(2008/07) July 2008

Hi hi!
Mother of two checking in! *thank you, thank you* my little sweetie arrived at 1.57am at 3.095kg, via natural birth with epi.

This time my experience with epi was much better. I was only a little numb in the legs but could feel cervix dilating! 1-5cm took forever. But 5-10cm only took 1 hour! This time I could also feel myself pushing. Walau eh it sure is exhausting!!

Lol DD re BB and smelling salts. He'll always have to live with that hahahah. But this time he remained conscious and was a real cheerleader.

We've breastfed successfully!! Yay!!!

Youpi
They didn't allow me to eat
but I did sneak in some food when no one was watching :D but glad I didn't over do it cos man, all that pushing ... Now I can understand why some mums can vomit during delivery!

PB: CONGRATS! Rest well too! Post pics on fb!

Mich: hope eboy and you have recovered. Take care! Well done eboy!

I cannot believe it! I was visited by a wrong PD and she told me info about a wrong BABY! I know our PD but I thought maybe he was off or what then he sent someone else. Man, how scary! I only found out when OUR PD came in and I told him about it.

pb,
ultimate...
wonder if the other mummy is STILL waiting for information of HER baby.

staycation
I m enjoying my staycation v much as long as it lasts. Went for a long long Good Friday service and was thinking... heng ah... dun have to entertain the boys during the parts when the priest is speaking.
Also headed out to Andy Warhol exhibition by MYSELF. take my own sweet time to look at the exhibits... w/o peeling little boys off the walls or urging them to go onto the next exhibit. haha.
yes i miss them, and yes i m also enjoying my staycation v much. while i can.

next week weekday evening programs. plan to watch Wicked and Nightfall (chinese movie). hehhehe.

Cellow
Wicked is so wonderful
I loved it so much I wanna watch again. But my hubby says I'm insane.
And I got to know that MBs member got 30% off the price I was so excited. BUT u have to use ur sands dollar which can only be accumulated by spending money in the casino. Which totally sux.!!!
How I wish I can watch it again before it closed in sg.

Go watch it!!!

Haha I think that mummy might have not gotten her update today, yeah. She gave me news that made me so kanchiong that I even asked the nurses for a bottle of FM and syringes. Now it's hidden deep in drawer, hopefully no need to use. Grrrr.

Hooray for cellow's me-time! Sounds heavenly

PB,
Vomitting - LOL. I did that after I got the baby out. Almost did it over my baby to boot. Good right? Lucky the nurse was alert or else she would have had to clean him up again. Haha.

Cellow,
Your staycation does sound very relaxing. I think one of the first things I would do is to eat food that requires hands eg. crabs, chicken wings, etc. It's been a long time since I last ate crabs in peace.

PB, we are all eagerly waiting for a sneak peak to Lil Miss! where where where? name?

*admiring Cellow and her me-time*... cherish!

first day at school
so eboy has been kept at home last week due to HFMD right? and he starts at new school today. and he is a cry baby, so naturally I was worried how he will take to the new school and potentially could need me around the whole day, right? Wrong! that little boy never fails to amaze me. walked in confidently and said goodbye to me. I wass standing there refusing to go off until and teacher sheesh me off. Steady Pom pee pee!

Cellow
i was keen to watch nightfall too! tell me hwether it is good or not

PB
congrats!!! bb's size sounds good! do rest well and see u soon!!

Michelle
good job to eboy!! ha we are always the ones who worry about them when they can actually surprise us with how well they do!

me sick sick today. lucky my parents are ard to help out. if not it will be me prep them and sending them to sch when sick. but jx very smart. she knows i m at home and came and refuse to go ot sch....had to bribe her to get out of my bed....

PB,

Gong XI Gong Xi! I did puke.. not over the baby.. but over my gynae...just after she finished stitching me up. haha..

Rest well!

Batgirl
Puked over your gynae? Ahahahah. Did u check ur bill? Was there an additional charge for gynae's drycleaning?

