(2008/08) Aug 2008

morning mummies.

Ya i hope bernice is really calling me and not just practising the M syllabus. not meal time so doubt she calling mum mum..haha

my hb very in denial. he said bf babies are very close to mummies. he said bernice is close to my breast not to me. if he able to bf she would be close to him too. hahaha

cat, your gal is such a darling! last week, my boy also starting calling "ummm mama"...so thrilled! hubby was v jealous of coz, kept teaching him "pa pa" since then. :p

celynlee
how do u cook the grains? just cook like normal rice? do u still add white normal rice or just give this grains?

missysz,
my babysitter had grind the grains for me. so i just cook them like normal rice. but need to constant stir it or will stick together. i only give the grains cos there are rice inside there liao so i never add additional rice. i bought a pack yesterday and was reading what kind of grains it has, only remember some like brown rice, barley, pearl rice, oat, etc.

Good morning all!

Looks like yesterday was 'cranky' day for some babies including mine. Oh well just one of those days we'll have to grin and hope that today will be a better one.

See a few babies have graduated to using sippy cups. I've also started training to use a cup when I started D on solids. My SIL got him a sippy cup for Christmas but it had a hard sprout and he had difficulty drinking from it. I've since got him another cup which has a free-flowing sprout. Read somewhere that valved cups are not recommended as they encourage longer drinking times and not good for their teeth.

Msapple we have the same wedding anniversary! Mine's also 8 Oct 05.

Krex still can go for gathering even if you fast and abstain. Just eat less than usual. But yah will be hard to resist temptation. Hee! Hee! Funny how one always tend to feel hungrier on Ash Wed and Gd Fri, and other days no problems with skipping meals.

catherine,
i see..ur potato really purple on the inside.
my is only purple skinned, inside is yellow like potato...ur pot is wmf ? I also got the same one..

so meaning book tour after april will be cheaper ?
njoy ur japan trip hor..am sure u are excited ...bernice can use her new trunki..

chin,
nvm, will wait for ur creation when u get a boy for no.2 k..

re : baby milestones
aug babies happening hor...having such cute moves as the day goes by..
so happy to hear and see baby seating upright on their own, calling mama and crawling... my son still dun do all these...just have to be patient and wait for his actions. these days he only noe how to whine and cry and kick in protest.

morning ladies. =)
wonder what happen to our aug bb bday bash discussion when to...hmm...still onz anot?

samantha
10yrs is enough for a couple to be out of topic liao lor...hee hee....
lucky we hit our planned time to give birth, else really every evening go home watch our own tv programme nia.
at least now we can discuss abit about our gals, and share on things happen in his workplace.

celyn
ha ha....think that is why some of my friends can get married more than once bah. =D
dun dare to think "rest of my life", i'm some1 who dun really positive in believing tian chang di jiu. =P

*faint* bb born on 15th aug also can sit up liao ah?
my zynn still wanna act like jelly fish. -_-"

valnsw
okie, thx.
rom = Mar'99
customary = Jan'01

shint
ur kids where got smelly old lah....they looks cute ah.

congrats Roiv

so many posts
just came back from Macau it was quite fun went with my neighbours...we crossed over to zhuhai..where we had a big feast - from lobster to abalone to big prawns to scallops to steam fish to geo duck...whatever for SGD300, my friends were saying its a 4digit meal in Singapore..wah....

i also feel very drain...sigh...too many things happen...to think tt I am shifting into new house on 23rd march, we havent even pack or get keys hahaa....

Interrace/Snow74,

my YUMIN borned on 6Aug aso can't sit, can't unflip, can't call MAMA & bo gei STILL... so its OK lah... haha

megan
welcome bk, must have enjoy urself really much ya? =)
seafood wor, see ur description liao also feel like eating....hee hee....

samantha
hee hee....they belongs to the jellyfish club ya?
cos my #1 althought cannot flip and crawl, but was sitting steadily since 5th mth lor.
so, i really dunno how long zynn wanna laze around. =P

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
Braiden's so clever.. Can drink milk fr the cup liao!
Am going to start Ashley on bottle training when we return fr Japan.. *cross fingers &amp; toes* she agrees with it or may have to try sippy cup liao

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
heheh.. I also hate them, esp since there are no reasons for them to be ard since my food is mainly in the fridge..

