10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
18. Catherine - still thinking how long...
19. BabyWise - Until baby self wean
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
22. Earnestmum - 8 months
23. Hashisan - 1 year and maybe longer
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months
26. Sylvia - 6 months, unless I can't bring my baby overseas.

Thanks to all mummies for all the concerns & well wishes...

Breastfeeding Support Group
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months
27. Dongle - 6 months

re : storage in office
is those mini fridge whereby we can only put in a few cans of drinks cold enough for ebm? or have to put in proper fridge?

celyn and cocomo,
thanks! will check out the 2 webbie tml

cocomo,
Avent via cups can only be reused 4 times ar. Alamak, then I better find cheaper alternatives like the lansinoh milk bags. Thanks for the info!

cocomo,
I saw you joined some Lansinoh milk bag spree, isit possible to ask you to help me order? Cos I don't think I can post in the overseas BP. Else, I wonder if it's possible that I can PM the BP organiser?

snow,
I've TT the $ to you in case you didn't see my sms. Collection, I think I need to arrange with you again. Don't know when I'll be passing around your area. Or if you will be around East area, can also let me know ;)

aurora,
As what Celyn says, you need to contact SCCB before your delivery, as they will let you sign some consent/volunteer form. Before that, the SCCB rep will ask you a list of health questions to screen if you're suitable to donate the cord blood. The rep will also ask some health questions on your hubby so be prepared you know your hubby's health history.
I'll be meeting the SCCB rep next Mon after my gynae appt so I can update you how it went.
Best you make an appointment with them if you intend to donate.

Re: breastfeeding support group
Looks like lots of mummies here! Let's ganbatte together

Interrace,

I got Avent Electric Pump. Went to Gleneagles's seminar, the nurse also highly recommend both electric and manual pump.

Not sure Robinson and CK Tang still have promo or nt. But they hv promo bag where the pump only cost $279 instead of $404. & then inside, there's containers set, warmer, dispenser, milk bottles,teats,etc...

Very worth it leh. u might wanna go n see it.

The other place that you can go n kepo is at Chin Swee - Just behind People Park's centre, 2nd Floor, connecting to the Chin Swee HDB. It's very near the shop that sell very good price for shampoo, facial items,etc.

Think is Chup something.. the price there not bad..

Sylvia,
my bb hiccups as well. As for heartbeat, I tried to feel, but not sure is it bb's or my pulse leh.

Dongle,
maybe you can check the temp of the mini fridge? Normal fridge is abt 5 degrees celsius I think. Anyway, I have read before tt some mummies bought mini fridge to store their EBM as they feel it's more hygenic than storing it together with the groceries.

aurora,
you check the instruction coz last time I used the VIA cup to keep my EBM then read from instruction that it can only be sterilised for 4 times. So after 4 times sterilised I just use it for normal storage purpose to keep biscult etc.

Valnsw,
Can no problem. You let me have your order details I help you to post.

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - baby led
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months

Dont want to stress yself too much abt BF.
Is it true that 2nd tie other have milk flow the 2nd day? Cos I have some leak this few days.

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - baby led
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months
27. Dongle - 6 months

vone,
Please help me update my bb weight @ 36weeks is 2.6kg.
My #1 also 2.6kg @ 36weeks.

so sad, my total weight gain is 12kg liao

anyone here on antibotics - amoxyclillin for Strep b positive? Now I a on 5 days course.
Same during y first pregnancy.

aurora,

my baby's heart beat can be felt near tummy. sometimes my tummy will be bouncing up and down. Very strong heart beat even without my hands to feel it.

Happened that recently, when I visit my gynae, baby's heartbeat bouncing my tummy, so I asked is it heartbeat and normal? Gynae smiled and said.. very healthy.

Maybe I should look out for hiccups. Hee!!

<font color="0077aa">Cocomo: Yah, I think my fren bought frisge to go as well! Thanks for the webby!

