(2008/08) Aug 2008

Halo Mommies.
Can feel that I’m falling sick liao…so sad, long weekend leh…
Will be on pm off today coz gg movies w hb b4 picking the gals up…

Hisstory,
Cannot say here, can sms me? Heehee

Celyn,
Since Yu Ze might already be infected then can carry on go bbsitter’s place liao…good to have it young…hope YZ won’t be cranky and give you hard time if he really kena…you must take care too…

My #1 was vaccinated against chix pox at 12mths coz myself never had it before, also got vaccinated at 23…will let Mae take the vaccine after 12mths if she never kena…

Ruixuan,
Mae loves the Gerber Strawberry & Apple puffs! She toothless but can eat many hard stuff…the gum must be real hard man! Heehee

Mrs Teng,
Sayang both you and the gals…must be so hard for you…hope C&C get well soon and you can rest better….oh, hope your hb gets well soon so can share the load…hate gastric flu man!

Krex,
Mae loves her pigeon straw cup! She drinks more water from it…you can buy and try for Jonah.

YLN,
It is good to bring Kaer for the flu jab before flying off…next Fri, I’m bringing Mae for a 9mths assessment, will check w doc on any optional jabs…

M2B,
he is infected but had not come out loh, so still can't say that he is infected leh. he would have definitely caught some virus liao, just how soon the virus is going to become chicken pox outbreak.

M2B
hmm..ya better to jab hor..but this flu jab..issit must jab every year?

Swine Flu
Sigh..because of this flu..my NY trip in June gotta be cancelled..but i guess better be safe than sorry..esp hot spot is in US...

krex/lingling
sigh... guess we just have to hang on till this period is over.

babies teething
can experienced mommies advised when will the tooth finally sprout out huh? cos Kieren has been cranky for the past 2 wks or so liao leh.

mulberry
oh ok thks! will go google n chk it out.
my stroller came liao... I bought the combi well comfort cos I wanted a lightweight stroller. so far so gd. Kieren so funny. the first time I put him in his new stroller, he cried lor. hahahaha. think he wasnt used to it n was scared. my boy ah... abit the timid lor

Mrs Teng
*Hugs* are ur girls at KKH? I had a terrible experience there when Kieren was warded when he was 2mths old, swear I wont ever go to KKH again!

1. The stupid IV drip was not administered properly n it leaked! The whole pack of drip leaked onto his cot n nothing went to him until the the nurse came to give the 2nd pack.

2. The stupid IV drip was not administered properly the 2nd time n my poor baby's little foot become swollen!

3. They diagnosed Kieren as being overfed when actually he was having reflux. They simply discharged him w/o giving him any medication n even when I told them Kieren was still vomitting mins b4 the doc came. He continued vomitting after we went home n in the end we brought him to the nearby PD who diagnosed immediately as reflux.

4. The worst lor! They gave another mom's BM to my Kieren!!! I had given them my EBM n labelled it clearly but they still end up giving someone else's milk to my son.

We filed a complaint wz them n they still dun wan to admit their mistake at 1st. In the end, they reluctantly waived off the hosp bills but still dun wan to admit their mistakes! so pissed off wz them.

celyn
hope Yu Ze will be ok soon! sayang sayang.

Flu jab
I'm bringing Kieren for his 1st flu jab on 15May. My PD say flu jab can be done from 6mths old onwards n thereafter, must be given once every yr.

ok got to go liao... will come back n read again! Happy long weekend mommies

eve,
maybe we are lucky ones. so far, i have no problem with kk. yu ze was also admitted to kk when he was 2 months old for UTI. even till now, kk children's a&e is like yu ze's pd. anything wrong with him, hubby will bring him straight there.

yu ze is still free from chicken pox at the moment. bullying mummy at home, its me that is poor thing. hehehe.....

catherine,
wow. so good. got buy 4D or not, maybe will strike leh. hehehe....

The CDs from the photoshoot are ready for collection and post, I shall post a batch of them out today and some on Monday.

Thank you so dearly for allowing me to capture some of your babies' moments.

