(2008/08) Aug 2008

mousse,
heheh.... my next appointment is on 16 july. will let you know if i need more. how many did you buy? enough to last you till deliver? my friend pass me another 23 strips that she had, so i have enough to last another 4 weeks but definitely not till deliver.

mousse (mousse) ,
the downpayment is so much higher than TMC 1 bedded. TMC 1-bedded is $1200. But after discuss w hb, I decided to take 4 bedded at TMC instead first and see how if that day want to upgrade or not and to see if bb is safe.

celyn,
the test strips come in a box. forgot how many liao.. 50? hmmm, anyway, cant use all also cos my 'prick-finger' thingy left less than 50. always use extra cos din prick properly..

avocado,
waah, tmc's down-payment cheaper than kkh? actually my hubby was complaining tt it's quite ex, but i reminded him tt i'm alr saving $$$ for him by opting for natural birth. then he LL shut up loh. sometimes must resort to this kinda tactic. hee hee

hi Mummies
its good to hear and share our stories about maids and hubby here...at least i know im not alone and not the only one thinking differently from my MIL and hubby

i think i am the only mummy here who is super depressed ...suddenly before i slept yesterday...i felt so sorry for myself that i burst out crying...

there were so many things that was going thru my head...the maid issue, how my MIL treat the maid, how my MIL will treat my bb next time (with the maid experience, i keep thinking things are going to get worst with bb next time), my dad (some $ problems he is going thru), how i wished my mum was till around ( she passed away last nov, was thinking if she was around to emotionally support me, then i wouldnt feel so lonely and helpless with my own problems and my dad's problems)...plus how i am going to cope with bb next time...
just felt so upset and so sorry for myself...then when bb started kicking me...me felt even worst cuz me like bad mummy who keep getting upset and depressed..

YLN (doll_puppet) ,
remember happy mother=happy baby. Try to remind positive.

Now my only problem is scared my #1 very jealous and naughty and stick to me like glue till I cannot latch my #2.
Today I have a bad dream and wake up crying. I dream my #1 very sad after I give birth cos she feel neglected and I cry as I feel very gulity too. Think I think too much liao.
I WILL MISS HER A LOT WHEN DELIVER AND STAYING AT HISPITAL.

hey YLN..

i emphathise with u..cos when i had my first bb, i was super emotional..always crying..at work, at home, lock myself in toilet and cry till my hb has to find key to open toilet door...i noe it can get tough..but thats what we r here for..to be the support for one another...

Chin up!

mousse,
i see. me too, there are occasion that i prick liao no blood at all, got to re-prick again. heheh...

yln,
don't think too much, try to stay happy ok. don't keep things to yourself, try talking to your close friends, maybe it will help.

M2B,
thanks for your concern. Now is just cooling period between hubby and me. We will talk but only when necessary. The whole matter will blow over.

YLN,
oh dear, hugs for you. I can understand how you feel now. You're not the only one who's super depressed.

The past week has been emotionally draining for me after the "argument" I had with hubby. There was a dispute over something which I felt I needed to let him know my take on it, but I did not want to talk to him face to face as I know we will end up shouting etc. I didn't want the shouting as I did not want to break down in front of him and some more in my parents' house.

Anyway, unknown to even my mum, there were few nights when I also felt so sorry for myself that I cried. The only good thing was that I was sleeping in my brother's room which is currently vacant, so at least can cry in peace.

Like you, I also felt bad that why I had to get myself depressed and then cry, then affecting baby.

I guess it is easier said than done, right now, I'm just looking forward to baby's arrival. She will be my bundle of joy, who will at least put a smile to my face. And there will be a lot to look forward to. At least my mum is eagerly looking forward to my baby's arrival.

Perhaps you should start preparing for your baby's arrival? Maybe you can work out a schedule for your maid to help out with your baby? Just some suggestions to keep your mind off unhappy things.

