(2008/08) Aug 2008

Mrs Teng,
Your girls don't look premmie at all!! They are gorgeous
Must give yourself a pat on the back.

LTS,
*hugs* I understand how it feels. My girl did that for about a week. Nearly died... Could be teething or a growth sprout. Hang in there. DId you try banana or papaya? My girl pooed 7times after taking banana. Heard that spinache is good fibre too.

Jen,
Is that Phil? SO handsome why lelong!!!

Jen,
Phil handsome leh. He looks mature oso ... like big boy liao.

Babycare Fest - i din go today cos hubby last min asks me to go tomorrow. Living with a hubby of mine, have to be super super flexible and adapt to changes super super fast cos he changes his mind like lightning speed. Sometimes even the maid oso wonder why this sir keep changing his mind.

Anyway, seems like the feedback is not too good so i may not even bother to go tomorrow. Prob going to changi airport to walk walk -- then again, plans may change again... hahha.

Well, at least i got to replace my driving license and can start going for my refresher course liao.

Those who just started feeding cereal, how much u all giving ah?
I gave Kai 3 teaspoon yesterday 1 time and today oso 3 teaspoon, he still can finish his 180ml - 200ml of milk leh. So should i increase?

Now like after starting cereal, his 200ml of milk seems insufficient, he'll cry after milk.

Btw, he's officially 10kg ... really heavy weight and my bones are breaking.

hisstory
no probs! will prob use them too for next batch. i don't tink i'll redevelop for now. maybe in the future when i feel richer. haha. now like waste $.

krex
is that a lot??? i didn't replace any feeds leh. i always feed solids after a FULL milk feed! and he still eats that much! and i tink he can eat more. he emptied the bowls today and still opening his mouth.

wendy
wah seh! kinky sia!

Shint,
Wa... Kai is heavy. I think u can increase bit by bit. Normally I will give milk first, then 20-30min later give cereal. Cos dowan her to hv the idea that cereal is the main meal. Milk is still her main food.

Depends on Kai. For Chevelle, initially she was v keen on the cereal and then suddenly she no interest but still feed her.

Since yday, she has to watch Baby Einstein on the giant TV screen while she's in her high chair and then either maid or me feed her. She will purse her lips up one. Then the cereal gotta be watery then she can slurp in. Seems she more interested in watching the TV than eating.

RE: Babycare fest
For those driving, it's horrendous, I think tmrw even worse cos wkend. When I got into carpark, alrdy v crowded plus pple illegal park. Then when I come out, they sealed the road entering the carpark w barricades.

If tmrw driving, if cannot park inside, then u illegal park near the roads behind the Expo halls, think many ppl will do that.

littletwinstars: i gave my boy potato+brocoli puree, the next day he poo 4-5 times.. The poo looks "healthy". maybe u wanna try give her some potato puree?

i dont dare to give too much brocoli,carrots,spinach cos i read they contains nitrates..

Shint: wahseh..Kai is really big size leh..like 1yr old's weight! :p Braiden only 8.5kg..lose lah.hahah Anyways i give Braiden latch-on then half an hour later i give him like e.g. cereal (4 tablespoon cereal + some FM mix inside).. If they full liao they will auto reject one.

reirei,

Sayang Char! Must be v heartpain to hear her cough.

Chevelle kena the cough/phlegm thing twice when she was 3/4mths old.

U said Char got phlegm? Isit fr sore throat or blocked nose?

If it's the latter, i suppose the doc gave u some saline drops for her nostrils? then once the mucus is wet, can suck out using the Pigeon suction pump. But I wld think her condition will take 1wk or so to clear. That's how long it took for Chevelle.

shint
usually, i'll give ethan a full milk feed 1st. then give solids after. as he latches on, i dunno how much he drinks. but i just latch him till he refuses anymore.

wah...10kg is heavy duty!! and i'm already struggling with my 8kg.

valnsw: i dont really let braiden watch TV while eating. I usually make him eat when he sits in his highchair in the kitchen. No other distraction..

Nini,
Actually we placed the high chair in the living room in front of the TV. It is only these 2 days then she interested in the TV, usually she doesn't pay attention one...

Gotta think of other way to make her eat without cartoon.

Mrs teng
not sure whether the block is washable, not indicate.

