(2008/08) Aug 2008

yup, Catherine.. My eyes were wide big when gynae said the expected weight is going to be in that region. goodness! I dun really take sweet stuff must have been eating a lot of meat, expecially beef.. today hubby suggested to go eat durian, I am like " oh my.. still eat durian? ".. though it is "bu" but will be too much..

any mommies also have a baby head size bigger than expected?

snow

U're right, we're in the last lap.. Feeling sm anxiety as D day approaches.. Lifestyle changes & many other things to learn *scary*

twin stars

heheh, i think most HBs are like tt.. My HB's veryvery quiet most of the time, but he is full of funny antics when he's with me. Sides which his parents never know of as well.. kekeke

shint

I bought the Ameda as well

vone

Thanks for volunteering to take over the updating of the table

LC

Welcome!! Hmm, did ur gynae advise against natural? If not can still KIV till closer to EDD & then maybe discuss the option again? Guess if natural is not possible, at least u can still get mentally prep for c-section, rather than emergency c-section

little twin stars,
All the XO and Dom are gifts from relatives and hamper so use up all that time. Now still got some XO from this yr CNY.

Shint,
I am using Ameda since 2 yrs ogo, so far no complain. How much bought?

avocado

During the use of the Ameda, how often did u have to replace the valves? I was reading fr one of the threads here tt they are rather fragile and must avoid cleaning with the use of microwave or excessively hot water yah?

hisstory,
think hubby behaves like a kid in front of us as they are so comfortable that they show their true self

avocado,
no wander, but yr hubby don;t feel wasted to use such ex liquor instead of rice wine? i wander if other liquor can use too. but i think i have enough liao. hubby don;t drink liquor only wine n beer so i will also use my xo lor

Shint (shint): I am most prob getting Ameda as well. Heard it not as noisy as Medela & its cheaper!

LC: Welcome here!! Wow, 3.7kg is big! And don't eat durians now unless you want an even bigger baby!

Oh This "Diaper cake" is something new! so cutie :p

Oh last Sat, i tried to dogde a flying cockroach, then relexes too fast, i bent down. After that I nearly couldn't walk. Think I have strained or hurt my pelvis muscles or what. so Pain Lor, lasted 2 days liao. haiz nw still can walk But very, very slowly. Can't toss sideways at all on the bed, too painful.

Any mummies experience this kind of pain? near the 'V' area, between the thighs>>? Super pain when standing on 1 leg or during walking?

woke up early this morning.. that's why u see me here.. hee

vone,
thanks for offering to update the table. BTW, you going for another checkup soon? Hope you and bb have gained good weight for your next checkup!

ratatouille,
wow... another 3 more weeks to go for you. Excited? hehe, do show us pics of your baby when you pop!

shint,
me first-time mummy and I bought Ameda too. I got from mumsfairy during the Mar Expo motherhood fair. THink I remember some mummy said Ameda is a closed-valve system, i.e. no backflow.??

LC,
wow your baby is on the heavy side. is your baby boy or girl? I think they say if eat durian will make the baby bigger wor... I think regardless of the weight, it's important to have the proper nutrition. Sometimes, bb's weight is genetic.

gayle,
the diaper cake looks Soooo CUTE!!!!
I want too. hehe.. my friends also asked me if want to have a baby shower. I v kuku, asked, what's the difference btwn baby shower and full-mth celebration. Then they told me. hehe

Catherine,
I got your email on the placenta processing. Hmm... if DIY, looks like I have to discuss with my mum, else later mess up the house.
BTW, did you get the cloth diapers in the end?

good morning ladies

twin stars

U're most right abt tt
My colleagues think my HB's really shy, but i tell them, it's a facade!

gayle

Tt's such a cute pressie!
How are things with u?

valval,
oh dear, seems like you strained your waist/back. Better walk slower and don't make any sudden movements to aggravate the back. Maybe if you don't feel too gd, go see your gynae to get some MC to rest at home.

I don't get the "V" pain, more of the pelvic area ache near the butt.

morning ladies!
hope everything is alrite for everybody today.

mulberry
thx for the info, will try to write to the merchant if we are buying bow next spree. =)

shint
replied ur pm liao.

twin stars
no leh, even this time gynae also never want me to count base on timing.
he said as long as bb move 10 times per day, its normal liao.
but sometime when my minnie get abit of emo, she might not wanna move so much also lor...as long as she still move...hee hee....

vone
so nice of u to help updating the table.
dun mind help me update, my minnie is 1.84kg @ 32wks.
thx.

