(2008/08) Aug 2008

Mrs N:
For my first birth, I have diahorrea for 4-5 days and then labour starts.
I can feel bb is engage cos I feel it is lower now and I feel easier to breath but more difficult to walk now.

hi ladies! im a MTB due in September. May I know if any of you gave birth via elective c-section at east shore? if so, can you share how much did your bill come up to be (with or without surgeon's fee), and how much did you pay in cash after medisave?

Wanna share with all that I given birth to my baby girl on Sunday night, 13 July at 1245 midnight. She’s at week 36 at the time of birth, weighing at 2.2kg.

• Last Friday, feel that her movements have reduced as compared to Thursday, was so worried thus decided to pay my gynae a visit.
• Was sent for detailed scan and found that she had 1 umbilical cord round her neck and was in breech position.
• Gynae and me have made a decision to deliver her early before the estimated due date.
• I was monitored via the CTG machine for whole of Friday night and Saturday. Gynae says if she dun turn head down then have to go for C-Section.
• Gynae do final check at 2pm to check baby’s position once again before deciding. Amazingly, my little one turned head down and I can have a normal delivery.
• Gynae induced on Saturday afternoon at 3pm.
• Felt intense pain at 7pm, requested for epidural
• 1245, after 3 pushes, my little one is out.

My little one is fine, will be able to go home tomorrow.. Hurray..

that day there was someone whom mentioned she is using the Avent nipple cream and said it was very soft and creamy ? is it good ? I just applied the medela purelan .. so sticky .. anyone using purelan now ?

Celyn,

If you are referring to ordinary non confinement lunch tingkat...there are a few good ones recommended in this forum like Kim's Kitchen, Neo Garden Tingkat, Hong Choo Catering, jessie catering and select catering.

Actually, I myself just started to order tingkat lunch today coz getting bump getting heavier and lazy to cook or go out get lunch.

A friend highly recommended Hong Choo Catering (Tel:68583170), so I have ordered lunch from them. Today first day...portion for 1 person quite big...cannot even finish le...

earnestmum,
thanks... it will be yr turn soon...

catherine,
reli envy that yr HB can cook... mine can only cook maggie mee or campbell soup for me

yup, nappies folded to the "triangle" mode as taught in the antenatal class...

roiv,
congrats... do post baby pictures when you are free...

babywise,
must remember to check that they dont put "wei jing" (ajinomoto) into their food. I read some of these caters dont put and they openly declare that they don't so it's better

<font color="0000ff">Roiv</font>
ur birth story is an inspiration. wow 3 pushes n out.
hee...also i know now my gynae is speaking the truth when he said bb with at least weight of 2.2kg can go home with mommy. Phew...i am more relieved now.

Roiv

*congratulations* You ger's so cooperative, turned down in time for u to deliver her naturally &amp; she didn't tire you out
Am sure as much as mummy loves her, she loves u too!

So glad to hear bb's doing well! take good care &amp; find as much time as you can to rest well &amp; recuperate

Mrs Teng, Peppermint and Roiv

Congratulations!!!! All of you must be so excited and busy now. Glad everyone is fine. ^^ Hope mine will be just as easy.

Now I'm worried, must really monitor baby's movement but it's so difficult sometime when I'm caught up in my work.

M2B- please take care. Don't worry too much, I'm sure everything will be fine.

re catering: I've had catering from Jessie for the past one month and I must say I'm not impressed with them at all. Their meals are frequently late as they seemed to have a high turnover of drivers. There were a few times when the meal was more than an hour late and of course, by the time the food arrived, we were starving. Food was also only so-so.

Btw, Mothercare still having sale on some items. May want to take a look.

And there seems to be some baby fair at United Square this coming weekend.

<font color="0077aa">Krmeow: I went to Mothercare at Marina Sq to buy some nursing bras but the SA were all so busy even though it is not crowded!! Left without buying anything....

I have been monitoring bb's movement but sometimes can be quite paraniod! LAst week bb didn't moved much &amp; I was so "kan cheong"!</font>

roiv,
Congratulations!
You had a v smooth delivery. Hope mine can be as smooth too. Do post your baby's photos ya?

earnestmum,
when's your due date? Better not exert yourself too much during the walk. Take a rest if you can, or better still, don't go for the walk. Cos I think we tend to tire more easily. Just my 2 cents worth. Nowadays, I walk 5-10mins, then start to slow down liao.

Hi August Mummies,

Disturb a little here:

Got a brand new 100% unused Quinny Zapp and Maxi Cosi Cabriofix Infant Seat to let go at less than purchase price.

