 1 hour and then see him for about 5 mins only. hahaha.

I'm praying my girl can sleep longer thru the night tonight and i can have more rest. Now she already just doze off.. Tomo going back to the gynae to check the wound. Then must ask her when can do massage.. the tummy still so big

little twin stars,
i bathed the 3rd day after delivery in hospital immediately after they removed the painkiller ball and gynae said i can get out of bed and can bathe le. Imagine lying in hospital I already cannot tahan, come home worse. The weather is so hot, plus baby must carry how to not bathe.

mulberry,huichin
CONGRATS !!

earnestmum,
did you get my sms on Dr Gong's contact ?

Joanne,
all the best for your delivery

Nini,
you can take the 6-in-1 or you can take them individually.

HuiChin,
Congrats! Hear your story soon

Cocomo,
Oh, u going tomorrow liaoz? I tot it was 8 Aug?
Have a safe and sound delivery. I've delayed mine to 20 Aug .... for sake of baby's health and lesser risk of getting related breathing problems - asthma, etc.

Interrace,
Who says induced has no story to tell? Giving birth is already an exciting story. We wait for your story ok.

Yuuri,
It's ok to give FM. NOthing wrong u know. SOmetimes mothers perserve so much to give BM that in the end the baby suffers. I did not give my #1 anything except BM and I really dun have enough .... Was taught to give total breastfeeding ... in the end, i gave only water to supplement ... dunno if that was the cause of his high jaundice ... anyway, after few days, I gave him FM to supplement ... cos he was so skinny liaoz by then. He was 2.9+ when born and went down to 2.7+ ... so tiny leh.

Compliment both BM and FM if necessary. If baby dun latch, pump and then feed from bottle.
I used to pump 30ml only and it was enough for each feed for a short while. Once he needed more, I had to give FM. He eventually grew to be a healthy and little chubby baby.

It's true that FM now has alot of nutrients in it. Babies grow very well with them too.

Pumping 3 hourly is normal. Yes, you have to live with NO SLEEP
Breastfeed, settle baby, pump, store, wash bottles, change baby diaper ... then u think it's time to rest but
BABY CRIES again ... 3 hours' up ... the cycle starts again. You may wan to delegate the washing to hubby, sometimes if necessary, get hubby to bottlefeed when u pump (after you do direct). This may help u get more rest and more SS will come in. Rest and relax.

Nini,
Me oso vv Xin Ku ... i have been waking up the past 3 nites to visit the Loo like every 2 hours. Then after tat, I cannot sleep. Hence, I have been posting at the wee hours. Then i go back to sleep for 1 hour before going to work. Siong leh. Dunno if baby wants to come out liao leh but now I am still into my 36 week, gotta tahan longer. My hubby's auntie who "objected" to me taking baby out at week 37+ saw me yesterday for dinner and commented, wah, you tummy vv big already. Now she knows it's tough for me.

Catherine,
Ginger tea only little leh, dun take it as a regular drink hor. i drank only a cup in few days kind - just to let the air out. Cos they say this might aggrevate jaundice.

Earnestmum,
My legs are getting swollen too. I am having regular urination at nite, abit more discharge than usual... i think i gonna SHENG soon but hoping to delay cos it's still early for me. I've also given up my 080808 slot oredi ;) Dunno baby can wait another 2 week+.

Fenugreek
Where to buy ah? Lookig for it but dunno where to buy.