(2008/08) Aug 2008

Jvenus,Valnsw,
ya thats the link about the service provided. But personally i feel that there is no assurance that the returned processed placenta will be mine. So I decided not to engage their service. I looked through the process and I think other than the cleaning part which you have to be more careful, the rest is quite straight forward. My mom say will get the maid to clean it and she supervise. Dont think advisable to keep it frozen for long.

Send you gals the link on how to process later

Megan,
im also those very scared of pain kind... injection or draw blood still can cry some more... just scared that duno i can mentally take it if go through epi C-section...

catherine,
i was telling my gynae yesterday that i didn't expect to go for C-section unless emergency (no choice) cos the recovery process for C-section is slower... she said it's not neccessary cos nowadays medicine is very advanced... she mentioned that if go natural & cannot make it then go for C-section is much worst... plus she say if go for normal birth & kena long labour, the recovery process is slow too...

catherine,
ok will check my PM later for the link. The thing about cleaning up one's placenta is I also don't know if I have the guts to do it and how messy it will be doing it at home.

Re: birth procedure
wow, some of you have thought whether to take epi or GA. I still totally blur... I'm hoping to do natural without epi but wondering what's my threshold of pain..haha

dongle

wow, ur ger has really grown a lot! tt's gd.. BB's of good weight

happycat

A2 ward is 1 bedder huh? Sorry ah, I'm blurblur

twin stars

Why did ur MIL tell ur maid otherwise abt vaccuming the hse? So weird.. I think the maid can also feel conflicting instructions & may become a bigger problem in the long run. U're not going to have ur MIL ard after u pop?

val, u're so fast. i'm getting my cot delivered in mid july. dun plan to decorate so soon. still feeling lazy about washing bb's clothes, heehee.

catherine, when u do c-section, u can choose between GA and epi is it? if u use epi, that means u'll be fully conscious during operation?

valnsw,
u wanna do natural without epi?!!!!!!!!!!!! ( i bow to you ) haha.
i wanted to do c sect so i can be knocked out and vuala....baby is out liao. but i;m scared of the pain afterwards

history,
hubby has already told mil she is not going to stay with us. right now because i have a need to be "fed" she is here to do jus that. after i deliver, she wants to stay at my hse with the CL as she is the one that employ her and she is paying for the confinement with my mom! i can;t chase her out right? after that, back she she goes to her home. i am jus afraid about the confinement........like if i get into post natal becos of her.....now i jus give in to her n let hubby handle her. my poor hubby, have to handle the maid n his mom n listen to my nonsense all the time!

mil said jus now, my maid is very gd, very polite n listens to her and calls her to eat before everymeal. i "ren" only. i wanna tell her. this is my hse n my maid, but right now, i am really limited as i am getting heavier

twin stars

ooh, thankfully ur hb has made his pt clear to his mum.. Otherwise u will be doubly-stressed!! hmm, since u've got the CL, u prob listen more to her than ur MIL, so *cross fingers & toes* tt u wun get into post-natal depression k? This CL was recommended to ur MIL by someone else yah?

Nvm, since popping date is drawing nearer & nearer, u can also countdown to when u can 'call the shots' regarding ur maid.. *ren*

hisstory,
these few days i've been arguing with hubby over mil. sigh, i am shutting myself in my room most of the time to avoid conflicts at the moment lor

valnsw,jvenus,
i emailed both of you already

dongle,
ya actually one of my gf she went for natural and she actually couldnt walk for few days cos she say her legs still shaking from the pushing.. haha. so recovery i think it's very individual loh.

krex78,
ya for c-sec you can choose epi or GA. For epi you are awake throughout the process. heard you can actually feel them cut you up and putting their hands inside you etc. just that you dont feel the pain.

re:maid
aiya .. everyday got something to headache. She really drives hubby nuts.hahaha. today cos hubby making burger for me, so he told her to keep the rest of the ingredients cos not frying anything. Cos my mom want to eat instant noodles, so only me and hubby eating the burger. After she keep all the ingredients back into the fridge, she cooked rice. I ask her why you cook rice for when already told you not cooking. Then dono what excuse she came up with, initially say she dono. Then she say she cook her own rice. I ask her how many cups she cook. she say 4. I say when 4 person eat you cook 4, you alone eat why you cook 4 ? she say she cook for dinner and tomorrow lunch. I say ok . I see how you going to finish.

