(2008/08) Aug 2008

shint / LC,
I don't intend to do brazilian wax or shave. Shaving v bad cos the regrowth is v coarse and prickly. I ever experience that after my appendix removal op and the thing is I wasn't even told they had to shave me down there and the surgeon was a male!!
So this time round, think I will trim it before going for delivery.

nini,
I also experience the same thing as you. In fact, sometimes I cannot even differentiate BH contractions and bb moving. Cos sometimes I see a little hump moving from one end of the tummy to the other.

Interrace,
you decided to donate bb's cord blood to SCCB? Do you know the procedures or any paperwork involved? Cos my gynae asked me if I want to donate at my last appointment but I said I still have not decided.

strawberry / LC,
don't worry, I also fart when sleeping during the 2nd trimester, now not so often. The gas that comes out is not smelly one, think it's my body's way of getting rid of wind. But I guess when you are constipated, too many things stuck there, then maybe the smell will come out.

strawberry / gemini / nini,
I also have heavy discharge. Had to change pantiliners at least twice a day. The discharge is thickish and sometimes yellow, sometimes greenish. I think shint also has it. Guess it's common and depends on your gynae how he/she wants to treat it. Should go for Strep B test to check if any fungus so that if have, need to treat it. Else the infection may pass to bb as bb passes through the birth canal.

fitbaby,
I took the 10 years plan. Before disc is $3650+GST, subsequent payment is $250+GST per year from 11th year onwards.

If you take the 1 year plan, the initial 1st time upfront payment is $1400+GST, subsequent payment is $250+GST per year.

Thanks Vone for the detailed explanation! haha...at least I won't have to buy useless things.
The California Baby stuff you using for yourself or for ur kid?

Gemini: I also have increased of discharge these days. Sometimes very wet down there!

I am really thinking of not storing my bb's cord blood with private bank but store with the the puiblic one. Need to do more research on this.

Little Twin Star

Hey! buddy... it's been a long time since I've posted... Looks like you are enjoying all the good stuff .. ya!

Just to let you know that I've POPPED on Monday June 30th... was intended to be warded on Saturday morning for detail observation..but coincidentally, that morning there were a little spotting so it was kind of blessing that I was schduled to be warded..

Had emergency C-section after 2 days of CTG monitoring... Signs of regular contractions, so doc was hoping for natural birth but becos of my servere gastric problem, they decided to wheel me in to the OT.. Could hear both gals' strong yell when they were delivered.. unfortunately due to their low weight I wasn't given any opportunity to carry them in the OT.. it was only yesterday that I first met them...

Anyway, both gals are in SCN... only the elder one which is smaller is on IV drip.. other den that, both can breath on their own and also learning to suck. Still in the hospital rite now and will go home probably on Friday...

Take care and will catch up with you soon...

Constipation
I have been prescribed Duphalac which is safe for pregnancy by gynae, guardian sells it without prescription for $10.30.

California Baby
There is a shop on third floor of Suntec named Mom's Essentials, you may wish to purchase it if you miss any spree. I have the discount (am working in suntec, can pass you the discount card).

Cordlife
There is a roadshow last week at Marina Square, they are giving $350 off for the $1400 package

Mrs Teng,
Congrats on your twins!
You're the first amongst the Aug'08 MTBs to pop! I'm sure your gals will do fine.

Do update us on your gals' progress and do post pix ya?

tigg3r,

congrats!!!!!! yes, i was wondering as i didn;t hear from u for so long. u must have pop since twins. so happy for u. u've made it!!!! dun worry, yr girls will do well

u did natural or c sect?
rest well while u can before they come home k.

keep me posted, email me pics hor!

Valnsw

Thanks... will post the pic when they are discharged in about 2 to 3 weeks time...

To all MTBs... Jia you!! it'll be your turn soon!

celyn

Ooh gd tt u get to go home & rest.. Have a gd rest at home

cindy

Am thinking of going BW prob in early Aug, say 3 - 4 weeks to EDD.. Where are u intending to go for ur BW?

krex

I've tried DWax.. http://www.dwax.com.sg/
Coz it's a little out of the way, it's not crowded on a weekday afternoon..

Am not sure if I'm wrong, i think Bikini wax only neatens the bikini line..

