(2008/08) Aug 2008

rata, who's your gynae? i stay in punggol. not sure if i want to go to dr chen for package as she's quite ex and pro-induction. is that a gd thing?

3D, tell me more abt dr adrian. is he skillful and does he give gd advice? how was your delivery?

Krex, wat is pro-induction? If u stay punggol then my gynae is too far for u. I m seeing Clifton Chan at Clementi. Is not to far fr my hm & his waiting time is ok. So faf he is so good, & i can take my time to sit inside asking him questions which i ve to know.

hi..
congrats to u all!

i missed my period for 1.5wks already but not yet test. ha.. think i scared the outcome as not fully prepared. sometimes i feel crampy but sometimes i dun feel i m preg. dunno is it still too early to test? just bot test kit today n think will test tmr morning. if preg this will be my 2nd one. i have a 3.5yrs old son.

Ratatouille
no. of wks pregnant should be based on last menses n not based on when u ovuluate. 40 wks of pregnancy is based on last menses.

krex
are u taking folic acid at the moment? still early to see gynae as may not be able to see heart beat yet. just make sure u take folic acid daily. even if u go GP to confirm preg they will just give u folic acid.

Hi krex78,
So qiao.. my mum's place is in punggol and my future home will also be in punggol. weekdays staying with MIL and weekend i will go back mum's place.
For DR Adrien, whenever questions you ask, he will reply but in short and sweet answer. becos my delivery is really short, so nothing much i can expect from him. At 9pm, he first came in to broke my waterbag, put me on drip, contractions start, come in again around 1am and with 4 pushes, my gal is out.

mini, i use ovulation + 2weeks which is abt the same as using LMP. But using dat method will b more accurate for me as i m not those with 28 days cycle & I usually ovulate late onli on day 20-23 therefore for my case using o day + 2 weeks is more accurate. In fact the no of weeks i calculated in is onli diff fr wat my gynae advice base on the baby size by 1 day. keekee Y r u afraid to test?

wow.. i went for one lunch appointment, and the thread has so many more postings...!

welcome to those who just joined...

Krex - you and I probbly around same time. My LMP (last mense period) was also 1 nov. I know exactly when bb was conceived...!
anyway, folic acid is available at pharmacy.. some gynae give away free with package.. so anyway if u really want to have peace of mind, then just go to gynae around 6 weeks (counting from LMP).

For those testing on home kit, it goes by how much HCG level - which is highest around 6 weeks.. best time to test. alot of preg kits say if mense late by 4 - 7 days u can already test..

Hi rata,

I think so.. haha. cos at first no contraction but after gynae put me on drip, the contraction started. Yes, it's really a easy one for me. hoping my 2nd one will be the same.

rata, i meant dr chen likes to encourage u to induce baby. dunno if this is a gd thing.

pam, how many weeks preggie are u? based on calculation, would i be 6 wks already? i have a 28-32 day cycle.

when i tested last night, the blue positive sign appeared very, very fast, so i guess my HCG level is quite high. somemore i test at night after drinking quite a lot of water.

btw how u know when bb was concieved? i tried almost everyday from 20th nov onwards as i had lots of mucus that week. very hard to guess when my bb was conceieved.

krex, i see. Ya some gynae will like to push for c section or induced as is easier for them to plan their time. Fyi I tested b4 menses is due & got +ve on hpt

rata, how many weeks preggie are u? what is induced labour and why is it not gd? i definitely don't want c-section unless necessary.

Krex, me onli 6weeks 5days preg today though my LMP is 19 oct coz i ve long cycle & i O late 10 nov. I dunno if induced is good or not but I prefer to feel the contaction naturally rather than inducing it on when to take place
Juz realise u r fr the ttcing for 2008 baby thread.

tweety, i'm also more inclined towards dr adrian but hate queuing.

anyone knows of equally gd and affordable gynaes in punggol/ sengkang/ hougang area? i dun mind going to other places near my house as well, like thomson, amk, bishan, etc. coz' i drive. but definitely not in the west lah, coz' not on the way home also.

rata, i think i ovulated on 20th nov that week leh. so i shld be only 5 wks?

krex, if u r sure u ovulated on 20 nov then should b abt 5weeks 1day now. Mayb if u wan & not gan chiong can wait till next week when u r 6weeks then u will get to hear heart beat too.

but if my first day of last period is first week of nov, then shld be 6 weeks by this fri rite?

i wanted to go next wk, but hubby prefers that i go this week, esp since i'm travelling this weekend. need to know what precautionary measures to take.

