(2008/08) Aug 2008

Valnsw: Hahaa..like u said, the account-servicing ppl are always famous for their bitchy-ness one. Hahaha..i'm so used to it liao. hehe.

Mulberry: Whoa seems like Mamypoko is very recommended hor! hehe..think i'll try that oso then. You very onz! So fast packed liao..heehe..

Catherine: Same leh, i oso shortlisted Mamypoko + Pampers. But i might order the Goo.N ones oso. Since my colleague has been using that for her bb boy and she says very breatheable and not much kena leaks so far. hehe..

jo: Welcome to the bloggers' club! hehe..Oh u can put like everything and anything u want. Hahaa..if u've created the blog just for ur bb, then u can update the growth of ur bb, even upload scans of ur bb, things u've been doing for bb - everything abt ur bb! hehe...

hi gals, thanks for the responses!
seems like a good idea to check it out. i hvn't been to such exhibition in a long time. yeah, crowded and parking is ex!

cat, wow! ur mum is so nice! took leave to accompany u!

re: gathering this friday
sigh.. can't meet u gals again.
got appointment in the afternoon.

amabel's mummy

After u finished the pack of Pampers fr TMC, which brand did u move on to?

val

Date: 6 June (Fri)
Time: 12pm
Venue: Coffee Club Paragon (3rd flr of Paragon)
1) Catherine
2) nini
3) M2B
4) snow
5) Little Twin stars
6) sweetie
7) valnsw
8) hisstory (tentative - Got to check if electrician can pop by & what time)

avocado

Suresure.. Def need some time to figure out how to use a blog site. Esp when u wld like it to be pretty & personalised

Yah man, time really flies.. Just did a ticker for my site, and bb's going to pop in another 87 days or so

I'm also okie with paycut, better than no pay! heheh! Must say ur current job scope with account closing is stressful, have qt a few frens who are also in finance line

I'm thinking of BF for 1 year.. But will have to see how bb takes to it too

Hi ladies and mummies to be

I am expecting my baby in August too. I am planning to breast-feed and is thinking of renting a breast pump machine like those used in hospital. Does anyone knows of any contact or any place that offers rental of such machines. Thanks

hisstory,
cos TMC is using Pamper newborn brand for the baby so since my baby is ok with that brand i stick to that brand after finished using it and the one i bought for standbr before i delivered is also Pamper newborn too.

avocado,
oic. yah really different mother do it differently. But cos I am more concern about the rashes and allergies but not the immuse system. But if the baby is ok with that, then shouldn't be a problem for that, but some babies really have sensitive skin which we really need to take care of.

hisstory & catherine,
i also don't know where to get sample for diaper leh.

hisstory,
usually hospital will used pampers and you can bring back the pack that is given for your baby.

catherine,
for pj, so far i got 3 sets. 2 sets are separates and 1 set is a dress only button on top not full dress.

avocado,
i think its troublesome to wash baby clothes separately too. maybe will only do that when confinement lady is around. if not, i will wash it with our clothes too and use normal detergent.

for diapers, i have shortlisted pampers, mamy poko and drypers.

amabel's mommy

IseeIsee.. Better to stick to sthg tried & tested yah?

celyn

Hmm.. Let me go check out if there are ways to get samples

Prob Pampers has some deals with the hospitals, a real good way as a marketing tactic *heheh*

My sis did recommend Huggies.. But I'm still KIV-ing

jvenus,
my mom shoppaholic like me .. hahaha ... ok la ..

hi selina,
welcome. i think u can check with the hospital that you are delivery in. Cos you would prob rent from them.

re: diapers
I'm thinking hospital will usually give pampers NB, which u wont finish. Then will buy the mamy poko .. dono will use NB for how long lei. Cos Nepia is like 56 pcs pack .. dono too much for NB or not. So may just stick to pampers and mamy poko until baby can use S size then try other brands.

amabel's mommy, i think you stick to your way if you feel more comfortable. anyway, you have a maid to do for you so it should be fine.
you are sending your maid to mrs wong's class? how much does it cost? how many lessons?

hi selina, i think TMC allows renting of breastpumps. not too sure but you can check with them.

Hi hi

Sorry for late reply. Can't resist to sneak in here for a break!

Ya, we had great fun on last Sun gathering. Thanks Mulbery for organising. Btw, I have transferred to you just now, it may take 2 - 3 working days to clear, please check. Thanks again!