M2B

The pain fr BW usually goes away by the end of the day.. At least tt's was how my experience was *phew*

luvlel

Am visiting the toilet more freq too.. Def waking up in the middle of the night for toilet visits too.. I make it a pt to go very regularly coz I dun think I've worked out my muscles well, so I am very afraid of leaking

oh, I remember some mummy here wanted to get raspberry leaf tea?

Any idea where to buy? I'm looking to buy some.

Hi Catherine! Thank you so much for sharing
As this baby will be our first and only child, we may join either stemcord or cordlife. Good night!

Valnsw

I managed to get the raspberry leaf tea from a Online SG site but I can't remember what's the name...

Will check when I'm discharged... let u know asap.

Mrs Teng,
Oic, no worries about finding the link. Do take care and rest well first. You need to "bu" back your body during the confinement period.

tigg3r,

at least u can sleep better and not be so uncomfortable liao. u have graduated
no more rashes!

u are the first of us to pop! think many of them r anxious already, hehe

es those with twins.........anytime already

seriously, happy for u.
by the way, u got yr maid in already?
if not who will help u?

Mrs Teng,
CONGRATULATIONS! u have unload the weight.
my belly weight is causing me so much discomfort.
Have a good rest.

Mrs Teng

Glad to know both girls and you doing well. That's more important than anything else. Congratulations!

Just saw my gyane just now. Everything ok so far but err...my baby girl rather big lor. hehe! And he said she has lots of hair. He was pointing to something on the screen and said that's her hair. I was like going: "That's hair?" I honestly can't tell. He must have alot of faith in my pregnancy coz I'm only seeing him 3 weeks later, on the 36th week.

vone- can update for me when you are free, during your next update?
2.9kg @ 33 weeks.

I don't seemed to have extra discharge leh...it's been about the same through the whole pregnancy.

I also intend to donate to the public bank cord as I'm not sure if I will be able to have another kid at my age. Seeing as I can't use the same cord blood on the same baby..

Btw, I have also booked my ward. Will be going for B1 though I may change my mind later.

krmeow,
why you cannot use the same cord blood on the same baby ? the blood on the same baby has a 100% match. of cos can use.

krmeow,
wow! Your girl is at birth weight already...I think mine will be too when I see my doc on Monday...sigh, my hubby keep saying my bb will be 4+kg when I give birth.

Catherine
From what little I understand, should my baby have some defects or missing something, then her stem blood would not be suitable, as it has the same DNA? It may be useful to other babies though. I think that's why people have another baby should the 1st one have problem.

I'm not sure...that is what I understand. I may be wrong.

But it doesn't matter, we're still going to donate to public bank anyway. ^^

Yuuri
Yeah...was telling baby not to grow too fast as I'm afraid she may be too big for me to have a natural birth.

krmeow,
actually it doesnt work that way. umm .. in layman terms, it's like when the baby is sick the cord blood which has been saved can be transplanted back into the system and produce new blood cells, boosting immune system. And for the same person to receive the cordblood the match is 100%. For siblings, i think it's 80% or 50% (cant remember). People have another baby when the 1st one have problems is because they didn't save the cord blood of the 1st baby.

Discharge
My gynae prescribe me "Neoderm" and I had been using it. The discharge is light yellowish and sometimes it comes like a flow ie like period and feels like alot of discharge ... but not that often.
I use panty liners for a long time liaoz ... cos the first trimester, I had bad MS and cough badly and also sometimes had urine leak and I think that was what caused my fungus infection.

Anyway, do use panty liners and change often else i think it might cause fungus infection ba. I still diligently put the cream even though the discharge does not smell nor turn green. My gynae did not do any test and said to continue with the cream. Since I am doing a C-sect, it does not bother me.

For those having natural, you may wan to check with your gynae else it might pass on to baby during natural birth

Baby's weight. I guess my little prince is ok for his weight. I was afraid that he might be too small.

My #1 is 2.94 when he was delivered at week 39 but my tummy is vv big. All water inside .. after i delivered i looked like 6 months pregnant still.

This time, tummy is still big and my gynae commented on it too. He asked if my #1 was 3.5 kg ... but he was less than 3kg.

I think the durian is really potent. I ate once, like 10 seeds ... but next day i gained 1 kg the next day. Now i feeling heaty liao.

How to "detox" from heatiness ah?

Congrats Mrs Teng
Take good care !

