(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex,
yes expecting boy? really ah ? fast food means boy? been eating lotsa mac breakfast during the whole preggie stage loh.
when got preggie initially also drown down lotsa coke and potato chips (early days, dunno was preggie) gained 2kg from those nite snacks. :p

^5 to all mommies who gave in to junk food..kekeke...make me feel better..that am not alone in this sinful indulgence.

i also like ice cream wor... took 2 tubs of green tea ice cream in 2nd trimster...gained 3kg as a result, none of the kgs went to baby. hahaha..

so far, do you all have strangers coming up to u and ask if u having a boy or gal ?
i encounter a few times liao..think is cos of my swelled nose (like jackie chan's nose).
old grannies just came up to me and say u having boy boy ah ? aunties also ... aiyo..so pai sey..

interrace,
sometimes, i wonder how these aunties know about the sex of baby. just by looking at our tummy, they can tell. people whom i have met so far all got correct guesses.

val

wedges sound very yummy.. Maybe I shd have some for lunch! Maybe I have stronger cravings for carbo?? *heheh*
I thought we would need more heat during confinement.. *kekeke*

I had chwee kuey & curry puff for dinner last night.. My mum was saying tt if I want to eat chwee kuey better eat before I pop, coz radish used in chwee kuey is 'cooling' food *hahah*

hisstory,
I prefer wedges to fries cos fries tend to have lotsa salt. If no wedges, then my next best choice for fries will be MOS burger fries. They are bigger and with more "substance".

Cannot take roti prata or curry puff, those with curry in it. I will either vomit or tummy will start feeling queasy.

RE: gender of babies
Some people can just tell me isit a girl? while others will just ask whether boy or girl.
Generally, they say those with round tummy is carrying girl while those with protruding tummy is carrying boy.

wah, i dunno how u mummies manage to eat so much fast/ junk fd. the other time i attempted to finish chocolates and chips, i ended up with sore throat. luckily haven't had crazy craving these past few days, else i'll be so miserable!

Re: gender

I had a stranger coming up to me and say "Boy right?"...and another telling me "Not long now.." hahaha...quite shock sometimes! With the first comment, was surprised she could tell (but then later she told me she's been a nurse for 20+ yrs)...the 2nd comment I was also v surprised cos' my tummy is v small, doesn't look like in the last month liao!

Re: cravings
I think it's more my own cravings, rather than bb's cravings. I take alot of sweet drinks, fast food, fried food...anything goes!

val

*lol* Wedges & MOS burger fries have more substance.. So cute!
So anything with curry cannot ah? Nvm, tahan awhile more & u can have roti prata veryvery soon

krex

I was down with sore throat last week & I thought it was due to me snacking on tidbits... In the end, it's due to a virus

Anyway u lucky ger, not much cravings for junk food huh? I only crave for giamgiam stuff like chips, eat abit to prevent the sore throat for setting in *heheh* play cheat!

reirei,
Dun worry so much on BB's weight. My BB was 2kg at 32 wk and then when I gone back for check up at 34wk, she only gained less then 100gm. Same as you I was damn worry so I started to eat lotso ice cream adn durian. Then 2 days ago I fell down and knocked my tummy very hard so I back to my gynae for check up again. Her weight increased to 2.4+kg. So I not sure if it is really my girl put on 400gm in 3-4 days time or just coz of the machine problem. When I realised my BB only put on less than 100gm in 2 weeks time gynae said it's ok since she is moving well and her heart beat is good. So you dun worry so much k.

Re: Thermometer
I have total 5 thermometer, 2 forehead, 1 ear and 2 armpit one. Personally I think the forehead one is better for young infants and toddlers. It is very difficult for me to measure my 23month old boy with the ear thermometer as he will scream and struggle, dun even mentioned on the armpit type. The most important thing is you have to measure your BB's temperature when they are well coz everyone's temp is difference. So when they are unwell that time you use the same thermometer to measure then you will know if they are having fever or not.

missysz (missysz),
My gynae gave me the pre-admission form when in 32 wk and I was told this letter has to bring along wherever we go.

valnsw,

thanks for the encouragement!

what's the purpose of raspberry leaf tea?

some pple say my tummy round, so is a boy? am like huh? tot is sharp then boy, round is gal ?
lolz..so many diff sayings.. anyway most of them say boy when they see me...they are right most of the time..will just smile and ask how u noe? very obvious ah ? my nose very swell and big izit? *paranoid over my nose* then will ask hubby, very big nose huh? hubby say preggie mah ...haiz... just hope the swell will go away after birth loh.

yuuri,
gd la.. at least people tell u "not long now".

