(2008/08) Aug 2008

jvenus
will try, thx.
think the nurse in GlenE quite pro-bf also, they will keep coming in to ask u to bf lor...hee hee...

medusa
gd that u love them, at least worth the effort.
ya, u rest well too okie? =)
i tried for my 1st gal but failed, will try but won't die hard pressurise myself this time round lor.
instead of doing my best for the bb, end up i might be doing something bad to my own health ya?

babywise
never heard of the ginger after c-sect thingy.
think most of us took ginger, but none got that problem lor.

mousse,
can take rice wine/dom/brandy in food while breastfeeding. Cos the alcohol would have "evaporated" during the cooking. As for drinking Dom, i think they say it's ok to take abit 2 hours b4 bf-ing.

Thanks, BabyWise!
Was worried that bb may turn 'alcoholic'! :p

Nini,
I think chicken essence is good for after delivery cos must wake up every few hrs to feed bb. Can get very tiring...

nini,
heard some mummies say must drink before go for delivery .. else no energy .. hahaha. actually i dont think chicken essence can keep u energize cos I can take it and then still go to sleep. hahaha

Snow,

I also dunno le...just heard people saying before and then when I read in this thread someone (who liao ar ?) mentioned cannot take ginger for a week after csection coz it will cause scarring, then suddenly reminded me about that...

mousse: yes, before n after delivery i heard..

Catherine: Ya.. i heard also. They say can boost ur energy, then after delivery not so shacked.. But i forgot is few weeks before EDD or few days.. haha

Eh..would u all attend friends/relatives full month celebration still??? kekeke..

Count me in as well even though I'm not in Sg.

Breastfeeding Support Group
Shall we have a list of interested mummies and their target period? No stress but WHO recommends baby to be on BM for at least the first 6 months.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
18. Catherine - still thinking how long...
19. BabyWise - Until baby self wean
20. Mrs N - baby led

Some sites you might find interesting on breastfeeding:

www.laleche.org.uk
www.breastfeedingnetwork.org.uk
www.abm.me.uk
www.expressyourselfmums.co.uk

re : breast pump
was thinking of getting the avent electric pump, cos that one can do manual and electric also ? anyone bought that model ? PIS too expensive for my tiny budget. tks for sharing of the pumps u gals got on hand though.

re : chicken essence
actually now also can drink cos we everyday also feel tired. kekeke..but my mom told me to drink two bottles before gg hospital, that will help in the labour process ? but was thinking will help if the labour is short and fast loh, if long and slow, then dun think will help ba, only make me sleepless while waiting for baby's arrival?

re : full month
wish not to have if possible, feel tired just the tot of it loh.. --> lazy mommy

<font color="0000ff">kel</font>, yes i'm working. we have a common fridge in the pantry so will put the EBM there. i use the cooler bag which comes with the medela pump to transport home. don't worry, EBM does not spoil easily. Read Storage Guidelines.

<font color="aa00aa">Breastfeeding Support Group</font>
Shall we have a list of interested mummies and their target period? No stress but WHO recommends baby to be on BM for at least the first 6 months.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led

<font color="aa00aa">Breastfeeding Websites:</font>
www.laleche.org.uk
www.abm.me.uk
www.kellymom.com/

interrace,
i got the avent iq isis duo electric pump. its not cheaper than pis.

i heard about chicken essence but not taking. hate the smell.

can take dom when bf is it? my sil got a bottle for me but i don't take wine one. i think i will try to take a bit since its supposed to be good for our body.

Jvenus,

cordlife voucher cannot use ah, wat is the tmc card for ? discount also ? sorry wor, did u ask me to check with cordlife abt this tmc card ? i din ask wor, forgot abt it if u did ask me to check with them. i only check if can use if already a customer with them wor...pai sey, can pass to ur frds/colleagues/relatives? since expiry still quite far off ?

mrs n,
where u at ?

Thanks babywise!

Jvenus, but i'm in sales. so gotta run about. If there's no fridge outside maybe i'll just throw away the ebm. Unless i'm near home maybe i'll rush home to store. HAi.. Wish me luck (",)

nini,
alot of people say best not to attend red/white events when pregnant unless necessary. Guess unless it's a relative or very close, else can avoid just avoid lo. I missed a friend's wedding during my 2nd trimester also..

luvlel,
i also don't have a nursing room in office. i might be expressing at storeroom and lock myself in. i had a little mini fridge (those that can put 6 can drinks) under my table. wonder if its good enough to put ebm or must put in those normal fridge?

<font color="aa00aa">Re: DOM/Alcohol during BFg</font>
You can take DOM while BF but make sure you do not take it just before feeding your baby. You can take it after the feed. Alcohol in cooked food will also have evaporated after cooking, so no issue.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Thomson Medical Centre</font>
Read more about the TMC FBI/SBI Incentive. At our stage, mainly discounts on participating gynae fees and hospital stay.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: FBI/SBI discount for Cordlife</font>
According to Cordlife, there is $450 discount off the $1,400 enrolment fee as well as a waiver for first year annual storage fee of $250 if you have the FBI/SBI card.

