(2008/08) Aug 2008

Twin Stars
Oh dear..poor gg! and poor u too!
My fren is on yasmin, no side effects for her leh, she even raved dat it's v good..can't rem wat exactly..

re: sean lau PS
his style seems to be v similar to anne geddes..
see: http://www.annegeddes.com/Modules/extra/ecard/form.aspx?id=44&sid=1

Mulberry,
I din ask hb abt the PS..i oni informed him cos i know he wld object (like wat most men do).
He asked me why must take foto lah..v expensive lah..soo few fotos..then i told him our bb is vv cute at this stage..when she grows up, u probably won't find her cute anymore..plus she may not wanna guai guai let u take fotos..so now's the best time to do it!
hee..and dat actually got his buy-in leh..he then said it's ok to go for it, jus make sure i dun spend extra $$ buying back the rest of the fotos! :X

ruixuan
yup, i ask her 4 advise liao n m going to get everything done hopefully soon

val, ceylyn, rei
really stressed out day today. n she can be happily laughing n playing jus now!!!! arrrrrrrrrr

me can't sleep.. looking at the BP section and spree section, see got anything to buy :p

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Teng</font>
no lah, u r not kiasu. i always very scared when i put my gal on my bed and i need to go toilet for awhile. even with pillows as barrier, i scared she may push or climb over the pillows. padding the floor beside our bed is good idea.
why boil the pear ar? i thought steaming is better. (sorry if u answered this question already :p).

<font color="0000ff">rona</font>
wah 3 teeth come out one shot. that's good leh. no need to suffer so many times. my gal slow leh, still 1.

<font color="0000ff">happy mummy</font>
yeah can't let bb eat too much carrots. actually yellow skin means absorb too much vitamin A. actually we adults also not suppose to eat too much vitamin A food. got side effect but i can't remember what :p.

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
remember post pics of your shopping loots ;)

<font color="0000ff">NiNi</font>
*hugz*
whatever it is, you have done your best. Tell your hubby sleep training is not easy. if so easy, why do u think got so many many books in the market. it shows alot of parents need help in this area.
hmm..maybe CIO may not be suitable for Braiden. Maybe you wanna try Elizabeth Pantley's The No-Cry Sleep Solution? I bought the book but i didn't read finish. paiseh.
but i managed to use it's method in breaking my bb's pacifier addiction. seems to work.

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
how's yu ze? fever gone?
my Jas also got very slight fever yesterday (37.5) but before she slept, tested her, no more already. I also just gave her the 2ml panadol.

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
sayang Gg for me.
just curious, why u go shopping for cot and high chair?

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
haiz...my hubby sorta complained i spending too much on baby stuff liao. then he don't see the 'value' of photos. he say like our wedding album is collecting dust now. spent so much and we rarely take out to look at it.
how i wish i'm working and earning my own $$. then i can buy and spend on whatever i like. :p

krex I've started giving Dominic finger food since last week. So far he's had banana and toast. I cut them into 'finger' sizes and put them on a plate for him to pick up (I just borrowed a few principles from baby led weaning). I think he rather enjoys feeding himself. It can get pretty messy though.

Are you still at the pureeing stage with jonah? My HV was saying that if we gave too much smooth purees, babies may end up rejecting textured food later on. So might be a good idea to introduce lumpy food soon as it will encourage them to chew and develop their jaw muscles.

Nini maybe it's not so much the method you use but the 'tension' in the home environment that affects Braiden's sleep? Babies are very sensitive and if we're stressed they pick up our vibes. So perhaps both you and hubby need to take things easy and relax a little more.

twin stars thank goodness Gg is ok. Ha! Ha! She can win an Oscar award.

morning muumies

mulberry,
he still feel hot, haven't take temperature yet. gave him another 2ml panadol at 230am and wipe him with wet hanky to cool down his body. i let him sleep on my bed with me too. hubby keep saying that he is still having fever and wants to bring him to see doc. i repeat myself so many times that no need cos he just had fever and only took 1 dose of panadol. he needs time to recover. i told hubby, when you are sick you also don't recover immediately after 1 dose of medication right. sigh.... this man hoh, every little sickness also want to see doc.

