(2008/08) Aug 2008

YLN,
We got the turtle souvenir too and we bought the oil burner from the souvenir shop too!

krex

Hmm, not tt I know of.. But i might be wrong. They do sell sanitary napkins, but coz tt time not preggie, so I also didn't pay attention if they sold those for maternity..

Catherine,Yuuri,hisstory: wow u all so good..buying babycot. My hb feels that babypen is more practical...sigh. Cos we dont have our own house yet. So when staying at my hse, or his hse..the playpen can move around or what...

Snow: Ya could be depending on individual's body. I also been drinking organic vege powder supplement so i dont know if that helps. Cos the lady boss who sold this, her son when born really look like ang moh size, very big n cuddly! keke..

ha...maybe they gave me a lousy room which is dirty... I think all rooms facing the sea. But my room is almost right at the end so the walking already piss me off. I also got the little turtle and chopstick. But I Still like maya sari, the hut is build in the sand and few steps to the sea, can walk to mana mana to hav lunch but one thing no good is that there's no pool.

Storeberry: For that shop near the Bugis Temple, is it walking distance from the Bugis mrt? Sorry I am not sure about which bugis temple, only know about Waterloo Street Temple. Hope to get some sleep wear for my 2.5 year old child and coming baby :) Thanks!! [email protected]

Mulberry: Thanks so much for the info!!!

kovankitty: I am intending to get the Omron ear thermometer, its selling for about $53 (after 20%) at Mustafa. Digital ones are cheap & good but just afraid that its difficult to take temp for bb.

Krex: The Ocean toiltries shops only sells toiletries. Yes, downstairs is the food court, its directly opp OG, should be easy to find. I think they close at 8plus?

If you want to look at bb pram & car seats, you can go next block to Cheong Choon, (Also opp OG) its on the 3rd floor as well. Need to cut thru some shops then can see alr. Its on the same floor as Ocean but just different block but there is a linkway to the two blocks. Can call Cheong Choon for directions.

But Cheong Choon is not a big shop so if you want to look & feel then not alot on display but have brochures for you to see. And prices are cheaper than bb hypermart.

Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 Up Cross St #03-132 Singapore 050034
Tel : 6532 3855

Earnestmum: Hi, is walking distance from Bugis MRT after you passed Bugis village. Its the famous "Guan Yin Temple". The shop is opp the building called Skyline, if you back faced Skyline, you will see the dried goods shop & beside it is a toilet, walk thru it and on your left you will see the bb clothes shop.

Yurri: There you go, some items didn't have price tag so I forgot the price already & they don't issue receipts....

Thot I would list down the price I got from the Ocean shop at Chinatown so you all can make comparison:

1. Pigeon Breast Pads (36pcs + 4 FOC): $8
2. Cotton Disposable Undies X 5: $2.50
3. Sebamed Baby Shampoo 250ml: $11
4. Sebamed Baby Bubble Bath 1000ml with free 200ml : $34
5. Pigeon wipes X 3 (86pcs each): $8.80
8. Laurier Super guard 14pcs: $3.90
9. Sofy Body fit 8pcs: $2.40
10. Kodomo laudry detergent: Not sure
11. Johnson & Johnson bb lotion: Not sure
12. Loreal Milk Cleanser: $6
13. Eversoft eye gel: $9.50

Cheong Choon Shop
1. Pigeon Steriliser Rapid (with the purple button): $88
2. Medela Dual Plus: $260 (Think this is the mini electric one)
3. Ameda Lactaline Dual pump: $350
4. Pigeon teats X 3 pcs: (Can't remember)
5. Pigeon Nose cleaner: (Can't remember)
6. Pigeon Mittens: $1
7. Beansprouts pillow: Not sure

m2b and annlee, i got the turtle also from banyan tree. i think angsana also gives the same thing right? for banyan tree, there are buggies to bring u all over, so never have to walk. but because our villa was quite near the food places, we walked anyway. only called buggy when it rained.

btw, i find the food choices at angsana quite pathetic leh. we took a hotel shuttle there to take a look and were quite disappointed to find only buffet dinner avail at main lobby. the other restaurants seemed closed.

I went for the checkup yesterday and baby weight is 1.25 Kg at 28.6weeks. EDD 30th Aug 2008.

Weight loss during 3rd trimester:
i lost 1 kg weight due to diet for gestational diabeties however baby is still putting on weight. I am confused here

Yuuri,
According to the PD, we can use the ear thermometer for the baby after 6 months. Since you have it at home, then should be fine. The PD is also against the thermometer where they test by scanning through the head cos its in relative to the temperature of the environment.