Mousse
i nevber see whether nan did give any offer.

that icon is cute.

fitbaby and roiv
how is the baby contest?

babyfair
i dun think this baby fair is as good as the one i went last year

ruixuan,
last year baby fair, i only buy wall stickers leh. that means this year, i can choose to skip it liao.

valnsw,
we don't on tv when feeding yu ze. make sure he just concentrate to eat and not play or watch tv at the same time.

timminbuzz & valnsw,
i give solid first then 1-2hours then i give milk leh. oh no, i have been doing the wrong thing?

shint,
wow!!! 10kg, good training for you leh. you feeding kai with teaspoon or tablespoon? teaspoon (those we la kpoi one) is very little leh.

celyn
no lah. there are different ways to do it.
as long as the solids doesn't replace milk feed. go for the way that u're most comfortable with or suits yu ze most.

Shint..
Our bbs can hi-five liow.. my boy also I think hit 10kg already! Haha..

For me.. I only give 1tsp of rice cereal (HEINZ) with about 2tbs of fruit puree. So.. it's more fruit than rice. Don't think he needs to put on anymore weight.. so it's really all about food appreciation now.. haha..

<font color="0000ff">timminbuzz</font>
thanks again for the contact

Mommies
below is my feeding schedule for my gal. Does it look ok? or is it too much / too little?
I still haven't start on porridge or any meat yet. :p

7am - latch on
<font color="119911">9am - 2 tbsp cereal + 1-2 tsp fruit puree + 50ml ebm</font>
11am - latch on
<font color="119911">1pm - 1-2 tbsp fruit/vege puree</font>
3pm - latch on
<font color="119911">5pm - 3 tbsp cereal + 1 tbsp fruit/vege puree</font>
7pm - 200-220ml ebm
10pm - currently is 100ml fm (in the process of weaning this dream-feed. slowly bring earlier the feedtime and reduce the amt. Eventually the 7pm feed will be the last feed.)

went to the fair this afternoon arn 12+.. VERY disappointed cos no pampers and feel that nothing much. Last fair was much better. I think recession, last year still got free mothers &amp; baby magazine. This year only got freebie pack when u buy the magazine. Walked one round and bought the swimming float and 2 onesie from mumsfairy. other than that I felt total waste of time.

ReiRei,
Thanks to your thread, was able to go into it quite fast. then open the website and just tried the clearance... heeheehee, me cheapo mah... actually i like the teal one too, but this one is of an interesting color and ... also cheaper... hahaha... don't know about the size though, but i think this kind of cut should be ok. if bigger can still alter a bit, smaller will have to give away.

<font color="ff6000">serriz,</font>
Me, me! I've 3 kids, #1 will be 6 in Sept, #2 will be 3 in April and #3 is 6mths old. I didn't plan for #3 too, but we did it just ONCE in dec just before i flew off to seoul for work the next day. in seoul, i was working my butts off and running in the gym when free. and i went to phuket with family and the small kids - i got to carry the gal around that time... didn't know i was preggie too. well anyway, we have #3 and i'm happy we have him. Jerold baby is a good baby, he is lovable, loves to smile and very very sweet. its nice to hold a baby in my arms. Your kids age gap is quite close, maybe quite busy for the 1st year or so, but after that should be ok. I hope you think about it properly and if you decide to have the baby, Congratulations!

babycare festival
not that great huh? maybe i skip it then. need to bring #2 to the doc... started to cough again...

Rei Rei..
Oh dear.. hope Char makes a really quick recovery! It's terrible when our bbs fall ill. As mothers, we wish that we can take on their discomfort for them. Hang in there.

Hisstory / Timmin..
Hee.. no lah.. kidding only. We quite the conservative one. Hee..

You know what? I asked my hb today to go and buy diapers cos the supplier hasn't gotten back to me and my boy's HUGGIES DRY is running out. Shop &amp; Save now got offer.. 2 packs for $30.xx so I asked him to go and get that. He came back with one pack of HUGGIES DRY and one pack of HUGGIES DRY COMFORT. Cos..no more HUGGIES DRY. Haha.. so now I can try out HUGGIES DRY COMFORT liow!

Jen..
Wow.. Phil has a full head of hair! Gorgeous! Mine ah.. every other part of his body growing.. except for his hair!! Haha..

recently, yu ze is very cute. we feed him as usual around 8pm+ for his feed. he will drink drink then become very sleepy. by the time, he finished his milk, he sleep liao. once we remove the bottle from his mouth, he will auto flip himself over to his tummy and off to dream land. i don't even have chance to burp him. hehee....

mulberry,
your feeding schedule is quite close to mine. eversince, i start yu ze on solid, i seems to be feeding him every hour kind. within a 3 - 4 hours time frame, he will get his bm and porridge. feeding interval between bm and porridge is about 1.5-2 hours. but i give him 50-70% of his regular bm feed. last feed at around 8/9pm will be 200ml.