Yesterday hubby made papaya soup, during lunch I told her scoup the papaya back into the pot cos I dont want to eat. She look at me, say yes and then walk back to the kitchen, I call her back, ask her if she understood me. She look and me and smile. I said put the papaya back INTO the pot. She thought I wanted more papaya from the pot. I want to faint. I really dono want to keep her or change her. Hubby say she not only stupid and slow.. she got no IQ .. hahaa

Snow74 ,
I hope #2 do not deliver earlier than #1 cos I do not want a premature baby.

krex78,
There will be a gyane standby if our gyane on leave.Gynae fees still the same. That what happen to one of my friend.
M2B,
Think I will ask gyane for 1 week HL before I pop, but I am not sure when I will pop leh. Why dun u ask for HL instead of HL?

dongle (dongzzz) ,
some pp try natural even gyane against it, in the end go emergency c-section and ended up kena 2 parts also pain. Also experience natural + c-section pain lor.

Good Morning!

Dongle,
Thatz my close coll’s opinion after trying both epi and GA c-section. =P

Twin Stars,
Dun argue with hb over MIL and maid issue ok? It will just stressed you up more.

Catherine,
Haha, think there is communication blockage btw you and the maid man…language barrier?

Avocado,
Yalor, think if gynae will give me 1 week HL before popping to rest or not...if yes, then I can save my own annual leave and also start ML later. =P But I think not all gynaes are "generous" with MC/HL lor...

catherine
i think most maids will just say 'yes' to everything, even if they dun understand, my maid also...then when i realised she dun understand..too late liao..damage done already...my maid is worst...very rude..instead of saying 'yes', she will say 'ya'..'ya ya ya'..

leave:
do u know if we're allowed to take MC then ML? my friend says under MOM law, if u take MC like 1-2 weeks before EDD and u pop bb w/o returning to work, the MC becomes ML. under what circumstances can we claim HL? we won't be in the hospital mah, so no hospital bill to show for that 1-2 weeks.

labour:
anyone planning to deliver w/o epi? i dun plan to take epi also, unless i really cannot tahan. now thinking what other options i have. maybe drink more raspberry tea. thinking of using the TEN machine but quite troublesome, must loan from physio dept before going into labour, and it's hard to predict when that will be.

morning mummies...

catherine, i share same issue with the maid...everything quiet ok but dun understand..and though hardworking, cleaning not very clean..end up rework...keep grilling into her tt if she dun do well, hv to re-work..tts more labourous..sigh...for a fili..quite blank

i threw away many things these few days cos need to make room for new things right...can see she wants them...new m&s bra but too small liao..she ask can keep? i say no..cos i feel undergarment better dun let them hv it..even clothes etc..i just dispose...like one of u say..if she thinks throw away stuff she can hv, she may take next time w/o asking...

megan
yes, thats right...cannot let the maid think that things we dun wan we will give them, my maid also kena spoilt by my MIL and SIL..things they dun want, they give her..lucky yesterday my hubby nagged at my MIL again..yesterday, she give 3 shorts that was never worn to her (again!)..then my hubby kind of like scold my MIL, say wait the maid expect all unwanted things from us to be passed to her..very bad habit...

krex78,
I think you need to check with your HR. I did check if i can go on MC or HL before I deliver with them, HR say can. So maybe different company got different practices.

avocado,
U have to choose a unexciting corner in your house. If misbehave, bring the kid and ask him/her to stay there. If move, bring back to the same place. Duration depends on age. 1 min for every 1 year of age. When time up, go get him/her and explain to him/her what went wrong. Rem to give a hug. Initially there will be struggle but goto be consistent. Kids dun like to be left alone and be ignored.

M2B,
Ya lor. Still trying to shed my prev preg weight. Now pile up more. Luckily no stretch mark if not even worse.

hisstory,
A2 is 2-bedded. Not intending to ask hubby to stay over cos' I will be on total BM. Nurse will bring in the baby every 3 hours to feed through the night. Hubby need to sleep well so can take over in the day.

happycat,
I try that on my girl next time. I normally ignore her when she throw temper till she stop when she know her FAKE crying does not help. Now she become a nagging old woman, keep repeating words again and again till we must answer back the same again and again.
Yesterday she having nitemare agin and hb commend maybe my due date nearer. She wake up calling "where is mummy".

Went for my check-up yesterday, and my baby is 2.2kg at 32+ weeks. doc said that my sugar level too high and i think it is due to eating too much durian as my baby weighs less than 1 kg @28wks that worried me.
Have decided to go on GA C-section on 12 August .

