(2008/07) July 2008

PB,
But of cos it's normal. I remembered feeling downright miserable during my confinement month, and I only felt better and perked up when my parents (especially my mom) visited. Somehow, my mother always knew what to say.

dd,
Well, I didn't have much choice or say during confinement cos I was having it at my ILs. Plus hubby said better to be safe than to be sorry (but of cos since it's easier said than done right).
Declan has no hair to be vain about. Haha.

Cellow,
What's ling yang?

PinkB- bunny hugs to you..i think your hormones are still going crazy so you become very emo. maybe can take a nice warm bath if you feel overwhelmed..sometimes a simple bath does wonders to our sanity.the confinement food good?

Cellow - you take care too.

youpi

my optometrists are these 2 chaps who has a Doctor of Optometry from the US and I found them professional and detailed.

its called 20/20 eyecare and they are at

101 Upper Cross Street #02-05
People's Park Centre
Singapore (058357)
+65-65344181

PB

of cos it is normal! you are doing such a great job! and yes BB needs to step up and you need to rest more, at least the first one month. once you get back your strength through rest, you can be superwoman again, but just not now!

bouncing back after a night's rest

boy's vanity
LOLOL on G and Thaddie admiring how cool they look! C1 has nearly zero vanity... he doesnt care at all what his shirts and shorts look like... but if they are uncomfortable, he will tell me straightaway... Mama too tight, mama armpit itchy, mama the label scratches.

PB,
how is this morning? feeling better? be patient w yourself... sleep deprivation and the sense of only being a milk cow plus all the tasks involved in bringing up poppy and house chores. in normal times, that is already a LOT to juggle... let alone w a newborn and sick poppy seeking reassurance she is still #1 in your heart!

bbp,
to your mum saying all the right things during confinement. of course mah, you are her daughter.... mamas are the best-est!

youpi,
try this one... i dunno what certification he has but Mr Chui and his daughter are both certified optometrists. Mr Chui is semi retired... on weekdays he only comes in the evenings after 5pm and works on Sat afternoons from 2pm onwards. i have been going to him since i was in P5, yes that's how lao jiao he is.
Orchard Towers
400 Orchard Road #04-25,
Singapore 238875
Phone: 62355521

I m off this afternoon to MY to see my boys! YAY! *first to war with the errant spreadsheet, i can just feel my brain cells dying by the minute*

PB
dont say you la. normal days i would also crack. you are really strong. if it is me, i might have already breakdown and suffer from post natal depression.
PB, you are wondermom. big hug!!!

youpi
we go to dr jerry tan from camden for barbie's tear duct problem and once when i accidentially cut my cornea with my nails. dont ask how i did it but i just did. he is a great doctor. but his fee is on the steep side.

DD
i ON that!!!

I think I can do lunch next tues at cityhall.

PB, you are a super wonder mum and you know that. Just need to remind yourself that wonder mum needs rest to be even more power.

queries
how much does a brand new Pump In Style cost now? SIL bought an extra one from states and trying to help her sell but no idea what is an attractive price to sell? any idea?

Hi girls
Hugs, thanks
can always count on you to say the right things. My mum... Sometimes say what I want to hear, sometimes not haha.

It was bad yesterday. 7pm is my witching hour I think. When Bluebunny should be home but not, and 1 baby crying (and me thinking "I shouldn't just drop everything I'm doing with poppy to attend to her cos that'll hurt poppy emotionally), 1 kid whining and not wanting to eat (and me thinking "just eat the damn pasta already! You DO so like it!" And my face getting more and more oily by the minute and my glasses slipping and oh now bluebunny is back but "what? How dare he ask for a minute TO UNWIND?" But he he's just had a long day at work, and has just collected my confinement food, and he himself hasn't eaten yet either so I have to cut him some slack but who is cutting ME some slack? etc etc

That's the summary la. I think that he's always thought of me of strong and independant so it's hard for him to "take care" of me and he's forgotten that I've just given birth a week ago.

Deep breaths. Deep breaths. These days apart from the safety and health of my family, I find myself praying a lot for patience, esp with poppy. I know that she's acting up a lot cos of the baby, cos she wants our attention too, cos it's not fair to her to suddenly have to limit trumpet playing to certain areas of the house or not have all her parents' attention. But she can get really naughty...