Valnsw
Sorry for the late reply. Didnt log on cos was down with flu yesterday : (
Regarding maid...I just gave her a scolding today cos I asked her if she swept the floor this morning and she said yes, and guess what, the piece of dirt under the dining room and my 3 strands of hair on the floor left since last nite was still there lor... * angry* I told her if she never sweep it's ok, just tell me but dun lie. Then she just kept quiet.. So I damn pissed off. Other than that her daily work is still ok and she takes care of my boy well but suay suay she kena caught by me today.. So hor in conclusion I think they will never be prefect one and they will get on yr nerves from time to time so must tell them off when the need arises.

Snow
I had a wonderful time unwrapping my loot yesterday! Thanks! So nice leh all the stuff. very happy : ) Even hubby also said the things very cute and worth the $$$

val,
It's a letter that states "Up to 70% off storewide + additional 20% off sales prices storewide". Wonder does that includes nursery items... Starts from 12 June to 15 June.

mulberry,
Great! My hubby going Chicago too!! What a coincidence. Bugging him to visit the factory outlet there. Hopefully he can find his way there. How did u hubby travel there? metra or taxi? Expensive or not? Is there any sales at the normal shopping centres?

hisstory,
ya, he's a very good boy when he is sleeping... hahaha..... think that will be the last verb my father will use on him...

Snow,
glad to know. Weekdays more preferable cos' weekends all goes to my boy. Just take half day leave and disappear... hehehe...

M2B,
Ya, 10 days not very long but still abit hard to pass time... strange right... when he is around always complain but when not around feel so funny....

Luvlel,
Not to worry. I too suffer from GD in my previous pregnancy - lost weight in the 3rd trimester but baby gained weight. What is important is that baby is gaining weight. Not mommy....

happycat,
haha, yalor, when they ard, like so easily irritated by them but when they are gg away, abit bu she de...dilemma here...but at least now, we have the elder kid to keep us company when hb not ard.

NiNi

Am sure when u & ur HB get ur own place, u wld be able to do up a nice nursery for ur kiddo
Hang in there k!!

storeberry

Wow, tt's a gd price list tt u've shared! Thanks dear.. Am going BKK this weekend and my fren mentioned tt the Pigeon breastpads are much cheaper there. Now I can compare if BKK's prices are better anot

Btw, u bought 2 types of breast pumps?

happy cat

Heheh, am sure he is still ur DS no matter how notty he is yah?
The last time my HB went US for training he bought some really cute rompers etc for my niece.. Wonder why he didn't get me any Coach!! He bought Levis for himself.. *hmph*
What are u aiming for at the outlets?

hmm everyone is going Chicago...Happycat, is ur husband going for orientation there?
my friend is accompanying her husband to Chic too

can i check if jackfruit is alright to eat? I ate some for lunch and my tummy feels farni and baby kept moving and moving....dunno if its a reaction to jacfruit or tt i shouldn be eating it!

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
awww...so sweet...ur gal is really daddy's little gal.

have a good family 'reunion' tonight!

<font color="0000ff">happycat</font>
yeah wat a coincidence ;). He's there for training also? if yes, maybe they both from same co.? hee...
my hubby's training place i.e. campus is very near the outlets mall. Hence it's in very ulu place. It's in St.Charles.
The campus actually provide bus service (but must pay $10) to those places. Got 2 outlet malls, 1 in Aurora and the other in Geneva.
He bought quite alot of shirts (working shirts &amp; polo shirts) there for himself. He said cheap wor...brands like Tommy Hilfiger, Nautica, Clarks, Nike....
There is also Coach outlet there. but their designs are those older ones. Got sale in their Coach outlet. but unfortunately i didn't like those older designs :p

His training was 5days only. thus on friday night, he moved out to Chicago city and extended stay for the weekend. In the city's shopping malls like Macys, he said no sales wor. Oh there's a Target store near the city. He bought few toys there. My hubby took bus to Target.
Walmart and Toysrus both very far away from city. Need to take both train(metro?) and bus to get there. and it'll take at least 40mins.
my hubby went to Walmart coz we ordered a tiny love cot mobile, thus need to go pick it up. Wah he got lost on the way coz missed few stops. The whole trip took him few hours. Man did he complain then... :p

other than to &amp; fro the airport (which can claim fr company), my hubby took their public transport only while there. Cheap cheap only.

