hfgaga
Welcome to the thread!! Your boi seemed very comfi in the sack..
History
Fish is just fine for the beginning... dun hurry into getting all sorts of things for baby. For me, I'm still in the stage of allergy testing for my gals... lots of food they still have not try, and most that they have tried gave them lots of gas, so very limited choice for them. Today, I gave them Chix porridge with aparagus and pumpkin. Hopefully, they won't cry tonite, bcos also produce lots of gas.. ( can't give them too much spinach also) scared they get Blue Baby syndrome...
The thermal cooker, yeah! it's very good to use.. you wan a small one, get the Tiger brand.
Hashisan
No worries! If you think the ikan bilis is salty, wash at least 3 times. And when you give the powder, dun give too much.. I gave about 1 1/2 tsp for my 2 gals, so you probably wan to give only 3/4 to one tsp for Misaki.
Ikan bilis is given becos it enhances the taste of the porridge but most importantly, it the calcium that we are looking at.
Threadfin is less fishy and one of the fish that have lesser mercury contain.. Hope that answers you questions. Feel free to ask if you need, I'll try and help if I can..
Rona
I'm also interested in getting the First Food book so that I can gather some ideas and incorporate into my style of cooking.. I'm also learning! Not an expert yet.. heheh
What you are give Jerold sounds very nutritious liao..Sweer peas is good for the start.. you may like to try carrots, russet potato (small amount, dun puree, cook a small section together with rice), broccoli, cauliflower. But remember to follow the 4 day rule, look out for allergy or gas lor. Stop if it causes discomfort.
Talking about bring dinner out for Jerold, Cereal is the most convenient choice. Porridge means you need a good food warmer to carry along. If you are rushing for time, den a thermal warmer will be good bcos it cooks when it still in the warmer. So all you need is cook for about 20 mins and pour in the cooker, by 2 hours later you should be able to serve liao.. (But make sure the meat is very minced and veggie chopped tiny)
Krex
Dun feel guilty at all.. Jonah is enjoying what you are preparing for him.. He loves what mummy gives.. All you need is to slowly introduce new things into the porridge and prepare in an interesting way. He'll love it.. I'm just sharing my ideas so that all the mummies can gather some ideas. There's no requirement to follow what I do.. Jonah may not like it. Just adjust according to Jonah's preference.. Isn't it very satisfying to see him finish what you cooked for him?
If porridge turn out dry, try adding a little hot water to smoothen it.
Missysz
Did cut the sweetcorn and cook together with the porridge, den I blend all together, my gals didn't like it. Yesterday, I cut 3 sections and cook together with the porridge, den I remove before blending, porridge turns out quite sweet..
You have to trail and error..
Happy_mummy
You're right, Ikan bilis is for the calcium. but dun give too much at a time, can be very salty..
Do let me know if Adel likes the corn porridge
Need to crack my nut before I can come out with ideas..