Mrs N: Thanks for your info on your cooking :) Looks like eating fruits is no easy task for you...

Sylvia:I do not need it now.For my next trip:) Think Tokyo does not offer much of authentic onsens, must go out of Tokyo...like nearby Nagano.

Littletwin star: so scary about the vomit but luckily she`s fine now. Being mummies not easy.....we ourselves vomit also not so worried but see them vomit, aiyo...

celynlee: yes fever takes about 3 days. despite knowing this fact, when my son had fever, i kept waking up to monitor.

Today, it`s cloudy in Tokyo. We decided to go for sashimi, sushi lunch and have unagi dinner instead. We love a place known as Midori in Hibiya where queues start at 11am for lunch. Today`s a public holiday in Japan so probably there would be no office queue as Hibiya is office area pretty near to Ginza.

I see so many Japanese pumpkins, purple sweet potatoes...I wish I can buy back!! but cannot clear customs I think.

tis morning..damn suay...kena car accident..suay like mad..pui pui pui...
sent hubby off cuz he going away till monday..put kaer in bb seat...driving back to my place..n BANG!..@%*@..the car in front damn stupid ..slow down to almost stop when there was no reason!..so kena her car..kaer got a shock and cried so loudly..carried her..ok liao..but the car i knock quite bad bumper dent in,..sigh...they claiming insurance..sigh sigh..next year insurance sure very ex...hubby was nagging and nagging and nagging over the phone..say he go overseas then got this thing happen..come back still must service car..next yr insurance sure very ex..etc.sigh....damn suay man..mummies..ur must rub some good luck onto me..recently damn unlucky..

our car was ok..only a small lobang..still must service but not as bad as the one i knocked into..hubby said lucky ours is Honda..heehee..anyway..sigh..damn sian lor..later still must go collect my passport and will be going to harbourfront to check our gymboree...so depressing man..

hey morning mummies...

LTS/Celyn...take care of ur lil ones ya..hope they r alright

wah see all going for the sean lau pics..i also feel tempted
but just finished DP..maybe wait awhile more..

hey val..u guys moving in after ching ming?

valnsw,
i pm u ytd regarding sean lau's photography lei, no reply from u ah ?

snow,
beautiful pics of ur gals ..

cat,
sounds like u having great fun over in jpn wor, envy!

celynlee,
poor yuze, hope his fever will go away soon..

slyvia,
no bumps is good sign, means no injury.. where u gg from may onwards?

<font color="ff6000">mulberry</font>
care to share how u break Jas's addiction to pacifier? I'm also attempting to do that. Sometimes ok, most of the time cannot.

Cos Chevelle needs pacifier to sleep. Only some times when I pluck it out, she still guai guai sleep. Else most of the time, I pluck it out, she will make noise and I have to stuff it back.

<font color="ff6000">megan</font>
When's Qing Ming? I most prob shift in early May.

<font color="ff6000">YLN</font>
Oh dear, gd to hear Kaer is ok. Most important is baby is fine. Ya, the car insurance premium will most prob go up and you will lose your no claim discount I suppose.

Thks for scouting out the Gymboree at Harborfront.

BTW, I think there is no more Gymboree at Parkway right? Cos I called the number listed on the international website and end up the number is no longer in use.

<font color="ff6000">interrace</font>
I received email from somebody but it's not a PM.

Anyway, have just PMed you liao. Pls check!

Good Morning Mommies!

Happy Mummy,
Dun give yellow vegetables like pumpkin, sweet potatoes and carrot too often as it really will make bb skin yellowish?happen to my hb?s cousin son lor?

Nini,
Hope Braiden will saying mommy and make things easier for you soon. Cheer up!

Celyn,
Is Yu Ze ok liao?