Please drop me a comment on my work or service @ [email protected] and I will be glad to reply to them, Thank you once again!

krex,
din let cayla start to drink from straw cup yet, just bought for her to try out... same here, she doesnt like the avent training bottle, i bought 2 somemore
... that time i bought the mustela cradle cap shampoo + cleansing gel for her... her cradle cap stop so i thought quite good... now just continue with the cleansing gel for a while more and then see whether can use those supermarket brand like johnson/pureen after she turn 1YO... keke... mustela is soap free & PH neutral but not organic...

shint,
my milk oso diminishing aledi... will try to drop to one pump a day this coming long weekend... so sianzz, not much milk aledi bcos of dropping number of pump but if try to stretch will leak... & when pump out, not much oso la

mrs teng,
hugz hugz...

hisstory,
haven let cayla try the munchkin straw cup yet... hope she is ok with that if not another white elephant like the avent one
yup, i went around 7pm+ so was quite crowded and queue was long & slow...

mrs teng,
press on... take care of yourself. Concentrate on ur gals first. Once they recover, you should file a complain to KKH when u have more time. Dun waste energy quarelling with them.

Sayang C&C...

hisstory,

bought the nuby one with soft teat. jonah doesn't like to hold his own milk bot, dunno why.

dongle,

every time u drop pump, will reduce ss is it? sometimes i pump only 1x in office. for some strange reason, my overall collection for the day is more sometimes. if i pump 2x, like nothing much like that. dunno why also. i'm planning to pump 3x a day till jonah turns one. 2x at home and 1x in office.

hi hfgaga..
will give u the topic u like hehehe.. I've asked abt the connecta n Pikkolo.. and here's the reply

Connecta has solarweave and non-solarweave ones.
Solarweave is gd for hot weather as it is really light and cooling and has
sun protection. Plus it comes with a built-in hood as well. Normal
non-solarweave connecta does not come with hood.

Pikkolo comes with detachable hood, can be worn front facing-out as well
as back carry, front facing-in, hip carry. Connecta only allows front
facing-in. Pikkolo can be cinch at the bottom to make the carrier narrower
for the baby, thats why it allows for front facing-out or for smaller
babies to sit in the carrier with legs-out. For Connecta, u will have to
have ur baby's legs froggied. The weight limit for both are the same =)

Sam
just rem ur prev post that u r carrying a sweatpot hehehehe farni.. me n my gal oso sweat easily.. hmmm.... wonder I made a rite decision or not :p

Eve
ya lor.. just need to hang on..

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Ashley also doesnt like to hold her own bottle.. And it's also hard to get her to drink water via the bottle. So we're thinking if the sippy cup wld help..

Nuby has soft teat ah.. Okieokie
Shall keep a lookout!

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
So sayang Cayla doesnt like the Avent one.. Maybe some mummy here wld be interested in it?

I am hoping to drop by this weekend, but hb's not too keen. Esp when he saw how jialat the queue was last Christmas.. Maybe gotta wait till next weekend..

bb drinking from straw cup
kaer actually startde drinking from straw sometime back..but she has this bad habit of biting the straw!..so i gave up giving the straw cup and went back to sippy cup..but she also like to drink directly from the cup..of cuz with my help..she finds it quite entertaining ...so, i usually alternate between sippy cup and direct from the cup...am thinking of buying a sippy cup with soft teats ..cuz the one i have now is hard plastic..pigeon good hah?

Ling,
Yah, definitely 1 sweatpot lor cos for no reason, she can sweat de... Dunno izzit becos she sweat so much tats why her weight gain is so slow...

Actually 1 bb carrier enuff liao... Best sell off your others :p unless you aim to be like hfgaga... hee

Sam
hehehe, my gal oso can sweat a lot too n her weight gain too slow.. hmm... wonder is this really a case ? :p
And I dont intend to b like hfgaga.. will b confused when 2 wear what hahahahaha.. Once I got the pikkolo n if my gal can sleep inside it, mayb will sell my slings ( yes, I have 2!! :p )oso

Victoria Secret Weekender bag
Anybody interested on this ? I bought cos I thought quite small but it's quite big actually, heheheh,have many big bag liao.. need the smaller one. Wasting space at my place hihihi

2406463.jpg

dongle,
yu ze also don't like the avent training cup in the beginning then slowly he learn to drink from it liao. he can also drink from cup but need to hold it for him loh cos he lazy to hold. he don't want to hold his own bottle too.

i got the nuby cup and pigeon straw cup too. all he don't like, i give up and went back to avent. that's where he slowly learn to drink from it and also cup.

