(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hisstory: Think sat also have ERP till 8pm wor...
I also felt the jitters one night suddenly... don't know why have this kind of feeling, must be because EDD is nearing...

earnestmum: I have always wanted to try Botak Jones, so it is at the SPH beside the factory?

storeberry: Yes! it's that SPH. Botak Jones has a website so you may look up on it. It's along Toa Payoh Lorong 1 but I am not sure about the name of that lane that leads to it.

storeberry, twin stars & earnetsmum

My dad highly recommends Uno Beef House.. There's an outlet in Toa Payoh & a new branch at Dover

storeberry: Sat also ah? *faint* It's only Chinatown leh.. Craziness!
There were a few nights I almost broke into tears due to my anxious thoughts tt I won't be able to cope
Here's Botak Jone's webbie: http://www.botakjones.com/

catherine,
my fren stays in a 2 storey hse & has wireless network, bt her bb monitor wks fine leh. hw come d performance 4 ur fren's bb monitor is affected?

earnestmum,
u solid leh. no. 2 is nt out yet, u r oledi tinking of no. 3.

valnsw,
bb will move, bt nt so much tt they wld hit d sides of d cot. thus d bumper is nt really necessary in d 1st few mths.

Catherine,
I stay in a flat with wireless network but it shouldn't interfere with the bb monitor right? Hmmm...*puzzled*

So has anyone bought any baby monitor yet? Any to recommend..

fitbaby,
Re: rice wine
i found out fm my grandma. Her fren selling the rice wine at $10/bottle. If u still interested, lemme know. Then we can arrange something.

krmeow,
i oso waiting for someone to recommend bb monitor ;)

Krex n Huichin,
thx for the lists... good reminder for me.

vone,
can ask your fren what brand is her baby monitor ? dono lei my fren tell her her baby monitor got affected by the wireless network in her hse. also cos when i did my wireless, my router cannot reach downstairs, the technician say the concrete is too thick. thats why i think for the baby monitor i may face similar problems. so prob wont be getting one.

Hisstory: I am salivating when I heard Uno Beef house!! Feeling hungry now even I ate a slice of bread just now.. Got the address:

51 Lor 6 Toa Payoh
#01-60
Singapore
Telephone: (65) 90700594 (Cindy-Lim)

didn't log in for 1 day so many post liao.

got a long story to share.

on 30 june, i realised a decrease in baby's movement especailly in the afternoon. there is a slight increase of movement in the night but still not the usual. we decided to go to kk 24 hours clinic to have a check at 11pm.

before reaching 24 hours clinic, we met our gynae and was brought to delivery suite. i was strapped to ctg to monitor.

to my surprised, i was having regular contractions at 11 mins interval. but i got no feeling or pain on it at all. i was admitted to kk due to pre-term contraction at 12am on 1 july.

gynae give me a check and say that i'm still closed but he wants to admit me to monitor and also stop the contractions. he doesn't want baby to come out so soon. he says it better to hold baby in for at least another week before delivering, it will be better if i can hold longer.

at the delivery suite. strapped to ctg machine to continue with the monitoring. at the same time, i was given medication to try stopping the contractions. i was also given injection to strengthen baby's lungs. the injection on the tight is super painful.

then in the morning, gynae came and told me that i had contractions every 3 mins. just as he was talking to me, i'm having another contractions. he asked if i feel anything, my answer is still no. he also told me that my pelvic bone is small so might have to do c-sec but will still monitor and see how.

i was send to do a scan on the baby and also cervix check but was on inform if i have dilated. we got another surprise at the adc, baby is now 2.5kg at 34 weeks. that is a increase of 700g from 2 weeks ago. we didn't expect to have such a big jump on baby's weight. well, i guess its good. if baby really decided to come out early, his weight is still quite ok.

finally, my contractions is irregular by around 1pm. then i was allowed to be transfer to the normal ward. due to this last min and unexpected admission, we had downgrade to class b2+ from my a1.

in the late afternoon, hubby told me he is going back first to pick up the laptop for me so that i won't be bored. before he can go, my tears start rolling down. its not that i'm in pain or anything. i just don't want to be left alone.

hubby left and came back with the laptop for me. hubby left home at around 10pm+ which is long after visiting hours. again this time, tears started rolling down but he didn't see it. now then i know how baby i am. i'm still so not used to not having him with me by my side when i sleep..

hopefully, my gynae will come and give me good news and let me go back home to rest

celynlee

do take care and rest well..can understand how u feel w/o hubby...i think i will also be lost w/o my hubby beside me...never mind, if u feel bored...this forum will accompany u

yln,
thanks. yah, at least now with a laptop, i can come in to chat. hopefully, later got no more contractions then i can go home liao. yeah!!!!

