(2008/08) Aug 2008

just got back from the spore expo...paid deposit for the ameda pump, wanted to buy the sling from MIM..but the colour all not nice...so decided to wait...i bought several tiny socks and shoes..ahyo...so cute...cannot resist it man...all pink in colour!..heehee..also got several rompers ..$6..each ..got 2 nursing bras as well...
well, i personally found the spore expo not too bad ..of cuz there were several booths not too suitable for us...but overall..i think it was good to look see look see..quite happy with my buys

car seats..
sigh ..the more i read , the more confused i get..i think i will just wait for a while more...then just buy whichever is on good sale...i reckon this sort is alot of trial and error as well...may be suitable for some..may not be for others..headache when have to read so much and do so much research...:p

me not doing much housework..basic stuff only..wiping table and all that...cleaning the floor...leave to hubby...ironing still doing abit..but cannot do for long..backache..
yea..now when i sit for too long..i get pain in my lower back ..dunno if its me becoming too lazy liao...heehee

I also never do any housework...but then again, I've never done any housework in my life
Before marriage got maid, after marriage got hubby. Sometimes I pity him cos' I'm really damn lazy.

Nini,
Different pple different lifestyle I guess...but think in a good way, you will be a virtuous mummy. My kid will probably grow up thinking his mummy very laoya! Just like my sis and I grew up laughing at my mum cos she dunno how to do housework.

yuuri,
yah. my mum is my maid before married, after married become hubby. heheh.... i think in future, my children will also laugh at me.

i tell my husband, next time, i can't get him to do something (eg. peel grapes) for me liao. if not, our children will follow suit, then how. need to set good example when baby is born. i think no more good life for me. hahahah....

Morning ladies!!

Wht an active thread...so much to read after one long weekend!

Aussino
I also receive an invite card to say they are having sales at end of March. So look out for it. But staff discount shd still be the best. If you ladies are organising a buying trip to aussino, let me know, cos I wan to buy some stuff.

Baby cot
I bot the big size one from aussino last time but they told me totaly no discount as this is on consignment and hence not part of their housebrand. For those who want to buy the big one, one consideration is that a lot of new homes have smaller doors. Hence, if you assemble it in the living room, you have problems pushing it into the bedroom. Older properties have bigger doors. Also, while mine came with wheels, we never installed it as it is permanently in the bedroom. Instead, we got a playpen which is more portable to put into livin room.

Cadi thermometer
I got that for my first one. Very good and useful. In the beginning, i bot the normal thermometer but you realise that you baby is never still enough for you to take a reading and you really need a digital one.

Car seat
I bot the maxi cosi one. But even though they tell you can use till 18 kg etc, you may find it hard to adjust the strap. So, for mine, even tho my son used for one yr, i never adjust the strap at all cos it seems you gotta dismantle quite a lot of things to do it...very hard.

7th month
Hey, you gals realise we will be delivering in 7th mth. Any idea when it starts/ends?

Good Morning!
Wow, so many talks on shopping...heehee, me just ordered rompers, bibs and hankies for #2 from the forum...

Rata,
Glad that your DS results are good! Now is shopping time.

Yaya, I'm oso on on Aussino stuff. heehee

RTCP,
My #1 car seat also maxi cosi and we loved it! #2 will be using that as my #1 upgraded to booster seat last year liao...

Lunar 7th month starts on 01 Aug 08...heehee

Morning ladies.

think we can really organise a aussino trip liao...hee hee...now at least 5 persons on on leh.

RTCP
ya lor, lunar 7th mth.
i'm really afraid to deliver on the 14th nite actually...hee hee.....

NiNi
me only got maid after delivering my 1st gal.
so before that, i'm also doing all the housework by myself during preggy.
but do remember, be extra careful when taking laundry out to dry with bamboo stick.
after doing that, my tummy always feel uncomfy.

Bleah.. not feeling too well since last nite. tummy like v queasy, yday had headache after going to Kiddy Palace TPY, the aircon broke down, v stuffy. After got into the car, felt like vomitting w headache. Got home and vomitted. Sianz..Wanted to eat po1 lo2 bao for supper then eat halfway stomach feels funny again.

YLN,
I also got the ameda pump from Expo and paid the deposit yday. Realised one of the Mumsfairy's owner has same Christian name and surname as me.
Think they will email us after the Expo fair for the date of delivering the pump to us?