Catherine,

Received the pics liao, thanks. Ya, my ger is very shy towards strangers, she needs plenty of time to warm up. Hope you all have great fun for the gathering today too!

Val,

She is her daddy's ger. When she was a baby she looked like a boy, exactly like her father when he was a baby. My frens said they are carbon copy. hehehe.

Huichin, nice blog you have! Keep it up. I have done one for my ger too, but now the energy has died off, seldom update her blog nowadays. Feel so guilty. Those interested to see can pm me, i will send the invite.

Megan, nice to meet u and your ger, she is so sweet and understanding. I hope my ger can be as guai as your Megan when she grows up.

Looking forward for next gathering to come. Gtg liao. Bye.

Lindsay: hehe...thks! Will PM u for the link k. Heh. Oh i have a fren whose 2 kids oso take them at least half a day to warm up with strangers one. Hehee..Guess it's quite common. Once they're used to it - they'll open up! hehe..

Those who are aredy Mummies - what's the usual average quantity of diapers used per day for newborns? Maybe ard 4-6pcs? It'll be nice if u all can share some tips here. Heh.

Huichin
Newborn tend to use up more. I think I was using on the average 6-8 pieces a day! Hah, maybe that time my boy tend to poo and nee alot. Btw can pm me yr blog? I also have one for my boy : ))

anyone taking Nifedipine in this forum? Was given by my gynae, for preterm labour... feel a bit dizzy aft the medic...

missysz,
yup, is a one day course at $149.80. Not sure whether can opt for Mrs Wong as trainer cos according to them, she is not conducting course on this for maid cos she is too busy with conference and other things. But all their trainer is trained by Mrs Wong so i assume they are all very experience. But if there is any problem in taking care baby we can alway call her hp no.

Lindsay, wanna see ur blog also, will pm you k

Medusa15, mind sharing ur blog to me also? hee

catherine,
just went to the doc's talk yday. The PD had advised against the use of ear thermometer for newborn cos newbor's ears are still small to take accurate measurements and will recommend to take the temperature under their armpit.

cindy,

i'm oso taking Nifedipine. Current dosage is 30 mg per tablet n i find that its much better than the 10 mg tablet coz no side effects. Kinda weird rite, instead of higher dosage more side effect, instead its no side effect.
For the 10 mg tablet, it tend to cause my heartbeat to increase when taken on an empty stomach but if its taken with my meal or after my meal, i wun have this prob. Mayb u can try taking the tablet with some food.

update on my gynae visit yesterday: (rata, pls update when you are free, thanks...)
baby weight at week 32 is 1.819kg... strangely she has turned up again so gynae asked me to do some exercise to help baby turn down... mummy has put on 900g in 4 weeks
... so total 7kg increase from pre-preggie weight... she advised that I will have to be off Ventolin at end of week 34 & she estimated that my baby will be around 2kg mark then... however, i felt that 2kg is too small to deliver but gynae think otherwise, she said bcos im small frame so my baby will be small & asked me why i want a big baby... i told her i dun want my baby to stay in incubator/NICU as she will be very poor thing... HL given till end of July...

re : diaper
i got a few NB samples from pampers, huggies, drypers, pureen & mamy poko... got them from the earlier motherhood fair & gynae... SIL has given me 4 packs of Huggies Ultra S size as gift for baby... duno can finish or not as I will be using cloth diapers in the day...

those 2nd time mummies at GlenE, does the hospital provide NB pampers for free or they charge you for it... my friend was asking me to bring my own pack as it's cheaper for us to buy outside...

Hi Mummies to be

Just sharing some of my baby stuff...as u can see I went kinda overboard on the pink. If it turns out to be a boy I dunno how man :p...anyway Dr say 99% is girl. So if 1% come out boy he gotta 'ta-han' sleeping in girly room first.
1466631.jpg

The title of this pic is 'MY baby loot'...I say 'MY' cos I keep buying n hubby keep saying stop stop! Some of my stuff is big enough for 2 yr old..but damn cute la. cannot resist. Bigger sized ones still keep in plastic bag first :p
1466632.jpg

My stroller is here! It is way bigger than I thought...my hubby say I look like I'm pushing a lawnmower..die..really v v big when I compare to others. Think have to get another smaller one.
1466633.jpg

mummy81,
so sweet !!! I havent cleared space for baby clothes yet .. oh no .. think I better do something soon.. hahaha ..

