(2008/08) Aug 2008

mommies,

ask ur advice. anyone delivered at Mt A? They did this newborn testing for my ger back then, and the test got include G6PD screen, if the results indicate PRESENT, does it mean she has it too? OMG, i didnt realise till now...

shint
kai really quite tall hor. =)

celyn
gd to noe that yu ze is ok.
yu ze got used to fall? -_-"
my mum also told me to let kid fall abit sometime, then they will learn how to stand up faster by themself leh....but see liao heart ya? =P

samantha,
i'm not sure if i'm right. i think we need to have g6pd. my boy is g6pd deficient that's why need to take care and prevent from getting in touch with certain things.

briebaby,
he didn't fall face down from sitting positing. its more of crawling position. his body is on the mat, only the head part of out of the mat. i tell him its ok, fall down then will grow up.

hisstory,
yah loh. as long as he don't cry, i don't mind him falling.

snow74,
when he was learning to sit down, he will fall back on his head. first time, he will cry. subsequently, he don't cry liao. so i guess, he learn from his fall or its more of a shock that he gets then the pain. today is the worst cos he fall out of the mat. so heart pain loh.

celyn
understand how u feel, must be very heart pain. =(
think sometime bb will base on our reaction to decide how hard they wanna cry also har?
if u gan chong, they will cry harder lor.
but think yu ze quite brave boy liao, fall and try again. =)

wow, really alot to read. took me 1.5 hours to finish reading before posting. haha..

hisstory,
heh, you already did very well to bf till 6mo. if can cont, cont; if not, i think your Ashley will get used to bottle soon.

ling,
did the pd say whaT kind of fever is that? viral?

krex,
does jonah still have the phlegm? anna is still having a runny nose and alot of phelgm!!! last night, both hb and i couldn't sleep well cos anna woke up at 3+am and coughed, vomitted. we had to "force" her to sneeze out the mucus and vomit out the phelgm. alot came out but still got a lot in her system. heartpain lah..

Mrs N,
YES!!! i love the nature. i can just go on such trips n relax completely.. no need shopping. as long as there is food n nice weather. wow, would be nice to visit u. how long hv u been there?

Sylvia,
wow, u flying off soon. where r u going to?

fitbaby,
your Trudy has beautiful eyes! n sprout 2 teeth! anna? none yet...

<font color="aa00aa">yes, all d best to Alliver &amp; Trudy!</font>

celyn,
oh no, sayang yu ze. is he feeling better now? i also v scared anna fall off my bed which is at least 0.5m fr the floor.

snow74,
we never really gan cheong over him whenever he fall. we just walk over to carry him up and say its ok and rub the part. but today cos he fall flat and somemore on the floor so react a bit more then usual.

mummygiraffe,
yah. he is ok liao. i don't put yu ze on my bed if i'm not there. he will be in his cot if i can't be with him.

Giraffe..
How did you 'force' Anna to expel the mucus? Goodness.. surely it is as traumatic for the parents as it is for bb! Hope she gets better soon!

hisstory
thanks!!

how was last night? did ashley wake up for feed?

thread moving quite slow tonight ... all enjoying the sat.. hb downstairs playing mj with my cousins but i'm upstairs in the room cos bernice sleeping
cant leave her alone to sleep worry she wake up suddenly and fall off the bed.

she woke up 3-5am and 7am this morning.. i'm so tired.

brie,
she say 1 son but didnt mention daughter ma

snow
zynn now will look up and see if u r around?? kaer also do that alot now..duunoo y the sudden insecurity!..past few nites she open eyes suddenly after i put her down on the bed..n she see me..ok..she koon again..but sometimes i walk off..then she neber see me..she will cry...then i have come and put my arm on her..and orhorhorh her..then she close eyes again...hmmm..strange..

YLN,
bernice is like that now too.. she's ok as long as i am beside her, sometimes see me enuf, sometimes she must have me sleep beside and hug her.. like what nini said i think it's seperation anxiety. also last time she loves to bathe, but lately when i put her in the tub, she will stretch out her hands and hold onto my shirt very tightly and i have to bathe her that way
i hope it's a phase they grow out soon.

hmm..catherine and nini..wah..separation anxiety ar..but ur SAHM rite? maybe more so for ur ..but i working..only get to see her at nites and weekends...hmm..but good also lar..good to know my bb miss mummy..heehee..

seperation anxiety

<font color="0000ff">When does it most commonly occur?
Babies can show signs of separation anxiety as early as 6 or 7 months, but the crisis age for most babies is between 12 to 18 months. Most commonly, separation anxiety strikes when you or your spouse leaves your child to go to work or run an errand. Babies can also experience separation anxiety at night, safely tucked in their cribs with Mom and Dad in the next room.</font>

http://www.babycenter.com/0_separation-anxiety_145.bc

yln,
yu ze also like suddenly feel insecure leh. he will cry loudly the moment we leave him alone. his cry can be as short as 4/5 seconds or as long as we walk back to see him.

snow74,
no blueblack

catherine
i saw that u bought the cube taggies from the bp...does bernice like it? was thinking of buying ..but like a bit expensive hor? how much u pay? also not sure if kaer will outgrow the phase of chewing on taggies soon...

