(2008/08) Aug 2008

oops.. typo error shd be USD149. Now exchange rate for USD: SGD is super low.. thought if will be cheaper to buy from USA but must hv US shipping address I think. sigh

Hi ladies hope everyone is fine. Been back in Sg for almost a week now. Can't believe how hot it is!!

Eh Rata! Hope you recovered from your 'hundred metre dash'. I too had to run a 'cross country' last week at Dubai Airport. The only time I wear slippers to travel I have to run after a plane! Should have worn my trainers instead.
Long story but just for anybody who might be travelling via Dubai. My advise is check with the information counter and don't depend on the screens for flight information. We kept checking the screens every few minutes until it was half hour to departure when my hubby went to the info desk to ask them why our flight details weren't on the screen. So you can imagine his shock when they told him it was the final call for our gate!!! There was no annoucements either. And we were in the wrong part of the terminal so had no choice but to run from Gate 9 to Gate 45! But guess what? After all this drama of panicking and running, the flight was delayed for another 2 hours because of foggy weather and because there were 'missing' passengers who like us didn't realise which gate we were supposed to be at! If I had known I wouldn't have bothered to run like a mad thing. Poor baby must be wondering what all the jumping around was about.

Went to baby fair at expo yesterday as hubby wanted to investigate 'bum wear'. We ended up getting some. Hee! Hee! Hubby was pretty impressed by the sheer number of pregnant ladies all in one place! He said he never came across such a sight before.

valnsw I think you can use vpostusa if you want to buy stuff from the States?

Hisstory Hee! Hee! finally someone with an EDD on my birthday! Mine is 3 weeks earlier on the 8th.

all have bought something for their bb..? anyone that haven? I haven't spend a single cent on bb.. i only have a BN pram & milk bottle steriliser given by my hb's cousin.. no bb clothes, no milk bottles.. nothing...

only bought stuff for myself like bird nest, stretchmark oil & 1 maternity pants only...

jo,

me n my hubby kiasu type..so we buy bb things during the SALE..hehe..can save much more. Because we dont know if GSS offers the same discounts or not but the discounts seem pretty good already!

Isetan & Taka bb fair can go! But expo not worth going at all...

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
i'm not too keen from buying direct from US. coz I read that US electrical things' voltage is different from ours. So, you have to change the plug or get adapter or something like that.....hee....sorry i'm not good with electrical terms. Meaning you cannot straight use the pumps on our power socket, u might burn a fuse or something.
Another thing to take note is the warranty issue. If you buy from US, will the Singapore distributor recognise it also? Make sure you check on that first.

<font color="0000ff">Mrs N</font>
hee...ur baby must be wondering what happened, how come suddenly so 'bouncy' (when u were running).

<font color="0000ff">jo</font>
once u know ur baby's gender, you will want to buy stuff. Especially if it's a girl.

Like for me, i'm more excited with shopping after confirmed bb's gender....hehe.. yesterday I was so tempted to buy those cutesy hair accessories for my minnie.

valnsw,
re:hospital charges
Here's the b/down of East Shore charges as of sept 06:
Hospital charges : $1442.70 (including GST)
Surgeon fee : $640
Paediatrician fee: $165
Doctor's Attendenace: $200
TOTAL : $2447.70

i'm at tampines (near tampines mall). wut about u?

re: expo bb fair
hey mummies i bought quite a lot leh....spent >$400! here r wut i've bought:
- babysafe pillow, bolster, the casing and
water proof sheet
- Mustela stretchmark cream
- 2 x Mustela 2in1 shower gel &amp; shampoo
- Bumwear starter set (6 pcs + 18 inserts)
- 1 set of Rigchi pyjamas
- 2 x nursing bra, 1 x nursing top from mums in
mind

was there at ard 1pm and left at 4.30pm. the crowd was rushing in when i was leaving. luckily went a little earlier.

mulberry (bab1es),
wow, so fast thinking of buying hair clips. I also bought a lot for my girl, but think now only 40% left. She like to pull it off and don't know throw where, but I will still put for her to take photos.

avocado,
yea i did but it was a bit rushy cos hubby and maid was taking care of my boy &amp; niece so they were like rushing me to go off cos it's getting very crowded. i gotta thank them for rushing me off else i would have spent even more huh....

hi shay,

u really enjoyed urself at the fair, there will be another one at the expo in jun too...can go for 2nd round....
still thinking want to go or not, cos dun know what to buy, jus need to buy milk bottles, napkins and diapers covers only...

Mrs N,
Oh dear, you must have felt so anxious to catch the flight and yet at the end, the flight delayed. Do take care ya?

Mulbery,
Know what you mean about the different voltage, prob wld need an adpater. Think I might not want to get the pumps from USA too cos tho my friend's coming back to SG in Aug, not confirmed and duno if in time for my delivery.

Re: Ameda pumps
BTW I sms Valerie from Mumsfairy and reconfirm can order first but deliver later. She said $150 deposit to be paid and bal to be paid upon delivery.
THe bundled package of $390 is avail for the exhibition. After exhibition will be $420 from her sms reply.

