(2008/08) Aug 2008

yuuri,
your boy so good to mummy, only kick daddy. hahaha..... yu ze will squeeze himself towards my side leaving me with no space.

afternoon mummies!

Val
did you bring any "props" for Chevelle's fotoshoot? Or just clothes? Any tips? keke

dongle
Yeah Izzy just dun like to sit lei.. she likes to stand.. think she will be one of those walk before talk ones... her speech is still limited to diff eh sounds. Cayla lei?

Shint
Wah u resurfaced! So worried for you, must be super bz with new maid yeah?
The play yard is $210. $140 for 4 panels. If you want 6 panels, you need to coordinate with someone to share. There is another mommy (not our thread) who bought 4 panels first cos no one to share with. If you interested, I can ask her to contact you so you guys can share the extra panels.

Cheng choon
34 Upper Cross St #03-132
Winnie
T: 6532 3855
F: 6532 7816

Mrs Teng/Cat
Instead of cabbage for stock, can try using celery instead, very tasty too

Nini

Oophss! i forgot about the corn puree you're asking.. sorry sorry!!
Actually I have not done corn puree yet.. I put it direct into the slow cooker. den take out before blending.. Last time, actually sliced the comb n put the corn into porridge and cook. Den blend.. Both of them hates it. Texture too rough even after blending.. So now is just 2 big chunks go in and out before blending..

Timmin

Let my big gal try papaya, she hates it (too sweet) My young one anything also can one.. she wipe the papaya. Have not try bananas yet.. I'm allergic to bananas, so think my gals also bah!

Vanilla_pod

Yeah! they are fraternal.. Meimei looks like me, Jiejie looks like daddy.. Ironically, meimei sticks to me more den jiejie while it's vice versa for jiejie.. Daddy is out of town, can see that she misses her dad so much...

Catherine

Yeah! SAHM does have the advantage of cooking everything fresh lor.. but sometimes I'm so tired ah! really got no mood but still got to do every thing.. one day got to bathe them twice and for 2 babies.... Siong leh!

Tonite's dinner is Threadfin, ikan bilis powder, sweet corn, carrot and asparagus porridge. Will be letting them try texture form.. it's been awhile since they told textured food, maybe they will like it this time.. At 9 months, Jie jie is still toothless leh!

2332089.jpg

mrs teng,

wah, u're really a porridge expert! dun worry abt teeth, jonah also boh gay at 8 mths plus
give him biscuit also he dunno how to eat!

happy mummy,

i'm not going BKK so shld be ok. in fact, if i go resort, i shld be more worried abt tsunami rite? haha.

cat,

wah so nice. u're always travelling. i haven't been for a nice long trip liao. the last time i travelled far and long was to uk in 2007. last yr went banyan tree and sydney but both rather short trips. then year end brought the boy to bintan to "nua". this yr dunno where to go. no time to plan trips although i'd really want to go somewhere to celebrate wedding anniversary in june

tigg3r

so long never log in, super bz with sch n gg;s constipation AGAIN.....i post until sian liao. once a wk i must help her give birth to poo~! yes, tt drama

her porridge, i add alot of water n make until very soft but i still blend it cos her digestive system not mature yet it seems tt;s y constipate each time she takes solid food. i give her plenty of water n juices liao. i am so tired i resort to can heinz puree. hehe. but still fresh fish la....u guys add alot of things into the porridge lei. where to get ikan billis powder? i tried the round leave spinach, np
the last time was the pointed leave. tt one cause her to have such bad gas till she can;t sleep.

this wk bringing bb to swim in the pool. first time
hope she can fit into her swim wear!!!! haha

twin stars,

maybe u can give gg more veg instead of meat? jonah poos an average of 3-4 x a day. i find it excessive but my MIL thinks he has a very efficient digestive system. i give him a lot veg for all his meals. morning cereal with fruit, afternoon porridge with meat and veg, dinner potato with meat and veg or just cereal and veg. give water after every meal. i try to give juice sparingly if it's those bottled ones. i find them very sweet and i'm quite doubtful they have much fibre. oh, i think if u give veg like spinach and broccoli, she shld be able to poo. those are quite fibrous.

hisstory,
ya lor... we suspected something is amiss coz my gal's mth kept hving rashes. initially we tot it's coz of d maid's clothes. so we asked her 2 change her clothes at least twice a day. bt who noes...

