(2008/08) Aug 2008

luvlel,

there are basically 2 ways to monitor movements, 10 movements in 2 hours are for those very active babies. Or 10 sets of movements in 12 hours. (I think dont make sense for 24 hours cos we need to sleep)

eg .. move , move, move .. rest ... move, move, move .. rest ..

If you are told to monitor in 2 hours period, then this is 6 movements.

If you are told to monitor sets of movements then this is considered as 2 sets of movements.

This is how my gynae explained to me
hope it helps and i didnt get it wrong

Hi hisstory,

I hope to bf for as long as I can. even when i return back to work. For my 1st pregnancy only manage to bf for close to a month.

If baby doesn't move I usually tap my tummy or talk to baby lor. Usually it's works. I think my son can be a drummer in future. haha.. His movements are like playing with drums.

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
paiseh, i think i'm a bad mommy...i don't really monitor my bb's movements. But sometimes i suddenly realised she haven't move in some time, then i'll shake shake my tummy. hee...then she'll start kicking me. My hubby will 'scold' me, say i disturb our bb's sleeping. :p

catherine is right, it should be 10 movements in 12hrs. I think my bb also got more movements than that in 12hrs. Actually now since the space in our womb is less, we might feel less movements coz bb is more 'restricted'.
My bb's movements now is more 'gentle', it's more of moving abt/wriggling type....less kicking/punching liao.

celynlee: Thanks! yes...diaper cover is those u use with nappy. Thought I should get some diaper covers to wear outside the nappies when going out... in case of accidents!

Storeberry: re. your Ikea drawer.... u might want to fix it up earlier. Cos I fixed up my Ikea kid's wardrobe and shelves 2 weeks ago, and until now there's still a smell!!

catherine: thanks for the welcome!

vone: can u help add me to the list when you're free? thanks!!!

Nick- babydreamer
Age- 30
Gynae- Dr Peter Chew
Hospital- Gleneagles
Baby #1
Gender- Girl
Weight- 1.6kg @ 31wks
EDD- 9th Aug

Thanks alot for all the well wishes. Soon your turn will be coming, very excited ya..

My gynae was worried initially as 2.2kg is kinda small and as she is 1 month premature, her lungs may not be fully formed. I was given 2 injections to strengthen her lungs before delivering her, wow, the injection was the worst injection I ever had. Its was extremely painful cos its oil based. Dr mentioned that as long as everything is ok with Baby (breathing, heart..etc) baby would be able to go home with parents so it doesn’t matter even if the weight is less than 2kg.

Just came home with my little one, she has a little jaundices but Dr says ok, just need to do some sun bathing. Was so shacked and tired but everything is worth it when you see you baby healthily delivered...

Monitoring baby's movements is very very important. I lost my little angel last year due to umbilical cord accident at 33 weeks thus this time round, I am extremely careful and paranoid and cannot afford to take any chance., therefore, I have made the decision to deliver her one month earlier despite of the due date and breech position.

For those who will be delivering in a TMC, its truly a wonderful experience. The labour ward nurses are super nice and the food is super delicious. I still miss the “Sheng Yu Tang” that they serve during morning tea-break..

PS : I will b uploading her photo real soon...

Roiv..

mulberry,
oh i see. Take care yah. I'm also experiencing BH these two weeks too. Gynae oso say might be earlier.

Interrace
I think I took only 4 MC from him. But this time, he offered to extend. Maybe I looked very haggard from work bah. haaa...
BTW, my MIL told me not to drink grass jelly. think too 'cooling'.

YLN,
Think of baby and try not to be so angry. Not worth it over such people. I decided to take earlier leave from work partly becos I wan to try to adjust my emotions and stay happy before baby comes out and hopefully he will also be a happy baby. Heard from pple tt if mummy always angry, bb will also tend to cry more. Me always heart pain when I see the 3D scans of bb.. he always seems to be frowning! Must be my fault...

Jassie,
don't worry. No news means good news yah.

Catherine,
Thanks for explaining the movement monitoring.