Krex 78,

Hi 5.. me too.. i have gained about 12 kg.. very soon i will be heavier than my huband.. hahah my bb is a bit small.. my dr asked me to eat more

Hisstory: Don't mention it, have benefitted alot from the forum as well. Yes, I have heard that breast pad at BKK is alot cheaper! Buy more!! Keke.. Thinks pads also quite cheap there.

No I didn't buy the breast pump, just check out the prices only. I have the Avent Manual breast pump from my sis &amp; intending to ask my fren to get the Ameda Dual pump fr US.

storeberry

Okieokie, if after comparison, the breast pads are cheaper, I prob buy quite a fair bit.. Wonder if they sell milk bags too

IseeIsee.. I was wondering why u needed 2 breast pumps *heheh* I got the Ameda Lactaline, issit different fr the dual pump?

Robinsons sale

Hey ladies, fr 12 - 15 June, Robinsons absorbing GST for almost all products. So for those w/o the Robinsons card or have aimed for items which are usually nett price, this may be a gd time to get ur loot

chip, gain 12kg and your bb still small? sounds quite impossible. i think mine should be around 2kg by now.

hey mommies, do u know where i can get those rubber water bottles that are normally used for period pains? i think i wanna buy one and place on my back. my back has been aching the whole day...everyday also like that. so cham!

happycat
all JL having that sales ah?
cos I din receive anything from them also lor.

for me, wkday also more convenient.
my gal cannot sit down as long as m2b's daughter lah, so wkend if bring her out sure gotta leave earlier 1 lor. =P

medusa
ai yo, flu ya.
do take care and rest more hor.

hee hee...ya lor, those oversea stuffs are cute and cheaper. =)
i went to 2 diff gap yesterday to look what they have in store for their sales, end up still order from oversea more cheaper leh....

m2b
this time i'm not going to force myself to bf also, i can still remember how my gal cried for more after bf last time....so heart pain.
if cannot, just give formula lor.
agree with u, my gal also so far so gd.

catherine, mulberry, M2B,
no la, he's not a model daddy to be cos he got some bad points also la... maybe bcos he is older than yr HBs &amp; all along he wanted kids... plus i prefer to look at his gd points &amp; try to "close 1 eye" or "ignore" his bad points... unless i cannot tahan then i will rant on this bad points... hahaha...

kovankitty,
i bought braun ear thermometer... my brother recommended it... i tried on myself &amp; the reading is accurate.. ie. 1st try &amp; 2nd try exactly same temperature...

yuuri, cindy,
i doubt on the accuracy of those oral/armpit thermometer cos i was taking temperature for 4 months while TCC &amp; i bought an omron basal digital thermometer... i find it not so accurate cos always have different readings when i take more than 1 attempt...

Joanne,
yup, im a bochup person that's why my HB say i got no maternal instinct &amp; that's why kept delaying having a baby... he also say next time my gal will sure love her more bcos of my character...

hisstory,
all our HBs got gd &amp; bad points if not we will not chose them if everything also bad ma... when people ask us how many weeks im preggie, i always look at him then he answer... i forgetful ma...

chipchip
dun worry too much about bb weight, cos those machine normally not so accurate 1 leh.
the actual weight when born always diff from what dr told u during preggy lor. =P

It's been months since I post though I've been following the forum. Too busy with work..sigh.. Don't know if it's because she's bringing me more work, which is good for me coz I'm self employed. hehe!

I took a break in late April in Langkawi...it was great! Think both hubby and I needed it badly. Good to just chill out and relax. Btw, I like Mayang Sari too. The beach was rather clean and hubby just swam in the sea.

I went to Cheong Choon yesterday too and bought the following:
1) Pigeon rapid steriliser (with 2 extra pigeon 200ml wide neck bottles)- S$95 (other places selling at $99)
2) Tollyjoy napkin liners (2 boxes of 100 pcs each)- S$12

She doesn't have the B free Pigeon bottles yet..she said she has already ordered. But she does have the Bfree range. Think they were about S$16? Not too sure.

She also has baby bathtub selling at S$25.

Must go check out Ocean next visit..yesterday too tired and cannot carry any more already.

Hmm...thermometer...I'm also debating what to get.

Btw, Rata...if you are free, on your next update, can do mine please?

