(2008/07) July 2008

Seems like Korean lunch was more important than PB's barang la.

youpi,
Maybe both of us can meet when our children are in P1 la. I can't join lunches nowadays too

dd,
Professional cupcakes are this costly. There's Artisan Sweets at Henry Park Apartments (Holland Grove) that's slightly cheaper but I suspect the cupcakes are sized slightly smaller. So far, that's my absolute fav. One of these days, I gotta try 12 cupcakes to make a comparison.

hi SD! no wonder you MIA too... my brains were fried at the end of today.. but took time off to go eat yummy korean food! hang in there! the peak season and horrid audit will be over soon (must repeat to myself too!)

talking about cupcakes.. I know they are different but shunfu has good muffins :D

look what i found! so cool! anyone keen to order together? http://www.healthykidsplate.com/myplate-teaching-products-for-kids/

SDchick
ya lor i was just saying, it is not a korean lunch with you :p you know, i'm not a korean food fan but have to admit that the chap chye was really yummy!

gasp, the cupcake link.... argh! i'm hungry now!!!

bbp
ya lor. everyone was so excited to meet up and we got a big group some more! our biggest in a long time hor, girls? 8!! what a feat. excited until forget my nappies and breastpads hor? hehehe

Ooops SD I meant "it's not a korean lunch without you"

Youpi
Thanks for the rec. I just might check out the birth shop!!

Super good news
My mum has offered to let her helper come over to help me out in late pregnancy and early birth days as often as I need!! Yay!! We're thinking of asking her on alternate days to help with cleaning and laundry and maybe picking poppy if BB cannot take time off. Yay!! She gets along well with poppy so at least I can hope for a bit of rest/sleep :D

Bikes
Finally bought bike for poppy. She loves it!! This morning was out riding it for almost 2 hours before the rain forced her home! After half an hour I was suuuuuper tired from running after her. BB took over and said "next time I'll wear my running shoes!" Haha. In time for ECP outing tomorrow! Yay! Wah today rain leh, lucky we didn't go today hor?

Just wanna *wave* Hi to you ladies. I do come in to read on n off but too tired or late to reply so never did.

And you girls are still so happening....haha

Awesome weather for a day out at the beach!! Anyone else joining???

*waves* to dor!

Yay to poppy's new wheels! Bringing it along lAter right? Still need to bring the kick scooter?

hi dor! can see u have been busy knitting/crochetting lately! how are D & E doing? and tiny teddy? come join us!

urr ladies... where's the koi pond? we are talking about the carl's junior area right? where they have starbucks and old town coffee too? the little terror is snoozing, gathering energy to zoooooomm later!

so cute... reminds me of my cycling expeditions with friends when we were young and small! hehehe

thanks mich for suggesting ECP date. we had so much fun! so glad that weather was gorgeous and that we decided to go into road safety park instead!!

zero idea re koi pond still haha. but so going back to road safety park again! once i recover from today. phew. poppy hardly stopped for a minute to rest!

ECP date looks fun!!!

Hi Dor! How are you?

Bbp
Seeeeeettttttt! We have a lunch date in three years LOL

PB
Hehe, did you buy a sling? I have that cake shop bookmarked, too, but have not tired their stuff. Which is good?

Birthday party
This year we are finally going to do a party for L. So please save the date in your calendars, k?

Youpi! are our toddlers moving from the tantrummy 3's to the Fantastic Fun 4's already!! so fast

Dor- love seeing the stuff you make ..you are so so talented!

saw the pix on ECP date.. no idea what road safety park looks like so will def hed there to check it out one day..looks like fun and yes, yesterdays weather was so accommodating!

Youpi
Yay for partay!!! I bought some nursing bras and a nursing top that was on sale
did not get a sling, jo is very kindly lending me hers!!

Choc cake: I don't remember the name of it but the one that was recommended by simply her... That was simply yum!!! And less sweet compared to Lana's. Only issue is that it's far and if opt for delivery, it makes it very pricey

Hey does anyone have a confinement food cook book I could borrow?

