(2008/08) Aug 2008

Congrats Mrs Teng on your 2 little bundles of joy! Keep us updated ok?

Celyn
Hope you are feeling better. Remember to go slow and takes lots of rest

YLN,
How come u buy your own vitamins? I tot they come free from the gynae?
I am taking basic Multi-vits, folic acid from him and i just bought my own Calcium pills from Watsons called BioCath - chewable one.

I tried getting the one recommeded by one of the mommies but I cannot find it .... so just buy the one the pharmacist recommended. That's expensive.

Calcium pills will cause constipation hence my gynae refuses to issue me any and said no need to. He says the multi-vits enough liao. I thikn not la cos i oso vv old liao, need more calcium anyway.

Shint

my gynae package only includes scan and consultation..doesnt include the medication...so must buy everytime i finish..ya i think calcium pills are important too...constipation..so far...no such problem except in 2nd trimester..now i everyday go poo poo..:p

Congrats, Mrs Teng!!!
Have you named your 2 princesses?

huichin

Hmm, i have joined a few sprees apart fr those snow had organised.. Usually the way the costs for these sprees are spread out are
#1 Cost of item
#2 Domestic shipping (if any)
#3 Shipping charges (via CGW or Vpost)

The main difference in cost among the spree organisers wld be the exchange rate they want to peg at..

Hope this helps!!

What are u intending to get? Online shopping is so veryvery fun!

shint

Have u gotten ur refund fr Robinsons & gotten the Ameda fr Cheong Choon instead?

My supplements are paid on top of the package.. I know my sis's gynae's package includes the supplements. Apart fr the iron, calcium & multi-vits which I get fr my gynae, I get the fish oil capsules elsewhere, gynae's too expensive!

Megan, ya i know is good as my fren ve it, I feel the quality of it b4.

If can order 10pcs & more together got additional 20% anyone keen?

Yurri, no lei my frens got it very soon after she order lei.

hisstory: i got my supplements from GNC.. Agreed that gynae one are expensive and quality not that good..as in pretty basic. My gynae also agreed with me! haha..

medusa

heheh.. I must control all these shopping man! Yest evening I was packing bb's clothes & HB popped in.. He commented, "How is it I dun remember buying/ receiving these items?" *oooops*

Rata

Thanks for the link! I must check with Chief Financial Officer = HB for approval..

NiNi

External sources are okie too.. heheh, so long as safe for preggy mummies & bb's

Krex/Hisstory,
So mah fan, still need gynae’s letter??? Wont be seeing my gynae till next week.
Maybe I would just do it myself as in trim.

celyn,
take care and glad to hear ur baby is so active.

snow74,
thanks. just wake up from nap and had lunch.

hisstory,
no one at home with me. hubby will try to come back asap loh and call to check on me.

cindy,

hisstory
Yeah lor... My hb sometimes also will ask how come got so many new things. Then I will just shoo him away and say " aiya you forget liao meh... I got show you before ma..." Luckily his memory quite short one so he will just take it.. haha! : p

Anyway... very sad. My gynae just called me to tell me that I fail the Strep B test I took last week and I need to go for medication for a week. Any mummies had the same problem? My first pregnancy was ok leh... Will it affect bb ah.. now i scared : (

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>, wow! envy u got a nice nice dinner. i still gotta cook when i reach home aft work.

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Teng</font>, congrats on ur twin girls!
Hv u decided their names yet?

<font color="0000ff">sabbath</font>, how much does the CB items cost in the Suntec shop after discount?

<font color="0000ff">krex/hisstory/m2b</font>, I have a package with strip so I guess will stick there when I need to go. Based on past experience of BW (not with strip), it's not painful after the actual wax. Just a little stinging sensation which lasts an hour or so.

<font color="0000ff">krmeow</font>, I have the same thinking as cat. If ur bb has defects at birth, the bank will advise u not to even store the cordblood.

<font color="0000ff">m2b</font>, yah, it's contradictory about saving the cordblood. but just take it as additional insurance? anyway, buying insurance just ensure that u will hv some form of compensation should emergency occur. but cordblood may actually give a chance of survival?