I have people or clients asking, 5 mths isit?
I almost want to faint liao lo.. I said about 8 mths pregnant. Think they quite surprised.

Now I go out, I also must protect my tummy, cos sometimes people in a rush, they see my back I don't look pregnant and try to overtake me.. Then may accidentally brush past my tummy

Once, this guy after walking past me, keep staring at me. I only noticed when my mum pointed out to me. Maybe he's thinking he didn't expect to have walked past a preggie woman.

hisstory,
u better now? I have to say sore throat's a nasty thing to have. absolutely hate it!

cocomo,
oh dear, did you see your doc after you fell down? Hope you are alright now. Must take care when walking about.

interrace,
raspberry leaf tea is supposed to aid in easy labor. actually, it's just an excuse for me to take some tea la..
As krex says, won't knw how useful til we go into actual labour.
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/rasptea.html

Anybody feels your body slowing down already?
Last time when I climb up the stairs, can put one leg on one step and the other leg on the higher step. But now, I have to climb the steps one by one, i.e. put both feet on the same step before advancing to the next one.
Anybody with the same experience as me?

valnsw,
Don't look too big also good lah...then after give birth, don't have much to lose right? :p

I very lazy to protect my tummy so my hubby has to be alert and block people who come too close to me!

re: Lansinoh nipple cream
Where else can we buy aside from the breastfeeding online shop? I read v good reviews on drugstore.com!! Now very interested to buy!!!

cocomo,
I knocked my tummy once last week and kena a small patch of blue black, I so scared got stretch marks cos till now for both pregancy I do not have it. The blue black disappear after a day. Baby is okay.

<font color="0077aa">I am having a boy but so far nose is not swelling.. But same as hisstory I crave for salty stuffs!!!

Yuuri: Is it a must to buy nipple cream? I am interested too!

I also saw the BP for nachos &amp; cheese dip, very tempted!!! But is it consider ex?

Valnsw: Cos my tummy not big, I will always put my hand on my tummy to protect or "sayang' my tummy to show them I am preggy. The crowd is especially bad on sun after my church when people are rushing so gotta walk &amp; avoid people from knocking onto me.</font>

cocomo: Yea u must take care and be careful k. Now our body so fragile...

Valnsw: Yea! I oso neh..walk like old woman - esp. when I'm having this backache at my lower left back - Very painful when i go down the stairs! For me it's more like can go down the stairs one after another but i will need to strain my body left n right kind. Sighs...

valnsw,

I have ppl commenting..7 months? bump looks v small leh..

Once my hubby accidentally knock my tummy...v painful..so must be careful in crowded places...

Storeberry,

I also dont have big nose..but shiny nose cos of facial oil..haha

val

No more sore throat but the virus became full blown over the weekend, came down with flu &amp; cough.. Now nose is rather blocked &amp; the mucus is tickling the throat, so veryveryvery bad cough. Armed myself with lotsa panty liners coz may leak when coughing.. *hiaz*

Oooh, u better walk slowly, that shd hopefully give u more stability in the event someone tries to rush by you..

storeberry

heheh, so what's the craving for today??

avocado

Ouch, has the bruise gone off? How did u get knocked into?

storeberry,
I think it is not a MUST to buy nipple cream lah. But I am very kiasu and kiasee and very scared pain and this lasinoh cream supposed to be very good for sore/cracked nipples which I am damn scared of! Read the reviews, like wonder product like that!
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=72400&amp;catid=26913

I'm also having a boy and my nose is not big either

Valnsw,
rofl I also move like old woman. Sometimes hubby will ask if I'm ok...sometimes he stare at me like I'm some weirdo then ask me why I walk so weird...sigh

<font color="0000ff">avocado</font>
i got the letter directly from gynae when i saw him during my 32weeks checkup.

<font color="0000ff">krex78</font>
hmm...the letter is like from my gynae to the sister(nurse) in charge of the labour ward. The letter will mention what room i had booked, what special things is required (for me coz i have a bacteria infection, thus it mentioned need to give me the type of antibiotics drip once i'm admitted), what i'm allergic to, other details like my blood type, etc...

thus i guess if u *touchwood* need to go hospital w/o the letter, then you will need to spend more time to give them all the required details.
but no worries lah, coz ur gynae already assess u and don't believe u will pop early, thus maybe that's why he didn't give u the letter yet.

<font color="0000ff">Gemini</font>
thanks for the PD recommendation
btw ask ur advice, coz by the time i move to SK, my baby would be ard 3 months old, is it necessary to see PD or can just see normal GP? i mean if my bb is sick or need jab or something like that...