Bobianah: I am also planning to donate to SCBB, will prob meet them during my next gynae appt. With regards to EBM, you will also need a cooler bag to transprt home right?

Sylvia: Ths shop at Chinatown is call Cheong Choon.</font>

good morning mummies

just want to check..my MIL was telling me, if i go for C section, then during confinement, cannot take any alcohol at all...is it true? like Dome if i drink it neat, and alcohol in meals...cannot at all?

Morning mommies!!
so many posts last nite..

Mrs N,
u will be in UK permenantly? sorry to probe, just curious.
yup, still bouncing on the ball occassionally though baby's head oredi turned. hope it will induce labour ? hahaha...but i noe if we have contractions, the ball will also come to good use? i have been watching alot of programs on the cable on how many of the western pple used the ball during their contractions, on all fours and lean against the ball to relief the pain and things like that..so tot will try that out if got chance.

slyvia,
tks, i noe the shop at chinatown, do u happen to have the tel# ? cos the last time i went, i only check out the avent manual pump, she selling at 70+, which is quite cheap compared to deptmt store price of 90+
was also thinking of getting the pump from amazon, u think is worth it ?

re : ameda pump
was thinking of getting that initially cos heard quite good reviews, but if am gg to breastfed for only less than 6mths, like not worth the $ spent loh. anyway, tks for all the tips on the breast pump.

re : breast milk storage
is it better to store in bags or bottles ? avent have those storage bottles which can be used to pump directly and keep in fridge then can use the same bottle to feed baby ? all in ones ? isnt that better ?
sorry ah, so many qns early in the morning. :p

YLN,
i think c section or not, can still take alcohol, like what the other mommies mentioned, take neat after feed, and cook alcohol shouldnt have any problem. ur mil doing confinement for u ?

bobianah,
u stayed ard bt panjang huh? hee..happen to see ur nick appearing at the bt panjang thread. petir road ? :p

re: cord blood donation.
really am happy to see many mommies like myself donating to scbb, it will help them alot, cos not all cord blood collected can be stored...due to various reasons. so more pple donating, higher chance to have more cord blood storage and helping others.

am so happy is FRIDAY!!
TGIF ladies!! (^__^)

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - baby led
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
18. Catherine - min 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months
27. Dongle - 6 months

hi interrace, my gf also recommended me to get avent bottles to store additional breastmilk instead of getting the Avent VIA storage cup coz cant recycle too many times for the cup while the bottles can use for longer time.
i haven't got yet coz don't know whether have so much milk supply or not. ;p

i am having sleepless nights for the whole of this week. *yawn*

Still feeling tired, woke up at 1am+ and went back to sleep, woke up 7.45am this morning.

Was reading the papers, there's a Takashimaya toy sale fair at B2. Some deals are valid for 3 days and first 100 customers. Some toys are really cheap, so I guess it's really good for 2nd-time mummies. Didn't see any Fisherprice toys featured though.

Also saw that Baby Avenue at Balestier is having sale, featured Quinny Buzz, Maxi Cosi carseat, Maclaren (can't remember the model) and Medela pump (forgot which model).

Seems like the sale season is here again :p

Re: Fridge to go
I realised that the fridge to go, is also sold at Mumsfairy. Before they delivered my Ameda breast pumps, they asked if I wanted to get the Fridge to go at $40. That time, I didn't take up the offer as I was unsure if I needed it.

Maybe for mummies who are interested can check with Mumsfairy if the promo is still on.

