(2008/08) Aug 2008

little twin stars,
I decided to drink this week as I am in my 32weeks tomorrow. I also start to drink in my 8th month during first pregnancy and my bb was very clean when out and I found no blood when nurse immediately put on my chest after birth.

m2b
ai yo, take care ah.
ya, now we can't take much liao as bb inside is getting bigger.
but now dun eat hor, might need to wait till x'mas celebration then can eat a cow again liao leh. =P
maybe we can arrange a x'mas gathering then.

u noe of this shop Bloom?
their gal gal dress also very nice leh...hee hee...

mousse,
i only bought the beddings without the towels. why need to buy blanket, it already come with comfortor mah.

snow74,
thanks for organising the sprees. i send you my order liao. heheh....

little twin stars,
i'm thinking better start washing before my hubby go back to work. if not, with both of our clothes and baby's stuff. sure no place to hang. at least, hubby at home and sun the clothes and dry faster loh. cos when both of us work, our clothes hardly get the sun.

twin stars and avocado
beside bb skin will be cleaner at birth, u gals noe what other gd thing about drinking coconut drink har?
thx.

celyn
saw it, and ur order inside my doc liao. =P
hee hee....greatly appreciate ur fast response, i have more time to consolidate. =)

snow74,
no problem. very free now. so can surf net. boss not in today. hahhahaha......

little twin stars & avocado,
drink coconut drink only or must eat the flesh?

snow,
really? ok , will check it out
yaya, shld arrange for x'mas to Pig in! ha

M2B,
oh i know which one, i like tt too but i didn;t like the cols lei. how come no black n white col play pen

navy blue is a gd choice beige will get dirty easily

avocado,snow, celynlee
sounds like many swear by it. ok, will look out for stalls to try liao. now start with once a wk first right? chendol n bobo chacha consider or not? hee
about the flesh i dunno lei

twin stars
ya lor, should arrange x'mas gathering...hee hee..
cos me more or less cfm gotta c-sect liao, so 12wks after deliver not advised to eat seafood.
if go buffet or things like that with such restriction, wasting $ ya? =P

so me next wk also gotta start drinking coconut water liao....dunno downstair got sell or not.

Catherine,
Hope things are better between you and your mum. Things will cool down after some time ya? anyway, your hubby "compensated" you by getting your fav durians. hehe

snow,
I'm looking through the babymallonline website. Will get back to you again.

M2B,
so goodwood park hotel's buffet wasn't that good? yday I also cannot sleep well, til 4am still not asleep. Maybe it's cos of the wedding dinner I ate and bb was kicking like mad..

avocado,
how many coconuts a week can take starting from wk 32? Any particular type of coconuts that can take?

Snow74,
Think beside clean, we are cooling down our very heaty body now as we are in the 8th month.

celynlee,
I drink as well as eat the fresh.

little twin stars,
I only get to take it during weekend so I will start with once a week first. If by 36weeks I still not pop, I will take it twice per week.

valnsw
if u are busy, take ur time.
can send to me tmr also. =)

avocado
so our body is actually very heaty inside now ya?
green coconut is those big 1?
sorry har, cos never take coconut during preggy before. =P

little twin stars
hey...its good to hear that ur new maid is doing well...new maids tend to be very forgetful ..so u must be patient..my maid was very forgetful in the first 2 weeks...now in her 3rd week...much much better liao..but my maid has a bad habit...cuz she goes over to my ILs place quite often to help...and they dunno hoow to differentiate treating a maid..they give her everything!..food also 2-3 helping...unwanted clothes also give..and somemore will watch TV from 5.30pm-7pm! EVERYNIGHT!...its not that i want to mistreat my maid..but i think food wise, we the employers should set aside a portion for her , and not let her take any amount she want...clothes also...now only 3 weeks...her 'new' clothes so many liao...i already told my ILs not to give her anymore things..and i also told my maid im not happy with her taking things...there was once...she actually open her mouth to ASK my MIL to give her 2 old t-shirts@!..and she kept it in her plastic bag and never show me and hubby...until the next day, when my MIL told me...i straight away go home and told her off liao! i told her i was very unhappy that she never show it to us...which was the least she could do...out of respect..she kept apologising..sigh..