Hmm I don't remember: if newborns just want to sleep, do we wake them to feed? My boobs say yes, my heart says no. I try, but really, she just wants to sleep. Well except at night when she wants to play. She's functioning on canadian time zone, this girl :S

Mums, did your #1s become exceptionally naughty upon arrival of #2? Poppy loves meimei very very much but to us, she is exhibiting real naughty traits. I know she's prob doing it for attention and I ask her why she does these things and she says she doesn't know. But does them anyway! Help!

PB,
yes to waking them up for feed at least once every 3h in the first 2 weeks. first week especially.... newborns need the milk to flush out the excess bilirubin (the thing that causes jaundice). haha. she is prob on canadian time zone as when she was one with you, you were most active from 7-10pm. so that's when she wakes up to play
.... they adjust themselves after ~2-4weeks. hang in there!
... oh and sleep when she does. forget abt me time for a while.... your me time is now to sleep!!! u adjust yourself to her schedule first bcz you are the adult.

yes C1 was exceptionally naughty after C2 arrived. try handing lil miss over to BB while u spend extra time (~30mins) with poppy. will help to ease the transition for poppy!

sy,
sama sama. today sick. lay in bed all day. at least... i do not have kids to fetch to and fro. sigh..... it sucks being sick and alone.

PB
And yes I think #1 is adjusting and needs assurance that everything is jus the way it is still.
Just have to keep going with the "I am your mummy but I am baby's mummy too"

Cellow
I rather be sick AND alone. haha
Get well soon k.

PB
S was naughty just before L was born. He had his first tantrums when I was in my third trimester. Guess he got it all out of his system then 'cos after L was born, he was okay. Just keep reassurring Poppy that you are her mama too. I made sure that S was involved and engaged even while I was nursing L. Like I would be reading with S while bfg L. Or drawing with him (one hand baby, one hand pencil), or singing with him, or filming him perform, or playing games with him. One easy one was to ask him to get me things from around the house: something green! something square! something blue! draw me a car, a train, a man in the plane, etc... or just keep talking to him so that he is not left alone while I am doing something with the baby. I'd also get him to read to baby - you can read so well, why don't you read your brother a story? he loves your voice (and L really did he would quieten down when S spoke to him) - and make a big production out of it: let's arrange the baby on the bed like this, you can sit on this special stool, what books would you like to read to him? Etc.

Yes, do get baby awake to nurse, as Cellow said. Aw I can imagine you enjoying that lovely baby smell of her neck and her head and her feet, so lovely!

Cellow
I would rather be sick and alone so that I can sleep and rest and lame out and do nothing! Take care!

PB
yes JH was pretty difficult after JX was born. not to mention Jx was also very difficult! Try to steal some time to spend with her one to one. I think i din do enough of that cos JX was so difficult and din wan to sleep.

Cellow
get well soon!! sending u get well vibes....

re vivo lunch
11th april /12th april
1. SY - both ok
2. doggie
3. smiggleprincess-prefer
4. Michelle
5. Qing -
6. cin bunny -11th

If we do 11th, who can make it??

re vivo lunch
11th april /12th april
1. SY - both ok
2. doggie
3. smiggleprincess-prefer
4. Michelle
5. Qing - 12th
6. cin bunny -11th

sorry updating Qing's reply.

PB
Congrats on arriving of the baby! Newborns are sooo nice and sweet!! Of course until they wake up at all the odd hours of the night.... but very soon they'll get their body clock tuned so let's pray she'll sleep through the night soon!

Every baby is different - my #1 slept through the night when he was 6 weeks old (dream baby!) but my #2 still (unfortunately) wakes up in the middle of the night now (at 16 mths) whether it is for milk or for me to pat him back to sleep! Grr!!!!