Just got a stroller system as a gift for my baby shower party, so i can safely sell the set i bought myself away. Stores (Baby-Avenue, Baby Hypermart) selling Quinny Zapp @ $498, Maxi Cosi Cabriofix Infant Seat @ $398, just went there to check :p

Color of Stroller is pink and Car seat is also pink flowers as shown

I will include the shopping basket bought @$69.90 (from Isetan Scotts) still in the wrapper. Only got one set to let go for the whole set @ $770, will give you the shopping basket for free. Those farmilier with Quinny will know its a bargain!! Please PM me if interested.

1557663.jpg
1557664.jpg

storeberry

I know what you mean. Kept thinking if baby was moving less, especially now that we're so near our EDD. The other day, was stressed out with work..or rather with people and forgot to monitor her movement.

Panic in the evening as I couldn't remember if she had moved during the day.
kao_scared.gif

Sometimes can feel her whole weight at the bottom of my stomach. Sleeping has become major problem coz difficult to lie down/ get up/ turn. Sigh....

<font color="0077aa">Yah man krmeow, my pelvis feels pain &amp; uncomfortable, now super difficult to get up! Sometimes like what you said so busy &amp; forgot to monitor movements then start to panic!

Aiyooo... was so hungry just now even though I ate some breads &amp; succumb to Maggi mee!!! Bad mama!!</font>

Reading all the mommies popping ... so exciting.
Though it's 2nd time for me but the last time mine was induced at week 39. Before that I have not much problem .... so I was really not too excited.

This time, I read the forum and also feels like i am going to deliver soon but then my actual EDD is like end of Aug ... hahha. Psychological?

Hey Cocomo,
Thanks .... we might see each other in the hospital if your baby's gonna stay till your planned delivery date

Ask him guai guai ok?

I had also been having back aches for a long time liao. Been using the tiger balm to ease the pain. QUite shiok leh.

Getting up, I'd turn to the side and get up sideways but the turning from one side to the other is terrible.
I was tracking my previous pregnancy and realised that I delivered when my tummy was 40 inches and now it's already 42 inches .... for a small frame person like me, it's really huge - alot of pple asking if I am expecting twins ... haha. I said, alot of water inside la.

Hospital bills
Wanna check with u ladies on your gynae fees leh. And for those who delivered, the hospital bill.

I just checked my old bills and it costs me $4500 (Natural and C-section) + baby's almost $1000. And I was actually in a 4 bedder. So exp hor?

Maybe I should check the earlier threads of those who delivered already.

krex,
My EDD is 26 Aug, I am planning to deliver on week 37+. Now i quite assured that it's ok la ... so many oso delivered liao. Anyway, when I visit Dr W again i wanna ask him what risk and complication does he mean? At the moment, I have no problem with my pregnancy except the fungus infection.

But of course if near to the planned date, baby is still too small, then may not go ahead. So far, baby is already 2.3kg@wk 34.

Gonna ask again on estimated package price from u all leh.
Any idea what is the package price for yourself?

Package price : (Gynae + Hospital)
Gynae fees :
Hospital fees :
How many bedder :
Type of operation : Natural, C-sect, GA ..
(For epi, baby package, PD ... all these are additional costs)
I think it's something like tat.

wow, Really Exciting, lots of mummies gg for deliveries!!

oh my gynae mentioned that most pbly my little princess will go through the full term of 40 weeks. :p Going for next checkup on 37th wk. hope by then bb will weigh about 2.5 kg at least.

shint,
mine is as follows:
Type of operation: normal delivery for 2 days
Bedder: A1
Payment: Initial - $1690, Medisave $1800
Gynae fees: $977
Hospital: KK

hi shint

may i know which hospital did u deliver at for your no 1?

actually sounds like you tried natural then c-section, not so bad for two procedures. i have a friend who had induced natural at raffles hospital then baby stayed extra 2 days or so for jaundice. her bill came up to $11K!!!

got so worried after hearing that so want to find out more abt delivering at east shore.

Hi Roiv,
Congrats for your princess. Glad to hear that your princess is able to return home to you tmr.

Jia you all mummies.

Water Bag burst:
Can any 2nd or more times mummies describe the feeling of water bag burst?

Hi mummies, lots of Motherhood as well as Mother and Baby magazines from past few years (2004-2008). Can sell in any combination (specific years or number of magazines). Cheap and fast way to get the lots of useful and colorful reading materials especially for new mothers! And the info in the magazine is set in local context! Usual price of Motherhood is $5.00, Mother and Baby is $5.50 per issue. I'm selling at $1.50 per issue, further discount if you get more. Pls PM if you are interested. Thanks!

