(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hi cocomo,
Thanks. erm, but i'm quite blur. I'll check on the webbie to see how it looks like. So it's $54? Quite cheap leh, if can store for 10hours. Thanks alot! (",)

<font color="0000ff">bobianah</font>, hope you dun get me wrong but i dun mean to say that donating is no good. I am truly glad there are people around who are willing to donate the cordblood to scbb. especially someone like the preschool teacher in this article. she donate unselfishly based on her assumption that she will not be needing it in future. if from the start, i dun think i can afford to bank privately, i will also likely donate it to scbb as it can help anyone in need.

however, banking cordblood privately is like additional insurance. u pay but hope u will never use it. i am not implying that pple who bank privately are rich or selfish, but since they want to and can afford to bank it, why not? at least, in the event that my cordblood banked privately (which is my insurance) is not suitable ultimately, i at least still have the scbb to fall back on. i hope it doesn't seem selfish but to me it's just an additional level of protection for my kids. you get what i mean?

Just to share, some articles.

This article dated 21 May 2007 states clearly that:
"Cord blood is extracted and stored at SCBB free of charge, but the donor's family has no claim to the blood, which is available to anyone in need.

But costs for services, tests, and retrieving the cord are borne by the recipient's family."

As for the cost of finding a match in SCBB, please read this article dated 11 Apr 2008.

Somewhere in the middle states:
"Storing the blood at CordLife for more than two decades usually costs $6,400. Unlike the public cord bank, the new programme also does not charge fees for retrieving the cord from cryogenic tanks, or for testing it."

The last few paragraphs state:
"There is another option for patients who need stem cells: the Singapore Cord Blood Bank (SCBB), where cord blood is made available to anyone in need.

It does not charge donors for cord blood storage and its cord blood units are made available to any patient in need of a transplant.

But it costs up to $26,000 to retrieve the cord (from SCBB), and testing each unit for a match costs $2,000."

I didn't know it costs so much either until my gynae told me the donation form will not even have fine print to tell you this.

venus, i've decided not to bank my cord blood privately as i've read up some literature and many american bodies do not recommend banking of cord blood unless the family has some history of some of the common diseases that cord blood can use to cure. besides, there are lots of limitations of cord blood but advertisers choose to play up the benefits only. i guess i shld donate to the scbb but i'm so lazy to do all the tests and admin work...i'd rather donate blood coz' it's fuss free :p

oh yes, i'm posting this one more time again. anyone interested to buy?

The Mozart Effect: Music For Newborns

i've got an extra copy. selling for $20. let me know if you're interested. tks.

1566734.jpg

I'm buying baby's toiletries soon. Just to check if it is better to use non-talc powder? Where can I buy them? Then for body/ hair, is Lactacyd good?

hi aurora, does TMC give glass bottles for free? i know my gf who delivered at mt A got a lot of free glass bottles. can we sterilise glass bottles using pigeon steriliser?

i got Lactacyd. can get from ocean at people park if u are going there. they sell the cheapest so far. i think 7-8 per bottle.

aurora,
Mrs Wong from TMC said beta dun apply powder on baby le. Lactacyd is good, recommended by her as well. TMC havin sale for twin pack Lactacyd.

missysz,
TMC will give free bottles if you request from the nurse. You can even ask for free unopened FM in bottle. Last time the nurse gave me 1 dozen of unopened FM. You can sterilise the bottle and keep your BM.

going to gynae soon .. cant wait to see bb

re:maid
That day I asked my maid if she clean this particular table top which connects to the kitchen from the living room, she say no. So I say must clean, why u clean the whole hse and leave 1 table top. She say ok. Then that night I had a good long talk with her over her work asking her to take more initiative instead of waiting to be told what to do and then only do that etc.. told her to be also flexible with instructions. Cos 1st day my mom told her .. oh u must wash her room toilet, hall toilet, upstairs, etc .. and then she just blindly follow this sequence. That day my mom wanted to rush to work and she insisted must clean my mom toilet 1st cos that's what she was told .. my mom so upset. So anyway, during our "talk" she said to me "mum that day u ask me if i got clean the table top, I lied, actually I got clean, I just wanted to test you to see if you how you react and if you will scold me" .. I keep thinking about her words .. hubby told me becareful of her.. say she just pretend to be "blur" only..