mrs teng,
tell me abt it... i put in so much effort 2 cook 4 my gal. tt day i cooked porridge wif carrot & threadfin. i do it d 'hardwking' way okie. cooked d porridge, then steamed d carrots & d threadfin. after steaming, i mashed them up then add into d porridge. my gal took 5 mouths & decided tt she dun wan 2 eat oledi... argh... feel like tearing my hair out. i tot tt it was nt nice, so i tasted it. v sweet mah... luckily in d end, my boy finished all of it up... hehe... u shld blog down ur cooking experiments. try using blogger. it's quite user friendly 1.

catherine,
ic. well, since ur hb is cooking, then bo bian lor...

medusa15,
good 2 hear tt u r better oleidi. ya lor... m v thkful tt we decided 2 do tt.

happy_mummy,
adel is so cute... can fall asleep on his own. 4 his cough, hv u tried vicks?

sylvia,
my hse gt no vinegar leh. tt's y we suspect urine.

dongle,
ya, i hope so aso. tks.

mommies.......

been trying 2 read all the posts here but ended up cant post anything myself..... :p
After read everything, bit blur who 2 reply ihik

pardon me uh...

Tigg3r
hehehe... mei mei face sure does very convincing
so nice.......

Sam
u too... bb has so many face expressions even though still so young....

Vanilla pod
must b very heartpain.... *hugz* understand how u feel... my bb was suspected got RTA (Renal Tubular Acidosis ), where the kidney didnt excrete acid to urine properly cos the blood bcome acidic... haiiizzzz

OHhhhh.... Mommies need help here... I guess bb's teething... She refused solid this couple of days.. give her milk, she doesnt take much but busy chewing the teat itself.. Whenever go to sleep, after 1/2 to 1 hr will wake up crying.. very disturbed sleep now.. B4 she still wake up in the nite but for feed only.. bcoming crankier n stickier 2......

Is it the sign of teething ? when will this pass ?
is every time tooth going to pop up have to go thru this again ? TIA

Hi Mrs Teng, u use what kinda cooker to cook the porridge ah? Looks like a slow cooker. Care to share what's the preparation like for tonite dinner?

I hungry siah! haahaa

thanks ling...hope ur son is feeling better...sometimes doing all the tests is so tiring...

hi twinstars - pear puree and banana helps for my son case...

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Let us know where are the bb frenly resorts.. I rem Hashisan has gone to Phuket with bb Misaki

*jia you* I think when they get bigger &amp; can understand us, it may also be slightly easier to get them to sleep better.. They may understand our reasonings &amp; comforting better

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
hahah.. auntie stuff! No choice also lah..

Btw ah, how long more are u going to BF Cayla? It's almost 7.5 mths for me, and work looks okie for me to pump regularly, so i dunno when to call it quits

<font color="#CD3278">happymummy</font>
Dunno leh, the profile of households in SK prob younger, so more likely to have bb &amp; kids. Bishan's a little more of a mature estate, so less kids/bb who need PD.. Just my conjecture *hee*

Ur scripts are in for marking oredi?

<font color="#CD3278">twin stars</font>
Oh gosh, GG kena constipation agn ah?? So poor thing..
Even with lots of fibre &amp; water also cannot help ah?

Heard fr some mummies here tt pear sauce helps leh..

<font color="#CD3278">vone</font>
At least now u can set ur heart at rest liao..

DP Group Photo
Have you RSVP to fenny?
have you vote for the theme?
for safety, they had discussed their plan.. but just i can disclose.. think still better let DP voice out

I am getting excited, looking forward.

Sam
ur bb yumin very cute and round... saw ur bumbo seat... very nice colour

Mrs teng and M2B
can take pic for to view the safety guard?

Vern
thanks for the contact. now asking hubby which one to buy.. playyard or safety guard

Mrs teng
recently u got alot of pic of Yummy food for babies.. make me feel like i am doing not enough for SL...that day i cook porridge for my son and he end up lao sa (diarrhea)..

Mrs Teng
Your food always looks so yummy...your girls are very lucky! I also want you to be my mummy! haha

Celyn
Mine ah...v funny, will roll around until his back is leaning against me. Then he will be facing hb and start his power kicking. Hb will then turn baby to face me so hopefully baby will kick me instead but he will turn back the other side and start kicking again!

yumeumi,
no more mikihouse in taka anymore. very sad. jshopper also dont carry. guess i will just have to go to the liang court shop more often. hahaha. it's still cheaper than petite bateau. haha.

vone,
ya hb does the cooking now for bernice so i just let him do it. when he never do, then my mom would do. so i also cant complain la. therefore no pictures. haha. i just go buy the ingredients for them.

