(2008/08) Aug 2008

snow & hisstory...
i stay in ang mo kio. oh! so i stay quite close to hisstory!
i guess orchard area would be gd too.

Thanks for your concern regarding my #1. He's better and we're back home now and he's fallen asleep. Hard to sleep there, he kept wanting to watch TV and play. Every few hours neubalise, take medicine .... i more tired than him. I really will faint if i am a SAHM managing this active toddler myself.

Thank goodness we're in the single ward room so at least dun have to be conscious on disturbing others .. and can hand pump my milk for #2.

Felt like i am going through another delivery ... except the delivery part and the
"baby" is a big baby .... the same place, same level ward, same nurses and some even recoginse me ;)

Very tiring cos i cannot sleep when i am tired so long son is awake and when he sleeps, i need to pump cos engorged .... *faintz.

He's gonna stay home till next Mon to go for review ... *sigh.. there goes my last few days of maternity leave .... gonna start work next Wed and they're all waiting for me to go back as one colleague is down.

Celyn,
Call my mum just now and she confirmed that Mae’s teeth really sprouting…even my brother confirmed that…scully they cock-eyed??? Hahaha

Hisstory,
Yup, shd try to let bb get used to our lifestyles instead of us having to accommodate them all the times, IMO, this will eliminate the feeling of having bb changes everything…just my two cents’ worth…

Hehe, my hb likes noodles instead of rice but her sure prefer teng lang dishes…

Dun know Mae cfm teething or not but my mom claims so…

Valnsw,
Hahaha, I actually prefer ready stock BPs instead coz dun have to keep track and wait too long…heehee

Ruixuan,
You rest well coz night shifts really tiring 1..and somemore a few nights in a row…k, you let me know when you are free.

Snow,
Yaya, I like bb’s “bo gayness” too!
BBs always like to sleep in moving car, stroller etc 1…Mae also always fall asleep in the car seat when the car moves…was telling hb can bring her go KL or Genting liao…hahaha

There is a restaurant at Raffles City which serves Japanese food but theirs is like Marche Style with the card system…the restaurant has a play area for kids too…

Meet up – when you all meeting up? If next Fri, then I can join too!

ruixuan,
me wanted to go to Mt Alvernia but since PD is there at TMC so checked in TMC lor ... better la, cos when i collect my neubelizer oso easy ... if i am at Mt Alvernia then must go down to TMC?

Anyway, i am not giving their rooms good rating esp after their renovation. Nurses quite nice cos i oredi know them .. hehhee. i ask for alot of things ma ...

Me fully understand how u feel about the pain and need to pump. I tried to sleep over it but cannot, had to wake up though i vv tired. Wonder how when i get back to work.
Need to find some advice from those who had resumed work liao.

shint
ai yo, u must be very tired.
try to rest more when possible.

m2b
hee hee...especially that "bo gay" keep saying an-grr rite? =P
ya, they will feel like in rocking chair.

ya, that is 1 of them.
thx for the info. =)

i'm ok with next fri, see if hisstory and timminbuzz can make it anot lor.

Frozen breastmilk
my little KAI had started drinking my frozen breastmilk these 2 days as i was at hospital.
Just now realised that my FBM is VERY OILY (post pic later) .... it has this layer of yellowish oil on top of the milk leh .... how come? is it normal? KAI seems to be drinking fine but maid said it's all vv oily. how ah? any mommy experience the same thing? The milk is since mid Sept .... going 2 months batch.

me gonna KO now and then log in later ... miss you all! muak muak! hahhaa. Can't read all the postings ... so anything need my attention, pls PM me or post again ok?

Shint
happy to hear that ur son ok. u rest well and take care...

my EBM from the ealrier batch also the same thing, got layer of oil.. dun worry.. it is normal.

Shint
From waht I know oily breast milk means the milk got more fat content, thats all. I think no cause for worry, except when yr bb drink he will get more fatty supplements, hehe. Milk got funny smell?

Snow
Yeah I cfm with you gals again
Hope to see you all too : )

Baby rejecting bottle
Darwisyah always do that on a monday. Maybe the weekend I always latch her on so she suddenly misses the breast. So monday's milk intake is terribly little, but comes tuesday and onwards she will start drinking per normal.

Valnsw
Yeah I think I likely stick to the same location. Easier lah. I dun want my #1 to have to start adjusting all over esp now he just settled down.
Btw you enquire on the CDA account thing?

M2B
Oh so cute!! 1 tooth!

