(2008/08) Aug 2008

avocado,
I booked one-bedded ward cos when I was at East Shore Hospital tour during antenatal course, I saw how noisy it was for a 4-bedded ward. Some visitors bring their families and the children, all making alot of noise. I think some other mummies also commented on this possible problem.

Anyway, which ward to stay in is a matter of choice. As long as you feel comfortable with 4-bedded, it is fine.

hisstory,
I don't think my bump is an excuse for not knowing I'm 7mths pregnant leh. Just that day, he was asking me when I'm due. I told him mid Aug. Alamaks, it's just simple calculation mah. Now June, still left 2 more mths, means I'm 7 mths pregnant lo.

Annabel's mommy,
Men can be so scatterbrain. I think they are not into the small details. If you ask them how many wks pregnant, or how many mths old, they sure blurrrr one. If ask them how many years old the child is, I think they can answer more easily. haha

Sianz, just now my mum started nagging at me, say I better don't take fried food or sweet things. I asked her suddenly why she started talking abt this and said isit cos I gained 4kg from the past 5 wks since my last check-up. Then my mum just ignored the question and kept nagging. Aiyo...

megan,
mine is opposite of you leh. I gained 4kg in 5 wks
and my bb also gained about 600g+ cos at wk 24 was 629g, then now at 29wk about 1.286kg.

Shucks, I wonder where all the weight went to..

megan,
no i havent get the binder yet. Prob next week i go get.

celyn,
so sweet the stickers. So can just peel off right when u dont want already ? I shall go next week to united sq.

valnsw,
wah u gain 4kg in 5 week ??

Haven't been to motherhood fair cos dh been so busy... The babycraft playpen is $100 discount! I intend to let bb sleep in playpen/yao lan/with us..keke.. Cos babycot too space-taking liao. My room is not big enough (playpen can push around)

I feel like im having water-retention..Coz the joints of my fingers hurts when i cramp down.

Hows the appetite of u all now? Been eating alot? I have been eating for two...not becos of nutrients or wat, but not full enough.. I can eat one mac breakfast + fried beehoon.. haha..

catherine,
yah. the stickers are removable and reposition. the butterflies one are sweet too but cos i'm having a boy so decide these are nicer.

if you are buying from the stores, its at $20 per piece leh. that's what i heard from them yesterday. although its still consider cheap from what i have seen so far but its more worth it if you get from fair. provided its not going to cost you a lot $$ to travel down. or else, its not worth the savings too.

let me know if you decided to go to their shop, i will send you a little brochure from them. with that, you will get a 10% discount.

Snow: Don't be sad yah? I am sure all will work out for you.
Think I recently very emo also, think too much & sensitive.. Hopefully it will not affect bb.

Catherine: I alr decided for DH that he need not stay in hospital with me, I think only for 2 nights so might as well he rest at home..

Full mth celebration:
Catherine, I am doubly confused also.. If we are holding the full mth buffet, do we still need to prepare the cakes for relatives or friends to bring back? no need right?

Halo MTBs!
Very rare that I will log on on weekends…having a lazy Sun…will be on leave tmr too…
Finally seeing bb again after 4 weeks wait…

Valnsw,
I oso got a travel changing mat from Mothercare at $6.40 after 20% discount (DBS card)…good price liao coz those I saw at taka are selling at $20+ or $18+…horrible…

Diapers – I haven’t got any diapers, wet wipes or body wash for bb yet…think will have to get them soon…

Water retention – the funny thing is my rings are still ok, just feet abit swollen after walking too much…

Snow,
Understd how you feel…hope your sis and mom will change their travel plan for you and Minnie…

Spree – no prob, you let us know if more mommies are interested. Really thanks for helping to consolidate and organize.

Valnsw, Catherine & Yuuri,
My hb oso not staying overnight w me as I’m opting for 2-bedded instead…thinking to ask him to save his paternity leave by taking only on the day that I discharge instead too…heehee…same as my 1st pregnancy…I was basically alone at the hospital on the 2nd day coz I asked hb to go back to work…

Rata,
Dun worry so much ok? We are almost there liao. :p

Snow,

Ya.. thank you very much for the spree... I am also interested in getting more from babymallonline coz I am very happy with my purchase... What method did you use to ship the stuff over? Coz the shipping cost is super cheap...