Hi Ruixuan,
Quite a big crowd at the Expo Babycare fair.. Ya, Allivier sucessfully made it to the final, which will be held this sunday morning!! I am a super blur mummy, register her already, busy shopping end up forgot to report at the counter. She suppose to be the 1st contestant then end up being the last contestant.. but luckily the organiser allow me to join in else......haiz..

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
hahah, may Jonah have sweet dreams of all the princesses mummy shows him!

<font color="#CD3278">JenJen</font>
U're so funny.. Show Phil the pix off FB?
Phil has a jappy look!!

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
If i can locate the TPY outlet, i let u know k..
Ethan has a huge appetite! And he def doesn't look puipui leh.. Where did his wt go to?

<font color="#CD3278">shint</font>
Woah! 10kg is no joke!! And Kai has a huge appetite i must say.. I only gave Ashley abt 2 teaspoons by the 3rd/4th day.. But if he can take it, by all means, afterall he is a big boy

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
Braiden is well-trained!! I have to use the TV so tt she gets distracted &amp; not want to grab my spoon. So far she likes a strange show, in my opinion, the 1pm "The Price is Right" *scratch head*

<font color="#CD3278">val</font>
Gd thing i turned down my sis's offer to go Expo.. Was the traffic horrid also due to the NATAS fair?

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
hahah, trying to cover up huh?Dun worry, we wun tell other ppl!!
Same here, i got a little botak.. I call the minute amt of hair on her head, fuzz

<font color="#CD3278">mulberry</font>
Looks like Jas is having some makan every 2 hrs.. And then on my part, looks like I'm starving Ashley.. (I just started her on solids 1 week ago)

830 - Latch on
1230 - Latch on + 1 tbsp cereal
430 - Latch on
8 - Latch on

But i will be intro fruit/veg puree at her 3rd feed..

<font color="#CD3278">Roiv</font>
Pretty Allivier got into the finals *congrats*

<font color="5aaa7c">jen</font>
I hope you find your camera soon. I know how you feel... it's the memories that count, not so much the camera. I replied your mail, you're so funny!!

Phil has such nice hair, can style for him! My boy still as botak as when he was born *tapping fingers on table waiting and waiting still don't grow*

<font color="5aaa7c">M2B</font>
When he's cheerful he smiles a lot, but when he's not, he cries like mad too. Quite extreme.

<font color="5aaa7c">Wendy</font>
Yeah, the pool very crowded when the ship sail. but when it dock, most pple disembark then the pool become very quiet... we had the baby pool all to ourselves 1 day.

<font color="5aaa7c">krex, hisstory</font>
I got his swimsuit from the swim shop in Paragon 5th floor. I don't remember the shop name! I think it's opp this open concept bookshop near Fox kids. Yah, have to take into a/c bb's mood and timing - got 1 day, we busy fussing with him, changed him into his swimsuit, got ourselves ready, then just as we were about to leave for the pool, he fell asleep... so we both suddenly nothing to do, have to wait for him to wake.

The EBM in the end I stored it in the clinic's fridge. Everytime want to activate a bottle or after expressing a new bottle, call housekeeping and they send someone to get it. Very troublesome, I didn't like it cos i don't know what they use the fridge for. The bottles came back with fruity smell. And some bottles could tell was stored not upright.

krex, I sterilise the valves each time after I pump as well. It comes into contact with milk, so I sterilise.

hisstory, if you're using the polypropylene funnels, you'll have to sterilise the bellows as well cos the funnel is slightly different structure and the bellows contact with milk.

<font color="5aaa7c">sam</font>
My pump too very precious, after it died, I realised I'm so dependent on it. But I have a spare Medela one, but I find it so painful, nothing compare to my Ameda pump.

<font color="5aaa7c">BabyFair</font>
I oso a bit disappointed, only bot a 2 bottles of mustela and a bolster case.

<font color="5aaa7c">Mrs teng &amp; cat</font>
Your porridge actually make me hungry - you and Cat the photos motivate to cook!

<font color="0000ff">Jen</font>
oh dear sorry to hear abt ur camera. hope u get it back.
Ur boy is so handsome. no need to lelong lah ;)

<font color="0000ff">Brie</font>
isaac look so cute in that pic. Did u let him dip inside the jacuzzi?

<font color="0000ff">Roiv</font>
congrats! hope she wins

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
pampers i think will only be in the Motherhood fair (organised by motherhood magazine). last year we bought it during the fair in June, right.