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>
i think the nachos &amp; cheese dip BP is not ex. It maybe look expensive but you have to see the portion. The cheese dip package is 3.1kg big leh! So huge right...

most ppl who see my tummy manage to guess it's a boy. i guess coz' it's very "jiam" (sharp). even my hubby says so.

the most amusing remark was from a male colleague who i don't know. i was at his office and he casually said to me...boy right? i was like...huh? even guy also can guess???

yuuri,
U also looking for lasinoh cream? I'm looking out for it. Maybe tmrw i go see if KP sells. I still have not gotten round to buying nipple cream.

huichin,
I'm opposite of you. I find it easier to go down the stairs than up the stairs. Ya, I feel like old woman with crickety bones. Have to walk slow slow.

avocado,
At least the knock didn't leave a bruise behind. We women want to be mei mei. As long as bb is ok, then good liao.

val, i bought the tea but haven't drink yet. i very sad leh. that day i ask my gynae about pain relief, he just said - epidural, jab in thigh or entonox (gas). he said TEN machine or raspberry tea no use one. hypnobirthing is a waste of money. in the end all still take epidural.

now i'm really praying my labour will be short and not so painful. i guess my first choice would be entonox before i consider epidural.

krex,
i thought epidural is injected at base of spine? You mean can choose the part of the body you want injected?

I'm not sure about laughing gas as pain relief. Seems like the effect will not last long.

Morning Ladies,

I did the most weird thing till now. In my first and second trimester, i didnt have any food carvings.Yesterday night at 11:30 pm and 33 weeks pregnant I asked my hubby to come with me to Mc donald for onion rings. Guess what, i finished 2 packs of them and i still had the carving to eat more.

I am not suppose to eat this due to GD
I feel bad when I eat all those sinful food but I cant help it. If I crub my carving, I think the baby may feel deprived. I read it somewhere, when you have a carving eat it but eat moderately as this affects the baby mood.

mulberry,
ya lo i hope baby jaundice not so serious. I was a small bb and had very severe jaundice when i was born. And couldnt take milk had to take soy milk. i hope my baby not like me.

re: maid agency
The maid agency I used did not charge me when I changed my maid from indo to phil. usually if u take indo then ur exchange maid has to be indo cos diff charges. sometimes it all depends on how flexible they want to be. The bigger ones usually more strict cos alot of policy.

krex,
i'm expecting a girl and i like both fast food and sweet stuff... hahaha

missysz,
sigh .. sometimes just give and take with the maid. She is slow not exactly very perfect in her work but she's not the greedy type and she's clean. But sometimes when give her instructions must talk slowly.. hahaha.

interrace,
ya I kena 3 salesgirls from diff boutiques ask if i am expecting boys .. dono how they see .. but no lei i'm expecting a girl. hahaha.. so they all wrong.

hisstory (hisstory) ,
I knocked on my dinning table edge when trying to get inside the chair to sit down. Forgot my tummy big big liao and did not push the chair further away beofore i sit.

valnsw,
When I knocked on my tummy, keep asking hubby every 15min, still got mark or not till he fed up. It gone in the night time so till now no strecth marks. Hope this pregnancy same as my first with no SM.

Twinstars
Hee... upgrade her only when she continue to be guai

Maid
* sigh* can faint lor.. hubby told me yesterday that my maid is only 20 years old when she reported as 25! But I think its quite common for them to have to lie about their age in order to come in to SG to work. Hubby said let it go, cos she has been quite good in her work and my #1 has more or less accustomed to her. Said cannot discriminate her becos of her age...

Valnsw
Regarding PD.. yes Dr Heng has 2 PDs assigned to her one. Once you deliver, the PD will need to check on bb after that. For me I didnt stick to her becos of some reasons.I am seeing another PD in Sengkang cos I stay in Punggol so quite convenient. But this PD is always quite packed so hor got to be patient. I pm you

i slept again at 4am
so tired .. hubby complain about the snoring
think later after the gynae appt will go pharmacy to get the strip that Valnsw talked about.

Valnsw,
so you not going with choz then where you planning to order from ?

re: Choz Voucher
Any one interested in the $20 Voucher expiring 30 Sept ?

think generally pple are kinder and more friendly to us on the street, they will tok to us out of the blue...but if is on the bus/mrt/lrt, different story altogether hor..lolz..

valnsw,
think not only from the back loh ..smtimes they walked in front of me..also dunno me preggie (me short lah) ...only after they see the whole of and walked past then they will noe..i got to often dodge them first... and always stay alert to watch out for reckless walkers. :p

Interrace (interrace) ,
from the back, pp also cannot tell I am preggy cos my tummy very sharp unlike first pregancy.

valnsw,

where can i buy the tea ?

