(2008/08) Aug 2008

Can suggest what are the 'good stuff' to get from US? My friend's coming back for vacations and was thinking of getting her to help...but probably not stroller or carseat lah. Too pai sey!

Hi!! So babymallonline cot bedding set worth buying? I am thinking... Any other good deals to share here?

I always thot braxon hicks will happen later part of the pregnancy, didn't know it will happen now..

As I am tying this now, I am playing some gospel music for bb to hear. Hope he will like it!

Jvenus, baking cupcakes seems fun!! I would love to bake but I do not have the equipment, only a small toaster oven. But confinment period will have time to bake?

Thanks mulberry & faithmum. I feel my tummy hardening. But no contractions yet i guess.

But for my 1st pregnancy I felt contractions & doc told me it's normal, only uterus tightening. In te end around 3-4days later water bag burst & I delivered on my 32nd week.

Re: Children Place spree, any1 interested??? I saw a quite a number of items i like.

Re: Talking/Singing to baby: My hb and I take turn to read a children bible that I just bought, plus i listen to gospel music quite a lot.. will singing to her earlier..feel weird though..

reirei/faithmum,
decaf coffee is very flat, not much coffee taste but i still drink la... hehe... i was sitting on the 2nd row left hand side, quite near the middle camera man... agree that the camera man at the stage a bit dump, duno how to move his camera...

rata,
according to pregnancy calendar, bb's weight at week 28 is ard 1.1 to 1.25kg...

M2B,
just worried that baby born too small will be weaker & fall sick easily next time... not fair on her...

hisstory,
on HL & med till my week 34 as my gynae says delivery is very safe from week 34 onwards... hubby say he might ask my gynae to extend my HL for another 2 weeks to week 36, if not i will take my own leave... delivery at week 34 like too early lei... my fish oil also quite ex, $40 for 30 capsules & then now week 28 have to take 2 capsules per day i.e. $80 per month... gynae also mentioned that fish oil can delay my labour contractions...

re: braxton hicks vs labour contractions
BH are just tightening of the tummy without cramps & does not happen in regular interval, also BH happens only a few times per day... for labour contractions, it's tightening of tummy + cramps + regular interval (my worst ones was every 3mins) + happen a few times an hour... when in doubt, pls call gynae... im getting BH everyday without fail...

morning mummies.

yesterday, out almost the whole day so didn't log in. so many thread liao. very blur.

antenatal class yesterday was talking about breast feeding. LC was saying its better to store breast milk in glass bottle instead of plastic cos all the nutrients will be stuck to the wall of the plastic bottle once warm up. anyone know where to get glass milk bottle?

mummies who are interested in avent iq duo breast pump, john little having 20% on them for card member. i didn't buy cos my friend told me if they have it this round, during gss they might have the same discount too. so was hoping they will have the same discount during gss.

snow74,
what sprees are you organising this round?

seems like alot of ppl getting maid. I was thinking of doing things myself since im gonna be SAHM. Was thinking i dun wan confinement lady, dun wan move over to ILs thou offered by them, dun feel like having maid also. My manicurist says im being too optimistic and too garang, haha..say i might go crazy, say shd a maid to help out..u girls think i too "ambitious" not wanting any help at all even during confinement??

mulberry,
im thinking of asking my hb drop me off le, but it will be early cos he needs to be in office say 845am and at paragon. Tot mayb i can have breakfast or sth before class at 10am..i saw from another site that the head yoga teacher at mother & child also does outside lessons ard east coast area, i'll try calling n asking her later today n let u know yah

reirei,
ive always tot if finances are not too tight, i wanna be a SAHM if i ever have a kid cos i wanna be able to see my kid grow up, be there to see all the "first" happenings. But now, im getting soo bored at home, n HB works till late, home only say 9+pm, it gets reallyy boring after a while..so now having second thoughts, maybe i will go back to work if i buay tahan after a while..heard its not easy also being a SAHM. I wanna keep my sanity le..quite scary..esp the kind of roller coaster emotions im alrdy feeling nowadays.

Dongle,
I think I saw u
if i'm not wrong, u look v young and tummy v big..looks like 7-8 mths wor..

Yuuri,
1) Try Children's Place. They r having sale now. On top of the discounted price u see on the price tag, they r givin an extra 50%! so it's really v worth it! My HB was soo happie to buy a pair of cotton pants for US$2!

2) HB oso went Toys r us for Gerber and Carters clothes, waterproof bibs, socks, hats/caps and even pooh bear wall border.
Oh, the pacifiers there oso cheaper. We've got Gerber (maker of NUK) silicone pacifiers which r supposed to be #1 seller in US. 2 in a pack for abt US$4.
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2792577
3) Old navy is another good choice for nice and affordable stuff, esp. when they r having sale.
4) Gap is abit more ex than the other brands above but I like their 3-in-1 pack bodysuits for newborns. Really soft and good quality!