Good Morning!

Jvenus,
I ordered the pretty hairclips for my gals from BP…huh, 100x more painful than menses cramp? I really can’t rbr liao coz more than 4 years ago…

Mulberry,
Thanks for your info. Luckily, the cramps went away after awhile but vomited when I reached home yday…my gal looks so worried when see mommy vomiting…heehee

Yap, the organizer posted out the items last Mon…still got chance ah? I really hope so…

Catherine,
You so funi abt nipples…my nipples went back to normal after 1st birth ah… =P

Earnestmum,
You very on leh, 2nd bb not out and you thinking of 3rd…peifu you man…heehee

Twin Stars,
Me very lousy lah, 2nd time mommy still so inexperienced but maybe coz my last pregnancy was 4years+ ago…heehee, yalor, must gear up and just cfm with gynae’s assistant that gynae does give MC for patients to rest before popping…shall get from him when I see him next Fri…gg to do CTG then…hope to rest from 16 Jul onwards lor…

Valnsw,
Yap, ard 3 weeks time if by my gynae’s estimation…I think Rata and Dongle will probably be the 1st to pop.

Hisstory,
You ordered your bouncer from the shop in Chinatown? Cheaper?

Celyn,
You ok now? Hope everything will goes well for you. Cheer up!

celyn,
Stay cheerful. You and baby will be fine. Talk to your baby say must wait for another few more weeks then come out.

to all mummies who is delivering at Mt A prices of the matrnity package went up liao. Website is updated can go check it out.

storeberry

heheh, can make Uno Beef Hse & Botak Jones 2 of you must eat before u pop!

M2B

I wanted to order, but I didn't know the actual name of the model, so I didn't get in the end. Cheong Choon has quite a few FP bouncers/rockers.. I think I saw the rainforest theme one

I shd think they are cheaper.. Most of their stuff cheaper than elsewhere. U want to call & double check?

Rata

Alamak! I haven't made a pre-admission booking.. Does the price increase affect those who had done their pre-admission booking?

snow74, rata, cindy, m2b, valval

gynae mention that baby might feel that if he don't come out soon, he can't come out cos of my small pelvic bone. that could be the reason why there is contractions. he had also increase the dosage of my medications. now my hands are shaking badly due to it. can't type well.

snow74,
no chance to use the breathing method at all cos i don't feel any contractions. its only the ctg that detects it.

cindy,
yah, already told baby to be guai guai, still inside. at least till end july or aug.

celyn

Gd to hear tt u're doing better & bb's weight has gone up quite a fair bit.. Rest well & try to occupy your mind with happy thoughts k? If u hang in there for 1 more week, bb shd put on maybe another 300-500g *jiayou*

hisstory,
thanks. think can only rest well if i can go home. there are too many interruption in hospital, neighbour who talk loudly over the phone late in the night or early in the morning, snoring patients.

gynae hope to drag till 36 to 37 weeks loh. by then, baby should be of a good weight.

medusa, mine is front clip. some nursing tops i bought during my earlier stage of pregnancy don't seem very user friendly. it's actually made of two whole layers of cloth, so that means i have to lift the full flap of the blouse before i can access inside. i think those tops only nice to wear but not very practical.

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>, thanks for the crabs address. the shell is very hard one is it? must eat wif hands? then i hv to find time to go without kid. hb prefers black pepper though. what is the price range like?

<font color="0000ff">mulberry/cat</font>, why not allowed to go out? ur preg normal should be quite safe ah? i bring #1 to school alone everyday and driving some more. so tiring. that's why that time got into accident. haha.

<font color="0000ff">earnestmum/hisstory</font>, botak jones looks good!

<font color="0000ff">cat/valnsw</font>, my gynae also said it's not very hygienic. and it's just like eating a piece of meat, nothing special. he said this is all hype because some celebrity started off this trend but the benefits have yet to be proven.

