(2008/08) Aug 2008

catherine
ic..cuz i am also considering to either induce or c section on 28 july...but im abit of the pantang type..want to go temple n check if the date is good..but hor..think think already...skali 28th-31st all not good dates..then how to give birth!..so maybe shouldnt be too pantang...sigh...

YLN,
actually my family did look at the "tong xin" and said that 28th is a good date for us (whereby no clash with me, hubby or my mom's chinese horoscope). But hor if u induce also have to wait, so doesnt mean eg induce on 28th will give birth on 28th ma..

Valnsw,
Helped you to post your transfer advice liao.

Re: Strep B test results

I just did my strep B test n was very shocked to see there is a 'Heavy growth of strep B'
Feeling very sad n depressed about it.. My sister also got it, but hers is a mild case. I started to blame myself now...

NiNi

I've got the same test results too.. Are u now on antibiotics? Dun blame yourself k? It's apparently quite a common condition during pregnancy.

Gynae just told me today tt after the course of antibiotics, it is possible tt it might recur.. Nonetheless, during labour, we wld be given another course. Think it's thru the drip..

Dear Catherine and Valnsw

I seriously think that both you are potential maid abusers.

Maids are there to assist you with your housework and taking care of your kids. In short, they are the best helpers and the person you have to trust most in your household.
They are here to help us working mums so that we can continue our careers and have more rest.

I am totally disgusted that you guys are even resorting to test them.

From what I see, this is your first time hiring a maid and you are treating them like they are lower class people.

If you discover that the tissue / rubber band you put behind your photoframe is not removed,and ask the maid why , I can assure you the maid will never forget that incident and hate you.

Imagine if your own bosses purposely put an important task behind your stack of files and scold you the next day saying you did not complete it and see the post it note message.
You will feel very maligned.

If you want to have a good maid, treat them like human, they are not your slaves.

In my whole life, my mum never scolds maids, they like my family so much that they don't want to go back to their country.

If you think the maid is not a good fit for your household and personality, get the agency to change another person for you instead of letting the maid test you or you test her.

<font color="0077aa">Nini: Don't worry too much, yah any medication given?

Valnsw: If they are selling the fridge to go at $40 then it pretty good buy! Sent you the email!</font>

Medusa15 (medusa15),
For first pregnancy I am test positive, so now second pregnancy gyane said did not need to test and ask e to complete the 5 days course. This pregnancy same as first time a lot of discharge.

hashisan,
BB is 2.6kg @ 36kg and Dr W said not to give birth too early leh, he prefer me to wait till Aug08 when 38week++ via natural birth. unless bb want to pop early. He told e scan weight is normally 90% accurate only. Normally bb born is lighter, so got to minus 300-500g

catherine
Your maid very cunning, be careful.

Jvenus (venus),
I think it link to parents genetics instead

snow,
how come I 36 weeks still did not rec'd any admission from Tmc. I forgot to ask Dr W again. Then 37weeks my next appt is it too late liao. Feel so lost like that. So far on hand only got gyane letter.

Interrace will be going to hospital to give birth. Wahlau! Don't think I got the strength to clean the mess up if give birth at home!!!
Besides I live outside town and if complications arise it will be quite hard to get to the hospital. So better not risk it. Yah there was a program on BBC last week called 'Outlaw births'. It was about women who gave birth at home without any pain relief and without the help of a midwife. One of the women was so calm she didn't scream or shout or cry and just delievered her baby in the birthpool like it was something she did everyday. Quite an interesting programme. Hope we can all be as calm as that when our time comes.

Dear Minnie Kwok (minniemum),
I'm speaking for myself and I am a first-timer hirer of domestic help.

However, my family has been hiring maids since about 20 years ago. FYI, I have experienced my family's fair share of maids who do not do a good job.

The method that Catherine and I mentioned about testing the maid is just one of the many ways to test her. There are also other ways of testing her.