Deep breaths deep breaths

BUT I'm really happy to share that things are great on the milking front. I very persistently BFed at hospital and am feeding her really well at home too! So proud of self *yaya papaya face*

Anyway. Calla is her nickname, like Poppy. But "calla" will also be in her BC as her middle name. "Poppy" isn't in BC

PB pat pat pat. Remember that part of this is also due to the hormones level readjusting in ur body. I used to be like that too. eventhough i had a confinement nanny to help me and xun gal was not home coz she was with my mum until mr jace fetches her back at like 8pm. But still i am watching the clock and saying to myself why he is not home yet blah blah blah... after that i look back and think, heck why did my brain work that way? Then conclusion was the hormones. After the first month, hormones stablises, bb gets better, mummy regains more energy (hopefully!) feeding gets more routine, then hopefully everything falls back into place better!! I tuly admire ur courage to have no help at home! Pei fu pei fu pei fu!!

Add oil !!!(but think u wanna less oil literally right?)

Oh, the sweet thing to boil with ling yang is called sweet winter melon, white rectangular strips, sweet one. Not rock sugar... The winter melon can bite, quite crunchy

Cellow/BBP/Mich/PB: I think it's honeycomb. Comes in blocks of different sizes.

Pb: it's normal. The first month, with or without help, you will feel very emotional, lousy cos you can't seem to handle both plus household... Very teary also. As for the physical part, you will smell like those bangala workers who hardly shower-chao sng smell! Bathe or don't bathe you still feel yucky! I bathe a few times a day! Still feel the same. It's normal, all these will settle within the next few months. Use your lemongrass shower gel! That will make you feel good! Hang in there!

DoubleDee: you are not alone. I did confinement on my own for both! I'm also another gei kiang! :p so far so good. Just feel that I have to top up lots of calcium, it's close to deficit! :p

Oh, winter melon strips!

Mich: PIS in singapore is going for $700+ and it's the advanced one. Comes with warranty also.

Jo!!
Chao sng bangla worker smell! Lol!!! You really made me laugh until peng! You're right. Even tho got shower but still feel yucky. Cos of all the heaty food I think. And the red date tea. And the massage oil.

PB
That's so sweet. They r both flowers!!! hehe
And woman, dun be superwoman now. Poppy needs to adjust, Calla needs to adjust, U too are adjusting!!!
So just tell BB that U are in confinement and U will not do anything except take care of the kids.

After I had E, D was weird too. So like what youpi said, I included D in everything. E was always a part of me and D is also with us but he's playing his own toys n stuff on the bed but quieter cos E is sleeping.(Oh and I did get toys for him to play) If u need to go to crying bb then just ask poppy along to "help" u. Tell her maybe bb heard her and wants to play with her.
For me, I will keep explaining to D abt why he cannot make so much noise. N give examples like hw he would feel if he was sleeping n someone made alot of noise. And he would do it cos he loves his meimei.
It took D less then a week to get back to 'normal'. And looking at E's bb photos n videos now, I'm very happy cos even then D loves E so much he's always lying beside her and playing with her.
Even nw......U know D doesn't like me to scold or hit E. He will tell me not to do it. N when she cries and I ignore her, he will be the 1 patting/hugging her n wiping her tears.

doggiebb
oh great, thanx i'll go look ard.

DD
Me also did DIY confinement with baths n shampoos n fans n aircons....hehe

Confinement:
Oei, I'm jealous. Why you all got so good stuff one? I was stuck with no aircon, no direct fan (means fan is on but blowing the air above and all around me except not at me), shower with some weird herbal things (ok, thank god I still could shower), and only put my foot down and washed my hair on the day I went to my gynae for the follow-up check. I told hubby that I didn't think the gynae would appreciate the smell I would bring into his office.

DD
Wow excellent memory leh! Yes Poppy's middle name is the name of a nut that squirrels like to eat!

Dor
Hehe thanks. Thought we'd follow the theme of flowers. D is really such a sweet gege. Thanks for the ideas! Poppy is a great jiejie. She just shows the parents her naughtyness!

Bbp
No la. You were lucky enough to have help at home mah. For those of us on our own, no choice. How to not shower ... For me, if don't shower, my temper will just go up up up with every growing bead of sweat on my face!!

PB,
True, I had so much help that I think I saw the least of my own son as compared to all other people in the house. *insert angst*

Hehe bbp you are envious of my half past six confinement, I'm jealous of the good rest you had!