Catherine
Got your PM! Thanks! *muack!*

Cord Blood:
Glad to know mummies here are also considering donating (and some like me already signed up!) YAY!!
Yes, because bb is coming soon, please contact SCBB quickly. You will need to go to their office at KKH or they can meet you at your gynae's clinic to go through with you some forms/administrative matters to ensure that you know what donation is all about. You must do it before delivery. Then they will give you letter to give to the delivery suite nurses on the day u deliver. Yes, good to let your gynae know too.
Here's the contact:

Singapore Cord Blood Bank
100 Bukit Timah Road
Women’s Tower
Basement 1, Unit 0B60A
Singapore 229899

Tel : 6 394 5011
Fax : 6 394 5013

Please email us at [email protected]

Cocomo
oooh...keke! didn't know they are in sales. then probably need fridge to go. :p

Storeberry
Yes, I use cooler bag to transport home EBM...but I only use it for "short-term" (ie, less then 1 hr) not for storage for whole of office hours.

dongle,
mini fridge is ok, but for me, once go home, those EBM must consume over next 2 days liao. :p

Interrace
ya, i stay there. do you??

That's why go Dr Ong's 10 mile clinic. too bad he moved out of BPP, otherwise even more convenient! :p

morning mummies.

is it good to standby the milk bags? i already have 10 avent via cups and 14 glass bottles to store bm. will this be enough for now? if we purchase milk bag from sprees, it will usually take about a month or more to come right? not sure about milk supply so don't know if i should order some milk bag to standby.

morning ladies. =)

valnsw
saw ur mail, and replied.
will let u noe if i happen to be in the east ok?
very unlikely now, unless got special transport arrangement lor.

yln
as far as i noe, the 1st 2 wks after c-sect is advisable to take less wine.
not totally avoid, but lesser cos it will irritate the wound.
but i took wine during confinement previously also, so far so gd lah.

alcohol after c section

so that means if i take it in the food cooked by my confinement lady..should be ok rite? my MIL was making a big issue about cannot take alcohol after c section and if im bf-ing ..also cannot take alcohol...which i dun agree lor..i think take in moderation is ok..if bf-ing..just take at nite after last feed also can...but she got her own old old theory...so fed up..and anyway, she also not doing confinement for me...i have a CL to cook for me.. think they will know better..my concern is wait my MIL have so many kpo opinions and disrupt the CL's work...then i got more headache liao...

yln
as long as take in moderation, and ur body can take wine, should be no problem.
wine after cooking with food should be ok, at least i dun see my gal getting drunk during my confinement time....hee hee.... =P

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 6 mths
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - baby led
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months
27. Dongle - 6 months

amend mine to 6 mths....

Avent liners: Yes, they have leaky problems. I use loads during my first pregnancy and initially was ok, but at one stage, a lot of the liners were leaky and everyone was complaining. Liners are more "clean" and convenient to store in freezer. For bottles, must wash and sterilise and must have space to store bottles.

<font color="0000ff">cocomo</font>, i still have avent bags so likely to use finish first then say lor.

<font color="0000ff">roiv</font>, if u quote referral's name, the referral will also get $100 off their next annual fee. i can share the referral fee with u (as my #1 with cordlife) if u did not have a referral upon signing up? hv tried a few times, they do allow u to tell them even after u have signed up. so that will be $50 + $50 off for new applicants?

<font color="0000ff">babywise</font>, i didn't get similac mum leh!
maybe i sign up too early.

<font color="0000ff">bobianah</font>, i think the donating was discussed before. but once donate, sccb can use for other suitable pple so once used, it's gone. plus if u want them to find a match for u (not necessary turn out to be ur own), need about $20k? to me, turn out that it will be bo hua also? that's my own opinion lah, it's a personal choice bah.

<font color="0000ff">aurora</font>, ur office so nice! at least got designated area. i still hv to see pple's face if use meeting room. i dun think cooler bag brand matters. what's impt is u hv sufficient ice blocks to keep the bag cool to last ur trip home.

<font color="0000ff">avocado</font>, my gynae nvr do tests for strep b leh. how to find out? or ignorance is bliss?

<font color="0000ff">interrace</font>, i think u are referring to the avent via cups? i think all storage purpose got pros and cons. if u use bottles, they are usually not stackable, same with those via cups. so will take up more space while bags less. but bags may leak. so depends on own preference lor. based on past, i quite seldom need to defrost to feed. so most cost efficient for me is still bags if need to throw. if put in bottles/cups, i still need to defrost then pour away.

