(2008/08) Aug 2008

hi all..

was nt home all day so managed to log into the forum at this hour.. found lots of updates over the 24 hours.. hee..

Breast Pumps:
btw.. any1 bought the pigeon breast pumps? i got the bottles le..but not sure if it's pump is good or if other brands' pumps can fit its bottles?

Swelling:
talking abt swelling, i neva realised fingers and legs were swollen until moi hb pointed them out.. den interesting.. smtimes left hand bigger den the right one.. so weird, man.. but i guess it is just water retention, so should go away after pregnancy...

Glucose Test: When and why will need to take this test? I never hear from moi gynae at all leh...

Cordblood Banking: Is anione taking up w cordlife? their customer service personnel conteacted me 2 weeks ago and says its sales personnel will contact me in the same week but till now no one.. moi best frenz was saying they looked so professional but yet.. so inefficient.. quite disappointing ah.. reali dun noe if shld continue with cordblood banking w them or not?

Such a pity to missed the gathering today... Looks like u all had fun!

Btw what is this glucose test n some of u need to watch ur diet? How do we know we fail the glucose test? Cos usually gynae visit is only urine test..

Halo MTBs!
Going out lata w my gal...she burging me to go Vivo as she wants to go Toys R Us...hiaz

Catherine,
My feet will be swollen after a day of walking too but overnight, next morning ok liao...wana check w my gynae on Mon...didnt have it the 1st pregnancy...think it is water retention which is rather common in 3rd trimester...

star_xin,
its raining over at the east? i'm thinking of going later in ther afternoon cos its raining over at my side too.

nini,
the glucose test is to test if we have gestation diabetes. if we fail the test and is having gestation diabetes, we will have to control our diet. your gynae will tell you if you need to have the glucose test. if nothing is mention then good for you.

star_xin,
i just sign up with cordlife on thur at the motherhood fair. I feel they ok lei. Maybe cos at the fair so different lo.

M2B,
hope my swelling will go down too. Today looks better than yesterday, at least can see the veins today. hahaha.

celynelee: ya.. i stays in Pasir Ris and it has been pouring since 7am... altho not heavy downpour but oso not light drizzle lei. so do be careful..

catherine: after seeing your post yesterday, I emailed the person who contacted me earlier and finalli someone called me after 2 weeks.. hope the service can be better though...

star_xin,
great. but now at the fair you get $350 off. So ask them for it when you speak to them. They may give it to you. Else better sign up at the fair

back after doing some last-min shopping.

Went to Motherhood fair for a short while to get Pureen head to toes wash, 3 bottles for $13 and got one changing mat at $5.20. The place was super crowded.

Then as I walked out, noticed there was a mischa and maven booth which I didn't notice on Thur.

Was at Parkway, then decided to go Giant look around cos I had to get some mittens and booties. Saw EQ Small size diapers 40pc at $8.15 so buy one pack to test. Heard EQ also not bad, got urine indicator. I think the Motherhood fair deal is $10 for M and L sizes?

Also saw Giant selling MamyPoko at $16.45 per pack for S size til XXL size. NB size not on offer. For those mummies who want to get MamyPoko, can consider get from Giant.

Hi valnsw,
I got the EQ small size diapers 40pcs at the fair for $6.
Thanks for updating prices of the other diapers

Catherine / M2B / Star_xin,
I don't really have swollen feet yet but I noticed my rings feel tighter when I wear them on my fingers, so I guess I have abit of water retention on them.

I would think the swelling should go away after pregnancy bah.. else cannot imagine.

Yuuri,
You got them the EQ small size at $6!!!! arghh.. should have bought from there. shucks

BTW, is it only Giant that sells EQ diapers? Cos I don't see it at any other supermarkets.

valnsw,
i was also at the fair, went around 4+. didn't look at the diapers, there are too many people crowding round. i do see lots of people buying them. i guess should have good deals. i manage to get the wall stickers which i had been looking around for my glass wall. 3 for $30, its the cheapest that i have saw so far.

went to suntec carrfour and bought pampers m size. i box of 88 for $44.66 and 2nd box at half price. so for 2 boxes its $66.99. also bought a pack of mamypoko nb since kk will be giving pampers, think another pack of nb should be enough. i was also give free sample for fiti diaper.

