(2008/08) Aug 2008

sylvia,
when i went back to work, i complain to all my colleagues about him. then on sun, my colleague who stay very near me came over with her children, help me scold him too. hahahah....

you are right, i have a 'perfect' maid at home. hahahah........

Celyn
Yu ze clever ley, he know the tail part of the fish is the best to eat...hehe

Sylvia
Ironically, my boy was only calm during the flowerpot shot..the rest all he scared scared..sigh~ I thought the hanging setting is damn cute!

sam
good to go doc. i took E to doc once n the cream really helped to heal his rash! now, when his rash looks bad, i'll apply the same cream b4 he sleeps n next morning ok liaoz. hope her bum gets better soon! she got rash on thighs and face too? maybe eczema?

<font color="DB4C30">happy_mummy</font>
Isaac was 7.3kg about 3wks ago. We'll be gg for his 9mth developmental assessment next week then can weigh him again.

<font color="DB4C30">giraffe</font>
As of today, No, he has to be watched while sitting in it every second. In fact, he just climbed out and fell on his head, now he got a bump on his forehead. Sigh, 1 less thing to confine him while I pump.

<font color="DB4C30">krex</font>
My pump schedule almost identical to yours. Also 4x a day. I tried to reduce to 3x but it was too uncomfortable and wasn't enough for 1 day's demand... so I went back to 4x.

<font color="DB4C30">mulberry</font>
I also went for Kym's photoshoot today. I agree making bb smile VERY tiring. Maybe my session was late afternoon, so I oso tired from his crankiness all day long - he's teeth is about to cut through today. While I'm lazy to go through another 2hr session, I think I will still because Isaac will only be this small once... some more I still got Sean Lau's voucher to use :p I just gotta get down to arranging a date to bring him go.

Giraffe

Yes, there are smaller piece in NTUC and Cold Storage.. Normally they will slice into 2 halves lor..

Sam

My handheld blender quite light.. think it was about $80 plus. Actually, the weight of the handheld blender are around the same range, it is a matter of getting used to it lor... You can always go to Best Denki or Courts to try out..

Eve

Haha! I got no idea what name is it packed under NTUC.. Will find out for you...should be Pork Tenderloin if I'm not wrong..

History

Hah! it was me who mentioned about the Fibre and Fluid thingy..

Btw, I like the idea of watercress.. maybe I should try one day.. Didn't try becos was worried that it may be too cooling and my gals can't take it.. Glad to hear that your gal finally poo..

Mousse, Mulberry , Interrace

Thanks, will keep the pic coming.. Still got lots of idea, just that I dare not post until I test the food with my gals first... dun want to harm any other babies..

Sam
Hee.. reading abt how your girl doesn't poo when out of the house and what your mom said sounds familiar! I realise my boy doesn't poo when out of the house too. In fact, when we recently went to Kota Kinabalu a couple of weeks back, he didn't poo the entire time we were there! And we were there 4days! Only when we came back home.. then he pooed.

Over the weekend we went out almost the entire day.. he didn't poo too. Today third day already and I was out with him as well. Tmw must stay home and pray very hard that he poos!

sylvia,
yah. hahah....

yuuri,
don't know how he did it, hubby just show it to me. i think he loves to eat fish. today, i cook porride with pork and carrot. he only eat for 1 meal and refuse to eat for the 2nd and 3rd meal liao. this never happen when i cook with fish.

Finally can post liao...................... :p

Celyn
I oso didnt see when u left.. Ask other mommies there n they told me u left liao and I even havent pay u the Tshirt that time hehehehe.. Lucky Sylvia collecting else paiseh hor...

Didnt read ur post bout Yu Ze got problem.. when u guys found out ?

