(2008/08) Aug 2008

re: huaxia,
anyone check if they clean and wash the tub after each swim ? i want to secretly bring bb there to swim.. hahaha..

Hi ladies, hope this post doesn't offend anyone. I've currently an oversupply of breast milk and I think it's a waste to throw it away. I have about 25 bags of 180ml milk expressed in July 2008 to give away. The milk has been well stored in my deep freezer and can last for another 3 months in a deep freezer or can be used immediately when stored in a normal freezer compartment of a fridge. The reason that I'm giving away my milk is that my deep freezer is running out of space and my baby is not drinking as fast as I can pump and store. I used to pump 2 litres per day (now I'm pumping 1.7 to 1.8 litres per day) but my baby is drinking between 1.1 to 1.3 litres per day. I already have close to 300 bags frozen and stored in my deep freezer and I have no choice but to give away or throw the earliest milk. Milk stored in deep freezer can last 6 months so the milk I'm giving away can last till January if you have a deep freezer or else, it should be used soon. Please sms me at 97475251 if you are interested or if you have any queries.

catherine,
i was at huaxia branch at plaza sing yesterday. their tub looks clean when its not in use. so i guess, they do clean up after use but can't confirm.

they say they will change water if baby poo half way but won't do anything if its urine cos can't see, which i agree. but they don't sort of rinse baby after each swim. so if baby really urine inside the tub, he will come out of the tub mix with urine and not being clean. then we just have to change baby and go off. then won't baby be dirty? they say yah but cos urine can't see so no change of water. sigh.... just have to pray hard that he don't urine inside.

fae,
each time transfer $ back need remittence fee of $6 regardless of the amt. tell yr maid that. cos it is not worth to transfer everymth, best to accumulate. u dun have to bring yr maid there. i did the transfer for my maid via sing post as wat snow taught me. get the receipt n show yr maid n let her sms or call back to inform family to collect.

M2B,
if baby poo outside, do u also change at the restaurant? i use the nursing room mainly to change diapers cos i thot it is not nice to change when people r eating lei. i also dun want pp to kapo n look at bb's exposed parts while changing as well. last night was another success this time bb never wake up 4 pacifier, sleep till 6:30am frm 10pm. hope i is not becos i brot her out shopping ..... if not everynight also must bring her out 4 her to sleep thru, very tough lei

morning ladies.

m2b
ok, will let u noe asap.
u wanna make appt 1st?
i scared that timing might have more ppl lor.

shint
i got uob card also.
if kids dine free, i dun mind bring my #1 there.
ha ha... =D

huichin
zynn eh-eh to capture attention also leh.

the only hotel that serve halal buffet that i noe of is royal plaza on scotts, but its abit ex ya? =P

valnsw
if u bring maid along, i suppose u wun let her enjoy the buffet rite?
me thinking of bringing my maid or not also, cos i can't carry my #1.
but if bring her, most likely will let her eat at home 1st....u leh?

celyn
huaxia is using warm clean water, public pool water is cold and may not be so clean.
and take note of UV if taking bb to open pool lor.
u might like to let yu ze try cold water at home 1st, before bringing him to cold water pool outside?

catherine
hua xia @ harborfront change water after every swim, that is what i saw so far lah. =)

twin stars
okie, shall update the table later..

I think when grandparents are nt the main caregivers other than ourselves, they tend to be more gan jiong abt their grandkids.. Esp when they hardly see them. Just ren, i guess..

faeriekim
Ohoh, i think i was desperate enough to use tt diaper changing rm for bf coz bb was kicking a fuss, tt's why i recall it being cramped..

But i agree, abit no atmosphere coz it's opp the cubicles & not totally enclosed, ie a room, so can hear a lot of conversations of the employees

shint
There's a sale on at Robinsons even w/o the 25% discount ah?

YLN
Enjoy your time with your ger later today, hope ur ILs understand your need to spend time with your ger w/o the inteference *hugs*

M2B
heheh, no probs.. Info on diaper changing also gd!

Same here, when we go ILs i let them do what they want with my ger & stay away. See no evil, hear no evil.. Anyway since HB also uptight with what his parents may be up to, i let him do the checking while I catch up with reading the papers. Sthg I hardly get to do since having Ashley..

Good Morn Mummies (speically for mummies in Aug 08)
Mummies who are feeding their babies with Enfalac. Please PM me. Saw one mummy selling Enfalc here alr

Gathering
Hi i am cashing my leave starting from this friday. may not be able to meet up with u all. but will pop by in to chat if possible.