celyn/yuuri,
haha I think alot of us went diaper shopping.
I was looking at my diaper purchases, realised I bought the following:

1) Drypers NB - 28pcs + 4free
2) Petpet S - 46pcs
3) Nepia NB - 60 pcs + 4 free
4) EQ S - 40 pcs

Seems like quite a lot of diapers and should stop buying. But I'm wondering how long these will last and which one will be the one bb can take. Cos bb can have 6-8 changes a day, sure use up v fast.

valnsw,
heheh.... maybe we can buy bigger size but not too much nb cos they might upgrade to s very soon. worse come to worse is buy when it run out for nb size. but buying big size also got problem cos we won't know which brand is good for baby. so headache right.

at the moment, i only looking at drypers for day use and pampers or mamypoko for night use. pampers and mamypoko are ex if we use for day too. at least drypers is half the price compare to the 2.

hi ladies, finally got itme to log in liao.
really happy to meet u ladies in the gathering yesterday also. =)

was feeling very sad today, my sis wanna bring my mum to taiwan for tour on sept.
i've told them the date might clash with my gal's full mth, but till now no one reply anything.
suddenly have a feeling of being left alone, how come my own mum rather go tour than celebrating my bb's full mth?
dun understand why they definitely must go on sept, even i told them it might be rainy season over there.
am i thinking too much?
but i can't help, just feeling very sad that no one love my minnie. =(

m2b & hisstory
provided really lotsa mommies wanna buy again, else dun think will be buying from oversea so soon lor.
need to consolidate as many order as the cost limit can take from the 4 merchants, so as to get the best price mah. =P
if not, it wun end up so cheap de.

valnsw,
Yup got that price at the fair on the first day...but I think yest or today, buy 1 pack can get free umbrella! haha..I missed that!

But most most wasted is I missed the pampers for $12 deal cos' at that time I wasn't thinking of diapers!!! Only after the promotion time was over then I thought of buying diapers.

Snow,
Don't be sad. Think they probably weren't thinking when they said wanna go tour. Your minnie come out sure will be loved by everyone!

My sis also going overseas end of July...then she kept telling me to wait for her to come back then let the bb come out. :p

snow,
saw your EDD around 20 Aug?
Since you voice out to your sis and mum, maybe they mulling over your comments to contemplate whether to go in Sept and that's why they never said anything yet. I'm sure deep down they love your minnie, just that it slipped off their mind that the full-mth celebration could be in Sept too.

Anyway, I'm sure there are other people who can join in the full-mth celebration such as your hubby, your DD, your ILs, friends etc.

Who knows, maybe tomorrow your sis and mum may tell you that they wana delay the trip? ;)

snow74,
dont be sad. maybe they will change the dates for the tour. anyway whole month of sept.. or maybe they come back in time for the full mth with taiwanese presents

when hubby say he not going to stay with me in hospital i also very sad .. but nvm lo .. what to do. dont want to force him also.

yuuri,
I think now gota stop buying diapers liao. Hmm, in case later bb outgrows NB size.

But I think I gota standby abit, cos my mum may have to go overseas for 4 days or so during my confinement, that means I prob have to get my dad (if he's not accompanying my mum) or my hubby to buy diapers or necessities.

Haiz, I think sometimes abit tough to depend on men. Heh, my client was telling me, she told hubby to buy diapers and he still bought NB size even though her bb was alrdy S size.

yuuri & valnsw
thx, but half day gone liao my sis still din asn me...
actually beside feeling sad, i'm just trying to protect my own mum.
i've told her what if my hb's relative ask why she dun attend the full mth, then its not very good already u see.
when i realise that i'm trying to protect her but she ignored my feeling, i can't help but feel sad again lor.
stupid rite?
really hope they can delay their trip, else i really got nothing to say already.

Catherine,
wat happened? Is your hubby going to be out of town? I hope hubby will be in town when bb is due and not out on some overseas biz trip.

Haiz, men ah.. Is it they don't bother or bochap?

Just to share, just now hubby bumped into his "xiong di" and wife just now. First thing he said to hubby "wa you very efficient" (cos we got married last Jul). Then, he asked hubby how many mths pregnant I am.