now she will still ask for extra food and watch TV at my ILs place..and im trying to close an eye lor...as long as she do her work and help my MIL...i think some things must close an eye...work wise..she is good...so..nothing to complain in that sense...

yesterday i was in a super moody mood...hubby went out whole day..left me alone at home..maid was at ILS place..me was either sleeping or watching the boring TV..wonder if its the hormones..but i ended up crying ..sigh...had the feeling like i had no one to talk to ....cannot really blame hubby for going out cuz wekends are usually the only time he can relax and catch up with his friends..but somehow felt so neglected lor..then when hubby came home in the evening...he was bz reading newspaper and watching TV and then ZZZZ....!..

avocado,
ok, will hit the hawkers this wkend for coconut drink

YLN,
ya, new maids are also very slow besides forgetful so i close n eye but still monitor her. i know what u mean about parents setting a diff standard. i sent my mom out of the kitchen as she was teaching my maid to hang kitchen cloths all over my kitchen cabinets n also gave her 3 in 1 coffee to drink when she didn;t even ask if my hubby needs to drink. my poor hubby left w/o breakfast or drinks. this part i need my mil to teach her. i forbit her to watch tv. but i think my rules n reg are not really ready, need to get it up soon. i pass her some clothes i do not want cos she has very little clothes but i told mil not to give her. set aside n mayb give only during x'mas or so if not it will b a habit to them. i also very angry when my mom tried to over right me to tell her how to use my mop!!!! i told her, this is my hse, dun ever argue with me how to use my own mop! but in mandarin la. also becos my mom's standard is very messy n diff from me. so i do not want the maid to pick up her bad habits.

maid woke up early n did find things to wipe w/o us telling her. so we'll see how it goes. cos i;m also trying to set a standard for her. so i also want her to be flexible and find wat works for us as well.

i think this wk i will be like u cos hubby will be away leaving me with the new maid

snow74,
just wanna check how long will it take the stuff to be shipped over? Is the 20% discount on top of those slashed prices shown on the webpage?

Paiseh, just checking and see how much budget I have? :)

little twin stars
wow..u get one kind of standard from MIL, your own mom and yourself..tough hor...i find it very stressful lor...espe. have to educate my MIL to not spoil the maid...my MIL everything also want to do herself..wash clothes also do herself..she say she scare maid dunno how to separate the coloured ones and white ones...alamak!..this one can teach maid wat...sometimes i hear the reasons she give for not letting the maid do things very infuriating one...the maid is there to help her..not there to watch TV lor!..if maid dunno , teach her lar..wah..i think i not only must be patient with maid..also must be patient with my MIL!

Twin Stars,
I only drank coconut during the last week b4 my induction for my 1st pregnancy…dun know when to start for this…

Snow,
Yalor, eat liao like very kang kor at the chest area thus felt better after vomiting out…true, now dun eat, then after birth must diet liao…sob sob

Hehe, for gals, a lot of nice clothes hor? Last Sat we went Square 2, oso saw a shop selling nice gal gal’s clothes, think from Korea 1…so tempting man but coz hb with me so never see…hahaha

So when is your c-section? Which week?

Twin Stars,
But the beige one looks nice on the pic lor but my gal wana blue her fav colour…hiaz, wonder is it for her or meimei man…somemore can tell me after the lady demonstrate how to assemble that she knows how to assemble liao and will do it for meimei…OMG!