Have you also talked to your hubby about your depression? If he's the understanding sort and cares for you, you can share your concerns and worries with him.

If you need a listening ear, I'll be glad to lend you mine

Hi mousse (mousse)

Are you PR or singaporean? Cos I think I paid either 1.6++ or 1.7 for A1 too... Heard Singaporean should cheaper.

Is your gynea station in KKH or u just transfered frm other hospital.

Morning All,

Ward Booking:

whenever i ask my Dr at kk, she says wait dont do know as you will end up spending more money. Not sure what to do. Whether to book now or wait for Drs instructions.

YLN

Hey there, dun say u're a bad mummy.. We have our emotions & surpressing them wld also be bad for our bbs too *hugs* Just cry it out if u can't take it k?

But i think u need to tell ur maid in the presence of ur MIL tt she ought to wait for u & HB to return home before she eats. I think tt's courtesy, if not respect.. Unless u've given her instructions, otherwise

val

Keep ur spirits up too.. Agree, now look fwd to the arrival of ur little one & count on those who can render ur support.

snow

*sigh* Man are sometimes diff to fanthom as well.. If we dun inform, they may say we dun consult them. And when we do, they say we are over-reliant on their opinions.. Gosh!

happycat

Hmm..Sun's coming soon!! *heheh* Anyway, must treasure these moments while ur boy's so attached to u. Usually when they hit adolescence, they wld withdraw fr mummy & daddy

Btw, u staying in 1 bedder? If ur boyboy sees tt, he may also want to stayover yah?

thanks mummies for comforting..its really nice to be able to share and at least u all will understand...

Valnsw
i know what u mean when u say to be able to cry in peace..sometimes u just want to cry and let out all the unhappiness without letting anyone hear or know...just some time by yourself...i also try not to cry in front of hubby...else he will be worried..but last night was perhaps the bursting point liao...nothing much triggered it..just felt really sad...hubby was by my side , holding my hand all the while...i guess he knew there was nothing he said or do that will make me feel better..so he just let me cry..after half an hour of me sobbing...then he ask me what happen..by then, i was feeling better, so i told him what i felt and what was going thru my head...he did try to give some objective advice...but i guess ultimately, i just need to let it out and i know, the 'problems' that i have need time and a strong me to overcome...the problems may still exist and there could be no solutions, but like what u said, as long as he can share my concerns and worries, and be a listening ear..i think it is comforting enough for me..i just need to be strong and stay happy..

Hi Luvlel,

Usually my appointment is on Wed evening, but the ward booking is during office hours. Thus, after check with the counter, not even check with the dr, I have make the booking on last morning visit. :p Dont want to make another trip in the am session just to do ward booking. We may need to make the payment to activate the booking

Cry:

I understand that we all feel kind of sad now a days. It happens with me too. I get up at night to go to toilet and after that I am really sad thinking about everything not pleasant. Then I realised I need to be in positive state of mind as it would affect my baby too. Then I started concentrating more on my baby when these thoughts come. The moment I start doing it, I tend to feel better.

Sharing with everyone as crying is not good for us and i read at babycentre, it may actually trigger labour.

Think positive and think about the Baby.

YLN,
I'm glad to hear that you feel better now. I guess right now, because you have alot of things on your mind, plus all the preggie hormones, it makes you more emotional and prone to crying.

Just remember, there will always sunshine after the rain

Even though I had a terrible last week, things now starting to cool off between hubby and me, so things will slowly get back to normal.

Anyway, as what Megan said, we are all here to help support each other. You are not alone in this. So cheer up!

luvlel,
for room booking at kk, i understand we can downgrade when nearer if we want to. as long as we do it before admission will do.

carolynn,
my appointment at kk is also wed evening. but i make my booking after gynae's appointment which is at around 7pm+ to 8 leh. why do you need to go back during office hours to make booking?

The + point abt giving birth in pte hospitals, the BCG is on the butt. All the public hospitals are on the arms so leave a scar.

