(2008/08) Aug 2008

party supplies
what do we have to order for party supplies? i am utterly lost and confused. how much do we have to spend, estimate? need to do my 'homework' then tell my hubby. i am almost 101% sure that he will say "don't waste $!" haha

snow
hope you and your hubby are okay now. maybe you can tell him that the swimsuit can be passed down to zynn?

valnsw
have u received the pics at seahlau? is he patient and nice?

ruixuan,
yeah, thanks for cordinating, i am very very keen..keke coz i want be xin ma hahaha after all i am contestant #12 mum keke

Hi Ruixuan,

i am okay with 2nd group. But can they fit so many babies photo shoot in one day ?

Anyway please include me in the 2nd group and let me know if need to tranfer money. Tks !

Jojobar
baby's individual shot or should i say the one u sign up will be arranged at ur own free time but before 30 aug
and they will send u a invoice and instruction to u by email

and for the group pic is complimentary (18th or 19th April) and they got their way to fix these babies for group pic... (that day no package shoot, else baby will be tired out) as Max time will be 2 hours or less

if u unsure what i mean. u can call fenny 91129884

<font color="#CD3278">Mrs Teng</font>
Tt's really interesting.. i only heard of ppl havign some milk ss when preggy.. So how are u intending to let ur ss dwindle till it stops naturally?

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Super bo bian.. I hope he plans for his trips when I have my sch hols, then we can both tag along.. At least i dun feel so lonely in the nights.. *sobs*

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
I rem Jonah being very fair &amp; ur hb veryvery tall! And the bb was in a Macleran stroller, so i put 2 &amp; 2 together &amp; suspect it might have been, afterall i rem u stay in the NE

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
I feel so sad for Nynn too.. She quite dong shi leh, cannot have purple also never insist

<font color="#CD3278">Vern</font>
Will go looksee the sites you shared.. The other day i was at Precious Thoughts and was so tempted to get their Precious Moments bday banner &amp; cutlery *heheh*

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
I might want to get Ameda valves.. Let's see if other mummies are keen too

missysz
Actually there is no must to buy party supplies lah! You can go check out a few shops first? Most party supplies you can get from Singapore shops like those in Concourse, online stores or even retail stores like party with us. As strawberry commented, not everything is cheaper online, esp since have to add shipping.

But there are some things that of course SG can't find and some things are cheaper. Currently, there are quite a few overseas spree that you can join to buy party supplies. But I tot if we can do one for our own Aug mummies why not? Cos our babies birthday all coming up keke..

I was at Giant yesterday, got Barney one too.. but I not a fan of Barney.. keke think he looks evil :p

Check out some of the links I posted yeah? happy browsing!!

vern
i also not a fan of barney but SL's babysittter buy him a barney costume...*faint*

will be back tomolo morning to update DP cos i going to work and be back tomolo morning

<font color="purple"><font size="+0">Party Supplies Recap</font></font>

Good Article/Resource for reading -
http://www.reasontoparty.com/1st-birthday-party-supplies.htm

Potential Sites to Order from:
- http://www.partypro.com/
- http://www.ezpartyzone.com/
- http://www.1stwishes.com/ (same as www.celebrateexpress.com)
- http://www.partyamerica.com/
- http://discountpartysupply.makesparties.com/

Mummies, just go see see look look first yeah? so far ezpartyzone.com is pretty good price whilst celebrateexpress.com is pretty good variety!

*Phew* Over and out.. check again once I get home.. leaving office now!

ruixuan
I faint for u too!!!! And *hi-5* tot I am the only one :p

Sorry, not against ppl who like barney or whose kids like barney.. paiseh! Personal pref lah

party stuff
i think there is one place that sell party stuff either quite cheap and more variety

1. the shophouses opposite breadtalk of Parco bugis juction
2. Rochor centre
3. chinatown (cant rem the place but opposite furama.. it think it is people park centre (NOT COMPLEX)
4. concourse

Ruixuan

Consourse no more liao, all moved. Most of them moved to tekka mall if I'm not wrong.

Chinatown one is the one directly opposite the Buddha tooth temple.