Quick qtn:
Just a quick shout out - does anyone go to Next Hair Salon for haircuts, or want to try going there for a haircut? There are two branches - one at Holland V, another at Ion Orchard. I have a package I'm looking to let go of, because I "itchy backside" wanted to try another hairdresser for fun, but realised I missed my old hairdresser too much! Hahaaa... It's funny, this relationship with hairdressers! I almost feel like I betrayed my old hairdresser by going to another!!! Ermmm... do I make sense? Anyhow am letting go my package for CHEAP!! If anyone interested let me know lah....

Cellow,
Get well soon! Agree with everyone that it's so much easier being sick alone. I never appreciated that fact until a kid came along, let alone you and SY who have 2! But yes, it's nice to have a hubby to check on you. Again, I never really appreciated that until a kid came along.

agape,
Haha! That's cos you have a regular hairdresser. I don't have one, so I never ever feel guilty about going to someone else.
Next is super expensive! Ok, or maybe I'm just cheapo. I had a haircut there once with my BIL and SIL (they were going there for hair works and I just decided to tag along cos I hadn't had a haircut in months). It was a really nice haircut but at $60, it was just too much to swallow.
PM me about the package.. if it's too ex for me, maybe my BIL or SIL may want

agape
my gal at 3 and going on 4 still wakes up in the middle of the night for no reason!!!

err, so is lunch on or off? no replies.....

Qing
Next week good for u? This week no one replying except u and Cin!

Let's try again.

Lunch at raffles city 16 April
1. Sy

Lunch at vivo 16 April
1. Sy

bbp/Qing
You've got PM!

Anyone else interested in my Next Hair Salon package?

bbp
yeah Next can be pretty pricey but they are really good with their haircuts. I'm quite finicky about the hairdresser I go to - my rationale is that if I get a good haircut, it'll at least keep me happy (when I look in the mirror) for the next few months until I go for the next haircut!

My drama story about hairdressers
I used to have a good hairdresser whom I would faithfully go to, and I will leave her to do what she wants with my hair and each time the results would be fabulous.... until I stopped visiting her for a long time when I was pregnant with no. 1 and then after that I couldn't contact her at her salon or on the hp... the salon people were evasive when I asked for her and she didn't answer her hp.... until I did a google search for her and found that she had died! Suicide! Carbon fumes because of a quarrel with BF... wahhh drama... so sad also....

Since then I have been on the search for the holy grail of good haircuts. My current hairdresser is very good but also rather pricey (at a salon in Plaza Sing). So I'm actually still searching for a good hairdresser that is reasonably priced as well. Otherwise I'll just stick to him cos he really does my hair very well.

Since I'm on that quest - would anyone here highly recommend your hairdresser?

Agapebaby
your hairdresser drama story: wow that is sad.

Hmm I love my hairdresser. I've been with her for 8 years. She always cuts beautifully and NEVER pushy about hair coloring/products. You know some hairdresser will keep asking you to color or buy certain products. She doesn't do that, which I appreciate. She is an art director so her fee is pricey. I've never done perm so far so I dunno how's that. But color and cut, she's good. She used to be from Jiwon, then Chez vouz, now Salon Vim.

Agape
I think its quite hard to find that perfect hair dresser as in what works for others might not work for u. I like my hairdresser, been going to him for more then 10 yrs.......OMG I just realised that. His was the 1st haircut that made my hair curl in instead of out. So i've stuck to him.
Have tot of trying other salons cos his need to make appt and its not so convenient for me to go and the waiting takes awhile if he has alot of customers. But the worry of getting a bad haircut n having to stick with it for months put me off.

He's done wonders for my hair but doesn't do much good for my sis hair or my mum who has a specific way she wants her hair to be set. :S

Mine is in the neighbourhood in Yishun central. Pm me if u want the contact.

doggiebb
So did u manage to get the bike?? Which bike shop u went to?? Nearby??
I wanna get a nice 2 wheel bike for my son cos the current BMX is VERY heavy. So whenever he rides he gets alot of bruises on his legs.

sdchick
Thanks for sharing! Your hairdresser sounds good... I did a bit of sleuthing on the net - does her name start with S?

bbp
Shoulder-length hair! Is that considered short or long? I generally appreciate hairdressers that do a good cut - it's like the Victoria Beckham bob - for a while everyone was sporting that do, but I don't think every hairdresser can do a good bob!