<font color="#CD3278">Brie</font>
U're absolutely right.. Hb's appreciation &amp; acknowledgement tt taking care of bb is no easy task really helps us get going!! *jiayou*

Sometimes if u can't take it, put him in another room &amp; close the door yah? Then when u've calmed down after awhile (rem to get a gd drink &amp; food), am sure u wld be refreshed to handle him agn

<font color="#CD3278">Shint</font>
Well done, in the pram! So cute!! Yah lor, must be multitasker.. It's madness at time

Yah lor, not tt i want to be kiasu.. But i heard the CC i want may also have a queue &amp; my colleague was put on wait list.. Eeeks!

Lunch: Usually soup-based.. Instant noodles, mee sua, yee mee, bee hoon... hahah! Throw everything in &amp; cooks quickly &amp; not messy to clean up

Snow,

Yumin more like slimey worm... even when sleeping will wriggle here &amp; there... hee

any babies still throw up milk after feeding/burping?

snow
can u find the list where mummies put down their choice , whether to opt for gymboree or not? i find very long..still cannot find leh...

BB 1st Bday Bash

i read that some mummies have suggestions of getting party organisers who specialise in bb parties..but means will have to enquire. I believe most will be pretty much the same..activities for bbs..so my question is , anyone who has personal experience with how these organizers manage and organise the parties? otherwise, i will be simply emailing them and probably be getting similar responses, i.e. activities for bbs..

that's y i personally feel that gymboree is prob the best as they have the place and facilities for our bbs...

mrs n,

haha, haven't been fasting or abstaining since i gave birth. now everyday eat at in laws' place so i just eat whatever's on the table. moreover, i'm very hungry cos BF so fasting is nearly impossible for me!

celyn,

has yu ze used the spouts yet? any gd? are u referring to si shen mi? i saw it the other day and dunno whether to buy or not. is it something like cereal or porridge? i hope to intro porridege meal to jonah by end of the mth.

Hah..found it..

<font color="0000ff">BBs 1st Bday Bash</font>

1) Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
- Linx
- Valnsw
- Sylvia
- fitbaby
- celynlee
- dongle
- aurora
- wendy

yln
thx....pai seh, was browsing jobsdb just now. =P

for party organiser, mostly will be hired by those having private party in condo, hotel, or club function rm.
these party organiser cater for diff theme, like sesame street or barney.
they bring along with them stuffs like colourful balls and bubble guns to sing, dance, and play games with the kids.
normally is 1hr, depending on package.

gymboree in harbourfront is more open, my gym (gracekids) in great world city is more private.
both are bb gym, running similar party celebration programme. =)

hope above info helps.

Snow,
Don’t worry, me also very old… probably the oldest here!

Babyemma,
Hey, your pregnancy story is very funny! Should sell the idea to people who write scripts! At least its unusual and jovial and original.

Cat,
REALLY? You mean the airport tax will come down after Apr 2? What happens if I’ve already booked my tix to go on 30 apr? Do I get a refund for the airport tax? My parents going to China also on 12 april with Chan Bros, the trip is about $2000 each leh, if the airport tax revised downwards, can we get a refund on the airport taxes? Could you help to check with your cousin? Thanks!!

Brie,
When things didn’t go your way, don’t worry! Cos when everything is down, it can only go UP next! Keep the chin up and keep going! Jia You!

Good Morning Mommies!
Yday on leave and so many postings to catch up!

Roiv,
Congrats to Alliver in wiining the Cover Baby contest! Will support her by buying next mth mag.

Catherine,
Congrats on Bernice calling "mama".

Brie,
You ok now? Dun think too much ok? I kena abit of PND when I had #1 too.

Valnsw,
Me ROM May 01 and Customary Jan 03.
Sound like ages ago...

Msapple,
You were talking abt cooking and weaning classes?

snow
i was looking at the website...can the party be extended? cuz it says in the website its for 2 hours..but some mummies may want to hang around after the party , will the gym allow the kids and parents to still hang around?

Gymboree said their party is 4pm onwards...after the party, mummies and bbs can stay to chit chat and play still..so time not so restrictive..

BBs 1st Bday Bash

1) Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
- Linx
- Valnsw
- Sylvia
- fitbaby
- celynlee
- dongle
- aurora
- wendy
- catherine

yln
hmm...that will depend on how long u gals wanna stay on, and whether if anybody book the place after us.
cos they go by time slot, so gotta chk with them before we book.

mommies who pump more than 10 mins, when do u get 2nd letdown? do u pump continuously till u get 2nd letdown or take a break for x mins then pump again?