Same here, dun think it's too gd to have everything revolve ard them. But try not to compromise on sleep at night..
Last Sun we chiong together with her.. After church we went down to Samsung rdshow to buy HP & queued for 2 hrs!! (I galavanted while hb queued!) So i actually handled her alone for 2 hours, practically combed all the shops at PS.. heheh

snow, M2B & timminbuzz
Orch's okie.. I believe i can get there on my own. Just wondering if i shd take a bus or cab though.. Prob use the sling coz I need hb to handle the stroller

Next Fri ah? I check again k? Tentatively, looks possible!

shint
Rest well!! Ur #1 needs ur TLC

shint,
glad that your #1 is ok. you rest well. yah, bm is a bit oily. just shake the milk after it thaw and before giving to your #2. it will form 2 layers in the bottle if didn't shake.

ruixuan,
you got my sms? hehehe.... you know what i want. :p

hisstory, snow, MTB..
next fri i'm ok too!

hisstory...
maybe i can meet u to head to orchard together. since we live so close by n i usually take e mrt to orchard.

MTB...
i know which rest u're talking abt. been a few times. but the name just keeps eluding me. heh...

Hmm... duno if my bb is learning to flip backwards, but jus now after flipping to be on her tummy, she wanted to flip back to the original position but she kena stuck, only flip halfway. hee, guess i will see if she does the same stunt again!

shint,
make the best of the last few days of ML
Hope your #1 gets better soon!

Medusa,
I didn't go ask abt the CDA for 1st born wef this 17 Aug, I suppose fr the link u give me, shd mean it confirms first born will get $ for $ matched by govt.

M2B/snow,
Think that Jap restaurant w Marche style is called Shokudo. Went there once and yep, there's an area for kids to play.

megan,
hee.. what did u put in your appeal letter that was v moving? Ya, i think MCYS damn strict on the EDD.

M2B / hisstory,
Jus tat day I told my hubby, bb is our priority, everything gota revolve around her. Hmmm. Actuali, my pt was that now w her in tow, cannot last min say go out means go out. Cos the situation is that now living w my parents, my mum "bu fang xin" if we leave bb w maid with nobody in e house to jagar or jus leave maid alone. Cos she's afraid e maid from the backyard neighbour will talk to my maid and give bad influence.

So that means, even b4 go out, stil need to arrange somebody to be at home. *haiz*

megan,
u kena rejected huh? I was trying to appeal leh... dunno if can get it. my edd 13 aug but i delivered on 15 aug. haiz sian rite?

Huichin,
u dun intend to appeal?

Any mummies here got the baby bonus with edd date earlier than 17 aug? Do share with us so that we can appeal again ... hee hee

Snow, haaha...u ah!

Cindy, u think can try? I duno leh...see Megan 15Aug oso cannot get siah. How abt me! LOL. Yea but if anyone got experience/advice pls share with us!

WHoa lunchtime i went see Doc then pop by FOX Baby shop - bot 2.5sets of clothes for Falisha! Heheh..cannot help it, colleagues got coupon voucher 40% off - and ends today siah! Kekeke...and for the 1st time, i bot 12-18mths one. Hahahaa...damn kiasu. This is the 1st batch. LOL. So far dun really like to buy too big clothes to keep :p

huichin,
u bought stuff from Fox Baby? Yday I was there at the Tampines outlet, saw they selling 2 baby sets for $29. Almost wanted to buy but I see all the baby sets are with shorts. IF they hv w skirts, I confirm buy!!!

cindy / huichin,
mb u can ask ur gynae if can date it later to 17 Aug? I mean it'sjust a few more days rite? Hee, mine is zhun zhun on 17 Aug.

Ahaha...Val, ya i saw! Good pricing but not so nice designs. That's y i din buy those. Heh.

Bot 2 nice sweet sweet tops and 3 skirts. So cute! Imagine my girl start to walk liao then wear...aiyo! LOL. Kids nowSAdays hor damn lucky siah...haahaa

timminbuzz
heheh, okieokie.. If i confirm can meet up, then we meet at Bishan platform yah?

val
So cute!! Chevelle kena stuck.. She's really fast leh, can flip oredi

Yah lor, I feel tt my mobility is kind of constrained by Ashley now. Now have to think of the place being stroller frenly anot, presence of nursing room, must pack diaper bag also..

On top of tt, cannot try to pack too much into the itinerary for 1 day, coz bb shd rest more at home too.. At least u've got maid or ur parents to jagar! When my mum returns, I'm on my own liao.. Maybe I shall drop her off at my mum's & run all the errands

huichin
BB Fox's stuff very nice hor? Unfortunately they dun really have skirts.. *haiz* But their dresses are quite pretty

heheh, I've got stuff fr here & there for Ashley for the age of up to 24mths oredi.. *ooops* Sure to buy more along the way

hisstory, yea fox baby stuff quite nice leh! hehe...oh they have mah the skirts! I bot 3 just now! Lol...i liked a set of overall jumper + a top but only got stock at vivo n parkway. How to go there during lunchtime? Sianz...Whoa u stock up to 24 mths liao? Haha...think so far i only have like ONE pc of romper that i accidentally ordered too big size. Haha. But i think it's ok to slowly buy bit by bit loh. Cos some clothes is seasonal mah. Dun have means no more liao :p

thanks to all who is concerned abt cayla..