Dr Adrian is good.
he is my gynae.... but i visit him at CCK... to me the waiting time is ok leh, not long.... maybe i went early.... although he talk fast but still he will assure u everytime... but if u wan to ask him thing, so write down.

cheryl, in what way is he gd? i need more reasons to convince myself to take his package, haha. it's cheap but i dun like the idea of a gynae who rushes and has a long queue of patients. makes me feel that i'm not getting my money's worth.

btw, is he ang mor?

ratatouille

afraid to see positive as mentally not prepared. dragged going thru the whole process again n means not much freedom for the next 3yrs. though the good thing is can give a sibling to my son. but seem like should be positive else where how come menses so long not here yet. for my previous preg at 5wks i was test positive n that same time i started to feel giddy n nauseaous already. this time round still not yet.

krex
since u mentioned u started to try from 20nov so possible that ur baby is conceived as early as 20nov. actually v hard to say when. nvm only a few days diff in due date and usu wont deliver exactly at due date.

think popular gyanes are more better since they are experienced. waiting time depends on when u go n visit. if possible try not to go on sat as sure v crowded. if they open on weekday evening can go during evening time too. btw my gynae is Dr Loke Kah Leong from Spore women's clinic in tampines. u can consider but i remembered his waiting time is quite long on sat n hence i choose wkday evening to see him.

mini, thought your "freedom" already lost when u had a kid? :p

hmm...if i go with dr adrian, i will prob go on thurs evening or sat afternoon. see how lor.

when did u first visit gynae to confirm pregnancy?

krex

he operates mon n thu evening at cck, mon - sat morning at cck.... i think he spend more time on cck... yes he is really cheap
even sick also can go see him, hehe.....

he is not angmo.. eurasian.... but he can speaks good chinese... my hb and mum all very comfy with him.... and he is not that kind tat will make u spend alot money kind...

hi all mtb. i am abt 4wks preggy now. i feel super hungry almost all the time!!! any one here can advise me what to do? almost every 3 hours even in the middle of the nigth i wake up dying to eat something. once i ignore it and got very bad gastric pain. i'm really terribly hungry. oh gosh i feel like i am either sleeping or eating all the time. can any experienced mummy advise me? thanks.

krex, mayb u can ask ur frenz who had given birth b4 for recommandation.

hug, welcome. when u going to see gynae.

mini, coz diff preg might ve diff reaction ba.

hug me - i think it's quite common that jsut before MS kicks in your appetite for food actually increases.. happened for me too. However you shld eat high fiber foods like oats, bread rather than sweet n junk food to avoid getting gestational diabetes later on in your pregnancy... as for feeling sleepy - yes in the 1st tri, yr energy level is v low.. i recall sleeping at 8pm everyday for one period.. all the best!

Krex - actually i dont find having a child a loss of freedom.... maybe it's because i'm already in my late 30s..and i bring my girl whereever we go except say to the movies.. she's such a blessing to us.

Mini - test la!

Rat - i seeing gynae on 27 dec.

pammie - thks for reply. i m not complaining but oh gosh. it's terrible really. i never really like to eat. but now i am HUNGRY almost every hour. i wake up at 3am, 4am 5am feeling terrible hungry. i also dunno what to eat. past few days i ate 5 pkts of maggi mee, eggs, chicken wings, potatoe etc today i bought lots of apples to fill my stomach. hiayo but what am i going to do? i munch down 3 apples at one go but after a little while i am hungry again. oh gosh. i'm feeling a little tire of eating the whole day. but i am SOOOO... hungry. oh gosh. when will this hungry thingy go away? what is MS?