yln,
hehehe.... i also have the bad habit of biting straw leh. hubby always scold me and say bite till so flat how to drink. hehee.... :p

re: Avent Training cups
i bought these &amp; seems that quite hard to drink from it cos i tried it myself... have to use some force to suck out the water bcos of the no spill valve...

http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/en/us/consumer/cc/_productid_SCF600_22_US_CONSUMER/Magic-Trainer-Cup+SCF600-22

re: Munchkin straw cups
i just bot these yesterday... now i saw from the website that it's for 2yrs old... $%^&amp;*!!!... errh... have to buy another one aledi la!!!

http://www.munchkin.com/products/detail.html?section=prodCategories&amp;ID=10021&amp;pID=1100

celyn
maybe we are suay lor... my hubby n I was v upset abt wat happened cos on the 1st night that the drip leaked, Kieren wasnt allowed to take any milk n the leak was discovered only after more than 10hrs! Then the issue abt the wrong BM given was even more jialat cos Kieren cld have caught some virus, etc frm the BM cos the mistake was only discovered after he had taken the milk. In the end, we insisted the other mommy went for a blood test to chk for hep b, hiv, etc as these can be transmitted thru BM. Thankfully he was ok. We were especially anxious cos Kieren had stomach surgery when he was only 3 days old.

sippy cup
heh. Kieren also dun like to drink frm sippy cup. I tried pigeon, avent, combi, etc. He will only use the cup n keep banging it against his face. So now I feed him water either by spoon or direct frm cup.

ling ling
cooll..heheh tks...
hmm im thinking of getting phil &amp; teds stroller..instead of a carrier now..hmm..let me think yarr...hahahahah
so u getting carrier from hy?
hmm haiyoh now i aslo dunno wanna get carrier or stroller..both hubby will surely nag..hahahah..

my family...
all sick!!!
hubby and 2 kids ahving high fever,cough..and flu..
just went back from doctor..wahlao..so many people...haiz..

missysz,
i also got that but mine is yellow colour. now become white elephant liao.

eve,
i understand. we parents are more gan cheong especially when our babies is hospitalised at young age.

sippy cup
i read that its better to get sippy cups without the valve/suction cuz it is to train bbs to train without the suction of a bottle teats...thats y i found it difficult to buy sippy cups ..cuz those i saw all got the valve/suction one..im currently using tommee tippee , no suction one..just tilt the cup up and drink ..intially kaer couldnt drink cuz she's too used to sucking..after a while ok liao..this brand like not very popular brand in spore hor but this brand is very popular in UK i think, cuz my fren in UK is using this brand of bottle...am i rite, Mrs N?

dongle

actually u can let cayla try using the cup..cuz it will train her to use the straw..but it will take time..cuz kaer took awhile to learn to drink from straw..now she see straw, she bite and play..very naughty..dun wanna to drink from it..so i switched back to sippy cup..

dongle
actually the pigeon mag mag spout is quite good. it's quite soft and not diff to drink and i use that to give bernice water.

missys
i bought that for bernice, but the non slip nipple one but it's very hard and she doesnt like it. i just bought the spout to try. but havent try yet. hahaha

Swine Flu: alert had raised to orange liao. Next will be red then black. Black is whereby, everyone can call for celebration for the worst. Hiakz. My hubby's company side already assign some staff to work at home. For safety.

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Where did u read abt the sippy cups w/o the suction/valve function being better? Hope to get more details abt it

I just popped by Kiddy Palace, i think I saw it there.. Incidentally, coz it just flows out, wld it cause choking?

<font color="#CD3278">missysz</font>
heheh, Jonas's so funny!!

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
Wah, u actually tested the cup.. I think i saw it at KP too, but it came w/o the handle, prob better for older bb yah?

Mrs Teng,

It must have been a weary time for u..Hugz!
I prayed that u find strength in God. Not been our effort but by His grace! U certainly prayed hard and by faith he shall deliver us!