LC
welcome to this thread.
those measuring machine might not be 100% accurate most of the time, so dun worry too much yet ya?
i heard 1 of my small build friend deliver a 4kg bb naturally before, so have confident in urself okie? =)

hisstory
most importantly, u must be mentally prepared that infant can cry for nothing at nite.
they might be easy during day time, so make sure u nap abit during day time when they nap lor.
i can't imagine going thru sleepless nite all over again.... -_-"

valval
me lah, pain all the way from v till butt.
but my yoga instructor said its normal for 2nd time mummy, cos our joint tend to strech wider than 1st time mummy earlier lor.
think maybe as we get older, need more calcium ya?
cos i dun experience that pain during 1st preggy.

LC,

my bb head is very big too..so dun worri abt it...but my friend delivered 4.2kg bb naturalli so u can still do it!

hey Rata
Thanks for doing the updates and Vone for taking over the baton

aiyo..very soon hor..was telling my hb tt i am getting scared again..dunno ga or epi..

valnsw, no lei now in my 36weeks onli so still got 4 more weeks. Last week check, baby head not yet engage so not so soon. But I am getting real tired recently no matter how much i sleep still tired. hahaha

Gals, How r all of u. Hope everything is smooth & fine ya

snow

Thanks for the encouragement.. I must pray tt BB wld be those easy type, cry little & can sleep for long durations at night *cross fingers & toes*
My mum's very supportive & wld be helping me for confinement & prob all the way till my elder sis pops in Dec, so am really hoping I dun get all too stressed up..

Must also pray tt BB doesn't fall ill, coz they cannot tell us what discomforts they are feeling.. *headache*

megan
u mean ur gynae haven get u to decide on ga or epi for ur c-sect?
mine gotta let them noe before i book c-sect date leh...hmm....funny.

rat
u worry ur gal overweight not healthy, or u worry she is too big size to be born naturally?

hisstory
ya, 1 of my friend's son can sleep like dead log at nite. -_-"
u r lucky to have mum living in with u leh.
tat time i gotta face it alone as a new mum, and simply dunno why my gal keep crying non-stop.
i fed her, changed her, shake her in yao lan...still no help.
then my sis came and showed me a way to cuddle her, then she shiok shiok get back to sleep.
they will settle down by 3rd-4th mth, when they got used to the env outside. =)

rat
my friend told me not to worry, she say that force will come naturally when its time. =)
as long as u dun have any injury like me, sure can 1.
the only issue is how long will ur episotomy that is the problem. =P

morning mummies.

so sad this morning, i fail my first blood glucose test. this is a first time i fail, sob sob.... i think for today, can't cut down to 4 times. better check the full round to monitor the result for the rest of day and hopefully its the kuey teow wanton soup that cause the high result this morning.

ratatouille,
ya, i think now at this stage, will get tired v easily. no matter how much sleep, feel the fatigue.

snow,
Now you got me thinking about the episotomy... Fear the pain and especially if cut too close to annus.

morning all, just to let u know that carrefour having bb sale from now till 13 july. don't think i wanna buy anything from there but just let u all know just in case u need to stock up on bb essentials.

btw, mamy poko finally got offer for NB diapers. bought 2 packs of 56 yest at NTUC. is that too much? how many diapers does bb use each day?

Hi celynlee,

would like to check why you fail your first blood glucose test? Do you take kuey teow wanton soup and take the test and fail? And what do you mean can't cut down to four times?
I went to my gtt last week and aft taking the glucose drink my sugar level was unable to go down alot aft the 1 hrs test. So gotta bring back the device to do a full day test at home.
Can check with you how does the whole things work? Does it check to see if we eat more sugar stuff and carbo the sugar level will zoom up or to check whether our body can break the sugar level for a certain time? I quite confused! My gynae told me cannot play cheat, cannot purposely eat healthy when doing the test. But what does if today I eat more sweet stuff? Does it mean will be not accurate? Hope you can help!

annlee,
i fail ogtt test so went for diet course. i was loan the machine back to do our own test to due.

