(2008/08) Aug 2008

kel,
you mean yr gynae say contractions at week 32 is normal? when i was hospitalised & while in the labour ward, there were many MTB who were warded as they had contractions during their 28 to 33 weeks... mine seemed to be the earliest cos i was only wk 23 then...

then how's your bb born at week 32?

faithmum,
to be precise, 1st time i had BH at my wk 23 i thought it was normal but it did go away after 5 hours so i called gynae & was told to admit immediately... was diagnosed as pre term labour contractions... at that time, i was having flu, cough, fever & mumps so gynae say it's caused by infection...

2nd time at home during my HL & felt sharp stabbing pain at my right pelvic area at regular interval & thought it's pelvic ache, again it did go off after a few hours & end up call gynae again & have to admit at 4am...

if you feeling uncomfortable, do call your gynae immediately...

hisstory,
no choice for the sake of baby have to take lor... esp for me i dont like fish...

jvnenus,
i only worry about communication breakdown lei

hisstory,
thanks for the tips

snow,
no worries, go do what u need to do. work is important too

dongle,
me too. every day if i walk, my tummy is super hard as well. no contractions but hardening ....yes!
think we have to keep our mood happy as well. on mon, when i was very angry......wah, stomach pain, i had to tell myself to relax. keep breathing in and out. i was so angry until i had diarrhea. that is when i told myself, for the sake of my baby. must keep it cool!

dongle,
if you have to take 2 capsules each day, you might wanna come over to kkh to stock up. over here, med/vit turnover pretty high so they also tend to be fresher.

Hi Dongle,

Wow u went through so much... hope everything is fine now for you... Yesterday when i went in to see my gynae due to the cramps i felt, she did an internal unltrasound to check my cervix length.. she said its to make sure it wasnt pre term contractions... This morning i had it again and called her but she said it should be fine.. even assured me that its ok to go to work, as i need to walk n stand a lot in my job...

Thanks Hisstory for the link & will order bigger size!

Joanne (jolim10): I am a FTWM but like playing mahjong! Haha!!

Thanks dear Snow!!! Will send you the Children place order tonight! Night time have more time to surf the web.. Kekek..

little twin stars & Strawberry: Is all Pigeon bottles BPA free? I just got a few Pigeon bottles from Robinson but not sure... Where to check?

Jvenus: I always salivate when I see those nice lttle cupcakes!! But never get down to doing it & I don't even have the necessary equipment like the blender... :p But I love baking when I was in my Secondary school last time..

storeberry,

BPA bottles should be code 2 or 4. Not all Pigeon bottles are BPA free. Only those sold at Taka & BHG. From what I gathered, they are for the Japanese Mkt. Bottles with code 7 contain BPA.

Jvenus,
Think i shd b SAHMTB since baby not out yet ma.. but alrdy stopped working few mths ago, growing mushroom alrdy! also heard frm my SIL who is a SAHM w maid somemore, say no time for herself at all and she seems sooo busy everyday. I really wonder busy w what le..i have this mentality that, its only a small baby le, how tough can it be???Hahaha think i'll slap myself later aft bb out.

Play mahjong without money quite boring leh, but dont have to play big big one la, even very very small also can..at least more exciting, haha..

Storeberry,
Haha where u still find time to play mahjong ah?? working plus baby, plus mahjong!

Briebaby,
yeah, i feel so happy to see my HB home but barely get to spend like an hour plus with him he needs to sleep ardy, cos he is exhausted from work. Quite poor thing, esp considering his wife here complaining about being bored at home not having to work and too much time to waste doing nothing! hee..

So let me know if anyone keen on Mahjong weekday afternoons!I'll organise!

strawberry, is the machine good? i heard cannot spin dry, so have to manually wring the clothes dry is it? but the good thing is it has this anti bacterial function? can i use liquid detergent or must use powder detergent? my current front loading one works better with powder detergent. how much u selling for?

dongle

same here, not a fan of fish.. HB also not! But def for bb's sake, we shall press on yah?

steph

Tt was at 21 weeks.. I wonder if i've put on more since then! For all you may know, i might have doubled the wt gain

storeberry

U're most welcome

Hi Krex,

Mine has the spin dry function. It has anti bacterial function? I am not sure about this. Its pretty small - for load 1-1.5L only. So considering the small load and the time taken to wash, I would say its not that economical. But for baby's clothes its should be quite sufficient.

I can't remember how much I got it for. Or if its still under warranty. I am not even sure about the retail price. Perhaps just a small token like 15-20bucks will do bah. I just wanna make space in my already pathetically small kitchen.

Dongle,
I was hospitalised when I was around week 17 too. It was the lowest point of my life. I was warded for a persistent fever and cough. When I was warded, my fever hit 39.6degrees. Did blood, urine and phelgm test but could not find anything wrong. But the fever took 10days to subside. By then, my cough had developed into bronchitis. Even after 14days of penicilin medication and 5days on Pencilin Inserts, the cough was still persistent. It was only after I resort to TCM that I managed to get rid of the cough. To those coughing, better seek medical attention soon. According to TCM, any sort of viral infection will definately affect the baby in terms of nourishment.