Twin Stars,
Is GG better? I read before, after fall, only the symptoms for the next 24 hours are due to the fall so since passed 24 hours liao, should not be because of the fall?hope it is just the gas/wind in tummy.

Mulberry,
Hehe, I do take out my wedding pics to see and show to my #1 at times leh?

Earnestmum &amp; cat,
Enjoy your holidays!

YLN,
Luckily you and Kaer are ok?that?s most important!

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Thanks for the encouragement! Was talking to hb abt it last night (he's out of town) he did mention a valid point, these couple of nights we're putting up at my parents, so Ashley may not be used to it. He also said, for this 1 mth, she has been sleeping in diff envts, so maybe so jialat lor

When we first started her, she got the hang of it quickly.. Hope she resumes to what it was in the past.. I cannto tahan the crying, feel like crying also

Ur hb is super duper patient.. And Jonah still willign to be swaddled ah? Need alot of strength to keep the blanket in place?

<font color="#CD3278">twin stars</font>
Gdness!! Hope u managed to rest well at night.. Eh u, already so gan jiong can still go bb kingdom &amp; hypermart ah?

<font color="#CD3278">mulberry</font>
heheh, so any gd finds at 230am??

Was trying to pat Ashley back to sleep *sian*

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Oh dear.. Hope Kaer's okie &amp; mummy recovers fr the whole incident. Aiyah, sometimes there are really such irritating drivers who duno where they are going or distracted by god knows what &amp; cause accidents.. I hate lane hoggers, if looks cld kill, i think they wld have been dead.. hahah

interrace,

U email me at [email protected] from your office email?

Then I send u the details. Cos the deposit payment is by today $50 deposit.
Ermz, the package what it consists of, I forgot liao... I think there was the details somewhere, Cat posted what she got in her package.

Email me soon, cos I will be going out in 30mins time

Little twin star

Aiyo, gg really gave you a hard time.... if you're saying that her tummy is bloated, try burping her. I normally will give my gals Woodward Gripe water if the tummy is too bloated. They will burp out loud or fart after taking it..den go back to sleep instantly.. heheh..

Cheril giving me problem again.. aiyo, she dun want to drink again.. So far in 24 hrs, she just took about 300 ml plus of fluid in total... haizzz... so worry that she may dehydrate.. Look like I better get a bottle paedialyte in case..

Ruixuan

wah! your hubby so sweet....mine just got so stressed up...I see also heartpain..

Mulberry

You can steam if you want, just need to skin n cut into small chunk before steaming. Me just lazy, boil first den skin n cut, softer to cut also ...

Interrace,

Based on what Catherine mentioned in her post for the Sean Lau PS, here's what the package should be:

"val,
i bought all the pics back for $250. package is $180. but that is the BP price. original price is $238. consist of
- 2hrs photography
- 5 X 5R
- 1 X 7R with framing
- selected pics back
normally to buy back i think is $300. "

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/2217834.html?1236154142

Honestly, I was gian after seeing Bernice's photos. hehe I didn't care so much about what the package has.

But some mummies here say the Dphoto studio package is more value for $.

earnestmum

ya. Tokyo is not known for hot spring.

Good ones are at Beppu, Oita ( one of the most famous to have the biggest and widest range). They call it hell of hot spring. Hahahaha!!

Takayama, Nagano, Wakayama, Hokkaido, Iwate, Hakone, Atami, Osaki, Naruko,etc are also famous.

So depending where you are at and which season.

URGENT : CONTACT FOR MAID AGENCY
Bad bad news. My maid smsed to say her passport now got problem and ahve to wait another month!
I really cannot wait anymore ... dunno she playing games or what .... anyway, too bad for her if she is really so problematic. I waited 1 month liao, dun thikn i can afford another month?

That's it! i am officially looking for a new maid. I was too happy too soon .... *sigh.

I remember one mommy here posted on maids from dunno which country and says quite good rite?

Anyone knows which mommy posted ah? i wan to get the agency tel leh.