re: cranky baby
bernice is SUPER cranky today. i suspect it's cos the top teeth coming out. she cry and cry until really bad. she's usually not like that. i feel so helpless and frustrated at the same time. mrs teng, i really salute u having 2 of them to deal with. bernice one already driving me up the wall. sigh ..

krex,hisstory, vanila pod

this is my routine 4 her:

8:30am 160ml milk
10am: heinz / fruit puree plus 40ml diluted organic prune
12pm: 150ml milk
2pm porridge: fish n veg...spinach, brocoli or heinz season veg plus water 30ml
4:30pm 130ml milk
5:50pm heinz apple prune juice 40-50ml with pigeon biscuit
7pm porridge: same as lunch ( boring hor ) plus some water if she is willing to drink. 30ml
9pm 190ml milk

still not enough water huh?
hiaz
even the barley tea also no use

i got buy the heinz banana, apple n berries 4 her to eat lei

Ruixuan,
I try to take a pic of the bed rail tonight.

Vanilla,
Your boy really been thru alot. Sayang him on my behalf. Hope his appetite pick up real soon to prepare him for his operation. Must be heartbreaking for you.

Twin Stars,
GG really drink a lot of water man...Mae doesnt drink that much but she poo twice a day (at least)...maybe coz of the brown rice ingredients which my mom prepared herself.

stardiva: try not to give both banana and apple (juice/puree) first and see if gg gets better.
these 2 fruit do make misaki constipated, therefore I dun give them.
papaya/pear/prune/avocado/peach might be better choce for her.

Sam: Yumin's facial expression is soo cute. u could manage to capture them! I am always too slow, not fast enough to capture those cute and cheeky look.

Mrs Teng: both C and C are so cute. always put smile on my face everytime I see their pics. really.
I understand when u say u put so much effort and they dun wanna eat . last time when I was all alone with Ryo and I didnt have maid, I prepared all those food for him and he didnt even wanna open his mouth. grrrrhhhhhh...I pushed the spoon he would get more upset. hahaha.but somehow other days he (seemed) to catch up. and eat more.
so now when Misaki doesnt really have appetite,I dont wanna force her.

Krex: Thailand, Bali, Bintan, is quite ok for short break.
Thai people are always willing to carry your baby when u eat. they love babies.

infant fee= 0-24 mths, once above 24 mths must pay child fee
every airlines got different infant fee. some 10% some 25%. must check with the travel agent.
If u buy from Zuji u need to call them first because the fee for infant wont be reflected .
For jetstar and airasia , flat rate depending on the destination .

Crankiness: Misaki is also super cranky... pfhhhh .wake up many times , day and nite .
she is still teethless.

YLN and all the working mummies: cheer up ladies..the long weekend is coming

YLN: thank u for paying the deposit for us and all your help!

valnsw: u r going to sean house this fri? u join the sengkang gathering at April's place?

constipation:
Sometimes my girl never poo for a day, my MIL will let her eat half a apple and usually she will poo...

Does anyone knows if can the babies eat papaya liao? Think papaya very effective one.

SOlid:
I see a lot of mummies giving their babies solids twice a day liao. Me only give her in the afternoon. ANy mummies have any idea when (which month) can we give 2 time solid to them? Can their digestive system take it? My gal loves to eat solid, porridge, pigeon biscuits (fav) and fruits.

Little twin star

Aiyo, how come like that? you put a lot of meat in the porridge? Are u still using the brown rice or multi-grain rice? If yes, try skipping them.. Use white rice for now... Skip cooked carrot n potato.. these will definitely cause constipation.. Use more green leafy veggie.. Dun stop the juice, barley n water... see how it is?

Ikan Bilis powder can get ready made ones from Eu Yan Sang, but dun know what kind of quality lah! I made it on my own.. There are several methods to do it depending on how you wan it.. The easiest one hehehe, some mommies are giving away... so you got to 'chiop' fast lor.

Vone

Talk about efforts, yah, can be quite frustrating.. Today did the porridge in texture form, my elder gal dun want to eat.. spit out.. Quickly blend for her, den guai guai eat. Sometimes, it's like that one.. when you introduce new variety of food, they dun want but when you give on a second day... they will take it... I usually dun give up until the 3rd try..

Ling ling

Mei2 eat enuf liao will give a satisfying smile. But sometimes, she eat too much, can see her face 'hay hay chuan' .. the very full kind of look.. And she'll just sit of the chair and 'relax one corner' ...

Huichin

Yes! I'm using a slow cooker for the porridge. Here's the steps to tonite's dinner.