<font color="#CD3278">briebaby</font>
Oooh, do hope your doggy wld be okie &amp; won't feel abandoned yah.. Gd thing he/she is at someone's house

Wld u come back fr the cruise with a meimei for Isaac?

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Yupz, cannot always be too cautious.. They need to learn, but also cannot be too dangerous.. hahah

<font color="#CD3278">giraffe</font>
Am really amazed 6mths has zoomed by so quickly.. Before long she wld be 1 y.o.. I also dunno when I want to stop BF. But am praying real hard she wld get used to bottle when we start training her

How's Anna today? Better i hope!! You going to take her to doc to extract the mucus? My sis took my nephew to KKH to get the stuff sucked out.. Apparently ALOT came out &amp; his breathing improved

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Think in my excitement i made a booboo!! hahah, she woke at 1am &amp; I thought it was oredi 6am!! hahah.. So I fed her. The next time she woke was 6+

Today she didn't cry at all.. Dunno if she's not feeling well(fever) or the fever medication for her 6in1 jab.. Hmmm

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Did u get Kaer the taggies blanket? We're considering getting tt for Ashley so tt she has a security object to soothe herself to sleep if she stirs at night

hisstory
no..i didnt get..was thinking of getting but they seem a bit ex leh..cuz esp now that kaer already has her smelly pillow to chew ..i dunno if i wanna still get the taggies...also dunno if she will outgorw this chewing phase soon anot...but the taggies look so nice lor...so tempted to buy...

celynlee,

thanks for sharing. I'm confused now, is having G6PD present a good thing or bad? Will go ask the doc next time round..

Samantha
G6PD is a red blood cell enzyme. if present during newborn screening.. that mean ur bb is normal. if deficient, that mean the red blood cell break down easily when newborn and baby must not be in contact with certain drug or chinese plus moth ball. for celyn's yuze, when he go army, must tell the NS that baby is G6PD deficient cos during field training, need to avoid malaria medications.

http://www.medicinenet.com/g6pd_deficiency/article.htm

<font color="5aaa7c">ruixuan</font>

At 18yrs old, Yu Ze dowan Celyn to tell the officer "her baby G6PD deficient" lor... Hahhaha
Actually everything that Celyn join (child care, school, etc) for Yu Ze best to inform hor.

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Oh they might outgrow the phase ah? I must say the taggies are really nice! Hmm, maybe even if they outgrow the chewing phase, can still use it as a blanket when in the stroller?

briebaby,
hahah... so funny. i don't think need to wait 18 years. maybe when he goes to primary school, he already don't want me to say he is a baby liao.

yah, see doc also must say. i also inform babysitter and give her the list of things to avoid.

samantha,
as what ruixuan's mention, i think all of us have g6pd. so it should be good.

brie
yuze can inform himself lah... haha.. LOLZ

Below is a list of medications that can be harmful in people with G6PD deficiency. Persons with G6PD deficiency should consult their physician before taking any medications, including the following:

Antimalarials:
Primaquine
Pamaquine
Chloroquine

Analgesics (which contain aspirin or phenacetin, such as:
Aspirin
Bufferin
Anacin
Excedrin
Empirin
APC Tablets
Darvon Compound
Coricidin

Antibiotics:
Sulfanilamide
Sulfapyridine
Sulfadimidine
Sulfacetamide
Glucosulfone sodium
Nitrofurantoin
Furazolidone
Nitrofurazone
Dapsone
Sulfoxone
Sulfisoxazole

Anthelmintics:
B-Naphthol
Stibophen
Niridazole

Miscellaneous:
Probenecid
Thiazide Diuretics
Phenothiazine
Chloramphenicol
Orinase
Dimercaprol
Methylene blue
Naphthalene (moth balls)
Fava beans

so for yuze's case, Celyn is breastfeeding, she must avoid above and broad bean (the mixed peanuts that sell in supermarket)

YLN,
maybe cos we SAHM thats why they so attached..

I bought the plush taggie. quite cute.. ok la like small pillow. i thinking of ordering the 12" taggie :p

Brie
Hahahaha what you wrote is v funny! I'm trying to imagine Celyn 18yrs down the road telling the officer 'My baby is G6PD deficient' and Yu Ze looking mortified!

Celyn,
I only hv a playpen, no cot so most times anna's with me either on my bed or in playpen. We intend to get a doubledeck bed soon. Haiz no choice cos our house is real small. Actually I do miss those x when I had a 5room flat in jurong.