History
I think I'm letting it stop naturally.. hoping that nothing happens lor.. Bcos I very scared of blocked duct.. super painful.. that time remember go hospital in the middle of the nite at 2am .. den they squeeze so hard until it's more painful den my c-section wound. Remember it was only 2 weeks after delivery. Somemore, engorsed at that time, kena forced to express on the spot den before going home I told them I will send to EBM personally to the Special care nursery for my babies to drink.. At that time, see them also heartpain.. Went home after that, den next morning come back again to see the lactation consultant. That one can kill.. she really use her full strength to squeeze the duct until the milk shoot out like dart... I was like bitting all the towel n squeezing the armchair handle so tight. That consultant super famous in KKH, all patient got love/hate relatonship with her... Love her for clearing the ducts but hate her for causing so much pain..

phew... logging in after long day.

Vern,
Abt party supplies, read somewhere in May thread (ya i knw i kpo), that somewhere in the Immigration building at Lavender, there are some shops there which moved over from Blanco court, selling party supplies. But duno where leh... hehe

ruixuan,
RE: dphotofolio package
Is it only for weekday, or weekend also can go?

Dphotofolio will start if can jio 10 to 15 mummies (mummies who is keen please email ur name and contact plus email address... DUN transfer money first)
---------------------------------------------------------

1. Poh (ruixuan's contact)
2. Ivy (ruixuan's contact)
3. April
4. Sylvia
5. strawberry (can PM me if confirmed?)
6. YLN
7. Rona
8. Jen (if pkg valid in Aug)

KIV
----
yurri
valnsw - keen if package til 31 Aug 2009
chomecc (Strawberry's contact) - Keen if package is valid till Aug

ruixuan,
haha saw that you mentioned the 4 mths validity in your later post.

So does it mean that if we sign up on 12 april, then the package valid on 11 aug liao?

If like that, I don't mind taking up the dphotofolio package.

So the complimentary theme banner photoshoot, either on 18 or 19 april, the main photoshoot, can still do later right?

Sorry, me so lor so... just wana get things right.

hehe, if confirm valid til 11 aug, and can do the complimentary one on the 18/19 april, I wana put my name down liao!

Cos I cannot bring bb do the PS on wkday in April, only wkend.

Ruixuan,

Think I just put my name down, can't resist it!

Dphotofolio will start if can jio 10 to 15 mummies (mummies who is keen please email ur name and contact plus email address... DUN transfer money first)
---------------------------------------------------------

1. Poh (ruixuan's contact)
2. Ivy (ruixuan's contact)
3. April
4. Sylvia
5. strawberry (can PM me if confirmed?)
6. YLN
7. Rona
8. Jen (if pkg valid in Aug)
9. valnsw - keen if package til Aug 2009

KIV
----
yurri
chomecc (Strawberry's contact) - Keen if package is valid till Aug

missysz,
Sean and Adelena were there to help coax bb to look into the camera. They got some props but think my girl's attention span too short! Play/see something new get excited then a while later, not so interested alrdy.

Sean commented about her short attention span too.

End up halfway through, had to let her nap 15-20min cos she was too cranky alrdy.

Anyway, they hv a helper to help coax baby.

As for the photos, I won't know how they will turn out until I get them 2 weeks later...

hisstory,
Think u asked me about how Chevelle start to sleep better?

Ermz, actually nothing much. On Mon, I was telling and praying to myself that hope bb will be guai guai, sleep at 9pm and then wake up 7am the next morning.

Hope I don't jinx myself, but so far, it's really amazing that the past 3-4 nights, she has been sleeping earlier, and though she needs a feed, generally she fell asleep easily after some gentle coaxing, then sleep til the next morning wake up either 4am or 5.30am, then sleep and wake up at 7am.

And she has consistently woke up at 7am each morning since Mon.

Maybe she knws mummy needs her to do it, and she did it?

And another amazing thing is, over the weekend just after I read'scan thru the book that Mulberry recommended "The No-Cry Sleep Solution" by Elizabeth Pantley, I decided to adopt some of the techniques, i.e. having consistent bedtime/wake-up time and setting a routine to be effective on Mon.
And Tadah! hehe she auto wake up 7am every morning liao. The sleeptime still not consistent, but she has been sleeping earlier like 9pm or 9.15pm. Last night she slept at 7.45pm and was worried if she might not sleep long. She woke up 9.15pm, drank and fell asleep til 4am this morning, drink and woke up 7am.

Today, carried her to stroll at the park, she fell asleep on me and I put her in bed at 6.30pm...

mulberry,
hehe I realised I borrowed the wrong book leh.. I borrowed "The no-cry Sleep solution for toddlers and preschoolers" instead of "The No-Cry Sleep Solution" hehe...