Minced carrot and asparagus until very fine
Cut 2 sections of sweet corn
Wash white rice and put threadfin and sweet corn in slow cooker. Add boiling water (bcos sweet corn is used, got to add more water den normal) and put to high heat. After about 5 mins, the threadfin turn whitish, take it out, place in a bowl and mash it with a fork. ( I just chopped it on a chopping board, haha, faster) But chopping board has to be strictly for baby's food wan hor. Not the type we chop all kinds of things..
Put chopped threadfin back to slow cooker n cook for about 1 hour
Stir the porridge and den put the minced carrot, asparagus and ikan bilis powder. Cook for another 1/2 an hour.
Remove the corn and blend. If not, just stir the porridge. Should be very nua liao. If water no enuf, just add little hot water lor..

Here's a pic of my slow cooker

2333303.jpg

Ruixuan

Will take a pic of the safety guard for you tomolo, can? need to go to Sean Lau's place to view photographs soon..

Btw, wat did you cook for SL? how come lao sai? Sometimes, mix wrong thing, baby will lao sai one leh!

SL won't want me to be his mummy lah! He loves you so much, how can he look for another?

Yuuri

Be your mummy abit to young leh! Buddy maybe lah!

Spinach... i rem someone discuss about this

I know there are round spinach, sharp spinach, baby spinach n red spinach. Oh... china spinach... though nt sure what is the diff.

Are they diff taste?

What I know is the red spinach helps in blood n iron.

what about the rest?

Hashisan

Maybe the weather is hot, wet, den hot again.. that's why misaki dun want to eat.. Teething can be another possibility lor. Dun force leh! you'll get more frustrated.. Nowadays, I tell myself when they dun want to eat.. just sit back.. let them cry and den tell myself.. dun force, otherwise they will throw up and you will get more frustrated.. Den I'll just put the bowl n spoon down, carry them and call it a day..

Just now, meimei very naughty.. didn't want to drink her milk... throw tantrum.. so I told her, 'I'll give jie jie porridge, you dun get any'.. She had to sit aside and watch her sister eat... goosh! she got so upset until she cry leh.. Told my maid to bring her out of the house for a walk, but she kept crying lor.. My neighbour ran over an asked what happened.. she cry even more.. pass her to my other maid still dun wan to stop..
Den I got no choice carry her...ask my maid to feed jie jie.. Meimei still cry.. only until I give her the porridge den she stop crying... wah! as if she knows what I've told her...

She's very naughty one, I always scold her at put her at the naughty corner.. she'll cry one lor (of cos, I dun ask her face the wall lah) Just make her sit at a corner of the playyard, she knows liao...

Ruixuan

Here's a pic from the website. Mine is almost the same. Just that mine is a square edge instead of the rounded edge you see in this pic.

2333325.gif

Mrs Teng
Thanks! Sounds so yummy! Cos i need to teach my maid to cook porridge for Falisha, i need to find a 'simpler' way in case of anything. Hahah...oh i think i will go get the Baby slow cooker Nini was toking abt earlier. Hehe...and btw, the way u tok abt Mei2 eating and hay hay chuan, so funny n cute! hehee...lucky to hv u as their Mummy! hehe...

twin star,

long time never see u.

eh... can I ask.. when u preg, u always pu? maybe too heaty body for ur bb?

ya.. u try sugar pear puree, might help

I think barley u tried rite?
barley tea? or wat they call wheat tea in japan.

like wat vanille wrote... the small small banana helps leh. I know in NTUC is call Senorita banana.

Cat,

let me check if I can get Mikihouse's stock.

if hv, then maybe can sell online for u?
Hahaha!!

just worried the pricing.......

tigg3r

if I prepare soup stock... is it included in the 4 day rule?

or I can just add in corn soup anytime?
or wolfberry soup?

are they also included as new items to food list?

sorry ar.... alot of ????

thanks for all the compliments mommies! i like to take those silly pics of my ger lah...

why did mommy shave me! humph!

2333368.jpg

thanks mummies for yr recommendations

some say give banana, some say dun, how ah?
i got give fresh pear puree.
i got 1 bottle of banana n pear puree...so no?
give pear n apricot better right?
my hse got alot of bottle food. i use it to test her response then go n buy fresh ones.

actually if i prepare the porridge myself, she is better. can poo although dry but np but sat i went out n mil n maid prepared porridge 4 her n sun no poo, mon she kena the "labour constipation" now i prepare again....so far yest n today poo. mil didnlt believe me when i said i need to add alot of water to her porridge n need to blend 4 her even when it is very soft like chok...cos gg;s digestive system not stable yet la....i have to repeat to her over n over again n she say y must so special, she cook for her other grandkids also not like tt. all teochew porridge style type. hiaz.... i told her if not 4 gg has this prob, u think i dun wanna make my life easier.

moral of the story: cook bb;s food myself better.....n monitor n give her the juices myself. y can;t i have a sat to myself!!!!

twin star,

there are 7 types of banana, so maybe u hv to ask wat type.

so far I know those normal one dat find in fruit store n supermarket... will coz constipation.

maybe avocado? oil base fruit. help lubrication?

yumeumi
saw the pics of the cherry blossom today on asiaone. Sigh. So sad missed it. I guess have to wait maybe next yr I bring bernice back to japan.

