(2008/08) Aug 2008

hey gemini...i dun take beef too...onli started taking wagyu beef during this pregnancy and since..love it..

hi catherine,

i agree. after they have expanded or rather due to the food price increase, aston portion has reduced.
have you try their aston prime outlet?

hi little twin star,

the aston u went is it in a bedok coffee shop, next to BK? the food there, i find quite comparable to the main outlet but the portion is getting smaller.

Gemini,
ya i tried Aston Prime. I felt it was worse than the aston specialities cos they try to hard for upmarket. For the price that they charge there, I think got many more choices. That time when I was there, the steak was quite tasteless ie felt like frozen meat, then when I complain, the staff told me to dip into the sauce to eat. I looked at them and said, you think this is coffeeshop western food ? If I need to dip a steak into sauce to eat, I don't see how I need to pay $30+ for it. After that I never went back again.

storeberry

Dunno if the Pigeon ones were sold out.. I went there blurblur, so many things to see & to rem what I need to get. Was hoping they were selling my pink FisherPrice bouncer, but they dun have

shint

heheh, dun feel cheated.. At least can get refund! *phew*

dongle

so if MC & HL exhausted, means u've got to take leave till the date of popping yah?

LC

U didn't feel nauseous in ur 1st & 2nd trimester, only now tt u're experiencing it? Take care k!!

catherine

Agree man, big not good.. Very tiring on the back. My colleague who's abt 2 weeks ahead of me was already a D before pregnancy! Can imagine how tired & diff it is to get the bras..

twin stars

Oh tt's the reason why ppl discourage eating of crabs ah? I never knew of the reason.. One of the old wives' tales I heard abt is the eating of lamb , which may result in the kid having fits (yang dian feng)

hi gals! wow! the postings so fast i can't catch up!

<font color="0000ff">shint</font>, i saw woody yesterday leow, so no chance to meet u today.

<font color="0000ff">rtcp</font>, quite difficult to describe each sensation. i know i hv tummy tightening quite often and am worried if my bb will pop early.

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>, my #1 stretchmarks still can see leh.
faded but it's silvery type lor.

<font color="0000ff">jo/cat</font>, i think after bfg the breasts size will reduce smaller than normal for a while before going back to normal size. but the ugly nipples is likely to stay.
*sacrifice of motherhood*

<font color="0000ff">cat</font>, i'm also keen on the silky pjs. is it solid one colour type or got prints one?

<font color="0000ff">twinstar</font>, i've heard so much abt morton steak! but nvr got a chance to try it. $350 for 2 pax!! my fav is still jack's place tenderloins. yummy!

<font color="0000ff">luvlel</font>, fyi, my #1 was overdue.

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>, what is salted egg crab?

<font color="0000ff">mulberry</font>, welcome to sk!

<font color="0000ff">dongle</font>, gynae says my bb head is down and unlikely to go up again. now i'm afraid of popping before 37 weeks due to frequent tightening.

<font color="0000ff">cat/val</font>, i think i decide to scrap the placenta idea. gynae says it's crazy and hb says it's cannibalism.

<font color="aa00aa">re: icecream,</font>
shall we have an ice cream session? BJ/Swensen/Gelare? hehe... or durian will be good too? for bb weight gain?

<font color="aa00aa">re: bb weight</font>
anyone knows where i can see a chart for feotus weight? i'm wondering if mine is normal, now only 1.9kg @ 32 weeks. hb says seems light as compared to #1 birth weight.

Catherine,
So u delivering on the 27 July ah? So fast hor.

I think i better push it forward liao cos scared last min baby come out earlier.