Kel
ur baby boy so cute. I tap my tummy or tok, my son can't be bothered leh. He'll only move when he likes it or when i purposely 'squash' him by lying on my side. :p bad mummy

Roiv,
glad you and baby are home

re: packing bag
any idea how many pcs of disposal breast pad to bring ? What about the sanitary pads ?

roiv, looking forward to see your newborn pics. (",)

aurora, haha.. usually the baby will response leh. Means your baby is the cool cool type. haha..

Luvlel, when my gf wanna bf longer the doc from kkh prescribe her some supplements. But it's not fenugreek leh. Guess I need this kinda supplements to help me increase milk supply too. But is it safe? or is it recommended to get doc's to prescribe to us?? But I read up on fenugreek too, no side effect or what so ever &amp; it's safe. But i think to play safe, i'll ask doc for advice. (",)

Wah so many posting today!!!

Re: Baby movement
Think there are lotso way to count the movement kua. My gynae method is to count 10 set of movements in 10 hours and each set of movement must be at least 5 mins apart. However, my gynae also said the no of sets of movements depends on our baby as well. If some baby very active and they tent to move very frequently and once we feel that the movements reduce substantially then need to go see gynae immediately liao.

Sometimes I wonder if hiccup consider movement? coz nowadays can feel my gal hiccup quite frequently esp at night when I lie at my side. ha...

Hi kel / aurora,
Welcome!
It sure is exciting now that we get closer to our EDDs.

jas,
Dr Heng's nurse was the one who told me if don't hear from them 1 week after the test, means everything ok. So you mean I will know at my next visit? My next visit's next Mon hopefully it's ok. Also hope that yours is gd news too!

YLN,
Pls cool down, no point getting yourself upset over your colleague. There're better things to be happy about and look forward to. Must "see open" lo.

Catherine,
Is your PD the one you said your godson goes to? Who is your PD and where in Tampines? You mentioned before but I didn't get the contacts from you. Would your PD happen to be the one Shay recommended, some Dr Ho?

M2B,
How was your checkup today? Hope everything went well for you.

RE: counting baby movements
So far, I never count, my gynae also never tell me to monitor. After I told her I keep feeling the hardening, she just said it's BH contractions. Then I asked her how to distinguish between that and real contractions and she said if there's blood or show then must call hospital liao lo...

phew! if no news is good news then i am much relieved!

today my bb moved non-stop during the 2.5hr Red Cliff movie and i am beginning to feel dull pain, stinging pain and as well tummy hardening every few minutes. getting a little scared. suddenly afraid of labour pains....

edd is around end 1st week Aug, cannot be coming so soon kua....keep my fingers crossed.

bobianah,
u with dr ong for ur first one, now lei ? why very good ah ? can share ?

hisstory/vone,
i like to do hsehold chores..keke..cos like the after clean feel and satifaction. yup, will try not to over-exert..tks

re: grass jelly
i took to counter-react with the fried hokkien mee...keke...just to make myself feel better after taking fried food loh.

re : baby movement
i only monitor if he move everyhr... din noe abt the set of movements wor.
very funny lei, some of ur description abt disturbing baby to feel them move. lolz..

re : breast pads/sanitary pads
i bringing abt 3 disposable breast pads and two packs of sofy 40cm pad ? dunno how many pcs..abt 16 or 8 ? think breast pads may not need as much since 1st 2 days no milk ? :p

ytd my doc asked me, do i intend to breastfeed. my reply i hope so, he say cannot say hope so or if got milk or not, he told me to say yes and decide in my mind that i will breastfeed for as long as possible. very encouraging hor..then he listed down some obstacles to overcome ...just to share vividly...proper latching,positive tots, overcome engorgement ask nurses to demo to us how to relief, not theory but demo,dun let baby ever get in touch with bottle teats, make sure state to nurse for total breast feed, if supplements are required, request to spoon feed baby rather than using bottle, he say baby are very smart, once they encounter teats, they will prefer teats than our nipples...he even mentioned to extend hospital stay to learn how to latch on sucessfully, so that the switch back home will be smoother..wat else...hmm..forgot liao..preggie forgetfulness..kekeke..
oh ya ..he also mentioned dun worry too much abt how many mls baby drinking, so long as they got output and not dehydrated or alerted by PD, there's no need for us to worry abt our lack of milk supply for the 1st 2 day wor.

think he is very pro breastfeeding loh...that i feel very encouraged loh.