Know what my hubby answered? He said I'm 5 mths pregnant!! I want to faint liaoz.. I immediately nudged him and corrected him to say, nope it's 7 mths liao. Grrr...

Lucky I was not emotional or anything but I just jokingly told him, eh you think pregnancy is only 7 mths, not 9 mths only meh? Then he don't know what to say liao.

I also dono I bought too much diapers or not .. hahaa..
i got
1) 4 pkt X 24 pcs NB pampers
2) 2 pkt X 36 (i think) S pampers
3) 1 pkt X 56 S nepia

And I want to get 1 pkt mamypoko NB. hahaha

snow,
maybe you want to tell your mum, what you are gona say to the other relatives when they ask where she is during the full-mth celebration? Cos if you don't tell her, she may not know the difficulty you have.

BTW, are you having 2 separate full-mth celebrations? i.e. one for the hubby's side and one for your side?
If you are, then will be easier for you, you can just send full-mth cake vouchers to your side's relatives and just do the celebration on your hubby's side.

catherine
thx.
but i think they are going during the school holiday wk, which is 2wks before my edd.
now only cross my fingers that they change, or my bb dun come out earlier lor. =P

if its my hb, i'll not go home liao....
bb belongs to both persons, so both parties gotta go thru everything together mah.
u are so nice. =)

valnsw,
no la .. he be in town, but he say why must stay with me overnite. stay for what. got nurse ma, etc. aiya i tell u my hubby is those bo chap type. not gan cheong one la. only time he tell me dont drive around anymore cos dangerous is when he dont want me to use the car. hahaha

Catherine,
Aiyoh if my hubby say don't want to stay hosp with me, I will surely be very upset...and throw a tantrum!

Snow,
I'm sure they are trying to find some date that don't clash with your celebration or maybe considering not going...still thinking mah, haven't make decision so never tell you yet. Anyway later bb come out so cute, they sure bu she de go on tour.

Valnsw,
hehe so typical male behaviour...my hubby also don't remember how far along I am alot of the time.

re: full-month celebration
Do people generally have 2 sessions or 1? I scared 2 sessions very xiong. But 1 session I scared very messy cos' I intend to hold it in my place the function hall.
Another stupid question, when giving out the full-month favours, how do you ensure that 1 family only take 1 box? I keep telling DH what if those auntie with kids tell their children to take more, can bring home for breakfast! Then not enough to go around!!!

re: full mth
I always very confused with the giving cakes part. Give to those who come or those who never come for the celebration ? hahaha. I've been to some whereby they give u cake when they send u invitation, then some they distribute cake when u leaving. Some only give to relatives .. so confusing.

Catherine / Yuuri,
I never expect hubby to stay overnight with me.
Ermz, you mean hubby should stay overnight?

I was thinking, he stay overnight also don't know what he can do. Later instead of helping, he may make things worse leh.. You know how men are so careless.

But then I would expect him to visit me and bb everyday.

Yuuri,
Maybe for the full-mth favours, you should not put together with the buffet food. Perhaps you can keep the full-mth favours in the kitchen. Cos if the guests wana leave, they must tell u or hubby first right? Then when they leave, you give each family one box.

Valnsw,
I would expect hubby to stay to accompany me...or else 1 person very boring, esp if can't get to sleep at night. But now hubby say he don't want to go to the delivery room cos' so scary, then I tell him if he don't go he will lose his son! :p

I'm not doing the full mth at home, so no kitchen. Will be in the function room of my condo, so it's quite an open space. Put anywhere also people can just help themselves...

Catherine,
I intend to give only those who come.

Hi Star_xin

I am posting here because you don't accept PM. I'm really sorry that my colleague didn't contact you on time. I will let the sales manager know about this glitch. Thank you for your feedback.

Once again, I'm very sorry for the delay.

yuuri,
I think best is to do in one session, get it over and done with.

Maybe you want to put all the boxes into some carton, to "disguise" that it could contain some other things. Just a suggestion. Else can get your maid to guard the boxes?