That's why I was wondering how to even do a bedtime story for Chevelle. Cos last wk when I attempted to do it, she wld be clawing at the book instead. haha

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
haha..but nvm lah, as long as the methods work for u, that's good. our babies gonna graduate to toddler soon also :p
1yo is consider toddler already right?

oh then does this book teach how to break pacifier addiction also? is it like what i mentioned?
coz the The No-Cry Sleep Solution, her explanation is not very thorough (i feel). it's only few para on that issue.
though Jas' addiction is not so jialat already but i still can't break it completely leh.

mulberry,
I still cannot break the addiction completely either.

Where possible, I will take out. At night, if I take out, she will sleep but after a while maybe 1-2 hrs later, she will weh for it so no choice but to put it in again. After that, I'm alrdy to lala-land and think the maid also sleeping, wun take out anymore...

Ruixuan
Goodness.. that is A LOT of FBM! I think you can fight with.. Celyn (?) already! How far back do your FBM go? So for now, your bb drinks first your EBM, then if not enough, you use the FBM? Wah.. really a lot!! Hee.. power.

Krex
Hee.. same same.. I almost gagged the first time I tried my own BM!

Cat
Welcome back.. looking forward to seeing your photos! How did Bernice take to the cold weather? Shiok ah?

Timmin
Hey! Congrats!! My David also.. just yesterday sat himself up from the tummy position.. but he only did it once. No more liow.. haha..

Lack of interest in semi-solids
I'd like to ask SAM who latch their bbs on fully if you find that your bbs do not show much interest in semi-solids. I find that my David really is not enthusiastic about his food. This makes meal times difficult and even frustrating at times. He'd much rather just latch on and drink. Even when I'm eating other stuff and offer some to him, he does not even open his mouth. I don't think it's a matter of taste cos I've tried a variety of fruits and vege, and still not keen.

Really afraid that he is not getting sufficient nutrients.

Thankfully he is not underweight so for now, it is no cause for real concern.. but still I wonder why he is not interested when I see other babies so excited about their food!

Sorry.. one more thing..

Plum Sauce
Any moms who make plum sauce at home for your bb? I've tried a couple of times and while the fruit on its own is really nice and sweet, but once steamed.. it is utterly sour. I wonder why..

What other fruit sauces can I make that will help with bb's bowel movement? I've given him lots of pear sauce already but thought there should be some variety. Otherwise.. must go and stock up on GERBER's prune puree already.

wendy,
no lah. can't fight with ruixuan. she is the winner. though my chest freezer is also full liao like hers but my fridge is only half full. same, i have fbm at babysitter's place too.

valnsw,
you very cute leh just realise you got the wrong book but never mind most important is that it works.

you keep a consistent bedtime, very soon chevelle will know what time is her bedtime. i will put yu ze in his cot to bed at 8pm. he will not sleep immediately, he will crawl around, roll around before he fall asleep at don't know what time. usually by 8.30pm or 9pm, he will sleep liao. he will then wake up at 630am. even on weekends when he don't need to go babysitter's place, he will also wake up at that time. but after morning feed, he will go back to sleep till around 9+ or 10am. it had become a routinue for him liao.

vern, ruixuan and yuuri,
i don't like barney too. told hubby i will never let yu ze play with barney. eeee......

snow74,
hahah.... oh its for your #1.

<font color="#CD3278">Val</font>
Wow!! Chevelle is mummy's ger.. She is finally gotten into a routine &amp; getting restorative sleep for herself &amp; mummy too!

I hope you dun jinx yourself too.. I rem the few nights of bliss tt she slept thru. But i haven't seen those nights in a long while
She will wake abt 2x, may or may not self-settle.. *haiz*

I think I read the book too..
I think it's gd for those who can't bear to have their bb CIO

Think it must be really cute to have her fall asleep on u.. There was 1 night in Tokyo while in the bb carrier, she looked up &amp; glanced at me, and then in awhile I noticed she KO-ed.. So funny!

celyn,
ya the book also says that once the baby has established a routine, the internal biological clock will follow.

At the last section of the book, it relates to adults. It's similar for adults and babies. For eg if we adults also follow the same time to sleep and wake up for a period of time i.e. 1 wk, u will find yourself auto wake up at the same time every day, and sometimes even before the alarm clock rings. In this way, u'll find yourself more rested.