Kel,
where r u getting the mini-fridge from? it looks kinda cool. let me know if u can get it cheap. tot of getting one

cocomo,
check with u - do u still put dried ice (the one in blue) inside the bag if we need to store ebm from office? i think we have to rite?

<font color="0000ff">hashisan</font>, oh dear. i have to see what he says when it's my next appointment.

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>, though i banked privately, but i wun push people to bank lor. cos i think cordblood usefulness is not really confirmed yet. and stats of using it is actually quite low and success rate maybe even lower. so i may be paying for nothing, u never know.

<font color="0000ff">cat</font>, i can't believe ur maid tell u that! yes, ur hb is right, she seems very cunning. why is there a need to lie to ur employer to test her reaction? faint.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Lactacyd</font>
JTS, I used lactacyd for #1 diligently for bath but kanna cradle cap then we stop. put baby oil on the cradle cap, stink like hell (though it was recommended). MIL claim that all her other grandchildren never get cradle cap so i'm not sure if it's due to the lactacyd. this time i may use mustela brand for baby bath.

Shay,
I have previously used Medela cooler bag so it is a bag + blue thing. Normally what I do is I will put the blue thing (or folded fridge-to-go) inside the freezer once I reach office in the morning. Then after I pump I put the EBM into the fridge. Before go back home only I pack the the blue thing (or folded fridge-to-go) and EBM. Once reach home transfer the blue thing (or fridge-to-go) into freezer for tomolo's use and put EBM into fridge or pack them into milk bag to freeze. But if you are outside and no fridge/freezer then the fridge-to-go can 'dong' for 10-12 hours. For Medela cooler bag it can only last 8hours with the blue thing in it.

missysz,
FM = formula milk. TMC one is in liquid form so only need to shake a bit and warm up in hot water then can give to BB liao.

catherine
Your maid very cunning! how can she test you?
aiyooo. nowdays maids...tsk tsk. actually some of them use their brains for the "wrong" things..keke. But there are some really good ones out there too.

Jvenus
heehee! No need to explain. I know all these and read all these and more too. I was actually tempted to bank my #2's cordblood, then I started thinking "why?" If my reasoning for donating #1's still holds, then I shd do the same for #2's.

I oso know pple do it for "additional insurace" that is usually the main reason. And I have friends who openly admit they are being selfish. They are still my frens la.

To me, it is not expensive to bank at all, so cost is not the issue. No need to be "rich" to bank la. So, I don't think that pple are rich or selfish. To me, it's just abt making it available to help others who may need it more and also partly becos the research is still in infancy and we are only told abt the positive things.

At the end of the day, it is our own decision and what decision it is that gives us peace of mind. eg, for you (and many others), having an insurance is your peace of mind. Which is fine.

My decision (and my hb's) is based on the fact that our 2 kids are God's gifts, if He provides us with them, He will provide us with the resources to take care of them. We trust that God will protect them. Whatever happens, is in God's hands. May sound over simplistic, but we are the type that even though I failed the triple test for #1, we decided to keep the baby. Our #1 is healthy. For #2, we refused all those test and are also trusting God for healthy bb.
Plus, if we can help save a life, why not? :p

There's no right or wrong for such things, but i'm just glad there are people still donating.

catherine
eh..y ur maid like that one?? like trying to outsmart the employer ..hm..ya better be careful..
btw, u going for c section on the 28th? how did u choose the date ? or no special reasons?

Hashisan,
Does ur bb gain weight steadily?

My bb was oni 2kg when i went for my 35th week scan (oni gained 100g in 3 weeks).
Gynae said my water level seems ok so she suspected i haven't been eating well enuff, altho i kept telling her i haf no problem eating (i.e. no vomit and portion as per normal).
Anyway, she can still smile &amp; assure me dat it's nuttin major to be worried abt, cos bb is not terribly small for my gestational weeks.. *shrug*

So it seems dat diff gynaes may haf their own professional/personal judgments.
If u go see another gynae, like mine for e.g., u may end up being quite confused in the end.