Good Morning!

Storeberry,
Seeing gynae at 2pm today…hope to get MC to rest for the whole week…will update you gals.

Dongle,
Some bbs kena cord ard the neck during labour time and thus gynae not aware…it happened to my sis and neighbour lor…

Roiv,
Congrats! You manage to deliver naturally although cord ard bb’s neck?

Krsmeow,

Shint,
Hehe, I didn’t bother to check the cost at all…

Roiv,
Congrats! Your gal really 'ting hua' and guai le! You take care and rest well. Upload your gal's photo when u r free!! so excited for you.

Shint,
So you able to understand on the installation of cameras? My hubby said you very funny. But he cant remember who called so he told me you had accident last time and not happy on ur gynae bo chap. Then I guess shd be you la. Yo, you are gonna change gynae when deliver izit? Tot you already pay him package liao and you said his c-sect skill is good? Aiyo, I am thinking shd I go epi c-sect or GA le but I cant stand the epi one where can still feel gynae open up my tummy even tho not painful. But that kinda feeling damn scarely le.

I really worry my gal can't 'dong' till 080808 le coz keeping having BH nowadays and tummy is getting heavy and low, I can't even sit straight and everytime have to open my legs wide wide when sitting so that my tummy can slot in btw two legs!!!

M2B,
Take good care and rest well!!

Morning ladies!!

Roiv,
Congratulations!! so happy for you!
show pics soon yo!!

Vone,
pls help to update when free.
wk 37, 2.8kg, thanks alot!

re : umbilical cord
i asked him what is the position of my baby's cord, he say dunno *faint*
check with doc, the danger of it, he mentioned abt 30% have cord ard neck, he say is common wor..and should worry too much ( he was pretty relaxed when he mentioned this)

Interrace,
Can I know who's your gynae? Tot he should know the position of umbilical cord as it is dangerous if the cord around the neck and some of my friends actually having emergency c-sect b4 week 37 bcoz of that.

Anyone dunno how to swaddle baby or use cloth diapers yet?
My hubby made quite a clear video at Mrs Wong's class so can send to anyone who's interested!

LC,
Good to "see" you again!
will keep the desitin..just in case. There is a spree on desitin..u bought any?

Anyone start washing bb clothes? setup sterilizer, bottles? is it too early if due 1st week of Sept? My SIL gave birth 10-12 days earlier than her EDD...so I a bit kan cheong now..

Catherine &amp; Luvlel,
Sent!
Anyone else want the video, remember to either pm me or leave your email addy.

Baconegg,
I have been procrastinating washing bb clothes...last wk told hubby I will wash on Monday. Until now haven't touch yet. As for sterilizer and washing of bottles, haven't even start to think of it yet! Haha! I think if I deliver early, sure kan cheong spider!

bacon&amp;egg,
i have done with all the washing, packing baby stuffs into drawers. baby cot set up (but haven't lay the bedsheet and placing pillow in it, will do when baby come back) except for ikea cupboard frame for drawers (hubby say do when baby come back home cos got to do knocking). steriliser and milk bottles are still in the box, thinking since need to sterilise them before use, will only open them when we come back from hospital loh. so no need to open up and was now.

hospital bag pack and is sitting in hubby's car now. admission letter and appointment book is with me in my bag. will put baby car seat in car next week to standby.

so i guess, i'm all ready for the action. hehehe....

<font color="0077aa">Wow celyn, you are well prepared!! I am thinking of packing hospital bag but abit lazy...

I will be getting the IKEA chest of drawers, can put those clothes that my mum washed inside!! At least bb's things are more neat instead of in plastic bags!

Yuuri: PM you liao!!</font>

Celyn,
Haha! You're quite kiasu, huh!
Finally bought my car seat + pushchair set from mothercare yesterday! only cost $350!!! comes with matching cover and backpack too, think it's quite a steal!

Btw, I've stopped pricking my fingers. My prick finger thingy's all used up and cant be bothered to buy another box of 100. Luckily, my gynae's ok with it!

Hello Vone,
My baby's 2.7kg at 35 wks. btw, just realised that we both have the same edd.

Cheeers!

Roiv (roiv),
Congrats, was happy that bb is able to go home with you.
My first birth also at 36weeks and bb is discharge with only 1 day and with no jaundice at all.

yuuri,
I've PMed you

celyn,
you sure are well-prepared. So far, I only packed my hospital bag. Have not gotten my admission letter yet. BB's clothes are all washed. Cot is there too except have not put in the bedding set and cot mobile as I don't want the dust to settle on them.