All the best n will hear the recovery of God's precious girls soon!

hisstory,

so far, i only saw that nuby and pigeon got soft teat. the rest dun have.

missy,

i bought the same one but green colour. not sure if he used it today...forgot to ask MIL. but he sure liked banging it when i gave him the empty cup yesterday! after i bought then i realise the cup got no measurement one. tot next time can let him drink his milk from there.

dongle,

for me, i just bought the spouts and handles and fixed it on existing bot but you're right, the spouts are so hard and the liquid can't seem to flow out very well.

need advice:

jonah totally rejected his milk at 12pm and his dinner (solids) in the evening. but he managed to have 2 solid meals and 3 milk feeds in total. then in the afternoon he had fever and was quite cranky. anyone knows if he's sick or is this part of teething? the last we measured, he was about 37.3 deg. now dunno whether to bring him to see doc or not...

krex78,
actually 37.3 is not consider fever for babies, fever is above 37.5. is his tooth cutting through?

when yu ze feel warm but no fever and refuse to drink, my babysitter will feed him gripe water mix with water and let him drink. this is to let him flush out the heat in his body through urine. he will start to drink after his body cooled down.

krex,
forgot to answer you abt my milk ss... when i drop from 4 to 3 pump a day, the overall volume was similarly in the beginning... then my menses came &amp; supply dropped... after that kept dropping slowly until i drop pump from 3 to 2 pumps...i will drop to 1 pump from tomo onwards &amp; stop slowly...

YLN,
initially i took out the valve in the avent training cup &amp; water flow out very well... then i realised most of the water drip on her bib then i change back to her milk bottle...

do you have a pic of the tommee tippee cup? will it leak?

cat,
my colleague says that piegeon mag mag cup will leak lei... is it true?

hisstory,
i tested the avent cup cos i noticed that the water level still the same after some time... keke...

Hi Mommies
Talking about sippy cup n cup. Just to share:
Trudy just plainly refuse the water from the sippy cup (Avent). Walk in to Mothers Work @ Tanglin Mall n saw this 'Steady Cup.' Trudy likes it very much. Normally, she will push away the sippy cup but with steady cup, she will direct my hand with the cup right into her mouth
Of course, she is making a mess of it but I just let it be
put on her bib and voila she is drinking water (bit by bit). I guess, the design n structure of the cup make it easier for baby to drink.
www.steadyco.com

krex78
Keep monitoring his temperature. I'm very phobia with high fever. I think 37.3 is still acceptable. Tried to apply teething gel on his gum. These few nights, Trudy will wake up wailing like in pain. I just agak-agak applied the gel or give her milk n lots of hugs. So far, it works for her. Hope Jonah will be fine soon

Medusa
Long time didn't see Darwisyah. She has grown so big now. She has so much hair. Did you botak her? She has many nice shots from Kimberly. Love her eyes n smiles

Halo Mommies…went for the fast &amp; Furious movie w hb this afternoon…nice break w/o the kids…

Celyn,
How is YZ now?

YLN,
If travelling then have to jab…but flu jab not take liao mean wun get flu though…

Krex,
Is Jonah ok? 37.3 is still ok, monitor him and if goes up, then bring to see doc.

<font color="0000ff">dongle</font>
yeah need to go register personally at kids clinic if wanna do walk-in. But it can be anyone to go register. maybe can ask ur hubby do it, on his way to work..?

<font color="0000ff">eve</font>
i also have the combi well comfort stroller. ;) heehee but will only use it when go out with hubby.
Jasmine also last time very very very timid. now much 'braver' liao coz i'll bring her out few times a week.

YLN yes you're right. Tommee Tippee free flow cups are very popular in the UK. D is also using it.

Hisstory the reason why non-spilled valved cups are not recommend is that they extend drinking time. So if you're giving your baby juice for example, the teeth are bathed in the liquid for a longer time and that is bad for their teeth.

FYI. My HV gave me a handbook at our first meeting called Birth to Five. This is what it says:

<font color="0000ff">WHICH TYPE OF BEAKER OR CUP?</font>
<font color="0000ff">How you give drinks is important. A free-flow lidded beaker is better than a bottle or beaker with a teat. Drinks flow very slowly through a teat and drinking can take a long
time. This means your child spends a lot of time with a teat in the mouth, which may delay speech development and damage teeth, especially if drinking a sweetened drink. Move on from a lidded beaker to drinking from a cup as soon as your child is ready. Non-spill (valved) cups are not recommended as they encourage longer drinking
times. Use lidded free-flow cups instead, so that your baby learns to sip.</font>

Krex What happened to Jonah? Is he ok?

morning mummies

m2b,
he is still ok, no signs of chicken pox.

mrs n,
thanks for the info. got to throw all the training cups away liao. hehe...