hug me... you're so funny.. no wonder u want to go by the name hug me..
MS is morning sickness.. Trust me, once MS kicks in you will be put off by almost all types of foods! so maybe yr over eating now is to compensate for MS.. try to stay away from maggi mee tho - alot of MSG.. I know it's tempting. I love maggie mee too..

hi pammie - i am eating again. gosh. i either eat non stop or sleep non stop. i hope this is not what pregnancy is all about. oh gosh. later at 3 or 4 am i dunno what i am gong to eat again. i feel like as if my stomach has a whole, it just can't seem to be filled. oh gosh. i m not complaining but oh gosh. i never eat like that in my whole life. i dun even need to wash the plate i used coz i am forever using it to eat.

hug, wa! u reali eating alot hahaha but nvm hungry must eat. So late u still awake or u waken up by ur hungry. For me i onli start to feel hungry this week. Previously i m all ok as per normal. u must b looking forward to ur appt

hahahaha hug me you are really funny.. welcome to the aug thread anyway...

for me, I've been waking up everynight to go to the toilet no fail... from 2-4am..

I seem to be eating a lot too, though I do have a bit of nausea and lots of that gastricky feeling.. in fact I've put on at least 2kg so far and my tummy and butt seems HUGE now =(

but like what they say.. try to eat more nutritious food coz what you eat gets absorbed by your baby..

so far so good...i haven't had any morning sickness yet. any chance i might not even have it? :p i do have swollen breasts and breakouts of acne though. i hope i'll get that radiant glow later on and not more acne!

my tummy seemed bigger for the last 2 weeks but this week seems to have subsided. i was also 1-2 more kg heavier last week but this week back to normal. so strange...

do1nk, for me i m ok. b4 i sleep i go toilet then i endure till 5+ then release again. coz i wake up at 5+ to go to work.

As for eating, all the while i m ok but since 2 days back i start to keep feeling hungry but i m trying to control as i read a over weight mummy cant put on too much no good

hi do1nk - oh yes i pee often too.. its like eat, sleep, pee... . once in a while a litle tiny bit of pain in the lower abodmen. i hope that is normal. some pple say it could be liagment pulling etc. the peeing thingy is worst and more frequent only during the first 2-3 weeks. now better. that time every nite wake up pee, now every nite wake up n eat. gosh.

Tell you gals, its really hunger. not that my mouth is itchy or craving. It's really terrible. the first thing you open your eyes is food... last time i used to eat 1 to 2 meals day only. now is like 'eating revenge time'.

Rat - i really hope i dun put on weight. but i feel my tummy kinda round now. gosh its only 4wks odd. maybe its psychological?

but do you mtb feel like stroking or 'carrying' your tummy when you walk around the house? i dunno why i tend to put my hands on my lower tummy (like lifting it a little) when i walk around at home. are all mtb like that?

i still will not reali stroke my tummy coz nothing much yet is onli the tummy which i all the while ve except during bathing time when I try to talk to baby then i will stroke.

hi MTBs,
I'm new here. Hope to join in this thread.
I visisted a GP few days ago cos of a persistent cramp (like menstrual cramp), and the pregnancy test is positive. But when my GP did a ultrasound scan and V-scan, she could not find any sac and thus couldn't determine how many weeks im pregnant.

Now, im quite worried, cos the cramp comes on and off everyday and is severely bad esp past midnight causing me to wake up to go to the loo. And I pass out a lot of wind before it gets better. Is it normal? To feel cramps? Thinking of going to a gynae tis week and hope to see the gestation sac.

I guess I should say hi?

From my last AF, I should be now 6 weeks and 2 days pregnant. Did a test last week to confirm. DH didn't want me to test it because he was afraid it was a false alarm (late AF) and his joy would be dashed. Hee. This is my 2nd month of trying. But now that he knows I'm pregnant, he's super gan cheong and always worried if I'm eating the right foods.

Till now, perhaps too soon, but I'm not having any MS. Tender/swollen breasts - check. Frequent urination - check. Constipation - mildly checked. Because of the constipation, I do have some tummyache some of the time. But I guess better this than MS.

Have made appt with my gynae next Tuesday. Can't wait since this is my first time, ever!