Just like at work, your boss will also test/appraise how good you are by setting some tasks. For me, I will feedback to the maid what she has done wrongly, what can be done better and to keep up with what she has done well based on the tasks she has done.

It is very easy for you to say change the maid if the maid doesn't suit the household or your personality. Do you realise the time and effort spent in training the maid? Most of us here are full-time working mums, hence the need for maid so we would not have the luxury of time to keep changing maid over every minor thing. Of course, if the maid has behaved to a point that is below the employer's expectations, he/she should send the maid back to the maid agency for a change.

To be fair, I think you have hired some capable maids who are good in their work and there are good maids around.

However, generally speaking, most of the foreign maids need to be trained given the fact they come from another country and we need to let them adjust to our environment here. More often than not, you will encounter some problems in training them. Of course, we give them time to adjust.

I do not wish to start an argument or flame war over this, so I would say let's just put it as a difference of opinion.

I feel that it is very unwarranted for you to use such strong language to judge both Catherine and I based on what we posted. Besides, if you have followed this thread, you would have known some of our fellow MTBs' maid concerns.

nini,
I think Strep B infection is quite common among pregnant ladies, so do not feel bad about it ok? I think once you are prescribed a course of antibiotics, should be ok.

storeberry,
I just checked my yahoo email, didn't get any email. I think I got to check again later.
For the FTG, Juliet from mumsfairy just say the $40 is old promo from babycare festival, think no more liao

hashisan,
My scan shows :-
wk 32 - 2kg (Dr W)
wk 33 - 2.3kg (another gynae)
wk 34 - 2.5kg (Dr W)
So my baby's weight gain is steadily at 200g per week.

Dr W did not mention that my baby is too small - Neither did the other gynae. In fact the other gynae says mine is at 97% percentile .. haha.

I've got a fren who induced at wk 37 also becos baby not growing well (the baby did not grow much for 2 weeks i think - gotta check with her) inside mummy's tummy. The baby sure can grow well outside definitely.

What you want to consider is the growth of baby weekly - has your baby stopped growing?? grow only 50g, 100g, 200g? Anyway, u still can consider his opinion and go weekly to see him to determine the weight of the baby. Anyway, for him, it's unlimited consultation if u had taken up his package, just walk into his clinic. I normally walk in if I don't feel comfortable and need assurance on baby's growth, scan, etc. Hee, I don't wait till my appt time.

Also, you can schedule the date first and nearing the date, if you feel that the baby has started growing at a good pace and weight, still can change date I suppose. Ask Dr W if before the scheduled date, baby has started growing, if you can wait longer? Voice your concern to him that you prefer not to induce too early - unless it's a real complication.

If I am not mistaken, baby should grow about 200-250g per week in last Tri or something like that (Somebody confirm this pls).

Finally, if you've really no absolute trust in him, go see another gynae and seek another opinion else u'll keep thinking about it and worry and affect your well-being - which is impt for baby's growth.

Seriously, I've had my doubts and I did seek a 2nd opinion and am glad that I did clear those doubts. Hwr, consultation with the new gynae will cost you another 100+.

Just my personal views. Hope it helps.

Had difficulty sleeping last nite. &amp; woke up so early at 7am. *yawns*

Valsnw,
Thanks for helping to check on the FTG promo. (",) If really can't get it at $40 baby I'll check if there's promo at taka. It's weekend!! enjoy yourself &amp; don't be affected by anything or anyone!!! *smiles*

Mrs N,
Interrace going to give birth already? Maybe towards your due date you gotta tell your hubby to be on stand by. Or maybe inform your neighbour? Good luck k.. (",)

Gd morning all,

Just wondering, have any of u experience ur bb movements are now lesser?