Swimming
My PD recommend to allow baby to swim in public pool when they reach 6month old.. scared baby will get infection (like flu virus, dirtiness from the pool and due to newborn's baby immunity are low)... he also mention not too long in the pool.

snow74,
thanks for informing. maybe should try him out at home with cold water. i know he enjoys bathing time. everytime he is taken out of the tub, he will cry and scream but when you put him back, he stop immediately. but that is also with warm water loh.

ruixuan,
hmmm.... i guess i better not let him go to public pool then. in case he get another infection again. already now struggling with feeding him the antibiotic and there is another 9 weeks to go!!!!

celyn
no problem. =)
just that open pool not so clean lor, not so suitable for infant.
just wonder other kids might pee inside sometime.

robinson sale:
did u gals recieve a discount coupon, or a letter only?
cos i received a letter only, and no coupon or voucher leh....does that entittle me to 20% disc?

little twin stars / snow,
Bringing maids to gathering is an issue.
Like what snow says, I prob wun want the maid to enjoy the buffet.
But then, these maids sometimes see their mams enjoying themselves, they will think "wa... they enjoy life, while I here hv to take care of bb". They may be a bit bu gan yuan, tho they're paid help.

It's a mentality that I see quite frequently.

Plus, if the maids get to mingle around amongst themselves, mb they start to compare notes and see what they hv or dun hv. Later they go back, go hint hint to mam.

Then again, if I bring bb alone w me, I will hv to drive out and she has to be strapped on to a car seat, which I've not bought yet!

Mb, wait for the gathering to be firm then we can decide whether to bring maid along.

Catherine,
BTW, did u go for Cherie Hearts open house? I'm only free tdy and tmrw but I feel sick tdy, hving runny nose plus I din sleep fr 4-7am.

Is Bernice still drinking her usual 90ml?
I'm thinking whether to stretch Chevelle to more than 90ml per feed but nowadays she doesn't finish all of it all the time, sometimes she finishes, smtimes she leaves 10-20ml.

TO mummies who hv bought car seats, if you drive w only bb alone, place bb and car seat at the front passenger seat or at the back?

valnsw,
no i didnt go to the open hse cos i've actually been there before when i went with my godson's mom for the trial session. So I'm quite happy with them.

yesterday i went to united sq and saw the growing up gifted there. came back and did some checks, it seems quite popular and good. I might compare them with julia gabriels and decide. JB takes 6 mths and above, while GUG is 8 mths.

Ya bernice still taking 90ml and like chevelle she also always left about 10ml. my mom say olden chinese believe it means next time wont starve cos got left over. hahaha. I tried giving her 120ml in the nights and most of the time she also cant finish.

car seat have to place behind unless ur front passenger seat got NO airbag. CANNOT put carseat on a seat with airbag. Very dangerous.

valnsw,
forgot to add, so if ur carseat place behind, then u just get one of those mirrors so that you can see baby.. mothercare got sell.

Got an info from Alien77 (playmat mat seller)
Alien77 is bringing in a small batch of playmat shipment soon and it will be selling at a discount price.

anyone keen?? will update u as soon as she sms me

aurora, haha...have leh..i got play with her...but hor after 2-3hrs when she still doesn't wanna sleep i will say 'ok Mummy needs to do housework liao bye~!' then she will still continue to eh eh. Hahaa..And i guess i should play with her too much cos next month she will be with nanny for a while liao...so dun wanna cultivate her to play way too much - if not go nanny's place jialat! LOL. Somemore maybe after 1-2mths with nanny, Falisha will be taken care by the maid (duno if she can cope cos taking care of my hubby's old grandma). Actually i still dun like the fact that she will be taken care of by maid. I so wanna take care of her myself! But too bad my financial status doesn't allow me to. Sighs.

Snow, zynn oso eh eh for attention ah? Then it's normal bah. Haha. Oh is the royal plaza one called Carousel or smthing? I heard Hyatt one is oso halal - unless Mummies here wanna go, that is. Haha.

Twin Stars,
Hehe, so far we brought bb out is chop chop and get home quite fast so no chance to change diapers outside leh… =P My gal very funi, when we planning to bring her out, she will poo very early and we clean at home before gg out…very “co-operative” hor?