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>, what medicine are u eating? How come weak?

huichin,
my SM is also vertical lines but curve to the shape of my belly, hee or rather sigh....

iron report to my beef supporters

i just came back from my gynae visit. my blood lvl has increased from the very low 9.1 to 10.4
best to hit at least 11 but i'm happy liao

baby stick out her tongue when dr was scanning her face. got a pic of that, hee, so cheeky!
forgot to ask the weight this time. baby still not engaged. got some protein trace but dr say no need to worry. so far it doesn;t seem like she wants to come out so early. she is happily making herself comfortable,hee

jvenus,
i'm taking 3 kind of medication. 1 is orange capsule, 1 antibiotics and 1 is for ashma people. the one that cause me to be weak is the ashma medicine. all these are to prevent contractions. the ashma one will cause my heartbeat to increase to over 100+ times and my hands will shake non-stop. i had to take this 3 times a day. in hospital, i only take 1 tablet now got to take 2. so only feel the actual effect now.

cindy

I dunno if other places require gynae's letter.. They prob want to safeguard themselves shd there be complications. Maybe u want to check out other places, like Honeypot &amp; Spahaven?

celyn

Ur mum's not with u either eh? Then u guaiguai rest &amp; dun walk ard too much.. It's a good time to nua, read, watch TV &amp; surf *heheh*
U feeling better after ur nap?

Medusa

Heheh, same here! I shooed him away.. Thankfully he's not the super fussy &amp; kaypo type! I will just say my sis passed some of the items to me.. *hahaha*

Strep B test is compulsory to be done? Am going for gynae's appt tmr, I shall ask her if I have to do, she never mentioned to me abt it so far leh..

jvenus

Agreed! The pain doesn't last long at all.. Are u going before u pop? I had wanted to sign up for a package with DWax, but I know I might not find time to make use of it..
Which outlet of Strip do u go to? Any therapist to recommend?

Congrats Mrs teng!!
First to start confinement, good to hear ur gals are doing well.

Jvenus,
Not sure if can use the voucher if u are existing customer of cordlife (no clause stated on voucher for this) Pls pm me ur addy if you want the voucher k ?

Vone,
thanks for the tips, then i think i got to go and source for the nursing bra and breast pump liaoz. feel so bulky and lazy to do so these days wor. confinement lady, any good contacts to share ?

Valnsw,
i called up scbb and they do a screening via the fone, then asked to meet up for more explaination and signing of documents, they can come visit u during ur normal visit to your gynae(office hrs).Since i visit my doc after 7pm, so i made my way down to their opi in kk instead loh.

Krmeow (hope i got ur nick right)sorry if i spelt it wrongly.
yup, what you mention is true, actually when i ask my gynae abt donating, he is happy that am donating, then 2 wks after his nurses gave me a brochure from scbb too.
so actually cord blood (if already contaminated from the beginning,diease already exist from the birth moment)from your baby#1 will not be able to use on himself/herself, even for siblings, the % that the cord blood can be use on them are also rather low. Higher % can be used on the parents, that's what i understand from the briefing.
Not sure how much the transplant will cost should we need cord bank from the scbb, but they did explain that if the cord blood which we donate are still available and can be of use for our siblings of baby/parents, then they will release it to us.
If it had been used, then they will find a suitable one for you.
They are not for profit org, thus not sure if the transplant will have any susidy of some sort.
anyway i decide to donate mainly cos i want to do good deed for my baobao and rather spend the $ on insurance plan than specifically on storing his cord blood which at the end of the day he might not need it at all.
just for info and sharing ya.

celynlee,
pls take good care of urself yo..few more days to meet ur poppy.

yuuri,
try kiddypalace?
i got two sets from babysafe brand at kiddy palace, one full set with bumper, the other without bumper.

hui chin!!
rem me bo ?? chin chin ?? :p
sg brides ...long time ago?
anyway for ur babymall online thingy, i also joined one spree by yuki's mom, now still waiting for the cost of shipment, let u noe once i have the cost.
basically, there's abt 3 costs beside the cost of the product.
Ie. cost of towel USD2.99.
you take 2.99 x 1.45(exchange rate by the spree person) x 0.8 (20% discount)= SGD 3.46
this amt u tele to spree person first.
then there will be a fixed base charge ard SGD$15 shared by no. of spree pple, then there is the variable weight charges by the no. of items i think, this cost is unknown till vpost/cgw billed to the spree org.
then there will be the postage cost that spree org will charge to you (from her home to ur home)

normally i take normal postage, no need to take registered, so far so good.*fingers crossed* kekeke..hope this helps!

medusa,
i failed my strap B test too, kenna yeast infection, was recalled to take 4 antibiotics and insert one pill via V.
doc say nothing to worry abt, is common to have this yeast infection.
maybe you can find out what infection u kenna ?

re : ameda breast pump
good pump? who gg to get from chinatown shop ?wanna bulk purchase with lady boss to negotiate for lower price ?