Jvenus (venus),
You can check it out at
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/chart/

20 weeks 10.08 inches 10.58 ounces 25.6 cm 300 grams
21 weeks 10.51 inches 12.70 ounces 26.7 cm 360 grams
22 weeks 10.94 inches 15.17 ounces 27.8 cm 430 grams
23 weeks 11.38 inches 1.10 pound 28.9 cm 501 grams
24 weeks 11.81 inches 1.32 pound 30 cm 600 grams
25 weeks 13.62 inches 1.46 pound 34.6 cm 660 grams
26 weeks 14.02 inches 1.68 pound 35.6 cm 760 grams
27 weeks 14.41 inches 1.93 pound 36.6 cm 875 grams
28 weeks 14.80 inches 2.22 pounds 37.6 cm 1005 grams
29 weeks 15.2 inches 2.54 pounds 38.6 cm 1153 grams
30 weeks 15.71 inches 2.91 pounds 39.9 cm 1319 grams
31 weeks 16.18 inches 3.31 pounds 41.1 cm 1502 grams
32 weeks 16.69 inches 3.75 pounds 42.4 cm 1702 grams
33 weeks 17.20 inches 4.23 pounds 43.7 cm 1918 grams
34 weeks 17.72 inches 4.73 pounds 45 cm 2146 grams
35 weeks 18.19 inches 5.25 pounds 46.2 cm 2383 grams
36 weeks 18.66 inches 5.78 pounds 47.4 cm 2622 grams
37 weeks 19.13 inches 6.30 pounds 48.6 cm 2859 grams
38 weeks 19.61 inches 6.80 pounds 49.8 cm 3083 grams
39 weeks 19.96 inches 7.25 pounds 50.7 cm 3288 grams
40 weeks 20.16 inches 7.63 pounds 51.2 cm 3462 grams

But this measurement, baby seems light though. Haha.

joanne

Am feeling some jitters myself as D day approaches.. Hang in there!

huichin

I got my own hospital dresses which are button front.. So far only 2 pieces, and then at the recent antenatal class, they mentioned we need to bring 4! *headache*

medusa

where did u get own button front tops? I was thinking of doing it like ur combi of yoga pants + button front tops

mulberry

*congrats* on getting your place! Nw u can plan for a nice nursery for bb's use

Jvenus (venus),
I was supposed to go yesterday but I din take leave so going only tonite after work.

I normally dun follow the schedule one, happy happy then go see him around the appt date lor.

Venus,
My baby is 1.8 kg @ 32 W. As per dr, it would be easier for normal delivery and the weight is good enough for the baby.

oh mulberry..u got a place liao..sorry couldnt catch up with the posts above..

ya..go try the beef at aburiya..weekend need reservation cos they can get quite full..at least all my past 4 visits..they r full...

think for c-sec..easier to wear dresses in hosp.dun need bend to wear...

gemini,
nope, i went to the jurong one. i find it ok. hubby tot the black pepper chicken was little. but the price of their steaks was......

hisstory,
old wive;s tales. i follow selectively according to what i am comfortable with. if not, there are endless to follow, most of which there are no particular reasons for

jvenus ,
i dun mind paying if i think it is really gd. but it's really soso. the presentation is jus a slack of meat on the plate! veg n potatoes r separate orders. i also think jack's place is very nice n gd

Jvenus,
they have both plain and printed ones.

u mean the ugly nipple wont go back to like before ?? OMG !!

Shint,
My csec date is 28th July on Monday

jvenus
my bb also 1.84kg @ 32wks only, dr estimate delivery weight to be around 3kg - 32kg liao.
so i think ur bb 1.9kg @ 32wks sounds alrite to me leh. =)

megan
ya, agree that its easier to wear dresses instead of 2-pcs after c-sect.
imagine so giddy after c-sect, its not easy to bend down beside feeling painful lor. =P

mommies, why do we get nausea feeling again at 3rd trim? I am getting them again...sigh..

i read the earlier post cannot eat paoshen in third trim..why? too late to bu?

hisstory
I got a few from thyme maternity as well as mothercare. They are basically nursing tops so its easier to bf. Actually if you dun want to specially go buy extra, normal tops with buttons good enuff liao : )

twin stars

heheh, i think i've ignored most of them.. Some sound so superstitious to me..

medusa

Thanks!! Hmm, the normal tops wld have to be a little on the big/loose side yah? I dun have any like tt.. Didn't get any maternity tops which are also button front. Am tempted to 'steal' HB's shirts!!

medusa, i have some nursing tops but to this date, i still can't figure how i'm going to unhook my nursing bra and pull up the flap from my nursing top in one hand and hold bb in the other. worse still if i'm covered in nursing shawl. sigh, need practise!