I think your gal is ready to sleep through liao…keep to the last feed at 10pm and monitor.

Hisstory,
Hi-5! I will read papers/magazines while my MIL carries my gal and fuss over my #1 too…hahaha, then she will ask me questions abt the gals and I just answer…sometimes I wonder why can’t ask my hb lor…

Ruixuan,
Yup, bbs at 6mths go to the pool only at most 30mins and best to be afternoon coz the water warmer.

Catherine,
My gal attended GUG for 3 terms when she turns 1yo and I must say they are good coz my gal learn her phonics there and she can rbr it very well.

ruixuan / Catherine,
thks for the info on car seats.

Catherine,
How long was the trial at Cherie Hearts?
Did they tell u how long the waiting list is?
Not that I want to be KS, but then sometimes, these gd preschools tend to be overbooked and must take queue *faintz*
In any case, Cherie Hearts is one option.
I still hv not decided if I want to send her there yet cos I hv other options.

M2B / Catherine,
GUG sounds interesting and M2B mentioned before.
M2B: ya, I'm really quite impressed by Lorraine, that she can manage to read the menu at Coffee Club the last time we met.

M2B,
You knw how much the course at GUG costs and how long and how many times a week?

Elitemom,
Hi there! Just share your rants here like what most of us do.. hehe

M2B
the jialat thing i dun like is tt they always think she's hungry when she cries.. Alamak, as if i wld starve my ger

huichin
I think dun have the 30% at NTUC, at least tt's what I saw when I checked out diapers on Sunday

But they the the discount for another type, i think it's Active Baby..

snow
I received voucher.. What does ur letter say? Coz my mail is directed to ILs place, haven't changed the add for the OCBC card, so I dunno if there's a letter

mommies.. have u all back to ur pre-pregnancy weight already?? I cant seem to shake off mine.. still almost 8kg-10kg to lose... very depressing as I am STILL wearing maternity clothes.. *sob*
Still breastfeeding so how to diet??? sigh...

It had been a while since I last log in...

I had been busy taking care of my 2 babies at home, and also working from home too. Initially it was tough... the boy is at the "Terrible 2" stage, throwing tantrum and seeking alot of my attention. Now life was much much easier.... my boy started to settle down and understand that he has a little sister, and has been very helpful too!

Photo taken 3 days ago, my ger 7 weeks old and my boy 2 years old.
1793678.jpg

happymum,
both of them are so happy.

nini,
yah. i'm a underweight person, have been underweight for more than 20years. i didn't do anything, eat as usual or more. i guess bf helps also. some of my clothes are looser now.

ruixuan,
hehe.... 'shy'

Got an info from Alien77 (playmat mat seller)
Alien77 is bringing in a small batch of playmat shipment soon and it will be selling at a discount price.

anyone keen?? will update u as soon as she sms me

playmat by alien77
M2B
Ms Tiffany

Hisstory,

Robinsons does not have any sale, just that those who have the letter can enjoy the 25% discount , capped to a max of $200 on regular items.
For those items that is stated "Special buy" or had 2 price tags, means oredi discounted.
These items are perpetually on discount i think. So the voucher cannot give further discount for items like below.
ie. pigeon breast pads $8.90, pigeon laundry detergent 600ml x 2 $13.90, pigeon baby wash $5.70

seems same as the prices outside some other places too. Hence, if wan to utilise the $200, can use for regular items.
I wanted to buy some cellulite cream for my tummy from Elancyl ... it costs $89.90 for a pack of 2 and when i saw it at Watsons it is only $71.30.
Hence it is more expensive! But with the 25% then it will be slightly cheaper.
See if i have other uses for the $200, otherwise, can also save a few more dollars.
Almost wanted to buy but the sales person not there so i walk walk first, then found Watsons to be cheaper.

Anyway, from my last experience, i bought the AMeda at $388 from them which they priced as SPECIAL BUY. Then found the one at TMC for $318, which comes with a free Lily Padz.
That's alot of difference. $70 + the lily padz which they are selling at $49.90!
Their Ameda pump - 1 set oredi costs $79.90 - faintz. Just the funnel cost alot too.

Snow,
How old is your kid? Gotta call to ask.