Mums who did TBF: did your babies take a longer time to put on weight? Do you remember? Come, I refresh ur memory: they're supposed to lose weight (10% of birth weight) in first few days, but put it back on after 1 week. Calla is at day 8 but has yet to put on weight so I'm a bit concerned. PD says got to feed more. Bo pian, got to wake her for feed every 2 instead of 3 hours :S

i m back! missed my boys v much. managed to squeeze in fish feeding, water play session, 2 naps, lots of hugs and kisses and stories and songs w the boys, and even a fight over nothing w Mr C. all like normal *grin*

bbp,
you had a confinement w lots of rest. good for you!

pb,
you are now having a confinement with zero interference from others. good for you!

abt your qn on bbs putting on weight. eh... i really do not rem. *think* i think C1 did not put on weight for a while bcz his latch was incorrect.... PD was slightly concerned too. i syringe fed him. normal i think. check her pee/poo output to gauge if she is drinking enough.

pls pls pls help me to keep my mouth shut re confinement and BF when it comes to my own DILs.... :p
okok some confinement rules can be bent, but BF... woah... i dun see how i can bend THAT rule. maybe start by psychoing my sons first... screen all gfs they bring home by asking 'hey were you breastfed as a baby?'. that would just scarrrrre the heck out of all the potential gfs. HAHA

PB
My two put on weight quite quickly and we could see literally them growing bigger each week. But every child is different, and it is still early for Calla. If she has not put on any weight at all after two weeks, you may want stage some sort of intervention, like pump and feed on top of latching on. Does she have jaundice? Is she sleeping a lot? Waking her to feed every two hours should help. Do so even at night, k. If I remember correctly, the quality of breastmilk produced at night is different to that produced during the day, and night nursing (latching on) is one of the keys to successful sustained long-term bfg.

Here's the link to Kellymom on newborn nursing. Recommended frequency is 10-12 times a day which fits in with the 2-hourly feeding: http://kellymom.com/bf/normal/newborn-nursing/

And one on average weight gain for breastfed babies: http://kellymom.com/bf/normal/weight-gain-metric/

Cellow
Hehe, I already decided that it will be up to DILs on how they want to take care of their children. I will not interfere (now I say lah) because it is super irritating when my ILs do.

Sounds like you had a lovely reunion with your boys!
Hope you're feeling better too!

Cellow: welcome back! Hope you are recharged!

Pb: wahahaha... Hope I didn't scare you with that description! At least i felt like that! I bathe and wash hair to keep my sanity. I couldnt smell the shampoo and shower gel on my body but at least I smelled them when I showered.
don't worry, the chao sng smell won't last. ;)
I think weight gain is about 100-300g per week. For me, Gwyn puts on 1-1.5kg every month, her weight was always 75-90 percentile. Not so in Gab's case, he took his own sweet time to put on weight and is always in the 25-50 percentile. Now he caught up. And both were born big at 3.72 kg @ 38 weeks.
I think now is not the time to fix a routine, feeding on demand is what I did during my first month- every 2 hours. For Gwyn, auto woke up to drink, Gab, must wake him up. So, like Youpi said, there will be differences between the two.
First 2 months lots of adjustments. I also involve Gwyn in everything I did with the Bb. She watched and be my little helper when I changed Gab. When I breastfed, she sat next to me with her toys. When gab sleeps, I did things with her. I also let her nap with Gab. Then, she already dropped to only one nap per day so we all had a 2 hours undisturbed nap after lunch.

i got a question to ask.

How do i get back the stuff that i have loan to someone almost 2 years back?

i lend my cousin my bb bjorn sometime back for her to test out only. and she say to return after a few tries and would buy her own.
but it never came back. and till now, she hasnt return or mentioned she would return even thou the son is almost 2 years old le.

how do i get it back.

i once thot i could get it back soon after i get pregnant again. but the odds are low as the pregnant thingy is getting way to long to happen.
buti still want my bb bjorn back afterall, i bought it and i mentioned lending not giving.

haiz. i just dont understand why ppl like to take advantage when you are kind. it just made me lose hope and is not reluctant to lend anything to ppl in future. (you jie you huan ma)

its like out of goodwill i lend you but you should also automatically return ma. now i have to headache how to get it back in a nice way and no harm our r/s when i do so.

how.
help pls.

youpi

i'm just afraid she wont return. she is currently carrying her 2nd bb liao.
and i was thinking if i dont get it back, i will never get it back.

That way, u hint to her that your selling price is $xxx and pls pay up if she wants to hang onto it

If she still thick skinned just outright tell her u are selling to your friend for $ xxx and if she still wants to use, pls pay up

I have told her nicely to return and she replied "I wanted to return to you"
It's like if you want to return then what's holding u back.
And she even mentioned next week return. Which is equal to next week she might forget and I might forget so don't have to return Liao. Why got ppl like that one.

Anyway I press say I'm meeting my friend on wed. She has to return tml.

I just pray she takes care of my stuff.