cayla is back home again since yesday evening... drama actually cos she was discharged on tues & was prescribed with phenobarbitone syrup... while hospitalised, the nurses gave her same med but tablet form dissolved in water... back home, upon taking the med, the skin around both her eyes turned super red, like panda patch but red in colour, i nearly fainted cos i din sleep for 40 hrs & my HB immediately called kkh & was told to bring her back... so angry with them, damn irresponsible... apparently, she got an allergic reaction to either the colouring, addictives or alcohol added into the syrup... they can actually discharged you & ask you to go home with a med that is different from what she was taking... damn stupid right??...

huichin / hisstory,
let's keep each other in the loop abt Fox bb sales. hee, I think M2B, vone, Mulberry and reirei love Fox bb clothes too.
I saw they sell sweaters for $16, almost tempted to buy but I alrdy asked my frd in USA to help me buy back liao.

Medusa,
Ya, that OCBC staff got it wrong plus he assumed my bb doesn't get the enhanced incentives. Cos he asked isit firstborn and I said yes. So I guess he auto assume my firstborn is born earlier.

Samantha,
I think Carter's should be a USA brand. Mb cheaper if buy direct from Bangkok or China? After all, I think it's manufactured in China. But beware of fakes lo... So far, I nvr buy Carter's stuff.
Mb other mummies can advise?

snow,
U and M2B going to bring bbies swimming this Sunday?
I sms u if I'm going? Else I also duno when I can get my GNC stuff fr u, mb gota ask u to help me post liao.

so many post to read up on ..

re: teething
so fast teething already ah ??

re: gathering
I can do it this week. If next weekend I'm ok.

YLN,
my maid mimik bb and very irritating.. like when bb cries .. she will go "wahh wahhh" back to baby.

val,
hows chevelle now ?

huichin,
ENVY !!! I still got night feeds

mulberry,
congrats on your new hse. I can understand being stuck with bb all day.. and moreover my bb always wants to be carried. very tiring.

snow74,
globetrotters @ united sq. and the jap buffet @ raffles city basement. both got play area for kids

huichin,
i saw the fox sets too, but was in a hurry so i didnt buy. But i didnt see skirts. it was shorts lei.. maybe i go parkway and check it out tomorrow. hehehe.

huichin
wah, u're lucky to have spotted them! I always see them in T-shirt & shorts set leh
heehee, my hb agrees with ur logic, but the shopaholic mummy defies logic *hahah*

Tmrw evening u go Parkway or Vivo? heheh, then can get the set u like!!

val
Gd idea! Last weekend I saw them having some sale & additional 15% for DBS cardholder.. Wonder if it's still on

Can get the sweater ah.. Slightly bigger size for ur impending US trip? *heehee*

dongle
How is it they wld actually give diff medication?? They didn't tell u all when discharging Cayla ah?

elitemom
If u're returning to work, u can freeze for future feeds.. Otherwise i was reading off the Jul08 thread, there's a website that tells of what you can do with excess EBM, some are quite interesting I must say!

Catherine,
Same here. I saw only the sets with shorts, damn sian.

huichin,
which outlet did u see the sets w skirts?

hisstory,
hv promo for DBS cardholder? I din see leh.
No need to buy sweaters liao. I asked my friend to help me buy ON sweaters from US since she's coming back next Mar.

huichin,
i think i will still try. I was induced actually on 15 Aug. Looking into the concept of EDD, if not induced due to medical reason, I might be giving birth after 17th. Its just 2 days.

val,
cant just get letter like that cos baby's health book did write the gestation period.

Gathering
i am Keen!! i am off this weekend still monday..!!!

anyone attending "essential breastfeeding & babycare tips seminar" this sat?? at Marriot Hotel??? http://www.pigeon.com.sg/event.php?news_id=10

Dongle
I am just curious... why is ur baby on Phenobaritone?? phenobar is for fits!! but what cause ur baby to have fit?? why must continue on this medication at home??

Dongle,
Maybe u wan to check with PD again?

KKH
I brough #1 (ZQ) to KKH on Monday morning 2+am cos his fever went up to 41.2 degrees and it started since Sat afternoon.

Upon arriving at KKH, they got a doc to see him and he jus did the normal tests and gave him suppository to reduce the fever. Gave me some glucose water to let him drink an hour later to see if he vomits.

Then we waited there just to monitor. wanted to check ZQ in since in the middle of the nite but he says monitor first.

I saw alot of parents with kids having fever and sponging them so i went back to ask him if need to sponge ZQ since his fever was at 40.5 then.... he said .. oh, continue sponging lor.