Mrs Teng,
Sorry to hear about your situation. Is there any relative who can help out at this moment?
Be strong and hang in there ok? After all we mummies must be strong and are the pillars for our families.

RE: Training cups
Wa... didn't knw there was so much to it. And I just bot the Pigeon Mag Mag cup today at BHG's sale. Grr.....

YLN,
where to get this Tommee Tippee cup? How much did u pay for it?

fitbaby,
Do u knw where else to get this Steady Cup? Wondering if any shop in United Sq sells?

Hi all .. morning. happy labor day.

bernice is having phlegm and running nose again. sigh... just after going back to school for 2 days.
didnt sleep much last nite cos kept crying. but luckily this time doesnt sound as serious as the prev time. sigh .. medication time but i decided to give her the EYS hou ni this time to try first before seeing if need to go back to PD or not

dongle
depends, if u using the Y teat for training then it wont. but wont us change to the drinking spout (stage 2) very minimal leaking. but it is softer than quite alot of other training spouts. what i did was train bernice on the Y teat then once she gotten use to holding the handles to drink, then i changed to the spout now. so now i let her use the spout for water and the Y teat for juice (cos it's slower so she drinks lesser).

celyn/ fit/ m2b,

so far, he has one tooth growing quite a bit. dunno what happened to the other one, coz' i tot they always grow as a pair. then at the outskirt of his gums, also got white stuff. dunno what is that leh. i can't see the 2nd tooth coming up. later i'll run my finger to see if there are bumps. is gripe water too sweet to consume?

anw last nite his fever went up. at 1am it was 38.4 deg. gave paracetemol and then by 5am (4 hrs later), went down to 37.6 deg so gave another dose of medicine. this morning didn't measure but think it went down liao. daddy feeding him milk. he wailed a lot this morning, abt 1/2 hr before usual feed time. hope his fever will be gone by today.

i read online that low grade fevers are normal during teething. think anything more than 39 deg is not normal? but i feel 38 deg is already quite bad. last night his whole body really felt very warm. my only consolation is he slept very well last night, heehee. when we fed him paracetemol, he was happily swallowing it, followed by water, then went back to slumber. only this morning then decided to cry inconsolably.

anw today PD not open. if fever persists again tmrw, will bring him to see doc liao.

mrs n,

i also read that sippy cup is no gd but decided to buy the nuby one with soft teat to try since jonah has been rejected all his sippy cups. he now drinks liquids (water &amp; juice) during meals through spoon. milk is still drunk in the bottle. what is lidded free flow cups? dun see them being sold. all the cups here either have hard teat or straw. soft teat ones also quite hard to find...only nuby and pigeon i think. i was hoping to find a cup that he can hold well that does not have the beaker function. is that what u're referring to?

morning mommies...

mulberry
ohh... so qiao. so u also using the well comfort. do u find that its difficult to push the stroller when u reverse the handle? I cant seem to operate the stroller smoothly whenever the handle is reversed.

celyn
hope yu ze will be a good boy n dun bully mommy during this period. did the doc say how long it'll take b4 the chicken pox will start to appear?

catherine
sayang bernice n u. the weather has been crazy nowadays... hope bernice will recover soon. shoo shoo all the virus away.

krex
oh dear... sayang jonah. seems like he's teething frm the way u describe. hope his fever will subside real soon. gd that at least u have paracetemol on standby at home n he cld sleep well. maybe his gums are in pain n tats y he's crying? maybe u can try to apply some teething gel to soothe his gums.

krex78,
you mixed the gripe water with lots of water then it won't be sweet liao but i think still got a bit of taste.

maybe the next tooth is coming out, that's why cranky.

eve,
he is still normal and ok, nothing unusual. if he don't develop within 21 days then he is safe liao.

Yipee! Happy Labour Day! Yah.. a day of labour for me.. :p

MRs Teng,
*hug* *hug*. Press on and hang in there!

Dongle,
Reagan using the pigeon mag mag cup. No prob, no leaking.. but if u do not fix the handles correctly in position, then will leak cos the cap not align properly.

Krex,
Hope Jonah is fine soon. Maybe it's teething. Monitor closely yah. *hugs*

Mrs N,
Thanks for sharing.. hehee... think i better start training baby with a proper lidded cup too.