<font color="0000ff">Megan</font>
welcome
i'm 1st time buyer of CB products. coz hear so many mommies rave about it, thus i just try few of their products. I
had bought the Super Sensitive Shampoo &amp; Bodywash, Calendula Cream and Spritzer Calming (this one is for me..hehe).

btw, Which massage oil you bought? You plan to use it after give birth or now ar?

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
happy to hear ur blood lvl is up liao
so good u managed to get a pic of ur gal's cheeky moment ;).
just curious, what is this protein trace?

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
oh dear, u mean u have asthma? and it's the reason that caused ur pre-term lbr contractions?

Hisstory,
I’m thinking to go Strip at Suntec for it with my sister lor…heehee...but have to get letter from gynae abit tricky coz only seeing him again next Fri and I'm into my 37 weeks liao...

YLN,
My gynae package oso doesn’t include medication…

Rata,
I’m interested in the mat but was thinking to get only when bb is bigger lor…

Interrace
Okie can.. thanks. Now i feel abit better. She told me to take medication for a week so got to collect medicine tmr. I haven got chance to ask her what infection. My main worry is will affect bb : (

Megan,
re: heartburn
Avoid: spicy and chocolatey food. oso try not to eat too full.
Lately i realised dat i can't take those big yellow onions too. kept regurgitating the food..v xing ku!

Remedy: sit up straight &amp; drink milk.
For me, if milk still doesn't work then i'll take gynae's med, dhalumag.

Celyn,
how did u settle ur lunch if u feel weak? u'd better not cook ah.
btw, jus curious, when u had contractions every 3 mins, there was no dilation?

Mrs Teng,
Congrats on your twin girls
&amp; rest well...

Celynlee,
The orange pill is Adalat? &amp; the pill for asthma is Ventolin? I got severe headache &amp; vomiting from Adalat &amp; Ventolin caused my heart to beat very fast... If you got severe side effects from any medication, call your gynae to ask if can reduce dosage or not?

Medusa

Thanks!! I shall ask her tmr.. Scarly she says it's up to me!! *faint*

M2B

So fast 37 weeks oredi! Hmm.. Better get the letter, i think. If not u may feel upset tt u can't get to do it..

twin stars

Ur ger's so cute!! When's ur next visit? Rem to ask for bb's weight hor.. See if all the beef u've been making urself eat helps propel her weight gain

Hi...

just wanna check if we can still enter malaysia? remember last time some said after 6 mths cannot? are they strict with it? thot of going for a day trip.

Hi hisstory, i wanna get terryhood towels / receiving blankets and some wash cloths. Might shun bian get some rompers for bigger size ones oso bah. Any recommendations for towels / receiving blankets then? Havent checkout local stores like kiddy palace etc so not sure. Mothercare oso not much varieties leh. I just tot those on BBmall ones look quite good and quite cheap, but duno the pricing for shipping etc that's y asking ard.

little twin stars, so sad rite! Bleahhh...

Interrace, Hey Interrace! No wonder i find ur name damn familiar la. Izzit Jamie?? Jamie ah? I abit lost! Cos knew quite alotta frens from the thread i've created at SG Brides. Hahaahaa..

oooo...whoa...like so many charges...i confused! Have u ordered anything from there b4 this time? How much did u pay for it roughly? Or rather, how much more (other than the spree buying cost)?

Hisstory
No problem : )
But I think better to take the test at least for preventive measure. See like me, I kena infection now. Got to pay extra cos i think most likely not included in yr package. I paid 40+ for the test

dongle
i dun think ventolin is for asthma as im on ventolin n adalat as well..but i dun have asthma...but i finishing my course of ventolin and adalat today liao cuz gynae say he is confident bb will be fine even if i deliver now at 35 weeks...so no need to control the pre term contractions liao...

hisstory,
yah, mum not with me. i didn't tell them that i'm in hospital. heheh.... resting in bed all the time. feeling better but once take the ashma medicine, it all started again.

interrace,
thanks. i will.

mulberry,
no. i don't have ashma, that medicine is used to treat ashma patient as well as can use to stop contractions. so i was given that.

little twin stars,
good to know that your blood level increase.

reirei,
i cook lunch myself. the effect is over liao, so its ok. must do what i need to do before taking that medicine loh. once taken, i will feel weak and need to rest.

gynae didn't mention that i had dilated so i guess don't have loh. cos when he check when i first admitted with 11 mins apart contraction, its still closed.

dongle,
i'm taking nifedipine (orange capsule), amoxycillin (antibioic) and salbutamol (ashma one). different from what you mention.