Catherine/Interrace,
I bought Medela PIS. This one is really good coz it can generate letdown few times during the pump and empty the breast in 15mins. But then once you use PIS, you cant use other pump liao coz PIS very powerful and you will feel 'no effect' at all for manual or mini electric. I cant even pump a single drip when I tried to use my fren's mini electric when going for overseas biz trip so have to bring my PIS at the end. If you think PIS is too ex then can get the second hand one, but buy your own accessories for hygene purpose. Can search at the 'things to sell' thread, think some mummies are selling off their PIS.

krex,
I bought the pigeon milk bag at TMC, they are having 25% so ard $13+ per box

Snow,
My milk did not kick in till the 2nd day. So my gynae cup feed my boy with some glucose water. But I still let him latch on even no milk. Dun give up this round ok!!

Jvenus,
I heard bad comment on avent milk bag coz it easily leak le. The sales girl at Robinson also ask me not to buy Avent milk bag coz she received lotso complaints.

Babywise,
I only heard that if your baby got jaundice then dun take ginger if BF.

Mousse,
Better dun take alcohol b4 you BF your BB. If you want, take it right immediately after BF.

Nini,
I also heard from some frens that they taken chicken essence before going to labour ward but dunno if it really helps?!

Kel,
If your company got fridge then can just put your EBM into the fridge (not freezer coz once it was frozen your BB has to consume within 48hours unless you can bring the frozen milk back home without it melting).

Luvlel,
My office no nursing room as well, so I used to pump at the conference room and any vacant room, in the case where they were occupied, I pumped in the store room lo.

cocomo

Have u heard of any reviews of Lanisoh milk bags? I noticed some spree going on in the forum for this brand.. Prob will only try them if bb doesn't take to latching on well

catherine

When I was deciding on the breastpump, I did some quick research on Medela's mini electric.. Many commented on the noise level, which might be an issue for those who have to pump in the office or in bb's room.. On top of that, I also noted many ppl trying to sell of their mini electric.

HTH

hisstory,
This is the first time I buy Lanisoh so dunno if it is good or not?! Hope it is lo coz much cheaper than buy any brand in Spore.

I agree with you that the mini electric is really noisy! When I borrowed my fren's one to try last time I had a shock when I on the Motor.

cocomo

Oh u participated in the spree ah? The price looks really quite affordable.. Maybe I shall read up if there are positive comments abt Lansinoh (just realised this is the correct spelling, salah name in earlier post), and then I shall update all, here

My mum grumbles abt my elder sis's mini electric.. *ooops*

medela mini electric is really noisy. i was on the phone chatting with my friend when she is pumping, i can actually hear it very clearly at the background.

Count me in too..

I m currently breast feeding my little princess. Started on the 2nd day of delivery. Milk supply came in only on 4th day for me and I had serious engorgement. Super painful. Have to call for massage service (Specialised for breast feeding) and this help to reduce the soreness and also help me liittle princess to latch on properly.

But I am constantly worry she may not have enough to drink thus I feed accordingly to her demand. Dun really follow any timing eg : 3 hours later after last feed. I will feed her longer before I sleep so she dun have to get up too many times in the middle of the night..

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months

Breastfeeding Websites:
www.laleche.org.uk
www.abm.me.uk
www.kellymom.com/

Re: FBI/SBI discount for Cordlife
$450 discount off the $1,400 enrolment fee as well as a waiver for first year annual storage fee of $250 if you have the FBI/SBI card.

I contacted cordlife for an appointment last Wednesday to sign contract on Saturday but who knows, Saturday already admitted in hospital. The consultant was nice enough to visit me in hospital to get the contract endorsed..

Lastly, if you quote someone who have signed up with cordlife, you will get an additional of $50 off. If you guys need my particulars for this purpose, please PM me.

hisstory,
But then mini electric is convenience to bring and can express anywhere lo, PIS need to find power. I cant even express at some airport's nursing room coz no power socket provided.

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
22. Earnestmum - 8 months

<font color="0077aa">interrace: I am planning to buy the Ameda breatspump, heard it is less noisy than Medela PIS and also cheaper. Think some mummies here got it for $350? If you have frens in USA, can also ask them to buy its alot cheaper.

Hisstory: Must still buy milkbags to store cos somtimes whne bb finish latching still can pump out more milk. I have some playtex milk bags from my sis but will prob buy some Lansinoh ones later cos Lansinoh ones has the ziplock to seal. Quality also better than playtex.