Shay,
Me going tomorrow, prob after i do the morning pump ..... thinking of say around 11ish-12pm.
They only open at 11am is it? I'll PM u my contact and u can PM me yours too.
Will arrange where to meet.

huichin
u're welcome.. I wanted to get 1 more pack of NB diapers & was hoping tt offer applied to Pampers New Baby, but alas it doesn't *bleah*

NiNi
I nw weigh less than pre-pregger state.. All thanks to the disrupted sleep n carrying cum rocking of bb, nt forgetting bf too

*jia you* When bb gets more active, i'm sure with all the chasing ard, u wl shed the wt k?

M2B,
last night her feeding time happ to b 10pm. she slept till 6:30am, never wake up in between for pacifier. hope this is the start of night sleep training *fingers cross*

bb seating in front:
can i carry baby n seat in the front passenger seat?
i dun want my maid to always carry my baby at the back. even though i have a bb car seat. my maid is always playing with bb at the back n i feel so let out of it.

val,
i have not drove in a year! must start practicing

shint,
hee... my gal not notti? eeks.... *speechless*
oh well, it was a fun time window shopping at robinsons n having kopi at breadtalk! *wink*

shint, shay,
i'm all geared up for JL tomorrow! anyone else wanna join us? btw, u have our MP nos? i PM you ok? so tat we can make arrangement for tml. most likely bringing my #1 again. bor bianz.

YLN,
thx for the info! btw, how come u know ah, since ur maid still no need to remit $ back yet? u oredi got myanmese maid previously? i tink my maid's family need $ seriously, tat's y she refuse to keep any $. btw, if u had myanmese maid bef, when they return, they gotta pay taxes of abt $400+ rite?

twinstars,
thanks for ur advice. i checked out singpost the other time, n they din have myanmar as one of the countries they served leh. or does it differ fm branch to branch? tink i better check it out at singpost web site. headache.

celyn,
*envy* me juz back to pre-preggie state but wif ugly skin at the tummy n tummy paunch....

happymum,
tat is such an adorable pic! it's the pic tat we have been saying is so hard to take! but u n snow managed to do such a good job!
like the border, by the way. wat program did u use?

Hi faeriekim

Thanks.. must catch her at the right mood. However for this photo, is a combination of 2 photograhs. Photograph 1, my ger smiling, my boy not, then 2nd photograph, my boy smiling, my ger not. So I combine the 2 photo into this. I am using photoshop.

Valnsw,
My #1 was there for 3 terms when she turns 1 yo and b4 she goes cc…that time, the course fees are $280/mth and it is once a week for an hour…they will teach phonics, sing songs and do art n craft.

The course that really teach her how to read is I Can Read but I think phonics lay the foundation.

Hisstory,
Hi 5! My MIL also like that! When bb “eh eh”, she will ask “milk time hah?”…but bb just drink not long ago mah, then she will say “if she is hungry, feed her now and dun need to wait lah”…hahaha

Nini,
I’m back to pre-preggie weight and wearing back my clothes and bottoms too...now exercising during my lunch time too. :p

Happymum,
Thatz a nice pic!

fae
i ask my maid how to send $ back..cuz i had wanted to take down the back account number..then she said they all no use bank one..use name can..i also dunno how to do..not sure about paying the tax leh....my first time getting maid..but i hear that if we send maid home before the contract ends..the maid have to pay abck agent 3 months of salary..maybe this arrangement is only for my agency only...

playmat by alien77
M2B
Ms Tiffany
HuiChin
missysz

happymum,
your kids are so cute!

::gathering::
supposed to be aug mom but bb decided to pop out earlier in july. can i still join in the gathering? hee

Is this posting area for mummies who have just delivered, my #2 is 9wks old? Can I join in?

My #1 has attended GUG when he was 20mths & there for a yr & thereafter to Mindchamp for 30 lessons. He is now 4yrs old & loves both GUG & Mindchamp...

Nini, I envy tat u r able to lose weight after delivery, any slimming advice? I used to be a "XS/S" but now "M" very disappointed :-(

Wat is "playmat"

twin stars
I think legally, we cannot carry & sit in the front passenger seat. But my HB bo chup, he doesnt want me behind, like u, even though we have the car seat. Unless bb oredi slept in the car seat when we transfer it out of the stroller..

M2B
My MIL keeps repeating tt bb wants to sleep & tags my hb all ard when trying to coax bb to sleep.. My HB got quite fed up with her on a few occasions! How to have bb sleep with her nagging & nagging.. *haiz*

Doris & Elitemom
*welcome* Do join us here to discuss, almost practically anything under the sun