Medusa: Better rite. I better start looking ard liao! hehe..

Krex78: U r not alone! I oso got alotta things not done yet...

1) Wash BB clothes
2) Buy Steriliser
3) Milk bottles / teats
4) Bottle cleaner
5) Bottle drying rack
6) Milk warmer
7) Tong
8) Music Mobile
9) Bedsheets
10)Rocking chair
11)Baby bath/skin pdts
12)Nursing bras
13)Maternity pads
14)Disposable panties
15)Button down PJs
16)Assemble bb cot and see if my mattress fits (cot bed is hand-me-down)

Ahhhh.........i oso going crazy!!!

Catherine: Oh yea i know tt shop! hehe..got sell bras &amp; old skool panties one! hehe...

hisstory: Whoa need so many ah! LOL

Jvenus: Hahaa..mine is only 1.75kg @ 32 wks! I oso worry, cos me n hubby is both big size - but my gynae says it's normal size wor. So i tot, maybe follow my mum? She's very small size. And she oso said that bb smaller better, easier to give birth! hahaa...As long when due smy girl hits at least 3kg i'm happy liao. Heh

hisstory
Yeah a bit looser will be better, so its easier : ) I didnt wear nursing tops all the time so i cheapo and use some loose shirts instead.. I saw some good selections at spring maternity before also and not too pricey. Maybe you can check it out.

Krex78
Hehe.. no worries la.. it comes with practice. Once you more familiar will be ok. Yr nursing bra comes with front clip flap is it? Then you prob need to just adjust the flap of yr top down, unhook bra and then feed. So sometimes i feel button tops easier...

Twin Stars,
Yday my gynae asked me did I experienced contractions or not and I answered “I dun know how it feels like”…he replied “You forget liao ah?”…I answered “No lah, 1st pregnancy induced mah so dun know wat is contractions actually”…just now abit of menses cramp…dun know is it contractions or not…hiaz

Yalor, another 3weeks+ to pop and I can’t wait coz tummy very tight like watermelon leh…

Vone, Mulberry &amp; Medusa,
The BP organizer sent out last Mon and till today oso no news, think shd be really lost in mail liao…so sad hor?

Snow,
Dun think got chance liao coz more than a week already and I like the clips so much leh…some for my #1 and some for #2 lor…sob sob

BTW, how contractions feel like hah? I dun feel good this 1 hour lor...

<font color="0000ff">shint</font>, thanks for the detailed weight. now i am more reassured.

<font color="0000ff">twinstars</font>, what?! just a slab of meat? then i can cook myself right? but heard the serving is really big. 2 pax can share.

<font color="0000ff">cat</font>, how much do the pjs cost? got sizes one? where exactly did u get it?
yup, sorry to disappoint but nipples unlikely to go back to cute and pink leow. now regret never take nude shots before pregnancy right? hee...

<font color="0000ff">snow</font>, i'm worried abt popping early cos of the BHC i'm getting. didn't hv that many BHC for my #1, who was overdue.

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>, now i'm waiting for the crab address too! some pple pantang say bb will hv 多手多脚 (very itchy hands) if eat too much crabs.

<font color="0000ff">bacon&amp;egg</font>, i still hv nauseous feelings sometimes too. and tummy like a lot of gastric juice churning (heartburn?). sian hor?

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>, i also hope bb will be above 3kg when deliver.

<font color="0000ff">m2b</font>, aiyoh, what did u order which was lost? expensive? contractions are like 100x more painful than menstrual cramps. haha.

<font color="aa00aa">Great Site for your Hbs!!</font>
How to Massage your Pregnant Wife

<font color="0000ff">Jvenus</font>
ooo...i would love to meetup for ice-cream session but my hubby don't allow me to go out nowadays.