Personally, if i'm being asked to be induced, i wld not mind, cos i do believe dat bb will be well taken care of when she's out.
Plus, i dun hafto keep worrying whether she's growing well inside me anot cos it can be v stressful sometimes...

Strawberry:

I am monitoring the movements and touchwood didnt have any cramps and even tummy not hardening.

hashisan:

Thanks for the wishes.

Aurora:
Yes, I am feeling better now. Looks like baby heard what mom was saying :D

Just had a lunch meeting where lunch was served at 1:30. I felt as if i would faint. does anyone else felt the same way when missed the lunch time?

Shay,
cocomo recommended to get fridge on the go. I dunno where to get discounts. Maybe I contact them to see if there's any promo going on now ok. Will keep you inform. (",)

Catherine,
Your maid quite jia lat ar.. Still "test" you. For what?? haha.. To see if you're those chin chye employer or fierce fierce 1 then plan how to deal with you ar? *faint*

hi mommies.. thank you for all your kind opinion. feel better now..
yeah I guess I just have to trust my gynae. Btw he asked me to eat durian.. lots of it

Reirei... my baby was 2.2kg in my 33wks and now 2.4kg in my 35 wks. Dont know if that's considered steady.

Catherine.. just my humble opinion... I dont feel good reading about your maid's comment. its' inappropriate to test and letting you know that she tested you.
testing you is one thing, but informing you afterwards is another thing.

Catherine,
Ya, i agree with hashisan about ur maid.
To me, she is jus trying to be defensive and redeem herself.
If got clean, say yes. If not, jus admit it. Y make tings so complicated..like the hokkien saying: "eat until full, nuttin better to do".. :p

Catherine,

Be careful of your maid. She is too smart and your hubby is right. She isn't blur. Don't understand if she is testing or playing smart with you. If testing, is she planning on how to deal with you in future. if playing, then better be very careful.

cocomo,
so that means i still need to put the blue thing into the fridge-to-go for the ebm to last for 10hrs rite?

kel,
hey thanks. any idea if any shop is selling this so that i can go take a look? have u seen the bag?
actually i already hv a cooling bag but dun look very nice leh so tot of getting another one...vain la.

catherine,
is ur maid phil or indo? very cunning hor? somemore can test the mum...omg! btw, when she told u that she's testing u, did she put on her yayapapaya face?

i just got my new phil maid too and hubby said she look very poor thing haha.....dun be con by her look ya!

cocomo,
sorry i was misinterpreted ur msg. i got wut u mean liao u fold the fridge to go and put in the freezer and hence, no need to put the blue thing in it anymore. but wut if u do not put the fridge to go into the freezer, does it mean that i hv to use the blue thing with the fridge to go and it will still tong for 10 hrs?

Interrace yah I'm here permanently. Hubby's a Brit. I've been sitting and bouncing on the ball daily. Fell off once though but in slow motion which was hiliarious as I ended up with my feet in the air!
Saw the MW on Tuesday and she said the baby's head has turned down, not ready for labour yet but in the right position. The labour ward in our hospital is equipped with birthing balls so we can use it if we want to. Over here the approach is to encourage as much movement as possible in order to relief pain rather than the administration of drugs which is why we are encourage to stay at home as long as possible and not go too early to the hospital. Hee! Hee! The MWs were warning us at antenatal class that they were not going to allow us to lie on the hospital beds unless we're on epidural.

hashisan
yup, dun confuse urself by listen tooo much.
ur bb's weight is definitely ok, dun worry about that.
all u need to noe is the exact reason why need to induce bah, think so.

luvlel
if the cramp is too frequent, dun wait liao ok?

catherine
ur maid sounds like my previous maid, think too much.

Shay,
I dun think the fridge-to-go comes with the blue thing le. So you have to fold the FTG and put inside the freezer everytime b4 you use it. If you use normal cooler bag such as Medela's cooler bag then they comes with the blue ice cube and you need to put the blue ice cube into the freezer.

Kel/Shay,
I called FTG and they said no discount at the moment and nowadays they do not provide bulk purchase disc liao. I check their retairer, so far for Mini-fridge (shuolder straps) all selling at $54 and for mini-fridge (hand carry straps), mums-in-mind is the cheapest, selling at $48. http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/minifridgetogo.html

Shoulder straps one look more 'chio' but then worry if we put the EBM bottle then when carry it will be at the lying position liao. so will leak?