Cin
It's fun! More pics and description on my blog. Not much info on web cos it 'closed down' some time ago and now that it's free, everybody bochup about it hehe. Let's go there together next time! Poppy was asking "where's sophie?"

Dor
Hi hi! Oh yes. Absolutely agree with cin bunny. You are so good with your hands!!

Jace
So nice to see Xun again. Wow her hair is so lovely! And wow wee she was queen of the road with her kick scooter!

March hols
Anyone up for the following outings:
- bowling at kallang leisure park
- sentosa beach + jalan jalan (I'm sure they'll have activities planned)
- animal resort (but not sure on exact location)
- and if you girls like, I'm happy to organise a small craft session at my place

I'm hoping for morning activities that will end with lunch. Please please don't take my afternoon naps away from me!

I'm not sure if anyone here remembers me, but I posted a few times but just couldn't keep up with the postings here. So paiseh but am I welcome to join in again? I'd really be so nice to get to know more mummies with kids about the same age (altho my son is strictly not born in Jul 08).

Can I join in again pls?
I feel so paiseh to ask

PB
i hope i can join in the activities!

animal resort is at seletar i think....

agapebaby
sure sure..join us!!

work is

my big boss asks for things that i can't get and i don't have and it's hard to ask others for it...sigh...i need a solution!!

today went for second session with hb.....apparently both of us have hw to do!

SY - can ask your direct boss or colleagues for guidance? or tell Big Boss cannot get :S

agapebaby - welcome again

PinkB - ON! tell me when you feel like going there again ya. march hols - sorry, soph has classes still. but lets do meet for tea before you pop , on one of the days yr mom's helper comes

agape
re-welcome

cin
tea time is... NAP TIME! haha.

SY
eh why your boss like that? doesn't he know that your super status is only limited to mum boundaries?

good to hear that a second session has happened! better kuai kuai do homework ok?

i'm really keen on bowling. poppy has been asking for it!!!

for those who miss my totally professional drawings, nah! for you! : http://gingerbreadmum.blogspot.com/2012/02/parenting-inconsistency-say-my-name-say.html

Road Safety Park looks fun! But I never knew it was in the East. Haha.

PB,
Me! On for bowling as long as I'm not the one doing the actual bowling. My skill is only good enough for helping Declan.

youpi,
Which date to save?

agape,
Hi! I still remember your nick!

PB: me me me! But what/where is animal resort? Shall we try a kiddy bowling place with kiddy balls instead? Someone went right? Was it mich?

Eboy starts new school in mar !! How to ponteng?

There are 5 mini bowling lanes at parkway time zone, super fun, balls are sized for our kiddos, real pins. There are two lanes at the great world time zone, but it's ex, $1.10 for a game where the kid gets to bowl 10 times... Adults stand by side to chill, or sit on those plastic stools

Want or not?

We really enjoyed ECP, our kids can play so well together hor? BBG intentionally block eboy and the silly boy just sit there and do nothing! And the both of them giggle... Sooooo cute!!! And poppy was unwilling for all of us to go home, right? Was that why she was pouting? And whoa, lixun really amazing, kick scoot queen throne is hers!

ECp mummies, what you think of eboy? Doesn't look autistic right? Anyway, my speech therapist gave a big boost of encouragement that eboy is 100% not autistic, he's just shy. What a huge sigh of relief!!

March hols activities
Yes yes please count us in. We'll be available on Thursday and Friday. Mornings are good for us too.

Bbp
Let's see... second week of January, 2015. By then they should be settled in school. Anyway we won't be allowed to hover in school anymore by then!

Mich
Yay on therapist's diagnosis!!!!

Agape
Hello! :

I am keen for bowling! But I cannot do it during the week, only weekends before 4 on sat and before 2 on Sun. Parkway timezone - is it in parkway parade?

