(2008/08) Aug 2008

Braiden also not talking much in words but im ok long as he talks.. So far he only can say "Car, mama, ah pa, mum mum" Infact i think he is very slow for his age liao... maybe cos he doesnt have an older kid to guide him.

morning mummies. =)

think #2 or gals tend to be able to speak earlier bah?
but be able to talk early might not be a blessing hor...can imagine zynn always push away the maid and shouted "i want mama" when i'm having my dinner?

sylvia
ya lor, ur 24hrs gym.
had been sahm w/o helper for a couple of mths before, think running on stepper undisturbed easier.
ha ha....

nini,
at least briaden call you loh. pd is surprise that yu ze don't even call papa and mama loh.

snow74,
wow!!! zynn can say 'i want mama'. very good leh.

celyn
dun worry too much lah.
some kids just dun like to speak so early, later they will progress faster than any other kids. =)

she picked it up from the jie jie lor, thats why ppl says #2 can talk earlier. -_-"

Morning Mummies!

Ceyln
also tot the same thing abt no siblings to learn from... :p
but my neighbours son is only 2-3 months older then Izzy... but my niece who is a dec baby can talk more then her liao... guess its down to the individual baby.. well I am hoping it is...

Yuuri
If we could chill we wouldn't be mothers? hahahah Now I understand why my mother worry so much :p

celyn
ha ha...okie okie.
thought i post here before that my hb can only talk when he was 5yo?
now its not easy for u to out talk him some time, his job is to argue in meetingsss. =P
so talk late doesn't mean got problem in talking, just their character that they dun like to talk unnecessarily nia lah.

vern
agree with u, my #1 dun really shout for me also at this stage last time.
think #2 really pick up talking from #1 earlier.

Yuuri

Like wat Vern says, it's down to individual baby... in general boys are also a bit slower. Dun worry too much.. it won't be long.

My nephew only started talking when he was 2 years old.. even now when he's 3 years plus... his speech slurs.. still can't pronounce Kor kor or Kuku properly. He only started picking up words like bear, car etc when he's after 2.

bb speaking:

i read somewhere to encourage bb to speak, try to talk to them more often. like when you bring bb out for walk, describe the scenery and what they can see, etc. reading to them also helps. last and least effective method is TV coz' it's really passive learning. but i dun deny that J learnt quite a lot of words from TV, like his body parts, the word "up" from elmo, etc. i think my MIL reads a lot of him also and we have those learning charts where we can point and teach J the word. he still can't say ABC and 123 yet. the only colour he knows is blue :p but generally, i think the more u talk and interact with your kid, the faster he learns. when i read a book to J, he will sometimes take my hand and ask me to repeat certain words. after awhile, he gets the hang of it and will be able to pronounce it a few days/ weeks later.

Good Morning Mommies!

Celyn,
Don't be overly concerned over YZ's speech development k? My mom and MIL always said Mae speaks slower as compared to #1, my answer is "As long as I know she isn't dumb can already." =)

I try not to compare both gals as it is unfair to them so I just take it easy...#1 likes reading and flashcards whereas Mae will simply walk away...hahaha, bo bian but save me the trouble of doing flashcards =)

m2b,
i'm not too concern lah. but hubby start his nagging again loh.

yu ze will snatch my book or flash card if i try to read to him.

celyn
try to "discuss" with him on his favourite, might be a cartoon or something.
u will find him more interested to try to speak bk to u. =)

m2b
agree, never compare kids.