Aussino sale:
Who are the mummies interested? Let me know ya? Cos I totally lost track. Maybe we can organise one outing where the mummies can meet.

So far, I know shay, snow74, RTCP and M2B. Anybody else I missed out?

RTCP,
yeap, my friend at Aussino told me to go look outside first for baby cot cos theirs is on consignment basis. She didn't say if can get discount on that.

Anyway, my requirements for baby cot v specific, thinking now may have to custom make ah..

Re: prams/strollers
Think Baby Kingdom and Baby Hyperstore should have good selection if you wana see many brands at one go. Was there yday.
Brands at baby kingdom: maxi cosi, maclaren, peg perego, britax (thought i saw but v limited)
Brands at Baby Hyperstore: Combi and Capella

Initially hubby and I were quite set on Capella S228 but after seeing the Combi Miracle turn, quite tempted but so ex at $498!! Hubby also agrees Combi pram is better quality.

Off to nurse my headache..

valnsw,

where is Baby Kingdom & Baby Hyperstore? Hee...a bit "mountain turtle"...:p

Me interested in the aussino sale too..let me know the time & venue too..thanks

RTCP, 1st aug is actually the 1st day of lunar 7th mth.

Snow, ya lor. time to give a serious thot for her name too

hi all, so many posts, dunno which one to respond to, heehee.

car seat:
i dun have any particular brand in mind, but i saw a few going for less than $200 at taka bb fair. tot i'll get one of those nearer to EDD. those that i saw can sit infants from 0-4 yrs. shld be gd enough for me. don't want to get an infant car seat, then have to upgrade to toddler one later.

cot/ playpen:
thinking of getting a convertible cot that i saw at mishka and maven. it's really ex though, close to $1k. but it was love at first sight. the cot is big, comes with changing station, has drawers by the side, and can convert to bed when bb is older. there's also an extra pull out bed for maid/ CL or another child to sleep on it. perfect coz' it saves so much space. but later on, i also thought i might want bb to sleep with me at night for the first few mths, so dun mind getting a cot cum playpen/ bassinet, which is much cheaper, ard $200-300. that will be quite mobile and i can use it for bedroom and living rm. i liked one graco model i saw, but was sold out when i went back to taka fair. if i can get a good cot at mum & babes (haven't been there yet) for $300+, i dun mind buying that in place of that $1k cot.

housework:
i'm still doing light housework like cleaning surafaces, but will get my hubby to dry mop. laundry is still relatively easy. once a fortnight, i get my dad's maid to come over on a sat to do intensitve housework, e.g. mop, iron, wash toilet, etc. this arrangement works perfectly fine for me.

Hi valnsw, please count me in for the Aussino gathering. hee..take care and have a good rest.

hi rat, congrats on your princess. could u update for mine please? it's a prince.

valnsw
take care, and have some gd rest.

Rat
ya lor, lunar 7th mth is always sensitive.
u wanna name ur minnie urself, or look for some "fortune teller" to calculate for u? =)

oh yes, regarding prams/ strollers...anyone knows of a good stroller that is compact? hubby has been trying so many, and so far, only quinny has excellent storage as stroller can fold down to almost half its size and gives my small boot lots of space to put other things. other strollers just collapse and by the time u put in the boot, no space to put anything else already. sigh, stroller headache now!

btw, anyone used baby bjorn for 1st kid? we're thinking of getting the carrier...i think it's abt $200. the system is really cool!

Rat
ya lor, i'm also considering doing that.
just can't get a chinese word that both hb and me like lor....
care to share which master u going to?
i have no idea on all these. =P

Initially I was also abit sian that Aug is 7th month...then my friend told me rat babies born in Aug is good cos' it's summer time and the fields are harvesting so rats are happy and got plenty to eat!

Moreover, the olympics also start in Aug08. So it MUST be a good month!

By the way, just want to do a survey on the Linea Negra. I think most of us should have it right? The old wives' tale is that if the línea negra runs to the bellybutton, it's a girl, and if it goes all the way up to the ribcage, it's a boy.
Is it true for you?

valnsw
ya..the lady said she will email after expo..did u get the fridge to go as well? i was contemplating if i should get it..hmm..$40 expo price...wonder if there are other cooler bags that are cheaper...thot the one they selling quite ex leh..

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
I bought the Rocio bb cot yesterday evening from Expo BB fair.