<font color="0000ff">timminbuzz</font>
u organising gathering next week? ;)

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
yeah lor, i also feel like i'm feeding her every hr kind..keke..
coz i latch on, i dunno how much she drinks. i hope i'm not overfeeding her :p

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>
yeah lor, it's every 2hours she'll have a makan. i set that schedule coz i was thinking eventually the 9am, 1pm and 5pm(this 1 will prob move to 6pm) will be the main meal i.e. breakfast, lunch &amp; dinner. and the in-between milk feeds will be the supplement then.
no lah u not starving Ashley. Jasmine started solid at ard end Jan. When i 1st started giving her, i only gave 2tsp cereal per day for few days, then slowly gave more.

<font color="#CD3278">brie</font>
Oh tt shop.. I think we went there but decided to mull abt the item. heheh, Isaac so cute, decided to orhorh before going for his swim.. He wants to be all recharged yeah?

Fruity smell?Sounds nice.. heheh!

Am still using the Polycarbonate default funnels.. Thinking of whether to get the Polyproplyene ones though

<font color="#CD3278">mulberry</font>
You're right, i shd try to work things ard regular meal times.. Let me see how i shd space things out
When did u move Jasmine on to 2 solid meals? I am a little blur abt this

valnsw,
er i dunno where e phlegm is fr leh..
she was given syrup 4 clearing airway, no spray..works e same way..her mucus becomes v watery n she keeps recycling it either by eating it or washing her face wif it..haha..

Hisstory, wendy,
Char thks u for ur concern..hehe..
Poor girl is now a wee bit betta le..

Twin star,
Haha gg a potato!

<font color="#CD3278">ReiRei</font>
huh, Char washes her face with mucus? U funny leh..
Hope she rests well tonight so tt u &amp; hb can too

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
When u intend to meet up? Next week hb's outstationed till Thur..

roiv
Congratulations
Allivier is very pretty
Hope she will be the finalist

rui xuan
The organizer told me they will give a call tonight, to the one being selected. No call so I assumed Trudy was not selected. It was a good exposure for her, though
but very chuan for Trudy and I (waiting for ages at the back stage with limited chairs n got to stand up most of the time)

timmin
Wanna go kai kai to Botanic garden sometimes next week (depend on the weather). Anyone else wanna join?

<font color="5aaa7c">mulberry</font>
yes, we put him in the jacuzzi. He was very intrigued by the bubbles, kept trying to catch some with his hands, and he kept his mouth pursed all the way - think he didn't want water splashing into his mouth.

<font color="5aaa7c">hisstory</font>
I actually asked the mumsfairy lady about the difference of the funnels. She also said the PP ones are better, but wonder why it's cheaper hor. So when my funnels were scratched by hb washing it with a scouring sponge 1 day, I decided to try it - we tend to just stick with the default or think prob more expensive means better right? Turned out I really prefer it better than the default ones.

Shint

Wow! 10Kg... I really wish mine are close to this weight..
My jie jie haven't even reach 6kg... She's only about 5.8kg about 2 weeks ago... She burns her energy really fast...

My mei mei is only about 7.2kg... somemore she hates milk...

History, Mulberry

Mul, your feeding schedule looks good leh... esp at nite no need to wake up... mine dun wake up cannot leh!

As my gals are premies, so I usually follow the corrected age when it comes to feeding.Currently mine are as follows:

Cherilynn (jie jie)
7am 100ml FM + 1 tbsp Si sen Brown Rice mix (in milk)
10.30am 4 tbsp porridge + 1 1/2 tbsp pureed veggie + 30ml FM
1pm 80ml FM
3.30pm 80ml FM
5pm 1 1/2 tbsp cereal + 1 tbsp pureed veggie
8pm 100 ml FM
10.30pm 100 ml FM
3.30am 100 ml FM

Clarabelle (mei mei)
7am 140ml FM + 1 tbsp Si sen Brown Rice mix (in milk)
11am 5 tbsp porridge + 1 1/2 tbsp pureed veggie + 40ml H20 or juice
1pm 40ml H2O or juice
3.30pm 100ml FM
5pm 1 1/2 tbsp cereal + 1 tbsp pureed veggie
8pm 120 ml FM
10.30pm 120 ml FM
3.30am 120 ml FM

Brie

Cooking the porridge need some work but when you see your little one open his/her mouth wide, asking for more porridge - that really spurs you on. This is even more motivating to cook for them..