Wendy,
We guide her to cough out the phelgm. Not an easy task thou.

Hisstory,
Ya, as the mummies of our princesses n princes, think we r already doing v well now.

We r monitoring her situation n if nec will c doc again. Do u know how they suck out the mucus? With a tube?

snow,

we gan cheong they cry louder??

No leh..... mine straight away blast leh. If nt attend to, in another min will turn very red n volume up til like being abuse...... :p ( She is like that since birth. Even nurse hv to wake me up as she is crying the loudest and the longest in the nursery room. :p)

HB dunno why always forget at night change diaper , can't be at the changing mat. She hates it so much n yell n scream n cry all the way, even after carrying her up, she will continue......

Then the redness in her face will last very long....

high need babies pah.........

celyn,

it's possible. u pump really quite intensively! for me, when i called service centre last time to ask how come my pump so noisy, they said becoz i pump more than 10 mins, motor overheated.

brie,

ya i latch him on during weekends now, except for 1st and last feed...i will give from bottle becoz i give more.

giraffe,

no more phlegm already. when did anna get sick? jonah fell ill on 9 feb. phlegm took abt 1 week plus to fully clear. by this week not so bad liao. now he's fully recovered.

cat,

sigh, i think jonah already has separation anxiety...though quite selectively. we can't leave him alone for 1 second. the moment we're out of sight, he starts to cry! seems as if he's deteriorated! last time can leave him in cot or play yard to play on his own. now he will wail the moment he sense that we're leaving the room. but strangely, he doesn't miss us at all when we leave for work each day. quite happy to be in the arms of his grandpa, who's always carrying him!

rona,

mumsfairy replied my email and gave me this offer:

$392.10 for ameda pump + supershield

they will also throw in an air-dry accessory bag worth $8.80. then they ask if i want a wide neck breastpump conversion set so i can use my avent bottles. so tempting! i think i really only need the pump for now, but contemplating getting the conversion set since i got so many avent bots. dun plan to buy anymore, and i need about 4 bots to bring to work each day. btw, if i put avent bots in the pump holder, can fit or not? it's only the top that is wider than the rest, the bottom is the same size as all other bots right?

<font color="5aaa7c">krex</font>
I'm not so sure abt Avent bottles, but my Medela and NUK standard bottles won't go comfortably in the pump holder. Can squeeze but I don't want to damage the bottles over time, so I don't use the holder to hold the bottles.

My 2cents - the supershield no doubt is more comfortable and you don't have to lean forward, but I chose not to use cos I lazy to wash and sterilise so many things.

hisstory
haha...too excited liao! ;)
wah! today she didn't cry @ all!! gd leh!!!

u mean she slept thru b4 huh? and started waking up again?

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Yah lor, i think i was too excited.. *ooops*
She didn't cry earlier, but she just started abt 20min ago &amp; has just stopped... I thought of picking her up to soothe her &amp; then put her back in, but hb says no.. Must go all the way

She did sleep thru once, and once only..

<font color="#CD3278">giraffe</font>
Erm, i dun really know how they did it.. But it seems like some hospital grade suction thing, better than those you can get off the shelves

My sis did an emergency walk-in &amp; was quite quickly attended to.. Not tt the case was an emergency though

Thanks for all your concern on Adel. We have switched to Friso comfort for him. Also gave him stool softeners and he passed motion without crying today. Just that, it's still the formed ones and not the pasty type. doc advice giving him friso comfort until the stools turns pasty.

I am in DEEP trouble ! My parents are in the States and my sis in law was supposed to take care of Adel for the 3 weeks. Now she tells me that she has found a job and starting work on 2 march when my parents are only back on 11 march ! So irresponsible rite ?! If she was looking for a job, she could have at least informed me. Now I am really stuck. I can't find a baby sitter and i am not sure if infant care have space. Some more we teachers cannot take one week leave like others. Really cham liao.... Now asking around to see if any relatives or friends can help. I am so desperate, i can cry. Where got pp like that one? Really throw me into desperation. some more just 7 days, that's all i need. If must in infant care, have to stay atleast 2 mths there. Really wonder, when she did this, did she spare a thought for us? If want to find job, then dun promise us in the 1st place !! Sigh... really want to cry liao

Celyn:
How you found your baby sitter? Your personal neighbour ? I actually have someone asked to take care of Adel but i dun know her at all.Saw my advertisement and responded . Very scared leh...

happy mummy,
maybe you should try to see if infant centre got space. i'm not sure if really need to put for 2 months but i don't think so. let me know if you need help. my babysitter might have friends that can help for temp. or you need infant care centre?

my babysitter is my colleague's sis.

krex78,
oh no. i pump for 20 mins now leh. used to pump 15mins when i do it 8 times a day. so i'm shortening my pump's life.

mummygiraffe,
i see. yu ze is super active kind, he can roll round the bed even in his sleep in his little cot so i can never put him in my bed without me.