I suddenly thought my bb's kicks are lesser since yesterday. Usually he is rather active. Dunno if I'm unduly worried or what. What's more my gynae's away this weekend, can't pop up his clinic until next Sat. What should I do? On the other hand, dun wish to create false alarm by going to the hospital...

good morning all

avocado

Apart fr the antibiotics now, did ur gynae also mention tt another dose wld be given during labour? I forgot what my gynae mentioned, on how it wld be given..

kovankitty

How many weeks are u at now? Did u gynae recommend a standby gynae while he's away? Dun worry too much k?
Maybe like what some of the mummies here have recommended, shakeshake the tummy a little &amp; see if there're reactions fr bb..

Good morning!!! Just back from gynae clinic. Have signed the documents to donate my BB cord blood to SCBB just now. No need to go to their office, just call them and they will meet you at your gynae clinic for you to sign the documents. Think it is good if anyone dun bank in their cord bood to donate it to the national cord blood bank so that it can save lifes.

Vone,
If you free pleas help to update my BB's weight. Thanks!! [email protected]

cocomo,
thanks for helping me to post in the overseas spree!

cocomo / kel / storeberry /shay,
I've PMed you regarding the FTG.

kel,
Ya, pls help to check if there's better promo at Taka. Cos the one I PM you is not as fantastic as $40 but got some discount.
No worries about people spoiling my mood on the weekend.
Last night I woke up at 2.30am, felt my V very itchy, go pee then apply the cream gynae gave me. Wanted to go back to sleep but somehow cannot sleep leh.. SO I come into the forum look see then I see that kinda posting lo...

RE: SCCBB
Ya, can request the rep to come down to your gynae's clinic, more convenient.

Cocomo,
Did you have to inform your gynae about your donation to SCBB or the rep will inform your gynae?

kovankitty,
as the baby grows bigger in our tummy, it gets more cramped. so it's inevitable that there will be less movement. as long as there's 10 series of mvt each day, baby's ok.
i also feel tt my baby's not as active as he was in the 7th or 8th month. i'm now in my 37th wk.

<font color="0077aa">Valsnw,thanks for helping to check on the FTG promo, appreciate it! Yah don't get upset by those postings.
Its a weekend, cheers!!!

Going for a gthering for yummilicious food, can't wait!! Me glutton!! Haha

Kovankitty: Yah, shake you tummy to see if there is any reaction from bb. Sometimes bb also have their lazy days... Or listen to some music he likes?

I just packed some bb clothes in the drawers &amp; arrange some stuffs &amp; also just wash some clothes for bb!! Seeing the tiny clothes hanging there is so surreal....</font>

mousse,
i always thought that we should be able to feel more baby movement since its more cramp. hehehe.... so i actually got the wrong idea. at least, i don't have to be so worried about baby movement now. heheh...

hi celyn,
yeah, baby's mvt lesser but more powerful each day!
i'm thinking of signing up for the kkh baby massage and post-natal fitball classes in Sept.. but should i commit myself at this point in time? hmmm...

Re: strep b test results
Ya i was given antibiotics, but i thought since im a 'heavy' infected..shld i ask for more? During delivery they will also give u injection but i jus worried not enough??

valnsw: dun be bothered by others comment...have been reading ur posts n yes, ur maid rather cunning.. Last time also have a maid taking care of my cousin n late grandmother..We treat her very nice too, we eat sharksfin she also get to eat ok. But little did we know that when we r not around, she 'sunbathe' my late grandmother under the sun (my late grandma has stroke n in wheelchair) n the maid went to the void deck n chat with other maids..
We didnt know until the neighbours told us.. So i am now very wary of maids... I rather take care of bb alone than to engage a maid!

Minnie Kwok,
This doesn't concern me, but just wanna voice my personal opinions.

There are many ways of handling maids, or employees in general.
When you first hire them, they are, no matter what, strangers to you.
You can choose to be trusting right from the beginning, or for some of us, we may need more time for trust to be earned.
This all depends on your personal experiences or encounters with them.