if you eat lots of carbo or sweet stuff, your result will be high cos our system slows down as progress in our pregnancy and the insulin secrets is not enough to break down all the stuff we eat which cause the high glucose content in our blood.

yah, its better not to play cheat lah. try to keep all meals standard and not just good on test day. but once in a while, i do take sweet stuffs on non test day. if your result for the test day fail, then record down what you have eaten so that dietician will know the reason and can advise you on what to do.

for me, i have been getting good results with the new diet, so i was given permission to cut down my 7 times a day check to 4 times a day (once a week only). today supposed to be the first time, i go on 4 times a day. but this morning, i had kuay teow wanton soup and milk, then my result after 2 hours turn out to be 8 which is fail (should be below 7).

so i write down what i had for breakfast and when dietician see, she know why is there a high result. the dietician did told me that my result might be higher from now compare to the last month as i progress into my pregnancy.

sorry for the long post. i hope this is clear.

Thanks Twin Star and Rata.

Last few days I was reading through the childbirth and breastfeeding books from TMC and I suddenly got very freaked out by everything! At first very garang want to go for natural birth and breastfeeding...but when I read about episotomy, labour process and all that, suddenly break out in cold sweat!! Yest at the antenatal class also, when they were showing the videos of various pain relief, I can just about imagine the needle going through my spine (and breaking) and my hands went numb! Then I suddenly tell hubby I wanna go for c-sect liao..but then I scared I go for ga will never wake up again!! haha quite stupid lah.

Then when I read about breastfeeding, see all the pics of cracked nipples and some white blister thingy, feel so painful and suddenly don't dare to try liao! Sigh...hope I can get over this mental trauma.

celynlee,
Thank for clarify!! Not long at all, don't say that.

I was told only to do 4 times a day once only. I got no dietician to tell me what to eat or not. Only my gynae tell me to do the test. I quite a health conscious person and see what I get ha...
What is your score for gtt test? Mine is 5.2, 9.8 after glucose drink and waited an hr and 9.1 after an hour break. Very bad right!!

Hi, Ladies

Thanks for the welcome note and encouragement..
I am expecting a boy (hopefully wun change again cos I was told I am expecting a baby girl by Gynae then become a baby boy when come my detailed scan).. Gynae not against natural birth.. but I guess it is myself who is getting paranoid, especially knowing the head size is bigger. Episotomy seem cannot be avoided. I guess I will need to tune myself to be also prepare for C-section if need be..Wun take any durian liao lar..

Coconut drink - Neighbour is advising me to take coconut drink once a week till full term.. but i am skeptical, dun know is it too "liang". what do you think?

South - Is your baby already south with legs on top?

well...think i am overly liang liao cos i hv been drinking too much barley....

hey Yuuri..think its the last min nerves hehe cos I had tis problem now also...last min paranoia fears...after we all deliver...we will be so proud of ourselves..wat our NS men go thru will be nothing hehee..or at least wat i told my husband

Hi, Yuuri

I know what you mean.. I am also watching one of the documentary show on labour.. and the woman is standing while giving birth.. I broke into cold sweat too.. goodness! I also tell hubby the same thing that I wanna go for c section. But then hubby reminded me of the blood loss, the long recovery period, cannot do massage, cannot slim down faster etc etc.. I still stick to natural birth as the first choice..

annlee,
mine for ogtt is about 4.2 then 9.8 after 2 hours.

if you have no dietician tell you what to eat, then how you know what you should control. your results might not be under control too since you don't know what need to cut down. i was actually surprise to know that that we can't eat wanton noodle and hor fun. thinking hor fun is a form of kuay teow, it should be ok but no leh. then did your gynae told you what to cut down?

Rata,
Are you excited? Still 4 more weeks to go?

Any 2nd time mummies give birth in TMC? Do you all book the rooms first> If so, what will be the right time to book the room?

Dear cindy

Your gynae will book the room for you.
Me at 32 weeks, my gynae already ask me to fill up the form and pass it to the receptionist at first floor. During the day on my delivery, she said we dont have to fill up. You might want to check with your gynae.

Good Morning Ladies

Got a good news :D Been to gyane last saturday.She said I would most probably have a normal delivery which I wanted. I have booked A1 ward at KK. Was told that for TPS you got premier package only.