Finally back from the Dr's talk as per TMC's antenatal classes....so ZzzzzZZZZz
Anyway, have sent video to all who pm-ed me.

Catherine,
Have re-sent to you again. Hope it works this time!

Celyn
Pai sey, didn't realise only can use gmail to open...will try to figure out something for all who can't open the video! :p

luvlel

heheh, BF is the only 'free' thing of late.. the price of everything else is just going upupup!! *faint*

Wah fenugreek can increase by 900%!!

interrace

Ur gynae's really encouraging! I wonder if my gynae wld even ask abt us going to BF..
But I agree, must have positive thoughts &amp; persevere.. Was reading abt some of the experiences of the Jul mummies, really encouraging for those whose BM set in later *phew*

Valnsw
I think you shd have cleared yr test. Congrats!
Cos that time Dr Heng called me just 4 days after I did the test to tell me I failed.

Vone
Kindly help me update my bb's weight. Thanks alot!
2.7kg @36w.... Baby's head is engaged already, thank god.

Sanitary Pads
I remmbered sometime ago some mummies were discussing which brands to use for afterbirth bleeding. I used to use the pureen maternity ones but I find them too big.. Can any of them share which brands are good and super absorbent?

vone, trying to put all of bb's things in one room first. if i start to spill over to living room, house will be very messy next time.

<font color="0077aa">Hisstory &amp; Kel: Also hope to BF for as long as possible!! My fren BF for almost 2yrs for her 1st one but when 2nd one came, she became lazy &amp; now after 6mths, her milk supply drop...

Babydreamer: thanks for the advice!

Yuuri: thanks for the email! :p But I also can't open cos need to have gmail... How hah?

Medusa: Congrats!! I am using normal night pads cos its long enough &amp; not as unfortableas maternity pads. Can try laurier or sofy, I think sofy ones are 40cm?</font>

Baby movement... what I was told is different too.

But how do you recognise hiccups? I dun seem to have hiccups fm my baby... ;P

interrace

yup, dr ong gave the mini tutorial (on Bf-ing) to me and hubby as well..ya i think he is very patient in explaining all these stuff, which he prob no need to waste time explaining...

i had a dream last nite that i popped liao!..haha..so funrni....i dreamt that dr ong was very patient and nice and immediately after i was admitted, i asked for epidural!.heehee..and no pain...but i woke up after pushing in the dream!,..alamak..no chance to see my 'dream' bb...

morning mommies..

hisstory,
yup i also read abt the "difficulties" of bf from the july thread.just hope we will all be able to overcome this phase too.

YLN,
so cute hor, u dreamt of ur labour , these days i dun have any dream, think due to tiredness, just black out the whole nite through.
did dr ong discuss abt pain relief during labour with u ? he din touch on this topic with me lei, wonder if i should check with him abt this. btw, when u taking ur ml ?

medusa15,
doc told u baby's head engaged? then is anytime now rite? my dr din mention abt head engaged, i also forgot to ask, think will ask during next visit.

Hiccups are rhythmic beats, usually lasts only for a few minutis. Cos by now, don't think you can feel the bb's heartbeat impact. Hiccups very funny one, you can feel inside of your the tummy beating. My little princess has hiccups almost once everyday.

If your babies doesn't have hiccups, think its still ok as long as your babies has at least 10 movements daily. check it out with your gynae if you are still unsure! :p

Interrace
Yes, my #1 was with Dr Ong and now #2 also. Both will be onli 20mths apart.
Dr Ong is very good...like wat u mentioned, he patiently describes everything, prepares u for as much as he can. During my 1st pregnancy, he "tested" me on my knowledge of signs of labour. Scolded me when I put on too much wt. He is always very concerned (I feel down the stairs last month and tore out my toenail and he was so sympathetic &amp; concerned. Unlike the stupid doc who treated my toe and bruised legs!!
). I oso had a very bad result for triple test during #1, but he was very encouraging too. In the end my hb and i refused to do the amnio test and we hv a healthy bb now.
Dr Ong has very good bedside manner and both hb and me get along well with him. He's got good sense of humour too! And during delivery, he did episiotomy for me and his stitching really very good! Everything was good la and it's just the assurance you get that a professional is looking after you.
He also took care of my fren who had gestational diabetes and always very gan cheong type. Even she loved him!
And another fren #1 was premature and her gynae CMI again with her #2. She oso went to see Dr Ong who gave her better advise and care. She compared and agreed Dr Ong is way better...but more ex la. :p

