(2008/08) Aug 2008

Dongle

Understood what you meant... guess I can also relate to how your mum feel about frozen purees... older generations believe in freshness.. given the choice I also like it fresh.. Maybe you can reassure by bringing her along during baby's next visit to the PD... ask PD about frozen homemade purees. Usually, older generation will take 50/50 of the advice..

As for spinach.. I dun puree n freeze it... my PD told me better not. I usually buy the bundle of spinach, pluck the leaves and put it in a container lined with paperhand towel.. that would absorb any excessive moisture but still keeping the freshness.. normally I finish the whole bundle within 4 days... For leafy veggi, try to cook it fresh..

Other veggies such as carrot, sweet potato, pumpkin, broccoli, cauliflower etc can puree lor, but try not to do too much... try not to freeze more den a week or 2, even when some PD nutritionists recommended to keep up to 2 mths. Dun forget we are in the tropical country.. even with refrigerator, things still rot faster as compared to cold climate countries..(personally tested before). Whatever it is, follow the 4 day rule when trying out new food.. My gals can't take broccoli, cauliflower or cabbage.. causes lots of wind.. they'll suffer..

Hope that will give you an idea what to puree and wat not to..just my 2 cents worth. hehehe.. I'm also a new mum, dun really know much about baby food..

Catherine

Yeap! think the delux one cheaper..
For me, with this 2 gals, can't go too far leh! It's about that price for Villa. I went to Banyan Tree Phuket for 3N also spent on average about 4k for the entire trip. Now, think cannot liao... Pok Kai liao...

Aurora,
i had pm u regarding ur son's problem.. pls check

Mrs teng
wah.. u look like a good cook.. can ola (order?)
i cannot cook well.. always outside food.

for those who had email me on DP, i replied. pls check email..

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
Gdness, mommysown is too exp to get fr.. Think the shipping wld cost more than our items

I seriously dunno how long more i wld give Ashley BM.. Just started work, so I haven't been able to figure a schedule for pumping yet..

Oh u know there's the polypropylene bottles? I think they are BPA free, unlike the default ones (Polycarbonate) which may be 'problematic' when they become scratchy

So u ordering fr the BP?

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
*jia you* Am sure u can will urself to up the ss again!

wendy
i tried the banana ragi porridge this evening. he liked it!
i tasted it. it's kinda bland. i guess like plain porridge, but interesting with the banana.

happy mummy
yah...he just sleeps on his own. must train lah. in the beginning, must harden our hearts la when he cried. but now, he has learnt that we won't pick him up and will just go to sleep on his own.

Linx
Wah thats very nearby yeah.. can can.. will bake something very soon! r u going to April's place for gathering? Maybe I can bake and u bring over since I cannot make it??

Mrs Teng
ur lor mai kai looks yums!! thanks for sharing the recipe!

<font color="ff6000">So many posts to catch up!</font>

Thanks to all the mummies who gave me info on Bali. Appreciate it lots!

<font color="ff6000">ling</font>
Ok, thanks for helping me to link up w your friend.
It's so coincidental, one of my friends just got back from Bali too!
For the flashcards, I bought from Popular bookstore. It's those simple ones, one side has the picture/image and the other side has the word. So I let bb sit face in front of me, then I place the flashcard with pic facing her and the side w word facing me so that I can read aloud to her while I flash the cards. I nvr do the other way round, so don't think she can read them.

Got the "Baby Can read" dvd, but she's not interested leh... She's still more interested in Baby Einstein w all the puppets... haiz.

<font color="ff6000">ruixuan / M2B</font>
I just try try on Chevelle, see if she knows how to pick out the right one.. hehe I think when she's tired/irritated, she tends to get the card wrong. Her attention span is v short, after 3-5 sets of choosing, she will start to make noise or cannot give the correct answer liao.

But I can tell she enjoys the flashcard process, cos when I flash the cards and say out the words, she will smile. I noticed she will give her toothy grin somewhere in between "helicopter" and "ice-cream" and "rabbit" and "socks". haha

<font color="ff6000">aurora</font>
Wa... my future SIL going to Perth. Enjoy the trip ya! It will super relaxing, v laid back. Doing F&amp;E or package? F&amp;E nicer, own time own target. Nov just nice, not too hot not too cold.

<font color="ff6000">hashishan</font>
OMG! just read Michan choked on the baby bites. I also v scared when giving my bb those teething biscuits. That day was letting Chevelle bit the HT one, after sometime, took it out. Whatever she couldn't finish, I ate it... haha Tastes weird... Wonder how their bb food tastes like.