Me going to the agencies to interview maids on Sunday. Hopefully can get one ... and hopefully not too toot, not too dishonest, most importantly, not too much problems.

tigg3r
i did burp her, she burp n puke milk at the same time/ today i forgot to cut her milk, maid put her in rocker n she never puke. 2hrs later i tot shld b ok liao n took her out to play n she puke some milk, not as much as yesterday. her tummy looks very big to me even 3hrs after milk lei. as a result she doesn't wanna sleep...this morn never nap aince 7:30am. i took 30-45min to settle her n she is napping now. wen i greeted her this morn, she got a huge shock n jumped. yesterday also like tt. dunno is it she saw me threw temper this 2 days n got frightened by me

oh dear cheryl really drinking too little. use spoon to force feed?
wat did pd say?

hisstory
maid took care of gg last nt cos i was really not feeling well liao. hubby also very tired frm whole day of driving. hubby took leave yesterday so no choice need to check things out first lor

m2b,mrs N, meagan,earnestmum
thanks for the concern,
i thot it is 2 days after the fall then symptoms will show cos takes time unless severe than within 24 hrs. think first time mummmy blur blur n alot of pp ask me to jus send her in to check, even salesman, so i jus go with the flow lor hee. mayb all 2nd time mummies must b thinking i am too gan jiong to do that . u guys must b more cool then me

mul
cot is to put in my rm so i can take out the panel at one side to be co-sleeper n it;ll b easier for me or hubby to pad her back to sleep shld she wake up in the middle of the night. cousin told me bb's will b cranky until all their tooth come out. so guess it is sleepless nights 4 us till...........plus gg always "sleep stunt" she will practice watever she learn in her sleep. example now is the sitting phase so she often wake up n sit in a corner with eyes close n "eheh"

high chair: i feed her in a rocker. think not so -gd.i have the fisher price feeding chair tat is meant 4 fl or chair but no shoulder harness. gg moves toooooooooo much swimming all over the place. i am thinking of getting a 2nd stroller. this time buy combi. got one $198 n looks gd but cannot recline n cannot face us so hubby say y not buy miracle turn but no pink col lei. so mayb get purple?

Crying every 2 hours for milk yet not finishing his every feed.

These 2 days, after my MIL came and took care of Kai for 2 days ... he had been crying for food every 2 hourly and yet he dun finish the milk each time. Dunno what happened to him.

So far, for the last 7 months, he never ever leave any precious milk behind ok .... so dunno why after 2 days, he become like tat.

keep waking up for milk and dun finish it. Why ah? any babies went through that stage before?

re: any mommies working in HR?

dun understand why coys now like to baragain for salary even before meeting up the candidate. izzit the agency or coy issue? any mommy can comment?

shint,
My gal also reduce intake. But also cos she's having 3 main meals a day liao.
Nowadays she doesn't like to drink milk and not so much from the bottle.

So sometimes when she doesn't finish her usual 120ml, I will pour the remaining and mix with cereal and spoonfeed her. Like that, she will take the milk.

Guess she's slowly growing up liao.

Ya, now that I recall, melmal mentioned maids from Nepal are gd.

Little twin stars,
Ya the transition period to teeth coming out is really terrible, can hv panda eyes one...

interrace,
Me back from going out. But still not yet received your email query on Sean Lau PS.

Sam,
i think it's the agency .. cos the coy would have a budget set and leave to the agencies to source for candidates .... so the agency might try to squeeze u before they send your biodata out to the company.

If not within the budget, your CV will remain with the agency and never see light. Best is to apply direct with any company. Going thru any agency means that they are in control of your CV and it may never reach the company even though the agency tell u they had sent it.

valnsw,
on Nepal .. where to find the agencies which is handling them ah?

I went to Nepal before and they speak good English. Vv simple and nice people. Hardworking women there cos the men will work in the guesthouse and leave the women to plough the fields and do the hard and tough work.

Shint,
I think Melmal12 said that the maid is from east india or something like that right? got to telephany her to come online soon!