I tried this hairdresser at Toni and Guy's once. Super cute one, I must say. haha... And he is the only one who managed to make me feel like a million bucks with the bob he did for me. I couldn't stop looking into the mirror! Haha!

dor dor
You're very right - what works for you may not work for me. But once you have that perfect hairdresser for you, stick to him!! I'm still on the hunt... hehe... thanks for sharing. Yishun sounds a bit too far for me to travel (I stay in the west). But I'll definitely PM you if I need the contact in future. Thanks!

Agapebaby
Yes yes her name starts with S :p Very nice lady. She also did my two daughters' hair and afterwards she did a little styling like braids etc, making them feel pretty lols.

Haha so topic for the day is hairdressers huh? Mich, after my confinement let's go for hairwash? :D I'm still washing everyday! This time, I'm totally relaxed about confinement. Except the food. And no cold drinks. And take the opportunity to siam all the dishwashing :D but showering and washing hair: OF COS!!

Thanks mummies for the tips re #1s. Yup reassuring poppy a lot. But somtimes she just does these naughty things and I know it's to get our attention but sigh, so challenging la. But thankfully she loves meimei a lot.

So for those of you asking about meimei, her name is Calla, like the flower the Calla Lily
and there are pics on my blog. I don't have the direct link to the post but if you go to the main site, it's the latest entry.

sick sick sick
ok the fever has finally broken after 4 days.... but left me with a cough.
i detest Mr C's family's habit of sharing food and dipping personal spoons into common food. very yucky when i m feeling ill and have tons of work stuff to complete. luckily my boss is understanding.... i logged on briefly on wed, croaked to him that i was ill, and he told me to get straight back to rest! wow, where to find a boss liddat. is it any wonder that i m leery abt changing teams, let alone quit the company....
now i m thinking if i feel up to facing the ILs' quirks this weekend, and forego entirely the trip back to see my boys. the flight back is at 2pm tmr afternoon. see how.

hairdressing
i go to an opinionated old lady who is semi retired and occasionally does wonders for my natural curls.
maybe i shd change hairdresser too but.... yes it does seem like a betrayal (like agapebaby says) to my current one.
so... anyone has recommendations for hairdressers who deal w natural curls and short to medium hair length?

pb,
erhmmmmm just take note of your body, and try to shower w ginger/lemongrass hot water instead of normal water ok. same goes for washing hair.... straight to the hair dryer after that!

i dunno abt you, but i rem feeling like an internal chill descended onto my body after delivery and din go away until abt 6 weeks later. that's when i started to see the logic of confinement.

cellow

i echoed that. I rem there was once after showering, (i always showered with herbs in hot water) i accidentally walked in front of a blowing fan, i started shivering and wouldn't stop my teeth chattering even under my comforter. Only stopped like 30 mins later! but in effect i think i did a very good confinement with a lot of rest, good food, tonics and after giving birth to T1, i think I didn't fall ill for 2 years! so i totally agree with you on the logic of confinement.

dor

i did. I got a nice balance bike for $99 called the Yedoo 50 from a shop called scootz in AMK, figured i will save myself the trouble of ripping up a regular bike. I wasn't looking out for the regular bikes so wasn't sure if they had nice ones.

Even the first time he tried, he was able to balance like 4-5 seconds, so it was really good! We also got him a stylo helmet, he rushed up to the mirror and exclaimed when he wore it! I THINK I LOOK LIKE COOL! wahahah! funny boy!

pb
i tend to agree with cellow. for the second one, i only bathed three times and washed hair twice and i do feel stronger after that. like what cellow said, i get a headache after my first time washing hair! so i always advise pple to cut down on the bathing and hair washing. i was qutie weak after jh but much stronger after jx!

doggieebb
$99 for the bike! cheap and good deal!!!

er no one keen on lunch next week?

