(2008/08) Aug 2008

Shint, dun worry too much till results is out ya. We will be here keeping fingers & toes crossed for u.

Good morning mummies

Happy V day

Just wondering, are you little ones throwing tantrums outside/at home, and how do you handle them?

Also, meal times..are they sitting still to eat, or even eating at all? How do you keep them to the dinner table and stay still to eat?

yln,
if at home, i will just leave him to throw tantrum there and ignore him. yes, he still stand/kneel or sit on ikea stool to eat. if he kicks the stool away, you know he is almost there or don't want to eat liao. if he wants to play and don't want to eat, i will not allow him to play. i will tell him to finish his food before he can go and play. then he will be whining at the table but will still finished at least half the portion, sometimes all and forget about the playing liao.

if outside, i will ask him to stop or i walk away. if refuse to stop, i will walk away loh. most cases, he will follow lah. if he don't follow, just hide at a corner to see how he react loh. after sometime then i will appear but still at the far distance. know that he saw me liao, i will signal for him to come and i hug him. he will then cry and walk towards me to carry him. but before i carry him, i will ask him to stop crying. if he still don't stop then just stand there or walk away again. usually by this time, he will stop and control his crying then i will carry him. then slowly talk to him of why he shouldn't be like that while i carry him.

meal time outside, usually he will sit there to eat. if refuse to sit there to eat then i will get drink for him to make him sit there loh. drinks may not necessary be sweet. even ice cold plain water will do also.

Hi Celyn
Thanks..yu ze is very good boy in comparison..
kaer runs like a mad dog in a shopping mall and sometimes will do her dance routine in the middle of the mall!..*faint*..she can roll and lie on the floor as and when she likes...but she is not throwing a tantrum..i think she's just happy but i find it embarrassing! she does throw tantrums when she doesnt get her way..and she SCREAMS, SHOUTS AND LIE on the floor and can get destructive like throw stuff and kick stuff..so, sometimes i really feel damn sian to bring her out..i will bring her to a corner and let her cry it out and let her settle down..but i starting to suspect..kaer might be ADHD..cuz she can get very impulsive...and she is hyper..but her teacher say she is normal..! sigh...i guess will have to REN through this phase..anyway, can only identify ADHD when much older..so, now, i take it as she is normal lah...
meal times also stressed..cuz she is so hyper, she is unable to sit still and eat..unless i let her play games and stuff..but we are going to wean her off such stuff during meal times..n so, many times, for weeks, she has gone without food cuz she refuses to sit still and eat..i just let her be..and tell her if she don't eat, she have to wait till we finish (when we outside) and leave together..she will happily go off and start her dance and song routine again..*faint*
as a result of her eating lesser and refusing to eat (by sitting still) she has lost some weight...

sigh..i dunno its normal at this age..but i guess i have to be patient lor..

Hi YLN

I think is normal for this stage.

For BBM, she sometimes runs around like road runner or crawl like a cat or dance around in the mall. I just let her be, only to ensure she wont knock herself or danger anyone.

It's just their way of expressing themselves and their tots.

Throw tantrums will also happ. Sometimes even those aunties will ask me not to be so stern, I just do what I can, if nt, I ignore. For BBM, if she gives in, she expected me to do the same. So she will run halfway to me n expect me to finish the remaining to reach her....... Very adult. I will handle based on each situation.

Food wise.... I think is the same when there are more interesting to do than eating. At home, she will watch, dance with her dvd. outside she will finish almost full or when hb finish then she will wanna come down n walk around.

Think u hv to slowly transit from one to another so that she can eat more?

Jiayou!!

Happy V Day to all my dear mummy friends!

Shint, oh dear... take care... dun worry about it... will pray for you that everything will go well...