Snow,
It was nice meeting you jus now!
So happie wif my loots

Re: HB Staying in Hosp.
Will get him to stay over cos by the time i deliver shld be lunar 7th mth oredie.. :p

celyn,
Ya I think I will be going to the stores this week to get the stickers. Cos I wana go United Sq check out other stuff. If got voucher and you not using, I don't mind :p

Re:hospital stay
I was hoping that hubby would stay with me cos I'm having cesearan. So was told by frens it would be good to have someone other than the nurse to take care of you. Sometimes nurses may be busy etc. And moreoever I wana bf so will definitely need help. See if hubby wont stay maybe I'll get my maid. Not sure yet. I'll prob see if I can manage the 1st night.

val

Heheh.. Then I must say his Math is bad.. heheh!

U're in the 3rd trimester oredi? Gynae/ antenatal class/ colleagues all tell me tt the most wt is put on during this stage.. Prob the amniotic fluid, blood. Dun worry k?

NiNi

Tt's a real gd appetite.. I can't eat much of late, it's better for me to eat smaller meals coz dun feel so awful. Though no heartburn at the moment..

Any advise fr ur gynae for the pain u have in the joints of ur fingers?

hisstory: she mentions its sign of water retention... But today i went for my pre-natal masssage but my masseur say dont have leh.. But i know my fingers are swelling.

I would prefer to eat smaller meals cos i usually feel very bloated if i stuff my face with too much food! My advice is to go for smaller, frequent meals... *lesson learnt!*

catherine,
ya I gained 4 kg in 5 wks!
Just hope bb gets all my nutrients and is a healthy baby lo. Gynae never say much about my weight gain, she just said ok la, since I was slim to begin with...

nini,
nowadays cannot eat too much as I will get full v easily. Today whole afternoon, just take one tako pachi ball alrdy feel v full til my stomach tight tight like want to burst. Feel abit of stretching pains/cramps.

M2B,
Looks like you got a gd deal from Mothercare. Enjoy the Kungfu Panda with your gal tomorrow ya?

BTW, just a check, are all the massage ladies you recommended, Malays?

hisstory,
I think I should be in 3rd trimester alrdy. Cos now should be around wk29 going to wk 30. Frankly I lost count, I just know my last check-up was 5 wks after my wk24 check-up.

Ratatouille,
Did your gynae tell you why your baby's weight suddenly shoot up that shift the EDD earlier?

NiNi

I had a bit of swelling in my fingers some time back, but now no longer have tt tight feeling when wearing my rings.. I think tt time was due to the hot weather

Hmm, does the massage help with the pain in the joints?
Is it easy for you to obtain meals in smaller size? I find it quite hard to find food of smaller portions, less i cook myself..

val

Since u're slim when in pre-preggie days, then i suppose the wt gain is okie yah? Bb healthy can oredi.. Am not due for my appt till this Fri, so am not sure of my wt gain for the last 4 weeks, but i'm trying to psyche myself tt if the wt goes up exponentially, so long as bb is healthy, i shall just try to take it calmly *heheheh*

Any second-time mummies can recommend any good childcare centre that can send baby for enrichment at 1 yr old onwards?
I know I abit kiasu but thought I go find out more first, cos I think for some of the better ones, they have waiting list?

I intend to send bb to Montessori school but so many in the market, don't know which one. I searched the forum, last time I think I saw some suggestions but abit too far off for me.

I'm looking for some school in the East, preferably in the Tanah Merah/Bedok/Simei area.

Any mummy can help give comments/feedback?

I'm also considering Cherie Hearts, so any feedback is welcome.