Dr told stick to whatever your doing now as my sugar is in control :D She didnt advise me to cut down on number of times i prick myself
Still got to do once every week for 7 times.

Even though i lost weight, baby has gained from 1.25 kg to 1.8 kg in 2 weeks

Please help me in updating my baby weight:
32 weeks - 1.8 KG, EDD 30th Aug 2008.

Celyn:
Dont worry it could be one of those bad readings.

Hey Nini,i oso same as u leh! Always feel hot ALL THE TIME! And hor, if i walk abt doing some tidying at home, i will sweat already! Goodness...so scary! LOL. But it's not something i like loh..wat to do rite. And somemore i'm aredy a person who sweats alot prior to becoming a preggie woman! Bleahhh...in ofis i oso on fan..then my colleagues they all will start wearing their jackets haha..

Little Twin Stars, Hahaa i oso wonder if my circle of fren become smaller leh..sure one leh. Esp. when ur priorities has changed after giving birth...and most of my good frens are still not married yet. Goodness...compared to them, i'm more 'zao shou' loh. Hahaa..i pat tor earlier so settle down earlier! LOL. For them they're still like cannot find their Mr Right, so fate's not here yet. Haaha

Snow74, ok ok i will try to visit here more often theN! haaha..abit hard to do tt cos at home no computer (actually have but abit awkward cos it's my hubby sis one and it's in her room. LOL. So i take it no comp loh. Haha

Hi Celyn,

I submitted my glucose test last week to Dr Ben Tham. Lucky he said overall ok. But I shouldnt eat chocolate / can drink :p.. hee hee.. being naughty for past weeks. My result will shoot up to 9 if have chocolate, sarsi, durian, coconut drink. So, scary. Btw, outside food may contains more sugar ah that cause your sugar level so high...

Dear LC,
Welcome!
Your boy is rather big. Yeah, you may need to check your diet else you will have difficulty to give birth if you choose for natural. Nevertheless, dont worry, your gynea will check the progress
Just enjoy your pregnancy time
I start drinking coconut drink per week if possible. Not too often, should be ok...

celynlee,
ya lor...no dietician and gynae did not tell me what to eat or not, or maybe he wants to see my result first before he can go ahead with anything.
And also that'w why I quite confuse and ask you whether if eat more sweet stuff today and dothe test tomorrow will it affect the result? I've been eating my standard food on weekdays but not weekend so think is better to test on weekdays right?
Hor fun is actually very fattening, high in sugar in the cravy so that why I think is not suitable for us. Oh yes...you eat alot of kway teow?? I have been eating alot of kway teow soup for lunch on weekdays, oh no... thought kway teow is suppose to be healthy unlike those wanton mee or starchy stuff. Maybe kway teow is made of rice and rice=carbo.
And I also think outside food they add alot of msg that also causes the sugar level to zoom up.

carolynn,
you also high in sugar level?

BTW Mummies, anyone good brand of baby bathing/skincare products to recommend? Duno which one is gd and got so many different choices - i only know J&J / Kodomo by default only. Haahaa

Huichin: hahahaa..Ya..=) Especially in the middle of the night, i feel like a heat stove! Gosh!!!!!!!!!!

I tried another pre-natal massage yesterday by a traditional malay massage. Quite good n she got massage my neh-neh n tummy.. she gently massage my tummy (stroke la) n say bb head is where, butt is where etc..kekeke.. then she 'moved' bb to a more comfy position but after she left, bb keep moving n twiggling back to his original position... hahaha

Hi Ann,
Cos my father got diabetic now and have the device,so gynea just ask me to check 1 whole day for 2 weeks.

I recalled that once I eat the char siew rice, the sugar level shoot up. Think might be the gravy or the marinade ingredient.

snow

My frens are also 'warning' me tt only by 3rd - 4th mth will things become better, the bb's routine also gets more settled.. Can't wait for tt day!

Btw, i was at my antenatal class tt day & they showed a video of natural delivery & was taken from frontal.. So freaky!! Bt I was telling my HB tt I always had the impression, tt it's the pushing part which is the most painful, but after the class, i think the worst pain is enduring the contractions till it's time to push, coz the whole process is so veryvery long..

huichin

My sis told me to get Lactacyde.. There are 2 versions, one for female usage & the other's for bb
I know of frens who use Gaia.. It seems generally bb dun have to use till 3 mths