Kel: I am also in Sales &amp; my colleagues who gave birth last yr has been using her cooler bag to transport her BM back home so should be ok. Forgot the name of the bag but quite good, cost about $50.</font>

Cocomo,
True...if baby jaundice have to avoid ginger and sesame oil...

Hisstory,
I have also read about good reviews for Gerber and Lansinoh milk bags. It is cheaper to buy from the spree. Same amount of $ get double the amount of bags of Lansinoh compare getting Gerber locally.

Jvenus,

I have also checked with Cordlife. Can either use voucher or TMC FBI/SBI, cannot be using both ! But then can get extra $50 off with referral.

I have just signed up with FBI coz get more discounts for Cordlife..Got lots of freebies including one can of Similac Mum from TMC upon joining...so it is quite worth it even though have to pay extra $40 coz joined late in last trimester.

Medela pumps:
There's a bp on medela pumps now.
It's quite cheap cos i tink they are getting straight from US. but u need to buy an adaptor to use it in Singapore.

Luvlel,
Hee... I always forget my PIS can run on battery as well but it spoilt as I dropped it previously.

Reirei,
If you buy those directly from US one will not have Spore local warranty le. Meanin if your PIS spoilt and you bring to the medela customer service at Toh Guan side they will still charge you. Better check with them on the warranty part.

Storeberry/Kel,
Can buy the fridge-to-go cooler bag, can last for 12 hours.

Catherine
Thanks. Can pass me Dr Chong's contact?

Storage of EBM:
I prefer to store in fridge. I find that no cooler bag can really keep it cool enuf as the temp drops and I an very scared of bateria growth. So for my own peace of mind, i bot a mini fridge put in office.

Cord Blood:
Any of your considered donating to Singapore Cord Blood Bank instead of putting in private?
I believe that if more ppl donate, then there will be higher chances of match for those who need it.
I donated #1's and am donating #2's.

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
23. Hashisan - 1 year and maybe longer

Bobianah and celyn,
how do I go about it if I wanna donate to singapore cord blood bank? Must also let gynae know is it?

Expressing in office
Luckily, recently my office decided to partition a section of the pantry as nursing room. Might be weird if someone eating outside and I express bm inside.. haha but better than nothing lah.

EBM storage
I have not bought an cooler bag. Thinking of getting one only before I return to work. any recommendation which brand is good? Fridge-to-go? where can I get it?

Milk bags
I bought the avent VIA cups for storage, then tt time I got the first year milk bags (x25) as part of the bundle when I purchased my ameda pump. Will there be any risk of contamination if we try to pour the BM into the cups/ bags then back to milk bottle during feeding?

aurora,
you have to contact scbb to indicate that you wish to donate. they will have a discussions with you regarding donating and also checking some medical history about you, your hubby and parents. all paper work must be done before you go into delivery so better to do it earlier. the collecting of cord blood is done by your gynae so i guess need to inform gynae too loh. i haven't inform my gynae but my request for donating is file in my file already.

you can go to their web for more info and contact them. www.scbb.com.sg

celyn

But somehow my niece managed to sleep thru when my sis was expressing with the mini electric.. heheh, maybe the noise was droning enough to create the sleep envt

cocomo

Oh, I didn't know tt mini electric is tt mobile! Prob didn't see my sis in action when out, with the mini electric.. I shall go check if my Ameda can do w/o electricity

storeberry

Thanks for the reminder! I have a box of (25 bags, i think) milk bags tt came with my Ameda BP, so tt shd hopefully last awhile.. Then I prob am going to request to get some glass bottles before getting discharged..
Thanks also for the heads-up tt Lansinoh is better than Playtex.. I will consider joining a spree then

babywise

My sis used Gerber's then.. But it seems it's no longer available or sthg like tt. Thanks for confirming tt Lansinoh's the most worth while *heehee*

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - baby led
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
20. Mrs N - baby led
21. Roiv - 6 months
24. Swee - 6 months
25. Yuuri - >6months

Hi cococmo,
Thanks!! But price? &amp; where can i purchase it?

Storeberry,
means your colleague brought the pump &amp; cooler bag out with her issit?? Hmm, Is there's a will, there's a way. I shall try my best! (",)

bobianah,
Ya, I agree that beta to store the BM in the fridge. But storeberry and kel doin sales so sometimes cant find fridge thus suggest fridge-to-go.

aurora/Kel,
If you bot PIS then it comes with a cooler bag. If not can buy fridge-to-go (mini-fridge) at $54 now but sometimes they have promo at very good deal. http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/

aurora,
Oh ya, you beta check the Avent VIA cup coz if not mistaken it can only sterilise for 4 times le.

Valval (princess_v) ,

Tks for explaining the hiccups.

Eh.. I dun hv, but I always feel my baby gal's heartbeats when her back is near my tummy.

Or am I the few that can still feel baby heartbeat now?