My EDD has shift to 20th Aug. Baby girl now 1.7kg at 30 weeks. Gynae said baby a little bit big but not to worry... And baby has turned! Hurrah! Have gained a total of 9 kg so far...crossing my fingers that it will stay moderate in the remaining 2 months.

chipchip, my bb was 1.4kg at week 29. i think by now should be almost 2kg bah. i feel so heavy already. i dun think i will eat more even if gynae ask me to. it's really uncomfortable being so big and heavy!

have u ladies used up your stretchmark cream? i think mine is running low and thought of buying. the one that i am using now is recommended by gynae and got from her directly..abt 40 plus per tube. thinking if i shld get from her again or buy palmer or mothercare..any suggestions? do we still need to apply after we delivered?

M2B,
Yup think I've been puking abit cos I can't take fish soup too well I guess. I have abit of weak stomach. That time I puked recently is cos of rice dumpling. Now more or less know I cannot take curry, rice dumpling, fish soup.
Glad to hear your hubby's back!

Megan,
I just checked and saw your email. Hehe too bad I cannot make it today for lunch ah..
Just now went down to maid employment agency.

hisstory,
I emailed my hubby the link you posted about push pressie. When he was home, I asked if he read, he said he did. He asked me what I want, but then I also cannot give him an immediate answer, cos I've not thought about it yet. But I did say I want a bag, just that have not decided which one. keke

dongle,
your hubby really likes kids. If not wrong, you're expecting your third child?

Medusa,
oh dear, hope you are recovering well. Wa.. hear about your maid story, agree w you that they are not perfect so if have to scold them if they do it wrongly. I hope I can be fierce enough to scold.

happycat,
thanks for the info on JL. Maybe get hubby to check it out since he's working around Suntec area.

Re: milk supply
I think milk supply varies on individuals. Anyway, not being able to have breast milk doesn't make the mommy a lesser one. I think we should all give ourselves a pat on the shoulder for having gone thru the 9 mths, breast milk or no breast milk. Just enjoy the bonding with bb!

Hisstory: Haha... Yes I am planning to get the Ameda Lactaline, have you used it before? Heard good reviews &amp; its cheaper than Medela so...
Yes, buy more if its cheap!!

Medusa: take care!

missy, i'm using avent now and it's finishing soon. bought a new tube of clarins stretch mark cream from duty free. dun think i can finish it by the time i deliver, but decided to get it anyway. most creams don't come in small qtys anyway.

chip, so terrible. ice-cream and cake not very healthy right? he should ask u eat more meat or something
heard durians will make your kid bigger.

haha i think my dr just wanted to encourage me eat more.. she asked me drink more milk and eat more meat also..

yeah.. will try to eat more durians

hisstory,
u can go bangkok? can clear custom? my hubby going there for biz trip next wk. he was reluctant to go n leave me behind but i asked him to go n grab things for me if he has the time.........hopefully

hisstory,
ya. he's still my DS. Live is so different without him. But still, sometimes just feel like pulling hair...hahaha. Maybe when I am old and look back, I might laugh and enjoy every moment.

Luvlel,
You are welcome. For this pregnancy, I dun have GD. Feel sad and happy at the same time. Happy that I dun have to control my diet. Sad cos' I will put on too much unnecessary weight. Dilemma.

Megan,
Hubby going to official visit to some company I think. Still thinking of my shopping list, provided he can visit the factory outlet. It's going to be a long long list... hahaha....

Mulberry,
I am targeting aurora outlet. Hopefully he can find his way cos' he stay downtown Chicago. Have advised him to take metra then taxi but dunno taxi cheap or not. For sure will ask him to buy lots of baby girl and toddler boy stuffs. Mine is secondary lah. Too bad I can't go if not sure shop till drop. Will let him know. Me eyeing Godiva chocolate at Macy. So much cheaper than Singapore.

Snow,
Let me see whether I can scan the letter tonight and upload. If not will email u. Provided I dun end up sleeping once back home. Sleep deprived. Will be dropping by JL tomorrow. Maybe can provide more details then.
If bring my boy along, think u will see me running around then sitting down. hehehe..

Joanne,
My boy used Desitin. Not bad and smells good.

happycat

i love godiva chocs! actually i think i like their choc milk shake more. the one at vivo cost $10 for a cup but shiok la :p

u better prepare yr list of things fast, if possible print out the maps to the outlets for yr hubby so he;ll have no excuse, hehe

Any mummy here can advise how many wipes baby will go through in one day? What do you use the wipes for? To clean bb's butt if poo in diaper?
Also, will the wipes dry up if buy too early? I mean it should not dry up unless I have opened it. So if I don't open, the freshness should last til the expiry date right?