Catherine,
tell ur hb, if he carries bernice when she cries, she will be close to him! haha..
Char will oni call 'mama' when she's crying/unhappy..
and hor, i tink she knows dat i'm 'mama' leh..cos whenever hb asked her, 'where's mama?' she'll turn her head and look at me. we tested her a few times le and it works!
but when it comes to 'daddy', she will look everywhere else except my hb...ehhehe..

Took some time to catch up all the posts.

Here's the updated table:

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>Customary </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celyn</TD><TD>Mar-07</TD><TD>Jun-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huichin</TD><TD>Jun-07</TD><TD>Jun-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Valnsw</TD><TD>May-07</TD><TD>Jul-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nini</TD><TD>May-07</TD><TD>Nov-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shirley</TD><TD></TD><TD>Sep-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy_mummy</TD><TD></TD><TD>Nov-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Samantha</TD><TD>Jul-07</TD><TD>Mar-08 </TD></TR><TR><TD>msapple</TD><TD>8-Sep-03</TD><TD>8-Oct-05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>hisstory</TD><TD>Sep-05</TD><TD>Sep-05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_emma</TD><TD>Sep-07</TD><TD>Sep-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wendy</TD><TD>Apr-05</TD><TD>Apr-05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ruixuan</TD><TD>Jul-06</TD><TD>Sep-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sylvia</TD><TD>Mar-03</TD><TD>Jul-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>shay</TD><TD>Jun-05</TD><TD>Nov-05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>April</TD><TD>1-Nov-04</TD><TD>23-Dec-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>hashishan</TD><TD>Dec-02</TD><TD>15-Feb-03 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs N</TD><TD></TD><TD>8-Oct-05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>snow</TD><TD>Mar-99</TD><TD>Jan-01 </TD></TR><TR><TD>M2B</TD><TD>May-01</TD><TD>Jan-03</td></tr></table>

Some I duno the exact dates, so I just put the mth and yr.

M2B / snow,
Time flies by, for me now, every day w bb is precious. And soon 5 more mths, bb will be 1 yr old!

Wendy
My heart for u.... Mayb u need to check more thoroughly cos bb fuss n want to b held when they feel uncomfy.. apply some oil on the stomach mayb..
Hopefully he'll b fine soon else mummy wont hv much strength left..

MSApple
my bb's cradle cap all gone liao... think even on 3rd mo or so... r u still ? I just need to wait bb hair grows back like when she's newborn.. that time her hair is thick n black, now soft n little..

Mommies
wanna ask, where u guys buy the fruits for bb ? like the apple ( couldnt find rose apple on NTUC :p ) or avocado etc... Me confused here :p TIA

re: japanese sweet potatoes
Ohh, they are realli yummy!
the thing is..after i steamed it, i left it in the steamer for a while and it actually turned dark brown!
can it still be given to bb?

giraffe,
how you know i want to lose weight? yeh lor, i still have this big belly on me and when i stand, still cannot see my toes properly. very sad... i'm still trying to go back to my old weight, but its so difficult! maybe old already so even harder to go back...

Nini,
your cousin is a tour guide in japan? wow she must be very good in her japanese! I must tell you, if she ever go to Takayama region, you can ask her to buy the ramen for you - Hida Ramen from the Ramen House. The Ramen is very very good! We bought a whole box - 10packs x 5serves!

Ceyln,
How long do you keep your frozen milk? what do you do when they run out of date?

shay,
Thks for remembering the ID, I think my hb alrdy decided the contractor liao.

Cat,
Bernice can call mama!! She's a mummy's gal

My Chevelle's a daddy's girl
She said "Ah Da" repeatedly many times. Haiz...

celyn,
The multigrains, need to grind ah? I thought can just cook like norm rice. hehe

reirei,

Not bad leh, Char still can respond to mama. Haiz.. Chevelle only says "Om ma" when she's agitated while drinking milk, when I'm stuffing the teat into her mouth as she is fidgeting -_-""

Snow74,
if you count from ROM date, then i'm later then you, if you count from Customary date, then I'm longer then yours... heheheee... my rom and customary date same day, cos very lazy to have 2 days to remember and 2 days to prepare so all on Sept 2000 **tum tum**!

wow, some babies can call mama already! very advance leh! mine still doing all the eh eh eh... heheheee... and still flip and unflipping and cannot sit by himself yet... baby jerold is slow... aiyoh...