<font color="0077aa">Krex: Yah I read up some articles from LA Times as well &amp; it seems that they are not for steam cells banking now. So that's why I also decided to donate it.

Catherine: Wow your maid very cunning wor!! Must watch her more carefully!

hashisan: I think every doctor will have their reason for the decision they make. I seriously don't think he will risk your bb's life in order to accomodate his schedule. But if you are uncomfortable with him then go for 2nd opinion.</font>

Mrs N,

so will u be giving birth at home or at hospital? i noe, i watch the programs, most of the mommies delayed gg to hospital even though they got contractions (of cos those w/o complications) and seen many of them gave birth w/o drugs, they chose giving birth in bathtub/just naturally at home with mw.
i really pei fu them loh ..

hope to be like them also ..lolz.

do be careful on the exercise ball though, dun hurt urself wor.

re : smart maid
aiyo..nowadays they sound more scary than helpful and naive.

<font color="0000ff">bobianah</font>, yah, i'm glad there are pple still donating too. nowadays with the nkf and renci cases, the word "donation" seems to be smeared.

<font color="0000ff">hashisan</font>, get good durians ok. those prepacked ones in the supermarket are not recommended. pref those whole ones from fruit stalls. also take mangosteen after eating durian. it's supposed to cool down and counteract the heatiness in the durian.

<font color="aa00aa">re: birth weight vs obesity</font>
hb was commenting that babies with LBW (low birth weight) tend to become obese later in life. whereas those who have a good birth weight (say above 3kg) will have less chance of obese. do u think this is true?

i personally feel that it could be the caregiver's mentality? for eg if the bb has LBW, the caregiver will want to feed and feed so that the bb can gain more weight faster (to them, more healthy) and these leads to overeating, therefore obesity later? whilst those with HBW will be more lax so bb eat average and thus wun be obese?

I will like to sell away my playpen with matress. Is brand new condition. Any interested mummies, pls kindly PM me.
Selling at only $70. Thanks.

1567345.jpg

Features :
-ideal for new born.
-comes with mosquito net
-Bassinet
-Carry bag
-little prince print
-Playpen size: 43cm x 31cm x 30cm

Original Price: SGD$125.00
Mattress is $19.90 (Bot additional from kiddy palace as the orignial playpen is selling w/o mattress)

missysz, cocomo, jvenus
Thanks for the info. most prob will get lactacyd for bathing bb. Hopefully it's not the cause for cradle cap. I heard can also use coconut oil to treat cradle cap. Then, no need powder at all? Actually powder is for wat purpose? Prevent heat rash?

Re: Free glass bottles from hospital
I may ask for some glass bottles from TMC too. Heard tt we can buy the caps at 3 for $3 at the shop opp delifrance at TMC.

Catherine,
yah, agree with the rest tt ur maid a bit weird weird one. Observe her more yah?

Luvlel,
glad u are better. Take care k. Seeing ur gynae tml right? Must tell gynae to check and advise. Do u have low blood sugar? If u feel faint, maybe eating more or take some snack in between meals may help.

cocomo,
thanks for your info. Will pop in mumsinmind to check it out. Tried calling them but no one picked up. Ya, u r right the shoulder strap looks more chio and convenient. we'll see which one to get since the diff is only $6. thanks a lot!

Shay,
Most likely I will get the hand carry one tho not that chio if compare to the shoulder straps one coz the shoulder straps one when you carry the milk bottle will in lying (horizontal) position so I worry the milk will leak out.
Think I will not go mum-in-mind la coz I staying near habourfront so will just get from them at $52, $4 diff but still need petrol to travel to MIM lo.

Interrace, I dun hv the tel#, I always go n buy or ask in the shop. She has different brand and range there, so easier for you no matter which one you decide to buy.

Hashisan,
Just trust your gynae then. I heard from a doctor friend that at last tri, baby might seem healthy and right weight, but there might be complications that will affect the health. So to be safe, gynae will suggest early delivery. Most of the time, babies are well and healthy, so not to worry.