Catherine,
Think that time I chanced upon a Cherie Hearts thread and you posted something there. Did you do some research? Care to share? hehe ;)

By the way, I found this link, thought it would be useful if you want to find out the charges for the childcare centre:
http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp

Finally got the Pigeon PES bottles today. Think I have complete my list of things need to buy. Also wash bb cloths and pack my hospital bag liao.

avocado, wa! u r fast u wash all stuff liao. I juz started washing this weekend. did 2 rounds of washing. used up all bamboos, clips, whole kitchen is her stuff but still got many more to go. u feeling ok?

hisstory,
my fingers also swelling. Can feel when I wear my rings. Somehow I feel my toes also swollen. I look at my hand and feet sometimes I so sad.

Valnsw,
Hope I not to kiasu, but I intend to send my baby to Shichida in Jan 09 when she is about 6 mths. Thou I will also check out igenius, but when I talked to them at the fair, I didn't seem to like very much their infant programs cos they say they focus more on baby massage. But I will find time to go down before deciding. But so far, I'm quite happy with shichida at least for the infant programs. Glenn Doman, well I also didn't like the people I met at the fair.

My god son attend cherie hearts at Lorong Melayu (kembangan) which is walking distance from my hse. And they have nothing but praises for the place. And my godson's mom is honestly the fussiest person there ever can be. So for her to even think she's happy with the place, I think that place must hv quite high stds :p I sourced with them few places like Pat's school hse, Chiltern ,etc and I think Cherie Hearts at Kembangan was quite good. It's not too pricey like Chiltern. My niece attended Chiltern and honestly I dont feel it's fantastic. Abit overly rated I feel. She's now at Pat's and I also feel nothing fantastic.

Ratatouille ,
okay now, but cannot walk too much. I must prepared fast as my #1 was born @ 36weeks and I have not prepared everything yet that time.

morning ladies.
sad to say, my sis still insisted to bring my mum away on tour during sept.
till now she is still "avoiding" me...hmm...

jo & reirei
u are most welcome. =)
everything is cheap cos i only collect back what was reflected inside my bill mah, i did not round up any fig upfront.
vpost based on volumetrics weight, so its ok to buy heavy but not bulky stuffs lor...that is the tricks bah...hee hee....

m2b
actually i was thinking to settle any spree, if necessary, before we pop lor.
else i'm afraid we will be more busy when another destroyer join in the family ya? =P
just imagine the sleepless nite, u think still got energy to do calculation? hee hee....

avocado
during my 1st preggy, i also prepare everything very early leh.
now 2nd 1, bo liao lah.

Hello Avocado,
What do we need to pack in a hospital bag?

Hi Celyn,
You've any idea what other stuff will kkh be providing for mummy and baby? I've decided to go for the 1-bedder ward. Have you decided yet?

mousse,
yah. i'm taking 1 bedded cos i don't want to stay in hospital alone.

i don't know what kk will provide but i know what we must bring when we admit. i go back and check my antenatal class booklet then let you know ok?

avocado, i onli started washing her clothings last weekend. will continue this weekend. think tonight will pack my hospital bag

catherine
why dun u monitor ur bb's interest awhile before decide whether to send to shichida? =)
cos u gotta be more hardworking than ur child everyday when u reach home u noe? =P
so far my friends and i din see a great improvement on our kids, mainly cos we are working then and some time just too tired to do their homework with them every single day beside the flashcard.
so i think if we did things that interest the bb more, they will learn very fast instead lor.
but ofcos, that is just what i see lor.

ask u ladies hor, had anyone of u did ur hospital pre-registration yet?
not ks, but i can't remember when i need to do that lor.

Celyn,
okie thanks! how was your BSL readings? mine was on the high side last week, cos v busy @ work. no breaks or tea time at all, basically ate a lot during lunch and dinner... :p

mousse,
mine is ok so far.

2 jun's result
1. before breakfast - 4.6
2. 2 hours after breakfast - 5.8
3. before lunch - 3.8
4. 2 hours after lunch - 5.9
5. before dinner - 4.4
6. 2 hours after dinner - 5.8
7. before supper - 4.9

3 jun's result
1. before breakfast - 4.4
2. 2 hours after breakfast - 5.9
3. before lunch - 4.4
4. 2 hours after lunch - 5.3
5. before dinner - 4.7
6. 2 hours after dinner - 5.1
7. before supper - 4.4

today doing my 3rd round. first 2 results are 4.4 and 5.6.

so far so good lah. but i'm starting to drink yakult from tues - sat, days that i don't need to test. with this new diet, i got bad constipation so must drink yakult liao.

hi rata, can kindly help to update my bb's weight 1.5kg @ 28w4d. Many thanks!