'Testing pple' in general is one of the many ways, and also a quick way, to learn about someone's character, so that as an employer, we can adopt the most effective and appropriate way to handle an employee's work performance.
IF however, employers purposely do it so that they can use it as an avenue to vent their frustration on their staff, then I will agree with you that they are abusing their rights as an employer.

So without any conclusive evidence, I find that labelling others as 'potential maid abusers' is Very offensive.

Valnsw,
Yes, need to inform gynae on the donation of cord blood so she can write the instruction on the admission letter so that the nurse will prepare the kits b4 we deliver the BB.

Snow,
Does your gynae charge surcharge to deliver on 080808? I am also wondering if the hospital charge surcharge for that date too. I called like 2 weeks ago to check, they say they dun but I heard from Dr W that they do. Wonder who is charging ... hmm, gonna check out.

Shint,
TMC does charge $200 for weekday booking, not only for 080808. My gynae charged $500+ for weekday as well. So total I will be paying $800+ to deliver on 080808.

dear minnie kwok,
I must say that I am very surprised to receive such a comment from a person I barely know. I don't think you are in the postion to pass such comments on us being potential maid abusers or even 1st time maid hirers. Who are you to pass such judgement ?

To me, I can very outright say that I treat my maid very well. We buy all her toiletries and she gets to choose what she wants to use if the ones provided is not what she likes. She eats whatever we eat, except for the birds nest which only I eat. Even if we buy expensive fish like codfish we will let her eat along with us. Mind you the word here is eat ALONG with us. We do not let her eat after us, she sits down in the same dinner table and eat the same food we eat. Even when we make herbal black chicken soup, she is offered a share as long as she is used to the taste. She even ate a same portion of steak as the rest of the family 2 nights ago. I know of employers whom make their maids pay for their own toiletries, their own stamps, phonecards or even some of the food they eat, because they are earning a salary too. Does that make them lesser of a good employer ? No, it's just that everyone has their own preference to how they treat their maids.

I do not believe that your family does not even run your fingers across the table top or cabinet to check if there are dust on them. Maybe not anymore but initially when they come. Aren't those actions also checking or in another words testing to see if the things she is suppose to do is being done ? Or in your opinion leaving a rubber band to check is wrong but waiting for dust to be accumulated before noticing that she is not doing her job is fine ?

So if you think that we are wrong to test the maid, then wouldnt it be wrong for my maid to test to see if I would scold her ? Am I to be sent back to access if I am the right employer for her ? What makes you think we will scold the maid ? What makes you so sure we are just not wanting to know if she is doing her job well ?

No maid is perfect and for me, I don't believe in changing a maid just cos she didn't do a job well. All maids need to be trained by the owner, not by the agency. Because she is serving your household with your standards and not the agency.

if you have had such good luck with your maid then I must congratulate you. But it doesn't mean everyone will be just as lucky as you. And it doesnt mean every maid you hire will be that good.

Yes your boss would not hide a job file under your table to see if you check under them, but that doesnt mean that your job is not "tested" on and appraised.

I think you see too far deep into this matter and your outburst of words is totally uncalled for. This is a thread whereby we mothers/MTBs come to share our daily lives and to form friendship and support. Not a place for name calling.

kovankitty,
it's normal to have lesser movements cos baby now has lesser space to move. The movements are more subtle now instead of like before whereby it's very prominent. But did your gynae teach you how to monitor baby movements ? eg how many movements in how many hours ? As long as you have hit the number then you be ok. Else try shake shake your tummy to wake bb up

Hi catherine,
like I've mentioned to valnsw, don't be offended or bothered by anything or anyone. She purposely created a new nick to "label" you both. Cheer up!! It's weekend! (",)

Valnsw,
I did not receive your pm. Somethings wrong with all my posting nowadays. Can't seem to be alerted for some postings or pm. Hai.. Will pm you shortly then you reply k. Thanks. Your V itchy only during pregnancy? My this pregnancy also leh. Is it becoz down there got more fats now or what? hai.. abit irritating hor. My hubby just ask me to keep washing, maybe i perspire lor..