<font color="0000ff">cat, valnsw,</font> I've emailed u the contact number of that mummy if you interested to contact her personally to address ur issues.

<font color="0000ff">cat,</font> get the maid to clean? err... i scared later she spoil it how?

<font color="0000ff">valnsw,</font> u can check with her if she can refer u to anyone who has done before.

<font color="0000ff">dongle,</font> by which week baby must turn? i nvr take note of all these leh.

<font color="0000ff">m2b,</font> wah, write down in communication book? i also catch the 9pm show sometimes. my hb and me getting lazy leh. even emails (on normal matters) he also sometimes dun reply. ha!

<font color="0000ff">twinstar,</font> my first confinement done by MIL. stressful. hopefully this one i get CL will be better.

<font color="0000ff">cat,</font> the way u describe ur maid so funny. (i know u pek chek lah). how long has she been with u? if very long oredi still lidat, then no point keeping lor. will nvr change.

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>, i also hope dun hv to take epi which was why i tot of going for hypnobirthing. but can tell hb wasn't too keen and gynae say epi cheaper. haha. so will see how lor. basically, u hv to remain relax even though u feel pain, then cervix can dilate. a matter of mind over body. but easier said than done lah. unless u get silent contractions.

<font color="0000ff">happycat</font>, sounds like supernanny advice! hehe.

happycat,
we also thought of where will be the naughty corner for baby liao. heheh.....

any mummies who had pre-term contraction before advise, where should we feel the contraction, at the side, below of tummy? is it only at a place or anyway on the tummy? must it be accompanied by tightening of tummy? if the pain is still bearable is it consider contractions?

YLN (doll_puppet) ,
going 34weeks liao and no swollen yet.

celynlee (celynlee) ,
I feel it is like very bad menses cramp in the beginning of contraction.

any mummies know if I can stay 1 night at hospital instead of 2nights @ TMC for normal delivery cos I stay only 1 day @ KKH for my first birth.

happycat,
Me put on so much for this pregnancy thus sure have prob shedding the extra weight and fats after birth unlike the 1st pregnancy...really worried man...

Jvenus,
The writing of feelings in the notebook quite nice I think...maybe will try that out...heehee

For my hb, I sent emails to him although sometimes he doesnt reply, but his actions after that tells me that he already got the message liao... =P

YLN,
My ankles will swell sometimes at the end of the day and the next morning ok again liao...

avocado,
bad menses cramp is always in the middle lower tummy. so if i feel pain at the side of tummy, its not really contraction loh.

Been having leg cramps in the morning lately, super painful!

Jvenus (venus): MY gynae told me that by 34 weeks, bb should turn down alr.

Avocado,
For TMC, I think it is 3D/2N for natural and 4D/3N for c-section...think itz a package...

I hope it is indeed easier to shed the extra weight and fats man.

celynlee
for my preterm contractions, it was like menses cramp at the lower abdomen part...and tightening of the whole tummy..very uncomfortable ...can quite painful ...before i was on medication for the contractions, my cramps and hardening lasted the whole day, making it difficult even to walk..

hisstory,M2B
last night when i reply hisstory, my hubby was argueing with me while i ignore him n typed. he even looked at wat i typed and ask me why am i provoking myself. at first i forgot about this issue as he brought me out for car ride n supper and to get some stuffs. but later on i realized we have not settled the prob ma

anyways, i have come out with a solution. since mil has nothing better to do and i have dome most of the training with my maid. from now on, i will give instructions to mil to tell the maid wat to do for the day n inspect her. so i can go to my room to rest. don;t bother liao. it's time i enjoy this type of life instead of her! let her do all the inspecting. i will make her "supervisor" m sure she'll be more than happy

maid:
yesterday was the first time we left our maid home alone!!! no choice mil going home last night to settle things and i needed to go somewhere too. we didn;t tell her what time we will be back. when i came back at 11pm, she open the door for me. we were shocked, we tot she went to sleep liao. she also made my bed. hubby say, wah, like hotel service. anyway all the important and valuables in the hse has been locked up so there is nothing for us to worry except we better install camera fast cos we really wanna go out sometimes n just leave her at home.
hubby say why can;t we have a bigger heart like the expats. they don;t care wat the maid does, they just wanna see results. that's all. the maid can sleep at watever time she wants as long as she finish her duties etc and everyone has their own freedom. ( those expats can just go for holiday n leave the hse to the maid, the maid can even go to their pool to swim in the evenings man )
to my hubby, he thinks as long as the maid knows her place n does her job, he don;t care.