Hi Celyn,
I have been told that the ward booking is at another dept ler and only during office hours. So, i did it on previous trip lor.

Btw, when is your next app? Mine is 2nd Jul, about 7+

carolynn,
my next appointment is on 16 jul. i'm still go on monthly basis leh. i did my booking at private suite itself leh. immediately after making payment for my 32 weeks appointment, then i was referred to the next counter where you sit down and the nurse brief us on it. hmmm..... don't know why got different practice.

According to the book, "The frist three years", the author recommends 3 to 3 and a half years. At 3 years, the child is more independent and has other distractions beyond home e.g. school. For close sibling relationship, the gap should not exceed 5 years. Gaps two years and below are generally more difficult because the elder one generally may not have learnt to express himself verbally yet.

sign....mine is below 2yrs old when #2 is born

YLN, cheer up ok! We all have ups and downs. I know it's easier said than done but try to think positive.
船到桥头自然直

valnsw, I sent the link to your hotmail, did u get it?

avocado, I tot 2YO gap is good! Wanted to have 2YO gap but didn't make it.

Jvenus (venus) ,
Heard of Terrible2, my girl is now in the state of terrible 2 and I am worried how to handle and terrible 2 and a newborn.

Celyn,

Think private suite should have special arrangement. May be the lady served me not experience enough. Anyway, after the appointment, I like to rush back cos is tiring

Yeah, now I also see gynea once a month.. Good, save cost :p My gynea is Dr Ben Tham, you?

hospital stay:
how come must pay downpayment? for mt a, i just completed a pre reg form and they didn't collect anything. i think downpayment only paid upon admission as they can't guarantee the room avail even though i already indicated i want single.

Carolynn/Luvlul/Celyn,
After my gynae appt yesterday afternoon (ard 2+), i was referred to counter 13 at the admissions office where i was briefed on the different options available. That's when i decided on Class A1 ward and made the payment.

carolynn,
yah, my gynae also benjamin tham. i thought we should see him base on 2 weeks now. anyway, i will be 36 weeks on my next appointment liao. he will discuss on the pain relief for labour with us.

YLN, Valnsw,
welcome me to the 'sobbing' club!
me oso haf been feeling extremely depressed over family issues..been crying everyday..
some more i haf problems falling back to sleep when i wake up to pee at 4am everyday, and start to think/worry abt the possible problems i will face when bb is born.
but everytime after i cried, i feel so guilty and bad to my bb. oso starting to get worried whether i'm having pre-natal blues and slipping into depression..

actually i realised dat sometimes we jus need hb to give us a listening ear, to hold us and reassure us dat everyting will be fine.
His mere presence of being there for us, showering care & concern speaks louder than words.

YLN,
re: maid, my mom's maid oso v good life.
she wears the zara, mango and esprit clothes which i passed down to my mom.
she oso gets an old handphone passed down from my dad, and i got so pissed, cos i told my mom, maids don't need handphones. jus becos she's sad dat her hp (given by her aunt here) is spoilt doesn't mean we haf to compensate her wif another one!
to them, they jus give since those tings don't mean much to them. but u hafto explain to them why u feel otherwise.
1) communicate to them abt the different expectations of how u want ur maid to be treated (afterall it's ur maid. if she is 'spoilt' then u will haf problems dealing with it later.)
2) set general guidelines for them to follow.

in any case, don't hold it against them, cos they meant well too. old folks do tend to be nice to maids i realised.
tink of it tis way: it's better for them to treat ur maid well than to ill-treat her rite? ;)

re: Booking of hosp. room
I know for tmc, downpayment is not necessary.
Jus fill up pre-admission form will do.
btw, anyone knows whether we could downgrade the room if there's any delivery complication, etc?