All the july 07 brides all very productive hor! We have no protection and nothing happens. and then after that we tried very hard for a year and still no news. then we gave up trying and got preggy in 2003... very siong. i remembered crying everytime i have my mens when we were trying. lucky everything turns out well and i didn't need to go for IVF. I also lost one baby after the #1... else maybe i have 4 kids liao! **shudder**

nini,
U mean should wean baby off the milk bottle at 1 yr old? I thought after 1 yr old, still need to drink milk, so I thought still need to use milk bottle?

Which brand did u get for the sippy cup?

timmin,
U got the Nuby one right? How's the spout? soft or hard?
I got the Tollyjoy one and she doesn't seem to take to it.

snow
hmm..ic ...maybe then we stick to gymboree? cuz since most mummies are familar with gymboree and time-wise quite flexible..

if mummies have no violent objections, we will stick to Gymboree. Once i accumlate 20 names, i will call them and book. We have to book early cuz the last time i called, they said there are pple who already booked for June already..

<font color="0000ff">BB 1st Bday Bash</font>
Date: 22nd(sat)or 23rd August(sun) 2009
Time : 4pm - 7pm
Place: Gymboree Harbourfront

Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
- Linx
- Valnsw
- Sylvia
- fitbaby
- celynlee
- dongle
- aurora
- wendy
- catherine

BB 1st Bday Bash

Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
- Linx
- Valnsw
- Sylvia
- fitbaby
- celynlee
- dongle
- aurora
- wendy
- catherine
- april

rona
hee hee....ya, think we almost the same lah.

yln
remember some of us might come with toddler also. =P
most likely its very difficult to stop the toddler from joining in the fun lor, unless u gals wanna keep it strictly for the bb lah.
so this date is fixed? cos i remember some1 mentioned about national day....

Catherine, Bernice is soooo cute la! Seeing her calling u Mamamama...hahaa...duno when's my turn man. Haha

Nini, Braiden is so smart! Hehehe...Good job!

yln
think we set a dateline, if no 1 object anything by today 4pm then we go ahead to book as per u written ya?
just a suggestion lah, incase some of them haven log in yet. =P
thx for ur effort.

valnsw,
after 1yr old, still need to drink milk, but can start to drink from cup, no need bottle. But hor, my #2, 3yr old soon, still taking from bottle... hehehee... more convenient lor

Val &amp; Snow,
Yap, time flies...I can't believe my 1st bb is already 5yo too and Mae is turning 1 this Jul...

Rona &amp; Celyn,
Same here, I lost 1 baby before Mae too
so I really treasure both my gals now.

YLN,
Thanks for coordinating.

BB 1st Bday Bash

Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
- Linx
- Valnsw
- Sylvia
- fitbaby
- celynlee
- dongle
- aurora
- wendy
- catherine
- M2B (ok if Sat, thanks!)

snow
ya..thats y i prefer gymboree cuz they charge extra kids at $15 per head...so, anyone with toddlers can bring...its $370 for 10 children , and $15 for extra kid..

BB 1st Bday Bash

Gymboree Gym Party
1)YLN (sat and sun , both ok)
2)snow74
3)Linx
4)Valnsw
5)Sylvia
6)fitbaby
7)celynlee
8)dongle
9)aurora
10)wendy
11)catherine
12)M2B (ok if Sat, thanks!)

Will book latest by tomorrow. Cuz even if we have more, they can still accomodate(since we already hit 10 liao)

ReiRei,
Hi 5! Mae oso know when we asked her "Where is jiejie (#1)?", "Where is kor koe (nephew)?" and "Where is mommy?"...she will turn to the right person.

Good morning mummies

Goodness this thread is moving so fast!

Catherine
Thanks for the tip. Where can I get the organic pumpkin? Supermarket have? Will try it out again for her.

Msapple
Heh, thanks for the advice. No la we are all here to learn so its good to share : ))

Valnsw
Me rom and customary in Dec 04.
#1 came in Nov 06... #2 came in Aug 08.....
Break break... no plans for # 3 at the moment else i will peng san.....

Krex78
I always pump till about 15 mins then the second let down will come again.

YLN,

hehe for fun I went to do search for gymboree, realised dun hv website for the local Gymboree here.

Anyway found some interesting feedback: http://www.singaporeexpats.com/forum/ftopic49611.html

Seem like the harborfront one like not v gd feedback. Is that the only outlet that can do parties and for our bb bash, will there be one or 2 teachers to engage our kids in the activity?

krex
ethan couldn't drink from the avent spout. haven't mastered the art. so i changed to nuby. and he was able to drink immediately! cos he rejects the bottle, i wanna move him to cup...so nuby is better for him. the avent spout can't use for milk. so thot i just use 1 cup.