2 hours later when we finished the glucose water and ZQ din vomit, he gave lots of medication (same as what i oredi had at home) ... and then tell us to go home. Din say what is it, how to lower the temperature, etc.. just say if it continues 3-5 days then bring him back.

He did not even check ZQ's temperature after the 2 hours.

Anyway, the next day ZQ's temperature still at 38.5-40ish ... i went to PD and then he got admitted.

Point is: the suppository he put for ZQ did not bring his temperature down .. which according to what i hear is , it will go down quite shortly.

He don't look vv experience to me.
*Lost trust in KKH.

anyway, pls counter check and question the doctor when u have any doubts.
Question them so they can go get a more accurate diagnosis.

Shint
my baby was approached by the speaker, Sister Kang to use him for the infant massage demo. may or may not use my son cos he is a reserved in case the selected baby not cooperative that day.... hee....

To mummies who r interested in baby headbands:

i just did a post on a headband i made on my blog, u can check it out

http://beelovedbaby.blogspot.com/2008/11/flower-headbands.html

1858764.jpg

honestly, they r v easy to make. just buy any plain head band n sew on an artificial flower on it. v simple...just hand stitch a few times. can add some fabric glue if u still scared the flower will fall off.

the flower u can get from shops like spotlight/ daiso etc..wherever they sell plastic flowers. just pull off the flower n remove the green plastic stem in the center n stitch onto head band. can even add crystals or beads to the center if u want.

hope this is useful.

ruixuan,
wah ... child model ... so young start oredi, got potential. kekekeke. Like tat after demo then sure got many more mommies ask for contact ... heee.

gayle,
that's vv nice
u're vv creative and so nice to do such things yourself. me bought velcro for my shawl which i want to use for covering myself when i pump milk in office, i oso haven't started. hee. Are you working?

hi ruixuan,
me and one of my gal friend be attending...she is due next year thus want to expose more then...you be going also?

Good Morning Mommies!

Celyn & Snow,
I can’t cfm is Mae really sprouting tooth liao coz she refused to open her mouth wide for me to see but when I gave her the Pigeon teether that I bought for her, she was rubbing it against her gum so vigorously…quite funi…well, apparently, my mum, bro, nephew and #1 all vouch that she is…hahaha

Hisstory & Valnsw,
Ya, as much as we shd focus on the child, I dun think our lives shd revolve just ard them…maybe it is better to get the child to adapt to our lifestyles instead which I think is easier.

Hisstory,
See, you are getting the hang of handling Ashley alone…just a matter of trial and error right? =P

Huichin,
You made all of us feel like shopping liao…I also bought many 12-18mths clothings for Mae…looking fwd to seeing her wear them but yet hope she stay as babyish as now…hahaha…ya, I’m a Fox fan too especially during their sale…=P

Dongle,
Glad that Cayla is back home liao…I oso think KKH is wrong in this matter…you and hb must be so pissed off with them. You rest well so as to take care of Cayla.

Gayle,
Thanks for the tip!

Huichin,
Me too alway buy Foxbaby clothing for my girls. Just do some shopping at GAP. Their stuff are very pretty and nice too.

Shints,
Missed out alot of post. What is happening to ur #1? Anyway hope everything is fine now.

Samantha, valnsw,
Recently i ordered from online spree but din realised it was Carter until i received it. Out of the 3 pieces, 2 were already too small n i sold of to one of the mommies here during last gathering liaoz.

Well, it felt like real and looks quite good. It's quite cheap compared to the real thing. Found it in Metro SK and looks like the same material, etc. So i think shld be the real thing cos those cheap ones are the ones they are trying to clear stock. The orginal price is like US17 and they were selling at US5-6 ...

So if no discount, it is about the same as SG price ... so if major disount, then cheaper lor.

i got the following for sale:

400gm Nan Pro 1 (expiry 2010)
400gm Nan Pro 2 (expiry 2010)
400gm Nan HA 1 (expiry 2009)
400gm Nan HA2 (expiry 2009)
400gm Enfalac (expiry 2009)
900gm Enfalac (expiry 2010)

please pm me for detail..

msapple, mommies,
Thanks. #1 is ok already but has developed to be a more TV addict cos in hospital he can only watch TV. PD advised not to walk around though he is vv active and ok ..... cos scared to catch other virus.

I was watching the LOUSY and NON-EDUCATIONAL Cartoon Network cos they dun have disney channel,etc. The kids programmes are all so "violent" eg Tom and Jerry, some robots cartoons .... it advocates alot of violence and making fun, hitting , laughs when Jerry gets hurty but of course never die, etc. I had to tell him what they do is not rite. He learns vv fast and he oso misbehaves more when he came back. Gotta do my "re-training" again.

Now he wants to watch TV all the time and cos i was with him for the entire stay, he becomes more sticky to me. When i wan to play with Didi, he will ask me to play with him - before that, he did not display this behaviour.