Good Morning!

Snow,
I just dun like the hassle of having to plan and quite tiring on actual day too…but hb seem keen to do a bigger 1 this time…then end up I’m the 1 planning again…

Valnsw,
We didn’t give out glutinous rice during the full-month…just red eggs and cakes only.

Dongle,
If bb is small when out, you can always fatten her up when she is out…dun worry so much ok? Now just rest and look fwd to delivering your cute princess.

Joanne,
To be frank, I was so looking fwd to go back to work when I had my #1…then ML only 8 weeks and to keep my sanity, I was looking fwd to dressing up and going back to office daily man…hahaha…but will start to miss bb when at work but will get used to it.

Good morning, mummies!

ReiRei,
Thanks! Me gotta start counting the weeks.. :p

Hisstory & Dingle,
For fish oil, I'm taking one 'Natal Care Plus' capsule daily. $30.04 for 30 capsules. Made in Australia. So far so good, no burping or any side effects. :D

val

But i'm awfully bz this whole mth.. *sigh* I shall hope & pray tt in June the discount wld still be available

I try to take the fish oil everyday, must keep thinking, it's for bb's brain devt.. Shall put up with those smells and after effects

dongle

Ur capsules are much cheaper! I think mine cost $60 for 30 capsules.. So expensive *heartache*
So 6 more weeks of being at home.. Hmm, tt's gd, dun want to go into labour too soon yah?

ReiRei

Another 50% off the discounted price tag for CP ah? I spotted some really pretty stuff.. I shall go check out the spree thread & see if i can ride on

Hisstory,
From the KKH pharmacy. It was recommended by my Gynae.
You know, really panic the last time cos it went out of stock!!! Luckily fresh supply came in the week after.

Got tons of pm, from dunno who... -_-"
Pls help me, kindly identify urself in ur mail can?
Its ok to keep order coming in now, but I need to noe who is ordering what leh.
Info that i need is Item url, color, size, price(US$) , qty, alternate color if oos.
Thx for all ur cooperation ya.

hisstory
my sis works in sgh, so got staff disc if get fish oil from sgh pharmacy.
its safe, cos its exactly the same brand my gynae recommended lor. =)

celyn
babymallonline and ON order 1st, gap till i receive the promo code.
ON & gap is hassle-free for me liao, cos so familiar.
babymallonlie is new, so might take some time to order.
so, no other merchant 1st at this moment lor.
u want?

m2b
understand, my hb also trying to negotiate not to distribute cakes only.
can imagine how tiring it is hor?

Gd morn ladies!

<font color="0000ff">mousse</font>, maternity leave is 12 weeks (incl PH &amp; Suns), I wish is 3 months...

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>, wah... u very on leh... tai jiao... I didn't to do it at all! are u looking for a cake shop which do cake, red eggs, ang ku and glutinous rice all in one box? yes, I think it is colostrum... basically, the breasts are getting ready to produce milk...

<font color="0000ff">reirei</font>, yah, I also find that throw away the baby photo very wasted... anyway, no one will really appreciate these details other than we parents? but nowadays, most pple prefer hving bengawan solo vouchers than to hv the actual cake, red eggs and ang gu leh...

<font color="0000ff">snow</font>, I also feel like not doing any celebration... but my #1 had one so #2 my ILs sure make noise if I dun do...

<font color="0000ff">cat</font>, I agree! the baking can but the decorating is siong! And handling all the cream... I read somewhere got one mum actually baked 20+ marble cakes all for distribution of the full month! So amazing...

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>, dunno why this pregnancy I get turn on with cakes so reading recipes quite often... some of the pics are so nice! So wanted to try to make some lor... haha... just dreaming lah...

<font color="0000ff">dongle</font>, u hv BH so early? I remember only hving it in 3rd trimester last time... nowadays I feel the kicking is harder and more often only...

<font color="0000ff">rata</font>, did u get my email?
last time I also tot of buying the bumper mat but it's so ex!

<font color="aa00aa">Re: maid</font>
So many of u getting a maid? For taking care of baby or housework? I've cleaners coming in on a weekly basis and so far, quite satisfied with them so hoping to lay off getting a maid if possible...

<font color="aa00aa">Re: diapers</font>
What are the brands of NB diapers? Dun think I can take it washing the cloth ones since now already washing so many times a week!