Re: Weight gain
Val,
dun worry, ur 4 kg in 5 wks not alott..i put on 3kg in 4wks too.. and ive put on almost 12kg to date alrdy! so can u imagine???

n im only at 29wks..i really dun dare imagine..i think im heading for 20kg gain =((( can anyone tell me howwwwwwwwwww

Snow,
So sorry that i couldnt make it to collect the stuff frm u this wkend. Cos had alot of errands to run, plus gynae visit and all. I get frm u next wk end can? so sorry ah..

Re: HB staying overnight at hospital
I told my hb must stay with me le..cos scary to be alone! Thinking of 1bedder or the deluxe rm cos the sofa bed more comfy for hb..n he v "Spoilt" when comes to bed, pillows etc. Worried he might suffer from headache, backache sleeping on sofa bed if he stays over..

hello mummies, i'm back from my short holiday to sydney! too lazy to catch up on the postings, heehee. i'm back at work already although i came back quite late last night. overall, it was a good break for me although the trip was short and weather wasn't too fantastic.

so, any mommies went to motherhood fair? what did i miss? i see a few postings on hospital beddings. i'm also considering 1 bedder so that hubby can accompany me. haven't packed my hospital bag yet...think i will do so by end of the month.

i see some of u already packing and washing bb's stuff also...me too...i started to get my maid to start washing the clothes and stuff since last week..today...still haven't finished...so can imagine how many things there are to wash..

i bought most stuff liao...still only left with some small items like mattress cover..pads..will try to buy them over the next 2 weeks....me also try to get all ready before the end of month...cuz already in week 32..
this thurs going for hospital tour...so once that one also confirm....think am ready to pop any moment

i think at this point..i already a bit sian with watching my weight liao...i just eat the normal 3 meals, balanced diet..no snacking in between meals...lots of fruits and water..try to do more walking also...think that's all i will do..very tiring to keep watching diet...plus, tummy getting heavier also..so quite anxious for the big day to arrive...hopefully will be either early july or mid july...cannot imagine have to drag until the actual EDD (1 aug) , like so long like dat...

Hi Krex, welcome back!

Yah haven't packed my bag yet, think will start in July conce my EDD early sept.

Snow, don't think too much yah? Cheer up!

celyn,
Waah, your results very good leh! like model answer!
dont have the breakdown with me but mine went as high as 8.9 after a hearty dinner! tink i'm gonna into trouble at my next check-up liao... :p

krex
wah..u so fast return to work...not tired meh?

i bought disposable diapers from the motherhood fair...EQ brand...very cheap...40pcs only $6!(S size)..bought pampers NB..36 pcs for $15.40...think ok ba..i also not sure what brand is suitable as each bb is different..so i just see which one looks ok then i bought...also subscribed to Motherhood magazine for 1 yr at $50..lotsa freebies..but small small sample sizes (e.g washing powder, bathing lotion for bb etc)..bought another 2 nursing bras form MIM..got $5 discount..so paid $45..ok ba...think overall wasn't that fantastic a fair..unless u already know what u want to get there...i went in chop chop and come out chop chop..bought all the things i need ..

snow,
thanks dear =)
dont think too much about ur mom going overseas during ur bb's full mth..sometimes, if u dun haf any expectations frm other,including family, u will nt be so upset when they do things to "disappoint" us. Most imptly, u have ur hb with u n his full support, think thats more impt after we r married cos hb supposed to be our life partner frm then. So dun get upset ya

catherine

*hugs* Anyway to help reduce the water retention?
I was attending my antenatal class on Fri.. They mentioned tt cutting down on salt intake shd help. Raising ur feet too??

snow

What's hospital pre-registration? Scarly i totally forget abt this... heheh

Agree with storeberry, cheer up & dun think too much k? Am sure ur ger and HB wld be there to bring a smile to ur face, not forgetting the little one too!!

catherine,
Did you go into the Cherie Hearts at Kembangan to observe the environment, teachers etc?
There's a Cherie Hearts at Limau Gardens which is opposite my parents' place but have to drive in cos up on the slope.
There's another childcare centre, which is practically 2min walk from my parents' place but I've yet to check it out.