Is raffles city lunchie happening tomorrow? Let's see how many can make it:

1) bbG the haggard and tired mom though it's only mon and no even noon yet!
2) jace the resident mummy (just have to take the lift down?)
3) Cellow the mom who's got temp mummy leave haha
4) Qing the mom who's back after Mia!
5) mich the lucky mom with a boy who always smiles despite ulcers!

qing,
anytime...
we come here to forum to make our lives a little easier. haha.

dd,
sorry, cannot do lunch tmr. even though i am on leave fm mummy duties, i still have tons of work to finish.

Cellow
Lol about your "fight about nothing" = all back to normal! Glad you had a good reunion

Youpi
Actually nope, still not poo-ing. She poo-ed fine in hospital then when got home, became poo-shy. Had one mini enema at PD, was doing normal poo for a day then now poo-shy again. Pee-ing fine tho. Worried worried worried. And still so fragile looking and skinny. Worried worried worried.

Qing
Yeah agree with cellow. Say "remember I LENT you the baby bjorn last time? Wah so fast, like TWO YEARS AGO already ah? Wow has it been so long?" and that you have someone who wants to buy it at $x.

PB
when is her next visit to PD? my fren's bb was like tat. always dun poo. in the end went to a specialist and he said that the reason why she dun have any poo is cos she digested all the BM! how is her usual behavior? most impt is that she seems active when awake and sleep ok?

Qing
your cousin really take advantage of u!! where does your cousin stay? if anyone of us stay near we can pretend to be that fren who wants to borrow!

btw u wan to try my sis' TCM?? quite good n popular. can PM me.

SY
I heard of that logic too! Technically it does make sense
yes she's alert when awake and sleeps well. Well, she would sleep better if I didn't wake her every 2 hours to feed hehe.

Anyone got a PD to recommend? Mine's happy all the time, which is good, I like his attitude. But he's very quick to offer med (when poppy was a baby), and with calla, no poo=immediate "I'll give her something to clear it". I need someone that listens and is willing to present options instead of "hurry and get out of my clinic", preferably BF friendly too, not be quick to say "top up with formula lor" each time

Anyone?

Oh and waking babies up for feeding: how do you do it? I've tried tickling hands and feet, tickling ears and tummy, and even cold (ok not so cold, but not comfortably warm) towel on face. Towel worked the first 2 times then she became immune to it! Feel so bad having to wake her at night :S

Oh and night feeds: are they full feeds? Cos she keeps dozing off. I figured she gets some milk is better than nothing :S

It has been a long while since i last came into this thread. Now im a mother of 3 and leave me with so little time everyday. Rite now im on ML, juz gave birth to my baby gal in Feb. Reading all the encouragement u gals gave to one another (especially when i am in the same situation as PB, dealing with baby and kids) do make my feel better

PB
I also read from net that baby dun poop cos digested all the milk. Or u can try "cycling" the baby's legs, it works very well for my gal. My gal put on weight pretty well cos she drinks very well when latch. Now i bottle feed her in the day and the nite feeds i latch. She has been drinking very little. Abt 80-100ml every 2.5 to 3 hrs. I heard that girls dun drink that much.

Waking baby up
A lactation nurse told me to remove baby clothes except diaper. Our body's warmth will keep her warm. Or use baby wipes and wipe her buttock. The coldness may wake her up. First mth is always so difficult to get them awake and feed longer...

My gal
My gal was discharged from hospital after 6 days stay. SHe had high fever and diagnosed with Urinary tract infection. She has suffered a lot during the stay. Pricked 10 times (cos her veins are too small) to draw blood and put on drip. Then the cold sponge and bath to keep her fever down. She was only 8 weeks old then. Ultrasound shows no abnormality in her Kidneys, bladder and liver. Thank God! Need to do xray when she is older to see if due to backflow of urine which causes the UTI.

Since 1.5 weeks ago she fuss during bedtime. From 7 pm till 10 pm! Keep waking up after we put her down to sleep. It is frustrating cos the boys are back home between 7-8 pm. If baby is not asleep, one of the parent will be attending to her and the other attends to the boys. My younger boy is turning 2 this
Jun, and is starting the tantrum stage. And i am training him to sleep on his own too. Really tiring!! And to make things worst, my gal fuss till 11pm-12am for the past 2 days after she discharged from hospital. Still wondering why she is not sleeping well during bedtime. Anyone has any clue? We tried to put her down when she is not totally asleep so she will learn to fall asleep on her own. Then after 5 mins she juz woke up eyes wide open. We have to keep repeating rocking and putting her down. Very tiring! And she cries a lot compared to my boys
I must say that both boys are also not easy babies.