Hi Strawberry,

It's the egg looking washing machine right ? I would like to buy from you. As you mentioned $20 ? I buy you dessert also la .. since so cheap :p

Twin Stars, Hisstory,
My HB bought CP in the shop in the states. I think the additional 50% oni applies to purchases in the shop cos it says in the website dat online prices reflect the final discount liao.

Briebaby,
I was oso v depressed in my 1st trim. Many a times went home crying after work, and once cried in front of my boss when she said sumfin nasty to me. She later commented dat i was being childish. So i said to myself, 'datz it!' To save my dignity & pride, i fired her! heheh.. :p
Today had a small argument wif hubby and almost cried in mrt train..sigh..so afraid dat i might haf post-natal blues.. But I'm feeling much better now after some retail therapy..
Bought myself a hello kitty! haha..

Strawberry,
Great! I'll go tis weekend to grab those pigeon BPA free bottles.

Snowwy,
Sometimes Kiddy Palace will haf 20% discount storewide. If u r not urgent in getting them, maybe can wait for the sale.

Storeberry,
You can refer to Belle L's postings. She's got quite a detailed description of Pigeon BPA bottles
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1404389.html?1209399440

Snow,
I oso wanna join in the ON spree~ :p
Thank you so much for coordinating!

Ladies, hope u bought ur Toto today cos jackpot is $3m!

Catherine,

Haha. Let me go home, look for the manual. Tmr, I list down the functions of the machine. Then you decide k. I gotta check if its still working too. Think its been lying in my kitchen for nearly 6mths. I remember I got it from Caltex using Points and cash for it. But seriously cannot remember.

Celyn,
If u wan glass bottles, i jus saw some new stock of Pigeon glass bottles in taka today. Forgot to chk if it's made in japan.
Cost abt S$14 for the smaller bottle. Too bad dun haf discount now, otherwise I'll sure grab.

Strawberry,
Sure let me know. Cos my main purpose is so for washing bb clothes. You sure you wont be using them ? email me [email protected]

Re Bottles
So is glass really better than BPA free bottles ? I havent really decided on which ones to get yet. I worry glass will break easily.

Catherine,
Actually, plastics haf BPA so dat they will not crack easily. So I tink BPA free bottles and glass r abt the same bah.
I suppose u jus haf to be careful not to drop it lor.

Jvenus, I'm also interested in making cupcakes. any idea where i can buy nice cake boxes that can put cupcakes, ang ku kueh and red eggs?

Snow74 and other mummies, I stay at river valley. Can also meet if you gals organising meet ups.

Strawberry, glass bottles will break if you overfill it. So when storing EBM, leave some space at the top. Cheapest way to get glass bottles is from the hospital you deliver. I collect loads the last time i delivered and even gave some away.

twin stars,
I intend to do hi-tea buffet, not the full-mth buffet. As hi-tea buffet will not have red eggs or ang ku kueh, so I will have to get them separately from caterer.

snow,
my mum said people do take glutinous rice for full-mth, not sure how accurate leh.. Think I will just do away with it. Cos I don't think can find one that does it separately.

jvenus,
won't be giving boxes of cakes, just only have hi-tea buffet. ang ku kueh and red eggs either eat at the buffet or they can take home.

strawberry,

RE: glass bottles
Think Kiddy Palace, Robinsons have NUK glass bottles. Wait for 20% off hehe

snow,
Got abit confused, you doing the babymallonline.com spree first right?
I PM you the order by Sunday night right?

ReiRei

Oh yes.. I just went to double-check on your pt, tt's right. Thanks for the info!
Hope u're feeling much better now k? Go home & 'punish' ur HB.. Ask him to buy more Hello Kitty things for u

RTCP

How do u get the glass bottles fr hospital?

val,
if u wan glutinous rice, can always order in advance from stores that sells it. im sure they will entertain u. Went to one baby shower which had that.

Hisstory,
The maxi cosi is by quinny issit?
I saw a jap couple using it today..looks very cute! but ex hor?
the 'basket' can be removed and used as car seat rite? but looks kinda small..for newborn to 3 mths?

joanne,
thanks for the info. Guess I have to search for a stall that sells if my mum insists on it.. sigh

RTCP,
Like hisstory, I'm curious to know how you get glass bottles from the hospital?

Joanne (jolim10): Yah now have the time but when bb comes out then prob no time liao... But thats my favourite past time!

Little Twin star: Haha!! I am store the berry, she is the fruit strawberry... kekek.. sounds the same.. Don't confused hor!

reirei,
i think the maxi cosi can sit until 16 or 18kg. My friend baby sit until almost 15 mths and she is very chubby type. No prob.