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>, oh no! hope u are feeling better. but i'm impressed u noticed ur bb movements enough to drop by for a check. very alert mummy!

celyn, sounds scary. u got internet access in hospital? so cool! it's strange that u can have contractions w/o feeling it. and to think i haven't been monitoring my bb's movements :p for me, as long as i feel a movement or two a day, i dun really bother to count.

Celyn,
Take care and rest well. Dun worry too much ok? just rest well and plentiful, this will help to stabilise the pregnancy.

I was admitted before during my first pregnancy and was also emotional about staying in the hospital. Tried to check out but KK vv kiasu, refused no matter what, even though my spotting stopped. Had to stay 3 days there but well, we are woman and we'll definitely manage through.

Vone,
Can help me update my baby's weight? 2kg@32w
I thought baby is considered small? but seems that most of the babies are still below 2kg @ 32w. Should I take durian to beef up the kid?

krmeow,
Thanks for info, will check it out.

Have not decided to buy 2nd hand or brand new.
Anyway, for Robinsons, I can go refund it, 90 days policy.

yurri,

krex78,
got wireless sg in the ward, so i log on loh. heheeh..... if not, i sure die one. i didn't count too. i'm also surprise that i can't feel contractions. gyane say i can go without epi when in labour. hhhahahha.....

jvenus,
i didn't really check baby movement lah but its a lot of difference when from very active to quiet down a bit loh.

shint,
thanks. yah, kk a bit kiasu. i didn't have contraction last night liao, still refuse to let me go home. must check another round today to confirm. in a way, its good that they are so careful lah.

Hi Catherine,
My gynae dun recommend to push it more than 2 weeks. So, I've decided to stick to the original 1 week plan unless baby decides to come out earlier la.

Surprise that your gynae still allow you to push another 5 days earlier. It also depends if your baby is of good size ba.

The others who are going for C-section, how much earlier have you all scheduled your C-section date to be?

Good morning mummies

Celyn
Hang in there and be strong ok. Hope things will go well for you. If you feel bored just talk to us : )

hisstory
reg the muslin cloth: The material is not those easy to slip off kind.. its abit like those diaper cloth material but softer..so I have no problems with it. Just drap over the shoulder and it is quite intact one.

Krex78
Same.. I feel those got flap ones abit tricky so in the end I tend to use button front tops.

Birth jitters
Even second time mummies like me also having birth jitters. Every birth story will be different I guess so I also feeling quite kan chiong : p Dunno how long I will take this time. My first one I got difficulty pushing my boy out.

Krmeow, Faraekim
I got this philips model :-
http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/en/sg/consumer/cc/_productid_SCD361_00_SG_CONSUMER/Analogue-monitor+SCD361

Celyn,
KK is not abit Kiasu, they are super kiasu. So different from NUH. NUH only gave me a 1 day MC for the day after I waited from 10am-4pm to complete the entire check when I had bright red spotting. Dun ever go NUH.

For KK, I had only brown discharge and got admitted for 3 days ok. AFter i got admitted, no more discharge then they die die oso refuse to let me go. The staff nurse says if i go, they wun take responsibility and will NOT give me any MC ... u see la, threaten me .... so i had to die die stay there for 3 days.

Worst, I dun have laptop, cannot chat, do postings .... heee, u good oredi la. Just rest and rest so that the pregnancy can be more stable.

After i discharge, they gave me a 1 week MC. Furthermore, i had only started a new job like 2 months before that .... i felt so bad but no choice la. Anyway, it was a good thing that the company is vv good to me.

Before I got this job in the middle of my pregnancy, I had coffee session with my ex-boss cos I told him I got preggie immediately when i knew it. He actually "headhunt" me to quit my previous previous job to join him and i told him i was going to plan for a baby- he said no problem, u can even work from home. But few months later, I got preggie and he knew, on the very day he had coffee with me and gave me ridiculous quota and milestones which he himself cannot meet. It was terrible but I manage to pull through.

Anyway, in short, we have to be strong for ourselves and our baby. It'll affect the baby so think positive and look forward for a better day ahead.

Celynlee

This is scary. Hope all goes well with you and your baby. Tell baby to be good and stay in there for a few more weeks.

Gosh...I also never really monitor about the movements...as long as I feel the movements every now and then. Think better ask my gynae tonight.