Same goes for babies. That's why they zhun zhun wake up on time, according to the book.

hisstory,
As what I mentioned to celyn above, I pretty much like the analogies in the book. So I find it gd.
Maybe it also happens that Chevelle is about to learn to sleep longer thru the night.
Ermz, I still cannot kick her pacifier habit and rocking her to bed, but still some progress w early sleep and consistent wake-up times are gd improvements alrdy.

nini,
maybe u wana get the book too. I find it's more practical leh.. Especially the things the book says sounds more reasonable. Like hving the nap around mid-day til early afternoon, so that after that let bb play until v tired so can sleep earlier. Moreover, hving the nap too late in the afternoon means by the time bb wakes up, will be refreshed thus will play more til towards night time and then sleep late lo..

Of course, this means hving to readjust the baby's biological clock first to fit the schedule and make the routine consistent.

hisstory,
Oh ya, Chevelle KOed while we walked her out for stroll.
Today she KOed on my shoulder, yday evening she KOed on my mum's shoulder.

nini,
oh yea, just to add, the book is just general guideline, but I use the principles to fit the schedule I want. For example, I usually feed bb porridge for lunch at 11am, but if need be, stretch to 12pm. I'm quite flexible abt the naps' timing, as long as she doesn't nap at 5PM, which is a NONO.

How's your eye? Hope it's getting better alrdy... hehe maybe u need to stay away fr the forum wor cos looking at PC screen is glaring.

val: congrats!!
Yeah will get the book u recommended to read also..
Actually I have no problems getting Braiden to sleep, he just need me to be around then he can sleep.. The problem is when he wake up at night, he can't self-soothe. and last night he keep groaning in his sleep.. VERY DISTURBING! i was thinking perhaps he played too much in the day? His stupid daddy like to play tiger n scare him make him scream

Re: pigeon snacks
Ahh i bought the pigeon fish snack today! How does bb eat it? Hmm.. i crushed into bits n let braiden tasted it n i dont think he liked it very much cos he gave me a disguisted l@@k! haha!

Wendy: no leh..Braiden LOVES his solids..haha..latch on ok lah not bad. I find my boy face looks FAT but his body is long but he got a tummy..

krex,
remembered ur maid uses hp to call. DOes she call back to Indonesia?
If so, do u buy her calling card or u use those m1 prepaid calling card?

RE: Cheapest calling rates to Indonesia for maids
So far, I've bought Phoenix calling card and today let the maid use cos she requested to call back last night. End up the other party never pick up. Today let her call.

Think with Phoenix calling card it's about $0.40/min. Cos the stored value is $10 and talktime is about close to 30min.
And for this calling card, usually can buy at $8 or $9 for this $10-stored value.

Now wondering if I should get M1 calling card in case this maid asks to call back.

Saw this on M1 website: http://m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e3a37cc903469db7f15a947b3f2000a0/?vgnextoid=db60e0c926182010VgnVCM100000275a160aRCRD&amp;vgnextfmt=country%3A42%3Apdate%3A0903262135
Think I wana faint at the rates for the M1 calling card.

Wondering if there are other alternatives.

Any mummy got cheap lobang?

nini,

Last night, 7.45pm she KOed on my mum's shoulder and didn't get a chance to feed her milk and chg diaper. Since slept alrdy, just let her be.

When she she woke up at 9.15pm crying, I quickly changed her diaper and feed her milk.

After her 150ml milk, I had to gently rock her to sleep and put pacifier. So shortly I pulled the pacifier out and she slept til 12+MN and weh. So quickly stuff back the pacifier and she just continue to koon til 4AM this morn. Drink milk and sleep at 4.30AM til 7AM.

basically still got cry but just gota quickly rock her to sleep.

Alrdy told maid, if Chevelle wakes up in the mid of the night, don't make milk first as she may be just fussing.

Cos on Mon early AM and Tue early AM, both times maid went to make milk but end up she just needs to be rocked to bed and will sleep liao.

Nini,
maybe u gotta let Braiden associate something with sleeping?

cos I realised now when I stuff pacifier as she is getting sleepier, she like will auto close her eyes to sleep :p Especially for naptimes wor.. Cos before nap she can be so active until u think she's not sleepy. But the moment she takes the pacifier and I start rocking her while I'm swivelling on the chair, she will start to be sleepy... haha

I think the right timing helps too, understanding your baby's sleep cues, and if too long after her last wake-up time, gd to start letting her sleep.