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>, tell ur hb to ask ur MIL not to chap so much since she is not doing ur confinement. it's stressful enuff taking care of new baby and still want to create trouble over what to eat?

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Bfg group</font>
wow! we are hitting 30 soon! that's great!

Jvenus
I am totally aware of what donation means. I have also read as much as I could about the progress of research on cord blood and what it can/cannot be used for and where is it now.
I'm not sure if u need to pay so much to find a match though. I find it hard to believe the search wld cost so much. :p
In any case, for me, I think there are a lot of pple out there who need it more urgently, and I have no problems helping them and possibly saving lives. I also trust that God will protect my children and whatever the future holds, we also leave it in God's hands.
And like you said, it is a personal choice.

In any case, it is good to know that there are mummies who are still choosing to donate.

jvenus

ya lor...i already told my hubby to tell my MIL not to say so many things..but he didnt really talk to her about it..so i think i will have to tell him again...else when CL come...skali both side also got so many things to say...i will die lor...

Hi mommies... need your opinion badly

I am 35wks 5 days pregnant now and when I went to dr W for check up on Mon, the baby is 2.4kg. (which I thought was ok). but he asked me to go for detail scan at thomson hospital again because he thinks baby is small and I dont eat well. (my weight gain so far only 5kg plus and I lost 4 kg in 1st 4 mths ).

SO yesterday I went there and everything was ok, only the baby is on the small side about 2.3 kg.When I showed dr W my report he told me he wants me to deliver early becoz baby seems doesnt grow very well.
For comparison: my son was 3.34 kg when I gave birth to him in 2006.
so compared to him, yes this baby is kinda small.
but I dont understand why I must be induced and deliver early. Why cant he just let her be in the womb..till 40wks and in the mean time I can try to eat more so she'll put on weight?
is it because he just want me to have a delivery date that FITS HIS SCHEDULE???
when I asked him this his answer was: its better to take out baby early than let her stay in the not so good environment..

acually my 1st son's delivery was also handled by him...but now dont know why I doubt his opinion.
I really dont want to be induced like my first pregnancy which end up with delivery with forceps.
should I go to other dr for 2nd opinion? should I just trust him?

bobianah,
I asked my gybae b4 if banking cordblood necessary for my second one as I have done that for my first and she said no need. So I decided to donate out since if we dun donate the hospital also throw away one. Donate can save life.

Thanks for the infor on SCBB. Just called them and arrange to meet up tomolo morning 8:30am at gynae's clinic.

hashisan
how come 2.4kg @ 35wks 5days consider small har?
my gynae think otherwise leh, he only said my gal will be around 2.8kg at birth lor.
but again, above 2.5kg at birth is consider healthy liao mah.
did ur gynae say anything about pre-eclampsia, or anything else went wrong instead?
if not, how come induce @ 36wks when full 37th wk is then consider full term?

just fyi, my bb is only 2.11kg @ 34wks.
so should be around 2.4kg to 2.5kg @ 36wk also lor.

Good morning ladies

I had a very bad night yesterday. Thought I would pop. Had cramps and contractions from 2 am onwards and the frequency was increasing. Tummy tight too. I am only 34W4D. Spoke to baby to be there atleast for another 3 weeks so that its 37 weeks and also grannie would come by that time.

Pain was really horrible. There was no bloody show but lot of vaginal discharge. Still having pain in pelvic region and back.

Really pray hard that baby wont come out before aug 8.

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 6 mths
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - baby led
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months
27. Dongle - 6 months
28. babydreamer - 1 year

btw...how many 4oz. milk bottles do I need to get if I'm intending to let my baby latch on? Thought I should still have bottles on stand-by in case I have difficulty letting baby latch on and can only pump.

hashisan:
A friend of mine had the same problem and also delivered before she was due. In some cases, gynae may suggest that u deliver earlier due to poor growth of baby in the womb, and that baby might grow better outside instead. If u trust the gynae, then sometimes just leave it to his expertise. My friend's baby grew fast after 3 mths of breastfeeding! So don't worry!