Catherine,
Sometimes I understd how our parents (moms) can really get on our toes…sometimes my mom oso but I close 1 eye/ear or both…hahaha

Valnsw,
Goodwood Park Hotel dim sum buffet was ok, quite good but the durian stuffs not nice lor, given its price…

At least you can sleep late but I got to wake up at 6.15am in the morning yet kena disturbed sleep and my bb oso kept kicking…hiaz

YLN,
I think it is hormones lah, dun be upset ok? You are right, our hbs oso need their time out with friends lor, can’t expect them to always be with us. :p

YLN,
for my mil i dunno how she will treat my maid yet cos tom then she's coming over. bit i already briefed her and mil will listen to me n will just guide the maid cos she's not the hardworking type so she will def let the maid do the job. it';s my mom that i must monitor~!!!!!! she wanted to buy new bed sheets for maid n say the bedseets my mil gave smells........i smell it n can only smell moth balls...so i told her, the sheets are clean, only put too long in cupboard! like tt u also wanna wash for her n buy new ones!!!! now she is clearing out things in maid's room to give her an empty room to sleep with her personal bed and drawers only!!!!! i scolded her man, told her not to spoil my maid like she did to my bro's. she always complain about my bro's maid asking her for things when she is the one that spoil them in the first place! now i'm busy monitoring my mom n maid! wa lau, mom giving me more work man. think maid hear me scold my mom, she must be scared of me. mil on the other hand cannot scold, sigh!!!!!! tom's another battle

M2B,
i see u have a little helper liao ,hehe, gd wat, yr girl offer to help. next time she will also help to take care of mei mei for u one :p

avocado, why u wanna pop at 36 wks? isn't it premature? if i wanna pop at 39 or 40 weeks, can i start drinking by 38 weeks? i dun wanna pop too early. hoping for an aug bb

krex,
I do not want to pop @ 36wks, I was saying if still not pop by 36wks, I will drink coconut twice pwe week. Now I start once per week. when to pop is within our control. Like my #1, waterbag burst at 36w

Twin Stars,
You mean I have a little kaypoh? heehee, yalah, my gal wants to have a part in everything...hope she will really help to take care of meimei man...

YLN,
I think Snow needs to opt for c-section coz of her slip disc problem.

Snow,
I sent you my order liao and this time I have many of what Twin Stars ordered the last time rd...hahaha, sunglasses for the gals. :p

Snow: I just ordered from bbmall from another spree! Ok, will check if there is other things to order... Kekek...

Yah nowadays very difficult to sleep, today woke up at 630pm & couldn't go back to sleep till one hour later. Super disrupted sleep!

Hi Cindy (mrslow),
I check frm website & make the list.. but u can get it frm Taka too..

If you want in Excel spreadsheet can pm me: [email protected]

Newborn Baby Checklist

A) Larger items: Qty
Infant safety seat/baby capsule for car transport 1
Stroller/pram 1
Rain cover for stroller/pram 1
Moses basket or bassinet for when baby is first born 0
Crib/ cot ( see hints under Reduce the risk of SIDS) 0
Baby bath tub 1
Tub net 1
Baby Change-table 0
Diaper bag/Nappy bag including change mat 1
Night light 1
Very comfortable chair for night-time feeding 0
Baby cot 1
Mattress 1
Protector 1

B) Diapering
Disposable) or (Re-Usable)
2 pkts Newborn size 2 pkt
Wipes – disposable or washable 3 pkts
Baby ointment/barrier cream to prevent rash 1 bottle
Pail for soiled diapers 1
24 cloth or re-usable diapers 24
Whatever you will use to secure the diaper, e.g. snaps, Velcro, safety pins 12 pcs
Waterproof protectors – depending on the type of re-usable diaper you choose 0

Bathing supplies:
2 Soft washcloths 2
2 Soft towels (with hood if preferred) 2
"Baby bath" solution or mild soap and shampoo - also OK 1
Baby hair brush and comb 1
Baby nail scissors or clippers 1
Baby massage oil 1
Cotton wool balls 1 pkt
Cotton buds (baby ones with one end enlarged so cannot be pushed too far and do damage) 1 pkt
Bath thermometer (optional) 0

Optional accessories:
thermometer 1
Digital 0
Pacifiers /dummies 0
Nasal aspirator (ear syringe can also be used) 0
Sun shades for car window 0
Bean pillow 1