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Maybe be abit more intentional in getting him to say simple words, esp call you &amp; ur hb.
Ashley can't say much either. She hardly calls me, but she can call my mum &amp; hb. The only times she says 'mama', is when she completes the verse of a song when I sing to her.. Each time I prompt her to say 'mama', she would say 'papa'

I suspect her facial muscles are not fully activated, so it takes a lot of effort to say anything. Maybe do a quick read off the net to see what sort of causes and action steps wrt late speech devt?

snow74,
i still don't know what is his favourite cartoon leh. maybe its thomas bah. don't know how to get him to talk to me leh.

hisstory,
at least, ashley can call your mum and hubby. yu ze can't even say this most common one of papa and mama.

celyn
i'll ask simple qn like:
- hey, what is thomas doing?
- why thomas look so sad?

if he is really interested in thomas, he will ans all ur qn de.
in the beginning, might be word by word.
try to build up his vocab by continuing to talk to him on his fav topic. =)

celyn,

how about you try this? pick a song that he likes (J reacts very well to music). so for eg, if it's "twinkle twinkle", sing the song with him and do some actions or better still, find a star to flash to him when u come to the word. then after awhile, ask him, "yu ze, what is this?" and point to the star. repeat the word "star" many times in your conversation with him.

i tried this with J and initially, when i said "star", he will point to places with star, e.g. singapore flag, star in his storybook, etc. after many days of me repeating star, he finally said the word.

Celyn,
Maybe it's becoz Yu Ze is not familiar wif the PD. Tats y he is not talking. Anvelle doesn't even react to anything the PD says or does. Juz stare at her. Din even wave when PD asked. The only time she has any reaction to the PD is when the we were leaving the office den she waves n gives PD flying kiss.

Hisstory,
Hi-5! Anvelle calls Dad-dad and my grandma "ah-ma" in such a sweet manner that you can melt. She used to call me mama but no more leh. Dunno y. The mummy is the one taking care of her most of the time n she calls her dad. Haiz...

celyn,

i guess u'll have to figure what motivates yu ze. for J, we know he loves music so whenever he fusses, we'll sing one of his fav tunes and he will settle down for us to change diaper. we use music as a tool to teach since we know he reacts very well to it.

nana,

J can call "mama" and "yeye" properly but call me and hb "mi" and "di". the sad thing is, he's always asking for "mama" and i know he doesn't mean me
he gets particuarly upset when it's time to go home and sometimes in the car, he'll just say "mama" "mama" and even shed a tear. jia lat! it's times like these that make me want to be a SAHM!

krex78,
yah, must think hard loh. like when teaching him to say 'take out' is much easier cos when he say 'take out' i will remove his buckle and carry him loh. so he is more motivated to say. now he is abusing the word and i don't know how to out smart him on this.

mummynana,
maybe bah. yu ze is usually more 'guai' when he is outside with outsider. only after a while then he will turn 'monster'. :p

snow74,
i guess must be more 'wild' with him when talking to him.

nana
kaer same...started by calling daddy very accurately..that was 1-2 months back..only now she can call me mummy properly..i also thinking i look after her the most..but she call daddy first

celyn
if ur hb more worried..then he can be the more proactive one to motivate yuze to talk mah..can understand ur stress if hb nag too much..think u just continue ur usual way of teaching yuze or talking to him..cuz teaching the child cannot be just done by u..somemore u preggie..can get very stressed one...it has to be both parents cooperating mah..is he helping in any way?

my hb also started many months ago to speak to kaer more and talk to her or tell what the different things are ..totally agree with krex on her point ..i do that to kaer since young...i will yak non stop when we go out..sky also point and say..bird..bus..basically everything i see, or do..i will repeat to kaer..it does help..maybe my job has 'trained' me enuff to yak non stop..hahah..oh..n i also praise her alot if she tries and say certain words..i dunno if it shld be this way..but i will clap my hands, kiss n hug her if she makes any attempt...now..she damn how lian..anything she feels she do rite..she will clap for herself..:p

yln,
he will talk to yu ze but not on a repeat mode kind. when i teach him, i will find chance to keep repeating so that he will learn and repeat too. just like how i teach him to say 'take out'.

when i get yu ze to do things, i also will praise him and clap for the job done. sometimes if i just praise without clapping, yu ze will clap himself to tell me to clap for him too. hehehe....

snow

hahaha!!

almost 24 hrs hor. hahaha!! think gd way to keep fit n slim??

anyway...... zynn can talk alot hor.

i think for BBM , she's talkative but picking up words very fast liao. almost everyday got new words coming out. til I like ??? wat she said just now.

hahaha!!