avocado,
what u apply ? how come u can escape stretch mark monsters??

guess am the only one with big swollen nose and carrying boy boy .. one of the old wives tale..

those who are preggie with gals, u find urself radiant during preggie stage bo? just curious cos they say preggie with gals, mommies radiant, preggie with boys, mommies look shag (am of the shag looking mommies)

Catherine
I also snore like crazy nowadays. But farnie thing is that I only snore when I am pregnant. Hubby that day still recorded the snoring via his hp and playback let me listen lor.. wa liao really very loud : p

Interrace (interrace) ,
My mother and sisters all also do not have it so I guess it is our genes. My friend and I use the same brand pamlers but she got SM while I do not have. I use her left over 1 tube and till now have not finish it cos too lazy to apply and very oily.

Interrace (interrace) ,
I feel for my 1st pregnancy when I am carry a girl, my skin very oily although no breakouts. But this time I am carry a boy, my skin more radiant and not oily at all. Hair also look good. I feel I am better looking when carry a boy. But I know my breakouts will hunt me after I give birth esp during the menses period and hair starts to drop when hormances return to normal.

interrace,

nt true leh. when i was expecting my boy, i was more 'radiant', perfect skin, nice hair. nw tt i m expecting a gal, i find tt i hv more breakouts &amp; my hair is dryer.

do we need to continue with stretch mark cream or oil after we deliver? thinking if i should get my friend to buy me another clarins oil.

avocado...
careful with ur bump lei, dun injure urself lei.
icic...envy lei..blessed with good genes...i have been religiously applying the clarins oil since i noe am preggie, still kenna stretch marks..and most funnie thing is..my boy boy just love to stretch that area further..resulting : more stretchmarks *naughty boy loh*

so i guess they are all myths lah...diff pple got diff changes...doesnt concern gender just like what valnsw mentioned,

Interrace,
My colleagues told me all creams will not help to prevent SM one. Maybe I thick skin bah. Some of my colleagues who do not apply also did not kena.
I wonder if I knocked on my tummy will result bb to have birthmarks or not?

mulberry,
thanks for the info. i think got to go to the counter and ask. must also remember the name of the products then can ask friend to buy from airport. hahahha....

avocado,
yah, my friend who use clarins oil too also tell me no use one. she got stretch mark too. but i still want to use. at least, i try to prevent by applying if still kena then its fate loh.

weh weh... my house ran out of gas, now cannot cook. Have to wait for them to deliver the gas then have food.
Mummy and baby hungry.

medusa,
saw your PM. Will keep it in mind. Thanks! I'm looking for PD more in the east though. The one you mentioned assigned to Dr Heng, is she based in the East?

Catherine,
the strips are called Breathe Right. The one they have been advertising on TV some time ago. Wa.. you still sleeping so late. Heh, look at it this way la, train u up for night feeds lo.
Not going for Choz liao. Guess we will take Neo garden catering.

interrace,
you can buy raspberry leaf tea from moms in mind.
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/rasptea.html
I got mine from a Jun MTB who wanted to sell hers.
I drank one cup yday, don't dare drink too many cups as scared too stimulating on uterus.

As for whether mummies carrying gals are more radiant, depends on individuals. For me, I find my complexion less pimple-prone than pre-preggie. Maybe also cos I took bird's nest. And at least I find my face not so swollen and bloated as compared to my friend who was preggie with boy last yr. I still put on abit of weight on my face according to hubby but he thinks it's just nice cos he feels my face was abit too thin last time.

Re: stretchmarks
I still don't know if I have or not. I've seen photos on the net how stretchmarks look like, supposed to be v red marks but I don't really have that. But I can see my skin stretched v taut and some light pink patches like almost not there on the skin. I noticed green veins across my tummy too. In fact, I think my tummy resembles more like a watermelon!

avocado

*ouch* I must say our bumps do get in the way these days.. Was trying to wash things in the sink, and there's this additional distance! *hahah*

I'm also very lazy in applying SM oil.. I got the Avent one &amp; have used it less than 10 times. It's HB who asks if I want him to help me apply.. Usually i tell him, too tired, forget it

Thankfully no SM at all for now *phew*

Medusa

*faint* Ur HB recorded ur snoring! I shall ask HB later if I snore these days.. *heehee*

My MIL told me once reach 8mth cannot take bird nests lioa so I stop cos she mention something like bb will have phelgm. Not sure if it is true.

avocado,
heh?! isit true? cannot take bird's nest liao?
I only heard should not take orange cos will cause bb to hv phlegm. Cos an ex-colleague had cravings for oranges, when her boy was born, the hospital had to suck out all the phlegm from him.