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>
hee...hopefully by that time, i still have the energy to decorate bb's room. Coz in Oct, bb is ard 3mo, she should still be quite a handful then. :p

<font color="0000ff">Megan</font>
only signed the OTP last week. hopefully everything will go smoothly. *cross fingers*.
oh so need to make reservation. hmm..but not sure yet whether will go this weekend. or maybe we try our luck and just go earlier to avoid the dinner time rush hour. :p

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
last Monday sent ar...i think still got chance. maybe u wait another week?
that day when i was hit with pre-term lbr contractions, it was very painful cramps and tummy tightenning &amp; harden. When tummy tighten, it's like it's being squeezed.
If ur cramps don't go away after awhile, it's better to inform your gynae leh. Coz BH not suppose to be painful.

Jvenus,
PJs cost $19.90. 3/4 sleeves. one size only. got plain and prints.

Shop location : If walking down from NTUC few shops after Bedok central POSB bank. Beside a coffeeshop, facing the hawker centre/market. (near to shop N save). Shop sells pjs and all sorts of bra/panties.

re:nipple
so actually even if you dont bf the nipple also will darken after pregnancy right ? so they wont shrink back in size and lighten in color anymor ? someone should have told me !!! hahahaa would have reconsidered getting pregnant .. hahaha

huichin

dunno why Mt A recommends 4 pieces.. Issit coz might stain?

I've got a lot of things to settle before bb comes along too.. Been too slow &amp; slack! Finally managed to pack bb's clothes neatly in the cupboard, and thank goodness my mum helped me wash them. But the washing concentrated on the NB &amp; 0-3mths wear only.. Still got lots more, but can wait *heehee*

My cot's not in too &amp; I still have some minor renos I need to do.. *faint*

medusa

Shall check out Spring if i am in the area with one.. Hmm, heheh, may I shd kapo HB's shirts for hospital stay. At hm then i hide in the room..
Did u also invest in a nursing cover?

mulberry

heheh, hopefully the excitement of doing up bb's room will give u the energy! In the mean time, can think of a theme if u're intending to have one.. So fun!!

Re: eating crabs
I dont believe eating crabs will cause a child to be 多手多脚 coz my aunt also eat ALOT during her pregnancy n my little cousin is nothing like 多手多脚 in fact he was a very good little boy!
And i read that those fishermen's wives eat crabs also n turn out their children all have very strong bones. It's all old wive's tale! :p

Re: tightening of tummy (braxton hicks)
I'm getting it like alot! Tummy feels tight like a watermelon also..very uncomfortable.. Must walk VERY slowly if not even more tighten!

You mean this is a symptom of popping early???? Dun scare me wor....

Actually im a very lazy person.. i dont even bother to read up the books on breastfeeding, during labour etc.. I just very relax... aiyo me very bad leh...

Catherine: my gynae told me no, it wont change back to its original color... My hubby comforted me by he dun mind, so why shld i mind? hahaha..

mulberry: congrats on ur new hse! =) At least have your own home...so good! For me, my hubby moving back with me to my "niang jia"..haha.. My house here better environment for bb we feel.

Ice-cream! Ice-cream! =)
Now at 3rd trimester, we feel very hot easily!! I m someone who seldom take ice-cream but yesterday dine at Swensons, can't resist ordering the ice-cream. It was sooooooo cooling i tell you! hahahha!

Mummies, the threads moves fast today!

I also need to get some buttons front PJs!! Chinatown now have so many ERP after 7 July so irritating to go there... Don't know if Toa Payoh have or not...

Hissotry: I also abit blur when I went even though I had the list!! Also missed out on some items!

I also haven't packed my hospital bag, think will pack next week. I have more or less bought my things liao except for bb cot (to collect from BIL) and to set up wardrobe (by busy DH) and also to buy rice wine &amp; those red dates... balh..blah for confinment later... Did you asked Winie whether she can order the Fisher price bouncer for you?

hisstory
I think tampines and suntec got branches there.
Other outlets not sure leh.. Hmm I didnt invest in nursing cover but I went to aussino and bought muslin cloths... they are like multi purpose cloths and quite light in material. Comes in a set of 8 or something. So if I bf I will place the cloth over my shoulder so at least its covered. Then bb dun feel so hot also.

YLN, LC,
I also take TUMs for my heartburn. Very tasty and it works. On top of that additional calcium so can do away with calcium supplements. Hubby just bought TUMS smoothies for me from US. Very nice!! Like sweets.