<font color="aa00aa">Re: playdoh</font>
Mums wif #1, do ur kids play with play doh? Do you think it's very messy? Any advice how to designate an area so that it's easier to clean up? I nearly fainted when my #1 mixed 2 colours together... aiyoh... I scared next time when baby is out later eat the playdoh bits not cleaned up properly...

snow74,
i will go and see and send you my list if i have anything to buy. if i didn't send it to you in time, just go ahead. don't wait for me. thanks.

re: fish oil
i didn't take at all cos can't stand the smell. but i saw chewable fish oil (with orange or grape flavour) for kids at kkh pharmacy, wondering if its the same. heheh...

Twin star
Congratulations on getting a maid..: p
Let's keep our fingers crossed okie..

Joanne
Depends I guess. Maid is a long term commitment. Maybe can get a confinement lady to help you if you have no other ppl to help you in the first month cos you also need to recuperate and rest well. I stayed with my aunt for a month and then after that moved back to my place once confinement over.

venus
ya lor, my mum warned me some more u noe?
so sian, gotta think of how to have at least a low profile celebration lor.

abt maid, getting a maid is to have those 24hr house cleaning support lor...ha ha....
when kids reach a certain age, keeping the house very clean at all time all days is very important.
may gal roll on the floor, pick food that she dropped on the floor up to eat, change at least 2 sets of clothing everyday, etc.
i remember last time when my gal was sick and vomitted at night, really appreciate maid that help to clean up middle of the nite when i attend to my bb.

Jvenus,
Yap, I agree playdoh is very messy...thus I limit the times my gal gets to play with it and after that must make sure the area is thoroughly cleaned. If not, I will see bits of it sticking onto my gal's clothings...hiaz

Celyn,
The fish oil comes in a capsule, only need swallow with water. It's quite tasteless actually. Try lah, it's supposed to be good for baby.

Snow,
I have sent you my order liao.

Yalor, my hb only know how to say and suggest and end up, it is me doing the work so I'm seriously thinking just celebrate bb's full-month w families will do. :p

mousse,
i'm a lousy person. i can't swallow any medicine. need to chew all my medicine, so chewing fish oil is yucks....

Snow
Yeah lor I agree. Thats why cannot tahan liao decide to get a maid. I have been getting those come once a week to clean up kind but I still find the house easily dirtied. Plus with kids house must maintain a certain level of cleaniliness.. Hopefully my new maid will solve my problems : ))

catherine,
thanks for the info. Will look out for it.

Little twin stars,
gd luck with your maid.Do share your experience with us. Which maid agency did you get your maid from?

M2b,
I thought only red eggs and ang ku kueh, don't knw why my mum thought of glutinous rice?!

hisstory,
just wait for the GSS then. I guess JLL should have some sort of sale too.

dongle,
you mean have to take 2 capsules a day from wk 28 onwards? oh gosh, seems like alot to swallow.

joanne,
think always better to have extra pair of hands to help especially during confinement. Cos that's the crucial period that you condition your body back to pre-preg. What's more you will be v busy with 3-hrly feeds if you intend to breastfeed. Can you imagine how little sleep you have? I read earlier threads of how some mummies got so fed up with their babies' constant cries &amp; feedings that they want to throw them away!..
We are women, not superwomen. We still need help wor..

jvenus,
I looking to do hi-tea buffet then buy the ang ku kueh and red eggs separately to add to the spread.
Oh.. so it is colostrum. Sometimes I feel so eeky to see one drop glistening on the nipple. Means I have to clean up everyday to make sure it doesn't harden into crust

mousse,
thanks. will try to control my diet from next weeks onwards, hopefully it will help a bit.

baby full month:
have not discuss with hubby on this issue. is it too early to think about it?

mousse

Thanks!! I shall see if i can tompang my best fren's mom who is a nurse at KKH to help me get..

snow

wah, good lobang! I shall seesee if i can find a cheaper source for the same brand I'm getting fr gynae

val

Yupz!! I shall keep everyone updated if i find anymore good lobangs

Hi Dongle,

Wow u r having BH everyday? Is that the reason y u r on HL for so long? Sorry ive been missing for quite a while n cant really catch up with the speed here...

Re: Glucose test
Is it compulsory to take it? My gynae didnt mention anything to me. So far only the usual urine test.

joanne,

valnsw is right. first mth, cannot handle alone one la. it's the most crucial mth for u to get back in health n shape to rest so u can take care of yr baby well from 2nd mth onwards. like u, i am also very garang. don;t want maid since i am taking 1 yr off work...but CL i want la. everyone in my family n il;'s scolded me and "forced" me to get a maid. at least get a CL, my friends who didn;t get regretted big time and is suffering from bad health and backaches. it's just one mth. bare with the "stranger" la

jvenus,
i also have a very gd pt maid and i'm also not working so i thot shld be ok. but my hubby say the hse will be messy by midwk. and if i get my pt maid to come in 2-3 times a wk to help me with hsework. it will end up the same price as a ft maid liao. the only thing that is worrying me is the training and if after all the hard work of training, she say she wants to go home, i faint

valsnw,
if u tell the caterer full mth buffet, it will not include red eggs n ang ku kueh? actually i thot only if they don;t come to yr celebration then need to give them a box of cakes with all these. if they come, no need right?