re : breast pads/sanitary pads
i think hospital will provide santitary pads. I brot last time, never used my own.
no milk milk during hosp stay, so neber used breast pads. But i guess packing a couple as standby is good. Anyway, can easily pick up from shops in the hosp.

Good morning mummies

Storeberry
Okie thanks.. I will go and check out the laurier or sofy ones... hee : )

Interrrace
My gynae told me during the last visit that head is already engaged. She also commented that baby's head is very low down now.. no wonder nowadays I feel very very uncomfrotable down there.. : p Hmmm my first pregnancy my boy was also engaged about a month b4 my edd and I delivered very close to edd.. Maybe you can check with yr gynae the next time : )

Catherine:

Thanks for explaining about them movements. Me so stupid :D

kel:
May be you are right. But i used to use fenugreek when i didn't want to conceive and ofcourse to lose weight. But got to be careful with quantity.

interrace
oh ya, dr ong will tell u if bb head is engaged. Last week he told me engaged liao...without my asking. But i remember also, my #1 engaged early...like 34 wks...but came out...LATE! I had to induce #1.

interrace

got ..dr ong talked about pain relief methods..and suggested i go with an open mind..cuz i told him i wanted epi straight..but he said that some women have a higher threshold of pain,..so may not need epi...but in my pre-adm letter, he already assigned me someone to do the epidural..

i will be taking my ML from 28 July...actually dr ong said to wait all the way till labour starts...but i dun think i want to stress myself out like that..cuz anyway now im too heavy to move much..might as well take a few days off earlier to rest first lor...u?

Just discovered that I have too much sugar in my blood...sigh..does that mean I have GE?

Have to go for one day counselling course at KK. Anyone knows what to expect out of this? Have to take my breakfast, lunch and dinner there. Sianz...

Somemore I so near to EDD already.

Btw, anyone knows what KK gives out for delivery package? I'm staying at B2 (4 bedder). Don't want to be charged for for things that I have at home already. I don't have any admission forms leh. Was only told to bring along i/c and my hospital booklet. hmmm....

medusa,
Congrats on your bb being engaged!
Dr Heng just told you like that huh? I don't know if mine was engaged that early, but Dr Heng also said my bb was engaged when I was wk34, then she pointed to my left side and said bb's head is there but I cannot tell leh..
BTW, you got your KS tote? ;)

jas / medusa,
I will ask Dr Heng next Mon if I clear the Strep B test or not lo.. Cos don't know if the nurse forgot to tell me or what... I'm still having the yellow/green discharge leh...
At the same time, better remember to get my admission letter. Did Dr Heng give to you automatically or you had to ask her for it?

yuuri,
I got your PM, but when I clicked on the link, I have to login to gmail? Abit lost here..

krmeow,
oh, you just discovered that you have GD? for the counselling course, they will teach you what to look out for your diet so as to control your blood sugar. which weeks are you in now?

for admission to kk, you need to bring your appointment booklet, ic and admission letter. i'm a private patient with kk and had already got my admission and pre-booked room too. i have opt for A1 so not sure if the delivery package will be the same as yours or not?

Morning everyone!
Nowadays wake up will feel pain in my back and even tummy. Anyone experiencing that too?

valnsw and medusa,
u buying ks bags from the spree too? I bought one baby bag too. Love it! And it happened to be on 50% discount tt time. Real bargain! Tempted to buy another tote... :p spending too much on sprees oredi.

yln,
it will be good to rest before delivery. "Catch" all the sleep we can now. haaa...

krmeow
hope you will be alright. Don't worry too much. My gynae gave me the admission letter when I was 34 weeks. Maybe you wanna check with urs?

anyone know if we should bring our original marriage cert or a photocopy one to the hospital to register for bb?

aurora
ya lor..i also thinking to catch up on rest and sleep before bb arrives...alot of my colleagues who have kids all tell me the same thing...enjoy the time now cuz once bb is born..thats it liao...no more own personal time...

yln,
for kk, we need to bring original marriage cert to register baby. not sure about other hospital.

anyone starts to feel cold? i starts to feel cold like in my first trimester. every morning when i leave home for work, i do feel a bit cold but still can go out without sweater. but once i reach office, i would need my jacket and my hands and legs are cold too.