Cellow, you can add the honey sugar together to boil, you know, the white transparent type that has a crunch when you bite? It tastes better with that... My mil calls it the honey sugar...

Hey girls. I'm quite the opp now. I feel stronger now as compared to when I did with Poppy despite having a confinement lady for Poppy. I think I didn't get proper confinement food. But did get the herbs for bathing and even washing hands etc. This time I just shower yes with hot water but sigh got somethings just cannot siam. Still got to wash some dishes if I need, wash and hang out laundry. I try to rest as much as I can cos after a long walk to PD yesterday, I felt my lower back was SOOOO sng! Worse today cos poppy had slight fever so didn't go to sch so I was up almost all day.

I finally cracked today amidst Calla's crying, Poppy's naughtiness due to no nap, Bluebunny's impatience and my being sweaty, oily and smelly
tell me it's normal, please tell me it is!!

As I was exploding I thought "what am I doing?! Who is this crazy monster?!" :s

PB
It's early days so you're perfectly normal to feel like that. It'll get better and you will get the hang of it. You've done so beautifully with Poppy; you'll do even better with Calla, don't worry
In the meantime, get Bluebunny to step up. You have your parents' FDW to help out as well right? When she's around, just chill and rest! Btw, is Calla a nickname, like Poppy? Or her actual name? It's lovely!

I bathed and washed my hair everyday after both were born, slept in air-con, did laundry, washing of dishes, cleaning up etc. So far so good, no major aches or pains. I found that the confinement food helped a lot. So much so that I still entertain thoughts of catering it now and then, when I'm feeling tired and lethargic due to lack of sleep and rest, heh.

Cellow/Bbp/Mich
It's rock sugar right?

Eye people
Ladies, could you recommend your optometrist if you have a good one please? I am not pleased with mine as she can't seem to get the prescription mix right even after several visits. Thank you!

I wanted to ask too: nickname or real name.. Hang in there PB! It's always quite overwhelming at the beginning and I think almost all moms go thru a but of post natal blues.. Ask for a 5 min break to take deep breaths n calm down...

Wanna gO for city hall lunch. Maybe tues if u girls can?

Am I the only Kay kiang one who doesn't bother about confinement food or water or fans?

Wah boys these days are more vain than girls huh? When g gets his hair styled with water after his haircut , he keeps admiring himself in the mirror and reaching out to touch his spiky hair and asks me 100x do I look cool mama? *faint*

pb...
woman, u delivered a baby last friday and you are washing and hanging out laundry.... ah your poor back!!!!... haiyoooor, you.... what happened to your parent's FDW?
early days being mum of 2. i cracked many times during the first few weeks. perfectly normal. Mr C took sole charge of C1 w maid. i just take care of C2.... if BB is ok, leave poppy with him. do not go and kaypoh what he is doing w poppy. during your daily designated 30mins w poppy, swap kid, he MUST look after calla, not sit n shake leg while you run around like headless chicken.

youpi,
you reminded me... when i m tired and lethargic, i brew my own confinement red date / dried longan tea w Bei Qi to get through the day. cheaper than chicken essence, and tastes better too. i throw in wolfberries, dang shen and black beans too. black beans supposed to inc milk supply too... well, not that L needs a lot now.....

ling yang
bth the taste.... mich, how can eboy stand it!!!?? i stirred honey into it after no one responded for half hour. picture me staring at the yucky thing willing it to be less yucky. and i thought my tolerance for sticks and twigs medicine was high.... YUCKS.

I M STILL DOING WORK.... PLS JUST KILL ME now w a pounding headache.... the figures are blurring into one and the story they tell does not make any sense... help........! i m losing my numbers superpower!!!!!!!!!!

ah now i know why i agreed to send C1 and C2 away. work load at work is crazy gila mad insane green-day "basket case".