Michelle
That's a relief! To be honest I was looking at the children's cycling pictures and I thought to myself Eboy looks perfectly normal.. He played with other kids and apparently listens to instructions well! Just look at his different expressions. So so cute!

Morning! Mich yeah Ethan looks perfectly fine and especially serious in pumping petrol for his bicycle hahaha

LOL on xun gal's new status - kick scoot queen!!

Welcome Agape!!

SY good to hear progress. HW is good right? Then can follow up at home too .. probably to make u constantly think of what to do as well .. Jia you!!

PB I need to find a way to pass u the nappies. It is very irritating when i think how many times i forgets it -_-""" i think we must set up a meeting call "Nappies meeting" THEN I WILL REMEMBER!! Argggh

Mich, I forgot to ask. Ethan is attending which new sch ah?

cin
my boss knows the problems. but he also knows big boss pattern...haha...big boss will roll his eyes and wonder are we doing our work or not lor.

PB
yes bowling!! my kids love it esp JH. he has been asking to go again!

Mich
great that your therapist gave such a big assurance!

which sch is he attending?

Jace
ha hw is instead of repeating what i wan to ask hb, he told me to write notes and paste it somewhere for him. that way it doesn't sound naggy right and also serve as 'evidence' that i did say it!! haha....

SY,
Just had to comment on your HW. I should do it too! Or maybe we should do it to each other. Cos he always says he did tell me something, but I say he didn't (with regards to his after office-hours appointments). Then I tell him to put it into the Google Calendar but but but... he still forgets from time to time.

Mich,
That's 11 cents per ball! Ok la, but if it's their size, then at least we're paying for something different. Must try at least once right?

Anyway, all of us have been saying that eboy doesn't look autistic mah. But good that the professional has given his/her assurance.

youpi,
Haha. And at least I'll have some adult reassurance that Declan will be fine in school. :p
On a serious note, any date set aside for L's birthday yet?

Thanks for the warm welcome ladies!!!

oh PB I hope I'm not adding on to your choc cake fantasies, but I remember for the last day at my workplace, I bought 3 different choc fudge cakes for a fun taste test-cum-treat. One from Awfully Choc, one from Choc a bloc, and one from Jane's Cake Station. And the one that most liked was Jane's Cake Station (it's at Jalan Kayu). Very light and moist and chocolatey...... yums

And animal resort is in Seletar West Farmway 5... Sounds ulu enough!!!

Bbp
I seriously doubt that you will have to worry about Declan in school. He is amazingly advanced for his age, and he interacts well with others. And he is super bilingual thanks to your in-laws!

And I can't believe you actually counted the per ball cost LOL!!! Think it's cheaper than the Orchid Bowl at Downtown East.

L's birthday
It should be 21 July, the Sat before his actual birthday. But I may do it after, on Sat 28 July, 'cos everyone else will be having theirs in the earlier weeks of July, right? Only L, BbG, and Cedric (any more?) are late-July babies, if I recall correctly.

Agape
Jane's Cake Station - my aunt loves that too!

agape
yes jane's cake station is nice. my colleague bought it for housewarming. nice and moist!!!

bbp
haha yes yes, we all forget something. so must have some evidence.

i m trying to plan a nice trip for me and hb. what good hotel/resort would u recommend in phuket? or langkawi?

boohoo
i m missing my babies here in cyberjaya.
and.... no bathtub in my hotel!!! (the only thing i look fwd to in biz travel)

haiya reading all your posts make me even more homesick and heartsick.

Cakes:
Not a big Choc Cake fan. Prefer light fluffy sponge cakes with fruits. Hence I'm a big fan of Patissier's Strawberry Shortcake and Passionfruit Meringue. But is it me or do you all feel that the Meringue standards have dropped somewhat? Oh, but I also love that Chiffon Cake from... alamak, I can't remember, but to those who remember Dec's first year birthday cake, that's the one I love.

youpi,
But remember we are mothers. We worry about everything. If he's small, we worry he gets bullied. If he's big, we worry he will be the bully!
Haha, I'm such a person. Always counting per ball cost, per piece cost, per gram cost. That's why I can spend hours at the supermarket :p
Ok, will book both 21 and 28 July for you then - Google Calender here I come!