Rata,
erm... weird, my 2 PDs said not yet, hang on till 9 months onward, erm maybe different PD got different view on it and also what level of comfort we are ba. If the baby has been eating and is alright then that is not the concern already

brie,

can the bots stand on their own if u dun put in the holder? for avent, i need to put in a disc for bot to stand well and even so, they sometimes topple over, which is frustrating coz' it causes me to lose milk! yeah, i tot so too. very leh cheh to wash super shield. even for the hands free, i'm only using at home. too lazy to put add'l equip on in the office and i find i still take it off halfway during pump to use hands to hold coz' suction stronger like that.

happy mummy,

dun panic. can your hb take leave to look after bb? else do u have a maid? if yes, maybe u can just ask a relative or neighbour to come over to your place during the day to supervise things. that's what i did last time when my MIL got doc's appt. got my godma to come over and supervise while my maid takes care of bb. my personal policy is i won't leave maid alone with bb in the home.

celyn,

haha, i used to pump for 20 mins but now it got extended to as long as 45 mins or 1 hour! can't be bothered with the guidelines liao. maybe that's why my pump a bit koyak now. better get my ameda soon as backup before it fails on me one day. dun want to cry over spilt milk then!

celynlee,
Just got to read that Yu Ze fell off the bumper mat? oh dear.
Is the bumper mat on the floor? Must take more care la ....
So far, Kai only dropped off once and he was on #1's cot bed which is not vv high ...
still vv heartpain. And of course, it was under hubby's care.
Whereas if it's on the floor, hahah, he has numerous times liao.
Hubby will place him on the playmat, gymmat, whatever u call it ... which is too small for him.
One roll and he's off it and onto the tile floor. Kai dun make noise ... and happily doing his "swimming" on the floor. haha.

#1 is vv mature .... he loves Didi alot and always tries to side Didi ...
when Kai wakes up and makes some noise, he will run to the room to check him out while we are not even prepared to go into the room.
He likes to hug and kiss Kai, sometimes lip to lip oso ... and i say, Got germs. The hands and legs can liao. hehe.
When i make noise, he will say "Shhhh ... Mama! You wake Didi up!" "Mama! Didi is sleeping!"

Samantha,
Yes, Kai can stand with support liao but he still cannot sit up properly leh.
He should be quite strong but dunno why ....
Crawling, sometimes he can inch himself towards his paci which i place at a distance. He will roll here roll there to get to his destination.
Well, not exactly crawling but cheating ... hahha.

Briebaby,
Kai cannot crawl yet la, not even sit up properly.
Celyn one can even push himself up to sit up ... so cool.
Kai still lying down most of the time, try to prop him up in sitting position in the pram, he oso complain .. wan to lie flatter ..
Wonder if that's a problem .....

Snow,
Yes, Kai is tall, ard the 97% percentile. I can't remember it's his weight or head circumference which is above 100% ... out of the chart liao.

Catherine,
I slept last nite at 4am (Kai's feeding) and then 830am he cried for milky liao.
Did the normal clearing up, etc until 2am then watched a movie at home while ironing clothes.
Holding on tight to t-shirt when bathing .. Kai does that since vv long time ago. I told maid he insecure .. haha.

YLN,
I had been putting Kai to sleep and he used to look at me then close his eyes and sleep.
Recently cos hubby took over and he can bo-chap one .. and Kai learnt to sleep by himself with me carrying him or tapping him. So good!
I hope this continues and he doesn't go through the seperation anxiety later - cos he is smaller compared to the other babies, his stage hasn;t come yet.

Krex,
Got such thing cannot pump more than 10 mins? My Ameda, each time i pump, can last to 45 mins .. co si busy surfing and left it on to pump while i surf.
That's why can get so much milk ...

Sleeping during milk feed
Kai slept while drinking his milk a few times recently.
Too much milk oredi? Does their intake decrease?
Sometimes after finishing his 180ml, he still crying for more and can finish up to 200ml.
So i wonder whether to increase or decrease. Yesterday, we gave 160ml instead and he was crying quite hard so we gave him another 40ml, he finished.

krex78,
U wan supershield? i have .. dun buy from them la ... it's that one that we bought during one of the spree by Dongle rite?
can sell u at cost if the size fits ... i have flexishield oso ..
let me see which i shield i did not even open up .. cos got milk liao .. so din use.

<font color="5aaa7c">krex</font>
The bottles dun stand on their own unless inside got milk. When they are empty I just anyhow put. You pump so long? I usually pump 20-30mins 4 times a day. Any longer and I become stiff where I'm sitting.. hahah. Neck already very pain, some more worried that I'll become hunch back when I get old... but I still dun wanna use my supersheild and handsfree. Hahah