Clothing:
6 Onesies (lightweight, short sleeve, poppers over diaper area) 6
4 Sleepers/Grow suits (long sleeve, and legs, with poppers opening over diaper area – weight depends on climate) 4
6 Pairs socks or booties (booties tend to fall off all the time) 6
5 Baby Sleepers or nightgowns 5
Newborn hats (depending on climate 2
2 Washable bibs 4
Cardigans (depending on season) 0
6 Singlet/sleeveless vests/undershirts - for hotter climates 6
Outing clothes (preferably don’t have to be pulled over the head) 4
3 Receiving blankets (lightweight blankets) 1
2 Swaddling blankets (cotton or muslin) 0
2 Blankets (according to season) 1

Feeding:
Breast pads 1 pkt
V-shaped cushion 0
Breast-pump or something for hand expressing – including containers for expressed breast milk 1
Sterilizing equipment (Microwave, Electric, Chemical or boiling) 1

Bottle-feeding
6 bottles and 6 nipples(teats) 4
Nipple brush 1
Bottle brush 1
Salt for cleaning nipples(teats) 0
Formula (check with your Health Care Professional re which one) 1
Thermal bottle carrier 1

Period
Disposable panties ( 2 weeks) 30 pcs
Maternity pad - 5 days supply 20 pcs
Night time 1 pkt
Day time 1 pkt

sorry ladies, so hungry just now and log off to eat downstair....hee hee....

avocado
got it, thx.
will start my coconut drink adventure next wk onwards.

cindy
it will take almost 3 wks from the time u order, some time can be earlier.
that will depend on how fast the merchants can pack our orders and ship to vpost.
yes, 20% on final price. =)

m2b
if c-sect, normally its on 38wks.
gynea always believe 38wks is the best wk to deliver 1 leh, this is told by my friends.
if 38th wks, should be 8th aug lor.
got ur order liao...hee hee...then just let both of them wear the same thing during 1 of our gathering lor, should be very cute. =D

yln
can said so, medical reason.
i hurt my spine as a school basketball player before, and this slip disc keep relapsing this preggy.
pain till walk also difficult liao, if so lucky hit during delivery then there is a risk of paralyse.
2nd reason is my minnie is still in unfavorable position till now, and she got no intention to move after so many wks of monitoring.

storeberry
no problem lah.
if really nothing to buy, then dun overspend okie?

Hi all MTBs...

My edd aug 1st,am in my 33wks 3 days, last weight of baby taken on wk 31 was 1.5kg, is a mickey.

been feeling very tired lately and my hands get very stiff in the morning...its getting worst, think doc mentioned too much salty food?

i also just bought my cot last last wkend at babykingdom for 319 w/o mattress or bedsht.
think the shop at chinatown selling cheaper cots and strollers.

was reading that we can start to drink coconut now, is it advisable ? since it seems too early ?

also can we color and treat our hair now that we are in our last trimster ? sorry for the many qns.. 1st time mom to be..

anyway nice to pop by and say hi .... hope we will all have a smooth delivery in aug.

Snow,
Just back from my gym, having wholemeal bread for lunch today...

08 Aug is a nice date, my hb was asking me any chance that my bb will come out only on 09 Aug...hiaz, he thinks it is very easy and relaxing to be carrying a big tummy for so long leh...I asked him "give birth on 09 Aug got $ to take hah?"...he replied "easier to rbr mah..." hiaz

I aldy find the weight getting abit unbearable liao and he still wana me to tahan past EDD...siao!

M2B,
pass edd got danger leh, scared bb poo inside.
I think it impossible for me to get a 080808 bb cos only 4days reach 40weeks.

Catherine,
Dun be too upset, k? i'm sure ur mum still cares for u (jus like our love for our bb!)..
it's probably the hot weather dat makes pple get agitated easily..
re: gynae package, i tink u've got a v good deal for ur package..soo good!
btw, i've PMed u oredie..thanks!

Twin Stars,
Why u can't wash ur bb clothes yet? bantang?
HK lamp..rem u mentioned dat many mths ago.. :p
if it's authentic Sanrio prdt, then $80 not dat exp i thot..

Snow,
Thks for ur offer of the Desitin cream..