They also have a promotion for those that buys the Rocio cot, we can have option of buying a drawing board for $5 only. The drawing board is so cute, it's pink colour and it's shape like teddy bear. It's those type that stand on floor. Thus actually my gal can only use it earliest i think when she's 1yo....I'm crazy right....hehehe.. But cannot resist leh, so cute and so cheap.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
sorry, only saw ur question now. I guess too late liao my answer... Anyway, the Rocio bb cot is not foldable. Foldable cots are actually quite rare, I think. So far, I only saw 1 in Baby Hypermart/Baby Kingdom.

<font color="0000ff">twin star</font>
why did you get Dr.Brown bottles also? hee....I tot u wanted the Lindam bottles.
I'm thinking to get 1 Adiri bottle. Looks quite impressive. I read if want solely breastfeeding, we shouldn't introduce bottles until after 1mth. But my CL told me she usually encourage mommies to sleep at night (to get more rest) and she will feed the bb EBM. which I also agree with her coz i also want to sleep at night during my confinement...hehe.
Thus I thought of getting this Adiri bottle. I scared if use other bottles, my bb might get nipple confusion.
But i think it's not sold in Singapore. I know it's selling in HK. Thus thinking of asking my hubby to get it.
http://www.adiri.com/products_html/overview.asp

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>
you bought the Ameda bundled deal?
i end up didn't buy coz still not sure which pump to get...sigh.

Re: Expo BB fair
It was soooo much better on Sunday. The crowd is much lesser and thus more enjoyable to walk around. I really regret going on Friday morning. haha....the price of being kiasu... :p
Hee...i also bought few more things in my 2nd time there yesterday. I guess happier mood = more shopping

Re: Aug also 7th month
i don't believe it's anything bad. My best fren also was born in Aug and her birthdate falls on 7th month. But she has good life leh. Growing up was good. also she's pretty &amp; really intelligent. Have married a good hubby and just gave birth to healthy bb few mths ago.

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
coz Expo fair's style is booth on display where each booth is the shop/distributor. The Rocio cot distributor also was selling other bb things. So i guess they just throw in the drawing board thingy too.
Yeah the price is also $359 and have the same freebies (fibrelux mattress &amp; full bedding set).

<font color="0000ff">wing</font>
Baby Kingdom:
83 Kaki Bukit Avenue 1, #01-00, Shun Li Industrial Park, Singapore 417954

Baby Hypermart:
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park

Hi Nini,
I also quite lazy to do housework. So, my hubby did some and I did some. But after pregnant, I seems like abit "jie pi" so I will still sweep the floor, mop the floor, laundry, wash dishes. Dont be too sad for doing housework, cos this might be one of the "tai jiao". Your bb will prefer clean place and be more hardworking in doing housework in future (I hope ;p) Futhermore, if you dont do, you cannot "tahan" the dirtiness, so you just do without stress yourself. Or you can get those part time maid to do for you.....

mulberry
yup..i bought the ameda pump..and asked them alot of questions about how to use the pump and the handsfree stuff...but i forgot to ask them where to get spare parts if the pump breaks down..sigh...

hi little twin stars,

i think Nuk bottles should be able to fit in Avent steriliser ba, should be still loose in the holder. i never use steriliser one. avent to me, is a 'selfish" brand, the milk bottles can only fit into its own brand steriliser.

hi valnsw,

i'm a aussino member. is there a difference between staff price and the member price? cos sometimes, the discount can up till 40% discount but this type is while stock last...

Chinese Fengshui master
=======================
all along, my family are using "You Long Zhi".

valnsw,
thanks for the info on the steriliser... btw, what are you all buying at the aussino sale? cheaper than other brands?

re: baby seat
a fren just passed me a Chicco infant carseat, will use that for her 1st year than research for a bigger one..

re: stroller
looked around &amp; may decide on a Maclaren Quest stroller cos can use till my gal is 25kg... very easy to push around and about 5.5kg only... waiting for JL or robinsons sale when they have 20% + 20%...

re: housework
hubby is doing everything now but once in a blue moon, i try to do a bit cos he do not clean... he dont seem to be able to spot a lot of hair on the floor... keke... plus he always mix different colour clothing in the washing machine &amp; wash until my black clothings like furry furry like that... heavy chores like mopping &amp; hang clothing &amp; washing toilet still done by him... nowadays i got backache standing at the basin for 10mins just to wash my undies... my mum say die die cannot ask my hubby wash but my hubby offer to help me wash lei... how abt you gals?