Btw, the bb bside Yu Ze that finally join the crying team was my bb lorr :p Hb finally decided need to calm her down n skipped the group pot shoot GRRRRRRR........ My HB... what to do.. his precious princess ......... :p

Reading abt ur 'perfect maid' WOW...... need to train hb liao hehehhe

Yuuri
I oso missed u I think.. Didnt see u when I came n didnt see u left leh
Sad missed Kes

BB teething
Ya lor my bb oso wake up frequently n cry til chiam one.. Usually I'll end up giving her gripe water then Dentinox

BB milestone
my gal is 8 mths n 2 wks oso n she can crawl forward better just today !! Usually she'll lift her butt high only or crawl backward :p So mommies, it's true every bb has their own pace..Enjoy ur time cos I realize now need to monitor her very closely liao cos she keep chasing her high chair then pull pull... scared the chair mite fall on her...

YLN
Wahhh ur MIL ah.... But mommies advice here is good lor... U wouldnt want start a war that going to hurt u more plus u have to meet ur MIL often.. Mayb u can use Kaer as the mask lor.. :p

Ling
I got see you! But never got to talk cos by that time, Kes already cranky :p Nevermind, there will be a next time...

yuuri,

i think daddy is better at bathing, diapering and putting him to sleep. i seem to have lost touch with all my "motherly instincts", sigh. the only time my son likes me is when i shield him from daddy's scolding, heehee. when my hb gets overboard, i'll pick the boy up and hug him, then he will stop crying. sad hor?

brie,

i dun think i'll have prob adapting to 3 pumps a day. my breasts feel comfortably full if my pump interval is about 7-8 hours. usually when i pump at work the interval between 1st and 2nd pump is abt 5-6 hours. dun feel like they're bursting leh. maybe when jonah turns 9 mths, or come early may, i'll switch to just one lunchtime pump. easier to manage like that. hopefully ss doesn't dip by too much. on sun, i also pump 3x and for some strange reason, i actually got more overall!

krex D's milk intake varies day to day but on average:
breakfast ~ 200ml (80-100ml added to cereal, remainder he drinks)
lunch ~ 140-160ml (sometimes he finishes sometimes not)
dinner ~ no milk feed (but if there is remainder from the lunch time feed will add that to his solids)
supper ~ 160-220ml

I know some books recommend a certain amt of milk per day. I asked my HV about this and he said not to worry so much about the volume. Some babies take more some take less but what is important is that they are healthy and happy.

sharing resources:

my darn SIL decided to bring her 1 mth old bb to my IL's place coz' she dunno how to bathe her. now the place is so crowded and she's happily sharing all my bb stuff - bath gel, shampoo, wet wipes, etc. thank god diaper size different, but my MIL happily let her wear my son's clothes also.

how do i get SIL to contribute to shared resources? the pigeon wet wipes i bought (6 pack) depletes so fast. last time 6 packs of 80 pcs can last a few weeks. now it's all gone in 1 week! *faintz* i feel like i'm bringing up 2 babies and i'm quite irritated that SIL relies so much on her mom to take care of her kid. now dun even know how to ask her to top up the wet wipes. if this continues, i'll be spending $20 on wet wipes each week leh!!! not to mention the diapers that my boy uses up so fast coz' he poos 4-5 x a day!

mrs n,

so the amt that u give him depends on his mood? like for supper, how do u know whether to give 160ml or 220ml? i will be very stressed out if i put my boy on full BM. now that his last feed is FM, i feel like i got "extra" milk to freeze on some days, heh heh. reverse psychology?

oh, i tot leftover milk can't be used for next meal? all milk must be finished in one sitting rite?

anw, maid told me he's fussy abt frozen milk these days. he will drink based on his mood and hunger level. but then again, it seems that my frozen milk from 1 mth ago has a very strong fishy/ metallic smell. yest i got him to try the one i froze last week and no smell. now i dunno whether to give him the recently frozen ones or finish up last mth's one. *sigh*

Krex one of my friends shared with me about the fishy smell of frozen EBM. She said that it could possiably be a lipase issue. Apparently to prevent your EBM from smelling fishy you need to scald the EBM after you've pumped. http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/lipase-expressedmilk.html She tasted the frozen EBM that smelled fishy and freshly refrigerated EBM and apparent the frozen one tasted awful. So that could be the reason why Jonah is fussy about the BM.