<font color="ff6000">YLN</font>
I'm the opposite of your MIL, prefer to let bb crawl rather than carry. Kept telling my parents NOT to carry bb as much as possible.
BTW I have this prob, Chevelle doesn't dare to crawl too much on the playmat as compared to the bed which is softer. Today had to "train" her to crawl on the playmat..

Is Kaer like that too?

<font color="ff6000">Mrs N</font>
ROFLOL.... But Dominic looks to be happily sleeping away. I think if it were me, I also cannot resist snapping away.

<font color="ff6000">krex</font>
My girl gets that kinda embossed print on her whole body whenever she sleeps facedown in the yaolan.

<font color="ff6000">M2B</font>
The dress looks so classy! Like meant for princess to go to a ball. Which BP u get from? Haha the shopper mama in you has come out.

<font color="ff6000">Wendy</font>
I prob bring Chevelle when she's 2 yrs+, better able to comprehend and appreciate the nature. Anyway, I will go in Dec as that's usually the time my bro will come back to SG for hols and then I can just live in his apartment. Then free accomodation, plus my parents got him a car there, so I guess we can use the car too.

Maybe if wana do city hopping, can go to Sydney, shun bian visit some friends there.

Tasmania sounds great. I so want to go there too.

<font color="ff6000">mrs teng</font>
Your hb alrdy not bad, thinks of you and gets you stuff when he's working overseas.
The only time my hb got stuff when he went oversea work trip was ask me what i want from Changi airport duty-free shop...

<font color="ff6000">timmin</font>
U sure are adventurous, first time I hear of ragi and semolina. I think i'm one lazy mummy. thk gdness for my mum who's helping to do all the food for my girl.

<font color="ff6000">Cat</font>
Bernice is so cute, can wave bye bye alrdy! Clever girl.

<font color="ff6000">hisstory</font>
U back to work ya? Remember u said u ferried Ashley to your mum's place every day? How u do it? As in is Ashley's wake up time consistent? What if she doesn't wake up, then just carry her in your arms in the car til reach your mum's place?

Think I might hv to do this but prob w hb sending baby to my mum's place.

Then go back how? U have to wait for your hb to ferry u back right? What if your hb works late, then how? It's gona be quite disruptive to move baby to the car to go home when she's sleeping right?

Sorry for the many questions... wana knw any hiccups or probs w such ferrying arrangement since u're doing it now.

timmi
bb can drink tea meh wun get caffeinated? ya now normal barley is not working too
now 2 days never poo liao. today gave half doze laxative with barley only poo out "an mnm's" now jus gave her gripe water to help her sleep. then the tuina place is so far for me n i can;t remember how to park plus hubby needs the car so i'm pretty much stuck
mayb later i go ntuc n see if they have but i doubt so la. tom gotta increase her doze of laxative liao. hiaz

cat
bernice very clever wo. gg got no specialty....... (eating? considered? haha)
she only sometimes babble things out of the blue. like jus now she heard the song baba black sheep n she repeat tat sentence once only la. hubby heard it too n was shocked. mayb cos baba n papa sounds the same but she did say black sheep.

tigg3r
i was thinking of getting the shuttle chef cos can cook over the stove n use it imm, the tiger one can? cos the SS is very big compared to wat gg can eat.

sentosa:
now very dusty lei..so much sand n reno going on n alot of the views r blocked by cranes. i stayed at amara resort there n when we drove pass, we kinda regret sentosa. now thinking of bringing gg to bintan

food:
can i send my maid to yr cooking class? hahaha..seriously
she's a fast learner es when it comes to food
bb food:
i;ve resorted to buying heinz organic veg jar to add into her porridge. veg tat i blend 4 her taste bitter lei. only thing fresh is the porridge n fish
veg...spinach, she'll have bad gas, broccoli i haven tried but think same thing. only left with carrot n pumpkin. so i got the carrot, pumkin n sweet crn mix frm heinz. i finish them in 48 hrs n throw the remaining. if not i dun puree to freeze lei, at least they do a mix, if i puree, it;s 1type of veg only. can tell me wat veg i can puree?