YLN, dun say small ones... my big one also still throwing tantrums... then the small one follow lor... win leow... hiaz... sometimes really so tiring... dun be embarrassed abt Kaer's behaviour in public... pple with kids will understand... pple without kids when understand when they hv kids... LOL! Try to tell her firmly to get up because the floor is dirty and lots of cockroaches, etc walk on the floor?

jen/sylvia
thanks for the reassurance..sigh..maybe i just don't have that much patience with my own kid! hahah..

ya i also understand have to be patient..but seriously i don't see other kids her age behaving like kaer..so thats y i tend to get worried..kaer wont be scare of dirty or cockroaches one..she will stand close close and see and if i never stop her, she will take it up!..so half the time, i won't be shopping but looking at where she is running to...

and she is very rude to my MIL ..tsk..she will not be like that at home or when im around with MIL, but only when MIL and maid and her at home..she will kick them, hit them and shout at them..and 'diao' them with her eyes...*faint*...i have told her many many times cannot like this, but i cannot scold her because if she is not like that in front of me, how to scold? Just have to see how long MIL can give in to her..MIL also complaining already..but she not doing anything to stop kaer's rudeness..so, im also stuck..dunno what to do..

YLN

She is curious lah. Can even take up, so it's her curiosity loh.

Don't worry this part, she will learn as she grows up.

Same same.... go shopping, I think BBM goes shopping rather me. Hahaha!!

Maybe when u see other kids at her age, they just happ not to be like that. I think every kid will have their share of such times.

Hmm...... think u hv to tell MIL, she dun complain to u, but immediately correct her at that moment. kids cant rem what they did if u only tell them later. esp when u r nt around n cant discipline.

Think since they din correct her, so she think is ok to do so. Guess when u r around, u will point out, so she knows that it is not acceptable when u r around.

kids are smart.

yln,
got to spend time and slowly correct her loh. your mil also has to do a part in correcting her cos she is with her when you are not around where all the 'naughty' act appear. they will know who to bully loh.

yu ze is not really very guai too lah. we go shopping, he is the one leading us loh. he is the window shopping one, cannot go inside shop to see things one leh. you go in, he will cry and say mummy don't want nice and push me out of the shop.

YLN, means she scared of you? mine is super good when alone in front of other pple, but once I'm around, behaviour become bad (even if other pple are around)... hiaz...

jen
hmm...i would say she behaves herself when me and hubby are around...there is no need for her to be rude or throw big huge tantrums cuz me and hubby have laid our boundaries quite clearly with her...

Jen
Kaer took a while to learn my boundaries set..now she sometimes will forget and push her luck but i will be stern and say no still...its easier for kaer to follow the boundaries at home but once outside...she goes wild..so, im still trying to make the transition of getting her to follow the home boundaries even outside..but very difficult!

I think kaer knows what we can give in to and what we cannot give in too..usually i will give an alternative if she wants to get angry or throw a tantrum..and she will take the alternative...but not always..so, i just let her do whatever she had insisted..and learn her lesson...like at my MIL's place. she took the penknife out of the drawer and started cutting her little fingers..there was blood and stuff...so now she learn..she refused to stop when we told her to...but now after the blood, she never went near the penknife...

but im having problems with meal times now...sigh...thats something she have to learn the hard way again i guess...by starving , if she refuses to eat!

hi mummy
happy v-day !!

YLN,
I was just thinking today that I wonder if it's terrible 2 or terrible 3 cos I find bernice lately also getting harder to discipline and difficult. This only started lately. Last week we picked her up from school early and wanted to go sushi tei for lunch, after we park the park she started crying and screaming to go home. Say cannot go in, dont want go in, etc etc. Hb got very angry and said ok let's go home. So we ended up didn't have lunch. He was angry and refuse to talk to her. In the car I told her I am very angry and I will not talk to her.. she was sobbing and hugging me very tight like scared I don't want her. I refused to talk to her directly and only did to tell her what she did is wrong and everyone is angry.. it was the 1st time she reacted so strongly to something and in this case was letting us eat lunch. hahaha

if we go out for meals, we will tell her in advance that we are going out for meals and what she can do and what she cannot do. We use a reward system and tell her that IF she behaves then she will get something..

she knows she is not allowed to sit on the floor when outside and misbehave eg run around etc. Most times she is ok.. but lately I notice she has a habit of throwing her toys.. so I threaten her that if she does that then she will have no toys or I will throw them away.. that day I hid one of her care bears and told her it ran away cos she is naughty.. hahaha

cat
yes, i try this method too..telling her in advance my expectations..and i think it might be working a bit..have to try a few times more for her to get used to this..like we went for dinner just now..she managed to eat some food..but she was singing so loudly in the restuarant and annoying others!..very hard to scold her cuz she did eat some food, and she didnt throw tantrums..she just was happy and was singing very loudly!...in the car after that, she still tell me she was a good girl cuz she never cry!.sigh..so..i also dunno how..hmm..