agent, i used nikki

medusa,
think the maid is nervous coming here, i am also nervous having her man. i chose her over the indo because this one i chose is married with 2 kids where else the indo is single. hope i made the right decision. sign, it's like i just bot a 4D ticket and waiting by the TV to see if it opens, hahaha

hi all..is the material at babymallonline good? anyone ordered from them before? and roughly how much is the shipping charges? sorry, very sua-ku coz never joined such online spree before. :\

m2b
sorry ya, now abit busy...i'll read my hotmail later okie!?!?! =)

but even direct family member hor, i also got alot u noe.
last time my gal celebrate 1st bday, my family need 4 tables.
+ my hb's family....really tiring.

medusa
ya lor, full time maid is not only abt cleanliness leh.
i remember once when i'm sick after work &amp; my hb need to work late, lucky got maid to help run after my gal at nite.
that is something that part time helper can't help lor.

valnsw
ya, glutinous rice is 1 of the full mth item also. =)

hisstory
left only ~3mths, its still advisable to take what ur gynae recommended lor.
can see if any of ur friend work in any hospital or pharmacy that can have staff disc lor.

snow,

u not doing the children';s place one yet right?
they are having a sale lei.

reirei,
the 50% off for children;s place states, online prices are final ...which is after the 50% off right?
u bought online or yr hubby went there to buy? i want to buy some items but i can;t post at the overseas spree yet

Joanne,
I used to think like you... or even up till now... wanna handle everything on my own... But after talking to mothers n colleagues, those who didnt get CL mostly regretted... My MIL, mum, sis, aunties all felt that should at least get a CL to help you.. cos our body needs time to recuperate from the labour... After much thought n discussion with my hubby, we finally booked our CL last night... However, i still wonder if ive made the right decision.. esp when the thought of how so many mothers in the past managed to cope without any CL or help...

I wanted to know which bottles are good. Avent, Born Free or Dr Brown? I still have my avent steriliser, will Born Free &amp; Dr Brown fit in it?

twin stars
let me get thru the babymallonline 1st okie? =)
both are new to me, i just make sure i dun confuse myself.
can send me ur order for babymallonline and ON 1st?
vpost can hold parcels for 2wks, so we still got time to decide whether or not to buy from other sites lor....unless that sales is ending this wk, then we order that 1st?
step by step, is that ok for u?

Hi Faithmum,
Mummies who's family has a history of diabetes will usually be asked by their gynaes to do the glucose tolerance test. This is to detect if we got gestational diabetes, a form of diabetes which occurs usually after 25 weeks of pregnancy. Usually, gestational diabetes will subside after delivery.

Hi Mousse,
Oh ok... Thanks for the info...

Re: Braxton Hicks
Is it safe to continue with work n our usual ativities when having BH?

Joanne,
I also plan to be SAHM. I share your sentiments, I wanna be there for my bb's major milestones
But it's also a struggle to keep sane when there's nothing much to do.

Right now, I'm bored outta my wits staying at home alone most of the time. I feel like going out, but going alone a bit boring, and also, I get tired easily. I don't really feel like going out with my mum or anyone else cos gotta oblidge and compromise, very tiring oso. Feel like bringing my dog out for outing, but the weather is so so hot, and my dog will tire me out even more. Got once, she ran off and I couldn't catch up, I didn't dare to run too fast, scared fall down hurt baby! It frightened me so much, I dare not to bring her out myself anymore. So it's really tough not having work too. I quit my job in my 1st trimester cos I felt so depressed. At first I didn't want a CL too, but my friends and family convinced me I will need help. I just gotta deal with accepting an outsider in my home for a month. Partially also becos I got depressed in my 1st tri, I'm afraid I might get post natal blues after delivery. So better to be safe than sorry.

twin stars &amp; kel
till now like only 2 of u asking abt the children place, or both of u wanna send me ur order 1st since its not alot?
i can order some items also to share the shipping lah.
but if too many orders, then gotta on hold 1st liao...incase mess up. =P

m2b
ya lah, ON also...hee hee....
the 10% disc hard to come by leh, so must make gd use of it. =P
order lah, after this round also dunno if i can still order anot.
cos i dun have a fax machine at home, so might be difficult for me to buy again after i'm not working lor.

Hi what is Children Place webby? Thanks!

Snow: thanks for organising when you are so busy! kEKEKE... Its shopping time!!

Jvenus (venus): Let me know when you are successful in making the cupcakes!