YLN,
i remembered i googled for Ventolin &amp; Wikipedia says that it's also used as asthma medicine... i was quite shocked too but after i read that some other MTB also eating this so i continued lor... i stopped my Ventolin at the end of my week 34...

Celynlee,
my gynae says Salbutamol (pink pill) is same as Ventolin (white pill)... GlenE pharmacy dispensed me with Ventolin when they discharged me but when i go back to my gynae's clinic for review, she gave me Salbutamol &amp; told me there are the same...

my gynae also did the VE for me when i was admitted, i was quite shocked &amp; asked what she doing... thought can see from looking at V... hahah...

Hisstory,
Yup, this Sat is 36 weeks liao and so next Sat is 37 weeks...so if wana do, sure must rbr to get letter from gynae but scared my gynae forbids...heehee

I will be taking some MC from gynae to rest when into my 38 weeks and shall start to take my ML from 38-39 weeks onwards...really need the rest and must tidy the room too...

Gayle,
I think if driving into Malaysia in private car for a day trip shd be ok but officially, the Immigration replied to me that above 6mths will be refused entry though...

huichin

The items u listed are quite cheap fr bbmall.. Hmm, the shipping charge wld be the most variable, some spree org consider small items as 1 unit, while towels maybe 1.5? U may want to check how they accord shipping charges fr their previous sprees, then u can get a gd feel of the variable cost

If the bigger sized rompers can wait, u may want to wait for another spree organised by snow.. Her exchange rate is the best!! *heehee*

Medusa

Better play safe, esp after I read the article.. Dun want to put BB at any unnecessary risk

celyn

U dun want ur parents to worry for u yah? Nvm, ur HB coming back home real soon!!

M2B

U're also going to pop really soon! I also dunno if my gynae wld allow me to do.. Tmr, I shall ask as well..

I've been a bit more hardworking these 2 weeks in tidying up the room &amp; arranging all the things we've bought. Quite scared tt as the date draws closer, I dun have the energy or tt I pop in advance &amp; caught unprepared

hisstory,
not just that, the whole world will know if i tell them. then i will get calls from people then can't rest well. old people sure nag also lah. to prevent all these, better to keep quiet unless i stay very long then no choice. hehehhe

Hisstory,
The earliest I want bb to come out is 38 weeks lor coz I want her to be at least 3kg when she is out.

Yalor, I oso dun know if my gynae will allow me to do BW in my 37 weeks or not...as the date draws near, I'm really looking fwd to see how my minnie looks like, hope she looks like her jiejie...heehee

As I'm staying at my mom's pl on weekdays and gg back to our own house on weekends, it si quite difficult for me to pack coz need to get ready both places...hb oso just ordered a RED 4-door wardrobe for his 2 princesses and will be delivered next Sat...he must eb anticipating that I will be shopping alot next time...hahaha

Then my dad doesnt allow me to set up the playpen yet...he said he will set up when I go hospital...somemore I still have yet to collect some passed me down items from 2 close colls...like so much to do and weekends are so short...

mul,
protein trace means i might have some fungal infection. but dr say nevermind lei. strange. but my strep b was ok.

M2B,
apparently the beef helps

between shave n waxing...which will have higher chance of ingrown hair?

hisstory,celynlee
so young so cheeky liao :p plus her face seems to be rounder now. really beefed up!

huichin,
when i sulk to the nurse just now, she said there are pp who are worst off. their whole belly is black with marks! ........... crossing fingers that there will not be additional lines liao!

Catherine,
You may be right. Like I said, I also not very sure about this whole thing cos I think cord bank is still very new. They are still conducting tests etc.

I checked with SCBB, although she cannot commit and confirm that donors will have priority, I think they will help more...something like when you are a blood donor? Anyway, hubby and I discussed and feel that we will just donate. ^^

Interrace,
I agree that also doing some good lor since I've been blessed with a baby after so long.

I did the glucose test last night via blood sample. A bit confused. I guess this is not the same as the urine test. Anyone can explain to me the difference?

Still need to get diaper bag and baby monitor. Otherwise, got most things already except for baby wash etc.

And oh yes, got to clear room. hehe!