The jap lady at liang court told me mikihouse is considered up mkt clothes even to the jap.

I just remembered abt bernice school so must check when her term ends to go Perth. Haha. Luck LTS reminded me

little twin stars, what milk powder is GG taking? My gal oso often will have contispation and I suspect that it might be the milk powder that we r giving her so we dilute it

<font color="DB4C30">timmin</font>
Can I kaypo, your PT cleaner come how many days a week? I'm getting her sister to come 3x a week and every 2wks she will last min miss a few days, sick a few times, go embassy lah, got other urgent matters lah... if not, sometimes she will ask her sister to come with her, or her cousin - so that they do everything in half the time. She oso usually leave before the 3hrs we pay her for is up. I'm starting to think we're too nice never really demand for very high standard, or not enough things for her to do and then end up get taken advantage of leh.

mrs teng
hmmm....u're allergic to bananas ah? then got to b more careful of higher allergy food. tho if parent is allergic, it doesn't mean that bb will be allergic too. maybe can introduce later?

brie
my PT cleaner comes once a week. i hvn't used her sister b4, so i dunno what she's like. mine NEVER goes back early and NEVER comes with someone else. most of the time, she goes back on time or late even. when she doesn't come, which is rarely, it's cos she's really sick. she has 5 kids and a sick mother to support, so she won't miss cleaning unless she really cannot tahan.

maybe 3x a week for 3hrs each time is a lil too often? does she do the same things each time? i can hint to my cleaner the next time she comes.

Twinstars / ccolsnow,
Adel is taking NAN but we add one spoon of Friso comfort and no problem with his poo. We are doing this now, instead of diluting milk. YOu may like to try. Recommended by PD

I also did consider 3x a week like quite often, but I find the floor v dusty. Maybe got dog lah. We also use magic clean everyday despite her vacuuming everytime she come. Today when I was mopping, I was thinking maybe I should just get her to come once a week cos we're still doing quite a lot of things - since I managed to mop the floor today, I might as well do it every other day myself. Sigh. Maybe she just need to wipe stuff and vacuum once a week will do. Cos when it comes to washing toilet, or changing sheets, she already disappointed us big time.

brie
wah piangz...i feel embarrassed that she's so jia lat. i try to magic clean everyday too, cos i've got a cat. but i'm quite happy with once a week vaccum n mop. and she mops by going on fours to clean with cloth. i got mop, but she say she prefers cleaning that way. however, my standard very low one. but i see my PT cleaner scrubbing toilet with Cif every week. and she'll do stuff that i never tell her to do, which i'm impressed. maybe u need to tell her how you want her to clean or change sheets?

i'll tell my cleaner coming monday when i see her.

No lah, no need to feel embarassed. I met your cleaner b4, she oso use Cif to scrub my toilet w/o me asking. Just that her sister never do the same. We never demand for high standard leh. Dun have to tell your cleaner lah... I think I should tell her my expectations again and see how. Afterall I think she's quite a nice lady so far and perhaps I'm really too lax with letting her do things her way her standard. I just might reduce her days and see if I can cope with mopping myself. If Isaac only gimme a break once in a while I think I prefer to rely on myself more often too.

Sylvia

As long as it is new food to baby, just follow 4 days rule lor.. if you think baby can tahan.. den cut by 1 day.. follow 3 days..

Eg.. if baby eat pork meat in porridge before, den dun have to follow liao... but if you intend to add thing like scallop, corn or wolfberry which baby has not taken before, den I suggest you try one at a time... that way if any goes wrong, you'll at least know which one to eliminate..

Just like my porridge, today I gave wolfberry for the first time, the other items like pork n ikan bilis babies are okay with it, so I dun have to worry. Tomolo will mix chix with wolfberry instead of pork lor. Hope I didn't confuse you..

<font color="#CD3278">twin stars</font>
Oh gdness.. GG looks like she has suff amt of water + fibre.. She def consumes more fibre than Ashley does any day!!

Wondering if it's possible tt it's just her digestive system.. U ever taken her to sinseh?