vern
so gd, u manage to go away when u r preg, i was grounded
next time u go there , dun need to bl with facinating. there r alot of nice boutique hotels n villas around tt u can go direct or international web. i find it better than wat the local agencies here offer

hisstory
u also? how u tahan the crying? now gg become very manja, think learn frm bernice her classmate. now she put her head on my shoulder. want to sleep close to me to the extend i hug her n sleep in the afternoons. think she is starting to feel separation anxiety. went i put her in her rocker n walk off to the toilet, she'll start crying.... thank god hubby always take night shift cos day time gg doesn;t sleep n i can't get back to sleep fast so he helps me in this way

reirei
think so but i use my own tutu n he didn;t bring out much of his stuffs cos i think i have too many liao,haha. dun think i can lend u mine cos i;ve done the waistline rather big to fit gg :*
i like the light pink too. which other bp better? show me the link? cos i dun fancy ribbons too ......gg will attack the ribbons

krex
ya, rubbermat is hot es nowadays the weather is impossible......
my above post to missy sz states the package i paid for. was wandering shld i cancel the big frame

rata
yes, pls try on ja. it looks big lei,if too big let her wear as tube dress

mommies, how do u know bbs r allergy to certain food or causes gas to them? Such as Broccoli,potato,sweet potatos.. Will cause bb to pass out germas gas??

my bb poo is v smelly man... smells like vinegar!

<font color="ff6000">ruixuan</font>
haha just for fun la... Ya Reagan's my future SIL.
Machiam like make arranged marriage like that.
Alrdy exchanged gifts in babybook liao.

<font color="ff6000">aurora</font>
hehe ruixuan says your boy is gd choice wor.

Princess valval
then i am looking forward for u.. haha.. i saw her just post... can update the following table??

princess valval, kymkym T and bean
can update this table?
<table border=1><tr><td> <font size="-1">Mummy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Baby Gender</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Baby Name</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">DOB</font></td></tr></table>

Timminbuzz
i miss ur post.. will cook more form for my son soon.

twin stars
it's called tea cos of the way it's brewed i tink. but definitely no caffeine!! like flora teas also got no caffeine. aiyo... ur gal so poor thing. i passed my friend some barleygreen to drink cos she bfs. she wanted to test its effectiveness and stopped the barleytea for baby. and her bb has been pooing 2 days in a row! will be mtg her tmr so will ask if her bb poos tmr.

Timmin
Woo-hoo!! It's great that E is so receptive to new foods!
Well done!

Meal wise.. I initially had some probs with David because he simply was not interested in eating but these couple of days, I've seen a marked improvement. He actually opens his mouth now and finishes everything that I prepared. It's not much lah.. only 2 tsp of cereal + 2 tsp of pureed vege + 2 tsp of fruit puree per meal. Hee.. wonder if it's cos I use this bell thing to distract him. I sing a lot too.. so that he is kept entertained. Haha..

Val
True.. when they are older it's actually better to travel then.

I'll fill you in about Tasmania when we return!
Hopefully we'll have some decent photos to share!

anybody tried the si sen brown rice with ikan bilis by moonrabbit?

i tried it....mark liked it initally then bawled the second round....then i tried it....not nice leh...

by the way ...is the brand trustworthy? and do u think the ikan bilis is clean?

<font color="#CD3278">val</font>
Unofficially back at work these 2 days.. Tmr's going to be the real thing

So far from last week's practice, she's still asleep when we pick her up fr the cot &amp; then we put her in the car seat.. On the gd days, she remains asleep even aft we drop her off at my parents'

Yupz, gotta wait for my hb coz I've got my pump &amp; my barang
But coz he goes in to work earlier, he can leave punctually. And coz he's a pseudo-F1 driver, we generally arrive at my parents at ard 6pm

Hb usually doesn't need to work late.. If so, then got to get my parents to send us back &amp; tuck her to sleep. Dun think i want a cranky Ashley in the car.. It's pure madness

<font color="#CD3278">twin stars</font>
Just ignore.. heheh, partially i think i'm dead tired!! I was in &amp; out of sleep though.. But still bo hue

I dunno if it's separation anxiety, but Ashley's also rather needy now.. She can play on her own in the walker/high chair.. But when anyone walks by, she wld eheheh to want to be carried.. hahah

GG still doesnt sleep in the day ah?

Valnsw Qing Jia Mu,
hahaaa... of cos Reagan good choice ar. Chevelle is oso very good DIL. heheee...

Ruixuan ar, u wan to chope how many DILs for SL ar? Saw tt u asked if Linx's Nandini available or not leh...later Hui chin's Falisha come crawling to ur hse! Heeard she's a very good crawler now yah? Kekeee... :p

wendy
i have to distract E too!! today, i used the cat. i carried the cat and placed it on the dining table, so E could see it while on his high chair. he kept staring @ it, and just kept opening his mouth! haha...

other times, i try to use different types of spoons i can find in the drawer. i tried using my hb's medicine spoon. it's blue in colour and E just keeps opening his mouth when i feed him with it. haha...but only worked twice. oh well...gotta dig and find "new" stuff to feed him with. haha..

ruixuan
that's the one!! but i tink that's the powder. there are mini packs of prepared ones.

hisstory: ur ashley sounds like my braiden too! hahaha..i tink their character quite alike! can be 'hao peng you' liao! hahaha!!

ruixuan: thanks!!!!!!!!!

mrs teng,

u're really a gd cook leh! i will never have the motivation to make my own lo mai kai. last time when i used to cook, it's mainly baking and simple stir fry meals or soups for me and hb.

twin stars,

is this your package?