SY,
I've heard lots of good stuff about Langkawi, but I've never been there

bbp
I am completely non-discriminating when it comes to cake - chocolate cakes, fluffy cakes, anything! Heh. I HEART The Patissier's Passionfruit Meringue. But I've only had it twice and both times were equally yummy. If you like fluffy cakes you should like Glace or Flor. Both specialise in light fluffy Japanese-type cakes. Extremely yums!

SY
Hb brought me for a surprise Langkawi trip years ago before we had kids.. I had to google to remember the name of the hotel (so I can also direct you to the link here) but I found out - it's called Casa Del Mar. It a nice small intimate boutique hotel. It was already quite well-rated then, but looking at the reviews now, it seems even better now that it's been renovated.
http://www.smarttravelasia.com/Langkawi.htm

cellow
hang in there. u r coming back soon!!!

bbp
but the resorts are ex!! i just checked and if i wan the really really nice ones, whoa.....burst budget

Hey you girls are not nice you know, talking about cakes in front of pregnant woman... But wait, I started it, didn't I :p

DD
Didn't we go together? For those who are keen: We went to kallang leisure park - they have lanes for kids where there are drain guards (the balls will NEVER go into longkang) and light balls. The last time we went I think our kids had just passed 3 years and were managing fine with 6 pound balls. Costs $3+ per game (10 frames) + $1 for shoes

http://gingerbreadmum.blogspot.com/2011/08/ten-pin-tots.html

Don't mind going to other places too but er maybe not downtown east la. Tooooooooooo far for me!

Auntie alert
For those of you who work/live around the area/feel likg taking a hike to this part of the woods, there are 2 shops at people's park complex that sell really cheap toileteries and kid related things. Like wipes, kodomo/oral b toothbrushes, bottlewash etc. CB stuff is also cheaper. Calendula cream 20% off the marked price of $28. Not sure if it's the 2 or 4oz tub but it's the one that costs $28 at watsons. Of cos this auntie went crazy there esp since I finally found NAPISAN (remember this word, girls?)

SY
They also sell the pears soap you recommended. Bought one bar to try. $1.40 only!!

Holiday! Yay! Groupon has a deal on turi beach, batam. $85 per pax for one night, incl 2way ferry. I think doggiebb has stayed there before

BBP
Aiyah same. BB does not need his calendar. Why would he since he has a personal secretary? (Me)

Cellow,
Ah I like fluffy cakes, but I like savoury things more. Hence, I seldom eat cakes la. Sweet vs Savoury - Savoury wins every time.

SY,
Yah, I think that's the reason why I've never been to Langkawi. Haha. Batam and even Bintan are more budget than Langkawi - esp Batam has loads of deals!

PB,
I know what you mean, but personal secretary will only know as much as they are told right?
Bowling - do they have shoes that fit? Lots of places have drain guards, but that doesn't prevent the ball from stopping right smack in the middle of the lane right?
Yes, a lot of that happened when I bowled with Declan with a bloody 9-pound ball!

I always read and hear abt good food but can never remember them when I wanna try..maybe I should start making a list!

G's cake last year was from flor, BBP

PB: yeah we went bowling tOgether but didn't realize it was a kiddy lane cOz I thought the balls were too heavy for the kiddos

a travelling FTWM's guilt rears its ugly head again. both Mr C and I are away from home... me travelling for work, Mr C back in MY for his grandfather's funeral. at least C1 is w Mr C... poor C2 is at home w maid under my mum's supervision. i wonder if C2 even knows that both his parents and his korkor are gone from home.....