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>
mumsfairy also got sell the spare parts. But i think have to order online, so might need to pay delivery cost. Not sure whether they have a physical shop or not.
You can checkout their website.

wa so many posts

krex,
where do they sell the cot u are talking about? sounds good lei.

mul,
the lindam's plastic material is very bad n they r all scratched!!! so i'll give it a miss. now my hubby is thinking of waiting for the glass dr brown's bottle from uk to arrive in mothercare. think i better wait n see before my impulse buying kicks in again ..hee
my cl also same practice...use formula milk at night so i can sleep. think nuk's teats r gd lei. sigh...confusion again...haha

gemini

yesterday i went to robinsons to check out nuk.....all colorful bottles
did u use the plastic ones or the glass ones? i look thru the web, they have pink designs bottles lei but i didn't see in s'pore

ladies.........
if u happen to see plain white cot bumper, can Please let me know...thank you!!!

Aussino sale

Valnsw, yes, i am keen in aussino sales too. Let me know the details ya. My girlfriend told me their cot set is $69, that was before discount.

Will be quite busy lately, may not have time to check the posting so frequent. If the date and venue is confirmed can pm me please? tia.

twin, JP one ve. Did u ask the sales gal whether they got white? coz some of it is display in brown but the catalog got put white but $20 more ex

vone,
quest cannot, that's why it's only for 3 months onwards... but got 4 position for you to adjust... the other model, "techno-xt" can recline fully &amp; it's for newborn onwards but cost $500+ &amp; it's 7.7kg... my hubby say usually for less than 3 months old, we wont bring baby out so it's still ok for us...

dongle,
i think your hubby is right. even if we bring baby out before 3-4 months, most likely we will be carrying baby instead of putting baby in stroller. so for us, we will only look into stroller nearer end of the year. so as to spilt our expenses out.

but for car seat, we need to get first. that is more important to us.

Just went for check up on sat and gynae confirmed it's a gal! Hubby grinned from ear to ear and then rubbed my tummy and said " Hello my lil princess..."

Rat, pls update for me okie.. Thanks!

Dongle
I just saw yr post on techno-xt.. I have that and it cost 300 plus only leh. $500+ very ex.. you saw it at where? IMO, i feel that can recline fully is good also cos sometimes my boi will sleep when we are out so we will use that so he can sleep more comfortably and he is already 16 months... But one thing, the stroller is quite heavy..

I'm a MTB tis early Aug!! My EDD is 4/8/08 and tis is my 1st child.. Hope to learn my stuff thru this forum.. =)

Cheers~

hi little twin stars,

i'm using the plastic ones. the bottles come with the latex teats which i hate it cos of the rubber smell. so have to buy the silicon teats, which last longer too. if i remember correctly, i realise that the colorful bottles are slightly cheaper than the plain ones. and do take note, the pics will fade after repeated use and washing, furthermore, mine is sterilised using the traditional way of boiling water.

celynn,
ya lor, we aledi bought the "sarong" also...

medusa,
saw the techno-xt selling at $568 at the baby fair at expo... quest is at $368... our budget is not more than $300 so we considering the quest and also it's 5.5kg compared to 7.7kg... so where you bought yours at $300+? im waiting for the 20% + 20% sale at robinsons/JL lei...

hi mulberry,
oops, guess we didn't get the chance to go down to fair tog. went down wif my cuz who was in sg and din buy anything cept for the set of hello kitty combi cutlery for my #1.. cute!

btw, what's this abt the dr. brown and adiri bottles? wow... so hi-tech. design is nice, i must admit but how r you going to get the teats to change every now and then? i've been using pigeon all this while, the wide-bottled, peristaltic nipple for feeding. no colic prob and i have many friends who oso use this w/o prob. actually i do mix wif avent bottles, but using pigeon teats cos scared of nipple confusion when she was young. now experimenting with other bottles tho. hands itchy.

i used the avent dual electronic pump for my 1st preg. thumbs up! but returned to my friend oredi. wondering if i need to invest in one this time or juz borrow the single pump avent one. haven't used ameda bef but heard tat it's pretty noisy and the 'capture' area not tat friendly for those with big *ahem* boobies.. kekeke...