Me went for checkup yesterday , bb 2.6kg at 35 weeks..gynae say cuz i have irritable uterus, may deliever early, but will have to wait and see..he say bb doing well and everything ok..

he gave me some disgusting syrup for the heartburn..it worked but i dun think if there is a need, i will drink it...its too yucky...

by the way, u know we are on vitamins and calcium /other supplement pills rite? when do we stop? after delievery? still have to take after popping? i just replenished my vitamins and calcium..and was wondering if i will be able to finish the whole course..throw away after delivery like very wasteful...they r expensive!

Good Morning!

Celyn,
Dun know leh, thatz what my gynae said…anyway, my gynae’s opinion is this is a kind of insurance for the kids and parents but once the kids are growing well, can stop the storage liao so dun have to store for 20 years. =P

Jvenue,
Very funi hor, I was telling hb that we pay to store the cord blood but we sure pray that we won’t get to use it. =P

I’m oso very tempted to do BW before delivering but very scared of the pain…

Mrs Teng,
Congrats! Rest well and hope you and both gals can go hoem soon. Hope to see their pics soon too.

Hisstory,
The pain goes away at the end of the day? Then can consider leh…heehee

YLN,
You can continue to take after delivery especially the calcium pills if you are bfg…

congrats Mrs Teng!

let us noe if u need any help in the mean time..

yday i experience tremendous heartburn..first time..and i regret neber read all ur posts on the heartburn remedy..sigh..can anyone brief me again what to do har?

Paul Tseng..hmm..i dunno leh...my frens who went with him, also donated to public cord bank...so far..*touchwood*..onli got lukemia has found it useful?

anyway..i need to check with my current gynae on sat...

Wah, so many postings since I read yday afternoon.

Krex, M2B, strawberry, hisstory
My frens told me a bit painful to do the BW now that Im like 34 weeks. If its painful, will it affect our baby and tell her to pop out. Scared leh. Maybe just thrim before gg to labour. Tot there was one in Holland Village, dun really remember the shop name.

Mrs Teng,
Hey congrats. All the best to your gals.

YLN,
My gynae say can still use the vitamins and supplements if you are still bf –ing the babies cos the babies can get your nutrients too through the milk.

Hmm so far I am only on Mutli-vit & not calcium or iron pills. So I don't experience constipation.

Think I will donate the cord blood away cos I dont have intention of keeping it for my next child.

at last, pelvis area not so pain today, after 5 days then the intensity of pain went down.

Cindy/M2B
ok..thanks..at least i know i havent wasted my money replenishing the pills..

Megan

I took the medication from my gynae for heartburn, .do u get in middle of the nite or in the day? i alleviate my pillows before i sleep cuz i get it alot in the nite..day time, not so bad..cuz we sitting upright..but i try to take a sweet or drink some water...maybe u can try...if still no use, then maybe u shld get medication from gynae..(which taste horrible!)

morning.

i feel so weak after taking the medication, didn't feel so weak when i'm in kk. maybe cos i'm taking the full dosage now compare to be in kk. bed rest though gynae didn't instruct to do so. i think i better stay in bed till the effects of medicine died down.

baby is happy to be home, he is back to his active self liao. keep moving inside.

mrs teng,
congrats. rest well.

cocomo,

need to ask u about web cam in details cos need hubby to settle it fast liao so we can go out more often

can i PM u later?

cindy, i checked out strip yest. they need gynae's letter. they said hard wax less painful than soft wax. also dunno whether to wax or not, sigh. i dun think the pain there will have any bearing on your bb lah.

val, i got the tea already. but haven't drunk yet coz' it was delivered together with my confinment shampoo and bath gel to my parents' place. will prob collect it next wk.

M2B

Can def consider! *cross fingers & toes* tt the therapist is experienced & quick
The last time I did it, I even went shopping after that.. Not to mention, fr Mohammad Sultan I walked all the way to Chinatown to get my toiletries *heehee*

Cindy

I'm not sure if pregnancy might increase the pain level.. To play safe, u better call. I prob wld also call once I decided who I want to get it done..
Kind of rem there was a Strip outlet in HV too, but i think it has shut down..

celyn

Be a gd ger & get as much bed rest k? Hmm, anyone at home with u?

Rata,
I think if you join the bumper mat bp can get the discount liao. Dunno if it's true but heard from my friend ssw service is not v good, delivery keep delaying.

Congrats Mrs Teng! May ur bb grow well and be disacharged soon! hehe..

Little twin stars: Oh my SM are vertical ones. Thats y i say look like the measurement marks on the ruler. LOL