I usually start low than give more if needed.

I think it's ok to reuse breastmilk in the next feed if it isn't consumed the first time round. But I will discard after second feeding.
Check this out: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/reusing-expressedmilk.html

eve
I think bjorn air only can carry max 10kg ergo 25 i think and its very handy..u can try beco.its also good.both are good soft structured carroers.i have both!heeheh

good morning mummies
*yawn* bernice up at 6.30am again !!!! so tired.. i told her mummy tired can you pls let mummy rest awhile more.. then she crawl over and kiss me on the cheeks... so sweet... sigh ...

anyway had a very bad day yesterday.. feeling very depressed. bad quarrel with hb and feel very yuan wang over it cos he blame me for something which is not my fault. but he refuse to listen. day before i made chicken wing to pacify him but he left home w/o eating. and my mom then got upset say if he not having dinner then should have told us so we dont cook so much food etc. then yesterday i made the chicken wings again cos got left over marinate, again he ate only 1 pc. show temper, so i refuse to drink his soup. and everyone face black to everyone.

got so upset with everything and bernice is so difficult that i start to feel that i am a terrible mother cos bernice become so spoilt and demanding. just to get out of the house, i took bernice to parkway in a cab and she was crying thruout the cab ride, upsetting me more. finally after getting there, in an hour, i decided to go back cos it was depressing me more !!!

eve,
had a bad quarrel with hb .. not talking for few days already.. so dont think tell him i need a holiday will work now.

vone,
sayang.. i forgot to send u the HT .. u ordered already ?

happy mummy
i think my hb dont want her to teach bernice tagalog cos we dono what she is teaching her to speak. and we worry she end up speaking weird english like her..hahaa. The way they pronounce the A is different. We call Ham , she calls it HUM.

giraffe,
ya bernice bites during latch on... and she does it for fun cos after that when u tell her no she will smile very cheekily.

YLN,
glad you feeling better. it's ups and downs of motherhood. My MIL dont bother much about us. she dont care unless she looking for hb, and when we see her, she also dont offer to carry bernice cos she knows bernice wont let her carry. she will just tease her abit for like 5 mins than thats it.

brie
i enjoyed the session at seanlau very much.

hey catherine

sorry to hear that u having argument with hb..i think men are usually more insensitive lor..so dun get more angry liao...over my MIL thing..my hb also like wood like that..he cannot understand what im going thru..so its very frustrating...dun be too angry liao..bernice can sense bah..so she also cranky..? bbs are quite smart one...i was crying that day when i was pissed with MIL..kaer came looking at me...and sit very close to me..and keep using her head to like sayang me...and look at me again...bbs can feel and sense one..so ..cheer up k? for bernice's sake..
..see bernice know how to come n kiss u ..so..she very dong shi also mah..

YLN
Thanks.. well i guess in terms of insensitivity, my hb tops the cake lo. my hb is very difficult.. not sure how long this will go on. he's leaving for msia on fri for a few days. everytime when he goes we get into this arguement over him taking the car. this time he say he's taking whether i like it or not.. i didnt bother to argue too. i'm tired of arguing so let him do whatever he wants, i dont care. thats why i intentionally take a cab to parkway yesterday to let him know that i can do it without the car too. worse is that i buy a car seat and put in the other car. (cos he dont let me buy the car seat cos he feels bernice is too young to sit). I'm just so tired of taking care of bernice .. where got extra energy to argue.