Shay,

Thanks for digging out the hospital bill

Currently living with my parents cos yet to get our own place. Living near Tanah Merah.

My office in Tampines so I frequent Tampines Mall/Century Sq haha.

Shay,
You enjoyed yourself alot during the Expo fair. Bought so many things. Wanted to get the Babysafe pillow but no more cover. Hubby said the pillow seems hard duno if bb can take it.

In the end, I only bought the Cadi Scientific thermometer. Duno if it's gd but since it's relatively cheaper than Braun tot I get it.

Overall, think the baby fair at Expo not much except for the ameda pumps which may be worth it to get.

re: baby cot
I remembered I saw a foldable wooded bb cot in one of those shops in Kaki Bukit. It's either the Baby Hypermart or Baby Kingdom. I went there last weekend. Hee...i didn't think of the reason it's for ease of moving about. I was wondering why make this function of it being foldable....hehe..blur me.

<font color="0000ff">avocado</font>
hee...ya lor, i crazy right, thinking of hair accessories now..when I haven't even completed buying those necessities things in my shopping list. :p

<font color="0000ff">Shay</font>
wow you had a good shopping day ya ;). I think you spent the most on Babysafe and Bumwear, right?
btw, how much was the nursing top from MIM?

FYI:-
My fren went to the Expo fair today ard 12pm, she said not so many ppl. I think the word has spread that theres's not much bargains.
But I most probably would be going again tomorrow coz my fren told me the Rocio bb cot that I'm eyeing from the Taka fair is also selling there. It has the same freebies like the fibrelux mattress and full bedding set. Price is also same at $359.
hee...so i might as well get it at Expo since i'm staying nearby, then i no need go down to Taka.

Gemini,
I tot 2nd time mummy will not buy but some of the things r like necessity to me hehe...
there'll be another round of bb fair in june at expo too? i'm sure there'll be somemore to get by then. I stil haven't got the bottles and cot bumper. waiting for aussino sale to get the cot bumper and bedsheet set.

valnsw,
dun mentioned. i normally get my groceries from tm ntuc.

mulberry,
the reason why I need one foldable is cos easier for me to shift from one room to the other. Cos will put cot in my bro's room for the 1st few mths as he's away overseas for studies. When he's back in Dec, will have to shift the cot to my room after some modifications done to my room.

can't really get those on roller wheels cos not much space for it to roll around from room to room. not sure if you can visualise what I mean..

mulberry,
ur friend said there's a booth selling Rocio bb cot? I tot i saw a booth selling some bb furniture duno if its the same one. I din take much of a look cos the layout seem abit messy kinda hard to browse.

Think I will go down Robinsons to check out some stuff too.

Shay,

pardon my ignorance but what's a cot bumper?
U wana get from Aussino? cos I have a friend working there, she may be able to get staff discount, not sure how many % discount.
You wana me help u ask?

yup I fully understand what you mean.
Then I think the one at Kaki Bukit fit your needs. You should go there to have a look. But paiseh, i can't remember whether the cot is at Baby Hypermart or Baby Kingdom.

actually when i went there yesterday morning, I didn't see that Rocio cot. I just saw a booth selling some bb furniture and yeah like u said, it's messy.
Then after I came back and was flipping thru the Mother&amp;Baby magazine, I saw it being advertised.
Thus I asked my fren to go lookout for it today. And yes, she said it's there and it's the same one as in Taka fair.
I think they only took it out in later. Maybe when I went there, they were still assembling.

valnsw/mulberry,
i bought the rocio cot at taka bb fair for $359 (including matress and bedding set). dunno how much they r selling at expo.

valnsw,
cot bumper is the spongy thing that goes round the 4 sides of the cot so that bb won't get knock. hope my description is clear

u hv fren working in aussino? sure have good discount. ya, dun mind ask for me if she/he can get further discount and when is the great sale coming....TIA!

re: cot bumper
found this pic on website. See the link, cot bumper is the blue padded thingy tied all around the bottom of the cot.
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c76/melsandosham/IMG_0052.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Shay</font>
it's also selling for $359 at Expo fair. consist of exactly the same things.
It's actually the same distributor, i mean the one in Taka fair and the Expo fair. Thus the same promotion.

krex,
i missed the amazon spree too and the spree is really a good deal. at expo bb fair, there's a booth selling the mozart effect cd at $23/cd! can i lumpang if u r getting them? TIA....

can i check if the cot bumpers are of the same sizes? cuz if there are different sizes, and we havent bought the cots, how to know which type to buy??

mulberry,
i reckon so cos saw the name of the distributor, infantino when i walked pass. i dun like the design and color of the bedding set le so obit but it's free so boh bian la...