Kids:
I'm so sad &amp; emotional I cry like a baby in the room just now. Woke up early at 7am then accompany my twins till around 10++ then can't tahan so went to the room to nap. Woke up around 1pm, then my maid boil hotdogs for my sons, I told then I also want, but when I saw that they're only left with 2 I say it's ok, I'll eat bread then. My younger boy was quite sweet: mummy, you eat lar, later you hungry how? I share with you. But I say it's ok. Then my older boy was trying to be funny: Oh, so sad. Then he start to giggle!!

I know I sound stupid &amp; childish. But I'm quite upset over this &amp; decided not to speak to my older boy. I went into the room &amp; started crying.. It's not the 1st time he's like so rude &amp; not loving towards me. I feel that my upside down emotions now are partly due to pregnancy. Yesterday my older boy was also quite rude, His younger bro always snatches his toy even though they have the exact same pcs. So I call out to the younger boy: Ian! Give kor kor back his toy. Before Ian could reply, Isaac kor kor said: Eh, I lend Ian ok! Why you scold him!!! *faint*

But I admit that I'm just being too sensitive now. But I just feel sad, obviously I love my sons alot. They're only 3yrs old. I don't expect this kinda treatment yet. Aren't 3yrs olds suppose to be loving &amp; sticky to parents? *hai* Just need to voice it out here, hubby's having roadshow today so he got no time to entertain me. hahaha.. But my friend is coming over to accompany me.. Maybe she's afraid I got slight pre-natal.. *faint*

kel,
thanks for your kind words. just that the posting caught me by surprise. But nvm la ..

your younger boy is so sweet. Dont think too much la. Maybe your older boy just wants to be naughty to catch your attention. Kids sometimes do opposites to get your attention.

Catherine and Val,
yah, dun be bothered by an intruder's remarks. So funny, out of nowhere pop up to say something so rude without even knowing the whole situation. *faintz*

Kel,
Agree with Catherine that Issac just want to get more attention. But I wld also suggest that either u or ur hubby have a tok with him and let him know he's hurting mummy's feelings. Tho' only 3 years old, he shd understand that his behaviour is not acceptable. Shd get him to change before it becomes a 'habit'. Just my 2 cents worth.

Kel yah my hubby told his boss he has to stay in the office or work around the vicinity in the next few weeks. Can't go too far away.
As for my next door neighbours, they know. My BIL's family lives next door and and his wife was a MW. But if she were to take me to hospital I'll be going with a carload full of excited children!!!

Being sensitive and emotional now is just part and parcel of pregnancy. You'll get over it soon enough as would the rest of us I'm sure.

No lah I didn't mean Interrace going to give birth already!
I was answering Interrace question that I would have hospital birth not home birth. Hee! Hee! Alamak just realised how some missing letters can change the meaning of sentences!

re baby movements at this late stage
Yah seems like it kicks less but can still feel its stretching and wriggling sometimes. If I don't feel anything, I just keep poking my tummy until something happens. Or bouncing around on the birthing ball usually does the trick. Can feel lots of movement after that. Probably baby thinks its disco time or something like that!

Have a nice weekend everybody. And don't let any unpleasantness spoil your day yah! xx

Cocomo,
Ya, your hubby mentioned. That's extra to the gynae charges rite? Dun quite understand $200 extra for weekday booking? u mean so long u pre-book a date is it? and pre-book the gynae got extra charge?

I tot the C-section package from the gynae oredi included that?

Re: baby movements
Ya, my BB also move lesser than 1-2 weeks ago. Gynae told me this morning that as long as have 10 sets of movements then should be ok liao.