Kai - is he gassy? or distracted by something so cannot finish the milk? or else you drag his feed to 2.5 hours slowly slowly bring back to 3 hours then he can finish his milk? previously its every 3 hours then he can finish his milk right?

Shint,
Nepalnese are not christian, they are buddhist... Yes, they are simple and nice people. so you have to train the woman working here as a maid. but i don't know if there are any maids from nepal. if you can find one, let me know. my maid will be going back in sept (maybe) and when that happens, i want to get one from nepal. Too bad about your current maid though.

YLN,
Sorry to learn about your accident? Hope you and kaer are recovering from the shocks of it. aiyah, i think you after this one will have good luck already lah, its 破钱消灾! wish you smooth sailing from now onwards.

And thanks so much for checking out the venus!

Sylvia,
wow, you mean back to back? how? want a nanny for meredith or not? i volunteer myself... which part of japan you will be in?

Shint,

haha, i heng heng agar agar found back the archived thread:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/2247070.html?1236912941

Here's what Melmal posted:

"Maids:
Just wanted to share with u guys...i got my maid from north east india - they look like chinese/nepalese speak english -mostly educated up to sec..99% christians. My maid so far is good - she has no exp prior to working at my place but learnt very quickly as she is quite intelligent. The most important thing is we have to teach from A to Z - and give them time to adapt and learn. My maid writes down recipes as i tell her - and cooks on her own. I am also happy with her as she sings christian songs to my baby and takes her to the altar every morning - infact she can play the guitar too! Of course she makes mistakes too..but i take it lightly and reprimand instead of showing the "red-face"..makes her try harder and not so demotivated la - I've had other friends who took maid from same region and they all express satisfactory - so if you guys are looking for one - try them."

But if you need the contact, guess u have to wait for her to PM you.

I am organising another Aquaducks Baby Swimming Trial. Anyone interested please continue the list and I will try to get the Trial class for everyone. Please note that one class only for 5-6 babies and if response is good then it might be 2 classes at difference timing (maybe continue from one to another). This round's class will be at Buona Vista heated pool, weekend in early-mid May 09.

Aquaducks baby swimming trial - Free
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please indicate your name, baby's name and DOB:-

Date : early / mid May (weekend)
Time : TBC (for half an hour)

#1: cocomo - Shervalle Gow 04/08/08
#2: Linx - Nandini Raman 06/08/08
#3: msapple - aisleyne loh 15/08/08
#4: timminbuzz - Ethan Loke 12/08/08
#5:
#6:
#7:
#8:
#9:
#10:
#11:
#12:

Waitlist:
#1: snow74 - zynn wu 8/08/08
#2: sylvia - Meredith Pey 28/08/08
#3: missysz - Jonas oon 23/07/08
#4:
#5:
#6:

Snow/Sylvia/Missysz,
You gals went for the last round trial liao so think it is fair to let other babies try out. If there is any slot at the end then I add you gals in ok ma?

Sam,
What happened? U looking for new job?
Ya, as what shint says best to apply to direct companies and then you nego w them direct. Then you're in better control.

Cos usually those agencies will hv a budget.

Just to share, I think there are some agencies that are not professional, especially Recruit Express. Cos they bloody charge some introductory fee on the candidate if successfully placed. I mean WTF is the reasoning for this? Shouldn't all these be charged to the employing company?

That is why, up til now, I still remember this clause of theirs. Prefer not to deal with them. More professional agencies would be Michael Page, Hudsons etc... those more angmo sounding agencies.

#2: missysz - Jonas oon 23/07/08
#3: timminbuzz - Ethan Loke 12/08/08
#4: msapple - aisleyne loh 15/08/08
#5: sylvia - Meredith Pey 28/08/08
#6: Linx - Nandini Raman 06/08/08
#7: Rona - Jerold 24/08/08

Cocomo,

#7: M2B - Maegan Eu (29/07/08)

I am organising another Aquaducks Baby Swimming Trial. Anyone interested please continue the list and I will try to get the Trial class for everyone. Please note that one class only for 5-6 babies and if response is good then it might be 2 classes at difference timing (maybe continue from one to another). This round's class will be at Buona Vista heated pool, weekend in early-mid May 09.