Ratatouille, I make sure I go to the toilet at nite before heading to bed.. but somehow will still have to get up mid of the nite..

hey I have this tendency to sayang my very round belly now too haha! at nites, I will lie in bed, and get my doggie to come chat wiv our little baby too as I sayang both of them... hehe

aurora think you may be having wind or gas in your stomach, which is very common during pregnancy.. perhaps you are still in the very early stages so can't see the sac yet.. how late are you?

morning ladies!

din sleep well last night as felt nauseous.. sort of make me know i m preg. this morning i did the test n it is positive! in fact since mon night i dun feel so good at night.. day time still ok. seem to have night sickness rather than morning sickness.

my due date should be somewhere around national day. but quite likely may deliver early since i gave birth to my son 10days earlier. i am feeling a bit paranoid.. wait till see gynae n make sure everything ok then see how. intend to see gynae 2 wks later.

ratatouille n hug me
i also felt more hungry easily from this wk. but have not put on weight yet.

hug me
some preg ladies will feel hungry all the time as it is how the body adjust to preg hormones. u may not experienced MS. just make sure u are eating mainly low fat high fiber food. like that will not put on so much weight.

krex
some ppl lucky wont feel MS. mayb u are one of the lucky ones.. but still early to say since MS may kick in from wk 6.
back to the topic on gynae.. all popular gynaes will have many patients waiting for them n hence their svc is usu rush. somemore nothing much to talk/check if baby is healthy. but if u have qns to ask them i believe they will take time to answer to ur qns. for me choosing a gynae near home is good as during the last trimester have to see him on weekly basis.

Welcome all new mommies!

Hi Hug Me,
Can eat is good and ya, I know all preggies scared put on too much weight and difficult to slim down after birth...

was telling my gal that mommy wants to go slimming centre after this delivery...

Hi mini,
I share your feelings about losing freedom...I have a gal who will turn 4yo next month (so easy to hnadle now) but she has been nagging me for a bb so hb and I decided to fulfil her wish and this will SURE be our last kid...

Hi mini,
Haha, I oso delivered my gal 9 days earlier but she was induced as she is not getting enuf nutrition inside my womb liao...luckily the induction is successful...

hug me
are u v slim or under weight before preg? if u are then tat explains y u feel hungry all the time as the body is trying to store more energy for u to go thru preg.

aurora
dun think so much abt it.. u din see any bleeding right? most like should be ok. mayb it is how ur body reaction to preg hormones.

hello all, im new to the thread. I am 6+weeks pregnant. went for heartbeat scan 2 days ago and could see the sac and heartbeat. was so excited. this is my 2nd child. unforunately, my gynae sighted some fluid near the womb lining. he said got chance of miscarriage. asked me to rest at home for a week. dont have to lie down though. am now so worried. he said pregnancy only more stable after placenta is formed, ie 8 to 10 weeks. hope i'd be fine. i pray for all preggies on this thread that you will be fine too.

hi M2B!

i remembered u as we were preg abt the same time the last round.. just tat i m not so active in the forum mostly read n din post much. my boy is 2 mths younger than ur girl. i remembered tat time u said wanted to have only 1 kid n surprised to see u preg again. so its ur girl asked for anr sibling. congrats! for my case its my hubby who wanted a 2nd one. i m afraid if i dun try now next time i will regret not giving my son a sibling. but to go thru everything again is not so easy as my boy wasn't easy to manage n PIL who are mainly caregiver have been spoiling him. ha.. i also make sure i wont have 3rd kid.

M2b - Can i know exactly when toddler becomes easy to manage? cos' my girl going thro' a phase now.. abit hard to handle. I have to be understanding but soemtimes i just can't give in to her requests... when will i be able to reason w her?

welcome to the other moms...

Hug Me - i'm opp from u. Seem to be losing appetite.. this morning i could not even take half a piece of sandwh... and usually i need big breakfast n still have lunch before noon. Now i'm still full... I gained 12kg in my 1st preg. after delivery I lost 12kg almost immediately cos' I bf. But then over the past 2 yrs I gained back 3 kg!

MINI you did it!