Jvenus,
Thanks for the website. Will definitely ask hubby for one. Back he just came back from US. Will let he rest and recover 1st.

Coconut,
Anyone know how often can we take? I seems to be having 1 everyday. Very cooling esp feeling so hot. Working in aircon and dress in spagetti strap still feel hot.

catherine,
ya, tt's d 1.

mulberry / jvenus,
d plc is :
loong hua seafood
blk 168 bedok south ave 3
#01-471
singapore 460168
tel : 6241 3608
i had jus finished my salted egg crabs. shiok...

rata,
i agree... i try not to think abt it too much... hehe...

huichin, twin star,
ya lor... when i had my 1st stretchmark, i looked into the mirror for hours... now sian aledi...hopefully it will fade to a lighter colour after delivery...

LC, huichin,
im using both clarins oil &amp; SM cream abt 3 times a day lei... still kena...

mulberry,
my gynae also say Ventolin has no side effect to our baby, the side effect is on us instead...

catherine, twin star,
im also having my favourite haagan daaz belgian chocolate ice cream regularly... my HB buys them by the "quart", earlier scared baby too small, so i was eating almost everyday... nowadays cut down to twice a week le...

re: crabs
i just had black pepper crab at Hua Yu Wee along Upper East Coast Rd last Friday... yummy...

twin star,
wah, the morton steak so ex ah? so how done are you eating your steak? me also think lawry's steak not that fantastic... plus HB doesn't take beef &amp; ended up eating lobster which was very small &amp; bo hua also...

hisstory,
ya lor, not enough MC &amp; HL to last me till i pop... so have to take my own vacation leave or start ML earlier lor... my clerk told me not to worry, will calculate for me after i pop...

re : ashton
the food at katong is not bad &amp; price wise is cheap as it's a cafe style with aircon... recently tried the one nearer my house at serangoon gardens... it's a coffee shop but i think the price is the same...

jvenus,
oic.. at least you have 1 less worry if you start to have contractions early... my gynae advised that anything from week 34 onwards is very safe...

mulberry,
me also not allowed to go out alone nowadays

re:eating crabs
actually another belief is that seafood esp crabs got "poison" cos heaty. my aunty ate alot of crabs, fried oyster egg, durian and my cousin got very severe case of ezema. so do take in moderation.

happycat,
1 day i think is like too much already. I was told once or twice a week only.

krmeow,
my cousin told me cos her hse is wireless setup, it interfered with the baby monitor. Also if you live in multi-story hse, the baby monitor performance is also affected. We decided not to get the baby monitor.

About affordable steak, can try Botak Jones at Toa Payoh, the huge industrial coffeeshop behind SPH (Singapore Press Holdings). The serving is good and prices are reasonable.

I had tried Ashton at Katong before also not impressed by it. I usually go to Serangoon Gardens for fish porridge at Chomp Chomp but never try the Aston there as often long queue.

My neighbour's daughter-in-law has a 1 yr old daughter and she is preggie again and due Jan 2009. Makes me feel like having a 3rd baby soon..hee...hee!! Anyone having 3 children can tell me what's the difference having 2 and 3 children??

Diapers: I also plan to order from Goon diapers.

hisstory,
they are all superstition without a reason. it;s something people follow to have a peace of mind although there are no reason to back up the believes

M2B,
oh ya, i remember you were saying over coffee that u don;t know what it;s like to feel labour pain. so gd

mense cramp might be contractions it can also be BH. that what my gynae told me when i told him of the pain. but ctg machine didn;t capture anything ..hehe. u also, must gear up liao

jvenus, dongle
a plain slack of beef with nothing cost $80plus plus plus .....
actually can share, but it was our first time there so we were not sure of the portion. once bitten, twice shy liao
thanks for the massage link :p

dongle,
ask u, the belgium choc does it have choc chunks inside or jus plain choc? i tried a new flavour. choc with cookie. it;s ok, but i like ice cream with choc chunks ......... ben n jerry;s new york is the only one like that but it's really too potent lei

stretch marks, u only had it this wk? think huichin n i had the worst , sob sob

vone,
sounds so good!!!!!!!!!
can;t wait to get my hands on my crab!!!!