#5: Rona - Jerold 24/08/08
#6: M2B - Maegan Eu (29/07/08)
#7:
#8:
#9:
#10:
#11:
#12:

Waitlist:
#4:
#5:
#6:

Snow/Sylvia/Missysz,
You gals went for the last round trial liao so think it is fair to let other babies try out. If there is any slot at the end then I add you gals in ok ma?

Cocomo,

#7: Rona - Jerold 24/08/08
#8: M2B - Maegan Eu (29/07/08)
#9: blue_aurora - Reagan Yeo (25/07/08)

*Cocomo, I dun log in often, pls PM when the date is confirmed. Thanks!

#7: blue_aurora - Reagan Yeo (25/07/08)
#8:
#9:
#10:
#11:
#12:

Waitlist:
#4:
#5:
#6:

Little Twin Star

I suggest you better give Gripe water to GG.. that would help in expelling the gas.. My younger gal also like that, if dun burp after awhile burp will sure throw up a little milk.. When u said vomit, did you mean the merlion type or those that come out by the side of the mouth? If it's the second type, it may be bcos she having indigestion or regurgitation. Try to burp her half way thru the feed, that would help..

For Cheril, I try all method liao.. all cannot.. Syringe also didn't work.. Jialat..last time it happened, stil can latch.. Now how to latch... no more liao..

Just now also dun want porridge.. so I instructed my maid to give her half the amount of milk every 2 hrs.. at least make her drink 50ml per feed also better den none..

#8: Dongle - Cayla Foo (20/07/08)
#9:
#10:
#11:
#12:

Waitlist:
#4:
#5:
#6:

Nini,
Maybe bedtime at 8pm is too early for Baiden? The last time I put my son to sleep at 8pm, he'd woke us all up at 4.30am. So now, wat I do is:

5.30pm : Dinner (Porridge)
6.30pm : Bath
7pm : Nap (usually only 0.5 - 1 hr so we can eat)
9 - 9.30pm : Bed-time

This way, he'd sleep till 7am.
In between, I'd give him 200ml fm at 9pm and 1am. No hard and fast rule, so you can adjust according to Braiden's needs and yours loh.

Little Twin Stars,
"Sayang GG!" Guess you can only monitor her and be more careful next time loh.. Had a bad time too last time my son fell... *Hugs*

My gal sleeps ard 8.30 at night since baby, auto. She wakes up ard 7 in the morning.

0930: bath
1000: porridge
nap (0.5 hr)
1230: milk
1500: porridge
1700: bath
1800: milk
2030: milk > slp
0000: milk
0300: milk

Try to make them learn to adapt a fixed daily activitit schedule, like tt you can be less tiring oso.

mousse
me monitoring her now. so far only puked alittle jus now cos she toss n turn but still it is 2hrs after milk. i forgot to cut down la

tigg3r
u r right. i jus gave her gripe water. now she started farting to expel air. her puke yesterday was alittle bit like merlion. not those "er nai" type. tt;s y i sacred but i noticed her tummy looks bloated...although she is plump, bloat got diff la. hehe

latching:
tell u a joke. yesterday while i let gg poll on my bed, i layed down to relax n sudd she crawl on top of me n bite my left breast!!! then push herself up to feel the other breast n went to bite my right breast!!!! i told her mummy dry up liao, hahahahha

/b{val}
ya lor. now will b trasition till they r one yr plus wo

valnsw,
just emailed u..pai sey was in meeting earlier.

sylvia,
so good..can go work in jpn..tot u not working ? found job so fast ah ?

re : job agencies.
i noe recruit express and the fee..also kenna once and ever since dun send to them liao.those ang mo name recruitment co like looking for managers and abv positions one lei ..

i want to take part in the aqua duck also ..tks cocomo..