Jvenus,
I bought this shampoo specially for cradle cap by mustela. Dono if good or not. Keeping fingers crossed.

re: maid.
Ya until now I still dont understand why she say that. I think I need to be more strict with her from now on else she climb on top of my head. But I also feel she not very smart to test me already then tell me.. hahaha. Anyway I will be more strict with her and will start my occasional spot check on her again.. hahaa.

she 1st time in SG. but work in philippines as maid before.

shay,
no yayapapaya face la .. but she is the type that will smile at you no matter what.. that day hubby scolded her and she smile, then hubby told her off, "what is there to smile about ? you think very funny? " .. hahaha.

YLN,
No special reason for that date. Cos the date initially given to me was 1st Aug by the gynae but cos it is 1st day of 7th month so we just wanted to push back a few more days so that can avoid it and discharge by then
Also cos I read that the LC works only on weekdays

hi cocomo,
Thanks for helping to check with FTG. Btw,momsinmind selling coleman cooler bags too. &amp; they're cheaper. Can last for 10hours too. What do you think?

Shay,
so when will you be going to momsinmind?? I also feel the sling 1 looks nicer. Maybe will get the horizontal 1 like what cocomo says, easier for BM storage.

wa... I got lost in the posts about FTG. Blur liao

Catherine,
Your maid super cunning. Tell you this kinda thing to give u pyschological imbalance. Maybe you should joke back and say like that you also can test her too hor? :p

Snow,
I think you meant u sms me about collecting the BBmall loot. Cos I didn't receive any email from you. Have to arrange with you another time liao.

luvlel,
oh dear, do monitor yourself. Anything you feel not right best to seek some medical advice or treatment.

cocomo,
thanks for helping me to post in the overseas spree!
I've TT the $ to the organiser and PMed her. But can you help to post my trans ref etc details in the thread, in case she didn't see my PM? Thanks!
Sorry to trouble you again. I've PMed you the trans ref details.

kel / shay / cocomo,
I got too lost in the FTG discussion. But last week before mumsfairy delivered my ameda pump, they offered me this at $40:
http://www.mumsfairy.com/product_info.php/products_id/34
Don't know if the promo is still on. Anyway, I sms Juliet, asking her if promo is still on.

hashishan,
Maybe you want to wait till full-term before you induce your baby. Just my 2 cents worth. Could your bb be small cos of genetics?

medusa,
heh, just saw our KS loot will come in soon

Hi valnsw,
Thanks. It'll be great if we can purchase it at $40. But theirs is the vertical type. Hmm, you let me know whether they can give it to us at $40 k. (",)

Thanks alot.

valnsw,
sigh .. maids ah .. sometimes really dono what to do with them. But I always will on and off test her. Like I will hide a piece of small tissue or rubber band behind the tv or photo frame just to see if she got clean the behind, etc. Else ask her she sure say got clean. Yesterday I put a rubber band behind my photoframe in my room, today still there. I give her until tomorrow to see if still there or not.. hahaha

Vone,
Pls help me update baby is 2.5kg @ 35weeks.

I feel so much better now that baby weight is up again. Must be the steak hubby made yesterday
Today hubby made pig trotters to eat.. yummy. Next week, I'm going to do the pre-admission and blood type matching on Friday. Cos of the fibroid, so my gynae say need to prepare for blood to standby for the operation the following Monday.

re: confinement food restrictions
my mom's chinese medical friend called and say for c-sec mummies, cannot eat chicken 1st week after delivery. Ginger can eat but not too much cos of bf-ing. Also to eat a pair of pigs kidney fried with pork. I dont know why but that's what he said. Must eat a pair.

Catherine,
maybe next week u will hear stories about maid from me. The new maid supposed to have arrived in SG today, but she has to go for some tests that she needs to pass before can get her from the agency.

You put rubber band there, maybe she got clean but she just leave the rubber band there? Perhaps you should drip some hardened candle wax, see if she will wipe off or not..

kel,
I sms Juliet from mumsfairy, she said the $40 promo is old promo from babycare festival. I sms her is this promo still on, she hasn't replied but got a feeling the promo no more liao...