Cos' I'm thinking of stocking up on Carlson's wipes from JL if need to use a lot. I bought one bundle of 3 packs x 80 shts at $5.50 less 20% off at the last JL sale. Expiry is next Mar. Thinking if I should stock up, cos I heard members can buy 2packs get 1 free.

didnt log in whole day .. wow so many post. Was out since morning cos went to collect new car
But hubby dont let me drive now cos he say dangerous. But later in the afternoon I did take the car out with my mom. heheee ..

Re:bintan
Seems Angsana is well recommended here. Excpt from AnnLee. Will check them out. Dono hubby still wana go or not. Sometimes he say for sake of just saying for the moment. Thou The hut sounds nice but at this point I think I prefer the pool
More convenient for preggy I think. I think of cos nothing can fight with Banyan.. but now go Banyan also wasted .. such a romantic place but end up only you look at me and I look at you .. hahaha.. cos can't do too much "things" :p

re:milk
hubby last nite also ask me what brand milk for baby, I reply breast. hahaha. He ask me sure will have enuf milk for baby or not. I say dono, but have to try. Anyway just for contingency purpose if really not enough bm .. what is a good brand of formula ??

Hisstory/nini,
I think that's the one I got from baby kingdom. Plus mattress in I think about $250 only

nini,
is the organic vege powder dr xeniji ? My cousin wife recommended but I never try. Heard it's very good for baby too. But hubby rather I just eat healthy.

Medusa15,
Aiya maids .. really sometimes makes one crazy. Can do the same thing everyday also can do wrong one. I occasionally will test my maid to see if she takes out the things on the table to clean or under the table etc. I will intentionally put a pc of small paper or rubber band behind a book or photoframe and then everning I will check if it's still there. That day I make her reclean again cos that "evidence" was still there. As her every morning must ask us what we want to drink, until now she still never. She say she shy. Hubby say tell her next time pay her salary we also shy.. hahaha.

snow,
thanks for the gap stuff.. if not spree again tell me hor .. hahaha

dongle

heheh, agree, otherwise why wld we choose him as our HB yah? HB has his strengths also, quite careful with his spending, so tt has made me quite a careful shopper.. And tt has also made him accompany for the necessary shopping for bb, partially coz he doesn't want me to overtire myself, as well as to make sure we make good buys

val

Not bad!! Ur HB has finally got the idea.. Take ur time to eye for sthg u really like &amp; he is comfy in paying for *winks*

storeberry

Nope haven't used it before.. Bb's the 1st bb i'm having. But fr the reviews in SMH, the price is comparable to Medela mini electric tt I had initially shortlisted. But the Medela seems to be given negative reviews in terms of noise level &amp; I noticed many ppl are selling off the Medela, so I went for the Ameda

Just asked my fren abt Pigeon breastpads, she says as coz many Pigeon products are made in Thailand, shd be cheaper
Scarly I come back with a luggage filled with bb products! *heheh*

twin stars

Gynae has given me the go ahead &amp; I did a search on Thailand's MFA webbie, didn't seem to indicate I wld have a problem with entry into Thailand.. *cross fingers &amp; toes* no custom officer wld try to be funny &amp; make things diff for us

U want to get clearance fr gynae 1st? If gynae gives the go ahead, maybe u may want to join ur HB.. Otherwise give him the shopping list *heheh*

Joanne

Desitin is quite recommended by my sis &amp; many ppl are buying through BPs &amp; sprees in the forum

happycat

Heheh, I feel the same at times when helping my sis &amp; mum with my niece.. But she has made us laugh a lot as well!!

Catherine

Yupz, I think tt's the one.. Costs around tt price

Joanne: I am also buying Desitin as well.

Earnestmum: No prob! Hope you get some good buys!

Hisstory: When are you leaving??? I hope to go on a trip but...
Enjoy yourself!! Shopping &amp; eating!

I think can stock up wet wipes. My mum just bought the Tollyjoy wet wipes from Watson for $2 (30sheets, 2 packs), Carlson is alot cheaper! When is the sale till?

storeberry

Am flying on Sat morn.. I am so looking fwd to the trip, even if though I'm now in the 3rd trimester (into my 29th week), coz i suspect it wld be the last for a long while..

Oh yes, I'm going to enjoy my shopping &amp; eating.. heheh

yuuri

My sis likes Pigeon's wet wipes
I think Val's recommendation of Carlson's looks gd &amp; cheap