morning mummies

lingling,
we got to know his problem when he was 2 months old when he went to babysitter's place. we didn't know about it till babysitter mention to us. that time, we have a scheduled appointment at kk 2 days later after babysitter told us. i wanted to wait till then to check with pd. to me, since he is like that for 2 months liao and doesn't show any signs of pain then its fine to wait for another 2 days. however, my kiasu hubby refuse to wait and brought yu ze to see a pd immediately. we spent $100+ and got the same answer from kk too. this is due to a hole that is not closed up properly but most boys will be ok liao by the age of 2. that's why if he still have water by 2 years old, then we will schedule for op.

my 'perfect' maid only can't do cooking. heheh....

krex78,
maybe you can get your hubby to tell your sil. very siong liao, to cover their expenses.

catherine,
isn't car seat meant for babies like ours? how come he feels that its too young for them leh? my hubby on the other hand wanted to buy new car seat for yu ze liao. he wants to get those booster seat which is meant for much older kids. don't know where he get the idea that yu ze can sit on those. have to tell him no so many times before he gets it into his head. sigh....

catherine,
i am just afraid that bernice will not want to sit in the car seat by the time your hubby is ready. hope u and ur hubby are no longer in cold war. cheers!

celyn,
what happened to u and ur hubby? why are u punishing him? hee..

little twin star,
have u got back gg's pics taken at seah lau?

<font color="#CD3278">Kym</font>
Nice shots of Misaki &amp; Isaac

<font color="#CD3278">hashisan &amp; brie</font>
The lil ones look so cute in them..
Misaki is a pretty ger with her tiered skirt.. Super sweet!

Isaac has such a cheeky look in quite a no. of shots

<font color="#CD3278">giraffe</font>
Maybe i shd look for some kind of sippy cup for Ashley.. Maybe she is thinking bottle = milk

<font color="#CD3278">yuuri</font>
You go ger!!! Anyway if they think Kes wld be easier to handle later on, he might just not want them &amp; he wld be super active for them to keep up

morning mommies!!!

sigh.. hb had a bad night with us. he wanted to be home by 9.30pm to check the stock market. although we reached home just in time, anna started crying while i was washing the pump stuff. then hb banged loudly on the table.
am i at fault? should i have just taken anna and leave him alone? i'm so tired.. everyday rushing like mad.. so many things to think about.

sylvia,
haha.. not kan lor.. i think sometimes we need to do this to get our idea across to our ils. i also do this whenever we are in the car and my fil is talking very loudly behind. lucky thing for now is we have to put the car seat in the car and ashley will take the front seat. so no space for my ils.

celyn,
oic.. sorry.. i dint know about it. hopefully yu ze does not need to go through the op. =)
wow, yu ze is so strong.. the fish looks so funny now.. de-tailed. haha..

brie,
oh no, he ok? where else do you leave him when you pump?

mrs teng,
tks! you are the guru for bb's food among us. heh.. think i'll go try getting some from the supermart. =)

krex,
leave only 1 pack of wipes at your il's place. and write your boy's name on the pack. hehe.. like the way our infantcare centres do.

mrs n,
eh, what do you mean by scald the freshly expressed bm? make it warm first before storing/freezing?

catherine,
bernice is soo sweet. she knows mommy is tired and had a bad night but a peck on the cheek will perk her up. =) hope all's ok now.

hisstory,
ya, why dont you try a sippy cup for ashley. you can train her to hold the cup as well.

YLN,
I second Mrs Teng leh. Actually own blood is better anytime, in terms of caring of the kids. And what Mrs Teng said is true leh, no matter how much time the grannies put in, mothers are mothers and the kids will still come to us regardless what. And its very nice for your MIL to care for your gal, so well too. I think you should sit back and relax leh. You know when we went out for dinner – including my sis-in-law’s family, my MIL will choose NOT to sit with my kids, only with my SIL’s kids cos her’s are BIG – 10 and 8 and 5, so no need to feed, right? And her kids been the eldest, are her xin gang bao bei… so I also like Mrs Teng, never get to eat my food hot…

The best solution for you is to have another one, actually two more!