Re: staying in hospital
Told my hubby he gota be in the delivery ward with me at least to give me moral support. He said ok. Hope he sticks with it and not forget, later one ear in one ear out.

avocado,
i op for 1 bedder. he stay or not he also have to pay.. hahaha. if he dont stay then maybe I get the maid to stay with me lo. Was advised by friends best to have someone with you in the night to help you with feedings or if u need anything. Cos sometimes cant depend so much on the nurses.

snow

Hmm, i think ur sis & mum prob let the full mth slip their mind.. Don't think too much k? Quite sure they wld want to be ard for u..

No worries abt the sprees.. Only when u're able and there are enough to make it worth while yah?

val

Wah, ur HB's fantastic!! Quite funny actually.. Maybe coz the bump's still rather small?

yuuri

Hmm, wah can get a sibling to do the distribution on ur behalf? And have it labelled for so-and-so?

catherine

I think no hard & fast rule, does ur mum or HB have any idea how it is done for their own sides?
If i dun recall wrongly, when my sis held the full mth the other time, she didn't give any cakes, coz the buffet is already a treat itself. My frens' to whom I gave pressies/AP/vouchers, sent cake vouchers instead

avocado

i prob am opting for 1 bedder or Mt A's suite..
My sis was hospitalised once in TMC's 2 bedder, and the patient on the next bed had visitors who are very bu-zhi-dong, stayed late & was making a ruckus.. *sigh* why are there ppl like this

avocado

IseeIsee.. Hmm, maybe opt for 4-bedder first? Coz if u 'upgrade' u pay the difference, but not for downgrade.. Will keep you in prayers k? Both for ur BB & finances

m2b, i dun think my gal will come out in mid July. My edd kept mmoving forward is due to her fast moving weight, so actually edd should b still end july / early aug.

valnsw (valnsw)

Almost the same incident happened yesterday when we go to the motherhood fair, @ iGenius booth the sales person asked us how old is my daughter, my husnabd immediately answer 18 months, I were so angry and give attitude face to the sales person and my husband. In firm tone saying…No is 21 months hor… I turned to my husband letting the sales person hear that also, I told my husband, you answer till very siong hor, your own daughter how old you also don’t know. Both of them laugh in a funny way where I still very angry. Haha I very bad also hor… purposely.

Snow
I can understand how you feel, most of the time I also feel I am being left alone but try not to let this affect you too much, though I know is not easy. Things may turn out good. Now I just heck care whatever things and comments etc.

Catherine,
For me I don’t think is a need for my husband to stay overnight with me cos the first delivery never, he just stay with me throughout the day but at night go back sleep. But this one he said want to opt for single bed so he can stay overnight and my daughter can stay longer or overnight too. But don’t know last mins will change mind or not. Anyway I just hope my daughter can stay overnight with me rather than him. Lol

Full-month
There is a Sweetest Moment booth @ motherhood fair. Hubby got a voucher which is buy 10 boxes of their full month cake will free one box and he also buy $10 cash voucher with a free gift of kid feeding bowl, plate and spoon. So I think he will get the full month cake from them. My first pregnancy the full month celebration, we didn’t break the session into 2 parts though we invited 60 over people in our 4 room flat, Cos we think not all the people will be very puncture. Though that day a bit pack, some sit along the corridor but still not so bad, luckily is windy at my area if not all of them will feel damn hot. For us we just distribute the full month cake to all relative. Per family per set, but which relative to give is my mom and in law settle one, they just have to inform us how many set they want and we will pass to them to settle.

catherine,
yah. they do have a shop at united square too. its called mytotsroom. there are 6 designs, butterflies, flowers and another animals one. i got the train, animals and planes designs. i try to upload the pic for you later.

i will sure make lots of noise if hubby is not going to stay with me in hospital.

snow74,
i think they will make arrangement to be back for baby's full month. don't be upset.

avocado,
i'm going for 1 bedded too cos that is the only way for hubby to stay with me.

hey mummies...

i bought my sesame street bedsheet from mytotsroom

Catherine..gleneagles the nurses very nice will come by regularly at night...but still I also opt for 1 bedder cos my husband and daughter wants to stay ard..

btw u got the abdominal binder already cos c-sec u need it, mom n babes selling 20% discount..can go and get..

sigh..yday i went for gynae checkup..din put on much 500g for 1mth but baby put on 600g! doc say BB easily 3.2kg when born..and he say..c-sec almost must liao...