SY
Tanjung Rhu Resort in Langkawi is two thumbs up especially if it's just you and hb. Very romantic, very peaceful, very heavenly. We've been there twice and will go again 'cos the boys love the place too (even though it's more of a honeymoon and couples place). I think I still have pix on my blog... somewhere...

Bbp
Calendar also no use. He can't even remember what happened during our firstborn's birth!

PB
You can get Napisan at NTUC and Cold Storage too. Baby section. But People's Park is very convenient for you right?

Poor Cellow...just bury urself in work and do as much as u can so that u can fly back to the boys soon. When r u bsck? At least ur mom is around and c2 would have forgotten when he sees u next n jumps for joy!

Youpi
You know, BB fainted at poppy's birth so even if he forgets, I will NEVER stop teasing him about it!!

Nah my neighbourhod NTUC doesn't have napisan!

DD
Silly me. Now I realise you were talking about kiddy lanes. Yeah those we were at were the normal length. Okie dokie, happy to try out others but not Downtown East please! So far :S

BBP
Kallang had shoes yes!

Youpi
Oooooo that tanjong rhu place sounds heavenly. We're thinking of going away for CNY next year. Maybe that will be it

Cellow
Seriously there is a place called "cyberjaya"??

Oh tell you girls something funny. Poppy kept telling me "why J (her classmate) always don't want to hold my hand? Why she don't love me". So I plunged into my usual "why don't you hold someone else's hand" and "you can play with your other friends". And when her teacher called me recently on something else unrelated, I brought this up, gently probing and wondering if it was a case of bullying. Guess what - there is a set of twins in poppy's class and poppy's hand holding partner is one of them and poppy has been trying to hold the wrong twin's hand!!! Hahahah

PB,
Oh my, twins! Hahahaha, that is super funny! But does Poppy realise that there are identical twins in class?

Talking about this "Why she don't love me" thing has brought up another recent peeve of mine. Where do children learn to say "I don't like you" when something doesn't go their way? I had to undo this thing that he picked up from his friend and I really don't like this withdrawing-like-status thingy.

Agape: Hello!

Youpi: I think Gwyn is last of the lot.

PB: why do you need napisan? You are not using the liquid ones? Seng shiong, NTUC has. Cs depends on outlets I think.

SY: langkawi is nice. Natas fair is this weekend, go check out what good deals they have.
Lombok is another place you can explore, silkair gies there.

jo
napisan has liquid version? i'm going to use napisan for nappies lor. my ntuc is quite limited in terms of stock la!

SY
oh yes i like lombok too!!! and krabi! mmmm

bbp
yes she now knows about twins
and when i started explaining, she told me "i want a twin too!". TWO POPPYS? i don't have enough energy for that!

If I don't know what is Napisan, does it mean I am not very auntie? hee hee... is it a kind of laundry detergent? *pardon the ignorance, but I really don't know!!*

bbp, think you do have a twin brother! saw your pic on FB, whoa, you three really all look alike, from features to the shape of face and all so slim lah!

sayang cellow... these are what I call downs of being a travelling FTWM. I'm sure you'll feel UP again once the whole family comes back together again and both boths running to you upon seeing you... meanwhile, enjoy some me time and the room service dinner and undisturbed sleep.. you'll soon miss them too..
hugs....

Hello agape. Looks like you are also a foodie! welcome to join our lunch escapade anytime!

last two weekend of July *Chope* for L!

are we planning one for all the july toddlers. Should we go for a professional shot? all july toddlers? just a thought... it would be so fun and memorable, and we get a keepsake ! do consider?????

Mich,
Haha. Yah, many people tell me that:
(a) I look like a photocopy of my mom
(b) My bro and me look like photocopies of each other
But ah, I can tell (a)... but as hard as I try, I just can't see (b).

Ok, I should prob be specific and say I want an identical twin!

Professional photoshoot of ALL the toddlers? Can we just hire Cin_bunny's hubby for that? :p