Classic Baby Package
02 Hours Session for your baby with Sean Lau
05 Pictures of 5" x 7" (High Resolution)
01 Reprint on 8" x 12" with Framing (Table Top)
DVD of selected images in High Resolution

*Additional Pax can join in the session for $25/pax instead of $35. If both parents join in for a family protrait,will get an
additional picture worth $30.

i wanted to check: do the selected images refer to the 5 pics that u chose for 5" x 7"?

Timinbuzz
that is also the mini packet one..
i will take pic of another flavour for u to see cos some of it was given to SL when SL help them out with the Pigeon seminar talk ...

Aurora
i got alot of DIL cos some of them are my friends who book him and one is Falisha, then i see Nandini's pic.. she remind me of Sl cos of the big eyes and when i see twin (Mrs teng) i cannot tahan..
aiyo aiyo.. how to choose... *SL, ur mummy very greedy hor.. can u cope?*

timmi
all these methods r for bb tat occasionally have constipation. wat if it's a daily prob?

hisstory
u must be dead tired
gg naps only if i force her

krex
yes, same package but after the shoot they will ask if u want to top up this n that ...if u want all pics back. have to pay $250 additional. if not u gotta go thru all the pics n select only 5 lei. how to choose, not possible one so we jus opt to pay the additional $250 so select 5 tat we wanna print to 5R n one in 8R with frame
i didnlt think can include hubby n i. hubby wun want it also

ruixuan
where u buy frm besides taka?

twin star
hmmmm...but my friend's gal's constipation seems to be a daily problem also. her gal can poo once in a week and really hurts her.

Twinstar
that mean i cannot go for seanlau? cos when i see SL's pic after photoshot at Studioloft.. actualli i buy 5 pc more so end up i paid studioloft $75/-.. hiakz, i cannot tahan when i see SL's pci.. everything also want... Does Seanlau's package allow u to do family's pic?

valnsw: I agree 100% with u. baby can sense people. they can sense the sincerity or that person.

Mrs N: dominic is soo handsome. cute pic!

mrs teng: same here. I'm the police woman at home. do all the "dirty" job. disciplining, scolding, cleaning, staying awake when they are sick, while daddy is in charge of one thing : playing (and having fun ).
told him its so unfair.. but then he is not like me (= very on) hahaha. he is very patient with the children and take things easy . ..
sigh.. but someone has to do it . if not us doing all those things, who else will?
very nice pic of clarabell
. she has good appetite yeah?
and thanks for sharing the lor mai kai recepe with us.. wana try it this week. wish me luck . haha

sylvia: how's today. mil came over?
I dont know where to find vege shop. nevermind lah.. will try the 11 rice first, at ntuc
. thanks for your help.

hisstory: hope everything goes well tomorrow.

wendy: please share your tasmania trip experience with us. I always want to visit tasmania you are going this month?
michan is ok now thank u. yeah it was quite shocking. must really keep an eye on david too when he is snacking. altho the packaging says it will melt, it doest totally melt.

reirei: could u send me again your email pls, I think I saw it this morning but before I can log in to FB, I accidentally deleted it. sorry...

Rata: beautiful petti skirt! I saw someone organizing BP $55. is it the same one?
Jacinta will surely look pretty in it

M2B: that Bp for the dress was qute sometime ago rite, before CNY? I wanted to order but i was too late. the dress u got is soo beautiful, can imagine Mae wearing it

Stardiva: poor gg.. hope as she grows her digestion system will get better yeah. is it safe to use laxative often?

Shirley: dun worry , her hair will grow soon.

Ling: merknya baby bites. hati2 yah .. jangan lengah kaya gua kalo si nandini lagi snacking. bahaya.