Wendy,

My baby is like that. I latch her fully and she doesnt seem as interested in her solids as her milk. I think she is stuck on my breast haha...her PD told me, he has encounterd many cases of babies on TBM (latched) who rejects solids!!! He told me i have no reasons to be concern till at least 1yo. FOr now just keep trying, even though they reject or are not interested. Try to make it fun too. Mabbe get someone else to feed. When my mom feeds her, she tends to take more.

Anybody knows about this Flatout Bear?

Sounds like a good chou chou leh...

But as I was surfing, seems that there is quite a difference between 2 BPs:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2267531.html?1238070730

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2289854.html?1238071487

The difference is quite alot that makes me wonder if the cheaper one is authentic.

Cos I saw one of the retailers' websites selling the Flatout Bear at AUD49.50 and the Flatout Babybear for $AUD36.

valnsw,
actually yuuri also organise a sprees on this. her stock had just arrive. the price is really a lot of different leh.

Celyn,
hur??? Yuuri got organise spree on Flatout bears?! aiyo... then must qing jiao on her.

hmm... actually if it's made of sheepskin, will it be v mao mao. That's one part that worries me, cos I think Chevelle will go chew it off...

At the SEan Lau PS, when she was on the rocking horse, she pulled the mane of the rocking horse wor...

valnsw,
you can check with her. catherine and little twin stars also order from her. hehe.... i got 1 too for myself. her price is $50.

celyn,
haha... ya i just saw under the BP closed thread.

I'm gona check with the BP organiser, cos wondering if too gd to be true.. maybe is typo error?

Yuuri,
no offence hor.. I just happened to see this Flatout bear and wonder what's the deal abt it then decide to go overseas spree section to see... hehe

Anyway, looks like Keston is enjoying the FlatoutBear lots!

Valnsw
hehehehe I tot my gal was the strange one.. she feeling sleepy earlier day by day.. tot eh ? how come ?? Then in the dawn start to move here n there, hb said mayb cos slept too early.. I tot how sud I know, tried to hold her back but she was so sleepy, no matter what we do will make her alert :p
After reading Chevelle sleep oso getting earlier, bit relief hehehe
This 2 days been going to the mall n come back late just to see can my gal sleep better in the nite. cos when we were out, she'll b too kpo checking ppl n not sleep one :p

Yuuri
actually I'm so interested with the flatout bear.. was thinking is it very furry hor ? Good for bb's nose n mouth ? My gal sure will chew oso :p if it's very ok one, want to get one oso but will support u lor.. r u having another one ?

RUixuan
yes will sure do.. now only hope my gal will guai guai take the pics tomorrow :p

Roiv
have bought the M&amp;B mag.. Allivier sure do looks so sweet hor..

<font color="#CD3278">Val</font>
heheh, so now Chevelle's a gaigai bb.. So if u need her to sleep, just walk slowly &amp; she wld doze off.

So glad things have improved so much for you.. At least she has rewired her internal clock to sleep earlier, if not no joke to stay up till so late with her for such a long time

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
How's Braiden doing with sleep training?

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
I dunno if I got this right, but I think I read tt milk is still the most impt source of nutrients for bb during his 1st year.. Just keep trying, you may hit jackpot somehow! But you may want to find out how to give David iron-rich food with his current situation..

Below are the details of the private group sign up for studio portrait session (Foto-U).

============ ========= ========= ========= =========
Mini Studio portrait package @$198.00
One hour studio session
Maximum 5 people
All captured images in CD (high resolution softcopy)
3 pieces of 8R enlargement prints.
Note:
Additional person is $10 per head
============ ========= ========= ========= =========

Minimum quota to sign up: 12 mummies
Deposit and payment term: Deposit $50.00, balance payment settle by CASH upon end of session.
Offering period: from now to 10 April 2009.
Validity of booking: 6 months upon closure of offer. (10 Oct 2009)

Mummies keen
1) Rata
2) Rata's fren
3) Yuuri

Anyone else?

Valnsw
No offence taken

I got the bears straight from the manufacturer and they stipulated that I am not allowed to sell below the recommended retail price....as for the sprees, dunno where they get from lah.

Anyway, the bear fur is not long, very dense type and I let Keston bite it, seems ok. I got one for me and 1 for him. loL!

Ling
Probably will do another BP again, but must ask the manufacturer again if I can give discount..If they agree, then I can sell at a lower price liao!