OH!!!!
I know there r some lovers here.....

KFC portuguese egg tart is here in SG!!!!

$1.30 each. so those who missed it fm hkg or love them badly... go grab .

dunno is promo or still stay type.

available fm AM.

hahaha!!

M2B

BBM also the same. I took the flashcard, she just turn away. so I put in the bookshelf... she will take the stack out n then put in her trolley, go shopping at home. or throw all over the floor.

Hahahaha!!

but go zoo, bird park n night safari, she will look n point sometimes n yak yak. so my way is bring outdoor to experience.

celyn
ya..i think most bbs will react well to praise lor..heehee..u shld persuade ur hb to repeat n praise more..i thot his profession also 'trained' him to talk n repeat..?hahaha...
dun rush this sort of things lah..sometimes, the more it is rushed..the worst effect it will have...i think different bbs just develop differently lor...but is good for Yuze that he is going to CC soon..he will surely yak non stop soon..heehee

morning mummies

yln,
yah yah. i told him, he cannot say one time and expect yu ze to know and repeat loh. he must keep repeating. most of the time, he is busy looking at paper that even yu ze call him he also don't know. i have to call him to tell him yu ze is calling him kind.

morning mummies. =)

sylvia
ha ha...ya, maybe thats why i can't slim down. =P

zynn ah?
actually its normal that #2 will pick up from #1 and progress faster leh, next time u observe? =)
before that, she also only da da da...

celyn,

haha next time your hb complain u tell him to spend more time engaging with yu ze lor, else cannot blame u if he doesn't speak soon :p this kind of thing needs effort one and won't happen overnight. i bet he won't complain next time!

krex,
i think speech is very individual. I have 2 older ones before Jer, but Jer still not speaking anything yet. And all of us speak to him leh...

celyn,
I brought jer to pd again... cough very badly and now on neb.

his weight is 10.5kg only and 80cm tall. small size too... and pd told me to monitor till 21 months then maybe should consider speech therapy.

celyn,
i brought up. jer is forever eh eh eh... and point point and shake head for no and nod head for yes...

celyn,

what is ogtt? u have gestational diabetes again?

rona,

yah, actually child dvpt is very indv. just like how some of our bbs learn to walk later and some learn to talk later.

celyn,
we show him... like i ask him:" jerold wants to go downstairs?" he sure wants cos he hua ka, we will show him how to nod head and say yes at the same time. if he can't do it, maybe you can help him by nodding his head using your hand? then maybe later he will get the hang of it and start doing it... :p

krex78,
yah. gestational diabetes again. results is out today better than yu ze's time but still have loh.

rona,
yu ze will just walk straight to the stairs and start going up or down without us holding him leh.

celyn,
Think what you can do is ask yu ze if he wanna gai gai, before opening the door...

Haha, me giving you advice is v funny since I am facing the same problem! :p

yuuri,
hahaha..... no lah. must think of ideas for each other then we can see what works loh. yu ze goes take out for everything now. he wants to drink those packet milo, he also goes take out. i ask him to say open when i want to open car door, he also goes take out. i think it will take him a while more before he can take another new word. :p

So the topic is on speech development?

I guess each kid is different.

For Chevelle, up to now, she still doesn't really call me mama or her dad papa.

But she has picked up quite alot of vocab from flashcards and those charts. From there, she can recognize colours too. I guess starting her on flashcards when she was v young like few mths old helped. Even she could not comprehend, if I let her choose between 2 flashcards when I ask her which is the object I'm asking for, and she gets it right, I will praise her and stroke her head. Yes repetition is v important and when bringing her out or at home will point things out to her and tell her what they are.

I guess these worked for my girl as she's the super active one, cannot sit still so flashcards is gd. I also let her watch the "I Can Read" DVDs. V funny, everytime the word bellybutton flashes in the screen and is being read out, she will auto pull up her shirt and point to it. Haha

just sharing my experience. Hope this helps!

val,

haha, J also watcheds "my baby can read" and that's how he learnt all his body parts. and he likes the belly button part also. when we ask where's our belly button, he will put up our shirt and point