Any mummies chest size increased by a lot??? I just measured myself as my bra is getting tighter.. I am now a D~!! OMG. was wearing B pre-preggy..

jo,
I feel the underbust tighter, not sure about the cup size. My boobs have become more swollen for sure but I think I just wear back the same cup size. I bought size 38 nursing bra but still feel the bra tight at the looser hook. Did not add in extension hook though.

jo

Chest size def increased, but not significantly.. Fr 32A to now 34B.. Wonder if it wld continue to increase though *hmmm*

val

Do urs feel sore? Mine were sore during the 1st trimester, now okie..

Mummies, do we get the soreness in the 3rd trimester?

It's not the bust size increase that bothers me .. it's the fact that most of the bras are so ugly !!! Sometimes I see myself wearing the bra I feel so depressed. Already got the lace ones from mothercare.. still feel like my grandmother

hisstory,
my nipples feel abit sore/sensitive if my hubby brushes past them. V irritating. I keep telling him not to brush across. Ermz.. maybe also partly cos I think my nipples are kinda on the bigger side *blush*

Catherine,
maybe you can find nicer bras at Marks and Spencer? But I think those will cost quite a bit. Don't think I want to "invest" in those as don't know if bust size will go down after pregnancy

Hisstory,

i'm sure u wun put on that much.hee.
That maxi cosi system is nice. any idea wats the weight of the stroller ?

i like the buzz but its oso too heavy for me. Lookin for somethin lighter. So far onli bugaboo bee meet my criteria.

Valnsw,
It's still ugly cos it's not like those demi/half cup type. it's those full cups and very granny feeling
Anyway I had to buy 2 pcs of the nursing bras to wear cos I have already outgrown the 1st trimester bras.. haha. These 2 hopefully is to last me till end of pregnancy.

that day hubby commented "wah look at your nipple now, so big!" I said "ya it's to feed your baby you know".

jo,
my cup size didn't increase. but chest do. i wear 70A and now 80A. with my old bra, i just put extention and i can wear liao.

catherine,
yah, i agree nursing bra are so ugly. LC suggests us to get nursing bra after 7 months but even then size might increase for some too.

so will have to look at ugly bra end of this month or early next month when i pass 28 weeks. sigh....

i'm so sad just now cos my close friend said that i waste $$ when i mention i wanted to get the avent iq duo breast pump. she keeps telling me how she had stop bf at 4th months and her 2 sis stop after 1 month. i shouldn't spend so much $$ on it and insisted that i don't buy it. she say if i really want just buy the medela swing but i will get the pis model for medela. its almost the same price as avent too.

catherine,
I like the way you responded to your hubby's comment ;P
But my hubby will sure say he wants to drink milk too.. He keeps telling me that, cheeky him.

Anyway few more mths to go and after breastfeeing, you can go back to wearing your sexy lingerie *winkz*

for me both increase.. i was 32b now 34d.. scary... i think it is ugly lor... really look like cow.. hope i can go back to normal..

val

*ouch* Notty HB! Mine also got bigger, but not sore at the moment.. *cross fingers & toes*

Are u wearing non-wired bras? I still am wearing wired, no choice.. My tops for work are mainly halter/ strappy, so i got to wear strapless bras. And them come wired..

steph

I hope so too!!!
Hmm, am not too sure abt the wt of the stroller too.. Have not been able to locate the info

jo,
can understand what you mean. It's really like a pair of udders.. i see myself also sian.

hisstory,
Wah.. which line are you in? heh have to wear halter/strappy. I find it uncomfy to wear strapless bra, quite tight. Cos I also never bought new ones. Now to think of it, I bought one loose top that is a tube and I haven't worn it yet cos didn't have strapless bra to wear with..

RE: glass bottles

Huh..why u all say its expensive? I mean its like "only" $10+ per bottle mah.. then most we buy 2 bottles only..correct?unless we have to buy many? Sorry im very dumb dumb here...dont understand..

Btw i went for my first pre-natal massage yesterday!
She was my home massueur even before my pregnancy, n i stopped for 6 months. She used to work in a well-known spa in Holland village for many years then set up a home-based massage services. What i liked about her is she KNOWS where to massage and also the vital points that cannot massage for pregnant woman. If go to her house, it's only $38 for 60mins or $50 for 90mins for PRE-NATAL massage. VERY worth i must say! Cheap n good deals are hard to find these days!

Good morning MTBs

It's Friday!! *yippee*

val

heheh, no lah.. Not tt i have to wear halter or strappy. Happened tt the maternity wear i bought/ were given, are cut-in, halter or strappy..
I like these sorts of tops coz my work requires me to be in non-aircon place qt a fair bit, if i wear sleeved clothes, i think i will melt!!

*heheh*

Reirei,
is it? So far I have yet to chances upon any discount there. Must really watch for it

Val,
You can try to check with the caterer for hi-tea buffet. Some of them do have lobang or distributor with ang ku kueh and red egg that they can help you to order and cater at 1 go. Save effort.