ReiRei (reirei) ,
No, cannot downgrade anymore if we have book our book during delivery. It apply to both gvt and private hospital.
That is the reason I opt for 4 bedded first. Anyway will stay there for 2 days only and I do not want hb to stay as I want him to have enough sleep at home during nite time and once discharge he will be very busy with bb stuff.

hisstory,
Ya. Me counting down. Can't wait for him to be home soon. Too bad my boy dun really miss his daddy...hahaha... He is more sticky to me nowadays cos' I sleep with him lately. Big headache when come delivery cos' will be opting A2 ward.

Avocado,
my boy also in terrible 2 now. giving my dad big headache lately. Dad said he is "vomiting blood". hehehe... But my boy is afraid of me cos' I'm the discipline master. Funny thing is that he sticks to me like super glue and no one else... *faint*
He knows who to bully... dad, grandma, grandpa but not mummy.

jvenus,
Nope, I did not receive any email from you. Ermz, in fact, I don't have a hotmail account leh.. :p
You can PM me the link. What is the link about?

reirei,
thanks for the concern. I guess we ladies got to be strong and stick it out. I kena leg cramps last week, yup and tend to wake up middle of the night, not able to go back to sleep properly.

Now I'm feeling more moody, maybe I guess it's our internal system allowing us to vent out all the emotions/frustration.

Anyway, I think when baby comes, we will be too busy and tied up to even think of all these already. haha

happycat,
sama sama, I fierce with my girl when she is naughty cos I am also the discipline master, but she now she sticks to me like super glue. She can wait for me to finish bath just standing outside the bathroom door. so worried hw she react when didi is born.

avocado,
me too. sometimes when my dad carry my baby niece, he will tell gong gong carry him, po po carry mei mei. Worried how to breastfeed with him around. Oh, have u prepared a present for him from didi? Was told to prepare one so that the elder one will not be so jealous of the younger one.

happycat,
not yet prepared, thinking of doing it this sat. Still duno what to get for her cos she got so many toys liao.

Yeah, I am worried how to latch #2 if she is jealous and sticky. Latch is very imp to mantain milk supply for the first 2 mths

Ward Booking:

I got my appointment on saturday at TPS-KK. Lets see if they offer me the package as I am 31 weeks now.

Planing to take A1. Hopefully should be able to get it.

YLN/valnsw/reirei,
Gals, try to think of the positive side ok. Else later develope pre and post-natal depression which not good!!! Whenever you cant control please come in here to let go your emotion and I believe listening to the MTBs advice when make you feel much better! Try not to cry la, not good for yourself and BB.

avocado/happycat,
My boy also at terrible 2 now. I really headache dunno how to disciplin him le? whatever he wants he will insist till he got it and he is super duper sticky to me! I cant even go toilet or take shower, he will cry till I am out. I tried soft and hard method on him but both not working

Avocado,
I will deliver at TMC but they never request me to pay the downpayment le, only need to fill up the form which I did it few months back.

Re: Booking of delivery date, time and theatre
My gynae told me that unlikely I am not able to have natural birth coz my gal is gonna be big for my size (I had c-sect for my boy that time coz also too big for me). My EDD is on 15 Aug and I have requested to have the c-sect on 8 Aug. Gynae initially dun allow me to book the date but I told her that day is quite popular coz 080808 so at the end she bo bian have allowed me to book the date and time. But then I have to pay ard $500+ for gynae fee and $200+ for theatre booking, total ard $800+ for that date. Despite I have made the booking, I always have a feeling that I will not deliver on that day lo and will deliver earlier than that coz nowadays always have BH contraction.

Any of you have book the date for delivery? can advice the charges?

cocomo,
my first born was a kkh, now second born at TMC so I am not sure if they will ask for depsosit first like KKH. Thks, so now I know the pyt is during admission.

valnsw,
you want the link for the people who process it for you or you want the link on how to process it yourself ?

avocado,
ohhh .. ya baby believe it's the twin of the baby tats why they bury it. Lucky i giving birth before 7th month :p

celyn,mousse,
ya yesterday i had to prick 3 times then got blood.. was thinking maybe i low blood already :p

YLN,
dont feel sad .. i know it's easier said than done. Sometimes i feel very sad and depressed too. Cant help it. they say baby will feel it but really cant control it. find something to do to occupy your time and mind.