Not sure about Shicida Method leh, cos like what snow says, I understand that you need to do some "homework" with the child. I don't think I will have the patience and time.

When I told my hubby maybe should start sending bb at 1 yr old to some enrichment program, he said so young, what for? Hmm, he thinks it's all a scam to earn parents' $ and that bb should have normal childhood. I said no la, it's to stimulate bb's brain and learn social skills since they can absorb at v young age, even from birth.

Looks like sending bb early is a contentious issue leh.

mousse,
hahah.... where got model answer. the main thing i cut away from my diet is the carbo (half or 3/4 portion), milo, yakult, fruit juices and canned drinks with the increase intake of teabreak and fruits. so quite ok for me to follow loh.

record what you eat to get that high result, that will help dietician to know better. i wish that i can do away with testing or cut down the period to once every 2 weeks. hahhah.... dreaming hoh.

joanne,
at least your bb is 1.5kg at 28wk+, my baby is only 1.286kg at wk29. looks like she didn't get much from me lo..
Tell me how too... I also scared that later cannot shed the weight

krex,
welcome back! Got anything for bb from Sydney?

Re: bb's clothes/hospital bag
I washed all bb's clothes and realised I've bought so many pink clothes!!! I was sorting out all the clothes to arrange from smallest to the largest and taking out those that I would bring to hospital.
Put some things bit by bit into the hospital bag alrdy, then my mum commented, I might as well bring trolley suitcase cos I look like I got so many things to bring. -_-"

valnsw
...i also have a lot of pink clothes for my gal...until my hubby see already also shake head...i have told myself to stop buying bb clothes until bb is born..
..my concern is skali she wont be able to wear all the clothes i bought and will outgrow them too soon..then jialat liao...

storeberry, joanne, hisstory
thx. =)
ya, should remain happy now...bb is developing in term of emotion ya?

hisstory
hospital pre-registration is something like u registered urself 1st, so that when u are in labour u dun need to bother about hospital registration.
and the hospital will make arrangement of ur room automatically for u.
i think i didn't wait for anything to happen that time, was led directly into the labour ward.
cos they already have all the neccessary registration info of mine liao lor, its actually fuss-free for the daddy on the actual day also.

valnsw
yes, the parent gotta be very hardworking everyday also if u send ur kid to shichida.
else, u wun see result. =P
think before ur bb noe what is happening around, its better to send them to places which build their motor skill 1st ya?
maybe around 1.5yr old is a better age?

Val & YLN,
all the pinky stuff for bb girls soo cute, so its def natural to get alott of pink pink stuff. If im having a girl, think her whole room will be pink till she'll probably be pink-phobic when she grows up. haha..

Val,
I also surprised my bb grew 900gms in 4wks. I think cos this mummy here has been stuffing herself with food. I tot bb was quite small at only 582g @ 24w4d so kept eating, worried bb too small. Eat till my hb thinks im eating like godzilla.

About Shichida

Actually I agreed with Snow. The parent got to work hard with the child also becos apparently it needs the parent involvement as well during classes. Working mums will find it tough lor..
I am surrounded by alot of mummies who send babies to here and there but maybe I abit more lax lah.. I sent my boy to gym classes instead : p cos he enjoy them so much... Then in my own free time I will read to him and do flash cards with him and sometimes let him watch those baby enstein dvds...

val
My bb also abit small... at 30 weeks only 1.3kg nia.. I think all my weight gain went to myself instead.. *sigh*
How much you put on so far.. I already put on 7kg to date and my gynae was telling me I got 3 more to go till birth.. she always try to restrict to 10kg... : (