Celyn,Storeberry,Valnsw
I've resent you gals the vids 'hosting' using my yahoo mail so hopefully it works this time round

Talking about dreams, my hb v funny. Last night sleep halfway, he suddenly woke up and told me not to worry cos he dreamed that I took 1 hr to pop the baby!

celynlee
I'm already in wk 35. Will be seeing gynae next week...week 36. But hor, gynae said baby already pretty much engaged during my last visit- at week 33, so don't know if she will arrive early or not. Sigh...Hope this doesn't increase risk of baby..no wonder my baby is bigger than usual.

I was told to bring i/c and appointment book but got no admission letter...Do you know what you will be given? I mean those things like maternity pads, bottles etc...

Aurora, thanks. crossing my fingers everything will be ok. Maybe my gyane will give me the admission form next week. Somehow feel like everything very vague lor.

bobianah,
thanks for sharing the goodness and professionalism of dr ong.he also test me abt on the signs of labour and say i will have done my teacher at ante-natal care classes proud for remembering the signs.hahaha..actually i feel quite comfortable with him too, maybe is his boyish small eyes and his relaxed way of speech.
when is ur 2nd one due ? dun see ur nick in the list lei. which hosp u gg ?

so my baby not engaged loh..cos he nvr mention anything.

YLN,
he din tok to me abt pain relief, also not sure if he got assign someone to perfom epi on me or not, cos i also nvr bring up to him abt whether i need epi or not wor.. lolz...will check with him during next visit.
same lei, i also will start on 28th july, cos is just 4days of rest before our edd.

think will rest and relax at home and go catch some shows or shopping before baby comes...

aurora,
Ya v tempting to buy more bags but I think I will stop liao. I wanted to get a tote bag for work but there isn't any suitable bag in the dimensions I want.
I kind of like this but the bag still not big enough for my laptop

Then also too formal looking for weekends.
http://www.katespade.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3009281&amp;cp=1863844.2180761

I've got a baby/diaper bag alrdy, so no need to buy.
Anyway, I will wait for more designs to come and next year I will be going to LA anyway, so can go grab them if any suitable ones.

Yuuri,
thanks, will check later tonight.

YLN,
I'm bringing both the original marriage cert and photocopy, just in case. Perhaps best to check with your hospital on this.

Morning everyone!! Woken up early in the morning at around 7am. My twins fighting. *sigh* Then had breakfast &amp; fell asleep again for a short while. So sinful, zzzz right after a meal. haha

Hisstory,
ya.. bf is the only foc thing left i guess. haha.. Even baby drink water have to pay wat.. Pay water bills &amp; bills for boiling water. hahaha

Yurri,
Your husband very funny leh.. My hubby usually talk is his dream. Alwaes scare me coz I'm a light sleeper.

Aurora,
I also feel pain. But it's in my pubic bone area. Like suan suan lor. walk also pain.

BTW, Any1 has difficulty sleeping at night? I think i got many things that I keep stressing myself about. Baby #3, thinking of sending my twins for enrichment classes, $$ not enough, haha.. My new flat reno...

&amp; today morning I realise I got a few more stretch marks on both my hips. hai.. &amp; my nose like getting bigger &amp; bigger!!!! So fat!!

celynlee,
i dun feel cold like i did in my early trimster, but i tend to burp like i did in my early trimster these days.

this morning when i wake..i suddenly changed my leg position and heard a crack sound, coming from my pelvis...think my bone cracked or smthg, but lucky no pain wor.

toking abt no time for slp...dr ong was just telling me and hubby to cherish time together these days, told us to go catch midnite shows and do all the par toh things before baby comes..otherwise no time after that liaoz..lolz...wonder when can go see show the next time after baby arrival..