Hisstory: My mjum also ask me to try Huggies cos its really cheap when they are having promo but not sure whether they have NB or not...

Dongle: How do we get samples of diaper from gynae?

I am thinking of whether should I go motherhood fair this weekend but scare of the crowd...

Catherine:
Thermometers: Some mummies suggested ear thermometer by Braun or Omron but my nurse fren told me Omron not so accurate so I am not sure. I think Watson is having a promo for Braun ear thermometer.

Mummy81, you put in alot of effort decorating the room!! Great job!! My bb room still a empty room with the wardrobe in a box.. Haha..

gayle
ur bb's room is really nice...if only my hubby was as enthusiastic..sigh...he really not very bothered...we bought the playpen ..but till now..still in box...nothing is opened...room still look like a normal room...

gayle,
your baby room is so pretty & sweet... just like mummy :p

baby will be sleeping with us, so we wont be decorating her room till later...

storeberry,
my gynae nurse always give me baby magazines, diaper samples, mummy's milk samples, stretchmark creams to try... maybe you can ask for it if they dont offer it to you?

Hi Medusa, long time no see! LOL. Our thread at the other side like pretty quiet hor..hehe. Whoa 6-8 pcs a day is alot hor! LOL. SO which brand of diapers would u recommend? heh.

Anyways, i think ur ID doesn't accept PM so here's my blog: http://chinelicious.blogspot.com/

Can PM me urs oso? Thks!

Gayle, whoa so nice! ur baby got her own room! hehee..i wish my gurl have..but now staying with my MIL + my hubby's 2 other siblings, haven bot over the house totally, so can't let my bb have her own room for now. LOL

dongle,

me too.. we bought playpen .. but till now.. still in the box .. i think i need to ask my husband to fix it sometimes in June/ early July

Catherine, Huichin
Alamak... ok let me try again. Think my office server got problem. You all check again ok?
Yeah our the other thread quieten down so much..
Once in a while I will still go in and kaypoh abit : p
As for diapers, I wld recommend Pampers new born cos its really leak free... downside is that it is a bit ex lah.. You may try huggies too. Now I am using huggies in the day and pampers in the night for my boy. I tried the rest before, dunno why but quite problematic.. : ((. So far I find these 2 the best.

happie,
Thanks for the suggestion. Mine is the 10mg one. Im taking them after food. read somewhere that taking the medic will have some side effects for the first few days. So hopefully they wil be gone...

Medusa, Lindsay & Mommies with blogs,
Please PM me your blog link too coz I’m interested to see too…I’m in the midst of doing up mine too…heehee

Catherine,
My mom made 2 bean sprout husks pillows for my bb too…

Gayle,
Your gal’s room is very nicely done-up…my bb will be sharing room with her jiejie but seem like can’t share wardrobe coz my big gal’s wardrobe is already bursting liao…hahaha

hi ladies!
just reach home.
today lower left tummy pain while walking, think my minnie is getting more and more heavy liao ya?

twin stars
if can, fund tx ok?
i'm someone who actually dun mange too well with cash on hand. =P
thx.

celyn
ha ha....u too guai liao lah, normally must do something so that the man wun dare to forget any dates again lor.

m2b
ok, will wait for ur gd news. =)

medusa
sorry, ur's i dun think i can manage to bring there....its a very big plastic. -_-"
can we arrange again?

dongle
during yr 2005, GlenE did not charge me for my gal's diapers usage in hospital leh.
they changed her even w/o my notice, so how come ur friend noe how much the diapers cost?

medusa,
got it.. ya ur son so cute .. is it a tradition to shave the head ?

M2B,
My mom dono how to do such things one la .. she only know how to go shopping.. hahaha. She somemore ask me beansprout pillow for what use ah .. hahaha

re: placenta
what are you mummies going to do with the placenta ? Have you heard that you can eat the placenta and it's very good for you. Any mummies did that before ?

medusa
pm me ur blog also can?
thx. =)

catherine
think this topic had been discussed earlier also, but dun think i'll dare to eat that....
u leh? plan to eat ur placenta?

snow74,
oh .. heehee .. didnt know it was talked abt before. I am thinking of doing so. But not fry with vegetable and eat la .. prob will dry it than pound to powder than eat in capsules. That way no funny taste. Heard it's good for breastfeeding also.

luvlel
normally we wun lose weight during 3rd tri.
even if we dun eat as much as 2nd tri, weight should maintain lor.
why leh?