Shint,
Think for the theatre, if pre-book will need to pay regardless if weekend or weekday. But for my gynae, only weekday need to pay extra coz normally weekday they have consultation ma so if book then need to pay lo. That's why my gynae keep asking me to take 090808 (Sat) so I no need to pay so much. c-sect package not include the pre-book fee for gynae.

jus wanna let u gals noe tt i delivered on 16 jul via emer c-sec. as i m 1 mth early, bb is premature. thus she was in nicu 4 3 days as she was hyperventilating when she was born. i wasn't allowed 2 c her till d 2nd day as my gynae &amp; anaesthesician wants 2 monitor me. i m allergic 2 ga, thus they wan 2 make sure tt i m okie b4 i was allowed out of bed.

when i saw her wif all d tubes, i cried so hard. luckily she's okie nw. oni gt slight jaundice. so we still need 2 monitor her.

my birth story :

15 jul
10.15pm - gt regular contractions. told hb abt it &amp; told him 2 standby
11.15pm - i went 2 d toilet &amp; discovered tat my water bag had burst. told hb &amp; called my gynae. he told 2 meet him in mt a immediately as i m 1 mth early
12pm - reached mt a &amp; was admitted 2 d delivery suite. by then, my contractions were 2 mins apart.
12.30pm - my gynae reached &amp; chked on me. i was 2 cm dilated. thus my gynae told d nurses 2 prepare d ot, contact d anaesthesician &amp; d pd 2 meet us in d ot. then i was prepped 4 d operation.
1.30am - bb was delivered. however, she was hyperventilating when she was born. thus she was sent 2 nicu 4 monitoring.

had my check-up...Dr say BB is still a bit small but still growing so is ok. 2.45kg @ 36 weeks.

so funny, during scan can see BB open n close mouth

irritating thing happen today...i had lunch at Burger King. i ordered a whopper meal, young ang-mo guy at next counter also ordered same thing. they ran out of whoppers, so had to cook some more. auntie at counter told me to wait a while, no prob, so i stand there n wait then she goes into kitchen to do something.

next thing i know, the guy (manager i think) serving the ang-mo told him to take a seat first n he will serve the burger to him!! n i am left standing in front of the counter as the ang-mo went to sit first!! wah-lau! 8 mths preggie how small also v obvious already...i didnt say anything cos i wanted to see if he will offer to serve the burger to me too.

in the end the burgers were ready, i had to take it myself while the staff happily took the whopper to serve the ang-mo who was sitting at his seat! all this happened when we ordered side by side!

really dont understand the logic....got one heavily pregnant woman and one able-bodied young man...and they let me stand there and wait and serve the guy instead. it was just a couple of minutes, usually i couldnt care less, but how can someone not see a 8mths preggie tummy???

Dear Vone, can imagine your pain in seeing your baby with tubes. Hugs gal~ Good to hear she's better now.

Anyhow, congrats on your new born baby! God bless~

Been to gyane today and baby is 2.4 kg at 34.6 days. Baby has gained weight from 1.8 kg at 32 weeks :D Dr mentioned that growth is good and most probably baby would arrive mid-august instead of end august.She said that usually the due date is given +_ 2 to 3 weeks.

Thank you all for your well wishes and suggestions! It really works for me as I am alone in singapore and with first baby. Thanks a ton!

Vone,
Kindly update my baby weight when you are free. Thanks!

Vone,
CONGRATULATIONS on your little bundle of joy!
Thot we're gonna deliver ard the same time cos we've the same edd. Anyway, do take care and dont worry too much now that baby's fine.
Do log on whenever possible and update us on ur princess.

Vone,

take good care and congratulations!
pray for your baby speedy growth to good health and go home with you soon.

who say i giving birth liao ah ? keke..me still ard wor.

Have a great wkend mommies, dun worry too much abt others' comments just keep our spirit up and wait for our babies arrival.

Jvenus, i did not receive your PM on the coach spree lei.

Vone,
Congrats and good to hear that your princess is fine now!!!! Take a good rest and upload your princess photos when free k. Take care.