YLN,
i haven't bought any cot bumpers b4 so i hv no idea. i tot there r only 2 sizes for cot? small is 48" x 24" and big one is 28" x 52".
sorry, i dun hv a pic of the cot. trying to find e website but to no avail....pai seh.

valnsw
can let me noe regarding the aussino discount thingy also?
thx. =P

shay
that same spree organiser just started a new amazon spree again last nite, u wanna try ordering?
gotta be fast lor. =)

oh ya, just received a "invitation card" from Robinson.
they are having spring sale for cardmember on 26th and 27th, meaning coming wk. =)
but it sounds similar to what u ladies mentioned leh, their nursery stuffs 20% disc.
since they already having 20% disc before this sale, is it still a good catch to go?

shay/snow74,

just sms my friend, she says she gets 40% staff discount. didn't ask her when the next aussino sale is. she said to get the cot bumper only the bigger outlets like Parkway, Paragon will have. She works at the Paragon outlet but not necessary to get from the outlet she's at.

Re: cot bumper size
Ya hor, which size to get? I also no idea cos I have not even bought the cot! Maybe u ladies wana measure the dimensions then get back to me?

valnsw yah very anxious to catch the flight.
Was in transit at Dubai for 6 hours so had enough of waiting around. And couldn't wait to land in Changi so almost wanted to murder the man at the gate when he told me the flight was going to Singapore via KL!! Oh! Thank goodness he got it mixed up the flight was going to KL via SIN. I don't think I could have stood an hour transit in KL as I hardly had any sleep in the last 24 hours and was totally tired out!

mulberry hubby told me I had better apologise to baby for all the bouncing around. Hopefully there won't be any more bouncing or cross country running on the return trip. Hee! Hee! The plane can jolly well wait for the pregnant lady this time round.

jo if not for the fact that I'm in Sg at the moment and some things here (especially clothes) are much cheaper than the UK, I would have waited till the last moment to get baby stuff too. The big things like cot, mattress, pram etc we already have courtesy of my SIL so it's just the little things. Haven't bought really alot for myself but probably will get some maternity clothes before I go back. I came home with just 2 tins of biscuits and 2 sets of underclothing in my suitcase. The rest of my clothes don't really fit me any more except for some baggy t-shirts so I'm living off my mum's clothes for the time being!

YLN,
i bought e bigger one of cos
dun forget the cot can be converted into toddler's bed so e bigger e better.

snow,
thanks! i just realised that she had actually placed my order in spree 8. her email was diverted into my bulk mail folder so i tot she didn't reply....blur sotong!

krex,
my orders placed. thanks anyway....

valnsw,
thank you for ur prompt response hehe....40% is a good deal ya. but how to get e discount? do we need to quote her staff no.? will we get additional discount if the item is already on sale? sorry for so many qn asked...

YLN,
Missed ur qn n MIM booth. Yes, bought 2 nursing bra and 1 nursing top from MIM. Saw a lot of mummies were looking at the sling.

thanx shay...me will be dropping by tomorrow..may get the ameda pump, and will go take a look at the MIM booth..quite interested in the sling as well..

i bought a blanket and 2 pair of shoe design sock at expo. there is nothing much to buy.

my hubby thought of wanting to get a cot of baby instead of letting him sleep on the floor. i wonder if its cos he knows baby is a boy now, so change of mind. hehehe.....

sorry, someone mention that the cot she got can be lower using only one hand. can you please let me know where you got it and roughly how much it cost.

for car seat, what do you all recommend? do we usually carry baby in our hand when we discharge from hospital? is it necessary to get car seat that can let baby lie flat or those in sitting position will do? will baby be able to sit when they are only like 2 months?

re car seat
i also have the same query..i read that some parents buy maxi cosi..but not sure if that brand can be used from infant to 3-4 years old...i saw that aprica have that range...for 0-3/4 yrs old..but not sure how much it cost also..

Mrs Ng, Thanks I am ok. Glad that you are fine too. You will be in spore till?

All, I am back from my DS. Everything is ok, baby weight 460g
according to my gynae is a big baby as all the pts plotted on the graph is above the middle line. My gynae is also rite dat i am expecting a princess

Congrats Rata

My DS is on 9 april..hope everything is fine too.

I be 20weeks next week but my tummy isnt as big as i thought i would be cos im on the bigger side to start with.. I m worried bb is not growing well thus the small tummy...

nini, i am same as u. I am a over weight mummy so i think dats the reason y tummy is not dat obvious yet as there is enough space inside for the baby but my colleagues feedback of saying my engineer tummy is more bobvious than mine though she is 1 mth after me make me worry too. this is wat my gynae told me 'wats most impt is wats inside u not ur tummy. is good for us big size mummies if tummy not dat big as we will ve less to loose after dat' I am so much more assured after he say my baby is above ave baby
so dun worry too much k.

yln,
aprica got one car seat can be used by baby the day he/she discharge from hospital. that one cost around $699. this one can let baby lie down flat.

combi got 1, coccoro range also say that its meant for 0 month and cheaper but think can't let baby lie flat.

so i also very blur.

nini, no problem. so juz sit back &amp; enjoy ur detail scan on 9 apr. I was having tears at the cocner of my eyes during the DS so touching.....

Mulberry, so u getting the $359 baby cot too. I bought dat too

I am new here and really nice to see your posts here encouraging each other.

my first pregnancy (EDD is 15th Aug) and quite confused abt gynae, donno if its helpful that gynae you consult for antenatal checkup does your delivery.

apprecaite if anyone can advise.