Experience to share:
Mommies, last friday went out with Trudy. I was having my lunch at Plaza Singapura and gave Trudy a toothiepegs from Bellamy's. Suddenly she coughed very hard. I looked at her, apparently she got choked (she managed to bite a big piece of a toothiepegs). I quickly used my right index finger to dig it out. Trudy wailed out loud but I was happy to hear her beautiful cried. I was so scared n shocked. Luckily, I always put her facing me or next to me whenever I dine out, so I was fast enough to react. Can't imagine if I was a bit slow. So no more toothiepegs or whatever till she has a full set of milkteeth.

Re: baby fair
Pop by just now to stock up on milk powder. Nestle Nan Pro 2 selling at $55 for 2x900g cans while Nan 2 HA's selling at $65 for 2x900g. Free hippo bag bag with every $50 purchase. So i was given 6 bags!!! Gerber's fruit juices and purees are SOLD OUT. Baby fair's pretty empty compared to the car park. Guess the crowd's at natas...

<font color="5aaa7c">fitbaby</font>
Woah! Must have been a bad scare! Thanks for sharing so the rest of us are aware of the possible dangers.

valnsw: try not to make it a habit for them to eat while watching tv or playing...my mom used to tell me eating while reading/watching tv will cause indigestive. Get them interested in you..My boy very kaypo one..he is like a CCTV, watch me walk up n down. haha.. When he eat, i also show him im eating WITH him.

timminbuzz: Lately Braiden starts to wake up at least once a night again! But sleep time ok. I havent finish reading the book, thanks for the recommendation! It helps!!

Roiv: congrats! ur daughter is really kawaii~ next time is a da mei nu leh

fitbaby: ooh thats dangerous!!! Did u try the healthy times teething biscuit? It's hard..takes a long time to actually 'eat it'..but my boy suck it man.. haha.. and BEST of all, no sodium

Re: gathering for next week
let me know if u need a venue..I dont mind open house at my house again!

Roiv: congrats on Allivier becoming finalist. and good luck to both of u!!

Mulberry: Misaki feeding schedule is almost similar to Jasmine except I only give her solid 2x a day at 9am and 6pm. in between will be breastmilk/water/rice cracker. But I notice she looks hungry in the afternoon, so perhaps I should add semi solid around 1-3pm too.
Regarding the part time maid: is it the pt maid I recommend to u? If it's her,I really sorry that she doesnt do a good job. last time when she was working at my place she was ok leh

valnsw ,Celyn ,shint: saw your babies videos at FB. soo cute. well done babies!!!
always exciting to see them do something new, isnt it.

Reirei: hope Char gets well soon

Serriz: Must be really overwhelming to u. please take care of your self .

Shint and Wendy: ehmm Misaki can join the 10kg group already hehe . she is exactly 10kg today

Twin star: poor gg. how is she now? for misaki and ryo , prune juice works. (del monte prune juice). could it be because of the cereal ?

shint,
high 5! Ashton is 10.9kg at 6.5mths and Kai is 2 wks younger at 10kg...wooohuh
i feel stress b4 i put him on the weighing m/c. i keep hoping that he will not gain that much haha... but realised that his weight gain has slowed down a little. Hopefully he will slim down abit now that he has started to excercise....on walker!

anyone putting their bb on walker? pd advised NO WALKER cos it's too dangerous but i reckon if u keep an eye on him it sud be ok de. dunno wut to do with them sometimes at least walker can keep them occupied

just got the keys to my new hse. now busy with reno thibgy and selling the current hse...super busy.

<font color="#CD3278">Brie</font>
Hmm.. Interesting! I didn't know the PP one are cheaper than the PC ones.. I never knew Ameda had the PP type until u mentioned. It looks less fragile.. So it's $18 for 1 pair? Are u using Medela bottles with the pump?

<font color="#CD3278">fitbaby</font>
Oh gosh.. Gd thing u were alert &amp; didn't panic..

Brie &amp; Nini
Ya lor. It scared hell out of me. Thinking wanna take a first aid course for a baby but with baby tagging along, it's kind of hard (sigh). Nini, actually Trudy sucked it till it soft n managed to bite a quarter of it. Healthy times teething biscuit very messy lah. You gave one for Trudy to try, she really liked it. But just to play safe, wanna stop it for time being.

hisstory
when u free to meet up? i hate reservist. sigh

fitbaby
i don't mind botanical @ all! maybe see whether other mummies interested too? ethan gets bored very quickly lately. he needs the "scenery" to keep changing.

aiyooo...so scary!!!! thanks for alerting us!!! i was just thinking of buying teething biscuits for ethan. maybe i'll wait. eekkksss.

any other mummies interested to meet up? weekday next week
1. timminbuzz
2. fitbaby