Yuuri
Ahhhh u did ah ??? I missed u leh... very crowded so bit confused plus my gal oso bcome cranky cos since morning that day she hasnt got her nap yet :p heheheh, C U next time then

Sam
Mayb u wanna try Avent bottom cream ? For me it works wonders... I found rashes heal quite fast but not as severe as u yet...

<font color="DB4C30">history</font>
Isaac looks cheeky cos of his teething lah. So hard to make him smile, he only wanted to blow rasberries (but without the saliva), or stick his tongue out. Usually he smiles as if is free one, but not yesterday.

<font color="DB4C30">giraffe</font>
His forehead is a little swollen, but not as bad ald... and got blue black..

When Isaac is awake and I need to pump, I will put him either in the play-yard, or in his cot, or on the bumbo on my bed or on the floor. The cot only works when he's sleepy, if he's not, he'll just protest and protest. The night before, I put Isaac on bumbo on my bed while I pump. He climbed out and once he do that, I have to stop him from gg off the edge, so not a gd idea anymore. Ytd, I put him in play yard in the living room, pump halfway he cry, think must have fallen on his toy, lucky nothing wrong, so I tot to myself, oso not gd idea anymore. So last night when I try to pump, I put in bumbo on the floor thinking he climb out oso nvm, in my room. But turned out he knock his head while climbing out. Grrr... so no more ideas liao. I can't always wait for him to sleep cos his naps are super short now. Today not sure how yet... maybe just let him protest if he needs to lor.

<font color="DB4C30">cat</font>
You're not a terrible mum at all. If anything, the fact that you're on duty 24/7 makes you a wonderful mum ald!! Stay positive, dun care about your the rest of your family for a while, just make yourself and Bernice happy can ald.

mommies,

yumin is better, thanks mommies. i brought her to see doc, waited like 2hr+ lor... so shagged...

doc diagnosis: she has flu which affects digestive system which in turn cause diarhorea... I was like HUH? she hardly sneezes and poos normally lor... anyway, he gave me desitin creamy, saying got more nutrients, another cream for healing her bumbum, flu &amp; diarhorea meds...

at 8.5M, yumin is 7.55kg... i asked doc if she's growing rather slowly but he said ok... as long as she's active... my notti ger grabbed &amp; refused to let go the doc's stethoscope... faint...

Good Morning Mommies!
Think the hot weather is making everyone's temper bad...hopefully the rain will cool down everything.

Cat &amp; Giraffe,
Hope both your hbs realised their mistakes and apologise soon...MEN, always think bb caring is easy and it is women's job...but the bbs take after their surnames wat...hiaz

wendy,
funny rite? my hubby &amp; mom have the same mentality aso, prefer home... but i was thinking, baby wears diaper rite? does it matter where they poo? all goes into the diaper :p

Hi mummies;

Good morning! I'm a Aug mommy too... can i join the discussion??

My little Allivier born on 6 Aug, now 7kg @ her 8 mths+. Think my dotter also in the lightest zone if compare some of the Aug bb here.

Mrs Teng; My ger also test tube baby.... are u under Dr. Loh?
Really impressed the way you prepare food for ur 2 lovely daughters... Yummy

ruixuan,
thanks. i go JP see tonite. wanna go guardian to scout for digital weighing machine too...

did you get the blender then?

Hashisan

Misaki has always been my secret idol... love her cheeks, soooo cute... Picture very well taken...

Brie

Isaac looks wonderful in the PS... looks very active to me... So the feeding part, you got to take it slowly yah! Maybe you are just too worried that he's not consuming much bcos of him rejecting most of the food... give him time to get use to the different taste..

Ruixuan

Thanks for correcting the pricing of the handheld blender... gagaga... I'm just too preoccupied in so many things until I can't remember how much I spend..

Rona

Haven't hear from you for sometimes... how's everything going on?