huichin,
You can call up Eastshore Hospital to check what you need to bring. That time I called up say just need to bring only 5-6 baby tops/vests. But I guess for yourself you should bring some PJs, or some sleeping gowns, cos I don't want to wear the hospital gown. Seems abit flimsy.
I also intend to bring disposable panties and the maternity sanitary pads. I bought the Pureen Madame ones, the super thick ones in case of heavy lochia.
Oh and not forgetting to bring your doc's letter, marriage cert, IC etc. Your personal items could be your own toiletries and handphone charger.

M2B,
oh dear, hope you get well soon. Another 3-4 more weeks. Excited? I think v fast some mummies are going to deliver liao. Hehe, wondering who will be the first to pop?

Catherine,
Thanks for the info on the PJs, I can go check it out at my next gynae appointment. Er.. but from your directions, I suppose the shop is nearer to Shop N Save side isit? Cos there's some distance between NTUC and Shop N Save and I don't recall a POSB central bank there.
I know there's a POSB ATM kiosk near the bus interchange which is next to the hawker centre.

I also have prob with my cot like you. At the highest level, the cot bumper will jut out abit.

jvenus,
I still undecided about placenta processing. I will ask my gynae her opinion next Mon.

hisstory,
I also feel the jitters leh... I was telling my mum I am mentally unprepared for the labour pain and she said just don't think about it. Aiyo... easier said than done, especially for first-time mummy like me.

Vone,
you mean bb will not flip in the first few mths? hehe, I thought they will start to move abit alrdy.

Baby sleeping patterns
I heard from my colleagues that should not allow bb to sleep with the head facing the ceiling, should allow to turn bb's face to the side every now and then when sleeping, so that there will not be bald patch on the head.
Is this true? cos I think one colleague's bb girl got a small bald spot leh... and he commented on this.

storeberry

yah man, the ERPs are really getting too much! *hahah* Prob going on a Sat may be the other option liao..

I did consider asking Winnie to help me order, but I didn't know the name of the model, so I didn't want to trouble her.. Moreover she showed me a similar model in the catalogue which she mentioned can only serve up till a certain weight, whereas the popular models she has can take up to 3 years old

medusa

Great! I shall go Aussino to take a look at the muslin cloth u mentioned.. How did u ensure tt it stays on your shoulder &amp; not slip off?

dongle

Ur clerk is such a darling! I haven't thought when I want to start taking MC as EDD draws closer.. Must go &amp; calculate zunzun!

twin stars

Yah lor.. I find it most irritating when someone tells me abt those 'advice' &amp; all the 'ren jia shuo'.. No scientific proof leh

val

*hugs* Ideally, not thinking abt it shd help.. But it's so hard!! My recent antenatal class screened a video of natural birth, many of the mummies cringed when the head emerged.. *scary*

Be brave ger.. heheh, also got to tell myself tt!

little twin stars/dongle,
all these talk about ice cream and I think tomorrow i go and buy my chunky monkey. Maybe I will also try the new york.

I got so much food to eat in a day, i need to plan my timings .. hahaha.

Valnsw,
you know there is a market opposite shopNsave ? walk towards that direction from NTUC and you will see the POSB bank before you see the pj shop. It's all the way to the end. It's facing the market/hawker centre. Sorry I cant remember the block number.

Jvenus,Valnsw,
actually most gynaes will not believe in the taking of the placenta. Like my gyane also said it's like an old wives tale but seems alot of people take it now. She just told me about the heat part killing the hormones. And also said it's cleaner to eat if you had a csec as compared to natural.

valnsaw,
I think it's true about the bald patch where bb sleeps on. My nephew also got a bald patch on his head during first 5-6 mths cos' he's always sleeping on that spot...but now grow out already after he start tossing about.

Re: Cervis Dilation
My hubby commented that my cervis area is bigger than last time...is it supposed to be dilated now?? I'm also getting BH quite frequently now, not sure if it's termed painful yet but it's v uncomfortable.

Now, most of us will have to tell pple we are delivering next month!!! *very scary*