i think perhaps this is the stage they start this phase of experimenting more with their independence and the need for control...sigh..

so next time u must also tell her, cannot cry, cannot sing loudly, etc... hahaha

I usu tell bernice cannot bang things on the table .. cannot walk around .. she's not into singing loudly but if she did, i'll just tell her to keep quiet, cannot talk/sing so loud, the uncle/aunty will scold her cos she is making too much noise and she is not being a good girl.

if u are concern about ADHD, you should talk to the teacher and ask them to pay attention and inform you if she needs to be assessed.

cat

haha..if only kaer is as kuai as bernice!...usually tell also no use..cuz she will do what she wants..tell her uncle auntie will scold..she will still sing , purposely in front of them!..so i usually have to give her something to distract her..but very shag to keep finding things to distract her..somtimes just run out of ideas!!

ADHD - now cannot detect..too young to be assessed..i did talk to her teacher...and teacher reassured me its not..but i face kaer more often then teacher..so i maybe can sense..and also i have some research background on ADHD...so i have info..hahaah..my school got TONS of ADHD students...sigh..maybe thats y i am more sensitive to such behavior...

sylvia
yesterday sky also like that de, 4pm suddenly rain big big....5pm stop again...maybe today something similar again bah.
how bbm and u feeling now? totally recovered? =)

snow

Ya... wanna go out n walk n see sky like that....... but I like cooling weather, so rain is better than big sun sometimes.
think bbm will be too happy to carry her umbrella.

She is ok now, busy as a housekeeper.Hahaha! Tks for your concern!

Me still having slight phelgm. western pill cure present situation but not the roots of illness, so I got to "tiao" so that body remove the over heatiness.

Yo,
I went for my procedure today Liao, easier than I expected.

Juat now after shower suddenly plaster turned red, got a shock. Changed Liao n hope no more bleeding. After so many hours still can bleed. The needle sure went deep manz.

shint ar......

dun move around too much leh. coz the deep wound hv to heal slowly for 1-2 mths loh.

even when no bleeding, dun mean the internal wound heal leh.

take care ya!

2-3 wks result will be out rite?

eh.... anyone still using mamy poko?

think giant got sales... got i saw alot of parents buying alot. mostly 4- 1 trolley of diaper. & saw a family carrying 8 XL.

drypers also offer at 2 for 33.80

blue berries on offer - 2 for 3.99
big n juicy type fm chile

hmm........... do I sound like I'm in wet market? hahahaha!!

Good Morning Mommies!
So happy it's Thursday...looking fwd to waking up late on weekends!

Sylvia,
Glad that BBM is ok liao but you must take care ya...I have an asst who has been coughing on and off since last year end...scary!

Shint,
Ya, better rest and avoid moving ard too much after the procedure. Take care!

Rata,
It's Sylvia who saw the Mamy Poko promo, not Celyn.

Sylvia,
Any idea on the MamyPoko price? Velle still on diapers. Let me know if got promo for MP pull-ups (normal ones). She is in love wif it. It holds pretty well (even overnite) so may switch to that.

Shint,
Rest well. I m sure everything will be fine. We will be praying for you...

M2B,
I was looking forward to slping in on Sat and hb reminded me tat I need to bring Velle for review at Mt A on Sat morning. Totally sianz lor... The Q at Kinderclinic is crazy! Wonder how many hrs I will be there again this time.

I need XXL for Kai Liao cos teacher complain petpet XL too small for Kai. Should toilet train him In school Liao.

So expo for xxl.faint.

Wanna buy but I can't go leh ... Can order online? Haha.

nana,

i go n check again. Coz I only saw the big buy outside the store n the stock n price are placed deep inside so cant see the price.

Shint,
aiya... shld hv infm u then I buy for u hor.

XXL ar.
toilet train in sch? he must tell u that he wanna go toilet then u can train him pah.

dun move ard leh.
order online only for NTUC & Qoon loh. I think cold storage also hv??

erm....... u wanna try giant house brand or ntuc house brand?