Catherine

Sorry to hear what's happening...
but pls dun make it so hard for Bernice, yah? I'm like you too... when I get angry with HB, will go out (but alone)... dump the gals with him... Remembered during one bad episode with one of the confinement lady.. Made me so upset and I quarreled with my hb and I left the house.. leaving the poor gals with the confinement lady and hubby.. (that time no maids yet).. I went shopping (and of cos, all babies' stuff..haizz) den I went for a sumptuous meal and has half a bottle of wine.. (yeap! that time still breastfeeding) Evil mum rite? But I regretted doing that.. felt so sorry for my gals... After the meal, I sat at the bench in the park and just kept crying lor..
When home, bathe and went straight to bed. Put eyeshades and ear plugs... babies were crying for me the whole nite.. Daddy n CL had a hard time... I knocked out... Second day, I did not touch my babies even when they cried... endured until that second nite when they cried, I've no choice but to go to my gals.. they stopped crying rite after I carried them... After this episode, I promised I'll never do anything of these sort to my gals anymore..

Celyn

My gals were on car seats since they were about 4 months old.. Initially, we only bring them out for medical checkups, so didn't go out often.. subsequently we got 2 car seats for them.. even change a car just for them... aiyo...high expenses.. So second roll, put 2 rear facing car seats n one of my maid sits when them, the other sit behind on the 3rd roll and help up.. Got the Cocorro S from Combi, very comfortable... and the material very comfortable...

http://carseatblog.com/?p=1750

Today's menu

Pork , green peas, ikan bilis powder and self-made Si sen powder, Brown n white rice mixed porridge

2370340.jpg

My self-made Si sen powder with barley.. (will test on my gals first)

2370341.jpg

Hi Mel_ocean,

I think we are in the same boat. My son is born in mid aug and is weigh only 7.8kg. Though he look chubby but he is really light weight. He also drink very little milk from bottle only abt 90ml. Is only these two days, he is able to drink at 120ml to 150ml!

Due to work, i have decided to wean him and not leeting him latch on from yesterday onward. But i will still be pumping BM and mix BM with FM to feed with bottle....Wish me luck !

But for consolation, he seem to prefer solid than milk....

hi mel_ocean
welcome. your baby also called allivier. our forum beauty queen also called allivier.

re: car seat
i think this weekend i will go get the car seat since he not around. bernice is very diff with the carseat. she refused the infant seat the last time and so daddy decided to let her be carried instead in the car.

mrs teng
i cant make it hard for bernice cos end of the day i am the primary caregiver.. i cant throw her to hb cos he cant watch her more than 15mins.

giraffe
i trying to locate u on fb .. umm can send me a msg pls

mel ocean &amp; jojobar,
my boy is the lightest here. he is born on 6 aug same as mel's girl. he is only 6.9kg as of yesterday. so you 2 don't have to worry. if you 2 starts to worry then i will have more reason to be worried.

mrs teng,
yu ze is in car seat since newborn. but whenever he is cranky in the car seat, hubby will want to buy new one for him. where got ending like that, right.

m2b &amp; mummygiraffe,
thanks. yah, i hope so too. but its getting smaller now. so really hope he will out grow it.

Cat,

Hope you are feeling better today. Sometimes it juz arent our day &amp; everything falls apart. But no matter what, we still have our little bundle of joy beside us &amp; their smile to brighten our day :p

That how I encourage myself to come to work everyday &amp; face these political ppl in office...

sam
aiyo...poor yumin. hope she gets well soon!!
my E also has eczema and it comes out on his tummy and face. if jialat, i'll put the cream that doc gave. if not, i maintain with calendula cream. doc gave u desitin creamy ah? i've been told not as effective leh...cos zinc oxide only 10%! desitin original is 40%. i put other types of cream with 12% also don't work. sigh... our bbs got expensive backside. haha...

tigg3r.

seem like u attract many silent readers to appear with ur interesting menu!!

Hahaha!!

sisen........... u roast n grind it?