Snow,

Thanks for the concern. I havent told her anything as I have an appointment with her tomorrow. Do you think its ok to wair till tomorrow morning 9 am?

Luvlel,

Think you need to monitor your interval of cramps. If its regular and less then 15mins apart, it would be best to give ur gynea a call. Increase discharge could be a sign of ur muscuous plug? Best to give her a call rather then wait

snow: exactly... other than her weight, evrything like umbilical cord, blood flow, water bag are all OK. and I also dont think she's really that small till need to be induced.

because in my mind: induce=pain more=ask for epidural=cant push too numb =forceps/vacuum delivery= bleeding longer recovery..which was what happened to me last time.

he wanted to induce me end of when I reach 37wks (end of Jul). my edd suppose to be aug 16.

babydreamer: thank u
. maybe that was his reason too.

Luvlel: hope you get well soon

hashisan,
Two of my frens induced their baby coz the baby is not growing well inside (does not gain much weight last trim). Their gynae said since the baby cant grow inside then better to deliver and to feed them outside better than keep them inside for any uncertainty. Think Dr W is professional enought to give you such suggestion. If you bu fang xin then just go for second opinion since this is a big decision to make.

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 6 mths
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - baby led
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months
27. Dongle - 6 months
28. babydreamer - 1 year
29. shay - min 1yr

anyone have the website or contact for the full month caterer that sell the conventional package like ang ku kueh, yellow rice with curry and red eggs? i rmb saw it from one of the motherhood magazine but just couldn't find it. let me know if anyone has the contact or any recomendation for nice full month gift package......TIA!

Hashisan,
Like Cocomo, I also think you should consider ur gynae's suggestion. He should be professional enough, otherwise, why choose him in the first place? But if you're still not comfortable, then seek a 2nd opinion from a gynae at another hospital. Just my 5-cents worth..

So many posting again. Just finish reading from my last posting.

Cocomo,
Thanks for the webbie. Took a look already. But I see pple ordering from overseas site. Is it cheaper then sg? And which cooler bag is designed more for breastmilk storage? They got lots of choices! &amp; I can't find the promo price at $54 leh..

Valnsw,
Can you help to check with mumsfairy if they're willing to set the cooler baf at $40?? Because you mention that you bought breastpump from them therefore the price at $40 rite?? Thanks

Hashisan,
My opinion is the same as babydreamer. Maybe your gynae felt that your baby is not getting anymore nutrients from your body therefore it's better for baby to be out early. Premature babies grows just as well as full term baby just that they will need more attention. Like for my twins, during the 1st month I have to wake them up 3hourly for their milk feed. If not they tend to just sleep through. (",)

bobianah, thanks for the contact. Will see if they can meet me after my gynae appt tml. (",)

Interrace and missysz,
Maybe you can also ask for some glass bottles from the hospital to store EBM? Read tt some mummies do tt. Just need buy the caps.

hashisan,
my bb also abt 2.4kg at wk 35 and now 2.6kg at wk 37, Gynae didn't say anything leh. Maybe like wat Snow said, better to have a talk with ur gynae what he meant but 'not so good environment'? Don't worry too much. Communication is impt to avoid unnecessary doubts.

Luvlel,
are you feeling better now? Think you shd go and see ur gynae. If it is pre-term labour, at least the gynae can help administer medication to stop the contractions.

Kel,
Dun think there is promo now le. Last time when Motherhood fair at EXPO they have the promo at $40 for the min-fridge but now no promo selling at $54. I prefer the mini-fridge (Model: FTG-1200S) which can store for 10-12hours. Others like too big for me and the surround cooling only 6-9 hours. The Mini-fridge comes with 2 designs, horizontal and verticle. Dun take the verticle type (sling type), take the horizontal one (will look somethng like the 'victoria' design) coz easy to put your BM bottles side by side instead of just stack up (hope you understand what I mean).