YLN,
yesterday i type so much to u then forum hang

m glad u re feeling better. it;s true sometimes we just need to vent out so we can move on. i was telling hubby, i always hear pp complain about maids or mil etc. but life still goes on, they complain but they still keep their maids or MIL ( haha ) ultimately, we just need a listening ear, once we vent, we feel much better n that we r not alone.

mil: i told my maid to vacuum the hse, she tell my maid not to. sigh. ( then i can;t go against mil's order in my own hse or she will throw temper ).........that i can;t deal with now with a big tummy n backaches. can;t wait to get rid of my mil after i deliver ,hehe

cocomo,
so gd, u manage to get yr date

anemia:
2 wks of eating steak every sat n black chicken soup once a wk n 2 bowls of durian paste n my baby's weight spring to 2.6kg today!!!!!!!! OMG i'm 34wks, 2 or 5 days.....

ctg:
did the strap today, so uncomfortable sleeping on the back, i was moving n changing positions non stop. my baby's trying to kick the strap off my tummy as well. haha

i hv just managed to book the theater for 0808 in the morning
at Gleneagles...I am praying real hard tt i can make it then..that my boy dun come earlier!
now is making sure i secure the 1 bedded room...

update on my week 35 gynae visit:

Baby's weight = 2.6 kg (gained 781 g since week 32)
Mummy's weight = 56.2 kg (gained 1.5 kg since week 32)
Total weight gained = 8.5 kg

Getting worried now cos my gal still in breech position at week 35... gynae say her weight is good at 2.6kg & that I have to go for C-section if my baby dont turn around by week 37... still got 2 weeks to go... i told gynae that i have been doing the "cat" exercise everyday but duno why she is not turning yet... gynae replied that sometimes there is a reason why she is going against the forces of gravity... she measured my baby's head circumference & exclaimed that her head is now at 35cm, a full term baby's head circumference... i looked at the monitor & the scan weight suddenly jumped to 2.75kg & the no of weeks jumped to wk 39+... she said my baby follow daddy's big head & chubby face... oh no... previously scared that baby is small due to me taking long term ventolin & tried to eat a lot of buffets, chocolate, chips, durian, cakes, ice-cream & birdnest etc... now seems that baby is too big for my size & maybe not possible for normal delivery... so sianz...

So far, I have been preparing myself to go for natural delivery & have not thought about C-section yet... I asked my gynae what are the pros & cons of epi versus GA C-section? She mentioned that if I'm that kind who cannot stand the idea of being awake while being cut up then go for GA but then HB cannot be with me...

Decisions... decisions...

YLN,
do cheer up... we are at our last lap aledi... i know it's easier said than done... better dun let it develop into post natal blues ok... i got friends who got post natal blues & didn't want to carry baby after delivery

re: hospital admission
no need to pay any deposit at GlenE... can pay upon actual admission...

twin star,
wah, yr baby also grown quite a lot... strapping to the CTG machine is extremely uncomfortable hor... can you imagine to be strapped to the machine for 5 hours in a row? I developed depression while in the hospital due to this machine lor... everytime strapped sure kena contractions... once the straps removed, dun feel anything...

Avocado/twin star,
Booked the date but really I hope I can actually deliver on that date!!! Worry my gal cant wait

Krex,
I am super duper small size one!! last round my pelvis bone not big enuf for my boy's head to engage so bo bian need to go c-sect. This round gynae expect my gal size approx the same as my boy's so she said 80% chance not able to go natural.

Megan,
Did you pay additional on the booking fee for both gynae and hospital?

dongle,
ur bb is of a very good weight. I heard that force the bb to turn not advisable due to the cord. Trust your gynae. Still got 2 more weeks. whatever decision, bb health first.