Rata
then really looking forward to see ur gal pics soon :p

Vern
Can can.... no problem but mayb want u to teach me how to bake oso.. my oven sitting still just to bake fish, chicken n pork here :p

Tigg3r
Looks yummy...... ta pao can ?? cos u're also quite close by from me ( hehehhe, me dont cook, just stop by to all houses that do cook lor :p )

Ruixuan
SInce hb going overseas on 19 April, then I'll change the availability for PS on 18
sorry for the trouble ya...
Reg DIL, ya lor bit greedy... keep so many stock for SL :p Mayb I should b more active now to keep some stock for my gal...
How many prince we have in this thread ahh ? Need to know the stat b4 go lelong or I lelong in other thread ROFL

Valnsw
sure no problem.. I'll get back to u abt that soon ya...

I'm tryng to get bb can read, thinking to just burn :p cheaper heheheh..... I have brainy baby but my gal only love the one that title "Music" :p Will soon post in FB the video of her reaction to this DVD

Thinking to get Flashcard with big words so bb learn the word oso.... hmmmm... me too many wishes hehehe
Helicopter &amp; Ice cream then rabbit n sock LOL

Re crawling
I think my gal can shake hand with urs oredi.. she oso not very active on the mat compare on the bed one... On the bed she can roll here roll there, lift the butt ( she hasnt crawl yet :p ) but in the mat if we put her to sit, she'll just sit there lor or on her tummy :p think they feel not so secure uh ? :p

LTS
mayb u want to try to feed yogurt to ur gal... Hb said yogurt really help in digestion n cooling oso.. mayb help... Been feeding my gal for couple of days.. She can finish 1 can one :p n her poo quite soft while if I dont give yogurt bit like adult one.. dunno coincidence or not

i dun think i will take or organise Seanlau liao cos I am crazy abt SL's pic..
that time after studioloft, dun dare to post so many of SL's pic cos i paiseh and feel myself so silly to buy 5 pictures more..
but no regret abt buying cos worth to keep
if i go sean lau.. i think i can go broke.

RUixuan
hehehehe no lahhh.. u r not the only one crazy bout bb's pics... we too... My hb has spent sooo much for the gal's pic... that's y lor I was thinking whether let him know bout Sean Lau or not cos I know he will spend like that.... :p Me the cheapo mom lorr.. dont want him to spend just like that hehehe

No time to log in till now, so many post to catch up.

Yln,
Yu ze will push you away if he don’t want you to carry and lean forward to wherever he wants to go.

Shirley,
Can be train one. do it step by step and slowly but there must be a firm person to make sure things go according to what you want. For me, I’m the firm person. Hubby will get scolding if he disturb my training. Hahaha….

Wendy,
Once he can sit up, its more difficult for him to go back to sleep on his own. Its still possible but there will be a period where he will cry for attention or to be carried. Once, pass this period, it ok liao. Yu ze will also sit up and cry with eyes in the beginning stage when he knows how to sit up. Its very tiring then. After a period, he learn to entertain himself and then fall asleep again.

He can sleep on his own cos its his usual bedtime. Also its useless for him to whine or cry cos I won’t give him. So after a while, he knows its useless. He just go to sleep when he is tired loh.

Timminbuzz,
Hahah…. Yah yah, me too. When yu ze don’t want to nap and me tired. I will leave him in his cot and I return to my room to sleep. Hahaha….. so bad hoh.

Happy mummy,
I leave yu ze to sleep in the cot. Sometimes, he will cry don’t want to sleep but I will ignore him. When he knows its useless, he will stop and start crawling around the cot to self entertain till he is tired and fall asleep.

Valnsw,
I think ferrying baby to and fro place is quite ok. in the beginning, might be worried for many things but it will fall into place nicely. When we first send yu ze to babysitter’s place, he will be sleeping when we go. I still put him in car seat and he continues to sleeps on the way. Sometimes, he will wake up the moment I carry him. He stay awake on the journey and continue to sleep at babysitter’s place. After quite some time, he will auto wake up around the time before we leave house for babysitter. Then he will stay awake in the car and only fall asleep if he is super tired.

Going back, I will fetch yu ze with hubby. Hubby will come and fetch me from work then we have dinner then we go fetch yu ze. If I know hubby will be very late, then I get babysitter to send yu ze home and I go home myself. We try to bring yu ze home by 8pm the latest.

Once it becomes a routine for them, there won’t be any hiccups one.

Yu ze can’t really bother with the flatout bear. The only time, he touch it is when he remove the ribbon from it. Hahah… but I still leave it in his cot for him.

Ruixuan,
I can make it for both days for the ps liao.

celynlee
that's good to hear abt it.. i had finish coordinated DP#1 group pic liao.

Still awaiting for DP#2

Linx..
i am crazy abt SL's pic.. so take here and there.. until my colleague say i siao. they comment that better dun forget the ah lao at home cos no ah lao, no SL.