I got secura liao leh..hb said will try dat first.
Wah, u soo nice to organise spree again! "Back by Popular Demand!" heheh..
Btw, 1 qn: Does vpost charge oni 1 base charge for all ur merchants?

snow,
thanks for organising another spree! ill take a look and pm u once i have the list of things i wanna buy, thanks!

lil twin star,
can share what u bought from previous bbmall spree that is good to buy?? thanks!

N i was also discussing w hb over wkend if shd get a maid. Gave up the idea in the end, cos we still think we prefer our privacy. Then i got to work harder lor. Hopefully it would mean shedding e pounds easier after birth!

Catherine,
the scan v blur le, but like u said, can see the cheeks chubby kind. Its good mah, i also prefer bb chubby, cuter! But hor, luckily u dun haf to pay for it. Im gonna go for mine next wk, imagine if i pay 250 and get blur blur scans, faint man.
I also gtg for my GD tests this wk liao. Scared scared. Had durian again over the wkend! Hopefully i will pass.

Re: sleeping position
Anyone sleeping on their backs still? Read frm couple places tt its not good to sleep on our back when preggy cos disrupts circulation or sth to bb.
But I cant seem to sleep on my sides these days. 1stly cos of bb position, think always horizontal. When i lie on my sides im like squashing him, cos he will tend to start kicking me then i cant sleep. 2ndly, after sleeping on sides for a while, my waist gets v achy.

Joanne (jolim10) ,
I sleep mostly on the side as when I am on my back, my backbone very painful with the extra weight on my bone

joanne,
i'm used to sleeping on my side. never comfortable on my back. so its not a big problem for me. yes, baby do kick a lot when i sleep on my side. what i do is use a pillow to support my back, so in a way, i'm lying at 45 degree. once i'm asleep, i will auto sleep on side again. not sure if you know what i mean.

good luck for your gd test.

snow
i c...so when is your scheduled c section date? did u purposely choose an auspicious date?

my bb has been always on my right side..so my tummy always look lopsided...dunno why also...sometimes can feel the dunno hand or leg pushing all the way to the right side of my waist..very pain...sigh..dunno what my bb doing inside...

I oni got 3 sleeping positions:
1) Most of the time I'm at 45 deg (jus like ceyln. i use a pillow to support my back)
2) lie flat on my back (no backache so far..*touch wood*)
3) on my left side (can't sleep on my right side cos my right thigh will do numb..dunno why..)

carolynn/celynlee,
Wah, the lists that you both provided are really comprehensive leh.. Thanks ya.

Joanne,
Im still sleeping on my back, trying to rotate between the sides as well. Read somewhere that if you wanna sleep on teh back, best to have more pillows to that the strain on your back is minimize. Baby will be resting on your back if you sleep with one pillow only.

snow,
yippee, another spree, will pass u my orders by tonight.
i oso hope to have an 8th aug baby. think by that time i will oso b 38wks, hopefully bb will fulfil my wish. hehe. so have u arrange yr date for c-sec?

joanne,
The nurses did tell me previously that lying on the side is better for the bb. N I've oso read frm the bk that lyin on the side will allow max flow of blood n nutrients to the placenta.
But too bad i can't seem to lie on my side for too long either. waist get achy too. So i try to alt between sides n back durin my sleep

Re: sleeping position
thanks for ur sharings cos ive been trying to sleep on my sides till recently on my back, so was starting to feel bad abt it since i read qutie abit tt preggy shd sleep on sides.

Dear Joanne (jolim10)

We should sleep side way aft 5 -6 months onwards. Sleep flat will reduce the blood circulation to the placenta, so bb will have less O2... You choose either right or left side with pillow at the back like what celyn metioned.

Dear Celyn,
Sometimes feel the more I walk, the heavier tummy is... So, hee hee sometimes lazy to walk.. but must walk for exercise purpose :p

carolynn,
i don't find it heavier just feel very hard loh. i do need to take about 10-15 mins to have lunch and back. last time, can walk there, eat and jalan a bit. now after lunch must walk back liao. if not will be late. hahahha....

i do try to walk a bit after every meal before i sit down to rest. yah, must exercise. that's why i go for yoga class every sat now. forcing myself to exercise. heheheh......