catherine,
my maid when she doesn;t know, she will give me the blank face n still stand there n look stressed so i know, ok....demo time. my hubby also tell me, sometimes dunno if she understand or not. wat to do, they r still new i guess. but yr maid shld have ask u for permission to cook rice for herself too. i will scold her if i were u

my swollen ankles are quite bad now i cannot even wear my sandals with the strap backing...must wear the open open kind of sandals..sigh...

avocado &amp; yln,
thanks for your info. i'm so worried that i'm having contractions now. from your info, i'm glad, its not contractions.

jvenus,
getting mil to do confinement is a BAD IDEA ! just give birth, sure very "mang zhang" then u cannot order mil around. diff man.

walkie talkie:
my hubby wants to get me n the maid one lei. he say so i dun have to leave the bed. jus use that to call the maid. it will come in handy during confinement as well when i am recovering from wound and cannot get in n out of the bed just to walk over to call the maid. next time can use as a toy to talk to baby when she grows up too. hehe

good morning all!!

twin stars
*hugs* Dun argue liao k? Gd to hear u've kind of identified the solution of telling ur MIL ur instructions.. Heheh, then she wld also be quite happy having the supervisory role

Ignore ur HB when u're angry.. reduces opp to say hurtful words

Walkie talkie sounds like a gd idea!!

happycat
Oh 2 bedded wld be gd, heheh, then more likely ur DS wld be able to understand tt he can't stay in hospital. Agree, ur HB also needs to rest coz he wld have to be more on the ball with taking care of ur son

celyn
I had some preterm contractions, tt was when I was abt 25 weeks *i think* The pain was located at middle-lower tummy like the menstrual ones, bearable but long-lasting.

How's the intensity like for ur pain?

hisstory,
its pain but still bearable loh. but its not at the lower tummy, mine is at the side and sometimes near the joint of tight and body (is it the pelvic bone). its will last at most 10 mins or so.

recently, i feel very suan on both my legs.

little twin star

lucky u locked up ur valuables..i forgot to mention, last week, i went out in the morning, i left my tag heuer watch box in my room, but i had worn the watch out...then when i returned, (my maid was alone in the house the whole morning), i realised the box was tobaleh..and the inside box where i put the watch also tobaleh..i found it so strange cuz i wouldnt obviously inverted the box when i kept it..then i realised it could be the maid who have opened it and looked inside...i didn't approach about it, cuz it was quite obvious she took it out and looked at it (could be she was curious)..i decided then i will buy a safe and keep all my valuables inside...

avocado,
same her. my boy will keep asking the obvious qn like "where's mimi(mummy)?", "where's mei mei?", etc. I will try to indulge him cos' in no time, he will not be interested in having a conversation with me liao. By then will be his frens and even gal fren. Who's mummy... hehehe....
My boy also having nightmares lately cos just start him in childcare last week.

Jvenus,
Ya. I have read some of her books and tried her method cos' my boy has very high pain threshold. Capital punishment sometimes dun really work.

celynlee,
wow! that's fast. I will just take 1 step at a time. Hopefully by then my boy dun have to go to the naughty corner.

M2B,
*sign* me too. Even gynae commented that my weight gain is faster compare to prev preg. Of course prev preg I suffer from GD so on control diet. Eat very healthy and some portion. Now is like no govt, anyhow eat.

Swollen feet,
I dun have then yet.. keeping fingers crossed. If like prev preg, I suffer swollen feet only after delivery. Funny right....

Did u gals feel breathless at all time. I feel I can't breath like asthma like that and getting out of chair and sofa need so much strength. I never experience that for my first pregancy.

celyn

*hugs* Maybe the slight expansion of the pelvis to prepare for labour.. I think I read this in my antenatal class's notes. I check if i can find the info tonight &amp; if there are any ways to relieve the pain k?

Anyway u know of to help reduce the achiness of ur legs? Will raising them while u're seated help?

Mummies, any advice on how many towels should i get for bb on the average? ANy difference between terry-hooded towels or the normal ones?

YLN: hahaa..even though i dun have much water retention in feet, i aredy started wearing slippers (super comfy + non-slip type) quite some time ago! Lucky my job dun really restrict that. hehee..

happycat,
hheheh... cos there is once, hubby was sitting at that corner. then i told him, that will be baby's naughty corner in future. i know about this naughty corner from a friend and also see it being used where the naughty student will sit there with a teacher explaining to him/her on his/her naughty behaviour.