Sometimes the tension at home can be quite high and really have to keep my cool. My hb also works on some weekends so left with my helper and I. My helper came last Oct and not very good with my kids yet. I hate it when i am attending to my crying girl and in the living room i hear my boys throwing tantrum or younger boy crying. I cant manage both sides! Hoping that all these pass fast! Comes May i will be back to work. Feeling so stressful when i think abt it - boys, sleep problem baby, breastfeed, work...

hi again peppermint!
try to sling her w you all the time. helps w the sleeping. haiyoor sayang, so young kena pricked many times!

pb,
dr belinda murugasu. 67345833. #15-17 at Mount E.
tell the nurses specifically that you are concerned abt lil miss' lack of poo. if they feel it is a small matter and do not need doctor's attention, they will tell you what to do. must warn you her waiting time is super long.... and her manner can be abrupt to the parents. i still go to her bcz she is very caring to the kids. she wont anyhow medicate. are calla's eyeballs yellow? the sleepiness might be due to jaundice.

i miss C1, and i m sooo tired out from work.

Mr C told him i have to work to buy the plane tickets so that he and didi and maid can come home to me. dunno if that is the right thing to tell him.... that work = money comes in.

Cellow
Hmmm I do tell the kids that. So that they know everything doesn't come easy and why their dad has to always be working. Just yesterday I was comparing the price of the ball machine he wanted n hw many days food we can buy with that. Helps that they help me pay for food sometimes so they know a little.

Pb
We used to go

Dr Teoh Hoon Cheow
Teoh Clinic For Children
09-05
Mt E
6235-1443

He is supportive On full bf
Old man who gives lots of advise but they only accept cash.

And guess what.
I'm getting my carrier back today. That is if I collect from her.
Ok la. She is pregnant now and working nearby.
Hooray.

Hopefully it's still one piece nice nice one
Finger cross

I got a question to ask
My guy friend want to supply diapers as gift for his friends newborn girl for 6 months but don't know how to buy
I advise to get various sized then he ask
How many packs of s, m, l to buy to last 6 months
I' lost boz it has been a while for me

Pb , peppermint
Pls help

Thanks cellow and qing!

Wah your friend is very generous leh! 6 months of diapers! Does he have kids and does he know how often they go thru diapers?! Maybe 5-10 packs of newborn size, 20-25S, 5-10M? They prob won't go to L withint 6 months la.

Calla is 11 days old and already been thru 4 packs of NB size

Btw apparently TBF babies can go up to 14 days without poo and it's ok as long as they are pee-ing fine and tummy not bloated.

Qing
i can still remember JX went thru 8 packs of NB diapers in the first month!!!

6 months of diapers is a lot!!!

the size also depends on brand and cut. some brands have smaller cut so S may not last a long time. is the bb boy or gal? gals tend to have bigger bottom i heard....

peppermint
hang in there! it is a terrible stage and a trying time. i think cellow gave a good suggestion to sling. when my gal was young she was very difficult, often not sleeping and nap times are like 30 min and she needs to latch to sleep. so during those times, my boy will suffer a bit. boys tend to be quite good with certain toys. do they like lego type of toys? bricks? try to supply them toys that u know can occupy them for a while. how old is the eldest one? can the eldest one help with the younger one? i know they may fight but i think it would be good if the eldest can help occupy the younger one.

what i did with my boy during the times that i have to put my gal to bed was that i trained him to do very simple work by himself in the living room. he will be doing simple things like coloring, maze etc. some days it worked, some days it din.

does the helper know how to engage them? play with simple toys or just watch them would be good enough. nowadays not much expectations from them....

any aunt or grandparent u can tap on one or 2 nights a week?

PB
on the PD, i find the one at gleneagles a bit quick with med and the one at holland grove slow with med. u can try the holland grove one. same as daphne's one. his name is Dr Ravin at kinderclinic.

Cellow
Juz read abt it in Kelly mom. Thanks! I gotta search for my sling. Dunno where i put it...

Qing
New born - 8-10 packs
S - 16 - 20 packs of 64pcs
M - 5-7 packs
Also depends on baby's birth weight. If baby is bigger, may not need so many of newborn diapers.
And your fren's fren house will be full of diapers. Is there any storage space? Why not he give his fren voucher instead?

qing qing!!
i hope you see this soon....

if it is not in good shape, then look at it disappointedly and say to your cousin 'oh no, i promised to sell to my fren for $x.... like that how to sell... now i so pai seh to sell in such condition.... how ah... you still want to use for your baby anot.... i sell to you a-mai....'

*grin*