And thanks for the link for the monitor.

Anyone knows where is the best place to get baby monitor? Those big dept store? Maybe I should check with Winnie of Cheong Choon....

medusa15,

shint,
hahah... super kiasu. maybe they are, i was ask to come back on sat for ctg check again if i'm discharge later. then tues, come back to see gynae.

Krmeow
No problem : )
So far so many mummies have said cheong choon is cheaper.. Maybe you can check with them. I bot it at one of the neighbourhood shops near my place last time @ $99 and recently got it for my sil at kiddy palace for $100

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>
thanks for the detailed address for the crab's place
. hee...i already gave the addy to my hubby.

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
how r u now?
u r such a brave mommy! u sound so calm. that day when i was admitted, i was so worried. Furthermore, you case is more serious as your contractions was regular.
but good news is ur baby is of good weight now. My gynae said 2.5kg is the min. safe weight, babies that size no need to be in those special care unit when delivered i.e. should be able to go to the normal nursery.
but of course, i hope ur baby will stay in ur tummy for couple more weeks ;)
Let's both jia you ya. I also everyday tell my baby to guai guai stay in mommy's tummy until at least end of Jul.

<font color="0000ff">Jvenus</font>
hubby don't let me go out coz i kenna pre-term labour contractions couple weeks ago, was even admitted to hospital. Then kenna another episode last week. Thus, hubby wants me to stay at home and not go out unless necessary

krmeow,

mulberry,
i'm fine now. i'm thinking as long as pass 8 months liao, even deliver now should be still ok loh. at first only worried that baby is below weight but after knowing that baby is 2.5kg liao, so no more worry.

i'm going to call confinement lady soon to tell her and also check if she is able to come out or not. she just went back to malaysia about 2 weeks ago loh, scare she can't come out when i deliver. need back up plan.

celyn

Yah man, i dread the other person/ppl who share the room &amp; are inconsiderate.. How many more weeks to 36/37 weeks?
Dun worry too much k? My sis had to go c-section due to high blood pressure &amp; my little niece was 2.5kg at birth. Thankfully she had no health problems with her light weight at birth

jvenus

I quite like their burger.. The meat patty is very juicy *yummy*

rata

Oh, so not dependent on whether u've made a booking anot.. Nvm lah, no choice! But so much of a coincidence, my colleague was just commenting this morning tt maybe hospital charges wld go up soon *tsktsk*

medusa

okie dokie.. I shall take a look sometime soon! Hope I'm skillful enough to make it stay in place &amp; bb wld not be too active &amp; tug at it *heehee*

hisstory,
i'm at 34 weeks now. another 2 - 3 weeks more. i'm not really worry, just wonder if true labour and contractions come, will i know or not. hehehheh.....

huichin,
thanks. will rest more.

I was just looking at the Baby check-list I got from Taka, and wanna check if all these are necessary and what is recommended.

1. Baby Transparent Soap (already got bb wash)

2. Natural Sponge

3. Baby Oil

4. Baby Lotion (I already got nappy rash cream)

Also I remember some of you recommending California Baby products...which of the products are good?

Thanks for your help!

celynlee,

sorry chatting halfway got to go. mil ask e to do alot of DIY of furnishing today. i'm so breathless now............

hang in there, all of us here are cheering you on!
get as much rest as possible. leave the rest of the baby room setting up to yr hubby. tell boy boy, no need to worry. mother nature and dr will make sure he can come out safe n sound. no need to rush, hehe

morning ladies...

celyn,
oh dear, pls take care and hope you will be discharged soon! Cheer up
Come in here to chat with us. Hehe

M2B,
ya, go ask your gynae if you can get MC, then you can rest at home. I felt so tired after I had two late-night appointments already..

vone,
thanks for the advice on bb flipping! Heh, you must have had a satisfying meal with your crabs. hee... I don't dare to eat crabs now, feeling abit heaty and uncomfy.

jvenus/cat,
wow seems like both your gynaes said about the same thing. I was at Hock Hua with my mum and then I just asked if they do the placenta processing. The sales assistant said no, but he commented eating placenta got benefits. The Western medicine and TCM views Conflicting huh?

yuuri,
so it's kinda true that cannot let bb's head lie on the same spot, else get the bald patch.